221721 User submitted reviews online!!
Tolsona Wilderness Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (907) 822-3865
CGID3877

Tolsona Wilderness Campground

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   9   10   1   5   7   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
This was one of our favorites in Alaska. Super friendly staff, treats for the dog. Beautiful spot along a quick flowing stream. Private, level, and quiet (except for the stream). Lots of places to walk the dog. We only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
Campground was beautiful. Sites were nicely spaced and located in the woods providing privacy. All sites are located along the creek. We sleep in our minivan when we camp and the creek provided nice background noise. Rate reflects Good Sam discount. The owner was very helpful and friendly. He spent a significant amount of time helping us plan our route through Alaska and providing good suggestions for campgrounds in other areas. The only complaint we had was the bathrooms/showers. The sites will cost you 30-40 a night (depending on how much of the site is along the creek) but the showers are not included. Add to that bathroom facilities are severely in need of renovations. Despite not showering the previous day we choose to skip the showers at Tolsana. The bathroom stall doors did not provide complete privacy as the plywood was warped. We would definitely return as long as we weren't wanting a shower. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
This was the first campground that reminded us of a state park down in Texas. The sites were all on the creek and the creek was accessible to the dogs (big plus). The couple running the park are a gem. We stayed here for three nights and would return without a doubt! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Don't let the word wilderness put you off from choosing this campground. Unless of course you don't like camping by a babbling brook, don't like to be unable to see into your neighbor's window, don't want a campfire ring, views of trees and water, or you hate to be unable to hear highway traffic. This is a gorgeous campground with hookups, including some 50 amps. It is only about a third of a mile in from the highway and the road was perfectly drive-able, no bouncing, with our truck and RV. There are plenty of sites large enough to accommodate larger rigs with slides. And a bonus, the sites are level and all sites are situated by the water with views. And a bigger bonus - great WiFi reception. If you are tired of camping in a gravel parking lot then this is an excellent choice, and a great reminder of what good camping should be. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
This is the most pleasing campground we've stayed at. It is well off the highway, carved out of the forest, and many of the sites are parallel to or back up to a fantastic flowing creek. 50 amp service is available. We were able to get WiFi at our site, #1, which is a premium site near the office, along the river, and very long. Very few of the sites are parallel to each other, so the site locations give much privacy. The owners are friendly, engaging, and work very hard to ensure a memorable experience for all. If you want a true wilderness experience, this is the place to go, and we recommend staying more than a day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
When they say "Wilderness Campground" they mean what they say. 3/4 of a mile down a rough, bumpy, gravel road. I was assigned what was supposed to be a large pull through site that would accommodate my 36' RV. I barely managed to squeeze it in, but wouldn't have been able to open the slides. I had to back out of the space and return to the office to request another one. I was assured I would fit. I fit all right, but I had to back out of the space because there wasn't enough room to pull out going forward. If you've got a smaller rig, stay here. If not, save yourself some headache and possibly some damage. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Beautiful area and campground if you are a small RV or trailer. Our 43' motorhome got stuck in the largest "pull through" between all the trees and scratched much of the sides with the low overhanging branches on both sides. We couldn't pull all the way in and had to back out when we left. Staff is totally unaware of big rig measurements to site measurements and told us on the phone when we called ahead that they had several sites big enough. Not true. Long dusty road entrance and in July the mosquitoes eat you alive. Didn't even bother getting out of the Motorhome other than to pay and to drive the tow out to the main road. Unless we downsize, we won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Come on people! We thought the beauty of the campground was great - But the pull throughs for 40 ft MH with toad was really just not that great. . We made it, but it was tight. The Wi-Fi was nonexistent at our site. Leveling was fine. We stayed only one night. Really this was about the only park along the Glenn Highway that had any character. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
The sites are close together and some hard to get into, but over all, this was a nice campground. Trees are everywhere which is a welcome site after staying in some RV parks on the way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
Excellent for travelers who want that forest camping experience with amenities like clean showers, WiFi, laundry, dump, electric, and water. What you won't find is cable tv, 50 amp, and a gravel parking lot for a campsite. Many pull thru sites, most along the Tolsana river. Not many sites for giant rigs and a short gravel road off the main highway, but this place is a gem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
Access to the campground from the Hwy is down a 1 mile dirt road. Don’t let that stop you from using this great campground during your travels in Alaska. Owner lives on site and keeps the place in great shape. Most sites are back-in with some pull-through sites located along the road into the main park. All sites are in the trees, many with views of Tolsona Creek. Elect/water at the sites with a dump station if needed. WiFi worked well at our site. Wish would could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
This is a great campground with large, treed sites all along Tolsona Creek. Electricity is good. We had good Wi-Fi at our site. We have a 36 foot long RV and there are several sites we would have fit in. The roads were fine for us. This is like a good state park with water and electric. Restrooms are old and basic but spotlessly clean. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
If you like camping in the woods along a stream this park is for you. It reminds us of a BLM campground but with hookups. We even had 50 amp service at our site. You could fly fish in the stream which was so clear. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Beautiful campground. We can't figure out why more people aren't here. Site #36 is right on the river. Electric & water hookups. No highway noise. Wi-Fi works great. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
We loved this place. Very good balance of amenities and true campground surroundings. Well spaced sites all along the Tolsana creek. All have tables and fire rings. Small store and laundry available. Wi-Fi good depending on your site and the number of users. Our first stay was on the way to Homer and we liked it so much we stayed 3 days instead of the 1 planned and stayed again on the way back. Very friendly staff. Office also has some on the most unusual and interesting antiques for sale. Fishing for Graylings right next to your site. Large playground area with a volleyball net. All the roads are compacted gravel and in good condition. Big rigs can easily drive through the park. My truck/trailer combination is a little over 50' and I was able to easily drive throughout the park. Dump station on site at no extra charge. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Friendly staff, beautiful sites. All sites are next to a rushing stream, have a fire pit and picnic table. I would stay here again and would recommend this to anyone needing a site near Glenallen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$17
This is an amazing campground. All sites are on a rushing river and there are tons of trees, but space enough for big rigs (at least we see some here now). There is so much to see - hiking trails, antiques, bubbling small volcanoes. The laundry and showers and toilets are absolutely spotless. The hostess just makes this place. She smiles a lot, is not uptight in any way, and makes you feel so welcome. There is a dump station centrally, and water and electric at each site. We had planned to stay here on night and ended up staying five (with some travel in between). The whole place is beautifully kept up. Each time we have come here, there are few people staying I think it has yet to be discovered. Or perhaps the distance between here and other places, like Anchorage, is only about 170 miles. But for whatever reason, this place is way underutilized. It is a totally amazing magical place. This is very much like a state park or provincial park rather than a commercial campground. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
The rate was for Passport America. The turn onto the access road if coming from Tok is in the middle of a hill, plenty of room just be careful about the hill. The access road is about 3/4 mile of gravel at the time was not graded and frost was still coming out making it rough. The campground is a great little place with the stream at all the sites. The Wi-Fi at the site was not that good, but better in the office. All the sites are wooded. Our site was fine for a larger rig, but not sure how many large rigs they can accommodate, the roads to some of the sites were quite narrow. A motorhome would negotiate a back in site better than a fifth wheel because of the narrow roads. We would stay here again, but would call ahead to be sure a large site is available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$39
It was a pleasure camping here, very quiet and relaxing after leaving the Anchorage traffic and noise behind. Campsites are very private beside Tolsona Creek. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
Actual rate was $31.50 A rustic campground 3/4 of a mile down a steep gravel / dirt road off the Glenn Highway. We chose a back-in site close to the showers / restroom. Pay showers: 25 cents for 5 minutes. Both the showers and restrooms were clean. Mosquitoes were very bad and sap dripped onto our car and camper! We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This was the only wooded park we could find on the Glenn Highway. It is also the only private park we stayed in during our entire Alaska trip. It had sites right on a large stream and the guy at the desk was very friendly. We told him we were interested in fishing and hiking, and he recommended the site he thought would be the best for both. The firewood was the cheapest at anywhere we stayed ($5). I would have rated it a 10 if not for the mosquitos. Bring spray. Also, there is a hiking trail from the campsite but we were unable to follow it the entire way, as it became too boggy. This reminded me of a public campground. Very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
Lovely location, right on a river so several folks were fishing right there along the bank! Big kids and little kids! Our site was wide and level. Lots of trees. Wonderful spot for families: kids could fish, play in the river, throw rocks and just burn off energy. Interesting antiques inside the store. There were only 4 or 5 bathrooms which could be problematic when the campground is full. Only 50% full while we were there. Had a very enjoyable stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
One of the cleanest, most serene campgrounds we've had occasion to use. We camped here in 2007 in a 27 ft. 5th wheel and didn't hesitate to return in our newer 34 ft. 5th wheel. Yes, some of the pull-throughs are a little tight, but enjoying the shade of those trees was wonderful. We especially love walking our dog in some of the outer areas so she can run free for a little while. BTW, we only paid $4 extra for a creek side pull-through and they do have a Good Sam discount. We extended our stay another night just to enjoy the peace and quiet. With the camp located 3/4 mile off the Glenn Highway, you have to strain to hear any road noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
This park is way overpriced. The sites are laid out haphazardly and maneuvering is very tight. The roads are narrow and trees are at edge of parking pad which makes for very creative parking to open the slideouts. They want an extra $10 for a pull-through site because they have more creek frontage! C'mon: we're not buying a lot! The narrow road in is about 3/4 mile of gravel off Glenn Hwy Mile 173, about 15 miles west of Glennallen toward Palmer, so the park is quiet. Today: there was only one camper here. No sewer hookups but they have a dump station. Coin showers. This park definitely would not be good for 38-40' rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
Charming rustic campground, almost like a state park. Very heavily treed gravel sites back up on beautiful winding stream. Wonderful ambiance. Free wifi. Friendly helpful owners. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$33
Most beautiful park with pull through on the river. Even the dump station was decorated with a flower bed. The office also has a small museum to enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$29
Very peaceful and unsplit. The river winds through the campsite and seems to pass most of the sites. Clean and friendly. No credit cards accepted and the WiFi only really works near the office or in the laundry but it is free. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
This was a nice campground for a first stop in Alaska on our way to Anchorage. They have pay showers ($.25 for 5 minutes) and a coin-op laundry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$29
Pretty, natural, almost rustic setting with sites along a stream about 3/4 mile off the highway on a gravel road. Wi-Fi, we were told, reaches a couple of sites but we didn't have any luck in ours. Our site was a pull-through with plenty of room for our class A and toad with 30 amp electric and water. The sites have some trees, and greenery, are much more spacious than most we have encountered in Alaska. Kind of expensive, but we liked it. This is a Good Sam park, but they do not take credit cards. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$27
Very quiet and secluded park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com