218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Brazos Bend State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (979) 553-5102
CGID2856

Brazos Bend State Park

Camp Information
Sites
107
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   9   10   9   9   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
Beautiful park. Lots of shade. Hiking is good. I love camping here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
The daily rate for this park is $20, but there is a daily entrance fee of $7/person, so for us the daily rate was actually $34. This is a beautiful park, with wide, wide spacing between RV sites. The sites are paved, wide enough to accommodate an RV and a car, and are reasonably level. Water and 30 amp hook-ups are available. There is lots to do including hikes, and an observatory open on weekends. The big attraction is alligators present in the numerous ponds in the park. The negatives: Of course there are no sewer hook-up, but what do you expect in a beautiful state park? The 30 amp service is "iffy" and we blew the circuit breakers several times. Verizon voice and data connection was very poor -- constantly dropping calls. Satellite connection is blocked at many sites because of trees. We would stay here again, and in fact wished we could have stayed longer on this trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$20
I've rated Brazos Bend a 10 compared to other state parks, not full service RV resorts. Obviously this park does not have the amenities of a commercial RV park but the atmosphere more than makes up for it. This is one of the nicest Texas State Parks we've stayed in so far. Good water pressure and electric power (30amp only). The park is large with lots of walking/biking trails. We stayed three weekdays in not so great weather, so we almost had the park to ourselves. So quiet. No traffic or train noise. The staff was very friendly and efficient. There is an Observatory in the park open on Saturday nights. We plan to come back so we can attend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$20
$20 per night was for a 50-amp electric and water site. A daily entrance fee is also charged unless you have a $70 Texas State Parks Pass, which is good to cover entry fee to all state parks for one year. Most sites are level with asphalt pads. The park does have many moss covered trees but they wouldn’t provide much shade in the summertime on most but not all sites. There are picnic tables, fire rings, and grills at each site. The park is about one hour south of Houston, which has every imaginable activity. If you like hiking/biking there are over 35 miles of multi-use trails. Fishing/boating is available on the lakes. Alligators are found throughout the park so no swimming is allowed! They have an observatory with four telescopes which has stargazing programs every Saturday. Spacing between the sites is very generous. We received one/two bars 4G LTE on our AT&T cell phone. We used our Millenicom jetpack as a Wi-Fi hotspot and it worked very well. There is Wi-Fi at the office which is 3 miles from the campground. We received over 40 over-the-air TV stations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
This was our first trip to Brazos Bend State Park and we were very pleased with the park. The vegetation is lush and the trails are extremely well maintained. The campsites were easy back-in sites. Through out the park the sites, trails, and road sides were mowed perfectly. If you like large trees with hanging Spanish moss, lush vegetation, and a few alligators, you will love Brazos Bend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
As Texas residents, we have been coming to this park for years. Alligators are abundant on the walking/biking paths but not in the campground, so be very aware of surroundings when on the trails including the paved ones. Snakes, too. Copperheads and other poisonous snakes are abundant in the campground as well as the trails. It is hot and humid in the summer, lots of mosquitoes. But we like this park because the sites are mostly large and private. There are tons of birds and other wildlife. Fishing from piers (no wading!). A playground for kids plus biking, fishing, and the Observatory has stargazing programs. Not sure about the cable because we don't watch TV, but the only place WiFi works is near the office. AT&T phone service has been good when we were here. We always enjoy the Texas State Parks. My only gripe is there are no recycling facilities so we end up having to take several bags of cans, bottles, etc., out with us and recycle them somewhere. I hope this will change soon. We are also hoping to see more solar power in the parks as we have seen in Europe. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$15
This is a great, quiet and large state park. The sites are large, level and shaded with large trees. The hiking trails are a bit confusing, but the trail map is a good one. We've seen and heard more birds here than anywhere in our travels over the last three months. And, there are gators; we saw one large one sleeping in the heat right next to the trail. Caution is the word. The data connection with our phone is fair to good, but lets us keep in touch with the outside. We saw no maintenance or park vehicles either day of our stay, but the park is very clean. It's well worth going out of your way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$20
This is a great park just outside Houston. Sites are spacious and paved and level. Utilities were good and the park rangers were super nice. We have camped here in the past and will again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$20
This is a very nice state park. We stayed 2 nights and rate is $20 per night plus entry fees which amounted to another $20 . Wasn't happy about having to pay the extra fees. Spaces are spread out nicely , lots of shade trees. No Wi-Fi where we parked , not much of a phone signal either for AT&T. Verizon seemed to work OK. It's very secluded; lot's of tent campers too, but all very well maintained. Bathrooms could have been cleaner, but I guess it was so busy with all the campers. It was still OK though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$20
Large sites, but not very private. Plenty of room after you unhitch to park your truck as most sites have paved apron. Great hiking and biking trails, and there is geocaching in the park. Also, the park is known for bird watching. Restrooms were clean, but location did not seem convenient to the camp sites. My Verizon PC card did not work at campsite 127 and my AT&T cell phone coverage was poor to non-existence in the park. Friends in a campsite a few sites over had no AT&T service. Rosenberg is about 15 miles away for groceries, shopping, and restaurants if needed. I would definitely stay here again, but not during hot weather. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$20
Great state park with plenty to do. Excellent hiking trails with MANY geocaches. Most sites are large and paved with plenty of room between campers. Lots of shade. I don't think that the restrooms are easily assessable from most of the sites. We stay here 4 to 5 times a year, but never in the summer because it is too hot. What we really like is that it is only 15 minutes from the house. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
A real nice peaceful park. Nice bike trails and hiking trails. The water is being taken over by water plants. However, the plants have some flowers that create their own scenic view. Lots of deer in certain areas. Most of the Texas Parks claim to have wi-fi. Maybe around the office areas, but not the camp areas. All in all, a good place to spend a couple of days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
The daily rate reflects Texas Passport. Very nice park with large sites. The trails are wide and very well maintained. Alligators sun along the trails so you have to be careful. The restrooms were a mess after a busy weekend and weren't cleaned until Tuesday. This was disappointing. We have stayed here before and will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
It rained while we were there and the tent/fire ring areas were nothing but mud. Shower facilities were nice, as was the playground. The folks at the nature center were very nice, getting out an alligator and snake for the kids to pet even though it was five minutes until closing time. Weather was very bad, so we didn't use the trails. Book early, this place fills up fast! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$32
Pros: There is lots of green space between the sites. The park is very quiet, full of nature sounds at night (owls, coyotes, frogs and crickets). We saw 120 alligators on our hike! There are numerous great, long hiking trails, marshes and lakes, with plenty of wildlife everywhere. The showers were hot and clean. We didn't want to leave this wonderful place. The only con was a daily entrance fee was tacked on to the camping price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
This is a great park on the SW side of Houston. The paid and volunteer staff are exceptionally nice. We've been here before, but it was even better this time because the place was practically empty, although we were told that it can get very busy on weekends. The roads and sites are paved and large. All sites are back-in but are easy to get into. Sites are on 30A with water; none have sewer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Nice state park. Recommend the TX parks pass for the discount. No Wi-Fi at sites, but works well near office if you need to get online. It is HOT HOT HOT from April to Oct and not all sites are shaded. Most sites are very large, offer privacy from neighbors. CG is patrolled by rangers, a good thing, but they will enforce park rules. They will also drive thru and advise of any bad weather coming thru--very helpful if you are not watching TV or listening to radio. We don't watch TV here, so don't know about reception. Decent phone signal but no MiFi. Clean restrooms, good hiking. Beware of mosquitoes, snakes, alligators. Nice observatory and nature center. Probably best visited in winter/spring. Avoid August and September in this part of TX due to hurricanes and generally miserable weather. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
Like most things Texas, this park is large, about 5,000 acres. All the camping sites are back-in, paved, and have water and electric, a picnic table, grill, and fire ring. Some sites were unlevel to the eye, but looked correctable. Sites are very spacious, with many 100-200 feet apart. You can't complain about the campground at all, except for one fact: the campground restrooms and showers were closed for renovations. Instead, there were trailer mounted restrooms and showers that a quick inspection revealed could use some more frequent cleaning. There is plenty to do at this park, including hiking, biking (on the trails or park roads), wildlife observation (many alligators, deer) and fantastic birding. The park was full over a 3 day weekend and is only 35 miles from Houston, so is a very popular day-use area. The park is very rural, with good shopping about 15 miles away in Richmond. There is a nice nature center on site, plus an observatory open on Saturday nights. The nightly rate shown does not include the $5 per person daily state park entrance fee. If you spend $60 on an annual pass (good for holder and up to 14 others), it pays for itself with discounts and no $5 fee in just a few days of use. People in the park were quiet, orderly, and friendly. Weather during our visit in mid-February was delightfully warm. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$18
This a great park! All of the sites are great no matter which section. Restrooms were currently being remodeled and the portable restrooms and showers were as good as can be expected. Miles and miles of great hike and bike trails. Quiet and shady. So close but yet you feel so far away! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
This is a great state park. They have screened shelters available if you need them and the RV sites are large, with picnic table, grill, fire ring and can handle your toad beside the RV. Grounds are spotless despite the visitors who throw plastic water bottles into the lakes and trash on the grounds. We followed a Y-group and the campsite was a mess. This park is extremely busy on weekends due to it's close proximity to Houston. The best days to visit are Sunday through Wednesday. The only negative we had was the smell from the dirty bathrooms, but in all fairness this was after a very busy weekend. There is a state parks entrance fee that has to be added onto the $20.00 per night site fee. There are no sewer hookups but a convenient dump station is available. There are two RV camp loops and each has great sites. The 200 loop sites are best for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$20
This is a very nice relaxing place to stay. Nature center is great and just missed the observatory night viewing. Alligators are neat to find. We stayed at space 110, and that area has lots of space. Other are little close. The other person is right, the bathrooms are at the front of the loops so you could be in for a walk. Bathrooms were fine, but my wife thought the showers were very old and need help and wasn't impressed with them. Hence an 8 instead of 10. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
Spacious wooded sites -- lots with full shade! Nice hiking/walking/biking trails. The alligators are the highlight of the trip! They have an awesome Nature Center -- we got to go back & watch them feed baby alligators. Staff is very welcoming & always ready to take a snake or baby alligator out to let you see it 'up close & personal'. One drawback: loops are large and bathroom/showers are at the front. If you're at the back you'll have to bike/drive to go. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$16
This is a great park to observe all types of wildlife. The main attraction is the Alligators that come out of the water to sun on the banks right beside the hiking trails! There are no fences here to keep you and the alligators separate! There are also many different types of birds in this park along with white-tailed deer and feral hogs. The RV sites are all paved, level, and have more than enough space between them. They also have the George Observatory on site. You can buy tickets and look through the big telescope at constellations and planets. We were able to see Saturn when we went. We will definitely be back to this park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$12
I love this park, lots of shade. Lots of big area. I've seen people rate this park lower because there is no swimming area. There cannot be a swimming pool or area due to the alligator population in the park. Due some resarch on the park before you go. We saw at least 35-40 alligators in the water and on land. One had to be close to 15'. We've stayed here multiple times. The George Observatory is great, you can see the separation in Saturn's rings. If you are a bird watcher or photographer, which I am, this place is a must. Watch out for heavy traffic weekends, this park attracts lots of youngsters that aren't always supervised. The pads are level with fire rings, and tables, many roads are paved. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$18
One of the best state parks in the entire Texas State Park System. Lot’s of things to do. Great sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$12
I love this park. The ONLY reason I didn't give it a "10" is because there is nowhere to go swimming. There are many trails to hike, the deer come to your campsite, there are several lakes (ponds) to fish in, and lots of alligators. Be sure to ask the park staff which is the best lake to see a gator. We got to hear them bellowing in the morning and saw several. Helpful staff taught us everything we could ever want to know about alligators. Sites are spaced far apart. There is lots of shade. And there are plenty of programs at the nature center on the weekends. Also, be sure to go out to the observatory on Saturday and look throught the huge telescope. There are star parties where local astronomy clubs will talk to you about the night sky. Great place to go. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com