223083 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Willcox RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 47 user reviews. Phone: (520) 384-4986
CGID3500

Fort Willcox RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
26
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   5   8   7   6   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$19
We used this park as a base for visiting nearby Chiricahua National Monument. The gravel pull-thru sites are level. Although somewhat narrow the sites are adequate for big rigs with enough room for the small picnic table present at each site. We were surprised to find a small living room like clubhouse equipped with with free computer and videos. The two room clubhouse also included exercise equipment. We didn't check out the laundry or showers. The Verizon wireless signal was strong. We stayed for two nights and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$19
A nice overnight park. 30Amp Pull thrus and was able to stay hooked up. Good free WiFi. Waffles and coffee in the AM. Friendly staff. Rate is PPA. No Freeway or train noise as both some distance away. Park is a couple of miles West of town. The place to stop if you are just passing thru. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$19
Clean, quite campground with friendly hosts. It is all gravel with very level long pull through sites. Did not use bathrooms or showers, but they where being repainted. Paid $19 for one night with Passport America. We got waffles and coffee. Train track about 1/2 mile away, but could not hear it inside. About 1 mile from I-10 and easy in and out. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2013
$20
Price reflects Passport America. Kind a middle of the road park and good for one night only since we were passing through. Waffles were free and pretty tasty. Ladies Bathrooms did not work. Men's was open and only one shower and one toilet. Wife used the mens but was unable to take a shower since this was only one stall and did not want to take the occupancy since only one was open. It was right off the Interstate and quick access. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
The rate is PPA rate. Any place that serves free homemade waffles and coffee at breakfast gets at least an 8 in my book. The sites were good length, good 50 amp power, but did not hookup to water or sewer. AT&T worked good. This is one of our favorite parks when we are going from east to west or vice versa. Away from I-10 so limited noise. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$19
This was a passport America campground for us so it cost a little over $19 for a night. It is on the outskirts of Willcox with gravel and stone sites. Not much for shade but it was a good stop for us since we had to do laundry. The campground has cable, dump station, fitness center, full hookups, horseshoes, pull-throughs, showers, and Wi-Fi. It is two miles away from the historic district of Willcox with the Chiricahua Museum, Rex Allen Museum and Friends of Marty Robbins Museum. One can drive to the Chiricahua National Monument, Cochise Stronghold and Fort Bowie Historic Site. We used it for an overnight but some of the other campers stayed for a couple of days to travel to visit these other sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
This is a basic overnight park. No shade, tight fit, gravel lot. Could not access wi-fi. The manager gave lots of info on tours of the town and history, and was friendly. Waffle was definitely a plus. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$21
Very basic park. Gravel roads and sites. Very close together. Small laundry facilities. Passport America rate with 50amp service. Good 3G Verizon signal. Okay place to stay to access the excellent Chiricahua Nat'l Monument and Fort Bowie. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$19
Sites were level, was able to stay connected for the night. Water tap did not work, had been frozen and damaged. Wifi worked well. PA rate. Friendly check in, and the place did fill up my late afternoon. Easy entry/exit, quiet park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$19
Agree with most comments. Easy on/off of I-10. Noise not noticeable from I-10 and trains. Site was level, Wi-Fi and cable was good. Rate is PA rate. Would stay here again. Free coffee and waffles in the morning greatly appreciated before hitting the road. Owner was present when we arrived and was very friendly. Fresh pies are for sale and they looked great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$20
Small, overnight park. Stayed here with PA rate, 50 amp. There are not too many sites, and most of the pull-throughs filled up by mid-afternoon. This is a rural park with a few trailers and a few RVs. They serve a free breakfast (waffles) and coffee in the morning. A nice touch. Would recommend for an overnight stay. Nothing nearby, and this is on the west side of town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$19
Although the park is basic, the amenities were good. Clean showers, restrooms, and laundry which was fairly priced. It was evident that the owner takes great pride in keeping the area clean. Grassy RV parks in southern AZ are far and few between, and this was typical for the area. Old town Willcox is great, but sadly the oldest saloon in Arizona had just shut down and the Mercantile was next. The owner is great, and the waffles in the morning were awesome! The owner also bakes pies for sale, and she made us a shoofly pie specifically because we had never tried one before. The pies were awesome and very reasonably priced. We intended to stay one night but ended up staying a few in order to see the local area and eat pie! The Cattleman's Saloon was a short walk away, and we met some really nice Willcox natives there! We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
Basically a bare gravel lot, but this is desert Arizona. A fairly good base for exploring Chiricahua NM and FT Bowie. The owner can be hard to find since she vanished every day but is there later in the afternoon. Wi-Fi signal was OK. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$19
This is a good stopover park if you are traveling in southeastern AZ. Yes, it is a gravel parking lot with a few trees, but it is neat and spotlessly clean. The Wi-Fi is solid and there are a limited number of cable choices. Highway and train noise is minimal, which is important to us. Our rate was PA including tax. The free breakfast was great. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
Easy on/off for an overnight stay, which is what we used this park for. Rate reflects Passport America discount. Pretty much a gravel parking lot with hook ups, but the lady who owns/manages is so nice -- bakes pies to sell (our apple was not all that good), and free waffle breakfast is included. Small workout room/family room with computer and TV/library available. Quiet, good cable and Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$19
Free waffles and coffee got this park a high rating. Of course the level, graveled sites, very pleasant manager and general cleanliness of the place helped. The bathrooms and shower look somewhat old but are well-maintained and clean. However, it will cost you 50cents for a six minute shower. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$19
Here's the story: there's not much out here, but it's a nice, quiet stopping point along I-10. Gravel, dust, a few trees, large sites, and a dang friendly owner. Free waffles in the morning, and you can always buy a freshly baked pie. Best plus for us: no I-10 highway noise, just an occasional distant train, no whistles blown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$17
This is a passport America park which was honored. This is a small park but perfect for an overnight stay. There are also "do-it-yourself" Belgium waffles available in the morning which was kind of neat and different. The surprising thing was the coin operated showers but we will stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
Best waffles we've had in years!! Nice breakfast in AM, very friendly folks, good level pull through site and strong electric. Mostly long term but very friendly. Would make a good base to explore surrounding area! Would surely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$19
Nice park. Passport rate. Nice owner. Wi-Fi worked on and off; cable TV worked great. Good location to the national parks in the area. Waffles served in the morning. Would stay here if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$19
Friendly people. Sites were level. TV and Wi-Fi good. Showers cost 50 cents for 6 minutes. I know this is to save on water, but it's weird. Not much to do, but it's an OK place to stay for a night or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$19
Passport America rate with 30 amp was $19.27. This is an easy, inexpensive overnighter. Close to I-10, pull through sites, level, quiet, free waffles and coffee in the morning. It's pleasant enough, and we'd stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$17
We have stayed at this park over the years using PPA when passing through. It has level clean sites with Wi-Fi, cable TV and full hookups. We were fortunate to be here when the Sandhill cranes were migrating and saw them flying to and from their over night camp. Don't know if you call it roosting. The owner provides free coffee and waffles for breakfast and both are fresh. The coffee is great and the waffles you make yourself, in a pro waffle iron and take back to your camper. I have not had waffles that good in years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$27
What a great find! We called after-hours for an unexpected stay-over when Interstate-10 was closed in the entire state of NM. A friendly offer to pull in for the night was very welcome. It was a frigid night and the easy, large pull-through site immediately inside the front gate was a breeze. Departure in the AM was equally easy: straight ahead and out the exit gate! Too cold to use any amenities, but this park really saved us. And, they had free waffles and coffee in the AM! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$17
Very nice, quiet park just west of Willcox. We stayed one night. The rate was PPA. The owner was incredibly nice. Waffles, coffee, and conversation with other happy campers were a special morning treat. The park is well maintained and clean. Bathroom and laundry were good, Wi-Fi was good. The only downside was space: campers were packed in very tight. Even so, everyone was very friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$27
This is an adequate park for an overnight stay. The owners are very helpful and offer waffles for breakfast. The sites are very narrow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$26
Couldn't ask for a nicer campground. Full hookups, good Wi-Fi and very friendly staff. With waffles for breakfast, what more could you ask for? Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$17
Very nice little clean park. Good camp rate using Passport America. Enjoyed the breakfast waffles and coffee. The owner was very friendly and helpful with our late arrival. Very clean restrooms and park grounds. Would camp here again for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$15
Was a small RV park but was well kept and people were friendly. Was able to park a 38' RV with a toad, which I thought was good for such a small park. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
This park is pretty simple but all the facilities work. It is just far enough from Interstate 10 and the train track to be quiet. Staff is friendly ,and they have complementary coffee and waffles in the morning. Rate is PA. A nice park for a one night stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
Good for an overnight stop. Long, level pull-through sites. Hook-ups are OK. Convenient to Willcox to visit Rex Allen Museum. Off Interstate 10 and far enough away from railroad to be quiet. Good area for dog walking. Small rec room with TV, books, puzzles, and some exercise equipment. Have stayed here 3 times on trips along I-10. This is a Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$16
A mostly gravel parking lot style campground with old mobile homes which served as the office and shower facilities. The showers were clean but old and showed many repair jobs; but they worked. We were annoyed to have been quoted $12.50 as a PPA rate; and then charged an additional $4.00 for "utilities" for our one-night, 9 hour stay. We obviously did not need A/C and did not even use the sewer hookup; so $4.00 for one night is outrageous. They should quote $16.50 per night in the first place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
Not a whole lot of amenities, but they do have clean showers and are very helpful. Great breakfast (free). Will come again on our way home. Thanks. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
We got a friendly greeting from the owner. Yes, you really can drive the semicircle in front of the office. The sites are level gravel. There is easy access from highway but watch the dip as you exit. There is a 50 cents to use the shower for 6 minutes. The exercise equipment is outdated and broken. There were lots of rabbits in the evening. It is okay for an night stopover. We used our Passport America discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
It is a very good overnight stop with all pull through sites. The owner is very nice. We would stay here again. This is a Passport America Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$24
Fort Wilcox RV Park is an awesome park. This place sits off the highway and it is the nicest, well maintained park I've been in. Its very clean and quiet. The trains that go by are very soothing.. The other tenants who live there are very nice and friendly! The current owner /manager is a very nice lady who strives to make your stay comfortable. Thank You Fort Wilcox we will come there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$16
Clean pull throughs. Easy access from freeway.Only negative was some traffic noise, as our space was near the road. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$15
This is a very nice park and very reasonably priced. We liked the level pull through site, free WiFi, and cable TV (limited channels). The office personal were very helpful and interesting to visit with. This was just an overnight stay for us and was ideal for that purpose. We will stay here again next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$13
The manager was very nice. This was just an overnight stop and fit the bill. Clean, wide site and level. We would stop here again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2008
$14
I reviewed this park this past March giving it I thought a good review. We stopped here for the night on our return trip, and at all 3 sites that we tried to hook up to our hard wired surge protector kept refusing to allow the power to the coach. After about an hour of messing around my husband went to the office to let the lady there know that there was a power problem. She refunded the park fee. My husband said she didn't say a word, just put it on the counter and turned around and walked out. My husband came back to the coach told me what was going on, and he proceeded to put the 50amp cord away and hook our Brake Buddy back up on the car. I was programming our GPS, and we were about to leave when she drove over in her cart (broom stick) and told us to get out. It hadn't even been 5 minutes from the time my husband left the office, stowed a few things, and walked back into the coach. We have never been treated so poorly in the 3 1/2 years we have been full timing. Maybe she was having a bad day, but we weren't exactly having fun messing around with the lousy electrical system of theirs. We left and stayed in Benson, AZ. We pulled in, hooked up, and that was that. We won't ever be staying at Fort Willcox RV Park again. There was no excuse for her treatment of us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$14
Nice level sites, good hookups. Very friendly manager and was very informative on area activities. We would have missed a few things if not for him. Must see Tombstone. Park fairly quiet, beautiful sunsets and moon at night. Very easy on/off interstate. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$12
This is what a 'pit stop' should be. Full hook ups w/50 amp for $12 a night (Passport America rate) Nothing fancy but clean. Only 1 mile off Hwy 10 (the only turn you have to make is into the campground). We stayed 2 nights and took in Fort Bowie National Park, Chiricahua National Park and Cochise Stronghold (all can be done on a loop route) on a day trip. The campground did fill up each night we were here - you can call ahead an make reservations. We will stay here again when we pass through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$13
This was a great little park for an overnighter or to explore the area. Since we don't care about swimming pools, rec. rooms, etc. we were happy to have a quiet spot with good water pressure, electric and sewer. We used our Passport America, and they gladly accepted it. Very nice, friendly people at the desk. Good cell service, aircard and sat. reception. Sites were gravel and dirt, but they were level and the area was very clean. You can hear the trains at night but once we fell asleep they didn't wake us up. Would be happy to stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$12
Passport America Park. On Bus I10, traffic is light at night. New Mexican food restaurant on the edge of town, on the left as you enter town. 1-2 miles. Very good! Convenient to visit Chirachawa Nat'l Monument. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$9
Great overnight campground which gladly accepts Passport America. Very clean, some traffic noise as it borders Business I10. Would gladly stay there again for an overnight or if I had business in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2005
$20
Regular rate is $20, Passport America Rate is $10. I agree with the above review. This park is easy off/on I-10, about one mile off the highway. Streets and sites are gravel and level. They have pull throughs for overnighters, you don't have to unhook. This park has few amenities, but is quite adequate for overnight or even longer if sightseeing in the area. Note to Big Rigs: Pull in the gate, stop and walk to the office to register. There is a very tight turn in front of the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$18
This is a Passport America Park and we stayed there a week with 50 amp service for $63. The sites are gravel and were smooth and level. The park host was very helpful about things to see and do. There are lots of interesting things to see within a short driving distance of the park. I would recommend this park to anyone who wants a quiet, clean park to stay in while sight seeing the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com