223083 User submitted reviews online!!
Madison Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (307) 344-7311
CGID3344

Madison Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
278
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   9   9   7   8   8   9   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$21
Stayed in Loop A; friendly staff. The website says there are no utilities but we saw that some sites had water and electric, not sure about sewer. Maybe these sites were for sites for the campground hosts. Beautiful setting, nice pull thru and back in sites; our pull thru site was level perfect, and somewhat private. Quiet with very little hwy noise. No Verizon signal, even with a booster, but we knew that going in. We had no hookups, but would stay there again anyway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$24
The previous reviews are still accurate. Make sure you are honest about the length of all vehicles. Calling in a reservation is better than online for this campground. The rep will make sure your rig will fit the tight sites. We loved the short walk to the trout stream and the nightly Ranger talks. Very clean camp and friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$24
Great campground, all dry camping. Checking in was a breeze and the staff was super-friendly. We even got the 'bear lecture' at no extra charge. Had a pull through site right off of the main thoroughfare, which was a little tricky to negotiate with the trees and the slides. We finally figured it out though, after a lot of trial and error. Site was level and had a picnic table and fire pit. They have a strict no generator rule after 8 p.m., which is nice to keep the campground quiet. Have to keep the dogs off trails, but there was ample space to walk him on the pavement around the park. Plenty of space between us and our neighbors, so we never felt crowded. Loved the smell of the campfires. We'd stay here again on a return trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Nice campground in Yellowstone, just north of the big geysers and closest to the western park entrance. Does not have the large facilities of Grant Village (laundry, showers) but is very nice. Wooded campground and you can walk down to the trout stream and see the elk there. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Campground in a great location within Yellowstone National Park. Thirty minutes from Old Faithful and Norris Geyser Basin and 15 minutes from the city of West Yellowstone, MT. No hookups, but water and dump station available within campground. Easy walk down to the Madison River, where there were plenty of Bison and Elk to observe. We stayed in space F227 which was a pull through site with a great view of the mountains. Dogs need to stay on the pavement and off trails, but there was plenty of places to walk. Spaces appeared well spread out and check in process was not as bad as some earlier postings We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Parking at sites are kind of small for bigger units, one way roads in campsite means half the sites on each loop are set up so you open your door onto the road rather than into the site itself. I didn't like the idea that I would have to let our dog out on the road side of the RV. And to use the picnic table and fire pit, everything had to be hauled around the RV to the opposite side. I ignored the direction signs and entered the loop the wrong way so I could park with the door facing into the site. Registration was a bit of a farce, we were camped with another couple who was told they could only stay in their site and then would have to move to a different site, which they did. But their original site was never filled for the remaining nights that they stayed in the campsite. I guess their computer system must be as antiquated as their site setup. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
Much, much nicer than Fishing Bridge campground. Sites are well positioned, although tight for a 40 ft rig. Close to the river with lots of places to walk a dog. Even in the rain a pleasant place to stay. Very convenient to the west side of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
One of our favorite places to stay! Great NPS CG w/o hook-ups. No showers, but clean restrooms. Pretty crowded and full every night this time of year. Make reservations early! Short walk down to the Madison/Firehole rivers for a soaking! Great central location for the Old Faithful and Mammoth areas of the park. We'll be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
The staff was very friendly, the sites are pretty spacious and fairly level. The campground was quiet despite being large and near the roadway. We only stayed one night on our way back to TX from Glacier NP, wish we could've stayed longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
It was cool to stay in the National park but they were updating the electric so we had no hook up. So we had to run the generator. There is no store. There is little space with small sites. There is no sewer hook up but the dump station was free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$21
Well treed. Lots of little wildlife. Adjacent to river. Our site was covered in snow so we could not enjoy it. Staff was friendly. Dump station was clean. Sadly, a guy showed up two days into our stay and ran his generator continuously from 8 am to 8 pm. (Generator hours). Big rigs will find it tight (corners and sites). Most of the big sites were relatively level for this type of campground. We would stay again if we needed to book in advance or all other campgrounds were closed. Good location. Closest to Old Faithful geyser basins. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$9
Great experience camping in Yellowstone Park. Nice campground, pleasant staff. The elk passing through the campground was fun to see! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$49
The place was very nice and right on the lake. We stayed in space #7 which is the only space with hookups. A little pricey at $49. The rest of the spots looked nice though. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$19
Perfect park location for many attractions. This was our favorite park campground: l ots of trees and the sites were larger than other campgrounds in the park. Note: No hookups, No Showers, No Cell service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Very nice campground that runs along the Madison River with lots of river access. Elk common along the river. Lots of tall trees provide shade, but also make parking more difficult. We had to back our 30-foot trailer into our pull-through site. Has modern restrooms. There is a nice 3-lane dump station at entrance. No cell phone or Verizon aircard signal. There are only 3 places in Yellowstone that have cell signals: Old Faithful area, Mammoth Hot Springs, and Grant Village. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
Sites are mostly shaded with lodge pole pines in abundance. As others have stated there are no shower or laundry facilities in the campground. It is about 15 miles to West Yellowstone which has grocery stores, supplies etc. Please be aware that there are not many sites easily accessible for RVs greater than 30 feet- I estimate less than 10%. Most of the so called pull-thru sites will require larger Motorhomes and trailers to either back in to enter the site or back out to leave it. Road noise was not bothersome for us. Overall, we enjoyed our stay there. Rate reflects America the Beautiful Senior discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$11
Very nice large campground on the western side of Yellowstone. Roads and pull-through pull-outs are paved. Our truck and 28 foot trailer fit nicely on the site. There are no hook-ups and no showers. We stayed here six days while touring the park. It is cold in mid-June, had snow on the ground one morning, with snow/sleet all day! Generators are allowed 8 a.m. to 8 p.m., but our single battery would not run the furnace fan all night even with the thermostat dialed down to 55. Bison came wandering through the campground early one morning. The campground was full every night; reservations are recommended. Our experience here was pleasant, and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$21
Madison was a nice National Park Campground! Certain sites were more shaded than others, but everyone is surrounded by lodge pole pines. Certain campground loops had VERY clean, updated bathrooms, (but no hot water or showers). Others had clean, but outdated facilities. Campground roads were in great condition, we had no problem with levels, and enjoyed walking throughout the entire place. Madison was not close to any shower houses, so we found ourselves packing our shower stuff for our day of touring Yellowstone, and showering when we came across a shower house. We stayed in Madison for 7 nights - next time I will stay at several campgrounds for a few nights each- closer to each area of the park to discover, and we won't have to drive so much. Canyon Campground was beautiful (we drove through them all) and so was the West Thumb area. Fishing Bridge RV park - no campfires, VERY close together sites, and no picnic tables. Bridge Bay Campground was nice, and in the same area. Sacrifice the electricity (run on generator or battery) and stay somewhere other than Fishing Bridge. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
Crazy congestion at entrance in evening. Ten RVs lined up there and waiting on the highway until a workamper finally moved the rigs to the dump station area. Not enough staff and very slow checking-in. We were lucky and got a loop that had fairly level sites and not right on the road- with trees helping out. Pull thru sites supposed to be 30' and some back-ins are longer. Rate this year is $20.50, and park CG's are full every day. This one is okay, but not near a VC nor showers, but river is nice . Great recycling program. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
A pretty campground with lots of pine trees and elk nearby. We were bothered by the road noise--the highway leading into the park from West Yellowstone is right nearby. Our restrooms were modern, more upgraded than some in other loops, but there was no hot water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$17
This is a really great location on the western side of the park. Decent room in the rig area, lots of room in the tent area. High elk activity nearby, as well as good fishing. I don't like having to wait at the entrance before I can proceed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$19
Pretty pitiful pull-thru..just a short ,curved, left side bend in the road, not level, and close enough to be aware of everyone else. But the location is super, near the river and at night the stars are beautiful. Lots of sites available when arriving at 11am weekday but brusque Xanterra staff won't let you choose a site. Good luck on getting a decent site and try to just enjoy the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
We stayed at Madison and Bridge Bay, and this was the best of the two. Sites are in open lodgepole pine woodlands and shady. Pullthroughs are, indeed, tight. I agree with a previous reviewer that pullthroughs on the left make no sense. I rarely saw NPS law enforcement drive through, a bit of concern with that many people around, but we had no problems. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Bathrooms were kept quite clean. There are no showers. There are two dump stations at the campground entrance, along with two fresh water tank fill-up valves (separated). Fill up before going in. There are many fresh water spigots in the campground, but none have threads for a hose. Plan ahead as you register before setting up for a few days. The animals do run free, and if you walk over to the confluence of the Gibbon and Firehole Rivers, you WILL see bison. Trout fishing was very popular. Temperatures very cool at night, delightful in the day. A bit of traffic noise from the West Yellowstone highway, but nothing offensive. We would definitely come again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
This is a large campground. Ask not to stay in the A-loop, as this is where many of the employees stay with there RVs. Like others have said, having pull-throughs on your left is the dumbest idea ever. Can't use your awning, and have to walk around your RV to get to the site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$14
I know others love this park, but frankly it is over rated for Yellowstone. The site we were assigned to was basically a wide bend along one of the park loop roads. We edged as close as we could to a nearby tree just off the pavement, and were afraid to put the slide out for fear of it being hit by passing traffic. Please take note that we were in just a truck camper, and not a large RV. Yet we were assigned a totally unacceptable site, even for such a small RV. We saw numerous larger campers assigned to unacceptable sites for their size. Many sites here are over rated for anything beyond a tent site. Those who rated this park higher, probably were assigned to one of the more acceptable sites. If you can use hookups, then you are far better off at Fishing Bridge. Otherwise, good luck on being assigned a reasonable site. Luckily, we only stayed one night, and then had reservations for a week at Fishing Bridge. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$18
Excellent NP campground. Sites were pullouts (right and left) around campground loops. After watching several folks try to pull through the loops, it was evident that the best tact is to go past the pullout and then back in. Restrooms are heated (a plus on chilly mornings). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
Dry Camping and this campground does not have showers. The closest showers are 30 miles away at Canyon Village. The water at the entrance where you fill your tanks was great but the water in the campground had a rubbery taste. The roads are one way with sites on both sides and if you pull into a site on the left side correctly, your door faced the road. We were lucky that the site on the right was empty when we arrived and we looped through so our door would face the picnic table. Overall nice campground, convenient to the geyser areas but not to the wildlife areas. Canyon village is by far the better choice to dry camp in the park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$19
The campground is in a stand of Lodge Pole Pines,we had site A30, it had tons of room and a nice view of National Park Mountain. This park is very clean and professionally run. Since this was our first time to Yellowstone we had a lot of questions and the staff was very helpful and informative. Dump station has three lanes and is very clean. The three lanes help to keep the morning line up to a minimum. The location is central to Old Faithful, Canyon, and West Yellowstone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$18
Great site with plenty of space and a steady stream of friendly neighbors. It was difficult to cope with the lack of electricity and no generator between 8pm and 8am. It certainly did preserve the natural beauty, but being from the Midwest, we did not think to have more than one coach battery on board. As a consequence, the blower on the heater only lasted until 1am or so. We had to bring the babies into bed with us most nights. Not sure how the tent campers survived! It was a great experience, though. The hiking trails did not allow dogs, even down by the river. We hiked down there a few times (without the dogs) to see the elk. The sound of the elk at night was wonderful, and would have been drown out by generators, so we were grateful for the rules. Dogs are allowed on the campground roads, so we walked those a lot. Not a whole lot to do at the campground as far as hiking destinations. We took one day to drive the whole 100-mile loop in the park and see the sights. It was not too far to get to Old Faithful. One morning we drove there at 7am just so we could start the engine and turn on the heat! We were concerned by signs posted in the park about snow tire requirements. I was worried we would be stuck in the park. Snow was falling, and the signs said we needed snow tires to get out the east and west entrances. But the ranger assured us we would be fine, and that the ground was too warm to sustain any accumulation until late October. If you have friends coming to meet you for the day, be sure to tell them the site number. Our campsite neighbors had a problem because the campground staff wouldn't let visitors back there unless the registered site guests were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$26
Madison is a very good location for viewing the park. Reservations required. Know the overall length of your trailer and truck. This campground can accommodate larger rigs, but be sure to call ahead. No electric or showers available. Flush toilets on site. 3 stall dump station on site. Ice and firewood available. Park rules enforced. Bison viewing is great. Campground allows generators. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$17
We have stayed at Madison 6 times and it is one of the prettiest campgrounds of all! Although it has no utilities at site, one can get fresh water and dump and the brand new dump station. Wood and ice is sold at the CG. Showers must be purchased offsite. If you want a ""Yellowstone Experience"--this is it! We parked a 41 ft motorhome, car and caddy on our pull thru site and were able to get satellite TV (not easy). Bison wandered throughout the campground early one morning. Bison and elk grazed at nearby Madison River Valley, which the campground overlooks. The smell of wood burning is delicious! The CG is only 14 miles from West Yellowstone, and the road is one of the best for viewing wildlife. Free wifi is available at the W. Yellowstone Visitor Center. What more could you want (except more batteries!) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$18
Very clean and friendly. Quiet because the rules on this were strict and enforced. Wood available at office. Permitted campers to access the river after checkout (great fishing, btw). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$18
We stayed here the last week of May. Campground, restrooms, and showers are very clean. Most sites are fairly level asphalt. Park Host were very helpful and frindly. I pull a 36' fifth wheel which is a little large for this campground. I did see several large motorhomes however. No electric or water hook ups but there is a dump station and potable water available. The camp sites are not on top one another unlike fishing bridge and you can have a campfire. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$19
Very well run campground. PROS: Clean, Quiet, Professional staff, Many large sites with grass and trees, Many sites with good views, Good location for exploring YNP, Nice location on Madison River, Excellent evening and kids programs by rangers, Best dump facility I have ever seen. CONS: No hook-ups (upgrade batteries, buy a couple of water cans and conserve - if you stay a few nights, you'll pay for all of it with the savings over paying for Fishing Bridge or any of the private CGs nearby. June, 2004. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$18
Few amenities at this public campground, but plenty of natural beauty, smells of woodsmoke fire and nightsounds. Moose and bison wander right through the campground to the delighted squeals of children. Mostly shaded, level pull-thru asphalt sites and good spacing afford privacy. Dump station available. Room for big rigs but # sites limited, so reservations recommended if over 30ft. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$18
The sites are loops. We have a 33 foot 5th wheel & the site was tight. No showers. Great ranger programs im evening. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$18
Great spot for the "Yellowstone experience". We originally booked in for 3 nights and were lucky enough to extend it to 5. The sites were a good size and, due to strict rules to prevent bears, were very clean. The staff is very professional and friendly. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$18
One of the best campgrounds in Yellowstone, even though there are no hookups. Many sites are spacious and wooded and gives the camper a good feeling around the campfire at this National Park. I would stay here again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com