220693 User submitted reviews online!!
Markin Glen County Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (269) 381-7570
CGID3811

Markin Glen County Park

Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   9   8   9   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$26
This is a great campground for a short stay. Full hookups, plus plenty of TV channels via antenna. No Internet; weak cellular signal. Area is flat and fairly rural. It is small--38 sites that are uniform in size and much larger than expected. Easy to maneuver, and several pull-through sites. Sites all have a paved pad--level and in good shape. 2-3 miles off interstate, so it is a good overnight stop with little traffic noise--although there are trains. It is a county park with good recreational facilities, including a lake with a swimming beach. Great walking paths--paved, and dogs can swim at the far end of the lake. Camp in a west side spot for late afternoon shade. It is probably crowded during the season but very quiet weekdays in September. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$26
Rate above is daily fee. There is also a $5 reservation fee. We felt that we got a great bargain for this price for the facility. Paved roads and sites. Sites were level and an easy pull-through. The county park is beautiful, with a swimming beach and a magnificent walk around the lake. So great dog walking or bike riding. There was a little train noise but not when we were sleeping. Good Verizon voice and data service. I would definitely come back here. It was very relaxing and a beautiful setting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
Concrete pads accommodate big rigs. Concrete patios, picnic tables and fire rings. All utilities work well. Sites generous size. Plenty of room for slides. Staff are friendly and helpful. Fishing lake with platforms, so no need for a boat. Sandy swimming beach and bathhouse well maintained. Paved hiking and biking trails. Big rigs must SWING WIDE at the entrance. May need to enter via the exit. Would have rated a 10 except for the tight entrance. Our rig is 40' long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
What a nice clean park. Middle of campground has several pull-through spots for large rigs. Nice beach on lake makes for a great swimming hole. Utilities were in the right place and worked well. Our rig is 40' long.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
We stayed two nights at this campground. It is a county park with nice paved sites and roads. There is no shade in the campground. Everything is well maintained. Be aware of a late checkout time on Sunday (3:00 PM); we arrived on a Sunday and had to wait for the previous tenant to leave our site. The restrooms were very clean. There is only one shower per restroom (plus one in the family restroom) but the shower is very spacious – and it is not as busy since all sites are full hook up. The rental rate is very reasonable for full hookup sites; note that there is a flat $5 reservation fee in addition to the site fee. There is no Wi-Fi. Local TV reception was good. Our biggest disappointment was that we had planned to use the attractive bike trail system that appeared to be connected to the park. While there were limited bike trails within the park, the access points to the more extensive trails were gated off. To use them one would need to go out the main gate to public streets and then find an access point. While we would stay here again we would know to not count on a lot of biking. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
Another very nice MI county park. Very clean and well maintained. Wasn't crowded when we were here. Nice and quiet. Had a lake area for swimming and another area away from the swimmers where our dog could have her fun in the water. Our only complaint about our stay here had nothing to do with the campground. Kalamazoo has several off leash dog parks but the rigamarole you have to go through to gain access is very inconvenient and impractical for short term visitors like us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
We really enjoyed our stay here. I'm not sure we've seen bigger cement pads for sites - plenty of room for your big rig and all of your gear. We enjoyed the fishing (lots of bluegill & some large-mouth-bass), the swimming, and the access to the bike trails. The restrooms & showers were kept meticulously clean by the park staff. Local law enforcement has a presence in the park as well. There is a train track next to the park but the trains were few and far between. The only real downside of the park is lack of shade - more noticeable for us since it was fairly hot when we were there. We have family in the area and will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Very nice county park. Seems new with excellent hookups, cement pads good spacing. The whole park seemed very clean with great walking trails, and a pretty lake for scenery. Great place for walking your dog. However this was new enough to have very little shade. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
2nd year using this campground while in Michigan. Nice walking area, nice park. Always enjoy it and close to everything yet no street noise. Oh yeah, do have a daily train. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
LOVED this place! We weren't able to swim, but the beach was great, the playground was fun and, for better or for worse, a train went by from time to time which was heaven for our 5 and 1 year olds. HIGHLY recommended. We will go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
This is a very nice park with lots of amenities as mentioned in previous reviews. The Cons: Though the pads are nicely concreted with patios, they are not level side to side. At times, the water pressure was low even though the park was sparsely occupied. When camping here, the park requires you to attach an entry tag to the passenger side windshield which is impossible to remove. The adhesive is so strong that solvent and a razor is required for removal. A hang tag would be less expensive, less annoying and more user friendly. When we visit a community, we like to remove our 'Entry Tag' so as not to advertise we are travelers who may have valuables in our vehicle. Also, if you have visitors, the park insists they pay a $5.00 daily entry fee (or $25.00 annual pass). To avoid this exorbitant fee, your visitors must park outside the gate and be picked up. We found this to be embarrassing and obnoxious! It is a poor reflection on the park administration. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Very attractive park with a very nice walking path around the park. The park has parking for visitors, clean and well maintained restrooms, and a lake with beach area for swimming. Great for kids. There is a train that goes by the park a couple of times per week, sometimes in the middle of the night. You'll probably wake up the first time or two it goes by. One thing I didn't like was the reservation process was kludgy and they required advance payment by check for our entire stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
This is a really great find. We were only here for 1 night, but if we needed a stay longer we would still stay here. VERY friendly staff and other campers. A few long termers were a bit standoffish but no big issue. Road in from the north has a few overhanging limbs. Quiet: just a good place to spend a pass through or a while. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Although not a lot of amenities other than the county park, which was very nice, this is, without question, one of the nicest parks we've ever stayed in ... staff went waaaaaaaaaay out of their way to be nice and it was as neat and clean as a whistle. Would strongly recommend this park and will always return when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Stayed here the 4th of July weekend. The are both angled back-in sites and pull-through sites that will easily accommodate the largest rigs. Many of the outer back-in sites are very large being over 50' wide. The park was immaculate even though it was completely full. There is a lot to do here with paved bike/hiking trails, a couple of fishing ponds, a small lake for swimming, playgrounds and more. Across the street there is a large wooded area for more hiking. The restroom/shower building has separate facilities for men, for women and a separate family facility. Verizon cell and data service worked well. The park is fairly new which means that the trees that have been planted throughout the park have not grown very big so there is little shade. If there was more shade I would have rated the park a 9. I will return here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
There aren't many campgrounds in the Kalamazoo area so this would be our first choice. It is well-kept and very convenient for the city. The sites are large with paved driveways and patios. Our Verizon air card works great. There are walking trails, tennis courts and a fish pond. The only drawback is lack of shade because the trees are small. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
We stayed Sunday evening of Labor Day weekend and were lucky to get in as it was full Friday and Saturday. Despite being packed with kids and dogs the campground had a quiet feel to it. The campground and day use area are laid out superbly to allow for everyone to spread out and not run into each other. I never saw anyone with a fish but that didn't stop the steady stream of families trying their hand at fishing the ponds, which offered lots of room off bridges and on the shore for all who were interested. It will be great when the trees in the campground are big enough to provide shade but the sites themselves are some of the best you'll find. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This is a nicely maintained, small campground with three little lakes: one with a beach, playground and picnic pavillions. It was designed to be handicapped accessible so the trails around the lakes are paved. It is easy to get to with a big rig and has several long pull-through sites. Great satellite and cell reception, due to all sites being out in the open. Located within 40 miles of Lake Michigan beaches. Reasonably priced for full hookups. We would gladly return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
One of the nicest RV-Park-type campgrounds we've ever stayed in. It's the best kept camping secret in Michigan. Only a few miles from downtown and WMU. There's a small swimming beach a short walk away and walking/biking trails that thread through the 190 acre park. Concrete pads are relatively level with grassy areas separating the sites. The railroad referred to in other reviews is only used once or twice a day, and didn't bother us at all. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
This is a very nice, new park. Since the trees are very new, there is not much shade available. Most of the sites are geared for RVs. If you are tent camping, ask for a site in the back, near the woods. The bathrooms were very clean, but there were only three showers - mens room, womans room, and family room. The only major drawback is the park's proximity to an active railroad track. Around 5:00am each morning, the train came through sounding its horn. Not a fun wakeup call. The beach was very nice and the water was clean. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
We thoroughly enjoyed this campground. It's new, small, and only a couple of miles from downtown. The sites have large concrete pads and firepits. The bathhouse was clean with a separate shower room. There is a small beach that was clean. There are a couple of trails, probably about a mile's worth. The staff was very polite. Checkout is not until 3pm, and they had no problem letting us stay even later for no charge. Even though there is no cable, we were able to get quite a few TV stations. Our only complaint was there is a train track very close to the sites, but I only heard two trains go through the entire weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com