214501 User submitted reviews online!!
Bolsa Chica State Beach was rated 7 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (714) 846-3460
CGID3817

Bolsa Chica State Beach

Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
January 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   8   9   9   9   3   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$50
This was our second stay here. Couldn't get a front row, so ended up in the back row, within 50 feet of busy Pacific Coast Highway. Daytime traffic is quite noisy – especially the world's loudest Harleys that routinely cruise the highway. Night time traffic is quite a bit better. The lack of sewer hookups is disappointing. We prefer another park, but it's closed in January. Bathrooms are moderately clean, but chilly. Site water started off pretty rusty, but cleared up after 20 or so gallons. Hosts and neighbors are as nice as can be, and the dog beach a mile away is fantastic. We'll only be back if nothing else is available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$65
Awesome access to ocean and views. Camp hosts are friendly yet strict, but that just keeps the park in order. Can't beat the experience, plus if you have dogs, you'll love it here. All breeds welcome, other parks will exclude certain aggressive breeds, but this place loves my pit bull, he'll lick you to death. Dog owners, be courteous and always make sure you use a leash and pick up after your dog(s) or else you'll definitely be hearing from the Camp Hosts! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$60
Bolsa Chica is basically just a parking lot with electrical and water hookups. There is nothing that separates each site. The thing that makes this campground special is that it is literally right on the beach! The sites are large enough to accommodate slides and park a towed vehicle. And there is a concrete space behind each space to set up chairs and a fire pit. They have a paved bike/walking path that separates the beach sights and the sand which is nice for kids to ride their bikes and play out of the way of cars. Non-beach sites park right along Pacific Coast Hwy so they have traffic noise to contend with. The camp host was very friendly and helpful. Downtown Huntington Beach and Pier are just a couple of miles south and grocery/misc shopping is also close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$65
After hearing many people rave about Bolsa Chica, we tried it out. Not having a sewer hookup is a big inconvenience, as we don’t have a large grey tank. The winning feature for us is the dog beach a short walk down the coast. Plenty of space for our slide out and awning. The hosts were both very nice and let us check in a half hour early. Great view of the ocean, though the beach is pretty steep into the water and beyond. A fair bit of traffic noise from PCH just outside the park. Though this is a nice location, we prefer Dockweiler (kiddos love the jets). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$65
Camped here in a beach fronting site over the weekend in a motorhome. Very convenient, well laid out and clean campground. Power and water hookups at all sites. Dumping station available in the parking lot just north of campsite. Very friendly camp hosts. Not a place for solitude or privacy as you are sandwiched between the PCH and a bikeway, but at least you don't have trains to deal with. No shade and lacks rustic charm of say San Clemente SB. Some shared picnic tables available but none at your actual site, so you might want to bring your own table. But there are many attractions here. Extensive bikeway from Seal Beach to Huntington Beach is great for cycling, jogging or walking. Nice beach is right at your door step (across the bikeway) and is wide and not crowded. You probably want to wear footwear on the beach as there are quite a few broken shells around. Sunsets are nice here. And the BC Ecological Reserve opposite the beach is definitely worth a visit and walk. Oh yes and there are tons of broadcast TV channels available off-air. My wife and I (and our dog) enjoyed our stay here. Will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$65
We arrived early to enjoy the beach. The person manning the entrance kiosk allowed us to enter and recommended that we ask the camp host if our site was ready. Although check in time was 2 PM he allowed us to occupy our site around 1 PM. We backed into our site which was right next to the bike path and the beach. Great for people watching from the back of our motorhome. Across Highway 1 is the wonderful Bolsa Chica Ecological Reserve. Unfortunately, there are no crosswalks nearby and jaywalking is out of the question with cars whizzing by at 50 MPH. As a previous reviewer noted, the highway is noisy; however, it dies down enough at night so that you can hear the surf. The entrance gates close at 9 PM; however, campers can enter the Warner Ave. entrance after hours using the combination gate lock. Next time, we'll take advantage of the fire pits on the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$65
I do agree with the previous review from Jan 2011 in regards to the male campground host. He can be rude and abrupt at times with campers. On the other hand the female host at the north end of the park welcomes all campers and treats her four month stay at Bolsa Chica as if this is her home. She walks the park each day picking up trash that others leave behind. We have been camping at Bolsa Chica once a month since 2008 and have always enjoyed our stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2011
$60
Maybe it's because I hate RV parks in parking lots, or perhaps it's not my "cup of tea" to be right on the beach (despite also feeling as though you are in the middle of a highway -- EXTREME traffic noise immediately outside of your RV), or maybe it's the charge of $50 for nonbeach side and $60 for the beach side, or maybe it's the camp host that acted like the gestapo and was watching our every move and made sure to let us know that we were not obeying the rules (which were excessive) -- we didn't appreciate being treated like grade school students or his condescending attitude. We would definitely NOT stay here again -- it wasn't restful at all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
This is a great one! It is tightly packed, but the sites on the ocean side are right on the beach. The bike path goes straight in to downtown Huntington Beach (a couple miles away). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$65
We have stayed here for a least 1 week a year for the past 6 years, and the facilities get less care while the prices go up. It is actually a blacktop parking lot with very close quarters, but it is right on the beach. No sewer, so have to watch black & gray tanks closely. Will look at other options in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$50
Truly no-frills beachfront camping. Even #'d sites along PCH have noticeable traffic noise, so, if you are a light sleeper this may bother you. Beach and surrounding community of Huntington Beach are great with lots to do. Camp host is very accommodating and friendly. Sites are tight, but manageable (we are 40'). Very dog friendly with doggy beach within walking distance along boardwalk. Rated a 7 for lack of sewer at sites and ridiculous 2nd vehicle policy. Even if you register a 2nd vehicle at time of reservation, it must be with you (connected) at time of check-in or they will charge you an additional $15 per day for the entire length of your stay. Whether it is enforced depends on who is working the gate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
Yes it is tight parking, there is noise from the PCH and I was camped on that side. I recommend arriving Sunday to Thursday and dumping tanks between 12-2 pm where you have to hook up and tow to north lot. The pier is close but it is difficult finding a place to a park a truck. The bathrooms not exactly clean but I did see CA State park crews trying to keep up with the shared public use of restrooms. There are fire pits on the beach but bring a chair and stake it out early. The hosts were good we tried staying another day but there were no cancellations and no one left early. Our kids enjoyed meeting all the other kids there and seemed to get along. 99% of fellow campers will help with parking, one refused to move her car "I'm on vacation" was her reply when asked if she would move it to park. There is ATT WiFi available at the main guard station and requires a fee. There are some picnic tables in certain locations and a dog beach to the south. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We got to stay here twice this summer, once in June and once in July. Even though the wind forever blows, the sites are tight no wider than the width of your extended awning and you're basically camping in a parking lot, those of us who fight for those few spots year after year absolutely love it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$48
This is basically a big parking lot, where the spaces are kind of tight. Maneuvering and parking space for your tow car is very limited if your RV is long. Sitting directly on the Pacific Coast Highway meant there was a lot of road noise, but we reserved one of the more expensive sites on the ocean side for an extra $10/night, which meant our bedroom (at the rear of the RV) faced the beach and the ocean, so it wasn't too bad. You can't beat the proximity to the beach, as you are literally right on it. The campground host was very nice and seemed really dedicated to being helpful. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$44
This is a parking lot style campground, but you are on the beach. However, the sites are tight and the road noise from Pacific Coast Highway right next to the campground washes out the sound of the ocean. The local bird population was flourishing when we were there, and bird droppings covered everything. Oh, and don't plan on checking in early, the 2 PM check in time is strictly enforced. In fact the rules can be so rigid they can border on silly. We had unhooked the tow car from the Motorhome before we got to the check in gate because we knew that the campground was small and busy with one road in the middle. I followed the wife to the check in kiosk in the MH. The state employee at the kiosk (a fairly young man) wanted us to rehook the tow car to the motorhome to drive through the gate! We eventually talked him out of it, convincing him that we would just drive through and have to unhook prior to getting to the space anyhow. Good place to enjoy the beach never the less. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$40
Someone else mentioned that this is basically a "parking lot with hook-ups," lol! That it is, but it's still a fun place to stay. We have stayed here several times with our kids and we've always had a blast. We've always had ocean side sites with a little sandy area for the little ones to play in. The neighbors have always been nice. We love having a large bonfire on the beach in the beach firepits at night. It's one of the only crowded, parking lot style places that I'll camp at with minimal complaining, because it's so much fun. Our kids love riding their bikes along the beach, too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$40
As as nearby resident, I like to come and camp on the beach at this State Park site fairly frequently. I enjoy Bolsa Chica SP because it is close to where I live, and therefore the drive is a short one. I love being right on the beach and having a beach view from my Airstream. There is a great bike path where you can rollerblade, skate, cycle or jog. The restrooms are not used often as all RV's here need to be self sufficient, but what I have seen of them, they are well maintained and clean.I would give this SP a higher score if it had some green lawns between the sites, and if it had sewer hook-ups. The sites are close together and as others have mentioned, it really is a parking lot with partial hook ups. The camp hosts have been great up until this most recent visit.I had just got back from being out in my SUV and was going to go out again in a short period of time. The one camp host came up to my trailer and was incredibly confrontational and threatening and told me that I had better back my car in otherwise I would be fined. I take exception to his attitude and abrasive disposition and trust that fellow campers do not encounter this most unpleasant man. (he stayed in the trailer at the south end of the camping area) I am considering writing to the State Park System to complain about this man's inhospitable manner. Other than this unfortunate incident, I love the site and will visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$44
Rates can be lower depending on site location and season. Usually $29-44. 62+ senior discount of $2. Dump station available. Reservations are heavy during the summer, but it is a beautiful place to be in the winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
clean & close to everything We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$34
We stayed at Bolsa Chica State Beach in Site #17 (beach front). Our friends were in #16 directly across from us. The sites are basically camping in a parking lot. There is no mistaking that. Not only that, but you are on top of your neighbor. The sites are wide enough to accommodate slides on both sides and still be able to pull our your awning, but you must be all the way towards the line on the drivers side. Let's just say you will get cozy with your neighbors. A couple things to note about camping here. 1.) The campground is IN the State Beach area. What this means is you are entering and exiting with all other people using the beach for the day. 2.) There is ONE entrance into and out of Bolsa Chica State Beach. 3.) That entrance is only open between 6 am and 9 pm. This entrance also closes when the beach reaches maximum capacity for parking during the day. The Saturday we were here it closed at 1pm. Therefore, if you are going in and out of the beach with a vehicle, you must talk to the camphost and get the alternate "authorized vehicle" access code for the gate off of Warner. 4.) You are close to PCH. It did not bother us at all. It's no worse than hearing the trains if you go farther south to Carlsbad or San Elijo. I actually would prefer PCH noise to train horns! 5.) You can bring your own fire pit. There are only about 10 fire pits on the beach in front of the campground and they are not reserved for campground use only. Anyone can come and claim stake to them. It's easier just to have your own fire pit at your campsite. 6.) If you do not have a beach front site, you will either need to walk to the end of the campground or towards the middle for access to the beach or walk through someone's campsite. The camphosts were very friendly and approachable. They definitely took their jobs seriously. I've never had camphosts riding their bikes and stopping to talk to people every day throughout the entire weekend. This is a great campground because of it's proximity being so close to everything, but with only one entrance in and out that can close when the beach is full, can be a pain! We will only camp here again if we decide at the last minute to go and there is spot available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2008
$29
If you enjoy a parking lot with hookups,and don't mind the traffic noise from Pacific Coast Highway, then this is the place for you. The sites are very tight. There was barely room to put out the awning. But, it didn't really matter much, because the traffic noise made sitting outside a lost cause. We won't be going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2006
$45
This campground or parking lot is located right on PCH. So as stated before; the beach side or odd numbered sites are much more quiet. We enjoyed our time and already have reservations for the summer. There is a great bike trail and snack bars. There is even a dog beach close by. The state park site says the have WiFi, but they didn't. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
This is a parking lot on PCH. Saying that it is also right on one of the best beaches in So. Cal., Surf City, USA. The weather was perfect, the camp hosts and park staff were great, they even have activities planned in the summer. The only problem is noise. The even numbered site are right on PCH lots of road noise, but the bird noise can be heard everywhere, and it is not just a few seagulls. We had to turn our A/C on in the morning just so we could sleep past sunrise. I would love to go again, but I would have to make sure the birds hadn't migrated yet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$44
The campsite is located on PCH 1 and the even numbered campsites are pretty noisy because of this. Odd numbered sites are right on the beach. The hosts were very nice and friendly. When we were there, the kids had fun at the grunion run. A few times a year, small fish spawn on the beach at night during high tide and the kids caught them with their hands. The oceanfront sites were pretty windy, great for kite flying. There is a bike path for walking, jogging, or bike riding away from traffic. There is a RV dump station and fire pits on the beach. There are also lifeguard stands on the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com