214403 User submitted reviews online!!
Cherrystone Family Camping & RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 100 user reviews. Phone: (757) 331-3063
CGID3030

Cherrystone Family Camping & RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
725
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   7   7   4   7   9   9   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$48
Cherrystone is a great family campground. There is so much to do for the kids. They have added a jump pillow which the adults had more fun on then the kids. We go every year for 8 days and never run out of things to do. The water park and pools are well maintained and staff is always available if you have a question. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
Previous reviews are pretty accurate. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very large park, W/E excellent. Sewer hookup was horrible. We have a class A that rides fairly high and it was still impossible to dump. Not only was the sewer located about 8 inches above the gravel pad, the pipe then extended another 8-10 inches above the ground. Simply stated, sewage would have to flow up hill 8-12 inches. Didn't happen. We probably will stay elsewhere on our next visit to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$54
Second of three Halloween weekends! Very crowded with a whole lot of children everywhere. Heads up or you could be run-down by wayward bicyclers. Lots of activities for the entire family. We took our 7 year old granddaughter and she very much enjoyed the trick or treating at participating campsites. Our campsite #342 was very spacious and we had plenty of room to spare. Very close to general store, mini golf and playground. It appears there's no rhyme or reason to how the campsites are organised as far as tent verses RV's. Most tent campers had fires going which made the area extremely smoked up to the point it irritated the eyes and nose. The only rule I did not agree with was not allowing 1 day reservations. We did not want to stay for 2 days. When you pay to make the crossing via Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel ($$), you don't want to get there and be turned away because you are a walk in and there's no site available. Overall, cleanliness, level sites and pleasant personnel made this a successful stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$65
Very big campground--almost too big. We camped with a waterfront view by the small pier and while the view was great people felt it was OK to cut through to get to the pier instead of walking around. Maybe the staff can put in designated pathways. Lots to do: three pools, adult pool, crabbing fishing, mini-golf, rental power boats. The camp store is one of the best I have ever seen and the cafe served some of the best fried chicken too. Check in was easy and staff is everywhere. My rating would be higher if they had more planned activities for kids and spread the sites out. You're on top of everyone. The sewer connection should sit more flush with the ground and not 6 inches high. We did have a lawn ornament taken in the night and there are kids everywhere on bikes with no regard to anyone else. I realize this is where parents need to step up however the park staff can enforce the rules. The pool was cloudy and the prices at their crab and veggie stand is high. We went to a guy outside the park and got 100 clams for $20. At the campground it cost $40 for 100. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
This park was such a disappointment. Located on the Chesapeake Bay and friendly staff are the only redeeming qualities. With over 700 sites we were expected to park next to two of the maybe 10 rigs that were in the park and, because the utilities are so disorganized, we would have had to climb through their site just to plug in. Next site had a broken sewer and it was completed filled with dirt. Third site was better but not very level. I'm assuming that because this is a family campground this accounts for all the rules they have in place; way too many for adults. And lastly they say they're dog friendly and I guess if you keep Fido in your rig and only scoot him out briefly on a designated road to a designated spot that might be so, but that's not dog friendly to me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$39
Gorgeous water views with level sites; however, the sites were flooded when we checked in. The water was so deep in the first site we were assigned that we had them move us to another site , site 603. Although this site also had standing water it wasn't nearly as deep. Our ladder mounted satellite worked fine, and we had good 4G Verizon signal on our Mifi. The most annoying about this park is all the speed bumps throughout. I know they want to keep the speed down, but they are about every 100 feet, and very annoying. The fries in the cafe were good, but the pulled pork was old and dry. The general store is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays, and the cafe closed at 2:00 pm (probably their off season hours). We would not stay here again IF it has just rained, but would if it has been dry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$52
We enjoy this campground, have been a few times. Most sites have good shade. Great location, usually have a nice breeze. Many sites have water view. Many activities throughout day as well as a live band on many weekends. Several pools and a spray park to accommodate many people, but my kids wished there was a waterslide. Several fishing piers to fish or crab off of. Make sure to bring bicycle or golf cart to get around. Great cafe with good food and store has everything you could possibly need. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$75
We really almost didn't come back due to the negative reviews but we're sure glad we did. This was our second visit to Cherrystone, our first visit being 8 years ago. I was very pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed this visit. I didn't notice any unpleasant workers nor did I think the facilities weren't up to par. Yes there were some bad spots in the roads, but primarily in the area of the campground most exposed to bad winds and weather. It's still a treat to have the on-site produce and seafood market, the general store has no rivals, and the food in the restaurant was surprisingly good. All day long trash pickups, lots of activities for young and old, and unbelievable scenery equate to the fact that we'll definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
This is a resort campground. It offers many amenities including activities for children and families. The sites are level, and graded, cleaned. There are numerous restrooms, a restaurant with friendly individuals, more like a gathering center. I would recommend this for anyone who is looking for that getaway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
We camped here off season and most of everything was still open. They have a nice convenience store that has just about everything you forgot at home. They have a really nice cafe and had a nice size breakfast there that was reasonably priced. They have a new welcome/reservation center at the front of the park. We were 4 rows back (pull through) from the bay and still had a nice view. This is a nice campground with blacktop roads to get to your site with gravel sites and grass.They have 4 fishing/crabbing piers. One of them was closed due to Hurricane Irene but the other 3 were open. You do not need a license to fish/crab if using their piers. The only down side is that they only allow 2 pets and if you are caught with more than 2 pets they ask you to leave the park with no refund. We will not camp here again due to the pet policy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$51
Came back to stay this summer. Had a great time. Staff was friendly, snack bar chicken is great, the store had almost everything we needed. Campground was clean but we did see some trash. I had an issue with my golf cart and i thought it was going to be a problem, but they let me fax the information i needed to the office, that was nice, good service. Planning to come again in the spring! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$61
I have been going to Cherrystone for over 20 years and have some very good memories, but in the last 4 to 5 years the quality of this campground has gone down. There seems to be very poor management and a lot of teenage personnel that does not care about anything, especially the quality of the campground. Just a few years ago, Cherrystone had a good security patrol that policed the campground regularly on golf carts. They made sure the the campgrounds rules were up-held so everyone could enjoy their stay. Now there is no security, which leads to a lot of teenage mischief and destruction. In just the last few years I have had my trailer broken into and set on fire, though it did minimal damage, it didn't seem to concern the management. July 2011 we had 3 families of campers to enjoy a week at Cherrystone but the second night our campsites along with many others were stolen from. The response from management was poor and one of their comments was, "If you don't like the way this campground is run you may leave." Then, once again my coolers were broken into before I left. If you would like to camp at Cherrystone, be sure to take everything into your camper and lock up tight, if you want to keep what's yours. We will not be back until they bring security back!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$61
Lets start with check in. The building and staff were as generic as it gets. No personality. After check in we left to find our site. All I can say is wow. Everything was total unorganized. Campers pulling in to there sites longways, sideways, diagonally, you name it. Golf carts flying by. Bikes, cars, trucks zooming all over the place. Absolutely no enforcement of the rules. Bathrooms were filthy. A lot of the roads were full of potholes. I could go on and on but hopefully you get the idea. Oh yea the sewer and water were on the wrong side of our camper. So make sure you bring extensions. We will never come back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
This campsite is HORRIBLE. I have been camping for a very long time and have never seen a place this bad. The campsites are all on top of each other, smaller than a trailer park. We had people next to us drunk and breaking into some of the cabins (at two in the morning). One of the people that worked here told all the other employee's that he didn't do it. (So it never was fixed). The bathrooms are SO gross. They have toilet paper everywhere, people's discards, all over the floor & toilets. There are definitely not enough bathrooms/showers for the amount of campsites. The only thing that was nice was their general store plus tackle store. Their advertisement makes it look like a great place, don't be fooled like we were. They even got sewage all over by the pools plus on the ground. Do yourself a favor, don't waste your money, we even left early! I promise you there is WAY better out there: like state campsites! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$27
Super RV park right on the Bay. Large sites and set in areas with lots of trees. Has bait shop and cafe onsite. Employees are very nice. Shopping close by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$50
Wonderful Campground. The Grill has some fantastic food. We had CrabCakes, Stuffed Shrimp, and Crab Corn Chowder. Nice sized spots, friendly staff, and a view you won't get many other places! Showers were clean & warm. Restrooms were clean and well maintained We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$36
We enjoyed our one night stay. The campground was basically empty. Unlike some campgrounds we've stayed in, the checkin staff had the campers spread out rather than packed together in adjacent sites. Our closest neighbor was 50 yards or more away. The facilities were clean and well maintained. I guess because of the time of year and few guests, we really did not see staff roaming the area and had no contact with them after checkin. We would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$32
Came in March just to get away for a night or two. Park is quiet, needs a lot of clean up after the winter. Made reservations for the summer while we (mom, dad, 2 dogs) were there (cant wait). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2011
$1
I would like to review this campground, however due to the fact that we have three dogs, they would not let us stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$60
We had been going to Cherrystone a few times each year for the last 5 years. We always loved the area. But the bay is the only thing going for this campground anymore! It is not a resort. The last few times we have visited have been disappointing. Maintenance has not been as good and security has become bullies. Do not rent anything. The rangers will lie in wait watching you to make a mistake and then tell lies about you. All in order to keep the security deposit. This happened to several other campers that weekend as well. Our group is a small one, 2 parents and 2 kids. We do not fill up our camper with a bunch of people, we do not bother our neighbors, we watch our dogs and kids, we keep quiet and pick up after ourselves. We spend a lot of money at the campground, thousands of dollars renting the space, eating at the cafe, and buying products at the bait and tackle and camp store. We also spend a lot of money at the local shops and grocery store in town. Yet we were treated rudely. I have heard staff tell people not to bother to complain, the owners will simply say if you don't like it, don't come here. I can't believe this attitude, it's supposed to be a hospitality business. We really look forward to camping and getting away. We will be looking for another campground perhaps on the other side of the bay or buying a vacation home. Cherrystone will not be getting anymore of our business if we can help it. They have lost very loyal and desirable guests. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$50
Upon arrival we noticed the grass needed cutting. The dog run for walking did not have a fence. The roads were narrow and uneven with large potholes. The Country Store employees were friendly and helpful. However, upon requesting to rent a golf cart in the Bait and Tackle shop, customer service was sadly lacking. We rented a golf cart for $50 a day. By the time we got to our site the back seat fell off due to old age and poor condition of the cart. We had to duck tape it back on. The next day it broke down and we had to get it jumped by a fellow camper. Again the following morning it broke down. When I was unable to move the cart I walked back to the Bait shop to return the keys and ask for a refund, I was told NO. I would only receive a partial and deposit back. Additionally the lady said you get nothing until they retrieve the cart. I asked why and she said “you could have put it on the back of your truck and driven home with it!” I protested at such a ridiculous charge as that would require an 8 hour drive and a $56 toll bridge charge to go home and back. We continued to argue for a couple minutes until another man asked me to speak to him outside. Once outside He said he was her husband and then he got in my face and threatened to beat me using obscenities. Fortunately he turned out to be full of hot air when I told him to go for it. His boss then came out and apologized for his unprofessional behavior and sent him back inside to the back office. But never did anything about it. I went back inside and explained to all that 99 percent of campers we have found to be very honest. I’ve been in law enforcement for 33 years and never have been accused of stealing or dealt with such an unprofessional business. This seems to be what they were all about. Making a profit anyway possible! Lastly, when packing up the camper at least 4 or 5 other families camping around us relayed they also had issues with the people that ran the Bait and Tackle shop. Such a beautiful location and it’s a shame our family will never return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$43
The campground was laid out very well. The store was very well stocked and the prices were very reasonable. The pool was closed for the season but we were able to use playgrounds and mini golf. My overall impression was that if it had paint, it needed new paint, if it had carpet it needed new carpet and so on. The salt environment probably takes a heavy toll. I probably won't go back anytime soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$51
We stayed over Labor Day weekend. The summer help was rude, but the seasoned employees were great. The food at the grill/game room was good and decently priced. Their camp store was well stocked, and sale pricing on RV items was fair. The pools were clean, the putt-putt course well worn, paddles boats decent, and road system well maintained. We will camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$90
Let me start by saying I've camped at Cherrystone for over 35 years. I've always enjoyed this campground as a child and looked forward to taking my children some day. For the most part, the campground resembles what I remember as a child. The bay is terrific with great crabbing and fishing. The pools are clean and fun and the campground is generally clean and well kept. It did make me laugh the way some campers cruise around in their custom golf carts. I guess the idea of walking is a foreign idea. The staff generally tried to be polite and accommodating, however, they seemed handcuffed by some really stupid rules that the campground has incorporated. We ordered fish our last night at the cafe and it was great. Cherrystone also made a great move in offering free use of the paddle boats and miniature golf. The kids enjoyed both. Many years ago they replaced the roller skating rink with a tennis court. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$55
This park is an ideal FAMILY campground. We pulled in with no children and no bicycles and no golf carts, and I was hesitant that we had chosen the wrong campground for a relaxing vacation. There were kids everywhere, golf carts zooming around, and people every where. However, we were pleasantly surprised during our trip. The majority of the campers were very friendly, the staff was consistently helpful and informative. We fished and crabbed off of one of the piers a couple days. We took long walks around the large park. We went on the paddle boats, traveled to Cape Charles (small old town nearby) and ate ice cream from the small cafe located within the park. Everything you need is in the park and I found it very refreshing to not have to leave for small things that I forgot: they have a general store as well. In addition, if you don't catch enough (or big enough) seafood, you can order it in the park too! It was quieter than I thought it would be other than the teenagers at night. This was by far the biggest issue: they were out in large groups at night and were very loud on the piers. They would gather (25+ people) on the end of the pier, play music and dance on picnic tables. We reported this, as did two other campers before us, but there were only TWO staff on duty at night. This campground is entirely TOO BIG to have only two people working at night. In addition, we were told that the rules used to be very strict (no golf carts after dark, quiet hours, etc.) but apparently these are no longer enforced and those that have been camping at this park for years seemed to be quite disappointed. We even had our electric unplugged from the outlet and someone said it must have been a "prank" by some teenagers, but we weren't amused. Other than this, it was a pretty good time and we may return if in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
The most rude office personel I ever ran in to. Very low voltage at site, 105 volts showing on meter entire week. This is the 4th time camping here and the last. Very hard to dump tanks, as they raised all of the sewer hook-ups a foot. As the old saying goes, you can't make s**t run up hill. One of the activities we went to was a water balloon volley ball game. They didn't provided enough water ballons so they then gave us a regular volley ball and said: "Here have fun." The place was empty the week before July 4th weekend, I can see why. Don't buy any camping supplies in the store. I needed a slinky for my sewer hose, paid $60.00 for the same one that is $26.00 @ Camping World. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$77
My only 2 bright points were a sweet lady, and the food at the cafe. The staff in ALL parts of the park were rude, unfriendly, and uncaring. When a complaint was made to the main office we were told we had to go to that part of the campground and find that particular supervisor. We really figured out quickly why the campground was half empty for a summer week. We entered the planned Fathers Day Horseshoe tournament, and low and behold it was run by campers because the staff was to busy to run their own events. We had a group of 5 campers and I can say FOR SURE we will NEVER be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$37
Stayed here in May. Had heard some negatives about park but didn't see anything out of the ordinary. Site was clean but needed more grass. Check in was easy, no hidden charges. Staff was friendly, and bath house was clean, but some people did make a mess in the one near us, don't know why they do that. Looks like they have put in new roads and are putting siding on all their buildings and building new piers. Talked with some others there who said the place was flooded terribly during the winter. Had lunch at the snack bar, food was good. Store was well stocked. Was quiet and peaceful, just what we needed. Stayed an extra two days. Will be back in the fall as I am sure the summer is busy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
Having read many of the previous low ratings I am afraid that I have to agree with them, and also agree for the same reasons. The office staff, presumably directed by management, need a whole new customer relations adjustment. I spent 18 years in the hospitality industry and can say that the best services are not governed by inflexible rules. We arrived mid afternoon on a Sunday. The place was virtually deserted. All we wanted was an overnight. We had been to Kiptopeke SP but it was closed for some reason. The weather was still a little cool so all we really needed was power. We did not really need water and we certainly did not need sewer. No offer of compromise. It was FHU or nothing. We were put down in the stinky section by their trailer rentals. Nobody else here. Not in the ENTIRE section. I wish I could have reminded the office staff that, like a hotel room, a CG site is a perishable commodity. If it sits empty you will never get that $ lost back. Futhermore, if you rough up a customer on the first visit, he will never be back. We travel this way often, preferring to pay the CBBT toll than deal with the traffic around Washington and Baltimore. Cherrystone won't be seeing us again. The low rating is due almost entirely on the 'service' at the 'WELCOME Center'. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2010
$39
Would like to say that the only thing that was good about this campground was that the bath houses were clean. When we made reservations and when we checked in no one told us that all the fishing piers were broken and the hot water was turned on in only one bath house.There is no place to cook at your campsite and we were looking for rocks to make a fire ring. We were charged for water front camping around the pound that is so big I could skip a rock to the other side. We had to change locations due to the wind storm five feet and the water front charge was deleted from our account, really? I am sure that this resort is a fun place in the summer but in the spring, prior to spring break you would think that this place would have been cleaned up and ready for campers. We will not be coming back to this place. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2010
$40
We stayed here for an overnight early in the season. We spoke with them by phone and were told that they were working on the water at the three way sites, but that it would be repaired prior to our after hours arrival. Well needless to say, it wasn't and there wasn't a soul to be found in the area. The park itself was deserted except for some seasonals. So, after a long day of driving we had to go searching for a water tap to fill up our tank. We had called them twice about this overnight, and feel strongly that they should have contacted us when they realized the water would not be repaired before our after hours arrival. Has lots of sites, fairly level and good power. Waterfront sites were nice, but look like they would be pretty wet in a big storm. I wouldn't return only because of the lack of communication/caring by staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$60
We camped here with our 2 daughters, they had a great time. They went trick or treating at the different sites and came back with more candy then they did when they went out on Halloween night. Everyone really gets into the "spirit" of Halloween. There is a tremendous amount of things for kids to do. We went on a night time hayride which was a lot of fun. The girls made candy corn candles and tie dyed shirts. There is miniature golf course and a really nice playground for kids. We are already planning on going back to Cherrystone in October. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$69
This stay was slightly better than the last time as far as the campground goes. The weather on the other hand was a disaster. But that isn't the campground's fault at all, we all know this. So the four rating is a bit generous for me, but in keeping this review as factual as possible and emotionless I'd rather be more generous to make sure I'm being fair. I mention the rainy and windy weather only because it does have an effect on what happens to the sites when this occurs. The high tide combined with wind and rain floods the sites. Not just 1 or 2 sites, but about 20-25% of the sites I saw, including mine, had over a foot of water. If they don't want to build a bulkhead to prevent this from happening, then I believe they should at the least notify you when checking in of the potential for this and offer to cancel the reservation or move to the back of the campground. Unfortunately I didn't realize this until after the tide came in and half my stuff floated away in to the Chesapeake Bay. Nature is nature and this happens, but give someone a heads up that the site is prone to flooding, OK? They have to know this was going to happen. On to the next problem, the sewer connections are elevated higher than the site by a good 12". Doesn't make any sense because as much as I wish it did, my holding tanks won't drain uphill. The bathrooms weren't very clean. There is no wireless internet available at the sites. The site we were in was small. The placement of the water and electrical boxes was horrible. I was on the edge of my site as close to the utilities as I could get and my 30' electrical cord would not reach, nor would my 25' water hose. At least the camp store was stocked up nicely and I could go and purchase another hose and extension cord from them. We won't be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2009
$70
Upon seeing the weekend weather report I called Cherrystone to see if I could move my reservations to another weekend, they said NO and told me I could not change a reservation. I had already changed my reservation a month before this yet now they said they are not allowed to change reservations. We did not go to the campground on Friday night because of the weather but I didn't want to waste my money. So on Saturday I packed up my family and we headed to Cherrystone. Upon arrival in pouring down rain and 40 degree weather they charged me for the entire weekend and sent me to my site. When I turned the corner into the tent area the ground was completely flooded. We could not get to our campsite. They never mentioned that their was flooding, they just took my money. When I called to complain that we could not even use the campsite we paid for they said "ohh yeah, sorry about that" I asked for a refund and they told me that it was their policy to not give refunds no matter what the circumstance. Again, I can not get to my campsite because the water is knee deep. I continued to explain this to them and they were extremely RUDE. I will never return to this campground. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$37
Great place for an overnight or extended stay. Restrooms were neat and cleaned daily. Lots of activities for the kids too. The only thing is that they do not have cable TV, which would be a big plus for a campground of this size. Sites were large and not right on top of each other. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
We camped one night and wished we had had more time. This campground is a cruise ship on land. While some of the campsites were close together, the ones near the bay were the best. This is a great stop for a few nights while visiting the Eastern Shore. We will be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$75
We have stayed here for several years, but this is the last. We found the staff to be extremely rude. We pulled into our site in 4-wheel drive due to the mud. I called the office to ask about another site, but we were told there were no other sites and there was no manager there that we could talk to. I was very frustrated as a watched a few sites stay empty during our stay. There was mud everywhere, outside and in the trailer. If they would just grade the sites, add some stone, it would make a huge difference. Unfortunately we ran into many families that will not be returning after this year. With the combination of the sites and rude staff, we will not be returning. Kids love fishing here, but we will find another campground next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$51
Very large campground with lots of activities for kids. We rented a golf cart which proved to be very useful as the campground is so big. Store is packed w/stuff from your everyday needs to souvineers and even beer and wine. Tackle shop also had lots of things. There is also a cafe: everything we ordered was very good and prices reasonable. Sites were a bit close and the bathhouses are not spotless but useable. Great waterfront views. If you have a boat, there is access to the bay. We have a boat and used it to go crabbing. Pools were great, a bit crowded but still nice. We had 3 sites next to each other so the closeness did not bother us too much. I would go back again for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
We have stayed at Cherrystone a few times and it is really a nice campground. The sites are decent size and you do have a good chance to get a waterfront and/or water view site. There are tons of activities for the kids so they are always kept busy. The pools and all amenities are nice. The one downfall that I have is just when it rains the sites are easily flooded, but management does it's best to put mulch down after wards. It would be nice to have it graded better, but understand the cost of doing it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$90
Very good family campground. Nicely wooded lots and clean facilities. Lots of free amenities. The farm stand was awesome. Management was not flexible. We arrived at 1:40 pm and were not allowed on the property until 2 pm check-in time. So at 2:01 we were allowed to drive through the gate to our sites which clearly had not been used in days. Overall, very good experience and we plan to return. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$69
As repeat visitors for many years, we were greeted by a full parking and overflow lot when we arrived at 1:30pm on Sat. 7/25. We were told that we could not go to our site until 2pm as they needed the time to clean and mow. This is a newly enforced policy since we were here over the 4th of July holiday. So we waited until 2pm and were given permission to proceed to our site. Well, weren't we surprised to find the site dirty and un-mowed for what looked like several weeks. This fact was confirmed by our neighbors who were equally unhappy about the condition of their site and had not seen anyone with a lawn mower since their arrival over a week before. We understand that the check in time is 2pm (although never enforced in previous visits) but why was the site in such bad shape? We called on Monday and requested the site to be mowed. They came on Friday of that week at 5:30pm. We were leaving the next day so we spent the week with grass almost a foot tall in some spots. We had rain several days and because the sites sit below the road, we were flooded for much of the time. Admitted, the road is paved but now the water runs off into the sites. We spent a week here over the 4th holiday and the fences were in disrepair then and still in the same condition this trip. Bikes and golf carts run all over the campground without lights well after dark. This hazard makes us not want to take an evening stroll around the property. The back up at the guard shack every time we come in due to checking the new arrivals is a nuisance and needs to be reconfigured. We are so disappointed as this campground used to be one of our favorites. We came here 3/4 times a year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$69
As a preamble to my review, I will let you know we are an experienced camping family consisting of two adults in our 40’s and our 15 year old son. My wife and I have been camping for well over 25 years. We mostly choose our locations for natural beauty and our love of fishing. We enjoy the adventure of traveling around this great country of ours. We currently camp in a 25 foot hybrid travel trailer. The review: Cherrystone Camping Resort July 2009 – First, I will start with the positives. Absolutely, positively, a stunningly beautiful location; one of the most naturally scenic campgrounds our family has ever been to. The grounds are directly on the shores of Chesapeake Bay. You’ll find good crabbing from any of the three docks. Fishing is OK if you rent a skiff. It is much better if you take the charter (which is located near the entrance of the grounds). The sunsets, over the bay, are amazing. Now, on to the negatives and from my perspective there are quite a few: The sites are simply way too small. They certainly squeeze you in here. We were sandwiched in between two busy roads with maybe 12 feet between us and our neighbors. That is how the whole campground is set up. From the largest class “A” site to the cabins. You had better like your neighbors because you are going to hear every sneeze, yawn and whisper that comes from that trailer next to you. Wi-Fi is only available at three hot spots and is slow. TV is broadcast only. With the bucks they charge here, and the amount of wiring they already have around the campsite, it would be simple for them to offer both internet & cable at each site. Campground rules are lax to the point of discourteous. Loud parties go on well after curfew. Packs of children are let loose to roam the grounds at will. The kids tape flashlights to their bicycles and ride through the grounds well after dark. Taking a moonlight stroll is safer on some streets of Manhattan. Children and adults seem to not be aware of the rule of not cutting through other people’s camp sites. The campground has 4 pools. Three are over crowded with kids; the other, near the bait shop, is labeled for adults only. Our one trip to the adult pool was cut short by a group of drunk and rude 18 to 20 year olds who had taken over the pool. All of the “adults” cleared out when the rude crew starting getting out of hand. The staff is very courteous but, one person I spoke to about the late night noise just shrugged her shoulders and said there is not much they can do about it. We ended up cutting our stay short by 2 days. Management had no problem issuing a refund. They are well aware of the problems this campground has. It’s become too popular for its size. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$56
We had a great time and we have some good things to say, but we have some disappointments too, so keep reading. We stayed from July 3-10, 2009. This is an excellent weekend to go because the fireworks are good and this year they had fireworks on the 4th and 5th. This was our 4th visit. The amenities are good. Bath houses, general store, pavilions, cafe, arcade and fresh seafood/vegetable market. The pools are great and the new splash park was a hit. Live bands and bingo and other planned activities like movies, arts and crafts and whole park events like costume contests, site decoration contests and parades. A bait and tackle shop, boat-bike-paddleboat-golf cart rental. Fun to crab a fish and they have everything you need to get started with helpful staff that knows the rules and regulations and the right way to catch you a crab or fish. We really like Cherrystone because of the people we see every year. This is what Cherrystone really has going for them as long as they can keep the park nice and keep the families coming each year. The park was in disrepair and things that were broken never got fixed. It seemed as though the only way anything was going to be fixed was for a customer to find a manager and let them know, and you had to do a little work and asking around to find a manager. We plan on going for Halloween. This is an awesome time and the kids really clean up on candy. We really want to go because like I said: what keeps us going back are the people. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Great family friendly park with reasonable rates. Our kids had a blast and were never bored. We camped in a tent right on the beach almost and it was beautiful. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This was our first time here and it was wonderful. The campground in very nice and clean. The pool area is awesome. They have 2 regular pools and 2 very nice pools for children. They also have a splash zone and a small water slide for kids. There is lots to do here. We stayed for a week and hardly left the campground because it was so nice. They have a nice restaurant and a store with just about anything you would need. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$60
After years of enjoying this campground a great deal, I was OUTRAGED with my last (and FINAL) vacation at Cherrystone. Customer service received from the park manager was terrible, when I finally was able to speak to him to complain about extreme flooding of my site after a storm and continued electrical problems, his reply was "If you don't like our customer service you can leave at any time". I was appalled and will never return. I can only believe that the owners have no idea how rude the manager and some of the office staff can be. My sentiments for the ignorance of the manager were reiterated by many other guests as well as a few employees during the course of the week. There is also a serious power problem at the park and if you don’t have a surge protector, beware, because mine measured low voltage (less than 100 volts) more than once and the main breakers tripped repeatedly for several RV’s in my section. For the above average rates that are charged, they do not put enough back into maintaining the sites and power grid. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$68
We made reservations only a couple of weeks in advance, so were lucky to get in. The site was large, but sewer hookup was on one side and power hookup on the other. A longer hose fixed that problem. They have a great store with RV supplies, so if you forgot something, odds are they will have it. The staff are A+. The placed was packed, had great activities, and great live entertainment on Saturday night. This is one place you could spend an entire week at and never leave the CG.If you bring your kids, they will have a great time regardless of age. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$67
If I could rate this campground on amenities and choices of activities (for a price of course) I would give it a 10. However, many of the sites are not very level and low-lying. When it rains the place turns into a swamp. The staff really doesn't give you an option of changing sites. The family we camped with had to have the staff move their travel trailer in and out with a tractor because the site was so "tight". No fire rings provided so burn marks are everywhere. I seemed to us that there is a shortage of restrooms and bath houses that are closed for cleaning 1 1/2 hours at a time. You may find yourself taking a longer walk than expected. The store is fully stocked with your normal supplies and has a extensive inventory of RV parts, supplies and gadgets. The bait shop is also well stocked. All seemed to be reasonably priced. All in all a nice resort type CG but could use some site improvements. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$55
Stayed here over Memorial Day weekend 2009. Had a great time. Park was full to the brim with people. Had a flea market, made a great deal on some flower stands for the wife. They have installed a new water park, the kids had a blast as did we. Staff was friendly but rushed, probably because they were so full. Free mini golf and paddle boats for the weekend. Didn't like the kids on bikes at night, they always have a problem with this. We lock our kids bikes up at sunset, don't want them getting hurt. Plenty to do, store staff was helpful finding stuff. Made reservations for later in the summer when vacation time rolls around. Thumbs up considering the number of people in park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$34
We stayed over Easter and the weather was very cooperative. The ocean and water sites are very cold and windy during this time of year, so be prepared. Our site was a little difficult to get into due to the large trees on both side of the sites and narrow roadway. The pull through sites are very nice but no shade and has a camper/trailer size requirement. The size requirement rule is hard and fast even if traveling with multiple families and different size trailers. The campground is very nice and they have lots of activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$99
We stayed here for a week. It wasn’t my choice. Our group wanted to go there. We stayed in a rental trailer as we were waiting on the new RV. The cost? $900.00. First though, when we got there we didn’t see any handicap parking at all. So, we parked in a regular space a ways away. Went to the registration building. We asked for a cabin that had a TV antenna and a real double bed. The person taking the reservation assured us we would get that. We went to the site and had neither. I’m handicap and don’t do much so TV is my hobby at night. The bed actually fell in when we laid down on the one that was there. We went back to registration and told them what happened. They starred at me and shrugged their shoulders. At that point I let them know about the parking and the steps I had to climb out front. What did I get from the staff? You people want everything. You people complain at the drop of a hat. Yes they said “you people” to me. I just want what I was promised by your staff. No matter what I said it didn’t make a bit of difference. Once they have your cash, they don’t care. The only reason I stayed was because of the family outing. I will never….ever stay here again. What a dump. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2008
$45
We were told how great the weekends are during Halloween there. The only reason I didn't give this campground a 1 rating is because the other campers there set up some great sites. Some people really spent a lot of time/ money on this. The bathrooms and showers were only cleaned once a day. Needless to say they were gross, out of tp and towels within a couple hours of being cleaned. They were too unsanitary to use. Then on top of that, they charge a $5/day fee for each child! What?! The staff was unfriendly IMO, especially during the check in process. And no bicycles are allowed after dark. Did I mention how disturbingly gross the bathrooms and showers were? The view was great, but the grounds were dirty. The value is poor, especially if you have more than two people camping. If it wasn't for our son who had such a great time playing with the other children and looking at the neat decorations the other campers had on display, I'd say we'd never go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$60
After reading so many glowing reviews about this campground and spending some time on their website, we were so disappointed when we arrived. Where should I start??? The campsites were close together (and we were in the “big rig” area- which was supposedly more spread apart than the other sections.) It was dirty and weeds were growing everywhere. The pool area had lots of weeds and the small garbage bins were in need of emptying. The kids working were not very friendly and the mini golf course was in complete disrepair. The camp store was fully stocked but seemed very chaotic. It did have a lot of camping supplies but a lot of other junk too. Fires were allowed, however, there were no fire pits which made for interesting fires right on top of the road or camper next to it. Their website makes this place seem like the best place on earth but once you arrive, you realize that there is not one “real” photo of the campground—no pictures of the brightly colored, carnival-like, paint peeling buildings. I brought my daughters over for the craft (along with about 20 other people) and my younger daughter got the “last craft supplies”. Needless to say, my older daughter was very disappointed. One of the staffers seemed sympathetic to our plight but the other seemed totally indifferent. While the setting at the campground (right on the water) is a pretty sight, when you get down to the water’s edge, there was garbage and junk all over the place. People didn’t pick up after their dogs either. If you are looking for anything to do outside of the campground, forget it. There is nothing around. We had a two night reservation and ran out of there after 1 night. UGH! What a disappointment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$60
The only reason I am not giving them a 10 this year is due to the golf carts that are in this campground. Big mistake. I saw grown adults driving irresponsibly, flying over speed bumps with small children in the back. They need to enforce the quiet hours too. Neighbors were loud and noisy after midnight. The sunsets were gorgeous this year as usual. The owners need to spend some money updating some of the roads. Drainage still could be an issue if there are large amounts of rain. Verizon wireless card worked fantastic from our campsite. Did not use their WiFi this year. Definitely going back next year! Love this place. This is not an oceanfront campground but it is on the Chesapeake Bay with waterfront sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$75
We were in site 610 directly across from the bay. Absolutely beautiful sunsets! This campground has plenty of family activities, crafts (fee), games, bingo, dj's, bands etc. 4 piers for fishing and crabbing. Canoe, kayak and boat rentals. Very pet friendly. 4 pools were very nice with chairs and umbrella tables. Store was well stocked. Restaurant was ok for a quick bite, but pricey and greasy. Bikes and golf carts can not be used at night and they don't kid around with that rule and it was a little ridiculous trying to get events without bikes or golf carts, now you end up with vehicle traffic which is worse. The bathrooms were acceptable, but I felt they could've been cleaned up more than once a day. Site had used wood in the fire pit and small bits of trash and cigarette butts around when we pulled in. The mini golf course was only $2.00, but was very run down. I gave it a 9 mostly because the views and access to the water make it fantastic, but there was room for improvements in the areas I mentioned. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$55
Plenty of coordinated activities abound here. As well, there are many other amenities such as pools, miniature golf, boats, etc. For the money, unless you utilize these activities, the campground is expensive. There was no cable TV offering in our section. The sites were pretty close together as well. It is a very large campground with lots of people coming and going all of the time. There were lots of rules but we never saw them enforced. We didn't think that the service/friendliness level was too high on the part of the staff. Example, upon renting bikes for the day, we found that they were broken. A replacement was not available at that time so we decided to cancel and get our money back. Most places would apologize for the inconvenience. They didn't really care nor apologize. For the money, we expect friendly service to be a part of the offering. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Nice resort with lots of activities. We had a waterview site which kept us nice and cool in the mid-July weather and we could watch the sunset from our site. The sites are very close to each other - quite a few people struggled to back in and get set up between the trees. The trees offered nice shade though so it's a toss up. The adult swimming pool was clean and not very crowded - and they also offer crabbing, putt-putt, children's pool and bike, paddle boat, etc. rentals. Nice place, will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
We just came back from vacation and we stayed here for one week. It is a nice campground, but a little crowded for my taste. There is not much space between you and your neighbors. There are very few trees for shady campsites, we were one of the lucky ones. It was 95% with 100% humidity and really needed the shade. The pools are nice, and the staff there were really friendly. The restrooms were pretty clean, hard to keep up with being 700+ site and only 3 bathhouses, which was insane. The one of course, we had to use was closed for cleaning every day at 9:00 PM until 11:00PM. Which really was a real and a pane. It was a long walk to the next bathhouse up by the cafe. That one closed at a normal time 1:00-3:00 AM when people are sleeping. Then my daughter took a cold shower, no hot water. They finally put a sign up after people complained. It was down for the last 4 days we were there. They never fixed it. Besides that bathroom scene, it was a fun vacation. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
A beautiful campground! This was our second visit. We had a shady site overloooking the bay. Pleanty of room in our site. Restrooms were very clean considering how many people were using them.We were especially impressed with the campground store. It sold every thing you could need including beer! Check the date on the bread, though. All of the hot dog buns were expired. Lots of kids. Not much to do in the area outside of the campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
We had an awesome waterfront site. The view of Chesapeake Bay was breathtaking. Our site required minimal leveling and was of ample size. Our only problem was low electrical voltage, but we ran our water heater on propane and used the furnace instead of the heat strip. I don't know if other sites had this problem, but the view makes up for the slight inconvenience. The staff was friendly. Wi-Fi is not available at the site but is available in several different places in the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
We had a site directly facing the Chesapeake Bay. It was lovely, and cool. There are docks for fishing, and just enjoying the Bay. There weren't many people there, as the season was just beginning. We enjoyed it very much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
We have camped here several times within the last year and have thoroughly enjoyed the park. Had reservations for this month (Oct) ended up cancelling because the last time we were there we checked out the site we were assigned and realized that we would not be able to swing our camper into the site because of the trees in and around. We called the office a couple of times asking if we could be moved or if we could switch with a smaller camper (ours is 38') and we were told no. The lady I talked to twice was not friendly at all. The gentleman I talked to was a little bit more friendlier, but would not budge on switching. We are kind of upset that they would treat repeat customers this way. Overall we love the CG. Some trees need to be taken out or cut back in the waterfront lots. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
Cherrystone Family Resort in Cheriton, VA was a very fun, clean, and activity packed place to spend the Labor Day holiday. We had site #33 near Pier 1 and the Bait and Tackle shop, and while the park itself got crowded on Friday we found our area was still quiet and relaxing and did not have a lot of traffic. Most everything we needed was on site at the campground, and what they did not have there we could find not far away. Fishing and clamming were really good and they had boats you could rent if you wanted to go out on the water. Rental prices were reasonable, and prices overall were good. Bathroom stalls and Shower stalls were very clean. We would definitely go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
What a wonderful place to go if you like the water, especially estuaries. It's located right on the Chesapeake with plenty of waterfowl right in the park. We were scolded by a Great Blue Heron. Clean with plenty of room around the site. Lots of interesting people who stay there seasonally. We didn't camp during peak season, but it looks like it gets very busy in the summer with many kids and families. It's definitely a destination place, from the looks of it, and folks who stay there seasonally say it gets busy with lots of fun things to do. The only thing negative is that everything about it is pricey. Kayak/boat rentals are expensive, but if you bring your own, there are miles of paddling to be had. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$65
We spent 10 days here in our first real long term camping trip with our new Travel Trailer. We had a great time and can’t wait to return. We visited with three children ranging in age from 10 to 14 and they loved it. There were a ton of activities. The staff was friendly, helpful and informative. The grounds were well maintained. The facilities were kept fresh, current and clean. The campground was close to full capacity, yet we never felt like it was crowded. The sites were clearly marked and well maintained. The ready access to the bay was a bonus. The pools were well kept and always fun to be around. They have an onsite Water-Balloon Battle area that is just way too much family fun. The crafts were well organized and monitored. The entertainment was always appropriate and very good with the audience. All in all a great trip and place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
We were Bay front and the sunsets are fabulous with cool breezes; loved the adult pool, excellent camp store and the restaurant is OK too; efficient and clean management, good kite flying, one of the 10 best golf courses in the country nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
This campground is waterfront on the Chesapeake Bay. It is one of the most beautiful and fun campgrounds on the East Coast in our opinion. We have been camping at Cherrystone for 15 years. They now have wifi at 3 hotspots in the campground. It is a fun place for adults and kids. They have great entertainment nightly in season. Great place to ride bikes. New piers are in place now and they are very nice. I can't say enough good things about Cherrystone. Looking forward to going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
We had a great stay at Cherrystone, it was beautiful. At night it was very quiet and you could hear all the birds. The activities were great for the kids. The campground and bathhouses were clean and great after going to the beach to get rid of the sand. My children, even my two year old, loved the fishing pier. We were just as amazed as she was when she was able to catch crabs. Only complaint was a few of the employees were to busy talking to other employees and not very friendly. Most of the employees were happy and great with the kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$48
Overall a very nice experience. The pools were great and the activities were endless. We did not like the way the hookups were situated, some were very hard to get to. Some sites were very close and the way you had to navigate into the site to get to the hookups was quite difficult. But it is a beautiful place overall and if you have been there before you know what sites to ask for. There are many permanent sites and they spread out their "stuff" into the neighboring sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$50
This park is great. There were plenty of activities for the kids (age 9 and 7). The boys had a great time fishing off of the piers, riding their bikes and swimming in the pools. The park is kept clean but is looking old. The new paint on the buildings grows on you after the first day or two. One of the piers is being rebuilt and the other one is going to be rebuilt. Staff is friendly and the service is good. However, some of the guests are not campers and need to explain the park rules to their children. We had to ask our neighbors twice to keep their kids from riding their bikes and walking through our site. Other than that we had a great time and are going back in July. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$62
Very Poor Experience. Made and verified reservations for a full 50 amp site. Drove 8 hours to get there and upon arrival I was placed into a 30 amp site. The site was small and far away from all amenities. The personal was friendly, but they could not give me a 50 amp site. I ending up driving back home for 8 more hours with three children and two dogs. Such a mistake is inexcusable considering the great distances some customers travel to get to a campground. Therefore, this is one campground that I will not try again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$70
Well this year was our 4 year in a row for Cherrystone. The site is under new management and it shows. It is no longer a "family" park. Why? There is a $5 per night charge for children over 5 years old! What? The site includes 2 adult and children under 5, over 5 year old are charged the same as an additional adult. There is no free remote parking, they charge you $5 per day if you have a second vehicle EVEN if you leave it near the gate! (We parked it in town and saved the money) The fishing piers have been falling down for some time and they have decided to replace them in the middle of prime season! We have always loved the park, but it was $70/night for a pull through, water view with an 8 and 10 year old. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$34
This was our first time camping at Cherrystone and we loved it. The staff was friendly and our site was clean. We had a great view of the water. The only downfall was that we had heavy rains our first night and our campsite had flooded a little. We plan on returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$33
We camped on site #711 which is one of their premium (if not the BEST site) 50amp sites. The site was very long, private on the waterfront side with sweeping views of the bay. We choose to stay at this camp resort in early spring or in the fall, both of which children are in school. It's relatively quiet during these times and much more enjoyable. We have not encountered any problems with walking our dog around the campground as others have mentioned. We stay on the gravel roads and ALWAYS carry baggies for cleaning up dog waste in the event she doesn't make it to the dog run area. I really believe if you keep a positive attitude and abide by the rules set forth for everyone, you'll have a positive outcome. Happy Camping Everyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$40
What a large, kid friendly park. The Easter clam roast was delicious. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$45
Clean Fun Place! Crabbing + Fishing. Clam Roast!! One of my Favs! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
This campground is the best! We have been coming here for the last 14 years. We have grown in size in our camping unit and this year had to camp with the "big guys" but I will say that our experience here is the same. We love this place! We will continue to come here forever! The only things they do not have that the bigger places have is wifi and cable. But we have found a way around that. The beautiful sunsets on the water more than make up for this loss. They have made more upgrades to it since last year. Don't take my place! We love it here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
OK. Please read this review it is long but you will need to read it all to know how rude the staff is! We camped at Cherrystone July 2006. This was my 6th trip my husband and sons 1st trip. We arrived at the welcome center and they gave us a map highlighting the path to our site and circling out site. They also gave us a car pass which I immediately hung up and some other fliers about activities. We followed the map to our site pitched our tent set up our screen tent and got settled in one of the hottest July weeks. When we were all through I went to move our car and noticed that the tag had a different site # on it. We immediately went to the office. They were very upset and told us we should have never followed the map that the guard shack gave us. Basically the treated me as if I were stupid for not noticing. They told us we had to move. After a great deal of pleading they said we could stay for the night but would have to move by morning. The next morning we got up before it got too hot and moved everything. When we got to our new site we were next to some 16 year olds who were there 4 in a tent boys and girls with very foul language the next week consisted of me asking them to please watch their language once an hour. My son was 1 1/2. We decided we would give it one more try in October of 2006. In May I went online to make reservations. I specifically requested to not be on the water and was making reservations for us and my aunt and her family so we could be close. We received an email a few days later saying we needed to call with a credit card. When I called they had us completely across the park from one another. We were on the water. I had a 2 1/2 year old and a new born and could not be on the water due to my fear that something would happen. When I asked to be put closer and off the water they said there was a $10 charge for moving us. I got very upset and tried to explain that we were on the phone and my original request was not granted that I didn't think it were fair to pay $10. The manager got on the phone she told me that is how it was I asked isn't this a family campground I have a small child and asked not to be on the water. She told me "You can call back when you have a better attitude". I was not going to call back but after a month of persistence from my husband and aunt I did and was told I had to hold on for a manager there was a red flag by my name. When she came to the phone she said "We have you on our list not to rent to". I said "I was told to call back when I had a better attitude and I am being very polite". She then said "Ohhh youuuu have a better attitude todayyy dooo youuu?". I said there is no need to be condescending I am being very polite. She then said they were not renting to me. That was that I didn't want to go there any way. They never apologized when they put us on the wrong site they made it our fault and they could not fulfill the reservation requests made and they wanted to charge me for that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
Very nice. Very large CG. Multiple pools. My wife and kids love this place. We are repeat customers and will be returning this July. We bought a bigger camper just to more fully enjoy our Cherrystone holidays. Our friends and people we meet all think this is one of the best destination campgrounds in the region. Can be gusty at times so watch your awnings! Lots to do here from boating and crabbing to karaoke and talent shows. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2006
$45
Extremely poor customer service! We have camped here several years in a row and have been getting more and more disappointed each year with incidents that have happened to us as well as families camping with us on their own sites. We only continue to visit this campground because my husband enjoys fishing in Cape Charles and only gets away to do it one week a year. I have never met such rude and unreasonable staff members at any other campground. Our visit this year lasted one night, although we had paid for a week! They made us leave, but refused to give us a refund. We checked in on Friday, June 16th around 7:30 pm. I haul the camper and my husband hauls his Grady White boat. My husband rents a boat slip from the marina across from the campground for the week we are there. He uses the campground boat ramp and then drives to the marina. This year was to be no different. During check in we asked if we could take both vehicles to the campsite so we could unload our larger personal items from the back of the pick-up hauling the boat, and set up our camper before dark, then put the boat in the water, take the trailer and pick-up to the marina for the week, which meant we would not need a second vehicle pass from the campground. They wanted us to pay the one overnight fee to just drive the truck in for the night. So, knowing from previous visits here how unreasonable they were, we just agreed and paid for the night. It got dark just as we had finished setting up camp, so my husband decided to just put the boat in the next morning for safety reasons. The next day, he went to put the boat in the water and unfortunately, he had some motor troubles with one of the motors. He was going to call me at the site, but realized he had left his cell phone back at site. He tied the boat to the pier and he and his friend that was with him (and also paid for a week's stay at the campground) drove back into the campground to get his cell phone in case the boat broke down on the way to the marina. His car pass had only been for one night, so the guard called the "golf cart police" as we refer to them as, to let them know someone with an expired pass had drove in. The golf cart police, Norman, found my husband about 5 to 6 campers from ours and told him he needed to report to the office and pay for another pass as his had expired. My husband explained he wasn't staying, only getting his cell phone and leaving as he had boat trouble. Norman then insisted he had to do it "NOW!". Well, my husband was at site then and was expaining what had happened. Norman sat on his golf cart glaring at us while we spoke and banging his foot up and down with arms crossed. Was this necessary? Could this be a form of harrassment? Even after my husband had explained what happened, and said look man, I'm having a bad morning, give me a minute and I'll be out of here. Of course Norman continued to antagonize him and my husband stomped to the truck, slammed the door and said, "there, you F****** happy, I'm going up now." Norman then jumped off his cart, stompped to the truck placed his hands on my window opening and said "you're outta here!" My husband told him he better get his hands off the truck now and off they both went to the office. Of course the golf cart police was there first telling his version of the story and after that, the manager told by husband he didn't care what he had to say, we were to leave the park and had one hour to park. Not to mention with no refund. My husband returned to tell me and I went to the office and requested to meet quietly with management if I could. The area was full of people registering and I didn't feel they needed to be disturbed with this. Of course I was denied the opportunity to even discuss with a manager and was told I had to talk to the counter girl in the lobby. I told her I felt this was totally unfair as the reservation was made a year in advance in my name, not my husbands. I pulled the camper here with my truck and my son and I did absolutely nothing to warrant being evicted from the park. Honestly, neither did my husband. Their grounds for making us leave was because it is a family campground and they don't allow that type of language. Well if that's true, why do they sell beer/alcohol at their store and why do they allow loud partying, cussing and fighting as you can see goes on often from previous reviews. Well, as I discussed calmly my side of this story with the counter rep, the asst. manager Debbie emerged from an office and starting raising her voice and telling me we were out of here and she was calling the sheriff if I didn't leave immediatly to evict us from the site. Now, is this any way to treat a returning customer? But the real kicker is, the overnight pass is only $5.00. They caused this big of a scene over $5.00. Now that I've had a week to think it all over, I'm very sorry I didn't ask her to call the sheriff. I find it hard to believe I would of been forced to pack up and leave the campground over such stupid situation. I asked her, if they don't tolerate direspect in their campground, why are employees allowed to disrespect first. Of course no answer. But they really did us a favor. My son and I enjoy Frontier Town in Ocean City Maryland so much better and that's where we went to finish out the week. They have a much nicer facility and know how to treat customers. As a matter of fact, one of their employees actually followed my husband to the marina to drop his boat off for repairs on the Sat. afternoon we arrived there and brought him back to the campground. How's that for customer service! Frontier Town has an onsite water park that is free to campers. They have a mini golf course, ice cream shop, small carnival and old time western shows that are discounted for campers. Well worth the trip. If it's further for you, it's worth the trip. You will not be disappointed or disrespected at this campground. My husband and I have decided to take legal action against the campground. We feel we should be given a refund. Oh, I forgot one other thing. While my husband was in the office trying to explain what had happened, his friend that was camping next to us was standing there. He didn't say one word, and the manager looked at him and said 'And if you don't like it, you can leave with him". Nice huh? Just remember this review if you decide to go there. Don't do anything to upset the golf cart police or you may be evicted. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$46
Great RV Park. Took a chance on the place after reading about after 12am partying, poor staff, litter, etc. Saw None of That! Quiet after 10 pm, very clean, including the bathrooms, staff very friendly and very nice seasonal campers. The pool was fantastic, no congested golf cart traffic, we were very pleased with all the amenities they had. Our only beef was the higher than average sewer connections, too high for us to use. Obviously June, before school lets out is a good time to go. We definitely are coming back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$26
An amazing, huge campground with large sites right on the Chesapeake. Not many campers in May, but I could tell by the number and size of the bath houses that they can certainly look after everyone. Unfortunately one of them had only cold water for the shower, but another was OK. Unlike a couple of the previous posts, I found the staff friendly, efficient and courteous. The general store is the best Ive seen; they have everything you might need and even stock skim milk! Caf wasnt open in May, but the facility looks great. Will definitely return when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$45
Great campground, a lot of activities. Friendly staff and very clean. Would recommend highly to anyone. Just hope your not there in a heavy rain because it floods very bad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$32
We went with 5 other housholds which were all in a Popups, except one in a 30' Travel Trailer. The check in process was simple and we were allowed to check in a hour early on Friday afternoon. We had site 42 and you either had to have a very long power and water hose or do some tricky maneuvering to get the Popup close enough to connect up. Once connected up, life was good until the storm came across the Chesapeake Bay at about 1:00 am with 40 - 50 mph winds and rain. The group I was with were all fire fighters and medics and we were busy putting out campfires which were blowing and sparking pine needles. I was one of the unlucky ones and lost my screen house to the storm. With that said and done, the camping experience was good with the exception that the rest rooms are not all that clean and not very close to the waterfront sites we were at. They will not allow you to ride bike after dark even if you have a light, so I am sure my neighbors were upset with the 3 trips a night I made with the SUV to the rest rooms since the walk was to distant if you have any walking difficulties. Would I go back again? Sure would, but will either have a portapottie in the PopUp, or get a site closer to the restroooms. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2005
$23
Large spaces. Very clean and tidy. Park is in a very nice area on the Chesapeake Bay. Staff very friendly and helpful. BUT far too many speed bumps! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$44
I was at this park early May and what a difference summer makes. In early May, half the sites were empty, restrooms were immaculate and it was very laid back. Mid-summer, with a campground 90% full, Cherrystone did an excellent job of trying to keep up that year-round look. I'll start off first by saying I think ALL campgrounds that allow permanent residents should put them in an area not occupied by daily campers. Cozyacres in Powatan Virginia did that and I was impressed. Our site was very tight due to some very large pines, and where I had to park the trailer for hook ups, I couldn't put my awning out because the "permanent" resident next door had his trailer verticle on the site and his two vehicles next to the trailer. I didn't say anything because we were only there two nights, but if I would have been staying longer I would have asked him to move. This is a family campground and Cherrystone did well to keep the kids happy with numerous events. Swimming pools were clean, although warm (it is summer)... and events for kids were ongoing every day. The DW and I enjoyed the "Adult Only" pool. As for the restrooms, they were cleaned twice daily, but like I said earlier, the campgrounds was full, so the restrooms received heavy usage. They did well to keep up. Another feature I liked about Cherrystone is even though they rented golf carts, most kids and even adults used bicycles. So with high cost of crossing the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and the campgrounds summer rates, we enjoyed our weekend here with several tent campers and would return (mostly likely when school started back). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$45
I will repeat another review because it was the same as our experience. This campground was a disappointment. It has lots of activities for $$$ but it is very poorly run. QUIET TIME IS NOT ENFORCED! There was fighting, cussing, screaming, partying, & drinking everywhere. One night I went to the ranger station to report the noise. They did nothing! My children wanted to go home. I will never return to this campground again. It is nothing but a drunk's paradise! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$26
For the first trip out this year, we were totally impressed with this campground. I pre-registered (prepay) and drove up to gate, got my pass and directions to site without any hassle. Site was directly on the bay: we were able to enjoy a wonderful view and sounds from the bay. Staff at the store was friendly. Well kept grounds, and impressed by the bathrooms. Cleaned daily and although not spotless, was very well maintained. Everything worked fine. We will definitely return to this CG. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2004
$38
We love Cherrystone! It is right on the bay with excellent opportunities for fishing or crabbing right from the campground's piers. The best thing about Cherrystone is the variety - every type of site, lots of activities. It's good there is so much to do at the campground because there's not much to do in the immediate area. Only drawbacks: any campground this large is going to have its share of problems when it's full. They tried to keep the bathrooms clean but that was tough with so many people (we were there over 7/4), some problems with noise after hours, and difficulties with a group of teenage boys. Don't get a site too close to the fish cleaning station. Assets: 4 pools; local produce, clams, can be bought on site; rental bikes and boats; dances; crafts; movies; fireworks on the 4th were awesome! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2004
$35
Great campground. No towns close by. Mosquitoes! It has 4 pools, 1 is for adults only. Biking, canoeing, paddel boating, rowboats, fishing, crabbing etc... On Chesapeake Bay and has a pond and several Piers. Separate Large class A sites. Fishing Store, seafood market, camping store, etc... Scheduled Activities for kids. Had trouble getting to our lot, the trees are extremely close and we had to unhook our trailer and pull it in with a tractor. Messed up our gutters by rubbing a tree on 1 side while having 1.5 inches clearance on the other. Other sites would have been better for our rig. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2004
$41
We had a miserable time here because of the poor management. When we arrived, the site we had reserved was 75% covered with puddles. We changed sites and because we did not immediately re-register for the new site the next morning, the management rented our site to someone else who called that morning. We were not informed that there was any urgency to re-register, and though we were at our campsite all morning no one came to explain any of this to us. We were asked to either leave the campground or move to a different site within a few days to accommodate the new people who had called just that day to reserve. The manager on duty told us we might be more happy down the road at the state park, and coninuously claimed the problem was our fault. In talking to other campers we found 2 others who had been asked to move sites mid-stay. Moving and setting up a campsite is no small feat. When we asked for a discount, since we had moved to a non-full hook-up site (though a full hook-up was paid for), we were told no chance. We were shocked at the poor customer service here and will never go again--unless we hear of a management overhaul. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$40
This was the largest campground we've stayed at. It's a good thing there is so much to do because there is not much outside the park to do. The activities were some of the best and most attended I've seen. The boat excursions were fantastic. Multiple piers great fishing, crabing, claming and mussels everywhere. Myself and the kids can't wait to go back the wife on the otherhand calls itswampfever. It rained a lot in 2003 (and 2004) we had the largest site we had ever stayed in 2 RV's could have fit but there was no place to sit and build a campfire as we had our own personal lake. We were fortunate that we had other families with us so when we weren't fishing, boating, particpating in activities we spent the remaining couple of minutes at our neighbors. There is a serious water drainage problem that I don't see a solution due to the flatness, next time I'll bring a pallet or two. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$40
This campground is nice. The place is very clean. There are plenty of activities for the kids. As soon as you were ready to get to sleep though, the loud partying started and didn't stop until after 1 AM. Great bait shop and campground store. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$40
First trip August 2002. Fantastic park and lots to do. Crabbing, fishing, clamming, swimming, daily and nightly activities, and it's location on the Chesapeake Bay make this our second "Gold Standard" campground. Can not wait to go back next year. Some areas of the park are crowded, some areas can flood at a really high tide, the facilities are not "brand new" but this park is a clean, well run, and a terrific family camping experience, a must see campground! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$45
I actually had good expectations of this park, and was badly disappointed. Sites were cramped, and not well tended. By their design, it's obvious that you'd be in a swamp if it rained heavily. We arrived to a site littered with beer bottles, and had to suffer through a loud party until nearly 1am. The facilities were acceptable, but certainly not worth the premium prices they charged. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$50
A very nice campground. Lots of things for the kids to do (if you have the money).We are only an hour away so we just weekend camp there its one of our favorites when we can get in.We just came back(6/15-16). I was dissapointed with the restaurant staff. Long waits and not very well organized in the kitchen.We'll be back many times, I'm sure. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2001
$32
This campground was a disappointment. I had very high ratings because it does have great bathrooms and lots of activities but it is very poorly run. QUIET TIME IS NOT ENFORCED! There was fighting, cussing, screaming, partying, & drinking everywhere. One night I went to the ranger station five times to report the incidents. They did nothing! My children were terrified. I will never return to this campground again. It is nothing but a drunk's paradise! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
1999
$35
Fantastic park to spend vacation at. They have everything needed for fun in the sun! Camp store is very well stocked(even had beer and wine there). We really liked the fishing boat located at the campground which also goes out as a sight seeing boat in the evening. They also had a produce stand and a seafood stand that came in handy. The crab cakes they sold where great. This is a well kept park with everything neat and clean. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
1999
$27
Have been going to Cherrystone for 16 years. Now they have made it difficult for all pet lovers to visit. Pets are not allowed in most areas. They have a fenced in exercise spot to use and are not to be walked around the campground, only to and from dog walk area. Then 1999 they started a rule of only two pets per site. No matter what! You will be asked to leave. We have three dogs, itself is very nice, right on the water, nice pools. They just rule your site for you when it comes to your family pets. Many of our camping friends also ride with more than two pets. This is a total inconvience to most. Happy camping! From Easton, MD. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
1998
$25
What a nice place, has 4 pools, lots of activities. A great family CG. Has fishing, boating, restaurants, crabbing, and located right on Chesapeake Bay. On my top 10 list. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com