223363 User submitted reviews online!!
Rifrafters Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (304) 574-1065
CGID3212

Rifrafters Campground

Camp Information
Sites
10
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   7   10   10   8   4   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Friendly and helpful camp host. Small campground but very near New River Gorge attractions. Quiet at night. Saw several big rigs but may need to check with camp host to ensure your unit can get in the available spots. Entry road is a little steep but should not cause a problem for most rigs. $40/night was rate, seemed a little high but not sure what the other local campgrounds were charging. Cable TV worked great, but need to check since a few sites don't have cable at the site. Good shade for most sites. WiFi worked OK some of time. We usually used our smartphone hot spot for internet access. Most sites are back-in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
This is a small campground very near the New River Gorge. All sites were filled on Memorial Day weekend, so it was noisy with lots of children. There is good water pressure in the bath house with nice shower heads. Our site did not get the advertised wi-fi, but temporarily parking near the bath house gave good wi-fi signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
It all depends on what you're looking for. Want a nice quiet place to come back to for the evening after rafting, hiking, and sightseeing? This is the place. Want a place with a lot of activities for kids to keep them busy? Not the place. That being said, we wanted the former so we loved it. It's a small, quaint campground that is very clean with good sized, level sites. Full hook-up with cable (cable not working well while we were there but the owner was working on it). Nice and peaceful in the evening time with little light pollution so one could star gaze. The owner is a really nice guy and really enjoyed talking to him. Highly recommend staying here if you're in the area. We'll definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$41
This is a simple but nice little campground. If you need a place to stay while you visit the New River Gorge park, this is it. There is not a lot to do at the campground. There is no playground, pool, or any other activities. This park does have clean tiled bathrooms and is far enough from the highway(19) that you can sleep peacefully. If we come back to this area we will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
I stayed at Rifrafters over Labor Day weekend with fellow club-members. The campground was nearly full. The campground owners are super nice and very helpful. Bathrooms were spotless even over a holiday weekend. RV sites are level and several are well shaded. Our group used the pavilion for a communal dinner one evening. We did have to share with another group that was camped nearby. I think both groups made some new friends. The entrance to this campground is a bit intimidating as it is rather steep, but none of the RVs seems to have a problem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Nice campground. Lots of trees provide shade (and some sap). Bathrooms are newly remodeled and spotless. Hand soap provided at the sinks. Owners are friendly and helpful. My FHU site was a concrete pad that I backed into easily. The road back to the tent sites was a pleasant walk for my dogs. I planned to stay 4 nights and due to a breakdown had to stay 6. I will definitely be back if my trailer ever gets fixed! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
We made an unscheduled stop here to simply rest from driving in thunderstorms all day. The owners were very friendly and told us to pick any side we would like. Back in or carefully pull through. (The sites were not pull through.) The site we chose was level and all hook ups were convenient. The big surprise was the bath house. The building was an older building BUT very clean and well maintained. Hand soap and shampoo in each shower and soap at each sink. Nice touch. Although we only stayed one night, we were very pleased and would go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$37
This park was not too far off of Rt 19. But entrance was up a hill and departure was a little scary. Owner was friendly and helped us set up without our request. He pretty much gave us our choice of sites, and let us pull into a back in site. Bathrooms/toilets were old but clean. Did not use the showers as it seemed to take a while for water at the sink to get hot, but it finally did. We went whitewater rafting with Cantrell Ultimate Rafting. Great fun! Would possibly stay here again, but there are several other places to try in area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$26
Very nice campground with lots of trees which were very well maintained. Right down the road from rivermen white water rafting, which is perfect. Very nice sites We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$31
Nice quiet campground. Access road a little rough, but not unmanageable. Sewer not available at all sites so be sure to inquire. Fire rings at all sites but WV law does not allow wood to be brought in from another state. Wood available at office, which is open until midnight!!! We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
The website directions to this campground show its location as Laurel Creek Road. The Delorme mapping software show this road as Laurel Pl. which prevented me from finding it on the map. The directions say “Follow US Rt. 19 North about 15 miles to Laurel Creek Road.” Travelling 15 miles before looking for a road leaves a lot of room for error. I had to stop in Fayetteville and ask directions. The entrance road is steep and severely eroded. Attempts have been made to patch this road but they look “homemade” and don’t seem to last long. The owners lived on site and were nice people and the office was an extension of their home. Several dogs were in the office and barked constantly while we were there. We were assigned a back-in site with a tree near the front of the site that made it difficult to back into. Each site had a good selection of cable TV channels but the cable to our site was buried only a few inches below the surface and had been pulled up out of the ground by the child of a previous camper. This cable lay on the ground when not in use. Very sloppy looking arrangement. Other sites had concrete pads and looked neater. The trees along the interior roads had many low branches hanging over the road. These need to be pruned. The bathhouses were clean but were old and the last paint job was really sloppy. There were several nice looking cabins but I did not see the inside. I felt that the $30 fee was too high for this campground but their website does not list the rates and I didn’t call before my arrival to ask about the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
I left the first post, below, in 2003 about this campground. Stayed again in summer 2006. Just as nice as before, but they have added another MUCH more accessible/level dump station. A LOT easier to dump now. Wonderful little campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$20
The owners were very friendly and accommodating, quiet campground, level spaces, very clean restrooms and showers. Great place for an overnight stay and cabins look very inviting for longer stays for families. We definitely will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Nice little campground in the "rafting region" of West Virginia run by a nice/chatty couple in their late-50's. Sites aren't quite as spacious as they appear in the website photos, but the sites are a little bigger than, say, a typical KOA. Not much to do right there in the CG (no pool), but it's very close to rafting companies that run the New and Gauley rivers, the Summerville Lake and Dam, the New River Bridge National Park, a neat little State Park, and not too far from lots of restaurants. Within walking distance there's a quaint little restaurant that's safe and family-friendly and has a bar on one side where they do Karaoke. Food is OK, priced appropriately. The bar/Karaoke-side of the restaurant attracts the locals (don't worry - they are, of course, drinking, but they appear to be good big-haired country folks and appreciate tourist dollars) - these people can SING! Especially if you like the Bluegrass sound. Neat experience. Back to the campground: restrooms are a little dated, but very clean and well-maintained. Very hilly CG, but navigation is pretty easy. When we were there, there were just a few families...it was DEAD-quiet in that CG!! Dumpstation is in an odd place and the hilly terrain resulted in us trying to dump "uphill"! Case-out the lay of the land before pulling-up. Recommended! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com