224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Oakwood RV Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 64 user reviews. Phone: (830) 997-9817
CGID2775

Oakwood RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
132
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   9   6   5   6   8   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$18
Very nice park in a great location. The $18 rate is what we had on a monthly rate with electricity. Super friendly staff. The very best swimming pool we have ever encountered at an RV resort. Sites are just a bit on the small side, or I would have rated them a 9 or 10. Would definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
I stayed here for the first 3 days with Passport America, and the rate was less. After the 3 days, I went in to explain that I didn't feel well and wanted to extend, could they give me the same rate - no, but they would give me the Good Sam rate. Apparently, since I was PA, I was assigned a site in the full sun (charged extra since it was a pull-thru) for the full day, even though there were nicer, shaded sites available. The facilities were OK, except for the laundry - the dryers seemed to be a good deal until you found out that it took way too long to dry clothes since it was all low heat. Wouldn't stay here again, I'm sure there are more nice places in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
Rate cited is with a Passport America discount (use any day of the week) and Good Sam. We were located on row next to pool. Long enough but not wide enough. Our entire row was empty (except for us) and they put a motorhome right next to us. His slides went over our patio area. Wondered when they might mow. Dog area at one end of park, so you want to be close to that. There is an extremely bright light installed by the pool house and over our site. Kept me up the first night, used towels over windows next night. We stayed for 6 nights so no big problems. Laundry room hot and temps were pleasant when we were there. I'd stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$42
We stayed in one of the premium pull-thru sites, as did our friends in the site next to ours. Contrary to other reviews, our site was spacious, came with a picnic table sitting on a large concrete pad, and had trees on both sides to provide shade. Quiet location, about five minute drive from downtown Fredericksburg. Clean restrooms & showers. GREAT dog walk area. Added bonus for us was the park is adjacent to Street Dreams of Texas, a business buying/selling high performance cars & trucks displayed in a large (60+ vehicles?) indoor showroom. We would stay at Oakwood again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
We were warmly greeted by the registration staff. We found the campsite to be very tight. If you want some feeling of "your own space" this might not be the place for you. There are some permanent residents there, or so it seemed, and some of their sites and equipment could use some upkeep. The only other comment I would have is that we were at the opposite end of the campsite from the dog walk area, we are not young and have some physical limitations, so even if you clean up after your dog (which everyone should) there is no grass except for the dog walk area. So keep that in mind when you book if this pertains to you. Cable was good, WiFi worked, site was level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2014
$37
Meh. This was an OK park. The spots were VERY NARROW and CLOSE TOGETHER. I think this is an older park that was not originally meant for the larger rigs out on the road today. Slide-outs hang over the concrete pad with the picnic table and into the spot next to you. The rows are narrow and it's hard to get your rig in and out. Much of the park was full with people who live there and work in town and park their cars in front of their rigs, crowding the roads in and out of the park. Consider this park if you have a smaller rig, under 24 feet. It will make it a lot easier to get in and out. At 36' plus our truck, it was a tight fit. Very quiet park, hardly any noise. Dog park was a little small for our big dog, but would be fine for a medium or small dog. Too cold to use the pool but it looked very nice and well-maintained. Only 4 washing machines in the laundry for over a hundred sites. Overall an OK stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$32
Sites are dirt with small concrete patio area. Way too close to next site. Very difficult to park big rig. Sewer connection directly next to patio of neighbor site. Our neighbor's slideout actually hung over our patio. Neatly trimmed bushes separate sites barely leave enough room for slideouts and make it impossible to get into storage area beneath motorhome. There are some larger sites if you want to pay higher price. Would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$37
This park is fairly nice. Lots of temporary workers in this park, but they didn't impact us. A few run down Motorhomes but other than being an eye sore no problem. Shower's, restrooms, and laundry facility was fine. Laundry facility only had 4 washers and 3 dryers, but they worked well. Fredericksburg is a cute town with a nice downtown area to stroll around. Luckenbach, TX is just a few miles (8) from here. Make sure you drive out to see that. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$37
Our RV group had a small rally here. We chose to park in the trees, so weekly rate was higher ($258), which we felt was a bit pricey. Site was gravel and level. They offer NO discounts on weekly rates. Our space was easy to get in and out of, even with our tow attached. Close in to town and all the activities that Fredericksburg offers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
In the middle of the park are 30 pull throughs and 6 back-in for short term parking. The rest are all back-in’s located around the perimeter of the park, set up for seasonal or full time residents(with electric meters). All of the sites around the perimeter have lots of shade trees. The sites in the middle have nuisance decorative trees and shrubs. All the roadways and pads are pea gravel that just loves to get stuck in your tire treads. Water pressure at the site was nominal at 40 psi. Each site has a concrete pad with a picnic table, but the problem is that the space between the concrete pads is narrow, making positioning of your rig a real challenge. Beside the electrical pedestal was a large Cable box that sat 24” into the site, reducing the available maneuvering space from 11’ to 9’, not much allowance for a 8 ½’ wide rig. All the other sites did not have this problem so avoid site #91 if you can unless you have the ‘turn thing’ down pat. The spacing of the decorative trees and shrubs caused problems with trying to position our 4 slides. The sewage opening is actually in the concrete patio of your next door neighbor, sitting it about 8” above the ground. By the time you screw in your connecting elbow, the opening at good 12-14” above the ground. No matter how hard you try, crap does not flow uphill. In our site, the tree on left side of site overhung the parking spot and as we attempted to pull in, we were pushing branches out of the way. I eventually backed out and went around again and went over to the right as much as I could. I asked the staff to trim back the tree as it overshadowed the site, but they refused. The WiFi was free, but pathetic. The connection was slow and unreliable and disconnected frequently. We will not stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$33
Would have rated higher if bathroom remodels had been finished. Shower area partially torn up waiting to be finished. Clean but small. We had a great site with plenty of large trees and area to put our chairs. Sites close together. Back-ins require a little skill. 2 miles from town. Spent 6 nights. Would definitely stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
Stayed here with our RV club. This is a nice park in a great location. Mostly pull-through sites, but the sites are a bit close together as they are in most older parks. The management is in the process of revitalizing the bathrooms, but they were clean and usable. Good power, excellent Wi-Fi and cable TV (both free) and good Verizon 3G service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2013
$35
The park advertised 70 cable channels but were in the process of switching to another system, so we had nothing. We were not advised in advance when making the reservation of this problem. The showers worked great until someone started the washing machines in the laundry room, then there was but a trickle of water at a very inconvenient time in the shower process. The hot tub was lukewarm, and the entire area was just too gross to even think about getting in the water. But the worst part of it all was the rude women who worked the registration counter in the morning at check out. I asked for her name, but she would not give it to me. When we made a complaint about the above she stated she had worked there for 10 years, and we were the first people to ever complain! Really? I found this very hard to believe. The fact that they use the word "resort" in their name is a joke. This place is far from it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$35
Decent campground but not a destination resort. On the edge of town. Gravel roads and sites with concrete pads. Clean restrooms. Large pool..not heated. Hot tub...luke warm. Friendly/helpful staff. Mix of long/short term residents. Would stay here again for a night or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
We stayed here for a month. The restrooms/showers are clean and adequate and cleaned daily. Laundry is $1.25 a load. We paid for a 'premium' pull through site which gets you a fire pit and free wood. Unfortunately, these sites are piled right at the entrance/exit to the campground. They are gravel. The 'locals' who live/work here spend all day running their diesel trucks in and out of the park, using the empty premium sites as shortcuts if possible. We made 3 trips to the 'hot' tub, and it was barely 90 degrees each time. Complaints to the manager went nowhere. Road noise and inconsiderate dog owners are prevalent. Would not recommend, nuff said. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
We chose this park based on previous reviews on this site. The spaces are very close together and we would have had a much harder time getting into our back-in space if the space opposite ours had been occupied. That said, overall the park is very good. Management and staff are very helpful with information on local area attractions. The WiFi and cable TV worked excellent. The TV channel selection was extensive. The bathrooms and showers were well maintained. The shower stalls have good room for changing. Many of the sites are shaded with mature oak trees. All of the sites had a concrete patio pad with a picnic table. Some sites have fire pits and the park provides firewood. Our only complaint is the laundry room had only 4 washers for the 132 sites in the park. The park seems to have a lot of long term residents. There is a HEB grocery store within a mile of the park and several gas stations close-by with diesel fuel. The nightly rate ($29.70) was with a 10% AAA discount and taxes added. We extended our stay one day, the night before our original departure date, with no problems. We will stay here again when we visit the Fredericksburg area We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$17
Very disappointed in this park. We drove further to camp here because of the web page and reviews. We went in and said we had Passport and in my opinion were treated like 2nd class. We were also told if we stayed an additional night (and we HAD planned to) that we couldn't use ANY of our other discounts. Passport afforded us a back-in site only according to the check in person. We had FHUs but the Wi-Fi shouldn't be advertised since it apparently doesn't work (tried off and on for hours). The site was so narrow after leveling we couldn't open one slide without totally hooking back up and re-parking. The rain left the park in puddles and it obviously needs some additional gravel to extend the very short sites and repair the roads. If we had paid the full price we would really be upset. We would pay extra and stay elsewhere. The dead end roads made leaving more complicated and we drove through a vacant site to reach the exit street. Park could be laid out more efficiently and fixed up to be nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$29
I felt this was a great place to stay, nice shady spaces and friendly helpful staff. The restrooms and showers were exceptionally clean. The only drawback is that the spaces are too close together. We definitely plan to stay here again, altogether a good experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2012
$32
Others mentioned close sites, but these were the closest I have ever seen. I literally had to move my neighbor's picnic table out of the way for my living room slide slide to go out over their patio. I was in a pull through space, but had to back out to leave because of tree limbs blocking my exit. When we checked in, we were advised that our site was too far away from the office to expect Internet service, and I appreciated that. What They didn't tell me the park was having water issues, and we had almost no water pressure on Friday. Then, Saturday morning, the water quit working completely. Fortunately I keep some water in our RV. We love the area, but will seek an alternative place to stay next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
This park is just outside of town. It is close to a very new and nice HEB grocery store and a new Walmart. The sites are very close, but they are mostly under trees. Residents were nice. Pool was closed in March. There was a dog park but it was very small and heavily used. There were large grassy areas to walk your dog and they were kept very clean. This was a friendly, clean park and I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$19
Lots of trailers have been parked here for a long time. The two rows near the office, used as overnight, or short term spaces, are short pull throughs. If you are towing a trailer of any size, you will have to unhook after getting on your site. All hookups are at the very rear. Sites are gravel, but have concrete patios. Neighbor's slide was overhanging our patio. Wi-fi worked well at our site. Restrooms and showers were spacious and clean. Rate was PA for one night, only. The most positive thing about staying here is the Mexican restaurant across the street. Hilda's is definitely a place not to miss if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$16
Nice enough campground with a pool and hot tub which was closed due to the weather. They advertise Passport America but the owner is not happy giving it to you. The office staff does a great job of tempering the owners rules to make you feel wanted. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
Very clean park and there are several sites with large trees. The restrooms were kept very clean. They also have a meeting hall if you have a group traveling together or meeting at the park. All the employees were very friendly. They are in the process of installing Wi-Fi so some sites have bad connections. I use a cellular modem so it was not a problem. The Park is very close to the Airport, Fairgrounds, and Downtown. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2011
$33
I think this park has seen better days. The Wi-Fi does not work at all. They told us that when we checked in. We weren't too happy to hear it, but they didn't seem to care about it. The sites are narrow but usable. The pool is really nice, although it was closed, due to the time of year. The hot tub is an old one, not built in, but like one you might have in your back yard. It had duct tape in some places. I tried to do laundry, but only two of the four washers worked, one had dirty clothes in it and the other was in use. Only one dryer DIDN'T have an "out of order" sign. Since the room smelled bad anyway, I gave up and left. Our AT&T cellphones worked fine. For this price we will go elsewhere next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
This is an older park, very narrow spaces, narrow entryway, mostly dirt with a little gravel. Nice trees, huge pool, small older hot tub, reasonable laundry/good prices, definitely pet friendly, lots of work campers keeping things in good condition. Nice office staff. Now the downside. I called and ask specifically about the Wi-Fi. I was told that yes, they had it. After we spent all the time setting up, I tried my Wi-Fi and it was not there. Called the office and they said that due to my Coach and the trees that maybe I had better come to the office and use my laptop there. To make a long story short, there is no Wi-Fi except at the office. We left because of it after a few days. I do not like being lied to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$36
Narrow driveway entering. Would be tight with two rigs passing. Easy access from highway. Gravel interior roads. Some shaded parking. Close to Nimitz museum and LBJ Texas Whitehouse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
Very nice, clean and friendly park. Trash picked up daily. Pet park and pet walking area. Large clean swimming pool and hot tub. Wide spaces with concrete patio. Enjoyed two month stay very much and will definitely go back when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
First, this Park should be re-named DogWood! There is a huge pet run for those that have pets and the pet owners do nothing to contain their animals to that area. Yes, there are rules and rules but the Park Management does nothing about these "rule breaker actions." For example: there is a 2 dog rule per RV. On numerous occasions the door to an RV would open and out come four dogs! Many horse trailers (with RV sleeping quarters) one such trailer had four border collies (unleashed) running all over the Park. There was a range (feed) truck running all over the park at times. Some of the guests would have to use the dump station at the termination of their stay because the full hook-ups they had at their site consisted of a PVC sewer pipe that was higher than the pipe on their RV! Stay away from Dog Wood. They have many rules but NO ONE enforces anything! Our daily rate reflected a monthly stay. We won't be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$33
Older park in need of updating in my opinion, but many folks there seemed to enjoy it. Most sites were very small and tight. Slides hang over neighbors patio slab. Sewer drain located in same patio?? Crowded due to Spring Break I assume. Fortunately we had an end of the row site and had a little extra breathing room. Not much privacy. Dog run, and walking area was one plus. Cable was fuzzy on several channels. Pool was still closed but is a nice size. Did I say that the sites were tiny? OK for an overnight stop. We'll try a different park next time we're in Fredricksburg, so we probably won't be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$32
Okay campground for visiting Fredericksburg. Price reflects one day at Passport rate. Rather high for what you get. Sites are level but narrow, and the entrance is, also. Sites were not really long enough to leave tows attached. Office staff was friendly and helpful. Cable worked great We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$17
Rate Passport America discount. Site back-in gravel. Cable TV fuzzy on some channels. Wi-Fi worked okay. Private phone in clubhouse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
This was a great place. We stayed there for 3 nights during the central Texas Food and Wine Fest and found the place to be very well kept and the staff extremely nice and helpful. The location was just right, not in the middle of town but close enough that we could see Fredericksburg and enjoy the area without being in the car for long. The cable TV signal was weak at best but we're not big TV watchers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
The entrance to the park is very narrow. There ia a large pool but it's not heated. Restrooms and showers are just more than basic but clean. The big advantage is the proximity to "downtown" Fredericksburg and the absence of noise. WiFi is not excellent but it works. We stayed here one night and paid the PA-rate. We would come here again if we intended to visit Fredericksburg. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
Stayed on a Monday with the Passport rate for a pull through. A well kept park with friendly office staff. You can hear road traffic as Texans like their trucks loud. It's a very nice park. Will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
Nice park. Very good WiFi and cable TV. Big pool and hot tub. Spaces are a little too close together but with no next door neighbors, that was not a problem. Be sure to go to the 8th stoplight south of main street before turning right, even though their website says 7 lights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This is a very nice, clean place. By the way, it has a HUGE pool! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
The check in lady was very nice and helpful. However when using the Passport America discount you get the bargain basement spots. No shade, very close and cramped, your slideouts will be over the next camper's concrete slab with the picnic table on it. Sewer hookups are on the same slab as your neighbor's picnic table which is a little odd. Wi-Fi is very good. If this park has restrictions on sites with discount it should have been listed in the directory. Will not stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$39
Was worried based upon everyone's comments about space; however, we stayed in space 5 for four nights and were very comfortable. Enjoyed the location, the facility, and the staff. Wireless hookup was very simple to use had no problems running two laptops (macbooks). Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
We had a nice shady, back in site in the "forest". Has an excellent large pool, great WiFi. Was full for the Memorial Day weekend with a Crawfish Festival in town, but it was very quiet. Nice areas around edge of park for dog walks. No area to park the RV at check-in, except to block the road. Nice Texas Hill Country park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
Easy access to park and check in was easy. If you use GPS beware it doesn't have the correct location. I found the lady that checked us in was nice, no rules mentioned. The site was level and we had no trees or tight turns mentioned by others. The spots were a little short but not too close together. We could use our Dish, Verizon phone and air card here. Water pressure was good. People around to help you and answer any questions. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$39
Sites are close together, you should definitely pay for a premium site. Camped here for Spring Break, did not see many children and not many activities but we stayed busy in Fredericksburg. We did like that they had full hookups. Campground was clean but close to a road that had a lot of truck noise early in the mornings. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2009
$37
Pull-through sites are so tight our tires rubbed on elevated concrete pads when trying to get into our site with a big rig. Staff was not friendly, in fact rude and the office was unprofessional with some offensive signs on the walls. Would not stay or recommend to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$23
Campground is ok. Stayed for a rally found the spaces very small with awning overhang of the neighbors sewer and utilites in some cases. The restrooms/showers are a bit primitive, but ok. Would I stay again? Perhaps. The ladies who run the park are a bit different and may have been dealing with RVer's for too long. I would prescribe a break or retirement. Lots of rules. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
The $18 was a Passport America rate. Park very quiet, about 2 miles from town with easy access. The park is in great shape and staff super friendly and helpful. Each site has a small concrete pad with a picnic table and gravel is under the RV with level sites. Spaces are close together but adequate. Grounds are well kept and there is a dog walk area. We would absolutely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We just got home from Oakwood. We had a nice time. The pool needed attention, didn't swim, due to the rain. We stay here when we are in the area. The spaces are tight. The rest rooms were very clean. Front loading washers, have to get use to them (less Water) Park was filling up for the weekend. We stayed Mon-Sat. and enjoyed the town. We use this as a base-camp and go site seeing and shopping. SEE ALL YOU CAN, while there we went to see LBJ Ranch... We totally enjoyed this. You will too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Stayed one night as a Passport member, could have stayed longer. Would highly recommend this park. Well kept, fairly quiet, good location, friendly staff. Will definitely return when in the area. Has a very large pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Very nice, clean campground. Rigs rather close together. Good WiFi, cable and phone service. Washers and dryers rather small. Pot lucks and other activities. Would stay here for extended period. Many sights to see in local area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
We had a good experience at this facility. The space we camped in had enough room but there are others very close together. The staff friendly and helpful. We would camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
Wasn't my first choice for staying in Fredericksburg. Older park with numerous narrow (read difficult access) pull through sites. If a fellow camper with more experience hadn't been there to help I'm not sure I could have gotten my 31 ft 5th wheel into the site. Between the raised concrete pad and the utility connections I only had about a foot on each side of the trailer after I was parked. This was after asking for a site with "easy" access. OK if other options are full but other campgrounds in the area have easier access. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$27
If you can get pull thru-do so. Otherwise pretty tight for big rigs. Friendly and helpful staff. Would stay again, location good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$33
Sites were a bit small so our slides were almost on top of the neighbour's patio area. Very friendly folks at the check in and helpful with making some tools accessible as we needed to try and do some repairs. The pool area is large and looks very clean. The dog walk area is in the middle of a field but there is also some trails around for walking. There are a fair number of sites with what appear to be full time residents but they are over in the treed area where the sites are not suitable for a larger motorhome. The pull throughs are all over in what seems to be the newer part and have a gravel sand base- nice and level but did end up getting tracked in. A nice park for a short stay- wouldn't want to be there for more than a couple of nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$27
We've stayed at Oakwood twice now. I would recommend the park and would probably stay here again, but only if the other RV park in town (Fredericksburg RV is full). I hate to say that. Oakwood has a great pool and lots of space, but the sites are very close together. Honestly there are 3 parks in Fredericksburg, they are all pretty good and it's just personal preference. This is a decent park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$17
We stayed one night on Passport America, and selected a site in the lower price range, but other larger sites were available. Sites were close together, but we weren't parked next to anyone so that didn't matter. Would be a closed in feeling if the park were full. The staff is great, we enjoyed our stay, and will stay at Oakwood again in the future if in the area. Felt we received a good site at a good price, but do wish they would honor Passport America for more than one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2007
$30
Agree with those who said small, close sites difficult to get into -- even with a 30-ft. fifth wheel. Rude, unfriendly office staff. Fredericksburg is a great city to visit, but there are other places to camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
This park has two parts-one half is a heavily treed, park like area with winding roads that lead to shaded back-in spots. A few of these are a pretty tight fit between big shade trees but they are perfect for smaller rigs like mine. The other half is a wide open paved lot with rows of pull through spaces sprinkled with small spaced trees. The location is great, on the edge of town near the fairgrounds in a quiet area. The pool is big and well kept, a real treat during hot Texas afternoons. This is the place to stay if you are going to attend one of the many annual events at the Gillespie County Fairgrounds. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$28
Sites were very tight. We have a 40 ft MH and with the slides out, we were nearly touching the picnic table in our patio area, as was the fifth wheel next to us touching it with his slide. We will probably not stay here again as we found the management in the office was surly and not very helpful. There are too many other places around where people are glad to see you come in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
Interior roads become muddy with large amounts of rain which we had. Older park with very close difficult sites to navigate. Slides will hang over neighbors patio. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2006
$32
I camped there almost a year ago. Wish I had known about this site immediately after my experience. I agree with all of the negative comments that have been made at this site. An early morning call on the day of arrival to confirm our site indicated our reservations had not been handled correctly. Another call about two hours out confirmed that nothing had been done to correct the situation. Upon arrival we did have a site. The Workkampers were not friendly. Despite several requests, the cable never did work. It was included in the price and no adjustment was ever made. I would not return to Oakwood RV Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2006
$28
This park is in bad need of some work. The roads will become a muddy river when it rains. The sites are so close to each other that if you have a large slide it'll cover the patio next to you. They have increased the monthly rate for 50 amp service to $425 per month. This park would be acceptable only if WalMart is full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2006
$17
Attitude of the staff was very poor and surly. They quoted one price and then wanted to raise the price if we extended our stay. When the weather turned freezing, they would not extend us because they were booked up, nor would they give a refund so we could get out of there before the freezing rain hit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2004
$28
We were here from June 2004 to April 2005 and we'll never stay here that long again. The park is okay for a one night stay but not for long stays. When it rains the roads turn into a muddy street. The owner refuses to spend any money to improve the park. The sites are close to each other and some of the larger slides go over the next patio slab. A lot of campers believe the owner is using the park as a tax write off. The name Oakwood RV Resort is totally misleading. There is nothing in the park that would make this a Resort. I just as soon as spend the night in a Wal Mart parking lot than stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2004
$28
This park is very tight and hard to maneuver. Trucks and cars park in the street making it very hard to pull into your site. Not very well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$21
This park probably used to be just fine, but maintenance has been neglected for several years. The entry is quite impressive, but once in the gate, the shabbiness begins to be apparent. The sites and roads are gravel, which has not been replaced in years. It was a rainy day, and the roads were muddy in places. This park is rated with four diamonds by Woodall's, but apparently they haven't been there lately. I should have known something was wrong when I noticed that the brochure I got at the office had "no refunds" printed in several places. The sites were very narrow, with slides extending over the next site's picnic table. The pool was unuseable, the horeshoe pits were in disrepair, the "putting green", which was a piece of astro turf set up on a little mound, was embarrasing, and there was a fountain that had been disconnected and was in need of cleaning. The office person was neither friendly nor surly. The park was not awful, but was below expectations. Okay for an overnight, but far from being a destination resort. We stayed there in April of 2004. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2003
$28
This RV Park is located in the beautiful Hill Country of Texas. The town is a small German town and everyone is very friendly. The weather in the winter is very mild. I would recommend this RV Park to everyone looking for a quiet place to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com