224124 User submitted reviews online!!
Anvil Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 87 user reviews. Phone: (757) 565-2300
CGID3101

Anvil Campground

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$84



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   8   5   9   9   8   8   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2014
$84
I have two positive things to say about this RV park: close to Busch Gardens and friendly staff. I have some other not so positive things to say. Freight trains that run all night long. The rail was located about 60 feet from our campsite. And we were the luckier ones. If tent camping, you're about 20 feet away. Those who sleep soundly may have no issues, but I wore earplugs and could still hear the train every single time it came by which was 6 times from 10pm until 8am Friday and Saturday night. We paid for a premium lot and we were given a lot right next to the dump station and their very small and crowded 'standard' sized lots. Which may or may have not contributed to point number 3. There is quiet time after 10pm, which I was not aware of. There were some "complaints" about my friends and husband sitting by the campfire at 10:30pm enjoying quiet conversation. The thing that surprises me is that quiet conversation could annoy other campers yet, but the all night freight train was okay with them? One side was bordered by a freight train, the other was bordered by a well traveled street. There is no gate that closes after hours, so anyone from the street can enter the park. Which isn't great.. After the experience we had at this park, I wanted to let others know. If you want to enjoy the great outdoors and true camping experience, this may not be the park for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$27
Very friendly and helpful staff. The campground was full, so they allowed us to stay in their "overflow" which was in the street of the campground with electric hookups from the nearby site. A nice, clean campground except it is about 20 feet from the railroad tracks and very close to the highway. I recommend this campground only if you are a heavy sleeper. We paid $22.50 for the Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2014
$32
The rate posted includes the Passport America discount for a "premium" campsite. Yes, this is the best place to stay in the area for the tourist sites. However the sites are hard to get into with a big rig if the office directs you the wrong way, via a campground map. Power, sewer, water, and cable were all acceptable. If you go to the Anvil Campground website, be advised the "Ratings" given are self generated and I'm sure sorted for the best ones. No way would we rate this campground anywhere close to a "10" as shown on "their" website. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2014
$27
The rate stated is for Passport America. This is a great park convenient to Historic Colonial Williamsburg. The shuttle service is the area transit bus, which we used for the four days we were here. The sites are not large but were sufficient. The WIFI worked great. Manager was super at check-in and always friendly. We needed to leave a night early due to a family emergency and he issued a refund for that night with no problem. Like others have said, there are train tracks very close to camping but they never woke us at night so it was not an issue. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
This was a great experience. The facilities are very clean and most sites have tree coverage. The kids had a great time in the pool and around the camp. The staff and campers were very friendly. The camp is very close to all of the sites in the area. There are train track next to the park but that was not really an issue. Loved it an would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
This was our second visit to Anvil, and we loved it as much as the first time. The sites are close, but adequate. There is a nice tree canopy over most of the campgrounds, and the staff is the friendliest you will ever meet. Everything is clean and well cared for. The pool is small, but so is the campground, so it is never too crowded, and we all have a great time meeting new friends here. It is located close to everything going on in the area, so there is noise from the major roadways. There is also a freight train that runs right along the campground a few times a day. This doesn't bother us, and will not deter us from returning again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$26
The rate cited is the Passport America rate. The location of this campground is wonderful. It is only a couple of miles from downtown, historic Williamsburg. The check-in was very friendly and fast. We had a nice, wide, level site and the Internet reception was amazingly fast. However, if you don't like to listen to trains, this may not be for you. After about 3-4 hours of hearing them, we didn't even pay attention to them. Great campground and will use it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Overall a very nice park. Gravel site was level and utilities were close. Restrooms/showers were "dated" but on good repair and clean. Office staff was helpful. All shopping and restaurants were just a short drive. Convenient to all the historic sites. The only negative is the trains, frequent, noisy, and will shake your rig a bit. Rate is Passport. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$22
Nice size, level sites. Wi-Fi worked for streaming movies, and we were in the site farthest from the office (in the corner against the road). The trains run all hours, but they slow down at night and we were not awaken by them. Kinda nice hearing it go by every now and then during the day. You can wave at the Engineer as they go by. Tent sites are literally spittin' distance from the trains. Clean grounds, easy layout, and helpful staff that are eager to please. I took a quick look at the bathrooms, and they looked clean. We didn't try their showers. The "upgraded landscaping" sites probably offer a little more space, but you won't get Roses and Orchids, if you know what I mean. Four nights Dec. 28th - Jan 1, 2014. PA rates, except for New Years Eve. Great location. We went for the Mountain bike trails in local parks (York River and Freedom Park) and were not disappointed. The Parks have displays and artifacts. We didn't venture into Jamestown or Colonial Williamsburg. If we were in the area again, Anvil Campground would be at the top of my short list. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$22
No doubt that the strengths of this campground are its overwhelmingly convenient location to the Williamsburg attractions and shuttle service, plus the very friendly staff; it is also very clean and well-kept. We were a bit disappointed in the Wi-Fi considering that they stress in their advertising how good it is supposed to be. It is not bad, but our expectations were very high because of the advertising. We did experience a few dropouts and slowdowns but overall it was very usable, just not "the best" that we were expecting. The only notable downside for us was the trains. They were not the worst we've experienced but on a few occasions they did startle us awake. We would not let that prevent us from going there again, but be warned. Some trains do go through late at night and in the early morning plus all during the day. Overall, I don't think you could beat this place for a visit to Williamsburg, especially using the Passport rates. If you can tolerate trains, it is unbeatable. Our rating would have been at least two points higher were if not for them. Average rate reflects PA discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
This rate reflects Passport America. I would have rated this campground a 10 for the wonderful service of the family who has owned it for 60 years. If you are not a light sleeper this is definitely the place to stay when visiting Colonial Williamsburg. They have a shuttle at the gate so you do not have to drive you car and access to discount tickets. All that said, the campground is small (who cares if you are in Williamsburg all day), sites are narrow so be sure you can get your slides open before you settle in. But the worst thing is the trains going about 6' from the back of your rig on one side of the campground. They run very 2 to 3 hours and actually shook our coach. We were in the cheap seats so perhaps if I'd paid more to be on the other side of the campground drive, where I would back up to the main road instead, it might have been better. If you sleep like a rock this is the place for you. Every other place I checked was MUCH farther away to drive every day and much more expensive with fees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
Two nights as we visited Colonial Williamsburg. Paid Passport America rate. V-Friendly staff. Learned of discount offers at Williamsburg. Took local shuttle bus $1 to Colonial Williamsburg. Yes, it is right on train track but they did not run all night. Last train 1st night 1 at midnight 2nd night 1 about 8PM. Trains were short 5 cars or so, so were quick. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
Nice campground and very friendly and helpful staff. Limited sites where you can locate a satellite dish. Only downside were the trains (very close) but this seems to be a "must" with all RV parks. Locate them near a train track! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$65
If you're looking for a place within minutes of Colonial Wiliamsburg and Busch Gardens, this is it. However, be aware of trains that go by several times a day and night. They are literally within feet of the tent sites and some RV sites on the other side of the park. Also, sites are very close to one another. We had to move because we could not open up our awning because of the slide next to us. Staff was friendly enough and the laundry facilities were adequate. Pool is small and the camp store is OK. There is a trolley that goes by and can take you into town for sightseeing. We just unplugged everyday and drove. It saved time on waiting for the trolley and all the stops. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$65
After staying at a couple dozen campgrounds across the USA and Canada, we were very disappointed with this campground. When we drove into Williamsburg,VA, we had great hopes for our stay, and after navigating a rather circuitous route, we arrived at Anvil Campground. The first thing that we noticed is that the overall campground is narrow and crowded, and it sits between a railroad line (that ran about 10 trains per day) and a very busy two lane road. On the other side of the railroad is another busy road. We paid for a premium "laser-leveled" site. The site was flat, and long, but recent rain had left some muddy spots among the crushed stone. Half of the width of the site is taken up with stone, while the remainder is dirt/old pine bark, cordoned off with landscape timbers. There was not enough width to accommodate our outdoor patio rug without overrunning the timbers. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$60
Nice campground, owners were very knowledgeable of area. The campground was convenient to all attractions. There were only two showers and two toilets for the entire campground. Campground is right beside train tracks. Train kept us up all night. If you don't mind sleeping beside train running all night this is the place for you. The outer sites are right beside main road. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$37
An older campground but fairly close to Colonial Williamsburg. Very close to RR tracks and trains go through frequently. Sites needed some maintenance. People were very friendly. Trains bothered us so probably would not stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
We enjoyed this campground because of the friendly service, the cleanliness, and the location. As full-timers, we stay here in the spring and the fall for a month each to visit our family and the historic sights. There are trains, but we do not find them intrusive--we enjoy hearing and seeing them. The laundry room and restrooms are kept clean and in good working order. If a camper needs any help with hooking up or leveling or information, the staff is readily available and willing to help. The sites are a little tight, but adequate. There is a little road noise, but no more than in many place. Good place to stay... We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$48
This is a lovely, little, well kept campground. Everything was so neat and clean. Our site was adequate, close to our neighbors, as all the sites are. The hookups were great. Wifi worked good. Bathroom and showers were very clean. Laundry was good, 4 washers, 4 dryers. The area was landscaped nicely. Yup, there are trains. Yup, they are loud but really for one or two minutes only a few times a night. The road noise was much more disturbing. The road is a continuous busy one with fast noisy cars, trucks and motorcycles. Since we toured all day, we were not subjected to road noise all the time and it did quiet down a bit around 10pm. The staff was very friendly and helpful but not sure we would return here, only because of the noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
Three nights to visit and explore Williamsburg. Sites butt right up to the railroad tracks, literally not more than 30 feet away which was interesting. They do run around the clock, but didn't disturb our sleep as we had "white noise" on at night. Sites are small. Fire pit was situated where our RV door opens so I moved it. Could enjoy a campfire OR have awning down, but not both, as sites are too close together. Watch out for poison ivy around sites. Presumably people visit here to explore the town as did we, not for camping, and for this purpose it is just fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
Very tidy park, but not sure how anyone can say that the train noise isn't intrusive - especially at 3 AM as the whole ground shakes!! On some of the sites you'd be less than 5 yards from the track!! Sites very 'tight' - had to reposition in order that the slide-outs didn't touch the fence on one side or a tree on the other. Cable TV only has a decent picture on about three channels - you watch the others through a 'blizzard'!! Very conveniently situated for access to Historic Williamsburg - only a 15 minute bike ride away (or 5 minutes by shuttle-bus) and the rest of the 'historic triangle' - the best reason for stopping here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$44
We chose this CG because of the shuttle, but after reading the directions to Colonial Williamsburg, decided to hook & unhook our small MH, Only 3.5 miles one way and easy to get there. Train noise was minor though on Wed night there was more. We chose to stay in the center section of the CG. The trains weren't bothersome, but we had windows closed. Traffic noise very minor, some morning to work. Check-in person very helpful. I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$64
We stayed in one of their standard back in sites that back up to the tracks. We were there for 5 days and the trains never bothered us at all. There is not a lot of extras but the pool was immaculate and all 3 play areas kept our 6 yr old entertained. The only negative in this regard is the fact that approx 1/3 of the electronic games were not working in the game room. Being on the Williamsburg public bus line is convenient but not overly so. The service is not frequent enough and service to Busch Gardens was not great. You can't beat the price though. The most outstanding element of this family run and family friendly park is the staff. They were all truly excellent. We would gladly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
We stayed here for a long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our trip. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The sites were small and close, but adequate, fairly level, and nicely shaded. Getting in and out was easy. Every thing was clean and well maintained. The pool was small, but so is the campgrounds, so it was never too crowded. The location was GREAT since it's close to all the local attractions. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Busch Gardens and Williamsburg. I would have given it a higher rating if the sites were larger, there were planned activities, and the playgrounds included a little more than standard backyard equipment. But really, in this area, there's so much to do that we didn't really miss those things and wouldn't have used them if they were there. Kids can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$55
Small campground, small dirty hot pool, small sites about 20' wide, train that comes through the campground will stir your drink for you. Highly suggest you pick the road side if you stay here. Hard to hear when train coming through. Overall OK campground to sleep at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$53
Nice Campground close to Williamsburg. The campground was clean and well kept. The staff was very polite and helpful with tours and directions to the historical sites. Roads were good. We were camped along the road side of the campground so the one downside was the road noise. The other downside was the train track which runs almost through the park. Our rig shook every time a train went by. That was often and all hours of the day and night. A good place for a couple of nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$50
Park staff very friendly and helpful. Proximity to Historic town was within a couple miles. Numerous restaurants within a couple miles. Wi-Fi was good, not too many cable TV stations but reception was good. Biggest complaint was the price for early April. Pretty high for this place. Don't know what other campgrounds in this area charge but I've stayed in some really nice places for less. Won't be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$45
The staff were very friendly and helpful, not only regarding the park but also providing information, tips and discount tickets to attractions in the area. The park is the closest to Colonial Williamsburg. Our site size was reasonably sized, even with our large unit and was tidy. Our only complaint was it could have been a bit more level, but we managed. The train tracks are next to the park and trains do go by, but that did not bother us. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$44
Excellent proximity to Williamsburg, friendly welcome and the facilities appeared to be good. Unfortunately, train tracks are located right next to the campgrounds and from midnight last night to 0800 this morning there were at the very least 8 different trains going by. The ground shakes and the noise is very loud. For us older folks who don't sleep well to start with this was a most unpleasant night. The previous night was just as bad. Also, cable was included but had very poor reception. We would not recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
This very small, very tight park is well kept, with much to occupy small children, incl. a nice clean pool. There's pleasant shade; it's terrifically located among things to see and do. The trains aren't nearly as bad as in that classic "I Love Lucy" episode, but the horns do blow, and if you're track side, you need to be accepting of it all. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$50
I struggled with a rating for this campground. It has so many good features but the few negatives are a big factor. The area is well maintained and in good condition. Personnel were some of the friendliest and most helpful of any campground I've visited. Sites were level gravel. Space was tight but that can be expected with a campground close in to a major tourist area. Very convenient to Colonial Williamsburg and other area attractions. The campground is sandwiched between a local road and some busy railroad tracks. The train noise didn't bother me but could be a problem for some people. Cable TV was out for the entire Memorial Day weekend. WiFi worked well. Pool is small but clean. 3/4 of the sites are well shaded. Not a lot of room for walking a dog. The worst problem was the water: it had a strong sulfur odor that my filter couldn't remove. We had to buy water and ice for drinking and cooking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$62
We arrived an hour before check in time and this was not well received. We were told to park in an open field across from registration but there was no way to turn around to get there. Our final site was very nice with table, chairs and flowers but sites were tight. Entrance to the park is on a narrow road and it's easy to miss it. Nice park otherwise. We camped with a 40 ft fifth-wheel on one of the larger pull-through sites and getting in and out took careful driving. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
The campground is well established (it's advertised to have been here since 1954), close to area attractions and is very well maintained but, as they say, location is everything. The property is on the small side (a positive in my mind) and therefore very tight to navigate around with small sites that are very close together (not a positive as we were in a 43 foot motorhome) and is situated between a busy road and a set of frequently used train tracks. Not the best for creating a relaxing environment. There was constant noise from both the trains and the traffic. Most sites back up to the road with a handful of pull throughs in front of them. The others back up to the tracks. Hard to get comfortable here. On the positive side, this park has one of the nicest, most friendly and accommodating staff's we've run across in quite a while. They are genuinely concerned with your happiness and want to make your stay a pleasant one. Would I stay here again? I'd like to say yes but would likely opt for a quieter location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
Great staff and very cordial. Small but good sites. Close to restaurants and attractions. Would stay here again. Used Passport America. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$60
Beautiful park, nice trail that loops around the park. Awesome quiet even during the summer! Last year the daily rate was around $35 (after the discounts), the new 2011 rate is $60 (before discounts) yet no changes have taken place. The roads are either crush and run or simply dusty dirt. The bulk of the sites are concrete and nicely leveled, a limited few are still semi-graded dirt or crush & run. All in all a wonderful place, I simply can't justify that kind of money per night, guess I'll have to start looking at other local campgrounds again. I would have rated this higher except for the costs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$32
The location is great, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The "but" is that this is a very, very noisy RV park. There is a fairly busy roadway on one side and a railroad on the other. Between the two was us trying to sleep: it didn't work well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Price is Passport America rate. Office staff very friendly, quick at checking folks in. Campground is very small, maybe 1.5 acres, we had a Premium site, back-ins only, site was so tight, my awning hit the motor home next door. Picnic table has to be in the back of the site cause no room next to the camper. If we sat on the picnic table, we could wave to the cars going down the road, lots of road noise. Across the campground road to the front of our coach is another row of back-in sites then a railroad track, which is used every few hours. We will probably not be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
Well kept campground and friendly owners, but sites are very tight and some are not big rig friendly. Trains and traffic are present but did not bother us. Owners need to stop allowing campers to move without considering other campers coming in at a later time. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
Our overnight section was very nice. Back in sites, but easy to get into. Full hookups with good power. Bus stops out front to take you to Williamsburg. Be prepared to PAY to get into Williamsburg location. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$41
A small clean, tight Park. Back in sites overlap for all but the shortest units. Park situated between rail Road tracks and highway. During our stay, the train hauling coal would barrel through about every 2 hours day and night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Is there a train? Yes, however it never blows it whistle. We did not find this to be a problem and we did not hear it at night in our camper. The office staff is very nice and helpful. It is super clean. It is a bit tight however, we did not feel this was a problem. You are in a resort area and there were still lots of trees and shade. The sites are level with gravel, a picnic table, and fire ring. It has a small swimming pool. The maintenance man and his dog are great! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This is an interesting little park sandwiched between the road and the railroad track. We did not find the train traffic bothersome but some might. It was a clean and tidy park and the staff were friendly and helpful. We actually used the swimming pool because it was so hot during our stay. The pool area was clean and well kept. The park is located conveniently close by old town Williamsburg. We had no problem negotiating either the pull through site or the local area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
Clean park, restrooms, and pool, a well tended park. Has full hookups including cable TV. Really glad for the Williamsburg bus stop right at the campground, we were able to go to Colonial Wmsburg, Water Country, Busch Gardens w/o driving. Yes there is a train track, but hey it's an urban area! Our spot was on the highway side, most sites are shady, some are not. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$43
2 lanes to get here, Very narrow roads in park, very small sites, back in only, road noise all night, train to wake you at 3am. Won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
The train! OMG! The Train! This is such a sweet little campground but you're between a highway and A TRAIN TRACK! Sites too narrow and not level at all--but a clean campground and pretty good location. But THE TRAIN! Very nice and helpful staff. Nice pool and bathhouses, but THE TRAIN! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$42
Small campground with a good location. It's close to Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, and Yorktown. Has good water, electrical, and WiFi. That is not enough to bring me back. The campground is located between a busy highway and railroad, only yards from each. I was in a site near the highway and away from the railroad, and my motorhome still vibrated as the trains went by. No sites seem to be level, but the ones by the highway are very bad. Bathhouses are old, but clean. There are better choices in the area. Even though April begins their peak season, this campground was mostly empty. With all things considered, it's way over-priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2010
$39
Small campground nestled between a busy road and an active train track. Other than road noise and the occasional train, camp was very quite. Nice playgrounds for kids. Store and office have limited hours during the winter with a sign on the door with phone numbers to call if you need help. Pull-through sites were shut-down due to the cold weather, but the back-in site we were provided was easy enough to access and park. Our site was reasonably flat, however, several of the sites in the park have significant slopes. Wi-Fi worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
The RV park is OK, however, the sites are quite narrow. The biggest complaint is that the railroad track, Amtrak and freight, border the park. The sites on the west side of the park back up to the trestle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$55
This campground is very convenient to Colonial Williamsburg, and a reasonable drive to Jamestown, Yorktown, and Busch Gardens. Hourly shuttles are available to all the attractions. This is a small, older campground and shows a little wear, but the staff is professional and courteous. Our only complaint was the noise. Our site backed up against a fairly busy road, and this campground is adjacent to the railroad. We might stay here again; it depends on whether or not we could find another campground without this drawback. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
This was my first time coming to Williamsburg, Virignia. There were many things that made this campground nice. For starters I would like to tell you about the experience I had with one of the office clerks. Her name is Leann. She was working by herself in the office and very busy at the moment. That did not stop her from providing everyone with excellent customer service. She had 3 people there to check in and she took quality time with everyone to make sure that they were happy and explained everything to them. She was really helpful and very friendly. Second many people complain about the train. My husband and I didn't have any problems with it. This campground is very clean and the maintance men are always working if anyone needs help. The last thing that I would like to mention is that this campground offers discounted tickets to Bush Gardens, Water Country, Williamsburg, Jamestown, and one other place. It was a great experience and if I ever come back to Williamsburg again I would definitely stay there. I would highly recommend this place. Keep up the good work! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
This is a small park wedged in between a busy highway and a loud freight train line. It is convenient and close to everything, but the small size and the freight rail tracks that are close to the back side of the place, are missing on their campground map! Only if you like loud trains at varying hours of the day or night will you enjoy this CG. I cannot recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
This was our first time staying at Anvil Campground. We had a wonderful experience and would love to come back again. The young lady working the front desk in the office was very knowlegeable, friendly, and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$42
Yes, it is older, but to me the condition is more important and the condition of this park is being constantly updated. Maintenance was always checking things, bringing things up to snuff (during my stay peeling paint was redone in a bathroom stall). The sites were pretty level, hookups worked fine and sites are wide enough for slides and awnings. And yes, CSX trains come through regularly right next door, but so what. It's quiet otherwise. And best of all, they have a bus to all the area sightseeing. For a buck and a half all day pass, you can go all over the area. I camped here three days in a motorhome We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$22
I agree with the other reviews. It's a nice, older park but it's well maintained. The noise didn't bother us but it might some people. We've been to worse. :) My only complaint is that it is heavily wooded. I couldn't find any satellites with my Direct TV antenna from any spot. I would not stay here again because of that problem. On the plus side, it is a Passport America park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
The location is the closest to Colonial Williamsburg. They advertise they have a shuttle bus to the colonial area but in actuality it is a city sponsored shuttle (fee). We felt the advertising of the shuttle was misleading. There are several premium sites that are larger than the other sites (50 amp and wi-fi) but they were next to a busy road and not all that larger width-wise than the less expensive 30 amp sites. Our 30 amp site was very narrow but we appreciated the shade. The main problem was the many, many trains that were about 30 feet from our RV. I held my breath that there was no derailment. The next door neighbors had a smoky fire which was just 10 feet from our unit. The sites are too close for fires, we feel. There are only two women's and two men's showers for this camp. There were lots of tenters who used the facilities so there was a backup at times. Our main concern was the small site, the proximity of fire rings and the frightening train traffic; otherwise it was a good place from which to explore the historic areas of Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown. They offer a Good Sam discount so that kept the price as $36 rather than $40. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$49
This campground is dated at best. The train tracks are literally 20 feet from the campsites on one side of the campground. There is no fence or barrier to keep your children from getting to the tracks. On the other side of the campground is a busy road that your children have access to as well. Be wary of any campground website that only has one picture of their campground on it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
Sites are very small, but everyone was very nice - campers and staff. We were there for sight seeing and entertainment so did not spend a whole lot of time at the campground. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$49
This is a very small yet clean park with all of the amenities you'd need. Recently updated electrical power boxes, water, sewer, and cable. Pool small but clean. Sites adequate but not large. Several playgrounds, nice landscaping, clean. On the Williamsburg Area Transit line, which is why we camped here (no car, just a motorhome). This is a place to stay if you are seeing attractions. It is not a place to get away from it all. There is traffic noise and trains. We knew this going in and it didn't bother us. We would stay here again. Very close to attractions. The only thing we didn't like: the buses do NOT run on Sunday, which surprised me, as this is a Tourist Town. But that had nothing to do with Anvil. The staff were friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$47
As you can see by the reviews, the train is a real issue. Why don't they make it clear right up front in their literature? NOTE: There is an active train adjacent to the campground! We stayed at a park in Hershey, PA last year and they made that same thing known in all their advertisements. It reduced the criticism by eliminating the surprise factor. Secondly, the special reduced price attraction passes that were touted were all sold out. When I found out that the extra savings was only 50 cents per person, it was sort of laughable. Thirdly, the store ran out of bagged ice. How can you let that happen in August? Lastly, the staff was courteous. The location was ideal. My children were happy with the place for the two days. My expectations were higher. I'm glad for this website because nothing in this campground's advertisements or website would indicate that this place was anything but a world class facility. Woodall's or Good Sam rating are really no guarantee. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$41
The campground was small, but seemed clean. We didn't use the shower or toilet facilities, but the building didn't look in the best shape. We were startled by the trains at ALL hours of the day and night. I would go back if no other campground was available, but would like to avoid the train tracks that were literally 20' from my bed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$46
I hope you love trains if you stay here! Beginning around 5PM they run about every 2 hours - doesn't seem too bad until around midnight and 3AM. The tent sites are literally only 20 feet from the tracks - on the other side of the campground is a well traveled road. We requested a full hookup site. We received a site with electric and water - no sewer because the person who handled our reservation decided we didn't need full-hookup. We have a tent trailer, but we do have a bathroom, which they didn't take into consideration. They provided us with a container for our gray water and an apology - this also meant no cable. The park is small, tight and crowded. The campground is a circle - the inner sites (which we were assigned) at one time were pull thrus for one trailer - now they are divided in half and basically you share a site with another trailer by backing up to each other. Sites were divided by thin wood railings and were gravel. Pool is the size of a large bathtub and with more than 6 people the pool is full and standing room only. There was a bus into Williamsburg but we didn't use it. Very small restrooms (2 showers, 2 toilets) but relatively clean, we opted to use our own. The only plus is it's convenient location to downtown Williamsburg and shops on Rt. 60. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$46
Closest campground to historic area - Sites are very close together. Only 2 shower stalls for the whole campground. It was 90 degrees and swimming pool was closed for repairs. There are train tracks on one side of the campground where the tent sites are located and a lot of trains go by. The trains did not seriously disturb me in my rv but I would not wanted to be in one of the tents 20 yards from the tracks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
We spent 5 nights here. They have paved interior roads and adequate sites. They have a very small laundry but a good grocery store and gift shop area. Also a nice game room for the kids. The staff is very nice and informative. They have great WiFi service. The big attraction here is a bus stop near the park entrance but we drove everywhere. The park itself and the facilities are quite good. The BIG negative is location. The park is sandwiched between a busy road and a busy railroad track. It backs up to a very busy rail line and some sites seem to be about 10 feet from the tracks. Trains came by day and night and while they didn't blow their horns, they made lots of noise just because they were so close. You could also feel the vibrations from the trains. The passenger trains screamed by at about 50 mph and the cargo trains roared and rumbled by at 30 mph. The noise didn't bother the husband but woke up the wife numerous times each night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$39
This is a small campground located close to major tourist attractions. Although the staff is friendly and the grounds are clean, its location between a highway and railroad tracks make it difficult to recommend. Because there is no fencing blocking access to the train tracks, I would not feel uncomfortable allowing young children to play unattended. Trains also passed several times each night during our stay, interrupting our sleep. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2007
$39
The staff was very friendly and helpful. I felt very safe staying at this campground. However, on our first day, one toilet in the ladies room & two in the mens room were clogged. We just used our own after that! The pool was being cleaned, so the power washer was being run A LOT! And they replaced some landscaping and fence right beside our site, so that was a mess, not to mention noisy also. Of course not as noisy as the trains. After a few days we did get used to it, until one night when SEVEN trains went through. I had requested a site as far from the trains as possible, but we were put in the middle row, in a small back-in site. Good thing we don't have a slide out, because we could not have used it. Overall, it wasn't a terrible campground. We stayed there because of the availability of the public transportation. I would stay there only if I had to rely on using the city buses or wanted to be close to all attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$20
I can see that train noise might be bad if parked in one of the back-in spots. We were on other side and didn't find noise over whelming. Very nice personnel. We would stay there again. Just ask ahead for spot away from tracks. There are a couple of sites where you can get clear south sky for dish. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2006
$36
My complaints about the park have been echoed before. The noise is bad but my main gripe is the rates they charge for this less than good park is outrageous. We have stayed in many parks from the tip of Florida to the top of Virginia and this has to be the bottom of the barrel for what they charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
Grounds are not well kept. We reserved pull thru sites and were assigned back in's. There were pull thru sites available. WiFi was charged $3.00 per day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2006
$45
If you like being within 20 feet of loud trains this is the place for you. A wooded or shaded site equaled two almost dead trees in a very tight spot. Best thing is .. is this campground is within minutes of every attraction in Williamsburg. So if you are looking for a place to "just park and sleep" and you are a sound sleeper this might be for you. We won't be back. Pictures on website were very misleading! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2006
$38
Stayed at the park as they advertised "transportation provided to Busch Gardens", asked about it upon arrival and was told that we had to catch a public bus from the street to a bus terminal than catch another bus to Busch Gardens (& we had to pay for it). Some trailers on site are permanent and are run down with some seedy people. Very noisy; there is a busy road on one side and a VERY NOISY railroad on the other that when trains pass (about 5 times a night) the ground shakes like an earthquake! Also the pool had not been opened yet but had black water in it with mold all around the walls. I would not recommend this campground to anyone! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2006
$39
The campsites are tiny, we hardly fit. Thankfully nobody was on either side for the 17 hours we lasted on this site. We went to bed at 10 pm and had 8 freight trains go by before 8:30 am, 2 of them lasting about 3 minutes in duration. This would not be so bad if the train wasn't 30' from our bed. Needless to say we did not get much sleep. We were sceduled for 5 days and we could not leave fast enough. The staff was very kind and understanding, I guess this happens often. They were not forthcomming though when I asked the night before how often the train came through. So with the tiny sites, the highway on the other side of the tracks, the main road on the other side of our camper, it was not much of a restful night. The final straw was the neighbors sewer connection was under our picnic table. I would not recomend even considering this campground unless you could sleep through an air raid. We ended up at American Heritage campground and it has been like night and day so far. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2006
$36
This was our first trip in our new-to-us Class C. The staff was very friendly and seemed to really try to keep things neat and clean. However, the sites are very small and there are several permanent trailers in need of serious repair scattered around the CG. There is a train that runs beside the CG, but we were not too bothered by that. The pool was not opened but looked so nasty that they are going to have a heck of a job cleaning it out. I would be careful about letting my kids play in that one. The pictures on their website is deceiving. The CG is not as large as it appears or as pretty. When we arrived we did not have neighbors on either side. However, over the next day, a large Class A and another Class C pulled in on both side and it became quite tight. Our awning almost touched our neighbors slideout and his sewer hose came right up to our awning mat. Sorry to say, we will not stay here again. The service was good but this CG leaves alot to be desired. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2006
$30
This is the worst campground I've ever stayed in. The electrical system went down in the evening and no one was available to fix it. The trains run no more than ten feed from most of the campers parked in the "resort" and it is surrounded by two major highways. If the traffic doesn't make you insane, the trains will scare you to death. When the power went out, it affected the entire campground and there was no way to get power all night. The pool looked like pea soup. The bathrooms were filthy and the manager said, "we are going to clean them today". The dumpster was full and bags were piled around all sides. The manager said, "they are getting it today". I would avoid this park at all costs. Pay more and stay anywhere else in Williamsburg. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2006
$29
Anvil is a very small campground. There is no privacy with the extremely small sites. They list having 65 sites but, several have permanent trailers and others can only accommodate one trailer but are listed for two. There is a railroad track that runs directly behind the campground and trains run all through the night. They are loud and shake the trailers. They have a store, game room, TV room and office but they are never open for use. The 2 soda machines have been out the entire week we have been here. Nothing here has been kept up properly. This was probably a half way decent campground many years ago but now is run down and filthy. Their website is very misleading. We will never stay here again. For example: The hot water in the men's sink in the bath house has been out of operation since last summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$36
We chose this park because it was rated highly in the 2005 Trailer Life guide, and we are glad we did. The smoking is not a problem in the office as we had read in previous posts here. It is now a "non-smoking" office which appeared to be very neat and clean. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Pool and bath houses were clean. With the train on one side and a road on the other, this campground can be noisy at times. Sites are well maintained but are slightly narrow. Good tree shading. We enjoyed our visit and will probably camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2005
$32
Campsites are small and very close together. We were tent camping and the only thing between us and the group camping next to us was a fence. On the other side of us was another site that was used for landscaping equipment i.e. riding lawnmower, trailer, etc. etc. Directly behind us through a thin line of trees (approxiamtely 25-30 feet) was the very busy train tracks which were used all hours of the day and night. small bundles of wood were sold in the general store for $4.00 per bundle (they do not allow you to bring your own firewood). Restrooms not kept clean. We do not plan to return. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2004
$35
Don't know how this campground can be rated so high in T.L. Directory. It is old, has a high speed freight train route right next to the campground, small sites (particularly if your rig has slide-outs), and the staff wasn't particularly friendly. I would use it again for a stay in the Williamburg area ONLY if it is the only local park with vacancies. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$35
Trains run continually all night!! The sites are very small; bathrooms are not clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$35
The sites were small but clean. On one side you could hear traffic all the time, on the other side was the train. (Woke me and my neighbor up at 2:30 A.M., thought the train was coming through our living room, actually shook the RV!!) Very small campground. No cable TV. Bathrooms were clean. Dumpster was out on the main road into the campground. (Not a long walk but I think the trash guys put it there to make their job easier). We will NOT come back. (You would be much better off staying at the campground in Williamsburg.) We have a big rig 37 ft 5er W/3500 Dodge Ram dually, and can report this campground is NOT big rig friendly. Their ad says they are the highest rated Good Sam park in Williamsburg. Not!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$36
Not a bad campground, if you like being in the middle of everything when you are camping. Public roads are on both sides, one which is a main road. There is also one big thing they failed to mention; the trains. There is a railroad track that runs less than 20 foot from the first row of campsites, which is even for tenters! We actually counted 7 trains in one night, from about 10pm to 7am that lasted anywhere from 30 sec to 2 min or more. Sites are very small! Our neighbors actually had to use our fire ring because their camper was a 27 footer, and they barely fit in their spot! They do offer the 4th and 7th nights free, but beware if your a bargain shopper. Maybe not your best bet! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2003
$32
The campground was quite small. We could not open our slide out and awning due to fence posts on each side of the site. All sites were pretty much the same. The 2nd biggest problem was that there are railroad tracks that are in the back of property and what a noise!!! Passenger trains and loud freight trains all through the day and night. We also asked to change our site since it was on the road and got an attitude from the girl behind desk. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$33
Quaint, small, sites are close together, but adequate. Trains do come through nearby, didn't bother us. While small in every aspect (including pool), is clean and well kept. Office people nice and helpful. (Don't those people who bring their screaming kids in the office care about us peaceful smokers? - edit that out if you like, just had to say it in response to certain "dumbos.") While this place isn't bad, there are better in the Williamsburg area that we have stayed at. We'd probably stay there again if the situation called for it (e.g., proximity to soccer tournament), but Anvil wouldn't be our first choice for a general visit to the Williamsburg area. Stayed at Anvil Labor Day weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$33
The reason for the 6 rating and not higher is speed bumps. They create a hazard when walking at night. I don't think there is a need for them. Area is not well lit on interior road. People in office was very helpful and answered all our questions. The campground was well kept and close to attractions. The train was not unbearable but could be if your site was near the tracks and you were backed up to it. I would stay there again if in the area because of the easy access to Colonial Williamsburg. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$34
I must say that the office staff was very helpful and answered our every question also the campground was well kept. On the negative side, there is constant smoking in the office (don't they care about our kids), I have a 36' MH and just about fit onto the site, could not use the fireplace as it was under the slideout. There was at least two long freight trains every night that were within 20' of our site, however there are sites that are further away from the tracks. Not sure who you have to be to get them as I made my reservations 2 months in advance and was very specific about my needs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$30
Extremely clean campground. The staff really takes an interest in the place. Close to the attractions. The modem hookup in the office is a plus. Would come back again if in the area. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$29
I disagree with the statement of the other comment. The roads were mostly paved or well kept gravel. The people in the office were some of the most helpful people I have ever met. Bathroom facitlities were very clean. The train did run by the campground but it wasn't that bad. I was told the dumpster was located at the exit in order to keep the smell away from the sites. I just dropped my trash off on the way out and have seen the same thing at other parks. I would come back to this camp again. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2001
$25
Many trains run through the park all day and all night so close that the RV shakes. Very rough muddy interior roads. Smokers in the office at all times. The trash bin is located on the highway a very inconvenient distance from the campsites. Is a very poor campground. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com