214297 User submitted reviews online!!
Canyon Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (307) 344-7311
CGID3340

Canyon Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
273
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   9   6   10   9   5   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
They couldn't get the sites any smaller or closer together. Personally, I will never go back. My 20' travel trailer barely fit in the space and I had to park my tow vehicle across the site partially in the road or give up the use of my awning. There were some good things about the campground. Laundry facilities were clean with plenty of washers and dryers. Showers were clean but they are located at the main office rather than in the actual campground. The only purpose of not locating them at the campground is they wouldn't be able to charge for their use (2 free showers per night per paid campsite) by those not camping in the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$14
Very pleasant check in and lovely site. Stayed 2 nights at Loop L 276, and it was level. Surprisingly we could use our AT&T phone for calls, and our Verizon ipad could be used sporadically for simple texting. Dish satellite didn't work because of the trees. We were going to stay 3 nights, but had to leave after 2 since the high altitude was bothering my husband. We would love to stay there again, but won't because of the altitude. It was $14 with tax and with using our Gold Park Pass card. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$15
Great campground in a beautiful setting! My only complaint was having to walk fairly far to the showers, but I found a path through the campground instead of the road and that made it shorter. Very friendly staff, beautiful setting. Plus I got the senior discount as I always do in an NPS campground, We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Our site was level. There was only room for our trailer and then the tow vehicle parked next to the trailer. It was very cramped. The picnic table was on a hill which made it difficult to sit on. the restaurants and gift stores were convenient. There was a bear roaming in the campground (we never saw it) so we were warned multiple times by park service staff to make sure all food/odors were in our tow vehicle. The rangers did patrol the park through the night to watch for bears. The showers are in a shower house with the laundry facility and run about $3.25 a shower with unlimited amount of water. The restrooms lacked soap all three days/nights we were there. We did not have Verizon service at all in the area. All the sites were shaded with pine trees. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$21
This was our favorite Xanterra managed campground in Yellowstone (we stayed in three). The sites are all wooded and private, with a lot of space to spread out. No hookups here, but Verizon phone service was available at some sites (not ours) and at the check-in/laundry building. There are not many sites for larger units (ours is a 31 foot motorhome), so you may need to call ahead. Our site was pull through, most were back-in. I have to give Xanterra a 10 plus rating for helping us change our reservations from Fishing Bridge to two other parks for our stay. They were exceedingly helpful. This campground is steps away from the Yellowstone Canyon area, and steps away from the visitor's center and Canyon area supply stores. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Huge campground with most of the RV sites in the northern loops. Sites are wooded, many are pull-through. Cold water only in the restrooms. Pine trees, birds, convenient to the Canyon section of the park but not easy to walk to places. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$17
We really loved the central location but felt this was a bit too busy at times. It's VERY convenient for food, gear and gas, and also it's great since it's right by the big falls. A bit too congested in July though. The forest is lovely and you are also close to Mt. Washburn, which is good for bears. We would stay here again, but not during peak times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
A real campground! Bugs, wildlife, trees, campfire pits, campsites nicely spread out, no phone, no wi-fi. Great base for exploring the park. Restrooms clean and had a separate room to wash dishes (cold water). Worked out well to really be on vacation with our little antique trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
Nice heavily wooded campground. Good base to explore Yellowstone. Next time, though, we would move to different campgrounds to eliminate so much driving. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$17
Excellent campground. Gotta be the best in Yellowstone. The sites were well spaced. Just make sure you are on a loop (we like loop J) and not along the access roads. Only things that were a hassle were that the dump station was closed/removed and the showers at the entrance were outrageously priced ($3.25). The staff enforces the trash/food restrictions with a vengeance. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Great Campground. No hookups and showers were fee for use. Lots of activities in park and staff were helpful and friendly. Will return We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com