219820 User submitted reviews online!!
William Heise County Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (760) 765-0650
CGID361

William Heise County Park

Camp Information
Sites
103
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   8   7   8   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
We stayed for a cub scout campout; it was a lot of fun. We stayed in site 45 which was big and very isolated. There is a leaning tree and we came in after dark so it took us 1/2 hour to maneuver on the spot. We have a 35 foot 13 foot high rig. Has shade and sun. The park is real nice with trails, and lots of real nature. This area of park is non-hookups and there is no generator use in the park. Nice county park; there are horseshoes. Restrooms were clean. There are nice cabins to rent. They are new as the old ones burned down a few years ago in the fire. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$23
The park is very nice. It is surrounded by trees. There is large meadow for kids to play ball or run around. The hiking trails are well-marked and easy enough for family. The RV loop is a bit tight. Some of them are like parking spaces. Others are a little bit farther apart. The no-hookup sites are definitely more spacious. The bathroom and shower is well-maintained. There is hot and cold water, except the water is yellow-ish, probably not good for drinking. The dump site is right next to the bathrooms. Overall we enjoyed the park. Julian is only 10 minutes away for yummy apple pies. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$15
Our stay at William Heise was our first time dry camping in our new TT. While there is one loop of full hook-up sites, I would recommend trying one of the other non-hookup loops if you are self-contained. The non-hook-up sites tend to be much larger and are further apart from each other. Our site had a large pad area and then a tent and fire pit area down below, giving us a lot of room and privacy. The facilities were very clean. Just walking through the expansive campground loops in the morning/eveving was very nice. There are also several hiking trails with trailheads in the park. The town of Julian is close by and makes a nice day trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
Great area to camp. The sites are close together but the area is beautiful. No generators are allowed at any time. We made sure we had electric hookup. We will be going back again. I would have given it a 10 if the sites were further apart and if you could use generators. Generators would give you access to more of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Good park, trails, meadows etc. RV loop spots are very close together. (not even rooms for awnings at some rows) Lots of deer/turkey/wildlife. Would definitely recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$19
This is a great park. They have electric only hookups. They have potable water, but it is recommended to bring water in the winter, because when we were there the pipes froze. We got a couple of channels with our antenna. The restrooms were not clean, only because there was no water - the showers are free and clean. This is a beautiful park with trails & wildlife - would stay again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$15
Best Park Ever. We go often. People are nice and bathrooms are wonderful! Lots of wildlife. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$18
This is a lovely park in a lovely location. All their hookup sites are grouped around a paved ring, but there's open space around and between them. We were plagued with no-see-ums this trip, but not on other trips. No hummingbirds! Staff was a little less accommodating than at other San Diego County parks. Heise is very popular so make reservations, and make them early! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$18
This is a county campground near Julian. There are no hookups but water and dump station are free. Located at about 5,ooo feet in the oak and pine covered hills by Julian, this campground is quiet and clean. Showers and bathrooms are heated in winter. Every time we stay we see dear and wild turkey, woodpeckers, etc. Nice hiking trails. Group camping available. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com