206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Tawakoni State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (903) 560-7123
CGID3666

Lake Tawakoni State Park

Camp Information
Sites
78
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   9   9   9   10   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
First experience in a Texas State Park and it's a big thumbs up except for the daily entrance fee of $5. I've stayed in numerous State Parks and they usually wave the daily entrance fee when camping. That being said, the facilities are clean, sites are very large, level, and nicely spaced so you aren't right on top of your neighbor. Lake is popular fishing spot. One camper caught a 45 lb catfish while I was there along with his regular 30-40 other fish. Tried using my Verizon MiFi but no luck getting internet access. Phone access was minimal bars, too. Park Staff very friendly and emphasize they are there to help. Park very busy but never full. Spring break and lots of kids. Quiet at night though. I would stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$18
Lake Tawakoni State Park: This was our first time camping at this state park. In the interest of full disclosure, I’m a big fan of the Texas State Parks. I really prefer them to most commercial campgrounds. When we arrived there were only two full hookup campsites left. We picked a pull through site (#78), which they said was about 60 feet long. I think it was actually a little longer because we had no problem with our 39’ fifth wheel, our F-350 crew cab long bed and my daughter’s Corolla all parked in the site. They have a total of 16 full hook-up sites. (According to the web site.) It looked like there were quite a few large sites for large rigs. The Texas State Parks has had some budget “challenges” the past few years and some of the parks have become run down. That did not seem to be the case here. The concrete sites seemed to be somewhat new, and the asphalt roads were in good shape. There was plenty of room for our four slide outs also. We were a little close to one tree. (We could have moved up a little but that would have put us further from the sewer.) There was quite a bit of shade. They had some “double wide” campsites where there were two back in sites next to each other with a doublewide drive between. Those sites would probably be nice if you were camping with another family. The restrooms were clean. The ones in the area we were in were the more traditional variety with a Men and Women’s side. In one of the other areas there was a unisex building that had individual rooms with toilet and shower. They have a beach, but the lake level was very low, so the sand stopped before the water started. They did not have a playground. They did have a store that sells bait and rents boats, but it was closed both days we were there. The park has several trails. Since it had rained the day we arrived, they were muddy, and we only explored the Spring Point Trail. If you’re not familiar with the Texas State Parks, the camping fee does not include admission to the park. If you do not have a Park Pass, the fee is $5.00 per day per person 13 years and older. Also if you have any more than two vehicles you must pay an additional $4.00 per day per extra vehicle. Since a trailer counts as a vehicle, my daughter had to pay for her car. (But not for herself since she also has a Park Pass.) If you are going to stay at a Texas State Park more than a couple times in a year, the Park Pass pays for itself. The rates quoted for this review reflect the average nightly rate with a Park Pass and a coupon for ½ price for one night. If you like to get out once in a while, we found a very nice Italian restaurant in Wills Point. It was Verona’s Italian Café. It’s right on 4th Street (FM 46.) The food was great and the prices very reasonable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
First Time at park. Nice State Park setup. Sites pretty level and nicely shaded. Park folks let us change sites with no issue. Lots of nice hiking/biking trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
We enjoyed this campground a lot. The sites are relatively secluded (check a map/satellite image first and pick wisely). The are some short hikes in the woods and lots of trees around. There was a loud/annoying family group with 4 sites who got loud and drunk after the kids went to bed. It would have been nice to have a few more ranger drive-throughs. We just turned on the a/c fan. The lake has a beach area with rough sand/mud but it was rather cold when we were there. In all, I'd recommend it. Fairly close to Dallas but seems like a bit of wilderness. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$20
Excellent SP located very close to the DFW metroplex. Lots of nice trails to hike on with some short loops suitable for pets/small children. Bathrooms were very clean with a thoughtful layout that made it easy for families with kids to manage showers. Our parking spot was fairly level (site 21 in the white deer loop with a nice trail leading to the water) and was a bit less secluded than we prefer. Great beach area (bit cold this time of year) and fishing is a big draw here as well. I would definitely recommend getting a reservation in advance, this park seems to stay full. We will certainly camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
Very nice state park in northern Texas, sites were fairly private with lots of overhead shade. Water and Electric were very close by. Beware if you have any part of your vehicle on the asphalt roadway you will be warned and asked to move. 1/2 inch of hitch ball was hanging over the roadway and we were cited overnight. Why someone would be that close to someone else' vehicle bothered me! Would go back again but not on a holiday weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
One of the Best parks I've been to! Great shaded sites, some pull through, some back in, but all have picnic tables and fire rings and lantern hangers. The bath houses /restrooms were very well maintained and stocked and were convenient to the the camp sites. Good trails and very nice swim beach with grills and shaded tables reasonably close to the beach area. The park store was near the beach and boat launch area. It was well stocked with bait and supplies along with ice cream and snow cones. The folks that run the store were very nice, friendly and willing to tell you all about the lake. There was a park police truck that patrolled regularly and each camp area had a park host. My family had a great time even though it was over 100 degrees out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$24
Very nice park with lots of trees and shade and level sights with some pull throughs. The park was very clean, the employees very nice and helpful. Every site has a picnic table and fire ring with a flip over grill. They have a bait house and general store in the middle of the park that was not open, would have been nice if it was. We will choose a sight that is on one of the loops instead of the main roads next time. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
We just spent a wonderful 4 nights at this state park with a large group of friends over Memorial Day weekend. This is a fairly new state park with spacious shaded sites with level concrete pads. The area we were camped in had full hookups (electric, water and sewer). This is a recent addition to the sites in our area. Wills Point is also a nice town to visit with several good restaurant and a large newly constructed grocery store. This is a wonderful park to visit with several hiking trails for you to enjoy and a wonderful lake for water sports. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
As far as State parks go it is excellent. A nice large lake with lots of fish. Not a lot to do in the area unless you do fish or swim unless it is 1st Monday and you head into Canton for the flea market. Sites are large and you are not on top of one another. We did wish the shower house was heated as it was in the 20's. But the staff was very friendly and everything was clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$21
We always enjoy this park since it is such an easy drive from Rockwall & Dallas but this was the first time they have not mowed so the grass was high. Nice large sites and your neighbor is not right on top of you. The rangers drive through often and really stay on top of things. Nice beach area and plenty of areas to fish off the bank. I just wish they would put in a playground. Also we like this park for the bike trails and plenty of easy riding on pavement. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
We have camped here 5 times and each time has been a great experience. Friendly staff, always clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2005
$18
Newer state park. Very nice. Some sites are 50 amp, most are 30. The only drawback was the park was under a burn ban even though the area was wet due to a recent rain. I had brought firewood to have a camp fire. Bummer!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2004
$14
Newer state park - good pads, include some buddy sites. Several pull throughs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com