214973 User submitted reviews online!!
Rusk Depot Campground (formerly Rusk State Park - Rusk Unit) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (903) 683-2561
CGID2889

Rusk Depot Campground (formerly Rusk State Park - Rusk Unit)

Camp Information
Sites
71
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   5   10   7   3   7   5   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
This campground is really nice, it is under the trees and close to the train depot. We arrived here on a Sunday afternoon in time to see the diesel train depart for Palestine and the steam train arrive back. On a weekday there isn't many campers. Our dog enjoyed a swim in the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$15
We stayed here during spring break with four grandchildren. They occupied their time fishing in the lake, riding scooters/bikes, playing washers, and riding the train. We did the round trip train ride from Rusk to Palestine with box lunches. Next time I will probably just pack sack lunches for everybody. The sites are a little tricky to maneuver even though you can pull through. We had to move our 33' RV to a more level spot when our front tires were about 4" to 5" off the ground after leveling. All in all it was a great trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
We stayed 2 nights in order to ride the train and did receive a discount on the camping cost. The park has been privately run for several years and is kind of shabby. Many sites were occupied by "monthly" renters, some were oil workers and some not. Many people driving through quite fast and no one stopping them. Wi-Fi only worked at the office. Unfortunately the train ride was not at all scenic, but the staff were very friendly and nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
Another great campground. Lots of shade. The Texas State RR runs right through the campground, walking distance to the Rusk Depot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This is a pretty basic RV park but it is in a nice setting with easy access right of US-84. The sites are not huge but they were more than adequate for our coach and dingy. It is pretty much a first come first serve park and the office does close at 5 PM. The staff was very friendly and helpful. For us this was a one-night only stop on our way West and this was perfect for a good night's rest. The water pressure was fine and the electric was stable. They have Wi-Fi at the office only but cell phone service was OK and our air card worked OK. We would stay here again when we are in the area. This State Park offers steam and diesel train rides between here and Palestine, TX but we did not have time to take the trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
I was very disappointed with this park. When we checked in we told that it was now a Good Sam park. If we had came in after dark we would have wrapped our 35 ft. motor home around a tree or trees. In 40 years of camping I have never been in a tighter spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This is now operated by the historic Texas State Railroad. They are making improvements as they go. Not all sites are full hook up only (1-32). No assigned sites, this is a first come, first serve and the office closes at 5 p.m. The sites are mostly level asphalt but very narrow, with small pull through loops on either side of the road for 32 sites, Very large rigs may have difficulty. Some of the sites sit very close to the highway so noise is a problem. The main draw is the historic train rides to Palestine (about 1 1/2 hours each way)and/or the occasional theme rides during other times of the year. The tickets are pricey $124 for two adults and one child. The train trip was nice but not really a good value for the money. There is also a small splash pad for the kids, playground, and several open areas to play. If it weren't for the train, we would have rated the park just above average. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
This campground has so much potential and is under new management, so there is much promise. We paid for a full hook up site, plugged into the 50 amp plug but only received 30 amps. Trains only run on week ends and were told to pick our own site, so we moved, 3 times to be able to receive 50 amp service. The site we were in was the least of tall trees, thus were able to use the satellite. The pull through sites are barely that, all on a half circle type of pad and you have to be careful of the large trees pulling in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
We had the park to ourselves because the train wasn't scheduled to run on the two days we were there. The assistant camp host came by and invited us to tour the train restoration facilities which was very interesting and a pleasant surprise. I don't remember the exact rate but it was very reasonable so I put $15.00. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$26
Typical Texas State Park camping, however lot of pull through sites. The Railroad is on site and the railroad organization runs the park. Park is a little close to the road but overall very sold park. Could get crowded during railroad events, we were the only ones there during a Feb weekend which probably added to our enjoyment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$18
This is a very nice campground and state park. We went the weekend that the park Sponsored the Thomas the Tank Engine Train ride. This was awesome. The park is very clean, relaxing, and a joy to be in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
We had a great time at the Thomas the Train event, and we even took the Fall Steam Train Excursion out of Palestine. The park was full, but well maintained. We always like staying here. The pull thru spaces are convenient, but I suggest getting there early because the park is dark at night. We learned that they hard way two years ago for the Polar Express. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$17
Typical Texas SP camping, but I think the railroad organization now operates the park. Pick ur site, lots of shade, some pull thru sites that are partially paved. Good water pressure, electric voltage and easy driving. Having the train close was a nice adder. Rusk is on our return list. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$12
We stayed here to enjoy the Polar Express train that runs on the Texas Railroad. The park was very well kept, the facilities were clean and the kids loved the playground. All the sights are pull through and are all along the road, so you don't feel like you are squished in, side by side. We will come back again when we ride the train in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$12
This is our favorite state park. Not only is the place absolutely beautiful, but it is very family friendly. Unlike most of the state parks in Texas, this one has sewer hook ups, and all of the sites on our side were large pull through. There is a large playground area, and sites on the perimeter face away from the street for privacy. This place is very family friendly and the staff is wonderful. Be sure and take a ride on the Texas State Railroad which leaves from the depot there in the park. It was the highlight of the weekend, so pack a picnic and enjoy the trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$15
We were parked beside the train wye, which was a thrill. The park is well cared for and provides a level of service above State Park expectations. Will stay here anytime we are in East Texas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2005
$12
We spent a week with our granddaughter(9yo), who had a wonderful time. Beautiful, small park off Hwy 84. Some traffic noise. We will return. Park is very popular and fills up fast every afternoon. Suggest calling ahead. TX State RR within park and walking distance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2004
$15
This is a very nice clean state park. Roads and sites are blacktop. Site we had was so wide motorhome and tow car sit side by side on site. One part of park has a lot of trees to park under. Park has a nice size fishing pond you can use, railroad depot, and places to walk. You can ride old steam train from camp site to Palestine and return most of the year. Campground was a lot of fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$12
A small but clean and comfortable park in the Texas State Park system. Pull-Thru sites are asphalt and mostly level. Most of these sites are well shaded. The park hosts and Rangers are friendly and helpful. There is room for the kids to play, ride bikes and explore. The park has a 15 acre stocked lake. It also offers paddle boats and canoes for rent. Since this is a station for the Texas State Railroad it is convenient for watching or riding the trains that run from there. This is a nice park for a weekend or a week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com