217932 User submitted reviews online!!
Williamsburg Pottery Campground was rated 4 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (757) 565-3326
CGID3105

Williamsburg Pottery Campground

Camp Information
Sites
550
Date of Stay
October 2010
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   2   2   2   6   8   6   3   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$39
I completely agree with the previous reviews, although we never saw one staff person the entire weekend. We got here at night, there were no instructions about what to do, no campground rules given. It was like this park was abandoned! The pool was closed (since it was October) but it was VERY obvious it was really run down. The whole campground was overgrown. Tried to take my daughter to the "park" which consisted of one metal slide. The other "park" we found was two swings that looked like they were going to fall over, and one more metal slide. The whole place was in horrible disrepair. We noticed on the third day that there was/is a putt-putt golf course inside a fence, but it looked like it hadn't been used in about 40 years. There were scraps of what looked like putt-putt grass and concrete, but no way could anyone ever play here. It was a real shame. They have a great location, but it looked like everyone had given up ten years ago. The only evidence that it was still being run/owned by someone, was the electric on our site was turned on! If they would put some money in to this park, it could be nice. We saw two permanent trailers here. They looked as if the health department needed to be called. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$37
The small staff here is wonderful. There is a man and woman who take care of everything here and they seem to do what they can with what they have been given. The owners are doing this place a huge disservice as it has great potential. We never stayed here before, but wanted to try it as other campgrounds were so much more expensive. But you get what you pay for!! The place is run down and overgrown, and the pool was not in good shape at all, as one ladder was broken and had yellow caution tape around it. Bathrooms were clean, I guess, but looked pretty old and gross because I think they can't be cleaned anymore than they were. The biggest concern for us were the other campers. There seemed to be many people who stay there on weekends frequently and were not very nice people to be around. Many teenagers roamed with free rein and were cursing and being rude while I was swimming with my two young children. My kids were upset, but I had to leave the pool after only 30 minutes because of the teens. So the amenities were not even useful to us. Then, there were people who set off fireworks right behind our RV for an hour after dark because we were next to an open field. Guess they figured that meant it was OK for them to do that next to us! If the owners were to put work into this place and beef up security, it could be a great alternative in a quiet, but central location. It is a real shame that this place has become so dilapidated. We will NOT stay again unless something major changes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
We first camped here in the late 80's and had a wonderful time in our little two person tent! The staff was wonderful, the bathrooms were nice and clean and the swimming pool was refreshing and clean. Let's jump forward to 2010. The place looks like it has not had a coat of paint since the late 80's, the children's pool looked like a biohazard, with it's slightly odoriferous milky white water. The upper shower offered cold to almost, but not quite, tepid water. The staff was still friendly, just never present to run the camp store. They weren't loafing; it just seemed everything to do was left to two hardworking men. We had no problem getting a site in the choicest campsites during Memorial Day weekend, and that alone should have clued me in to this disaster of a campground. My guess is the person who ran this campground twenty years ago is no longer taking care of it. Last trip to this one for us. Easily a grade of F, based on cost versus amenities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2009
$34
This park has great potential: unfortunately it's not a priority for the owner. The one employee that we saw works very hard at everything: mows the lawns, tends the office, a regular "Jack of all Trades." He was very pleasant and helpful. We pulled in just after dark and the office was closed. There are no directions posted to where we were to park or if we could park. We talked with a couple of campers and they said to take anything. They also suggested that we check the power at a site before we setup because several didn't work. Just what we wanted to hear after driving 9 hours! Just a note about the Williamsburg Pottery Factory: don't bother! 20 years ago it was a must visit, not any more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
This was an okay place to camp. As I understand it, it used to be quite the place to camp. However, the original owner passed away, and the property has been passed down to his children who do very little to care for it. Apparently, it's been for sale for some time. There were very few people camping there. The one staff member that I met was pleasant. The pool is only open 3 days per week which was not mentioned on their website. Unfortunately, even though we stayed during those 3 days, the required life guard was MIA and therefore the pool remained closed. We also used the laundry facilities which were relatively clean but most of the machines were broken. We would probably not stay here again unless nothing else in the area was available. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$29
This campground is easy to fall in love with. We stayed for a week and a half (in August 2008 not Jan. 2009 as the website forced me to enter)and got the monthly rate. Made it a launching point for Williamsburg activities including Busch Gardens and Water Country USA(season passes). Very few campers when we were there. Huge pool that was never in use unless it was us. Remote pond for fishing. While I admit there are many uneven sites those are the ones I try to park next to so no one will park next to us. We love this campground and hope the owner does not go through with a proposed sale. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$37
We stayed here instead of the KOA to save some money. I think that maybe my grandkids would have preferred we spend a few more $$. It was an OK place to stay, if you are doing the Williamsburg attractions. It's just not a good place for just hanging out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
Park is in extreme need of repair and upgrade. The only things acceptable were water, sewer and electric. Does not appear any money has been spent for repairs or upgrade for fifteen years. Sites were extremely small for a 36 footer with slides on both sides. Sites with 50 amp electric appeared to be about 16x40, insufficient to open the patio awing completely and with slope too much to level the motorhome. Established RV parks in destination cities like Williamsburg, VA have a monopoly and can't be encouraged to do repair or upgrade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
This place looks like it might have been a happening place at one time. Buildings are old, and we did not use them because our trailer has everything. It was quiet, cheap, and a good jump-off point for local attractions. Staff friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
Over Memorial day weekend we stayed with 4 other households one Travel Trailer, one 5th Wheel, and another tent camper and we had a great time. The campground was not full to capacity and we were able to get all of our sites together. The Staff was polite and helpful although the office closes real early and the store does not have much available they're is a Super Wal-Mart Very Close by. The restrooms are somewhat outdated and could really use a face lift but for the most part they were fairly clean although you had numerous insects joining you when you used the facilities. One big disappointment was the pool was suppose to open that weekend and with it being in the high 80's we could have really used the pool. The staff said the person in charge of preparing the pool put the wrong chemicals in the pool so it would have to be drained and would not be open for the whole weekend. We ended up buying a $20.00 blow up pool and put it on our campsite filled it up and let the kids keep cool that way. The staff was understandable about our frustration and said we could either check out early and go somewhere else with a refund of our fees or they would give us a free nights stay. We had a lot of friends with us and decided to stay and had good time and will return since this not only a good place to stay if you are going to Busch Gardens but also as a home base while shopping the outlet stores. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$28
For our needs, this was a very suitable campground. We need an unobstructed view of the southern sky for our satellite and they had a number of sites with full hook-ups that would accommodate us. This campground is showing its age but if you're self-sufficient and in the area for sightseeing, this campground works well...it's an easy to access the entire area from here. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$26
We stayed with 3 other households one Travel Trailer, one 5th Wheel, and a tent and we had a great time. The campground was not full to capacity and we were able to get all of our sites together. The Staff was polite and helpful although the office closes real early and the store does not have much available in it but on the behalf of the campground it was out of season and they're is a Super walmart within walking distance. The restrooms are somewhat outdated and could really use a facelift but for the most part they were clean. We had a good time and will return since this not only a good place to stay if you are going to Busch Gardens but also as a home base while shopping the outlet stores. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Been here numerous times. The campground is older and could really use a fresh coat of paint. The power was substandard on numerous sites but I must admit the staff was very helpful in ensuring we had clean power and worked on it until it was fixed. The playground equipment is old and outdated. The restrooms could use a fresh coat of paint also although the staff kept them clean. This is not a destination campground but if you are going to Busch Gardens or the Outlet Malls this is a good campground to spend the nights at. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$25
We stayed here in October 2003. Staff are not friendly or helpful. We were put in the back across from some disgusting sites. Why? I have no idea as they were almost empty. Would never go back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2002
$25
We stayed in late July and the campground is pretty run down. It's a fine place for an overnight with no kids if you don't plan on using any of the facilities. The office closes early (8pm), so get there and get what you might need otherwise you're out of luck. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2002
$24
We have (sorry to say) stayed here before and telephoned one week in advance for reservations for two adjoining sites (even selected the site by number). Provided a credit card # to reserve and received a confirmation number. Upon arrival the staff was unable to place us together and did not provide any more help than "just go find two sites and tell us where they are!" The staff including the manager apparently does not have any customer service training and really doesn't care about the campground. She knows that the rigs will continue to come in if even for one night. Dirty restrooms, showers, and unkept grounds. The CG books should re-score this one down to a "2", at least. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2002
$25
This campground had a rather high rating in the books. It is actually beginning to be a dump. It needs some TLC and the staff needs an attitude adjustment. The facilities were showing considerable wear and tear and needed to be repaired, fixed up, painted, straightend up or replaced. It is in a nice location area wise but until they take some pride in their campground the owners we continue to see disappointed guests. This is in an area where campers want to stay for 2, 3, more days in order to enjoy all that that Williamsburg has to offer. This campground is not worth staying at. The positive things we can say are: it was quiet as there were few people there, it had good water pressure and consistant electricity. The sites were reasonably level. We will not be back to this campground. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com