214402 User submitted reviews online!!
Rainbow's End (Escapees Only) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 62 user reviews. Phone: (936) 327-1279
CGID2834

Rainbow's End (Escapees Only)

Camp Information
Sites
130
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   4   8   9   3   7   7   6   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2014
$15
Rude is the only way to describe the park managers. We have stayed at most SKP parks throughout the United States and never found such rude people. The park is old, dated, dirty, not well kept. We will never return to this park!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$19
We have stayed at a lot of SKP parks and this one is the worst! The good part are the managers are wonderful and very helpful. BUT: this is a prime example of the SKP club forgetting their roots: it has become more of a subdivision of homes with RVs that haven't been moved in years; barking dogs; more traffic than many small towns; plus constant (day and night!) golf cart traffic. To top it all off, if you stay in the Play and Stay sites you get to listen the mail truck run for 3 hours every morning Monday through Friday. If you like noise and camping in a neighborhood, you will like this park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$15
Rate is based on Escapees' "stay and play" rate and includes electricity for our 20 nights there. This is a great park - friendly staff, good selection of planned activities, nice facilities. We will definitely stay there again. I lowered my rating a bit for two reasons. First, the campground's Internet service. It's through Tengo Internet, which in Spanish means "I have Internet" but is really more like NO tengo Internet (slow, unreliable connection). Definitely not worth purchasing if you can avoid it. Second, park rules prohibit the use of washing machines because of the septic system. We had to pay to use the park's laundry. A bit inconvenient if you're a full-timer who is used to doing laundry in your rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$13
Upon arrival we were welcomed by the park manager in a friendly and professional manner, even receiving the traditional SKP Hug. Extended our stay twice due to having work done on the RV. Staff were professional and courteous. The last time we stayed here was 2006. This time we stayed in the oaks section. Sites are well spaced, easy in and out, and level. Although we did not attend any functions, neighbors were considerate and friendly. We will return when in the area. One neighbor took my trash to the dumpster with his. Thank you for the nice gesture, and I will pass it on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2014
$13
Noisy and not well kept. As members of the same club we expected a friendly greeting. The park managers were the rudest we've encountered in years of full time travel. The main part of the park and the care center have wonderful people and lots of activities. However, we would not return if it required dealing with these park managers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$21
The previous reviewer from November has this place figured out perfectly. Particularly the part about it being very dated. This is a membership park that claims to be super friendly, but we didn't find that to be the case. Unless you have a satellite dish, TV watching is limited to a few religious and Spanish channels. There is no cable. They will allow you to wash your RV, which is about the only thing this park has going for it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$19
The Front gate staff was friendly, and very helpful. The ice cream shack is awesome. The activity center was a little slow, maybe it was just the time of year that we were here. The park is very dated and needs a little bit of an overhaul. The sewer hook-ups were a little confusing, we had to share them with a neighbor, but yet we paid for full hook-ups. Not quite sure how that works out. Not well for us I would say. Although they post WiFi, it isn't available everywhere, only in certain areas of the park: so if it's a must for you, ask before you park. I think it's only available in the newer area of the park that is behind the front office. The larger laundry room needs new washers. The park is divided into a few different areas which makes it a little more difficult to find a friendly atmosphere. Livingston doesn't have a ton of stores. There is a Walmart, an HEB and one more grocery store, the area is depressed. Not much to do if you are an avid sightseer. We might stay here again only if we were passing through, but not for any length of time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$17
Lightly wooded campground with mix of back ins, pull through, and permanent setups. Mostly wide gravel access roads with mix of gravel, dirt, and grass for sites. Pull through sites are not level to the point where a lot of the rigs had the front tires off the ground. Power ok, water ok, sewer ok, no wifi in most sites, weak Verizon cell signal with occasional loss of data connection, no cable, satellite ok in most sites. No on board washer / dryer use. We will probably look elsewhere when next in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$23
Assigned long level pull thru near the office and utilities were placed well and worked correctly. Our first stay and it was what we expected - not a resort but a good decent safe park. We picked up our mail at the great mail service building and went about our business. We will stop again when back in this area for longer than one night. One thing they need to work on is folks obeying the speed limits inside the park. If you are running late, leave earlier next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
This is a members-only park and "home" for thousands of fulltimers who make this their legal residence. Our campsite was average at best but its strangely comforting to be among so many people who have opted for this lifestyle. Rainbow’s End has several unique features: 1. The Escapees mail service is an industry standard. We enjoyed a tour of the place, especially the mail facility. 2. It is much more than an RV park. There are permanent residences everywhere – most with accommodations for the owner's RVs. 3. Maybe most impressive is the Care Center – it is an absolutely unique place providing assisted living facilities for people who retired to RVing but are now unable to travel. Off hand, I’d say this place does just what it’s intended to do. It probably doesn’t measure up to some of the nicer RV Resorts, but nowhere is as geared to fulltime RVers as is this place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$21
We came here for a week and stayed a month. There is always much to do at and Escapees Park and you can count on them having a clean facilities with 2-laundry room that will cost $1.00 per wash and dry. The management is always friendly as well as the people in the park. There are basically 3-RV park at this facility. The oaks is the newest and the one where you check in. There is a tree covered shaded park up by the Escapees headquarters and a more open park with no shade between the activity center and CARE. If you haven't been here before take the time to tour the headquarters and CARE. Check out all the activities the park has to offer and the free movies on Wednesday and Friday evenings. Take sometime and drive through the deed site area with homes and private RV sites. There is a lot to this park and what not to love at Escapees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
This is a nice campground, and it has 2 nice laundries. The people here are always friendly whenever we stop, and it is very pleasant in the park. It is easy to locate on Hwy 146. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
This park has fell on some very hard times. We've stayed here many times in the last three years and is our "home" park. The place is just run down. No effort to rake or grade sites, no effort toward any landscaping and the area around the club house is a mess. The new reservation system is confusing and if you are planning to reserve for three months, you pay for the first month and $100.00 for each of the next two months. Used to be, you came home, stayed as long as you wanted, squared up at the end of each month and left when you pleased. Not now, you have to plan your stay.. so much for being "home". We'll stay here again, but for now, we are in New Caney Tx. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
Older park, grass or gravel parking sites, mostly older, 5Ws and towables, very few motor homes. Trees need trimming and general maintenance to entire RV park. Cottages area shows no restrictions or zoning and much maintenance is needed. Medical area also looks over crowed and in need of updating. Many full timers in older RVs with lots of stuff around their sites. We will not return. If this is an example of an Escapees park, the others must be like it or worst. Ours was a non-member rate. Road noise from Hwy near by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$17
Rate is for a back-in 50 FHU site. Three areas in the park, two are open, one is in the trees. Some sites are fairly level, but most require varying degrees of leveling. I agree with others about the park going downhill in the last few years, but then with the economy, many of the parks we stay at show some signs of neglect or corner cutting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$15
The friendly staff at this park is welcoming and helpful. Interior roads are mostly gravel. Sites are a mixture of grass and gravel, but large and level. Some sites are very shaded, making satellite impractical. Over the air TV is very limited. AT&T phone service in the area is ok, but the data signal is weak. Electric is metered even for short stays. Wi-fi is supplied by Tengo and billed separately. We did not use it due to price and poor reviews of service. The price is based on the weekly rate plus electric. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2013
$27
We are not SKP members and would not join if all parks were like this one. It is very tired and needs updating. Some lots are owned with frame cottages that need paint and cleaned up. Know there are many full-timers here but many of the rigs we saw were older and the park is just not well kept. Big dogs were left unattended in rig next to us and we could not even enjoy sitting outside because of the barking. We were only there one night so not worth moving to another site. No TV reception unless satellite. We walked the entire park and saw trash and debris that needed to be cleared. People were friendly, but that was the only redeeming factor. Would probably stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$17
We are fairly new to Escapees and have stayed at a few of their parks. Since this was the National headquarters for the club, I was expecting it to be above the others as far as looks and upkeep. The park is in need of maintenance. The sites are level. The library, movie room, and clubhouse were good. The staff at HQ and the campground hosts were very friendly. The activities and social hour were attended mostly by permanent residents. We did not use the showers or use Wi-Fi. We would stay here again for a short stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$17
While we have been Escapees members for several years, this was our first stay at this park. Since this is the national headquarters we were expecting a first rate facility, which is not what we found. Everyone was helpful but the park is definitely in need of some serious maintenance and a face lift. We did not have any electrical problems as others have mentioned but did note the showers and restrooms were not particularly clean though passable. Livingston is a small rural town and has very little to offer other than a few restaurants and the usual Walmart shopping center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$19
We been SKP's for several years and visited the home park often. Rainbows end has been going downhill since we began coming here. Site are no longer maintained well. They haven't dragged them or even attempted to level or add enough gravel to keep you above the mud since at least 2011. The power is no longer solid and the water pressure varies far to much. The showers and restrooms were presentable but no longer as clean as in the past. There were activities every day including a social hour. The only ones attending the social hour are the residents and a few members. No potluck, no Wednesday lunch but, the ice cream social is still going but again, only the residents and a few members attend. This is supposed to be the "Crown Jewell" of the club with tours etc. Were we considering joining now, we might of considered going another route. I discussed these issues with both residents, former and current volunteer / work campers and they all point to the current "directors" of the park side of the club. It's a shame, a great club being run into the ground by poor management We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$17
We stayed here three nights, and the rate includes approx $3 a day for metered electricity. We were near the pool and the excellent activity center, there is also a good club house with a very extensive library. The restrooms were OK but probably cleaned by volunteers who lack attention to detail. Sites were level and didn't get muddy when we had heavy rain. Wi-Fi only works in office area. Staff and other people here all very pleasant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$14
Rainbows End is not a "resort" or destination park, however, for the price, it can't be beat. Our overall price reflects electricity cost, which everyone is charged, nightly, weekly, and monthly. We stayed 14 nights, our electric was $37 and we paid $87 per week. The staff is very friendly and helpful, people in the park are very nice. Plenty of activities going on. There is a "worn" feeling about the park, but again, for the price, you're not going to beat it in Livingston. There is not internet throughout the park, you can use the internet in the office, but it doesn't go to the sites. Verizon card worked well enough most of the time. Previous reviewer mention electric issues, we had some fluctuations also...but our surge protector stopped any problems. Family friendly, but didn't see anything for children to do, no playground, there is a pool. We would definitely stay here again while in the Livingston area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$15
The price was right and the office staff is great but the park is not much to be desired. The roads and sites are gravel and in my case very off level, water pressure weak, power fluctuate. I was there for 3 days and I had a brown out and a power outage for a couple of minutes. I would stay here again if I was passing through but it would not be a destination. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$19
Rate is for a 50 amp FHU back-in site and includes our cost for the metered electric. Roads paved, sites gravel with grass. Home park for the Escapees, has many activities. Good Verizon cell and 3G reception. Some areas have trees that may interfere with satellite reception. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$15
I have stayed here four times previously, and will stay again any time I am near. It's big rig very friendly. The $15 fee is for Escapees members, non-members $27.50 to $31. There are two areas to park. One is open with large trees for shade but with good satellite reception available. The other area offers a good tree canopy. Great place to walk you and your dogs. This park offers a nice laundry facility, a large activities center offering full cable TV, and a huge library of VHS/DVD movies and categorized books. There is a group lunch on Tuesdays and breakfast on Sundays. The Thanksgiving dinner was amazing. The spaces are larger than normal, level, with full hook ups. The Wi-Fi is good. Something else is available you will find at no other park: the Smart Weigh system. Every wonder about the weight of your stuff? Are your tires, axles, or coach over loaded? Smart Weigh is a precision process, offering "need to know" information. Much better than truck stop weighing. Take advantage of it. It's the best RV thing I have done for myself, except for buying my motor home. The fee is $45. It will be the best $45 you will spend on RVing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
Generously sized, level gravel sites are easy to access. Facilities are clean but not fancy. AT&T phone and data service were available in the area. Staff and fellow RV'ers were very friendly. The price is based on the weekly rate for an Escapees member. We would be happy to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$16
Typical Escapees Park. Friendly and well run. Quiet atmosphere with helpful staff. Has clean restrooms and laundry facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$17
Nightly rate is $15.50 plus electric for SKP members which we are. This park has about everything one could want. The sites are LEVEL and gravel. Electric is 50/30/20 amp and water and sewer are located within easy reach. And the employees are very pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$17
The rate includes metered electric service. The park itself is somewhat primitive, with dirt and grass sites (reminiscent of an average KOA). That being said, the price is great (available to Escapees RV Club members only). This is not a destination park, nor a resort. We were in the Livingston area for several days on business and the park's location served us well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$10
This is our favorite CG so far. This was just going to be our first stop during our Winter's stay in Texas. We ended up staying for more than three months. Almost everyone we met was very friendly, we made many friends while here. There are three different areas to park your rig in. We stayed in the wooded area and our site was fairly level, nothing the jacks couldn't handle. We were able to use our 3 LNB Directv HD satellite dish but not everyone in our area could. The other two areas had a clear line of sight. We didn't bring a toad this trip, but it was never a problem. People were constantly asking if we needed a ride to town or if we'd like to go to a restaurant with them. There is a large, fenced in, dog run. We loved this place and plan on returning every winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$17
Rate was weekly rate for 50 amp FHU back-in site. There are level gravel sites with asphalt roads in the section near the entrance. Washers and dryers are $1 per load. Electric was metered and rate posted includes the additional charges based on our usage. We appreciate the inexpensive base rate with additional amenities at added cost if you use them. The other sections of the park, one up near the mail room and the over by the CARE Center do have some sites that need leveling, but not usually not to the extent an earlier post implied. This is not a resort style park, though they do have some planned activities, and be advised it is some distance out of town, so there is a 15 minute or so drive to get groceries, etc. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$16
The last review was a little harsh. This is not a resort property, but it does need some TLC. Sites need to be leveled and general areas spruced up. Unfortunately most residents are getting up in age and no longer able to help keep the park presentable. The newer buildings - activity center and Care Center are very nice, but the original Club House needs to be replaced - very unpleasant moldy smell throughout. It has a fantastic exchange library. Sites are a good size, some level, FHU/50amp. Did not use their Wi-Fi, no TV reception at all without your own dish. Mail service center is amazing to see. The Care Center is unique and something we will all eventually need - it's nice to know you can live in your RV and still have access to meal, laundry and cleaning service at a very reasonable rate. This can work for short term - surgery or knee replacement all the way to long term Alzheimer's care. The Care Center depends solely on donations and is a very worthy cause. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2011
$14
Good Things: Friendly staff, lots of activities, trimmed trees, and decent roads. Not-So-Good: UNLEVEL sites for regular/short-stay RVers. Level sites are “deeded or leased” and they’re the majority number. We tried 3 sites before we found one where only 2 boards were needed under the front tires and jack to get level enough for the refrigerator! We drove around the park and noticed most of the regular sites had RVs that had jacks/tires propped up higher by boards on at least one side or, if not, they were leaning one way or another. Also, I don’t know where the gravel sites were, but all we saw were dirt sites with a little gravel mixed in. We do not consider it a “gravel” site if, after it rains, you step out into mud! ELECTRIC FEE: all sites have electric meters, so there’s an add-on charge when you pay at checkout. Wi-Fi FEE: Tengonet. RULES: one rule restricts flushing/dumping tanks to 1 minute and also says not to use RV washers due to the park’s septic system. This is utterly ridiculous. Why pay for sewer if we can’t use it? I doubt the “deeded” sites or the park’s laundry rooms go by this rule! I feel Rainbow’s End is making a big mistake making the “Regular RVers" stay in unlevel sites, restrict their water/dumping usage, and pay extra for electricity and Wi-Fi. I'd rather them raise the nightly rate $2-3 dollars and have everything included. We are "Regular RVers". We don’t “live” in the parks; we come and go. We want to be able to pull in, set up in 15-20 minutes, and be off to dinner. We think a good park should have: level sites, trimmed trees, good 50 amp power, no add-on charges, and FREE Wi-Fi at each site. A majority of the privately-owned parks we’ve stayed in across the country have these things. I think all Escapees’ Membership Parks should provide them too. However, Rainbow’s End does not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$16
OK, so maybe some of you have this confused with a "resort-style" park. It isn't, and never was intended to be. This park offers RV'ers exactly what Escapees is famous for: clean, safe, economical places to stay and enjoy the company of others. We stayed for a month in a clean, gravel site that only needed a little leveling and was surrounded by grass. The people in the deeded and leased lots pay for their concrete slabs and other improvements. Also I would rather pay only for the electricity that I actually used rather than for someone else who has electric heaters running 24 hours a day. Bottom line is if you want concrete slabs, miniature golf, or a bowling alley, pay the $60-70 and stay with the resort crowd. I'll take the Escapees Way every time. The people, the activities, and the convenience of mail pick-up make this one of my favorite places. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
Very friendly staff and nice book exchange. This park needs some help. Our electric box was rusty and the lid fell off. It looked as though it had been backed in to several times on this very unlevel site. Was 92 degrees and the pool was closed with tons of leaves in it. This park just needs some TLC to bring it back to the standard that everyone would expect for the Premier Escapee Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
This is a member park only for Escapees. Streets are paved and sites are gravel. Sites are pretty level and long enough. Laundry is dollar to wash and a dollar to dry. Rate reflects weekly rate plus electricity. Livingston has a Wal-Mart Supercenter, several large grocery stores, and a Lowes, plus plenty of fuel stations and places to eat. They were very few people at the park since it was the middle of summer and most Escapees head north in the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
This is the original Escapees park, and it's segmented into several different areas as expansion happened over time. Escapees members may enjoy touring the mail service and assisted living centers, and assistance in changing residency/domicile is available. Short-term sites are available near the office (some road noise from TX-146), and toward the center of the park. Interior gravel roads are in good shape and sites are gravel with sparse grass between them. All areas of the park seem accessible to large rigs. Wi-Fi is available for a fee. Our total cost with electricity (separate) was just over $18/night; we ran A/Cs as it was warm and muggy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$13
The campground is nice. Too bad the owner/management isn't. They won't do improvements in the prettiest part of the park, in the woods, and you can't get Wi-Fi over there. Even in the section of the park that gets Wi-Fi, the connection is lousy and not worth paying for. Every time you go there, expect to find fewer services, more rules and higher costs. They have a new fee structure called Stay and Play which essentially means you pay over $600/calendar month if you stay more than 21 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$15
A friendly park. Sites are gravel, some sites in nicer areas than others. Forget TV reception. Inexpensive, but you do pay electric. Not near anything, but park has lots of activities. Staff was very helpful when changing residency. Took us just 4 hours to get everything done, but we had all our paperwork and documents ready and with us. OK park, but we wouldn't stay again unless we had to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$16
Check-in was a snap and the people were very nice. We stayed in the top section and had a pull-through site for a night. Got our mail and Census form,and renewed our truck and RV tags on the same day. People in Livingston make this process a snap. No cable but we did get some TV stations on our bat wing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$17
Escapees parks are great stops for the traveler. They are safe and secure and have great people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$14
This was my second time here. I came a year ago and stayed a month to establish residency and become an Escapee. I was new to full time RV'ing at that time. I have rated Rainbow's End lower this time after seeing more parks around the country. The people are very friendly. There are a lot of activities. The Tengo Wi-Fi worked fairly well. The biggest disappointment is that I couldn't get any TV stations. Last year when it was analog, I could get a couple of stations hit or miss. Now with the converter box, it's out of range - not even one station. Last year my Sprint phone didn't have any bars. This year with AT&T, it's fine. Bathrooms/showers are large and clean. There are always workampers keeping the area tidy. I'm only staying a couple of days this year and am disappointed that with the problems, I don't want to stay longer. Also have to pay for electricity even for one night. It's very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$14
This was our first experience at an Escapees Park as we are new fulltimers. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were asked at registration if we needed Wi-Fi. As we have an air card, we declined. We were told that our air card would not be usable as the signal there was poor for Sprint. However, we tried anyway and had excellent reception on both our phones and Internet connection. We attended their nightly informational hour at 4:00 and found most people very sociable. We will go back again when in the area and will use other Escapees parks throughout the country. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$19
The highlight of our stay here was seeing the place we call home these days. Starting with the customary hug at check in, everyone smiled and waved. Other than that, it was nothing special. We camped in the “newer” part, which actually looked a bit tired. Our site was level and spacious for our 40-foot Class A. Satellite reception was easy. Power was good. Uninsulated water spigot froze as the temps dipped below freezing. We spent several mornings waiting for it to thaw long after the temp was back above freezing. Wi-Fi is extra. We didn’t use it, and our AT&T air card was fairly dependable. This park is pretty remote: Livingston, which isn’t much, and HEB and Wal-mart are 7-10 miles away. The nearest liquor store is 10 miles the other way. If you have to be in Livingston, as we did, this is a fine park at a good price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$15
National Headquarters for the Escapees RV Club and our mail forwarding service. Was nice to walk and get our mail and nice to walk around the whole park. One of the friendliest parks we have stayed at. Nice wide sites in a shaded area that our roof mounted satellite dish was still able to get a signal. Hookups were in good working order. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
We were very disappointed in the Escapees Headquarters as it is basically a parking lot. The best part about staying here is the rate. We expected an RV resort. Most of the nicer park sites are for permanent residents. There are lots of amenities and activities but the park itself and the surrounding area are not very attractive. The staff was wonderful and very helpful in assisting to transfer residency to Texas. We would not return to this area if we did not have to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$15
We visited to consider volunteering at the Care Center. Our site was grass: nothing bad, but just a regular grass site. No special place. Attended a dinner: we found the residents to be not very friendly. The persons that spoke or talked to us had just arrived also. We definitely prefer Rainbow Plantation in Summerdale, AL. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$21
I would like to give a better rating to the home campground of my Escapees Club. Sad to say, I can’t be that generous. I felt that there was a bit of bait-and-switch going on. Yes, the campground has Wi-Fi, pull-through slots, weekly rates, and shade, but what they don’t tell you until you get there is you can’t have any three of these at the same time. You’re lucky if you can get two at once. In addition, because of a quirk of their accounting system, moving to a new space (for example, in order to receive Wi-Fi) means that you have to check out and check in again, and then you are no longer eligible for weekly rates. Still, even the daily rates were a good value. We ended up paying approximately $21/night. The Escapee member rate was about $17/night, and electricity cost about $4/day (running the AC in the heat of July). Even with the extra charge for electricity, this park is a bargain. Moreover, the park is clean. The showers, bathrooms, and laundry room were clean and in good repair. The slots were level and roomy. Everything worked. The staff members were pleasant. Our neighbors were friendly. The club house was nice. We enjoyed the pool, but the two halves of the park were pretty far apart, and it was a long walk to the pool from where we were camped. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$14
Park is clean and quiet. We were parked up the hill because we asked for good satellite reception. We also had the choice of parking amongst some NICE shade trees. Pull through site was more than long enough for towing and level. Interior roads are actually big rig access. Electricity is extra but at $14/night that is expected. Very nice park with VERY nice surroundings. Will stay here every time we pass through. We have seen "worn" or run down parks and this one is not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$14
This was our first time staying at an Escapee's park. We were in a back in site up on the hill. The sites were nicely wide. The picnic tables are wood and very old. They are not flat on top and have lots of splinters. You park on gravel that has grown in with grass. We could use use our satellite dish with no problem in this area. I agree with other posters that this park is showing its age and has not had much money put back into it but for $13.50 per night I guess I can understand it. By the way, you pay extra for electricity for even one night's stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$14
The newer sections we would rate a 8. The older sections need upgrading. Wi-Fi only works in some parts. Its $30. a month. They have no cable TV. This park is over 30 years old, way before satellite. We believe the Escapees is the best RV club there is, but this is their home park and it needs some improvement. The great dog run needs grass. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$15
We stayed here overnight to rest, and was setting up our mail forwarding service with Escapees RV Club. The amp host was really friendly and helpful. Wifi is available with a fee. They use TengoZone WiFi service. We did not use it since we have our Verizon Wireless Broad Band card with us. We are newbies so pull-though sites are what we prefer pulling the 35-footer. There are only two public bathroom/shower available. Both are fairly clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2007
$14
Obviously, my husband and I are Escapee members, so we stayed at this "rainbow park". No disrespect, but we were expecting better for the organization's "crown jewel". We will stick to Passport America parks if we are trying to stick to budget in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$14
Roads were being worked on while we were here. We were in a pull-through section and had a very roomy site with plenty of room for ourselves and guests. The sites were well maintained. This is always a very friendly park with many activities. A great value. However, it is a park geared to full-time RVers or retirees, not vacationing families. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2007
$12
Home park and headquarters of the Escapees RV Club. Not that great of a park for being the "home" of an organization. We were on a grass site that hadn't been mowed in quite a while and packed in pretty tight. You will pay extra for any electricity used during your stay at check out. Laundry facilities need some attention. Roads need to graded and trees trimmed along them. This was our second time there and little had changed in 4 years. But well worth the price, if a you are a member, however if I had to pay full price, I would look at what else is available in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$14
Always a good place to stop for a little rest before heading on west through Texas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$14
Escapees Headquarters park. See preceding comments for more details. There are some pull-through sites for overnighters. We stayed in a back-in site for two nights. Cheap breakfast on Saturday morning and a chance to visit with the long-termers. Easy drive into town for church on Sunday. Spent pleasant evening with a German couple who had shipped their coach over and were touring the US and Mexico. Some sites shaded and some not; ours wasn't. Friendly office staff. Washer / dryer facilities for $1 each. Not enough warning before entrance off highway and turn was pretty sharp for a 40' coach with a toad. Would definitely go back. Electric was extra, even for two nights, cheap, though, 13 cents / kwh. Some longer term sites have storage facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$13
Escapees Headquarters park. The office staff were very friendly but a little disorganized. Easy access on gravel roads which could have done with a little more maintenance. A mixture of sites some in the trees and some in the open. Sites near office had Wi-Fi access but were the narrower sites. Some sites, which were grass, needed some maintenance particularly near activity centre. Full activity programme including visits round the Escapees HQ and the Care Centre available. Overall a good, pleasant, and quiet campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$22
As others have said, this is the HQ for the Escapees RV Club. Everyone is welcome, but members stay for only $12.50, plus electricity. While I would rate this park very high for those who have any interest in becoming a member, if fairness I also would have to say that a family just passing through on vacation would probably be better served by a park out near Lake Livingston. What makes it great is the Escapees RV Club! We were there for the New Year's Eve party. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$22
This is a membership park that does allow non members. The Oaks area is the only area that has wi-fi. There are many activities in the park and the friendliest people live and work here. There are ongoing activities and a daily social hour that lets you know what is going on in the park. We were there over Christmas and felt like we were amoung family. The price I quote is the non member price. This is a wonderful club and if you are not already a member, you should take the time to find out about it and join. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2005
$13
What can you say about the home of the Escapees? Sure, it's a bit noisy for those close to the highway, and the TV reception stinks, but everyone you meet is friendly and has a smile. Great clubhouse, socials, and staff. Everyone who belongs to the Escapees club should visit at least once. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$22
Escapee RV club park that is open to public. Very friendly people, lots of amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com