220138 User submitted reviews online!!
Chula Vista RV Resort & Marina was rated 9 out of 10 based on 129 user reviews. Phone: (619) 422-8872
CGID308

Chula Vista RV Resort & Marina

Camp Information
Sites
237
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$70



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   10   6   10   9   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$70
Park deserves a 10 for cleanliness and maintenance. Sites are very narrow (20') and short for big rigs so larger rigs often park their cars partly on the rather narrow roads. To leave enough room to park in front of your rig you (and everyone else) back up as far as possible. Expect to hear your neighbors' TV and conversation. The cramped feeling is partly offset by the easy walk to the beach. Management could do a better job enforcing rules about nuisance barking. They seem to respond if you complain but do not seem to be proactive. Probably a plus for dog owners but a minus for those who would prefer not to hear a chorus. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$88
The park provides a concrete pad, utilities, picnic table and privacy hedges between sites. The Wi-Fi is poor. Acceptable cable TV. The dog areas are primarily set up for small dogs. Low fences, small areas, and artificial turf. But there are at least 3 of them and there is also a tiered dog wash. People with larger dogs tended to use the adjacent park. Workout room is nice, but small. Pool is nice. Sites are a tad narrow, we fit in "edge to edge" with both slides out and the awnings out. The park is beautifully landscaped and well maintained. The staff is very nice, friendly and helpful. This park has a "community" feel with activities everyday for both adults and kids. The park is bordered by Bayside Park which has a small beach, short bike path, playgrounds, fishing pier and picnic areas and has an adjacent marina. There are restaurants within walking distance. San Diego is a drive. We have already made reservations to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$76
We stayed here in a 35 foot motorhome the staff was friendly and our site was clean when we arrived. We did not spend much time at the campground we were gone all day doing many of San Diego's attractions. We did use the pool and in general the campground was very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$75
I have no idea what the last reviewer was writing about when he gave this park a 6. This is one of the BEST parks we have ever stayed in. The bathrooms were immaculate! The park was so clean. The facility also has a variety of activities for their guest. It's right next to a walk next to the beach. The beach was closed due to it being unsafe, but the walk is still wonderful. We also ate at Dolphins. The food was ok, not great for the price, but it beats cooking in the RV! They do have a lot of rules, but it keeps the park clean. We had a family of ducks visit us every morning and night. They were so adorable. We would definitely visit again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$79
Very high-end park, with which comes many rules and regulations. Park was very nice and well maintained. Staff wasn't very helpful at check-in. Was handed a packet of information and left to figure it out on my own. Showers are clean. Don't bother paying extra for the bayside view. The fence and the park obscures the view and you get the noise from the park. Nice if you like the HOA atmosphere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$68
We love this RV park and stay here every time we visit the San Diego area. Nice level sites, but some are a bit narrow for newer RVs with big slides on both side. They will fit, but it will be tight on the site. Very friendly staff. Nice clean showers and laundry and spread out at different locations on the park. Lots of in park activities if you want to join in. Nice restaurant in walking distance in the marina with nightly specials. More good restaurants nearby and big outlet mall a few miles south. Good walks around the marina, and found one tree with 2 blue heron nests. Lots of other birds around. We shall stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$63
Very well maintained clean park. Sites had picnic tables. They were bit narrow, but shrubs separating your neighbors. We liked the pool and spa, but my health inspector companion noted pool needed some resurfacing. Nice slider bench swings throughout resort. Nice areas to bike around nearby Greenbelt Parks along the bay. For nature lovers within a bike ride is Chula Vista Nature Center surrounded by Wildlife Refuge. We also enjoyed the DJ playing music for all ages that had several couples dancing. Food and drinks were also served for small fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$50
Staying here now in Jan. 2014. This RV park is wonderful; it is spotless clean. There are always people working cleaning restrooms and mowing lawns to make it perfect. Concrete pads and asphalt roads keep your RV clean, and there are tons of flowers and palm trees. The bay is a 3 minute walk with 2 great places to eat also. We are staying here for 2 months. Cost is $1000 a month. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$40
Spectacular park, great location, extremely clean and well maintained. Rate based upon monthly stay with power extra. Would rate 10 except for 2 things. Park has a theft problem. At check in, they advise keeping all belongings locked inside your rv. A few locked their bikes outside and they disappeared. We had no problems. The Wi-Fi occasionally worked but usually not. I would come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$65
Had conference in San Diego and chose this one over others. Fifteen minute easy ride to convention center up I-5. Park was very clean and friendly. Store well stocked with basics, 2 restaurants within easy walking distance. Lots of walking and biking space right on the SD Bay. Was not disappointed in anything. We booked 6 days and decided to leave day early and they were very accommodating on refund. Definitely upscale. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$75
We stayed here over Labor Day weekend. They had lots of fun family activities. Pizza on Friday night, Chili cook off contest on Saturday night, Candy Bar bingo, hot dogs (free) on Sunday. We had a great time and will return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$75
This is a very nice resort. We had previously stayed at a premium site during the winter months when few, if any, families were here, and loved it. I was concerned about what the summer crowd might be. A very nice facility can be compromised by inconsiderate campers and parks that don't enforce rules. Fortunately, this wasn't an issue during our stay in our area. You still have parents that allow their kids to ride bikes/skateboards, etc., in places where it is posted not to, but these are 'teachable moments' for me with my grandkids. We were only able to secure a site in the more concentrated back-in area, but the physical layout and landscaping minimizes the awareness of neighbors. Once again, we were fortunate enough to have considerate neighbors. Our nightly walks suggested others might not have been. The pool has adult hours for those inclined. Activities are available for the kids. For all generations, horseshoes and a putting green are available. You'll need your own putter & ball. Beautiful walking paths are along the adjacent marina and bay. During the summer, sites closest to the these areas might be a little noisier. The Bayshore Bikeway is very close, also. My 13 year old granddaughter felt the bathrooms were clean, but outdated. My 10 year old grandson felt the gliders were awesome. No playground in the park, but a very nice one is just outside along the walkway. The grandkids found the pool area to be awesome. Within easy walking distance, "The Galley at the Marina", offers discounted breakfasts to guests. Big portions of good food. Nightly specials vary, but the taco plate offered on Tuesday's was delicious. This park would be a '10' with enforcement of the posted rules. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$55
We have reviewed this park before and gave it a higher rating. I hesitate to give it a lower rating but it is warranted when compared to how the park was in previous stays. Kudos to them for trying to be more family friendly (as we have a 12 year old) but it seems like they are too lax on the rules now. Some of the sites look like permanent residents with all of the awnings, screen rooms, towels, refrigerators etc all over the place. There also seemed to be several sites with a LOT of people staying in them. There were people (adults) playing wiffle ball in the streets surrounded by expensive rigs...and a bunch of nervous owners as you can imagine. Kids had sidewalk chalk so thick on the a couple of the streets that you had to rinse your shoes before getting back in your RV. One group near by was outside partying until about 3am on more than one evening. The grounds are still maintained perfectly and the staff is always friendly, but they don't enforce the rules. Maybe it is just summer time, I'm not sure. I will say however, that this stay was not as enjoyable because of so many being inconsiderate. They haven taken what was a beautiful, relaxing park and allowed it to become a cluttered up daycare looking park. My guess is that once school is back in session that it will return to normal but it is a shame they get so lax in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$80
Very clean well maintained. No adverse conditions noted. Great location just off freeway but no noise. I will stay there again. I wish they would allow more than 2 dogs per space as we had to leave two of our small dogs at home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$56
For me this park could not be better, the best park I have stayed at. It has nice grounds, grass, trees, views of the bay, and a marina. It is within walking distance to restaurants, the bay, and the marina. You could almost walk about 1.5 miles to the San Diego trolley. We stayed two nights and would like to have stayed for a month or more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$39
This is one of the nicest RV parks we have stayed in. Grounds are beautiful and clean. Staff works constantly to keep it this way. Staff are friendly and courteous. Our grandkids stayed with us for 2 weeks and were well accepted at the park. There were Easter activities that were great for the kids. Volunteers worked hard to make this a special day for all. Park is dog friendly, and just outside the gate there is a grassy park and walkway right beside San Diego Bay that we used daily. Also there is a playground for the kids and a marina. Park is close to attractions and beaches. Sites are concrete and big enough to hold our 40 ft 5th wheel, truck and a rental van. We were in a pull through site. Shopping is very close by. We are already planning our return trip for next spring. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$33
I would like to give this resort a 10, but in my good judgement, I cannot. First it is a speedway; secondly, the surrounding noise. The Navy flights go over the park at all hours of the day; the manufacturing plant, which used to be Rohr Industries, and the boat building facility all make loud noises, sometimes up to midnight. The Park itself was excellent; the check in staff, the maintenance staff, and all other employees were very courteous. The sites were concrete and level with shrubbery between the sites for privacy. They were fairly close though. WiFi was fast. We stayed here for a month and definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$54
The park is very clean and all the staff is friendly and helpful. Nice amenities, heated pool, spa, trash pick up at your site, great cable channels (espn + espn2, fast and free Wi-Fi connection, afternoon clubhouse socials. Dog area is small and dirt only, we did not use it. The RV park has a public park on the south and west sides with grass and beautiful waterfront walks and a pier. There is a fenced, grassed 2+ acre lot on the north side for off leash. Walk/stumble to 2 restaurants facing the Marina. We stayed on a Bay front site adjacent to the public park which is active. We would stay here again but on an interior site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$47
Very tidy, lots of amenities, but doggie areas, while tidy, are just saturated with urine and waste. So walking pet out in the park is a better option. Internet is very very slow, not even worth using. We just use our iPhones. Sites are very small. But hey, the weather is wonderful! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$63
Nice park, paved roads, concrete sites, well maintained. Sites are about 18' X 50'. RV will fit but if you have multiple slides, you'll have to wedge your vehicle in. Nice 7' hedges around site so even though you are close to your neighbor, you have privacy. Inexpensive laundry. A bit high in price, but will definitely come again. Stayed a week. Power was extra to quoted price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$65
Very nice RV park at marina in Chula Vista. Big rig friendly. Very well maintained with good security. Lots of rules, but those rules make for a nice stay for everybody. Good park for a rally, with meeting rooms. Water side sites abut the Chula Vista marina park. Bay is visible beyond the park. Park can be a bit noisy with people, especially on weekends. RV Park has pet areas, but due to the many pet restrictions, we found it best to walk our dogs outside the RV Park. The marina park is very pet friendly - right outside the gates. Next time we are in the Chula Vista area, we will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
Price is based upon monthly rate. This is one of the best RV Parks in California. The only complaint I have is the sites are tight but that is true of most California RV Parks located in or near major cities. This is a great park to use as a base for the San Diego area and all that it has to offer. Perfect for kids as long as they follow the rules. Very clean with lots of amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$60
I used to rate this park a "10" but in recent years it starting to show it's age. Cracks in the pavement, shrubs between sites are so old and branches are so thick they can scracth a slideout if you get too close. Or tear your shirt if you brush too close. That all said it's a great location with nice water views. BUT VERY EXPENSIVE. They even charge for electric plus trhe daily rates. Also, WiFi is still weak after all these years and very limited TV channels. If it weren't for the location on thewater I'd rate it a 7. Average park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$45
All of the prior reviews are right on the money. A real fine park. But you should be aware that the free Wi-Fi is supplied by TengoInternet and is as slow as anything you will ever find. Slow to log on, disconnects, and slow loading web pages. Management is aware of the problem and is trying to get Tengo to fix the problem. In the meantime, be prepared to be frustrated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$63
We stayed here for 10 nights. It is expensive (in our opinion), but the San Diego area itself is expensive. Very quiet and pristine RV park in a great location. They keep everything clean and manicured. The restrooms and laundry are well stocked. They are close to the trolley line and we used that to ride into downtown San Diego to do sightseeing. Really, the only negative is the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$65
We stayed at this park based on previous reviews and picked a "water view" site which comes at a premium price. What you need to know is all you get is a glimpse of the water as there is a city park between you and the Bay of Coronado. You can pull in forward and get the "view" from your windshield which is nice. Great areas to walk as the park is adjacent to the park as well as the very nice marina. Now what I consider as a big negative: the sites are very tight. With us pulled in and extending the 4 slides there was really no room to park the jeep. I had to really squeeze it in. There was absolutely no room to unfurl chairs , etc. This seemed to be the case for all "big rigs". Ours is 40'. Check carefully with them when you book. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$64
This is a very nice park as other reviews have indicated. Bit pricey, but this is what you can expect in good locations in major metro areas. Only about 15-20 minutes by car to the zoo, harbor, and other major attractions of San Diego. Two restaurants within walking distance. Sites are a bit narrow but are separated by thick, six-foot high hedges which provide good privacy. Interior roads are not real wide but with care can be negotiated by big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$65
Great family park. On major weekends, they have lots of fun family activities. Be sure to get a taco from the taco man! Great staff, clean, well laid out park. Swimming pool has adult hours for a kid-free swim if you want. Close to a park and class 1 bike trails. We rode bikes to Coronado and back while we stayed there. We will return. I'd give it a 10 if the WI-FI was better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$59
This is a very nice campground. Staff is very pleasant and more than happy to help. The park is very well kept and very nice. Plenty of amenities that you would would want and expect, with several nice glider-swings to sit back and relax. Close to the marina and two very nice restaurants right on the water. They have an enclosed dog area, not big, but very nice. You won't be disappointed staying here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$33
Rate is the monthly fee. Although a little pricey for what we are used to, this is an outstanding park. Bathrooms & showers were very clean. The pool was heated to 80 degrees which was great. The fitness room which I used just about everyday was very adequate and clean. The landscaping is beautifully done. The location is great for any day tripping, and grocery shopping is conveniently located. If you like pizza I highly recommend La Bella Pizza on 3rd ave. in downtown Chula Vista. The best I've ever had. Everyone working in the park goes out of there way to be helpful. I would definitely recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
High quality RV Park with many excellent features in a great location. However, its somewhat family unfriendly with many rules gladly administered by one or two front office staff that aren't overly child tolerant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$55
Wow, this place is nice. This is not "camping" per se, but a great place to go to relax. Sites are super, super clean. All paved and perfect. Some great sites back up to the ocean through the fence. You can walk or fish from the pier or the ocean front through locked gates. Neat BBQ areas and big rooms to rent for parties and kids can swarm the pool and grounds without worry. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$75
We’ve been coming to this park for many years after having lived in San Diego and never knowing about it! A few years back we talked my folks into joining us for a week with their MH (after swearing they loved a Mission Bay Park instead). They extended their stay two more weeks and have been returning for the entire summer for the past two years. We just took friends with us who also fell in love with the park. There aren’t many options in San Diego that aren’t overrun with kids and water toys. This park is refreshing. The people are wonderful. The Marina Galley is a great place for a bite. The Trolley is nearby. I could go on and on and on and on. We always look forward to our visits. I call it my “Lucy-Desi” park as it reminds me of the parks in the movie “The Long, Long Trailer”. And…WE ARE NOT OLD…we simply appreciate a great place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$65
This is the second time I've stayed at Chula Vista RV, and both this and my previous stay were outstanding. The staff at CVRV are exceptionally friendly and go out of their way to make sure your visit is perfect. The sites are clean, level and immaculately maintained. Their general store is well-stocked, and the campground overall is fantastic. Yes, you pay a premium to stay at this park but it's worth it - and their rates compare very well to other RV resorts in the San Diego area. I look forward to my next visit! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$72
We arrived late at the campground due to a huge traffic jam on the 405 but nevertheless we were well guided to our site in the dark. Very friendly staff, very clean sites that are separated by well maintained hedges, the pool and restroom facilities are very good and very clean. Many things can be done on foot: walks along the waterfront, restaurant, etc. Activities are organized on site. To be short: we (family with 2 children 19 years and 11 years old) had a very good stay; we would gladly come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$62
This is a very nice, clean, well maintained park. The staff was very helpful and made great recommendations for things to do and places to eat. The park has night security and the front entrance is gate controlled after dark. I only had one problem with the park. The sites are very, very tight. Each site has a hedge row on both sides. My left side slide outs were pushed against the shrubs. I had to do the hookups on my knees. On the right side, maintenance had to trim a tree before I could push the back slide out. After hooking up and having the tree trimmed, all was well. As for the noise, the daytime helicopters traffic is constant. Some nights, there was very little air traffic, and other nights, the air traffic continued after sundown. (Our boys need to practice and I believe the base was there first.) Being ex-military, (Navy, thank you) this did not bother me at all. We stayed here 3 days and I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$65
This is our second time staying at this park. From 2 years ago I already started to notice some negative changes. First, they are not holding steadfast to the rules they had 2 years ago. There are pop ups at every other site. Second, they let the marina guests use our facilities but its not reciprocated. The sites are not necessarily leveled. Now for the positives: cable TV, free wi-fi, 3 dog runs, there is security to make sure things run smoothly, weekend pancakes to help different organizations, live music on weekends. Our air card worked well. The park is within walking distance of 2 restaurants. Plus a nice park to bike ride, stroll, fish of the pier. The office is accommodating as best as they can. Overall, it was a nice month stay. We will definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$75
Great location, sites a bit on the small side, but adequate. The weekend we were here we saw numerous group rallies, so the people were not all that friendly, in that they were with their friends. Not sure if it was our location (toward the back of the park, site 99), but it is tough to sleep much past 6 am, due to the noise from the landscapers and/or the sanitation trucks. Love the setting on the marina. Great Mexican restaurant just down the street on Broadway: Querencia. Wonderful food! We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$60
Very clean and well maintained. One of the nicest resorts we have stayed at. Staff was friendly and helpful. We paid extra for a bay view site. The site overlooked a public park directly behind us with the bay and a small beach. The view is well worth the slight annoyance of parties (others have mentioned as well) in the public park on weekends (Saturday was the only day we heard them). Showers and restroom facilities are excellent, as well as laundry. Highly recommend this Resort, and would stay in the bay view sites again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$64
Gorgeous and clean park. Has nice wide sites and each site has a table. All employees were very friendly and helpful. Dog area near our site was a bit small but they provide a key so one can exit to marina and park outside where it is great to walk the dogs. Good WiFi reception. (Rate includes 1 weekend night and 2 pets.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$50
This is a super good park. Try to get a site that faces the park and the bay. You can put your motorhome in front first and have a have a million dollar view. (May need a long sewer hose or use the neighbors: ask first.) The only down side is that the shrubs line the spots and take up a lot of room. Tough on the slideouts and getting at the basement doors. But the ambience of the park is tough to beat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$55
Beautifully maintained and expensive campground. By the water, but no beach - Marina and rocky coast. Everything is locked for security reasons, because it is surrounded by public park. Some activities, great staff, good restaurant on site with reasonable rates and large portions big enough to share. Utilities and cable worked fine. Sites good size. All back-in sites. Quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$45
Great park! Plenty of room in depth and width for our 40 ft rig with slides on both sides. Quiet, except for occasional navy jets. They perfected growing shrubs and trees next to ocean. Every site has some privacy with landscaping. Very clean with pool, hot tub and these great couch swings. We stayed for 6 nights. You can walk to the beach on west side of Park wall and along the marina to two lovely restaurants with nightly discount specials. We will definitely come again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$65
Our rate was for Ocean/Marina View, which we had and enjoyed very much. This was our first time staying at this resort and it won't be our last. We so enjoyed our stay. It was quiet, but not silent, clean and so pretty with all the plants and well maintained common areas. The office staff was friendly and helpful, as were the grounds and maintenance staff. The location is wonderful to visit all of the beautiful sights of San Diego. A great place to stay and San Diego is a must see location! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$51
We were very happy, this was a good stay. The only complaint is $4.95 a day for internet. The place is very clean and easy to get in and out of with bike trails and close to all the entertainment of San Diego. We will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$40
This rate reflects a monthly charge for "bay/marina view" and the electric charge. First the good stuff. Clean, neat, attractive landscaping, spotless public buildings, pet friendly. Dedicated staff who keep it beautiful. We were here during part of Dec. and part of Jan. Most activities didn't start until January. More high-end class A's than we have seen anywhere. Some families during the Christmas break, but didn't bother us at all. I imagine that the city park between the RV park and the Bay might get noisier in the summertime. Some noise from the military jets and helicopters, but not at night. Convenient to the trolley parking lot: about 1/2 mile away, and the Senior month pass is a great deal. They have 3 "pet stops" in the RV park, but most people went through the locked gates to walk dogs in the city park, a really nice area. Even if you don't have a dog it is a bonus to be so close to it. There are 2 restaurants by the marina that both have good food, and reasonable prices. Now the reason we didn't give them a "10." We made our reservations 8 months in advance and were quoted a rate. When we checked in we were told that the rate for our site had increased by over $100, and their policy said that they can raise rates at any time. We did read it, but our rationale is that when we have made a reservation at a hotel, for a rental car, cruise, or airline, we have never arrived to be told that "your airline seat price went up 2 weeks ago, and you will have to pay the difference." This has never happened at any other RV park where we have stayed, and we think it is a really bad policy. The least they should have done was to email us when they raised our rate and given us the option to cancel, or choose a less expensive site. We would not choose to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$40
This was our first trip with our new travel trailer. The park was very clean and well taken care of. The pool and spa were in good condition. Located right next to the marina and a walking path along the water. Good for short bike rides, the path ends a short way north of the RV park. Overall we really enjoyed this park. The only negative is no camp fires. Not even if you have a portable fire pit. We were told the reason they did not allow campfires was due to the smoke,really??? Who camps and doesn't have campfires??? It was a combination of the really high dollar motorhomes who didn't want smoke going in them and the older people with medical issues. So the kids didn't get to roast marshmallows. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2010
$38
They could use a lot more security at this RV park. First time I ever called security in the hundreds of campgrounds we have stayed at. There was a group of campers that pulled in close to us, they had the most unruly and loud mouthed kids I ever seen. They were screaming and yelling well past midnight, they were tossing a football around and hitting other peoples nice cars and RV`s. I called the security number for the campground but nothing was done. If you like to camp in a school yard this is the place; if you want a quieter park look somewhere else. This is the last time I will stay at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$65
This is one of my favorite RV parks in Southern California, very clean and well maintained. Very friendly staff with great amenities, heated pool, beautiful grounds, nice store, and even a heater in the shower! A few minutes from Old Town, Gas Lamp district and all the attractions in San Diego. We have stayed here on 3 separate occasions and always have a great time. This is as good as it gets for RV parks in my opinion, it is by the bay so the RV sites are not real big which is usually the case at RV parks by the beach. That would be the only thing keeping it from being a 10 rating but a 9.9 ain't bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$60
We stayed for 6 nights and found it very easy to get on/off I-5 which took us everywhere. This is a combo marina and RV park and has a public park and fishing pier behind it. Some traffic, children were always present since we had a bay view overlooking public areas. Staff was very helpful, and there are several permanent tents set up for groups to use in each parking aisle. Mostly type A and few trailers in park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$90
We stayed here over the Labor Day weekend. The park is nice, well kept, clean and fun activities for the kids over the weekend. We stayed in the bay view area where our rig backed up to the bay, park area. This had its good and not so good. Great views of the bay, Coronado Bridge. Not good was the loud, boom box music coming from one of the parties at the park. Fortunately, did not last too long. Our site was very tight, nice high hedge on one side, the other side a dying hedge with no privacy at all. Window to window with our neighbor. For such an expensive park, over $300 for 3-nights, I would have expected to have WiFi at the site. Another nuisance was having to pay $5 for a key to use pool, showers, restroom. However, the $5 was refundable upon return of key. The park is nice, close to all San Diego attractions and probably will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$63
This was our first time here. We chose it because it came highly recommended by my aunt and uncle who have camped here for years. The park is very clean and quiet. It looks as though it was originally an adults only park but are now trying to attract families by having daily 'kid' activities posted on a monthly calender. I guess this would be good if I still had children at home. We reserved our site 6 months in advance so were delighted to be assigned to a fantastic premiere end site with lots of morning shade. The staff is friendly, the store well equipped, the pool and spa clean large and clean, the weight room clean and spacious, and the park is within pretty close driving distance to all San Diego attractions including Mexico, if you so desire. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$65
Highly recommended. We were able to get two nights mid-week with last minute notice. Staff helpful and friendly. Park was a 5 star in our opinion. We had only one very minor complaint which was accessing the Internet Wi-Fi for a small charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$59
We stayed at this resort for 9 days while touring the San Diego area. We were in a standard inside site. The site was a flat, level concrete slab. There was no need to level side to side. The site had water, electric, sewer, a picnic table and numerous free cable TV channels. The sites were all separated by hedges. Every two or three sites had a garbage can in front. The grounds were immaculate and there seemed to be a large force of gentleman gardening, cleaning and picking up garbage all day long. The pool, hot tub, showers, bathrooms and laundry were clean and very well maintained. A weekly schedule of activities was handed out each week. There were generally three or four activities a day. The resort also had some short comings. The place was alive with ants. I had to kill ants in my trailer. To keep the ants out, I had to spray my levelers, around my tires, my electric cord, cable cord, fresh water hose and sewer hose to slow down the ants. All around me, people were spraying or putting out Ajax to try and control the ants. I talked to two people who told me the have been going to Chula Vista RV Resort for years and that there has always been an ant problem. The other problem was the resorts Wi-Fi program. You could go to the store with your computer and receive 30 free minutes of Wi-Fi usage a day. They also sold a 7 day package for $19.99. The Wi-Fi was so slow and erratic; buying the 7 day package was definitely a waste of money. The resort has a nice store and is part of the Chula Vista Marina. There is a nice park with lawns and picnic facilities. Below the park was a nice and beach just past a rocky breakwater. There are two nice and reasonably priced restaurants at the marina. Even with the ant problem and poor Wi-Fi, I would stay at this resort again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$60
Nice Park. It is close to a lot of attractions, as well as the Trolley which can take you to downtown San Diego or to Mexico. Nice, heated pool that is good for kids, although the security staff could be somewhat rigid in their interpretation of the rules around the pool. Closely situated to the Chula Vista Marina which provides a lot of area for walking dogs and such. There is also a beach directly west of the park that provides access to San Diego Bay. All spaces are paved and appeared to be level. Each space has a picnic table provided. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$60
This is a nice RV park, very nice staff, very clean, has almost everything you would want. It is a bit over-priced. There is little grass and very few shade trees. We were told there is a daily fee for WiFi. Sites near the south side of the pool area are noisy 24 hours a day, apparently from the machines that filter the pool water. Sites bordering on the street can be noisy, industrial traffic and a small park on the west side. However, this is the nicest RV park we could find anywhere near San Diego or Los Angeles. Hated the high price but would recommend it to others and will stay here again ourselves. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$60
A nice park, in a good location. Staff was very friendly and willing to help. Was easy to catch the trolley (train) down to the US Boarder and back: 30 Minutes. Restrooms were relatively clean. Internet was great once paid for. At least it worked once you paid for it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$60
Very nice campground, decent sized sites, nice location next to marina with two decent and reasonable restaurants. Park is well-kept with full amenities. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$33
This is a beautiful park with great water views. Quick access to freeways to quickly get around San Diego. We've stayed here for a month, for many years. And I still have the same two complaints. 1. The TV selection is terrible! It's only a few channels and is Satellite, so often the channel's sounds are just static or the picture is fuzzy. 2. The WiFi signal throughout the park is inconsistent. That is, the signal get's stronger and weaker, and is not very fast. It's fast enough to get web pages (slowly) and email, but not fast enough for videos online. Like videos my daughter sent of our grandkids. Or videos in websites. One would think that the prices charged here, they could provide "real" cable TV and a fast WiFi system. If they had these I would grade them a 9 or 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$50
The campground is very nice. Well maintained, and has beach access. We were dissapointed with the amenities that were within walking distance: there was nothing close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$49
This is our third year at this park and we have already scheduled a return for next year. We find the staff friendly and helpful and the park is maintained beautifully. We have been here two different years during spring break, and there is considerable effort to provide activities for children. There are adult swim hours at the pool each day from 9-10 AM, 3-4 PM and again from 9-10 PM which seemed to suit most people. The pool is available to adults and children the rest of the time. I am an avid swimmer and found the hours reasonable. The sites are small but privacy is afforded with the extensive hedges and plantings. We do not travel with pets so we are delighted with the strict rules applied to pet owners. There are well maintained and fenced areas for pets and it seems not unreasonable to expect owners to take their pets to these areas as opposed to using the landscaping for dog doo. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$52
What a fantastic park! Perfectly located with nice public park. We had a view of the marina. Great restaurants! Both are dog friendly. Close to San Diego yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle. Very quiet. Resort was full for Thanksgiving weekend. Make reservations early to get best spot with a view. A bit strict on where the dogs can "go" but it was nice not seeing their "business" lying around. Resort kept the all dirt dog areas clean. Make sure to get a key. You can use it to access the public park. Very beautiful! We will for sure stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$83
Definitely won't be coming back to this place. Office personnel were very unprofessional and rude. We were very disappointed with this RV park. The bayview and marina view is a joke as there's a public park and a street in between: which is very noisy and crowded. Don't waste your time and money at this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$80
A surprise on San Diego Bay! We just made our first stay at Chula Vista RV Resort and were very pleasantly surprised. The park is adjacent to San Diego Bay, separated by a public park that is well-kept, well-patrolled, with lots of benches, tables, etc. The public park gates close at 10:30 PM so there is no activity after that. The resort sites are pretty standard fare. Concrete pads with a picnic table. Hedges/shrubs separate the sites. However, the park is spotless and well-kept. Quiet. Walking distance to two restaurants at the marina. Nice pool. The reservation process worked smoothly and check in and checkout was handled very efficiently. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$80
We were very impressed with this campground. The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere was beautiful. We ate at the Grill and Grog right next to the campground and listened to live music. This resort is close to the Silver Strand beach for surfing. It's top notch all the way around. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$54
It is a nice place with lots of higher end RVs there. There are enough families to be fun with the kids. Many open space tables to dine at, many of these are really cool "glider tables" Close to bay waterfront and on the marina. The public park surrounds this park with play structures for the kids. There are too many parties taking place in these areas surrounding the RV Park though. About 15 mins from Knott's Soak City if you want to take the kids to a water park or attend a concert as Cricket Amphitheater. Our space was really small. It was an exterior site backing up to the main entry road - not enough traffic on this road to be a concern. We will return again as it was a pretty good place with nice amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$70
We stayed here for a week in July and we had a very small site. Much like a parking lot with a row of hedge in between campers. The "beach view" sites actually look onto a public parking area. Although one staff member was friendly, we were rudely treated by others. TOO many rules: no bikes on sidewalks, no dogs on grass, key to get out of the campground and into the bathrooms, adult only swim times. I would look into another campground for another visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$65
What an incredible campground!!! First the views, second the location, third the staff, fourth convenience. This is what other campgrounds should model themselves after. The cable TV works great. We have an aircard so we didn't need Wi-Fii but I heard it's $5.00 a day. A little steep if you ask me. The laundry room was quite nice and they kept it respectively clean. The gym did its job. There are two restaurants within walking distance and they are good especially when you don't want to cook. The sites are leveled and border line to close but with the bushes in between you feel a little privacy. We originally booked for a month and extended it for another week. At the office there is a free book called 101 things to do in San Diego, definitely worth a look if you are not sure how to spend your time in this lovely area. Definitely bring your bike as you will want to ride. Restaurants to visit Prado in Balboa Park, Arrivederci in Hillcrest, Buon Appetito in Little Italy. We will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$56
Great campground with friendly management and campers. Pool area, office area, rest rooms and showers are very clean and well maintained. Many great walks around the marina and waterfront. There are two restaurants in the marina that are in walking distance to the RV area, and we ate at both of them. Food was very acceptable, and view was spectacular, looking out over the marina. Enough room for slides on each side of motorhome, but it was tight. It is about 15-20 minutes to San Diego depending on time of day and where you are going. We visited the USS Midway and it is well worth the visit. Allow at least 4-6 hours for the visit. We shall definitely return to this RV park, probably sooner than later. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$55
This was a fantastic campground. Clean, well kept, next to the marina,pacific ocean, and beautiful park with pier. Two restaurants in walking distance. Well kept grounds,cement pads, shade and wonderful temperatures. Friendly, and helpful. We could live there. Fantastic city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$50
This resort is one of, if not the best I have seen. We stayed 7 days and received discounts for AARP and Camping Magazine. The restrooms were immaculately clean as were the pool and spa areas. We did not use the gym but there was one available if we chose to use it. There were very clean pet relief areas, nicely manicured lawn and garden areas and several access areas to the marina and park areas. Guests receive a key that allows entry to the park, marina and resort facilities. We used both of the restaurants affiliated with the resort and found the food delicious and reasonably priced. The store had many basic items available and full shopping is available close by. The staff members at the resort were very friendly, courteous and really went out of their way to be helpful. We had a waterfront view backing up to the city park and enjoyed watching the children and families play and just enjoy the waterfront as much as we did. The park closes at a reasonable hour and the night time hours are peaceful and quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$58
Great Park for families! The only complaint was the noise in the city park adjacent to our site. There were several people in the park until late playing music loud one of the evenings and another group yelling and swearing the other evening. The city park does shut down at 10:30 so the noise won't keep you awake. The bay view sites are nice, however the entire park was very well kept. The sites are a bit narrow but not difficult to back into. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$46
Classy rv park abutting San Diego Bay. Surrounded by a large lovely marina, city park along the shoreline and nice restaurants within walking distance. Nice landscaping, somewhat nazi-like rules & warnings! Very tight spaces along the park bay view, but each are secluded with lovely hedges and shrubs. Almost have no room to park a car with a big rig. Set back far enough away from all the 24/7 southern Cal traffic noise. Pricey, used a coupon from an RV magazine to get the rate somewhat lower. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$58
Beautiful Park. But TV is very limited and some channels are not clear. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$52
This is the park I compare all other parks with. The staff is helpful, pleasant and go out of their way to accommodate special requests. The sites are usually cleaned shortly after a guest departs. The cleaning usually includes ridding the site of oil stains on the concrete, cleaning the shrub areas and washing all surfaces. The sites are a little narrow for the big rigs but the well manicured shrubs and hedges provide a pleasant buffer between units. The area is quiet so that even perimeter sites are very comfortable. Of course, the bay sites are premier and worth the money. The pool is perfectly maintained daily (I bring my own test kit to check the pools) with ample time set aside for adult only swimming. The spa is for over 18 and the rules seem to be applied fairly. There are park sponsored activities, a rec room, a well maintained laundry, fenced pet areas with comfortable seating for the pet owner and locked entrance gates for safety. My only wish would be to have the sites just a little wider but no one could have anticipated the size of the units when these park was planned. This is our second visit to this park and we plan to return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$50
High end resort with lots of vegetation: shrubs on both sides of our lot. Located right next to the marina on San Diego Bay. Although they advertise big rigs, the lots are not very long or wide. Had to park the pickup at another location as there was no room on our lot. Also, the roads are quite narrow so it was quite a challenge to back in with a 38' 5er. Price is steep and the Wi-Fi is an extra cost. Bah Humbug! If we are ever in San Diego again, we would look for another resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$55
We camped here on a beautiful, sunny January weekend with our two young children. The campground is surrounded by the San Diego Bay, complete with a marina and a small park. Although a fence separates you from these attractions, it also provides security since the park can get very busy on weekend afternoons. The campground itself is very clean, has a small store, a nice hall for group events, an exercise room, a fabulous outdoor BBQ with a view of the marina with wonderful rocking seats. There is a spa (18 or older) and a heated pool (with adult hours at three different times throughout the day). The sites are cement and are divided by bushes, but they are somewhat narrow - we have a slide, so basically the width extended from our slide to just past our awning. The sites along the perimeter have a nice view of the marina or park, which was a bonus. There is a path where you can walk or ride your bike along the bay to the Coronado Pier. This campground seemed more geared toward couples, but there were a few kids riding bikes and swimming in the pool. There were mostly high-end rigs and lots of rules (many signs posted around), yet it didn't feel too stuffy. They had a few activities throughout the weekend, including Karaoke on Friday night (with $1 pizza, beer and wine). The place was very quiet at night, so it may not be the best place for evenings by the fire with several friends (only duraflame logs in a covered fire pit allowed). It is also close to major attractions (Old Town, Balboa Park, San Diego Zoo), which was a bonus. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 was because it lacked grass and trees in the campsites, which I really love. I feel it is worth the price and would definitely go again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$60
Nice location, nice views of the water and marina are close, as well as two great restaurants. First time to SD so I cant compare to other places, but if are wondering where to stay, you probably cant wrong with this place. Only downside is spaces are tight, but there are shrubs between each spot which gives you a sense of privacy We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$59
I stayed here for one week with my family. The facility was very well looked after, including the pool which was heated and had ample seating. The resort had nicely kept sites with privacy hedges between, could have been slightly wider though. The grounds staff were very friendly and seemed happy. The only reason I didn't give it a ten was the slow Wi-Fi at times, and the "feeling" that there was too many rules to follow. Over-all I found this to be one of the best R.V Resorts I have stayed at in terms of location service and ambience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$35
I camped here with an RV club, hence the discounted rate. I absolutely loved this place. The RV park was very clean. The bathrooms were clean and secured with a key lock. Although there are signs all over not to walk the dogs on the grass area, this was not a problem as there are 3 well maintained dog runs and we were given a key that gave us access to the ocean front park and marina, a good dog walking area. The club houses were used by other groups so Management set us up with a cabana on a site in the middle of our group, complete with tables, chairs and lighting, which was very nice. Check-in was fast. Pool area and grounds were all clean. It is very quiet. This is centrally located to many sites in San Diego. There is a train/tram approximately 1 mile from the RV park that cost $5.00 per day and hits many popular tourist sites. I would definitely go back. The walk on the outside of the park is gorgeous with water and marina views and lots of water fowl. Security is also good at this park. There are two very nice restaurants to walk to from the park. You can't beat this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$60
This is a very nice park, but I am not sure it is quite worth the $60 per night. The location is very pleasant; on the bay/marina, walking distance to two very nice restaurants. However, the sites are tight and you can only get 9 channels on their cable (whereas most parks get 30 to 60). Also, there are terse signs everywhere about "don't do this and don't do that". At this price we will go back when we hear they have better cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$59
We have camped here many times over the years and were disappointed with our stay this time. The office staff was not very competent and it took almost 25 minutes to check in and check out. Amazing since we were the only ones checking in at that time and we had a reservation with a credit card on file. The park was not nearly as clean as usual. We travel with a small dog and after paying a daily pet fee expected the dog areas to at least be clean. They weren't! In order to walk your dog you must go outside the park and walk in the public park - not so safe at night when walking alone. It is disappointing to see what was once a great park fall so far down on the scale yet continue to raise their rates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$55
We visit this park several times a year. Always totally happy. Great location right on the bay. Always great weather. We stayed a week over July 4th and had a great time. Super clean private sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$59
This is a very well run RV park. Like other people have noticed - there are a lot of signs. Do we really need to be told to flush the toilet?? The bathrooms were spotless, but the showers had poor water pressure.The location was great - we had a bay side site, and most of the time we had a lovely cool breeze. The down side of the bay view sites are that they do not back onto the bay - they back onto a park, that backs onto a bay. I do not mind the kids playing, but I did mind the constant ice cream trucks. On a Sunday afternoon there were 4 trucks - all quite loud. Often you could hear two or more. The park closes at 10:30 pm, but after dark there were loud kids playing stereos and just being rowdy. For people with really big rigs - we were dwarfed by two 45' rigs. I would definitely stay here again, but not go for a bay view site. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$70
We really enjoyed our stay at this park. It's close to everything in the San Diego area. A family-oriented park that is very clean and tidy and quiet. The sites are very small and somewhat close to each other but it was certainly OK. Our site was with a view of San Diego Bay and very lovely. The Wi-Fi didn't work and they charged us extra for pets but other than that, no complaints. It's easy to catch the trolley to go into San Diego. We would definitely stay here again when we visit San Diego. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
We've been vacationing here for the past 10 years. Usually a week or two at Christmas and maybe a week in the summer. It continues to be one of the great parks and value regardless of location. Plenty of amenities if you choose to use them or you can just do your own thing in a clean, quiet environment. The park is always clean and well maintained. Only two minor complaints. 1. A park of this level should not be charging for wifi. 2. Customer service has degraded a bit recently as new and younger staff members are added. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$65
This is one of the best campground I have been to. Very family friendly with organized activities and games. The saltwater pool was wonderful. The facilities are extremely clean and well maintained. The beach is within a short walking distance. The campsites are a little narrow, but I would stay over and over again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$64
I love this park. It is clean and relaxing with the Ocean and beautiful Marina just steps away and restaurants also steps away if you are interested. It is secure and pleasantly appointed. We will continue to come here every chance we get. HOWEVER!! BE WARNED they have embarked on some rather extensive and noisy repairs. We were not informed of this when we made reservations and when we checked in and noticed that some concrete pads had been broken up. Next thing we hear machinery lifting the chunks of concrete and dumping them loudly in a truck with back up beeping and all. OK. We weren't pleased, but then the next morning, we awoke to the sound of a jackhammer breaking up the site right next to us! Not a hand held jackhammer, but a large industrial one that you actually drive. Also, the pool was closed for repairs. What really disappointed me was that one one told us of this when we made reservations. (They claimed later they didn't have enough notice.) Even if that was true, they also did not tell us this when we checked in. Some friends of ours made reservations to come down to stay with us a couple of days. They were also not told of the work being done and when they tried to cancel their reservations after talking to us, were told there would be a cancellation fee of $25. When they told the office that they were aware of jackhammering going on around the park, suddenly, they didn't have to pay the fee. I feel this was handled really unprofessionally and almost even unethically. There are several coaches here, and that is great if they are not bothered by the noise and dust. But one should be informed about anything as drastic as jackhammering and concrete loading so we can decide if we want to be around that or not. We didn't get any discounted price because the pool wouldn't be available or because of the the noise. I hear several people complained, left and were asking for a credit (don't know for sure if it was granted). I also hear that a building next door to the park is going to be demolished soon. So. Just fair warning, if this kind of thing may bother you, ask if this work is still going on so you can decide if you want to come or not. Don't get me wrong, this is a beautiful park and usually a wonderful place to relax. Just not now with all the jackhammering going on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$55
Beautiful Park, we stay here every year for a month ($890) and have a beautiful view out the rear of our 5th wheel. However, the park has a couple of issues. The cable TV is satellite feed through cable to each site. Some of the main channels like ABC and NBC are terrible, static sound and fuzzy picture. And only a few channels are available. The other is, they charge monthly customers for electricity, which gets expensive fast. I suggest you monitor your electric use and use propane to heat and heat hot water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$55
Nice campground, just as advertised. Very clean, good location, average size sites. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$59
This is a great resort. Would rate it a 10, but the Wi-Fi is purchased separately and is pricey. Sites have plenty of room, even the back ins. Should you choose a bay view, be aware there is a parking area, park and playground between the fence and the water, lots of noise on the weekends. Nicely landscaped and staff is friendly and helpful. Clean laundry room, great pool and wide streets. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$3
Nice park, well run. Located on the bay, so lovely walks. Also close to the red trolley and there's easy access to downtown San Diego. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$59
Pros: Quiet, nice location, nice facilities, friendly staff. Cons: Horrible pet areas, no option for fire pits, cable has static on a few of the 20 channels. I stayed in a premium spot that costs a little extra but I feel it was worth the extra money. It provided a little extra room on the side of the RV. I wanted to mark the score down to 8 because the pet areas were so bad but because not everyone would be affected by it, I decided to give it a 9. The sand used stinks from what might be years of pet use. All they would need to do is freshen up the area by laying new sand down. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$60
Great park for exploring San Diego and vicinity. Lots to do there. Park is adjacent to a city park that is on the bay on one side and a beautiful marina full of boats of all types on another. Restaurants at the marina are great and very close. The bay front park is beautiful. Lots of activities for campers and the store is one of the best I've seen. Internet was fee based but most parks are moving to free Wi-Fi so that may get better. Pull through sites are spacious and back-in sites are adequate. Rigs are parked a little close when full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$49
Beautiful setting. RV Resort along side a Marina and a waterfront park. Spaces are not large but are separated by shrubs that give a feeling of privacy. Spotlessly clean all level pads. My only complaint is the exce$$ive cost of the WiFi. At their prices they could throw in some perks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$79
As other reviews have stated, this is a very clean RV resort with nice amenities. The resort is spotlessly clean, very quiet and conveniently located near I-5. The only down side is the overwhelming number of signs with messages such as "No Dogs on Grass", "No Climbing in Trees", "No Jumping in Pool", "No Bicycles on Sidewalk", etc. I understand that these rules are in place, and appreciate that fact very much. However, most resorts put those rules/regulations in paperwork they hand you upon check in - they don't post signs all over the park. My daughter jokingly said "No smiling, no laughing, no eye contact". So glad we left our dog at home! Overall, a good experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$38
There are only a few things that keep me from giving this park a 10. One, the sites could be slightly larger. They do have landscaping between each site, so you have the illusion of privacy. Two, their cable TV only has about 10 channels. However, the park is satellite friendly. Only a few sites are blocked by trees. Finally, they do have WIFI, but it is a paid service, not free. Aside from those, this is a great park. The attached marina has two restaurants. Roads are paved, pool area was nice, although we did not use it as it was too cool when we were here. Unlike some of the earlier reviews, we found the staff helpful and friendly. We were here as part of a tour group, so we did not select the park and did receive a discounted rate, but we would return here on our own. The park is also convenient to I-5 and the greater San Diego area. The groundscrew is constantly working to keep the park clean and well landscaped. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$63
A very nice park in the southern section of San Diego. Easy access to and from the highway. Nice location next to Chula Vista Marina and a city park. I don't care for daily charges for WiFi (particularly with the high daily camping fee), or I'd probably have given this park a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$65
This is indeed a beautiful resort that is convenient to good food and nice views of the bay. It is interesting, however, that my experience with the staff was similar to the previous review. We found them to be at best, uninterested and at worst, rude. We have put 3000 miles behind us on this trip and have 3000 to go and we have experienced nothing like the cold shoulder we received here. We stayed a week so there were plenty of chances to observe a different attitude. It is too bad, they could have a really good thing going! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$52
This is a fabulous location, but poorly executed. The first thing you notice upon arrival are the "no" signs: no dogs on the grass, no climbing trees, no left turn if rig is over 27 feet, not a path, etc. The second thing is, in the office, no one welcomes you. On our fifth day there, after daily trips to the office, we were warmly greeted by a lady who worked in the gift shop. I thanked her, and told her how I appreciated her kindness, and told her she was the first to be so nice: she was surprised. The third thing I noticed is that these are the smallest (short) RV spaces I have ever attempted to park in. There was no room for my toad; either in front (I was given a back-in), nor on the side. Since I had made a reservation several months in advance, and informed the reservation (office) person of the size of my rig (45'+H2), and since she told me at the time that I had my choice of any kind of site, and since I ended up in a small site; my only thought is, someone else came in, who was staying longer, and got a pull-through. I did not complain, I just parked my H2 in the visitor parking, and walked back and forth. This is an RV park with almost a cult following. People come for months, and year after year. It is a very nice setting, and not terribly expensive. The other parks in the area (believe me, we drove around to look for next time) are not as nice, or more crowded, or narrower roads, or less convenient. Next time I will try again, but insist on a pull through. The review I write then, hopefully, will have more praise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$55
This was one of the nicest RV parks I have been to. The staff was nice and friendly. The grounds were well kept. The bathrooms were spotless. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$65
The park is fabulous but the staff could use some customer service training. We loved the pool and spa, the walks in the adjoining park and around the marina. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$50
This park is by far the nicest RV park we have been to. The sites are level and our site had a wonderful view of the bay. Our children enjoyed the heated pool. We will definitely return as soon as we can. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$53
We did not have reservations and the 4th of July was coming up. We first got in for a week, but knew we would have to change sites, which was okay. We put our name on a list for cancellations and were fortunate to get another week to stay through July 5th (this did cost us $72 including tax, holiday and a pull through site) a night. But the park was great. Maintenance did a great job keeping the duck stuff under control. The park behind was really extra wonderful and the fireworks were the best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$44
Nice clean campground, easy access, not far from attractions in SD and not far from the border. Enjoyed our stay here in June We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$55
We stayed in one of the pull through sites and were quite pleased. The hedges between sites give a sense of privacy and are wide enough to handle our double slides with room to spare. We were unable to pull our toad on this trip, so in need of a rental car, we were given the phone number of a local Avis franchise. I called on a Tuesday morning and a car was delivered to my site but 11:30 am. What great service!! On Friday, when we were finished with the car, all we had to do was leave it at the RV Resorts front office and give them the key. My main disappointment was the $4.95 charge for daily WiFi, so I refused to use it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$45
This place was beautiful!! Upon arrival we noticed several workers "washing" the interior roads of the campground so we knew right away what type of park this would be. We were glad we were in a motor home because the entire park seemed to be 90% expensive units. The grounds themselves were immaculate and there was always workers everywhere picking up trash, doing maintenance and grounds keeping,etc. The sites were nice-all concrete, a picnic table, and large hedges in between each site on both sides to provide some privacy. The pet areas were fenced in and all sand which both my boys loved and they were in convenient places throughout the park. Maybe this is why they charge several dollars a day per dog!! The clubhouse/pool area and store were so nice that it reminded me of a country club not a campground. There were several nice areas which had grass, grills, and patio swings. Of course the restrooms were nice! The campground is right on the marina and has a very large park at it. There was a nice walking trail along the bay at the park and it has picnic tables, volleyball courts, and a playground. It was one of the nicest public parks I have ever seen. We walked our dogs there every day because there were always several dogs there for them to meet. The campground has cable but the reception was terrible and there was only a couple channels. The one issue we had with this campground was that when we arrived and were assigned a site, I looked at the map and asked about another site. I was told it was not available. We had to move to another site because we decided to stay a couple of days extra. We inquired about several sites and were told they were not available because there were rallies coming in. The entire time we were there none of these sites or the first one we inquired about ended up having anyone in them. I was not too happy about this fact since it seemed like there were certain spots they were told to "sell" and the nicer spots were available the whole time. The nicest/most popular spots are definitely the sites right along the marina. I would have given it a ten had they been a little more cooperative with the site choices but since a big part of enjoying a campground is having a good site, to me it wasn't the perfect place although it was one of the best campgrounds we have ever been to!!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
Overall, a nice park with well maintained facilities. I was here two months. In March there were a lot of planned activities - April nothing. Sits right on the Bay next to CV Marina. Close to two nice restaurants. I would rate it higher except for the following. Most of the sites are back-in and very tight. TV service is very poor. If you have sat dish, you will need it. WiFi is expensive ($40/mo) and poor connection in some spots. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$65
We found the resort very attractive with well maintained landscaping. Nice restaurants nearby and the playground at the marina park was adequate and close enough to compensate for the lack of playground in the resort. My seven-year-old loved the pool and I found the resort staff cordial. We plan on being repeat customers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$55
Park is very clean and well maintained. Trash cans were emptied several times a day and staff was always driving around to make sure all was in order. Key deposit required for access to gated facilities and the entrance to Bayview park. Lovely view from the park of San Diego bay and the Coronado Bridge. That is where we walked our dog as she was not really fond of the enclosed, sandy pet stops! They have planned activities, although the Wed night happy hour was cancelled while we were there. Concrete pad was mostly level, although it did rain very heavily during our stay and site had alot of pooled water. Site has a redwood picnic table. While close to 1-5, we were not bothered by highway noise. We could hear lots of helicopter traffic from the military base, but it did not go on all night so was not terribly bothersome. Staff is very helpful, and we really tested their helpfulness as our sewer hose broke while dumping. I'll spare you the remaining details. Maintenance was quickly on the scene and left us their extra long garden hose to clean up our affected items. They told us to just let them know when the spot was vacant and they would do the "dirty work." We were mortified, but they were very patient and understanding. Wish I could say the same for our neighbors. Most of whom just walked by and glared. Had we not caused the scene we did, I would certainly return, especially with the buy two nights get third one free promotion. (Coupon in Trailer Life for Sunday through Thursday stays.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2007
$47
I would have given this park a much higher rating then a 6 if it were not for these two complaints. Number 1. A family of 3 adults and 3 kids were watching the NASCAR races on their TV which they set up on the patio outside. The TV volume was up full blast and they were all yelling and screaming over the race. I complained about the noise to the security guard who said he would take care of it - but he didn't. Number 2. The pool had way too much chemicals in it and burned our eyes so that we couldn't use the pool. Other than these problems the park is first class. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2007
$92
Expensive. But exquisite. Beautiful views. Right next to a huge marina which shares the showers, laundry room, and weight/training room. Wide campsites and most are pull through. Has it's own store and community room. Just outside the fence is a public park with lots of boats and kayaks for sight seeing. There's even a pier to fish from and a little shopping mall with a couple of restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$49
Very fine resort just off San Diego Bay. Good sized pads with good spacing between lots. Level sites with modern hook-ups. Clean, friendly, great landscaping, good camp store, nice staff. The resort is a little south of all the San Diego attractions but the proximity to the bay makes up for the extra driving distances. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$65
Very well maintained park. Fairly family friendly, no playground but they do have a nice swimming pool and the beach is within walking distance. Not one of the best areas surrounding the campground but the park is guarded/gated so you do feel pretty safe. Although nice atmosphere and well maintained, I feel this is more of an adult oriented resort and there are better places out there for the money and geared towards people with children. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$62
THIS WAS THE BEST RV RESORT I have ever been to! Everything about this place far exceeded my expectations. A real class act in more ways than one. We were the only tent trailer in the park and at first, I was bit reluctant to stay here with all the big motorhomes. However after the first day our neighbors (all around) welcomed us as if we were part of the motorhome group also. This was something I (and my son) will not forget: the fantastic people we have met in our travels. This, I am proud to say is something extra that this campground has to offer [my first "10"]. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$52
Agree with others. Excellent in all regards. Will surely go back when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$50
We had a prime bayfront site, separated by a wrought-iron high fence overlooking a small family-oriented park that on the weekends has lots of families that leave their mess behind. Close proximity to neighbors on cement slab. Immaculte grounds. Nice pool/spa. Local company will wash your RV on site, which was a plus for us! Easy biking distance to several nice restaurants at the marina. Enterprise will pick you up at site for car rental. Ten minutes to San Diego Zoo. Campland on the Bay was visited and Chula Vista much better for quiet relaxation. Close to border. Fabulous Coronado Island easy distance. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$65
One of the better sites we stayed at. It's clean, secure and located in a great area for walks. The park is close to San Diego if you want to catch a Padres game. Or, within a few miles of the border if you want to visit Mexico We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$60
Beautiful park. Friendly staff. Loved it would and have been there several times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$35
Situated south of San Diego about 7 miles north of Mexico. Very clean park. Spaces are a little narrow for modern rigs but divided very well with follage. Very friendly staff. Wi-Fi expensive but they do have free landline hookup. The cable is the "pits". They should be able to aquire better cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$35
Monthly winter rate of $790 for Coronado Bay View sites. Even though we're only staying 3 weeks ($35/night) the monthly rate is cheaper. weekly rates are hardly any better than daily. Beautiful park, heavy shrubbery between sites, concrete level pads, Bay view sites, just spectacular! We loved it here. WiFi $40/month. TV has limited channels but gets CNN ESPN and others in addition to local ABC, NBC, CBS & FOX. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$45
This is a fabulous resort. Note I said resort and not a campground. The sites are always cleaned, the resort has excellent security and the neighbors are extremely friendly. We made some great friends while there. This resort is close to many attractions not to mention a very short hop to the beaches. My only complaint is that the sites are not very wide though we had room for our quad slide 40 ft coach. I would have rated this resort a perfect 10 if it wasn't for the site width. Warning, don't pull into this resort and expect a site to be available. Call ahead and make reservations as it is a popular spot for RV'ers. We loved this place and will be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$53
Very centrally located park in the San Diego area. Would rate a 10 except it's darned tight to get into for a 40 or 45' rig. It's doable with a shoe horn. Very nice management, lots of activities, ocean is 100 feet away. I suspect reservations could be a requirement at this park during a large portion of the year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$62
Very nice park. Sites are clean, roomy enough, and easy to get into. The park itself is clean, quiet and very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. We loved the pet stops (a nice fenced in area just for Fiddo) and so did our little Daisy. There is a great bike riding or walking path just outside the park that our kids loved. We have stayed at few other parks in the San Diego area but will make this our official San Diego park from here on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2005
$42
This is an exceptional RV resort. It is spotless. It is beautiful. We sat by the pool while there was live music in the courtyard area. The kids spent days in the pool. It is just next to a lovely park on the bay, and the evening views of the yachts in the harbor. It is a very relaxing place. We thoroughly enjoyed it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2005
$40
Great RV resort. Sites are concrete, all paved roads, lots of shrubs and trees between sites although they are a bit close. Great facilities, adjacent to wonderful parks and marina. Many activities. Good security. Make reservations. Bike trails, walking trails along parks, no city noise, 8 miles from downtown San Diego. $5/day wifi. You won't be sorry if you stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$48
RV Park adjoins park on San Diego Bay. Bayfront sites have great views of bay. Wifi, pool, spa, gliders all plusses. However, park is not friendly towards kids. OK for really young kids, who are happy going to play on slides next door. But there are no skateboards, scooters, bikes, or pool toys allowed. There are 3 hours of "adults only" pool time, where most resorts reserve only 1 hour if any. Great location, close to zoo, downtown. Would have given it a 10, but felt the park was less than kid-friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$40
Very well run park. The wi-fi internet works well and costs $6 a day. Works with laptop or desktop with USB and RJ45 Network connection. Near nice Marina and two nice restaurants. Small but convenient store with most necessary items and clothing line. All tourist information available and ATM in office area. Large "club" room. Best feature is, it is adjacent to Bayside Park right in the Bay. No Beach access though. Truly lovely park. Wonderful "large" glider type swings all over the place. Our granddaughter (3) was delighted. Close to everything interesting in San Diego. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$45
We've camped there since 1985. It is on the south end of San Diego bay and is owned by the city of Chula Vista. Their rates are high, but it is well worth it (see website). The grounds are immaculate, with concrete pads for the RV's. Sites are small but separated by hedges. This is a very kid friendly park. There is a beautiful city park just outside the gate guarded RV park. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com