214562 User submitted reviews online!!
South Carlsbad State Beach was rated 8 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (760) 438-3143
CGID300

South Carlsbad State Beach

Camp Information
Sites
222
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   6   7   9   9   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$50
This is an older park which is just a little shabby, but if you can get one of the ocean front sites. The views are spectacular. Many of the sites are so wide you can park your rig sideways or at an angle to the ocean. The sites are literally right on the edge of the bluff with a 180 degree ocean view right outside your door! This campground gets busy on weekends in the winter with families and groups of surfers, but it was not very noisy and never felt very congested because of the size of the sites and the openness on the ocean side. I imagine it is full all summer long. The sound of the ocean drowned out traffic and generator noise pretty well. I would return here in a heartbeat, but only on the ocean side. If I were on the other side of the road, I would rate it about a 6. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
This is one of our favorite state beaches, primarily due to the ocean views. The ocean side sites are much more desirable than the sites that back up to the road. Navigating the narrow roads can be challenging, so drive slow through the campground due to many children running around. It really could use the sewer dumps relocated to a not so congested area, but that would be difficult. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$50
We stayed for one night; this state beach is very popular, obtaining a site can be challenging. I booked through reserveamerica.com. There is a $2 savings for seniors. There are only about six sites that have hookups,water, sewer, currently no electric. The rest are dry camping. We noticed three sets of stairs that give access to the beach. There is a small general store and concession stand at the entrance. Make sure you obtain some shower tokens at the ranger station. You get two tokens for a dollar; a token is good for a three minute shower. The WIFI availability is within 150 feet of campground office. I didn't try it though for connecting, etc. The park only has two dump stations, which for a park of this size would be adequate if there was a waiting area available without blocking traffic. We enjoyed our stay and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$50
Only stayed 1 night. It was great weather but cold at night. I was told its really hard to get a spot in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$50
We stayed one night in October (wanted to stay for two but had to leave due to a family emergency, sadly). The campground is nice, probably "very nice" for southern California beach campgrounds. Others have described it better than I can. If yo;u get a site on the ocean side of the road, you're right by the fence beyond which the bluff drops down to the beach. Really quite amazing. However, you're in San Diego county, which seems to mean that you're never more than 10 minutes away from the next helicopter fly-by. Day and night, or so it seemed. Also, we were in the southern section of the park and the street (US1?) is really very close, so that brings noise as well. We concluded that we either have to seriously reset our expectations for that part of CA or go elsewhere. If you're in the area and are looking for a place, I would recommend this one. Sadly, CA state parks have become expensive, we paid $50 for the night. Cell reception was outstanding, I had a strong Verizon 4G signal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
$35 per night on the inland side and $50 per night on the ocean view side. We arrived on Sunday afternoon. All of the dumpsters were overflowing with trash, but they were emptied on Monday morning. My wife and I liked the privacy afforded by the large sites and tall bushes or trees between each site. Some sites had room for two 40' RVs and a car. Unlike many ocean campgrounds in Central and Southern California, we were not near a busy highway nor trains. In the future I will try to stay in sites 169, 177, 178, 185, 186 or 187 since they have ocean views, but no campsites across from them. Unless you like bright night lights shining on you, I would stay away from those sites directly across from the restrooms and those near intersections with signals and bright street lights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$50
We camp here whenever we can get a site, which is hard to do. Ocean-side sites are great but you can still see the water from most other sites. Plenty of room to park your trailer/truck and some can accommodate 2 rigs. Very narrow road used by lots of kids, dogs and carts is busy all day but park is very quiet at night. Not the best beach to swim but plenty of other sites nearby. Great dining in Cardiff, Carlsbad and Encinitas. Very private sites due to trees and brush between most. Booking for most summer months takes place in the space of about 8 minutes in early February, but walk-ups available through May and again in September for some weekends. Take your dog! You must keep it leashed in the campground, but about 8 miles away is the Del Mar Dog Beach: dogs are unleashed until Memorial Day and then again after Labor Day. Can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
Nice park, big sites, can get 2 motorbikes in some sites. No hookups but has dump station. Beach is 150 steps down. Lots of rocks and not as much sand. Very isolated at least at this time of year. Surfing and fishing allowed. Camp store well equipped hours 8-8. Good kite flying with strong winds. Fire rings are a strong metal drum about 2 feet high. Park in linear with one long street with turnarounds at the end. About 200 spots. Road is okay for bike riding or dog walking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$50
Campground has no hook-ups, so it's strictly dry camping only. Sites are dirt, but fairly level. Most sites have tall bushes (or short trees) between them that provide some privacy. Ocean sites are on cliff overlooking the ocean. You can back right up to the fence and see nothing but the ocean from your back window. Campground is close enough to larger cities to find just about anything you need, like restaurants, grocery stores, hardware stores, shopping, golf, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$60
A great place to camp with the large sites, beautiful view and great surfing. The campground is always full in the summer and they heavy use makes it hard to keep bathrooms clean. We stay here as often as we can get reservations, which is difficult. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$50
Always an awesome experience here. Although sometimes a bit windy, makes for some great kite flying. We also watch a couple of people fly their RC Sail Planes here which was neat. Park staff is always friendly, as are the other campers. The sand is almost all absent from the beaches below, leaving mostly rocks, but is still nice to walk in the rocks and find some nice ones here and there. Space size can vary, but most sites are quite large and in some cases you can park your rig to "box in" the site. Generator hours are from 10A to 8P, but with the Ocean constantly roaring in the background, unless someone on the surrounding campsites has an annoyingly loud generator, you will hardly notice. Off-Air antenna works GREAT in this location. **Only problem, which does not really have to do with the State Beach itself, is the construction on Carlsbad Blvd. You cannot come straight into the park from Poinsettia. They changed this due to the amount of traffic that would be backed up toward the freeway. The ONLY way into the park is driving SB on Carlsbad Blvd. With SB Carlsbad Blvd. CLOSED at Palomar Airport Road, you are forced to take Poinsettia to NB Carlsbad Blvd and then a U-Turn at the first light. They have widened the road in order for RV's to make these wide turns which is not too much of a problem, but any U-turn in a RV is annoying. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$50
This is a great town and a nice park. Good shopping with outlets near by. Water views are worth the price. The new prices for this park are ocean views at $50.00 and off-ocean sites $35.00. There are no hook ups. Water is located through out the park. Staff and volunteers are great. The park is starting to enforce the max length of 35 feet as of January 2010. The nice thing about this park is you can have any combination of three vehicles per site, with the third vehicle charge of $12.00 per night. So two motorhomes and one toad you could park all three on one site with the third car or motor home being charged an additional $12.00. Be warned not all sites will be big enough for all three. Some sites are out of level. Bring extra blocks if this is your first time to the park. Verizon cell and 3G broadband worked well. This is a busy park in the summer, so book early. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
Nice wide sites, Wi-Fi is available from AT&T if you are close to the Grocery store, not free. My Verizon cell and net card worked great. Great view of the ocean from the ocean view sites. There is a stairway down to the beach, nice clean beach and not busy, some surfers. Can't wait to go again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
Excellent park: clean with nice, helpful staff. Quiet and kid friendly. Great spot if you are traveling through. Stores local and great restaurants are within walking distance We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
We have always loved to camp here but a warning to those planning to visit. They appear to be cracking down on fun. We routinely visit the campground several times per summer and on our longer trips we have had wood delivered. The wood we get is of better quality and costs less to buy in bulk if we are staying more than one or two nights. We were informed this trip that since they sell wood in the camp store ($7 per small bundle of pretty soft wood) they will no longer allow it to be delivered, great. They have quiet hours starting at 10pm, like most parks but we were hassled by the rangers both nights we were here. We were a small group, sitting around the fire singing (softly) and talking the first night when the ranger literally advised that there is: "No laughing after 10pm." The 2nd night we were playing a game at the picnic table and received a warning, indicating that there had NOT been a complaint, but that if there were we would get a citation. We understand that there needs to be some enforcement of extremely rowdy groups (which we have seen) but we felt like the rangers were being very unreasonable. We will not be camping here again and will move on to San Elijo where they are much more friendly. Those with longer rigs be warned, they were issuing fliers at check in this weekend that as of 01/10 they will no longer being allowing rigs over 35 feet to stay in the park. This has long been posted on Reserve America but I had not seen it enforced until now. Given the attitude of the Rangers this weekend, I would take them at their word. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Dry Camping only, no hook ups, however, we have stayed here many times and this was the first time we actually got an ocean side site #11 and we loved it. Our site was large enough so we could park our 36' motorhome parallel to the ocean. Everyday we got to see the sun set on the ocean. Carlsbad is a wonderful town to explore as well. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Good beach-front camping -- on a bluff overlooking the ocean; all primitive sites, adjacent the PCH, so there can be significant highway noise, depending on which site you get. Ocean side sites are $10 more -- worth it (to us) if we can get one; you MUST have reservations to get a decent site -- especially for the sites we can fit into; the reservation system LACKS accurate measurements, so I have a list of sites I know I can fit into with our 35' fifth wheel. We love the beach, and visiting the kids in nearby San Marcos, so this is our choice -- the private parks cram you in even tighter than this place, charge more $$, okay in a pinch. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
Don't get to this park too early, the 2 PM check in is strictly enforced (by grumpy volunteers). The state rangers are quite friendly. Dry camping, but spectacular views. The sites vary in size, so large rigs need to select carefully. We were on an ocean side site. The row not on the ocean may have no views due to larger rigs parked in front. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$30
We reserved site #5 but in the end didn't really need a reservation and as luck would have it most of the bluff side sites are fairly large but #5 isn't one of them. No matter really, we were able to pull in very far forward and the view was spectacular, we also had some greenery on both sides for a bit of privacy but we'd pick another site next time. A bit of traffic noise from road next to the park but the pounding of the waves drowned it out for the most part. Pay showers but clean, large, private with hot water and decent spray. We didn't use the laundry but it looked fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2006
$37
Nice clean campground with great views. Even though this CG is along the coast, you do not hear the trains that travel along the coast. No hook-ups of any kind. We recommend this park to everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$30
Our family has camped here 3 times. We have had a great experience every time. You definitely need a reservation, especially if you would like to be on the blufftop, which is definitely recommended. The beach is beautiful and can be accessed by stairs. There are many water faucets & dump stations are easy to use. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$30
Camped here in a 34 footer. Most sites are big enough to leave your tow vehicle hooked up to your trailer. I usually un-hitch and park my tow vehicle perpendicular to my trailer in order to block my view of the access road, which runs in between the single row of sites. Each site has brushes that are eight feet high blocking nearly your entire view of your neighbors on each side. Fire pits and movable picnic tables are at each site. Water hookups are spaced within 50' usually. The bathrooms have 15amp 120v plugs for hair dryers. The shower water is instantly warm and costs $0.25 per 2 1/2 minutes. Sites with beach views on top of the bluff run $5 more per night than the inland side of the row. It is definitely worth the extra $5 as the inland side borders a main road with lots of traffic. I will concur with the earlier posts on all other topics already mentioned. Great place, worth the money for So. Cal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2004
$30
Expensive with no hook-ups and pay showers but very well worth it. We have a 30 ft class A and had plenty of room in the site. The views from the ocean bluff side are spectacular. Easy access to the beach via several sets of stairways. Laundry available at the park and the dump station is easy to use. Beautiful oasis of a park close to all the shopping in the world in Carlsbad and neighboring communities. We'd recommend it to anyone hope to visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$16
We have stayed at this park three years in a row. We have enjoyed it every single year. If you want ocean view campsites, book early (especially if a holiday weekend). I would suggest getting a campsite close to the stairs if you plan on going to the beach. Clean place, friendly people camp there. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$13
Dry camping with convienance. No hook-ups available but they had water faucets every few spaces, I was able to run two hoses and fill my tank up very easily. The dump station was easy to access with a turn around to get back out, my 35 foot fifth wheel did brush the bushes trying to get in and then turned around. The camp site is on a bluff overlooking the ocean with several stairways down to the ocean. Several bathroom/shower facilities though we did not use them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com