219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Galveston Bay RV Resort & Marina was rated 9 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (281) 339-5550
CGID2758

Galveston Bay RV Resort & Marina

Camp Information
Sites
81
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   6   9   9   8   9   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$34
This is a beautiful park and the location to Galveston and Houston was good. I would have given it a 10 however there were a couple of things that were not great. First no recycling. Second there are a lot of long term people here that work in the area. No matter what campsite you are in you are close to the park roads so early in the morning you are woken by all those workers. Area is windy but peaceful. Enjoyed all the birds. NASA and Old Downtown Galveston are must dos. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$29
A short stretch of bad road leads to this friendly and attractive park on the water, south east of Houston. Pads and interior roads are concrete. Sites are generous and some are pull-throughs. Utilities, including Wi-Fi are good; the clubhouse, pool, laundry and restrooms are clean. AT&T phone and data work well in the area. Many of the residents are long-term seasonal or workers but they are neatly maintained. The price reflects the weekly rate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
This is a very pretty facility with concrete slabs and grassy "yard" areas. It is situated on a salt water bayou with a boat launch nearby, but not on the property. We brought kayaks, but it's a 4 foot+ drop from the bulkhead to the water and only a couple ladders in the park to access them. The pool was closed on 2 of the 4 days and what was promised to be "great" Internet has been exceptionally slow when it worked at all. No cable, but with a very good digital antenna, you should be able to pick up the major networks. There are one ladies' restroom/shower and two men's showers and they were clean. Most sites have nice views. Pet friendly park, but no pickup stations available. Quiet, not a bad place to stay, but a lot of room for improvement here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
We stayed here for a week. Very nice park. Sites are very roomy and level. We were in site 69, which backs up to the water. Very quiet. There are lots of permanents, but everyone was so friendly. They have a rec room and outside patio which we were able to use one evening to entertain a lot of family that live in the area. Great wildlife. Bring birdseed, as there are many green wild parrots. Lots of beautiful birds including a peacock. Good fishing pier. It was very windy when we were there, but fished anyway. Very close to Kemah and Galveston. We loved this park and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$13
This very attractive park is reached after a brief stretch of badly potholed road. Interior roads and sites are concrete and easy to navigate. Facilities are well maintained and clean except for poorly policed dog waste. The pool, marine basin, and fishing pier are nice features. It was very quiet during our stay. AT&T phone and data signals are strong in the area. Utilities and park Wi-Fi are very good. There are many long-term residents and workers but most were newer units and tidy. The rate is monthly without the electricity charge. We would be very happy to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$29
Don't arrive after dark as it is not easy to find. Once there though it is easy to get back. Good location in that it is between Houston and Galveston and easy access to I45 or state road 146. Sites are great. Long and level with good hookups. Good internet. Did not rate it better because in the week we were there we did not see anyone doing any kind of maintenance or cleanup so it is starting to get a rundown look and it is not an old park. Also lots of seasonal campers with a lot of stuff piled around their sites. We will go back as we liked the location. Price is weekly rate for a pull through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
The rate above reflects the weekly rate. This is a little oasis of a park. Very quiet, clean and well maintained. Clean neat pool, restrooms are currently being remodeled, the vinyl flooring is being replaced with tile, nice laundry, meeting room with free pool table, fishing is great right off the bank. The down side is make sure you call ahead sites are hard to come by, several long term there and take up most of the waterfront sites, but they're RV's are clean and well kept up, but limits incomers that stay for a week or two strictly to the inside mainland sites. Sites are all concrete, with concrete roads, very level. Once you visit this park you'll understand why it's hard to get a site, we didn't want to leave. Definitely will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$45
Excellent park with paved roads and sites, good electric and water pressure. We had a waterfront site, with a great view of Dickinson Bayou. Lots of birds right out our front window. The park is very clean, staff is friendly, and we rate this among the newest parks we have visited in 13 years of full-time RVing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$42
Really nice RV park, off the beaten path. Level, cement pads, small trees, some grass, good satellite and air card reception. No picnic tables or grills on site. Stayed in site 72, right on the bay, with great sunset views. Staff friendly and helpful. Would be a "10" if there was a pool, which is under construction. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$11
We had reservations for a particular site, which was not available when we arrived. Fortunately our ‘new’ site was acceptable but this could have been viewed as a customer service shortcoming. This is a medium sized park out away from the “world”. The spaces are large and paved. The park was quite full when we were there. They do keep the grounds up very well and they mow a large open field that can be used for off-leash dog play, etc. An alternate path to the park is off Texas 146 South, take Route FM 517 (right) West to Bowerman Road to Avenue U to San Leon and then straight into the park! Because of location, a local map would be very helpful to non-Texans. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
Our price reflects a water front, premium site. Clean and quiet. Many spaces are long term people working in the area, but their spots are mostly clutter free. Management and staff were very friendly and truly appreciated our business. Nice club house with big screen DirecTV, card tables, and billiard table. A swimming pool was under construction during our visit. Each individual bathroom had a shower in the room. Very nice for privacy if you take a shower there. Bathrooms were clean. We did not use the laundry room. During the evenings and on weekends, many people are fishing along the water front sites. This makes it very easy to walk along the water front, talk to, and meet new friends. We really enjoyed our stay here and the people we met. Everyone was very friendly. This was truly a vacation kind of atmosphere. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
Our rate reflects a week stay. We stayed on the bay site which I recommend. Nice park-GPS will get you everywhere in area including to the park. Clean and paved streets and site. Not good for childern, no play area or pool. Workers stay in park, but all rigs and sites well maintained. Quiet and a wonderful view of bay in site 71. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$15
Rate reflects a monthly stay. The park itself is beautiful. Two ponds, two fishing docks, views out on the bayou if you choose waterfront, nice laundry facilities/showers/restrooms. Exceptional staff as far as friendly and helpful as they could be. No activities in the way of special interests available, but new management hopes to change that. Most of the people staying there were BP workers or oil refinery employees. Nothing is there for children, no playground, and it's not safe to bike around outside the park. Once outside the park, it is heavily industrial and very depressing in the area--nothing but oil refineries along the coast near the park and hurricane damage still evident. Thirty minute drive to Galveston, which was delightful and a must see. Another nice area to walk around and eat at was Kemah Boardwalk, just down the road on 146. Good restaurant in the area, TBone Tom's for steak. We loved the park, but didn't like the area. One more thing--cool, wild Monk parrots live in the park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$37
Certainly off the beaten path and that's nice. We stayed by the little lake and there are bay side sites that look nice too. Be sure to read the driving directions on the web site to get here. A day time arrival is recommended if it's your first time, like another review stated. It's at the end of a very dark road if you arrive at night, you will be questioning your GPS and looking for a turn around point when all of a sudden...Boom! there it is. Huge concrete pads with all kinds of room for parking. Nice and quiet with lot's of cool birds. Be sure to look for the little green parrots. We'll definitely be back. One of the most peaceful enjoyable RV spots we've visited. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
This is a clean, safe, cheap place to spend some time. We were here 6 months at $380 a month for a 50 amp. Galveston and the Kemah Boardwalk are both great places close by to visit. Gio's Italian restaurant is on 517, the other side of interstate 45, and a really good value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
As other people have said this is a great location. The large pot holes have been fixed. County could work on the road to park a little more. All roads and sites in park are cement and I only found couple places in front of office that need to be fixed. Sites are all super size or Texas size and level. Hookups were in correct place and all have 50 amp service. No tables or fire rings here. A beautiful place on Dickinson Bayou and you can take your boat into the Gulf from here. You have two small fresh water ponds as well. Only one small problem and that is the Wi-Fi system is working off of Hughesnet Sat. system and it is one more slow dog. System is free but very close to useless. Staff was very helpful with everything that I ask for. Lots of people live here and park was close to full. Noise free day and night. Verizon cell and air card work well here. Lot of TV channels over the air. Sat. systems will work on any site due to no trees. Lots to see and do close by. Six bathrooms are all unisex and have everything in one room, very nice and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$38
Great location on Dickinson Bay, just north of Galveston Bay. Our space had a wonderful view of the bay! Be warned though - this place has two names! On their website & paperwork, it's called "Galveston Bay," but signage and phone answering says "Via Bayou!" The park itself is all paved, but the road leading to the park (San Leon Dr.) is VERY rutted and potholed - be careful!!! May be leftover damage from Hurrican Ike. Don't know why they don't fix this... And there are a few potholes in the park too. So heed previous warnings - don't arrive the first time at night! A huge plus for us was the wonderful area they have for walking dogs (and cats, in our case!). Another plus was the friendly guy at the counter - we needed to extend a day (or longer - we didn't know at that point) because of a medical emergency, and they sounded very accommodating (turns out we only needed to stay one extra night)! The $38/night was for staying 5 nights. We had paid for a whole week, as it was cheaper ($190/wk vs. $40/nt), but we had only planned on staying 5 nights (although ended up staying 6, so the cost/night was actually $32 - confused yet?!). If you visit this area, go see the San Jacinto Monument and Brazos Bend State Park (unless you don't like alligators!). Incredible places. Too bad coastal TX tends to be so windy! There are some great places here though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
The park host were great. I wish the fishing was better, but overall it was a great spot.They had large sites and lots of nice space. No lights at nite anywhere so watch your kids playing after dark. This is a new park with great potential I will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
A very nice quiet park. Most of the current residents are working, so the park is very quiet during the day. It was very windy during our stay here, but we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$13
The prior website is gone. The rate posted is a monthly rate. The location is a bit remote and make sure to go very slowly on the country roads there are some very large potholes. Try very hard to get there before dark. The address didn't show up on the GPS. After dark it looks like a dead end road and there is a right turn you can't see in the dark. It is worth the drive! Ocean breezes and water views. This park is very close to Kemah and Nasa Bay. You can fish here and there lots of open areas to walk. Great Kayak location. Office staff is very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$15
Wonderful location for trips to Galveston and the Space Center. You can fish off the pier. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$15
Our overall rating would have been higher had we not been in site 16, which floods (also noted by a previous reviewer), and the very poor Wi-Fi access. When we arrived, 4-5 sites were still open and I questioned why we were assigned to #16, but was not given any reason. It rained, it flooded and flooded again when another tenant's water hose was on and flowed to: site 16! Maybe it is the assigned site of PPA discount users like us. If you want decent Wi-Fi service, early a.m. or late p.m. seemed to work best. If this park is only 2 years old, one would have thought Wi-Fi towers would have been placed throughout the park and not rely on what seemed to be a slow speed dial-up. Beyond the water and the Wi-Fi, we enjoyed our stay. The park is very quiet and scenic. The staff was nice when checking in but otherwise not observed. The road into the park is very narrow and rutted. We would certainly return and have considered spending several weeks here next time but probably with our own Wi-Fi access and not in site 16. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$18
We like this park very much. Stayed for at least a week twice. People are friendly. Right on the water near two fish markets where the fishermen come in. Pads are concrete and level. As noted before the wifi is almost unusable at times because of speed. Would definitely come back again. Rate was PA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$15
Passport America rate, $30 is full rate. The Wi-fi is poor, but use able. However, they did tell us this when I asked about it when making reservation and again at check-in. Probably a household type Wi-Fi setup that can get over loaded by the number of users in a park. This park would have gotten a 10 from us if the Wi-fi was more robust and we were in any other site. We were in site 16 and it had drainage problems (but we were here using PA so that is probably why we got it). It rained the first night and the site was 50% under water. The low point was around the hookups and this area was still holding water when we left 5 days later. The 'puddle' after the rain went from the hookup and surrounded all of the RV tires except the back right. The door area was also flooded so we had to walk in water to get in. So if not using PA I would make sure that you get a different site. This was the only one that had the problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
We booked for the entire weekend, but my wife became very ill on Saturday, and we had to leave. The staff was very understanding, and gave us a refund, which I did not expect. Kudos on their customer service. This is a very nice park on the water. Lots of space to walk, and lots of water access to fish. Very nice, concrete pads and modern, working, hookup pedestals. It appears that there are more than a few long-termers here, so make reservations early. The owners and staff are very nice, personable, and accommodating. The location is very convenient to Kemah, Texas City, and Galveston, but still close enough to IH45 that getting to Houston is not too much of a chore. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$12
Sites paved, level, with grass. Beautiful setting on bayou. Weather changed rapidly with 10-20 mph winds usual. Good place for bird watching. Many residents that commute to work somewhere between 5-6 a.m., but park was clean and quiet. Residents ignore park speed, so beware if walking dog after dark. Park being sold to new owners so conditions and rates may change. Rate reflects monthly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$25
Office people were extremely helpful and friendly. The park was a welcome surprise. We looked at a few in the area, and this was a diamond in the rough. The sites were large enough for a 42 foot coach a tow dolly and our car. Each site has a table also. We were right on the water, just beautiful. Very clean and well kept. Fishing if you like. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$25
This is a quiet, rural and casual RV park. Not a resort certainly, it's on the bayou, surrounded by lawned and palm-treed spaces. There are no shade trees. We stayed along the bayou, site #65 - very nice, lots of room and very level - plenty of room for our 37' fifth wheel and F-350 dually. Fun to watch the water birds and the flock of wild Monk parakeets screeching through the trees. Several rows of sites border the water - some on the bayou, some on a small fresh-water lake. Two fishing piers, a small marina and the waters edge accommodate avid anglers. There is also a 9-hole golf course on the property. There is a very nice kitchen and small community room - even equipped with a high end treadmill and a telephone for the guests. Clean showers & laundry. The park accepts mail for guests. The free wireless is a bit "iffy" - they could use a booster or two to reach all the spaces. There is no garbage pick up, only 2 dumpsters for 81 sites. Family activities are minimal, save the fishing and self-generated biking and such. The park is set back off the main roads and a little tricky to find (don't let that stop you - just call the friendly, laid-back owners for directions.) In spite of the rural setting, there is adequate shopping nearby (Wal-mart, Walgreens, Dollar stores, etc.) There is mall shopping and such in nearby Galveston & Houston. This is a nice place to headquarter and visit the Space Center, Moody Gardens, Kemah Boardwalk, the Gulf of Mexico & many more. This is a popular place with many full-time Winter Visitors: be sure to call early for reservations. We visited in December and called at least 4 months ahead for our bayou-edge site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$33
Resort is very clean with friendly staff. Sites are concrete and large enough to accommodate large rigs. Beautiful setting on the bayou with bird watching from your rig. A few sites are occupied by people working near by but they all have well kept sites and rigs. A lot of seasonal people in the winter. Free Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$33
This is a very nice park with large concrete roads and pad. It is a quiet park with two fishing piers and lots space between rigs. It is right on Dickinson Bayou and has spaces where you can tie up your boat. There are no amenities such as swimming pool etc but it is a great place to just be on the water. This is our second winter here and the people are all very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2004
$33
Very quiet, well maintained, new campground. Concrete pads and roads. Good place for fishing and crabbing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$26
This is a hidden paradise! I can't say enough good things about this place. Medium sized, fairly new park, but more expansion to come. Nice big concrete pads, pretty landscaping with lot's of palm trees and exceptionally clean. Close to stores and entertainment, yet very peaceful and quiet; no traffic to be seen or heard. The owner and managers are very friendly and helpful. There are two fishing piers: great place for crabbing. A public boat ramp is nearby and we were able to tie up our bay boat right in front of our site. Dickinson Bayou leads into the bay. Perfect for people that like to go boating and fishing. Make sure you call first for directions, since the park is hard to find. The address is confusing, since one brochure says Texas City, yet the price sheet says Dickinson. It is right by the bay, though. We will definitely be back on a regular basis. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com