214403 User submitted reviews online!!
Buffalo Bill State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (307) 587-9227
CGID3312

Buffalo Bill State Park

Camp Information
Sites
99
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   10   7   9   7   9   10   9   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$22
Park was open with pull thrus available. We had electric but the water was not on until May 16. Restrooms are pit toilets. Water in lake was extremely low. Unlimited supply of firewood available! Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Beautiful views. Not a lot of amenities, no showers (too bad) Very dark at night. Its like generic camping..electric and H2O only in our loop. Some loops don't have anything. Ranger Pat was wonderful, he guided us to some great activities in the area including a spectacular drive through the Big Horn basin! Don't miss the Buffalo Bill Museum. Theres an RV park in Cody but Buffalo Bill SP gives you more room. We would stay again if we could get another lake view site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
This park is gorgeous. We stayed on the reservoir, the view of canyons, the dam and lake are beautiful. Clean grounds and friendly staff. Good spacing between sites. The staff went out of their way to give us maps and suggestions for our entire adventure, not just In Cody. This is the best place we stayed in, the entire 16 day trip. You can swim in the lake, very refreshing and grab the driftwood for a perfect campfire. Cody's nightly rodeo is fun and family friendly, great first time rodeo show. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
This review is for North Fork Campground (by the river). Stayed here 2 nights. Views of the canyon/cliff walls were fantastic! Sites had electric and water hookups. There was a dump station by the entrance. The sights were all pull through - just little pullouts off campground road. Not many trees. Privacy was good; you weren't crammed in like many RV parks. Bathrooms decently clean, but had lots of bugs and poor ventilation. There was a little playground in the middle of park. Overall a solid campground with good location between Cody (10 minutes away) and Yellowstone (60 minutes away). Would stay here again, especially for the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
Beautiful views of the canyon and river. Camp host was friendly and helpful. Campground was clean and well cared for. We had water and electricity. There are not many trees if you like a wooded area. Convenient to East gate of Yellowstone (about a 45 minute drive). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$17
We stayed at North Shore. Loop B and C have no services. Loop A was full. Beautiful view of the mountains and lake. Very peaceful. No road noise noticable after dark when traffic stops. Sure beats staying in the city, especially if you are headed to Yellowstone. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
Loved this campground. Wyoming State Parks have the most beautiful campsites around. We would have given this one a 10 if it really had a sewer like some of the posts said. There are no sewers only a dump station within the park. That being said, this park is very convenient to Cody. Cody is a great town with lots to do. Make sure and go to the Buffalo Bill Museum. Plan to spend at least one long day there. Can't wait to come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
There is not a more beautiful setting for an RV park than Buffalo Bill. Nine miles west of Cody, every site has a marvelous view of the Buffalo Bill reservoir. Only seven sites can be reserved, we arrived a day early in mid-afternoon and snagged a first come site and moved the next day to a reserved site (#2). Plan on spending a day and a half at the Buffalo Bill Historical Center, skip the Old Town village. Do have breakfast at The Irma. The vault toilets are not my cup of tea, bring the chemicals ! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$17
There are two campgrounds at BB State Park, North Shore and North Fork. We stayed at North Fork which is 14mi west of Cody. North Shore is 9mi west of Cody. This is a beautiful park with full hookups around one loop. The other two loops are non hookup, but there is a dump station. Acres of open area and off the highway enough so no road noise. View of the reservoir from almost everywhere. We would certainly stay here again. We were there for a week, before heading to Yellowstone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$17
The electrical and water sites are not as easy to get into as the non electrical sites. If you do not reserve these, you will not get one. We stayed in Loop B which was much better than Loop A (electrical), or Loop C. Very large pull through sites right on the water, but steep drop off to get to water. Noisy, located next to the highway. Had people pulling in all during the night, some tent people at 2:30AM, lights from their car, talking loud till 3:30, and with our windows open because of no electricity. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$17
Boon docking at its best! Spectacular view of the mountains, driving in doesn't get any easier than this. Some shade but mostly wide open spaces. Water is available along with a dump station. Generators are allowed till 10:00 PM. We would LOVE to stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
This is a just upgraded part of the Buffalo Bill Dam Campground. I don't think the power and water was here in the past. We had a lake view spot ,and the only thing I could find to complain about was the nats or flies. It was unseasonably warm, and the bugs were out. Very close to Cody, and very nice compared to the private parks we stayed at in the past. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$10
Beautiful spot. Mountain views! We stayed here to visit Cody and it was really nice to be out of the crowds. Paddled my canoe on the lake and enjoyed a nice campfire. No hooks so lots of generator noise till 9:50pm. They have water and a dump station. Tent sights looked nice too with wind block fences. Lots of space here. This campground was about 5 miles from Cody and close to the highway with some road noise. There is another campground further up the road that looked nice and on the river that was further away from the road. Will try that one next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
We stayed here in July 2010 and loved it. Very quiet and relaxing. It may get windy, so take that into account when camping here. All in all a great place. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$17
We stayed in the first CG, North Shore which is closest to Cody. The pull through is made of asphalt with gravel. The rest of the site is on gravel, weeds and dirt. Not too much maintenance going on here. The sites are close to the lake which is nice. No large trees to interfere with our satellite and we had a decent Aircard and cellphone signal (Verizon). A dump station with drinking water is available. Busy campground and it's too close to the road with road noise all day. We drove to the other campground which is about another 4 miles away (to the west)to see what it was like). We thought that North Fork CG was nicer. There are two loop, one small loop close to the river and the other further away from the river with a view. The sites are situated on grass which was well maintained and it's further away from the highway with less noise. It's out in the open with trees but not enough to not be able to get in a satellite signal. Don't know if their is a cell signal there. This CG also has a dump station with drinking water. Both campgrounds have a lot of first come sites and it wasn't a problem even on the weekend there were sites available. I think next time we'll stay in North Fork. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
I'm from Texas and the State Parks I'm used to are nothing like Wyoming State Parks. This park really was no different than staying in a National Park campground except for the price. It didn't have much to offer. No showers, basic pit toilets and no power. The price I payed was really too much for what they offered. The lake was beautiful, but the shoreline was unfriendly with lots of rocks and wind. This was a one night stay for us so it wasn't too bad We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$12
This campground actually has 2 locations. There is one closer to Cody and another about 4 miles further away. We stayed in the one further from Cody. We stayed in an area that is near a small river with more trees. This was a bad idea for July. There were mosquitoes everywhere. Other than that, it was a very nice place and the price was right. We have a generator so we did not need to plug in. The next morning we were headed toward Cody and we passed the other campground (the same name) and there were quite a few motor homes and 5th wheels there. They seemed to know that this was the better spot. It has a better view but it is slightly more crowded because it is a little nicer. Overall, a great campground and the right price! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$25
A very good alternative to the hustle and bustle in Cody. The sites sit on a hillside overlooking the lake. Limited shade from the scattered trees. Sites and access roads are paved. Many sites needed additional leveling. Dump station access is convenient and potable water is available. Highway is not too far away but noise was not objectionable at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2004
$12
This is a little gem on the north shore of Buffalo Bill Reservoir, eight miles west of Cody. Actually, there are two campgrounds one is about half way along the north shore of the reservoir and the other is about 4 miles west where the North Fork of the Shoshone River enters the reservoir. I prefer the first one because of the views of the lake and that is the one that I will describe. The campground has three loops and each loop slopes down to the lake so that all campsites have a good view of the lake. Interior roads and sites are paved. All sites are pull-thru and long enough to accommodate the biggest rigs. No hookups, but a dump station and potable water spigots are available. Some trees but none are tall enough to provide shade. All sites have a concrete picnic table and a fire ring/BBQ grill. Fee is $12 per day ($8 for Wyoming residents). Some sites in the first loop can be reserved and the rest are first-come-first-served. The dam and visitor center are a few miles away. There is a rodeo in Cody every night during the summer and it is great wholesome family entertainment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$10
There are 2 separate campgrounds here. We stayed at the North Shore Bay. No hookups but a nice quiet site with an awesome view along the lake with plenty of room for 5ers and big rigs. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com