223083 User submitted reviews online!!
Hi-Tide Beach & Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (815) 495-9032
CGID3784

Hi-Tide Beach & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   10   5   3   9   1   6   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
Beach was nice. Outside of that everything had issues, like not enough bathrooms; after 10am most were backed up. Our son had to drive 10 minutes away to a gas station to use their facilities. We were charged to use our air conditioner, but our site only had a 20 amp connection. Even with an adapter we did not have the current to run the AC, but we were charged. Site was very difficult to access; owner admitted he never put a pop-up on the site. The site was for primitive camping, but again overcharged. Plus, issues like charges to use showers, pool made this park very costly. We also rented two cabins and the owner made refunding security deposit very difficult stating "well, the fire pits were dirty". The cabins were infested with spiders, making most of our group refusing to use the cabins. We will never return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
The owner/camp host is great. Very attentive to all patrons. The park has a lot to do especially if you have children; they would love all the features in the water. The bathrooms were kept up even with having about 2,500 people in the park. We were here for the 4th of July weekend. They had so many activities for the kids to include a dance. I would recommend this park if you are ever in the area. Excellent upkeep on the park.. Beautifully wooded par. Our RV is 40' long. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
We stayed here for Labor Day weekend, and were hoping for a better experience than last time since they are under new management. As soon as we arrived, we were told we would be charged $2.00 extra per day to run the A/C in our RV. There was no information provided about activities, amenities, checkout time, etc. The sites were cramped, and our sewer backed up the first night just in time for dinner outside. The lake and pool were fun with the exception of the inappropriate rap music blaring from the office and a $5.00 daily fee to rent life vests. The bathrooms were disgusting (even in the office). The miniature golf ($1.50 per person) was run down and the dumpsters are not conveniently located to all sites. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$43
This is our second trip to this campground and things have changed. There are extra charges now to use your air conditioner, and even an extra charge to use the swimming pool. The lake looks nice in the picture, however it is literally green with algea. Most of the inflatable equipment/toys in the lake has broken or missing handles. For the daily price and extra fees, this cannot be justified. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
We stayed here with our 11 year old for 3 nights in July of 2012. We used the lake, mini golf, and shuffle board. We did not use the pool, but it looked nice and clean. Others have complained about the $1 per day fee at the pool, but I understand that the logic behind that charge is to keep kids in the (free) lake which keeps the pool from getting too crowded. The mini golf is $1.50 per round. Shuffle board equipment was free. Everything was great. Small campsites, but there is so much to do that you will not spend a ton of time at your site anyway. The bathrooms were reasonably clean - it would be impossible for management to keep them spotless when wet, sandy people are running in and out of them - in other words, dry yourself and your kids off before using the facilities and clean up after yourself and the bathrooms will stay cleaner until they are cleaned by staff in the evening. My husband and son took a cold shower one evening - the hot water must have run out, but the showers were otherwise hot. The owner comes around in the evenings with a trailer hooked up to his golf cart full of wood for sale. We didn't have any need for interaction with the staff other than checking in, purchasing snacks from the store, and checking out golf/shuffle board equipment, but they all seemed nice. This will save you a walk from the store carrying bundles of wood! It's not perfect, but I can't say enough good things about the place. It was a great family getaway. We will definitely visit here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
The website does not represent his campground. It is not kid friendly. Very tight campsites. The owner has owned this place for about a year and is always under foot and overbearing. The seasonal campers are very intrusive, we had one peeking in our camper. Complaints are meet with a very no it all and non caring attitude. We will not recommend to our camping club or anyone else and will not stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$39
We camped here over the Labor Day weekend. I have to say it is a very nice campground. We were not happy with the neighborhood we were assigned within. Reservations stuck us with the big party groups. No sleep for 3 nights because of late night drinking and very loud voices. Kids up late, hollering. Kids throwing balls and hitting the camper. I complained once, but it didn't do any good as these spaces were too far away from the office. Might try again on a regular weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
Nice park. A lot of various activities, well run. They charge for the pool, but the lake is free and a lot of fun for everyone. Some of the hookups are on opposite ends of the site, so bring extensions for all your hookups. We'll go back for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
This was a great place to stay the kids had a great time at the lake and pool. The lake had tadpoles and was decent. The staff was friendly and helpful not to mention very good at keeping the place clean. This place could be VERY nice if they were able to mow just a tad more, fix a few more of the picnic tables, put sand and a net at the volleyball court and fix the basketball net. This place could go either way but for now we will be back. My dog requested it as he was able to play in the stream nearby! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
I like this park, It has separate camp areas for units and tents. If you take a unit into the tent area the trees are low and roads are tighter. Love the lake and mini golf. Usually quiet in the unit areas but as usual their is more noise nearer the lake. Sites have been level and water sewer and electric. I have been camping on and off at this campground for over 20 years and even my grandkids love it. Figure two or three more times this year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$36
Trees not trimmed. Muddy. Park in disrepair. Need to replace picnic tables. Won't return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
The big attraction at this campgrounds is their swimming lake. At first it looks like its going to be a lot of fun for kids...BUT to get out to the water "toys" you have to be able to swim in very deep water. Also, the lake was full of dead fish from treating the lake for weed growth. The seasonals are the best maintained that I have seen at any local IL. Campgrounds. The owner was all over the grounds all weekend and I liked that because I think it would control any type of "rif-raf". It is obvious that money has been invested in the lake water toys, but he needs to spend some money and time cleaning up some of the sites, replacing picnic tables (they are worn out, and covered with moss) Re-seeding in the muddy areas around the park, using a trimmer and blower and mowing some of the tall grass in areas. Just a little "tweaking" and this could be a much nicer campgrounds. Also, be prepared for extra fees $2 a day for air conditioning, $8 a day for visitors, pay showers, and $1 a day for the swimming pool/hot tub We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
This place is a dump. Roads (if that is what you would call them) are narrow and tree branches were not trimmed at all. Had to drive around the low hanging branches on the grass. Only one dumpster at the exit of the CG for the entire place. Dump station blocks the exit for those wanting to exit, no room to drive around. Hot tub, pool and AC extra charges. Hot tub water was green. Sites not defined by gravel or any other kind of pad. Sites not level. In order to get somewhat level on our site we were far from the hook-ups. Picnic tables were mostly broken and covered with green moss. "Grass" (weeds) not mowed. Lots of mud when it rains. Many trashy seasonal sites. I give this a two instead of a one because the lake looks kind of neat for kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2004
$30
Cozy, family owned, cg with huge Oak trees, perfect for the kids, they have a lot to keep them buisy. Staff is friendly, and helpfull. Everything is clean. We always have a great time when we come. You can swim at the beach, pool, tube down the creek or kick back in the hot tub. They do their best to make your stay a fun, family experience. Will come back every year. We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com