224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Root 66 RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 58 user reviews. Phone: (928) 524-2972
CGID3529

Root 66 RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
22
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   5   4   5   5   4   3   4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2014
$19
The 19.50 rate reflects 50 amp site via Passport America (cash only). The 30 amp sites were 16.50. As others described, it's a rundown place in the middle of nowhere, just a place to stop for the night, or if you're touring Petrified Forest NP. We stayed in a 50 amp site near the road rather than the designated narrower sites in the back, so there was plenty of room for our 4 slides. Electric and water pressure were fine and there was a sewer connection. Surprisingly the wifi worked great from our site, which is good because our Verizon 4G was very intermittent. No cable TV; Dish satellite worked fine; didn't try to use the antenna for locals. Constant noise from trucks on I-40, but not something that kept us up. The family who checked us in was very nice. All in all a very good overnight experience for a decent price, exactly what we needed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2014
$20
All gravel, basic park with some level sites. Mostly pull-throughs. Serviceable utilities that seem well maintained. Next to freeway, so light sleepers may have issue. At $19.50 Passport America rate ($3 for 3rd person), it is a marginal value for no amenities, but it is an acceptable one night spot if you have reached your driving limit. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$16
We stayed the two times. The park is basically dirt and gravel. There is a large building there that may have been a store in the past . The motel is in shambles and either needs to be torn down or rebuilt. The couple running it are very nice. The park is up for sale. The park needs a complete renovation. Might be a pretty good investment if someone has the funds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$16
Price cited is wit a Passport America discount. Campground isn't the prettiest, but great for an overnight. Yes, the motel is empty and most of the doors and windows are removed, but it isn't scary. Overnight OK, a resort it's not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
What others said. Quick access to I-40. OK for overnight. Rundown and for sale. Lots of construction workers. Had 50 amp but had to stretch cable across to adjacent site. Didn't use water or sewer. Passport America rate $19.50 for one night. Tight site for 45', didn't open slides. Wi-Fi didn't work, Verizon 3G didn't connect to Internet. Surprisingly had strong AT&T signal. Site was level and quiet since we were on back side. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$16
Very old RV park. All gravel and dirt roads and pads. No trees, no activity center or rec room or other amenities. 30 & 50 amp and FHUs. Most sites are level, long and wide pull thru. Clean but dated and old. Right off I-40 and traffic noise. 3 bar Verizon cell signal and only 3G mobile hot spot, but good satellite signal. Office staff friendly and helpful. No monthlies. About 8 miles east of the town Holbrook and 20 miles west of Petrified Forest Nat’l Park. We will stay there again for a nite while in the area. $16 for PA with FHU. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$16
Not the Bates as others indicate, but just a quick jump off and back on I-40. Close to Petrified Forest and Painted Desert. Wife kind of liked it, but not the fanciest park in town. Currently up for sale. Only one bathroom, no shower, does not flush too well. Did have sewer service. We would stop back if we were passing through. Only 3 campers there when we were there. The motel part is abandoned. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2014
$18
We stayed 2 nights at this campground, since we wanted to visit the Petrified Forest and the Painted Desert. We were very saddened by the neglected state of the entire site The old, dilapidated, empty motel with doors left open is very creepy. The owners are very friendly, but the place leaves a lot to be desired; major cleanup is needed. The only thing we liked about it was it was just on Route 66 which made it somewhat nostalgic. We stayed with Passport America. The price they charged is definitely much too expensive for the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$16
We picked this park because it was on the PA list. It was a bit spooky at first. There was an old broken down motel on the property that reminded me of the Bates Motel in the movie Psycho. Some old run down RVs in the lot, too. The owner was very nice. We just used electric. There was no sewer. Decided to just spend one night, so didn't even plug into the water, just spent the night and left. Noisy because close to highway, but quieted down at night. Probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$15
This is a basic high desert RV park run by friendly onsite owners. Everything was clean and worked properly with a nice laundry. It is very convenient to The Painted Desert and The Petrified Forest. We had a great 3 day stop here and would recommend it. The rate was for PA, but they were very generous in accepting other discounts. I don't think they allow tents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$16
This RV Park is just a gravel parking lot just off of interstate 40. So plan for some highway noise. The P/A rate with tax was $16 and that was too much for what it was. However, it provided electric & water(we did not use the sewer)and we were back on the interstate the next morning. It is just barely OK for a stopover. If there was a nice park closer to The Painted Desert & Petrified Forest we would have stayed there instead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$17
Thursday, May 23 – Root 66 RV Park, Sun Valley (Holbrook) AZ. This is a campground right off interstate 40 at exit 294 in the eastern part of the state. It is a small park with sites right next to each other with full hookups. It is run by a nice family and we checked in early in the morning so that we could spend the day at the Petrified Forest National Park about 17 miles north off interstate 40. We were coming from the west so it was easier to get a site in the morning and then drive to the park and take the park road from the north entrance to the south entrance and pick up 180 north to Holbrook and back to the campground. Holbrook is a great place to get gas with reasonable prices. This is a Passport America park so the cost was $16.50. Showers are extra and there is not much to do in the campground. It is a good overnight stop right off the highway and you can hear the cars and trucks from your site. There is 24 hour check in and checkout is at noon. It is a safe place to camp with reasonable costs. If we were traveling through AZ again and needed a place to stay on our travels we would stop again. It is also located on the historic route 66. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
I have absolutely no idea how this park (and I use the term loosely) ever made the PA book. What a spooky place. I arrived after dark, and even with a lantern and two dogs in tow, I did not feel safe while roaming around looking for the mythical bathroom and shower that were apparently located somewhere within a derelict and partially demolished motel. Finally, I decided "No way,Jose! I've seen this movie, and I know how it ends!" Best to scurry on back, lock the trailer door, and just use my porta potty and a baby wipe instead of waiting to stumble upon the axe murderer that surely was hiding behind the next darkened and abandoned motel room door. Ye gods, what a place. There were plenty of very expensive rigs at this park, and it looked like some of them were there for an extended stay. But for the life of me, I can't understand why unless there just isn't another choice nearby. The park is right next to the highway and quite noisy at night. The manager was very friendly and helpful, but boy oh boy, he sure doesn't have much to work with. I hate to say it, but the only thing that is going to improve this RV park is the judicial use of a bulldozer and a couple of dump trucks. The creepiness factor is just off the charts after dark, and there's too much old equipment and masonry lying around when the sun comes up. This park looked and felt like the sort of place where children go missing. I was not comfortable camping alone, not even with my trusty hounds on board. It wasn't the manager, and it wasn't the other guests, who were actually very thoughtful. It was location location location, and this park looks like the location for filming a low budget slasher movie. If this post-apocalyptic dump meets the standards of Passport America, then Passport America does not meet MY standards. I won't be renewing my membership. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
This is not a luxury park, but this was fine by me, since I am usually not interested in paying for amenities I don't use (pools, playgrounds, and so forth). My site was near the interstate, but I didn't find noise to be a problem. It was perfect for a 1-night stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
This Park is small, with a few 50 amp, narrow sites--all gravel with a few trees. No Wi-Fi and Verizon MiFi worked, but was very slow. This park is convenient for a one night stop--next to the I-40 and close to Painted Desert National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Just an overnight stopping point or good place to stay to see Painted Desert/Petrified Forest but that's about it. Park has no amenities whatsoever. Nearest services are in Holbrook, AZ. Our rate was more than advertised in Passport America book and website and also TL directory. We would definitely not pay the full $32/night rate for this place and would not stop here again. Park is up for sale. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
This is a one night stop with nothing available for a family. There is one or two pull through sites that are good for large rigs with four pull throughs available for smaller units. There is one large back in site. The laundry room is really great and clean. There are some buildings that look like they are ready for demolition and are not used. Park is up for sale by owner. Owners/workers are very nice and helpful. The price is a PA price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$16
Although the park is a no-frills place, it had several pull through sites, and friendly staff. The interstate highway is close, but we had no trouble sleeping, possibly because the humidifier we run at night makes enough white noise to drown out traffic sounds. It was a very convenient place to spend the night with easy in and out access. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$17
This is a OK park with a good location for stopping for a night or two while crossing AZ. The owners were very nice and stayed up late for mr to check in. I would stay here again. Price was through Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2011
$16
This park is about 200ft from I-40 so if you don't mind the noise from interstate truck traffic this is a great place to stay on your way across AZ for a night. It's a Passport RV park, very reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$17
PA rate for 30 AMP. 50 AMP is available. The CG is close to I-40 exit 294. The CG is crushed rock and loose gravel. About half the sites are full hook-up but they are back in sites off Sun Valley road north edge of the CG. Owners are friendly and helpful. CG Wi-Fi is pretty bad. Our wireless cards pulled a strong signal and cell phone coverage was okay. This is a good place to locate to do the Painted Desert & Petrified Forest National Parks. Nearest services are in Holbrook, 8 miles west on I-40. Traffic noise wasn't bad. No CTV and 3 local on-the-air stations by antenna. Its an okay CG for a stop over but we likely won't be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$18
This is a basic campground. Full hook-ups, but not much else. The price I've listed reflects the Passport America discount. I do not think there are bathrooms and showers. The park is centrally located for visiting Holbrook (don't miss the Museum and the teepee motel) and the Petrified Forest. The owners are extremely nice and helpful. The campground is close to the highway, but the sound did not bother us at all. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
Despite the previous reviews, this is a good place to stop for a night or two. We found the staff very friendly, the grounds clean and neat, services where good. It is off the highway about a half mile, road noise was minimal, but half the sites are just off the access road. There is plenty of room between you and the road. The only traffic down this road was to the RV park. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$16
This park would be OK for an overnight stay, no more. We stayed 2 nights to we could go to the Petrified Forest. The sites are close together, we didn't sit outside as we were too close to the next unit. Plus it has a lot of local workers that start their trucks early in the morning. We used Passport America discount, definitely not worth the full price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$16
A sparse but adequate park. Not a vacation destination, but a good value for an over night stop when you are not looking for anything fancy. Passport America Discount We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$17
OK park but only for quick overnight. We did not have sewer hookups available and the sites near us did not either. There may have been sewer in another section that looked like it was fully occupied with full time residents. We had a small pull through site but it was adequate. VERY close to the interstate which made it VERY convenient. We thought it might be noisy but it wasn't bad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$17
We read the reviews and decided to stay here anyway. Good decision. Is it a KOA? No, but it's just as clean and friendly. Road noise is hardly noticeable at night. Great sunset view. Close to Petrified Forest National Park and Painted Desert. Level, gravel sights, good internet (I'm using it to write this review). We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$16
OK park. Right on freeway so a little noisy. Good location to visit Petrified Forest National Park. Friendly owners. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2011
$16
This park has seen better days, much better days. We stayed because of it's closeness to I-40 and the P/A rate. Lots of broken down buildings, did not look at the shower room. Afraid to. This being said, we would stay overnight again if in the area and needed an easy on/off park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
I had already read the reviews, and did not plan to stop here. Unfortunately, severe high winds made me change my mind. The place is a defunct motel, with sites behind and in front of motel. We chose behind the motel in hopes of cutting some of the buffeting winds. Wi-Fi is useless, off more than on, with extremely weak signal. Road sounds are loud all night, and absolutely no view. Only stay as a last resort. Would not stay again, and certainly not worth the $15.50 paid. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$14
This is an older campground. Water electric and sewer are all adequate. Very near to I-40 so there will be highway noise. Sites are all gravel and are flat and level. Good place for an over night stop. With doors and windows closed the highway noise is tolerable. Owners are friendly and helpful. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
Very basic campground. We would not pay the full amount for this park. There is nothing around here. We stayed here due to the price only. The road and sites are all gravel. The water pressure was very good. The owner/manger met us as we pulled in and collect our three night fee, cash or check only. We never saw the office, store or laundry room. They were always locked. Easy access to I-40. We were in a pull-through in the front of the park, #20. We did not hear any noise from I-40. Good for overnight or very short stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
Good, easy to use WiFi. Park has lots of highway noise. Passport America rate was $14.50. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
This is a easy access park for travelers. Several pull-through spots. Good water pressure, nice laundry. We stayed under Passport but AOR also available. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
Basic park, gravel sites. Constant loud noise from highway. Very nice, friendly, helpful owners. We would not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
Stayed here for one night on our way east. Pretty marginal park but fine for one night. Price reflects Passport America rate. Good electrical and didn't use water or sewer and site was level gravel. Very easy access to the Interstate. The sites are pretty close together, at least the three with 50amp sites, which makes it cozy with your neighbor next to you when your slides are out. We'd stay here again for the price and convenience. One other thing, we noticed a For Sale sign out front so it might be worth a call to see if their still in business. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
Agree with previous comments. Good for a night or two to visit attractions in the area. Price is Passport America including 50 amp. Laundry cheap: $1 to wash or dry. Bathroom building locked unless you ask for it to be open. We would stay here again. Road noise, but very convenient on and off I-40. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$17
Price is based on Passport America membership and staying two nights for $34. The park had solid 50 amp electrical power and was convenient to visit the Petrified Forest National Park. Although the park is located close to Interstate 40, there are three sites, 20 through 22, where we were assigned that are furthest from the freeway and very quiet. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$23
This a nice overnight stay park. Not much scenery, but it was a blessing to find. Full hook-ups were available and well placed. There is a great petrified wood pile, reasonably priced. The owners were friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$19
This campground is just a few yards from the Interstate so it is noisy. Once inside our motorhome, however, we really could not hear anything. This is a bare-bones place with very nice owners/managers, but should be used only as a base camp for a short stay to visit area attractions such as the Painted Deserts and Petrified Forest. We did not use the restroom or shower so cannot comment on them. The Wi-Fi connection was very good at our site, #22. I would stop here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$15
This is an OK place for an overnight. It provided free, but poor quality Wi-Fi. Single private restroom with good shower. Next to highway so you can hear it well. It is an older park with mostly long term residents. Big rigs can be accommodated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$14
This is just off the interstate and convenient to area attractions. We stayed four days in a pull-through site. The managers were very helpful and friendly. Our Sprint phones and Verizon Air Card worked. We did not use the facilities so we can't comment on them. We will stop here again on our way through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
We were in lot 19, which is closest to the interstate, but the road noise was not loud enough to boher us. The bathroom is not the greatest, but we've seen worse. The owners are very friendly and most helpful if you have questions or any problems. You can walk through the petrified rock garden and pick out the one you want for a very reasonable price. What we liked most were the chickens and rooster who roam freely throughout the park. You can even buy fresh eggs. This place is so quaint, it's cute! We stayed here three nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$17
We read the other reviews of this RV park. Decided to go ahead and splurge and get the 50 Amp on Lot 21. Road noise from I-40 is not bad on Lots 20, 21, and 22 which are pull-through lots. Regardless of the other reviews we read, we are not at all disappointed. The hostess was very accommodating and told us if we needed anything to come to their house directly in front of the park. $17 including tax plus full-hook-up (PA discount)is not a bad deal for a park with 50 Amp service. We are very pleased. We plan to go to the Petrified Forest tomorrow and just wanted a place to stay for a couple of nights. Yes, we recommend this park and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
This is a Passport America Park but it looks more like a trailer trash dump. The pull through sites we had were so small we almost didn't get in. If you ask for 30 amp, you got it, but it wasn't a full 30 amp site so you had to be very careful when using it. If you're driving through and can't find a Wal-Mart this is better than nothing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$15
This is a Passport America rate of $14.50. We squeezed into site #6, a 30-amp, full hookups, back-in site, which was a little farther away from the interstate. This is an overnight stop-on-the-side-of-the-road park with no amenities but within reasonable driving distance to the Petrified Forest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$14
I guess it's all in the perception. We stayed two nights at Passport America rate and I have been in parks with as much or more road noise. Yes it is on the Interstate and there is some noise but it pretty much died down after 11 pm. I didn't hear the rooster and got the wi-fi code which worked pretty well. We were in site 17 next to the Interstate and office. There are some sites farther from the road and I assume they are the "deluxe" 50 amp sites. The owner lives on site and is available. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2008
$15
Passport America rate $14.50. 50a available for additional $3 charge. WIFI available but needed code, they failed to give me, so I just used my Vz cell phone with decent signal. Voltage reading on 30a hookup was marginal for worked ok. Absolutely nothing nearby except the highway noise. Nothing fancy here, but works for a short stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2008
$14
Very noisy, right off Interstate 40, will not stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2008
$14
What can I say that hasn't already been said, except the rooster has no sense of time, waking us at 2AM!!! And 2:30, 3, etc. Road noise on top of that. I guess for an overnighter it's passable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2008
$14
Passport America. If all you need is a place to park to visit Petrified Forest and Painted Desert, this is fine. Full hookups and we were gone all day long. If you need any other services, this is not the place for you. It was run down, although they were working on it, old rigs parked here and there - but that didn't bother us as we were there only at night. Sites were level, clear to the sky for satellite reception, cell phone worked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2008
$12
A former old motel turned RV park. OK for an overnight stop for Petrified Forest National Park (closest one) but even with Passport America discount, price is too high and very noisy with I-40 traffic. Most spaces are on backside of building that was formerly motel units (now available for tents?) with frontage road in front of tow vehicle, which prevents wi-fi reception but was told could go to office area. When asked about bath/shower was directed to building with combined unit for one person only; appeared clean but did not use. Staff member was friendly, meeting us at vehicle upon arrival. Cash/check only. Next time we would stay in Holbrook which is only 5 miles to the west. Note: Sun Valley not shown on most maps and no sign to exit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$13
This is an overnight stop for us. We can get in, hookup to water and electric in a hurry. We use one of the pull throughs, so can keep the car attached. After we put up the satellite dish we are set. The campground is quiet except for the I-40 noise. We have stopped many times on our way to and from our home in Arizona. I use either Coast to Coast or Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$16
We stayed here using Passport America, but it still seemed a little high for what we got. There were probably a dozen rigs here, but it is definitely just an overnight place, although the rig next to us was staying for almost a week because of a gap in their schedule. We had 50 amp service but didn't hook up to anything else. WiFi was advertised, but worked only on the porch of the run down home of the hosts, big dogs and chickens. But, we got all the FREE eggs we wanted! Very convenient to I-40. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$13
Nothing fancy, just level gravel spaces with full hookups. The WiFi worked at the sites closest to the office and at the picnic table on the office front porch. I-70 is very close and the highway noise would be bad without the air conditioner running. Conveniently located for visiting the Petrified Forest National Park and Painted Desert. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2005
$24
This place is just a one night stop over kind of park. It is just off the highway, and some of that noise is heard in the park. The buildings are run down and it was at one time a motel. Looks like some of the rooms either caught fire and fell down, or, fell down from neglect. The few RV spaces were level, but it was a combination of dirt and gravel. The 30/50 amp power was good, and the water pressure fine. We had a sewer site and that also worked well. There is nothing to do in this park, no play ground, no pool and no club house. We had at least 10 other RV'ers in the night we were there. Everyone left in the morning. They did not accept any charge cards. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2005
$20
We stopped here as it was a Passpot America park. It was so dilapadated and unappealing that we did not stay. The shower consisted of a run down looking single wood structure. There are gutted buildings. It didn't have a very good feel to it and is within a few feet of I-40. Light sleepers beware. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2004
$20
A park you will talk about in future years. Quite rundown and "in the middle of nowhere". A circular ditch filled with muddy water bordered by old tires painted white was dubbed the "swimming pool" by us. No phone on the premises. No office-a native person meets arriving RV's and collects cash. Remnants of an old motel building on the property which probably houses varmits and such. It appears that at least two families and several dogs live on the property. We were approached by two scruffy homeless persons shortly after arrival. Don't answer a knock on the door and keep your Smith & Wesson handy if you stay here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com