224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Mammoth Mountain RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 54 user reviews. Phone: (760) 934-3822
CGID389

Mammoth Mountain RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
179
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   4   8   6   8   10   9   4   2   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$60
I was told that we had free Wi-Fi. It never worked in the 8 days we were there. SO slow. Cable TV didn't work either. You had to get a converter box from the office and still never got more than 10 minutes of uninterrupted TV. Sometimes we like watching in the evening, but not having TV is no real big deal, but we've never been to a campground where you had to get a special converter box, and still no TV. So other than no Wi-Fi and no TV, the place is really very nice. Lots of space and shade if you are lucky enough to reserve far enough in advance to get a full hook-up sight in the trees. Otherwise, you are on the concrete pad with water and electricity only. HOT HOT HOT. It's the only hook-up game in the area so they have you over a barrel and have no need to try to improve anything. They are always full. Didn't use their bathrooms, so can't really comment as others have. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$48
Very unimpressive park. The sewer, water, and electric hookups were almost impossible to get connected due to their locations. The restrooms are basic and the hot water in the showers is scalding and cannot be adjusted, plus you have to keep pressing the button every 30 seconds. Unhelpful office staff and not a user friendly camp. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
We camped in the full hookup area. Nice park, nestled in tall pine trees. Good amount of space between your neighbors. Great location to all Mammoth activities. We wanted to stay longer, but the park was booked. The office staff was trying to find us another site in the park, even called us back to let us know that they had not received a cancellation. We are looking forward to coming back in the fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$44
Let start from the beginning. Check-in was great. Site was really nice and shady. Fires allowed. Cable did not work but was told they had crappy cable at check in. Now to the bad. The showers were horrific. Push button shower that only gave 5 seconds of extremely hot water. Floors were very dirty and drains were slow. The only good thing about the bathrooms was there was a lock on the door that worked. Will never return . Price reflects a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$53
Park is pricey, (price includes tax). They charge an additional $5/night for each pet. I called ahead for reservations, and was told just come on in (arriving the following day), they had plenty of spaces available. When I arrived, and requested a 50 amp space, it seems they had limited space. I did get a space, but was told I had to move if I stayed more than 2 days. Fifty amp spaces have large pine trees, 30 amp spaces are just a big parking lot. They do have a lot of amenities, pool, spa etc. Tourist area, so they know you come here expecting to spend money, and they do all they can to meet your expectations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$49
This place is awesome! We loved the trolley into town, the pool and spa, clean showers and bathrooms, nice playground, great staff, bbq stations and everything! We LOVE this place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
This is a great RV park, and the only one in the area with hook ups. It gets booked early in the year. Only half the park has full hookups, so book early. They are big spots. The overflow is a parking lot with only electric/water, but the spots are still big, no shade. Staff is friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
The reviews listed below are accurate. The parks FHU sites are in the trees on dirt. Some are larger that others so sizing is inconsistent. Access roads are very dusty and not maintained. Restrooms are old and worn out. The Partial Hookups are basically a huge parking lot. Again, some are larger than others. You share your utility box. Overall sits are very tight, so you better like your neighbor! Rules are not enforced. You can park your toad in front of your RV, but when were there people had 3 or more cars, plus storage trailers parked in front. Getting through the park in a Big Rig is challenging. Fire pits are never cleaned. If you need FHU this is the only place in town. If you can dry camp the Forest Service Parks in the area are much nicer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2013
$47
We were really disappointed by this park. The spaces are not "plum" level, as the website states. We asked for a specific site and were told it was already taken, but nothing parked there the whole time we were there. We were not prepared to have to buy extensions for power and tv since they make two spaces share them and we got the left spot, nothing reached......why they would do this when RV's are built with utilities on the left, does not make sense. Cable tv was not so great we could only get a few stations in clearly enough to watch. So.....if you haul a fifth wheel, be prepared to level and bring power and cable extensions just in case. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$55
Dusty and feels unkempt. Large site with funky electric hookup, very small table. No table at site when arrived; asked office and was told to pull one over from another site. Fire pit was filthy with cigarette butts and aluminum foil. Asked office to have someone clean it and problem nicely acknowledged. Full day went by with nothing done. Park is expensive for what it offers, rules galore but they don't seem to care about follow through if our fire pit and table experience reflects their standard practices. It could be a great park but not the way we found it and were treated. This is the first time in 13 yrs of RVing that I have ever felt like reporting this kind of experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$55
Due to the size of our motorhome, this RV park is the only game in town. Otherwise we would not stay here ever again. They are over priced and even charged $5 for our pet. Told them I'll just leave the dog waste on the ground for that price. Sites are under trees and on dirt with no asphalt driveways; therefore, dusty and dirty. Had to take off our shoes outside so that we wouldn't track in the dust/dirt into the motorhome. Access is doable, but must be very careful of large trees with overhanging branches. Electric pedestal outlet is on the bottom (facing straight down) and a little difficult to use: especially if you have a large surge protector. We love Mammoth, but this RV park is not recommended. Sure wish we fit in the several state camp grounds in that area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$47
We've camped here many times in the last few years with our family. We have kids, so the play area and the pool/spa are great. The park is always clean and everyone has been friendly. I'd recommend to anyone and we will be back again next year. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
We stayed here for two weeks. The bathrooms were very clean. Washer and dryers available and worked fine. The park is very busy with many RV's and tent campers coming and going. The office staff is pleasant and will help out with requests. The only complaint is that children on bikes are allowed to go up and down the main road in the RV park. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$54
We had been trying to make reservations for this park for a couple of months and every time we called they said they were booked up for the days we wanted. We booked another park in the area but it turned out to be a dump (another review to follow). While we were leaving the "dump" deciding not to stay, I called and took a chance to see if there were any cancellations. The machine came on time after time saying that they were busy and couldn't come to the phone. We drove over to the park and for the heck of it, I called from my cell phone while I was walking up to the office. It rang and I walked into the office area still holding my phone. I found two young girls sitting there talking about the things they were going to do that evening, not answering the phone, just ignoring it. When I went to the desk, I asked if they had any spaces available. I was told that they did have a bunch in the semi-full hookup area: No sewers. Didn't have much of a choice since we were going to stay 5 nights. At the time I was registering, another couple walked in and was told the same thing about only "Semi-Hookups" were available. "BUT" they were told that the next day there would be many people leaving from the FULL hookup area and they could move the next day. Of course they took it. When I asked about if we could do the same, I was told that they only had a couple of free spaces and they save them in case there's a problem with any of the sites and people would have to move. I guess they thought I didn't hear them, which was really strange since I was standing about 3 feet from them and the other campers that were signing in. After that, things went OK and we stayed at the Semi hookup spots. I must say that we've been going to this park for years and it's never changed, they hire the most UNprofessional people here who seem to have no interest in pleasing the customers. They spend most of their time goofing around and not paying attention to the customer's need. On more than one occasion during our stay the kids behind the desk were riding around in Golf Carts not paying attention the people or vehicles. One time two of the girls had a little kid, which I would say was about 7 or 8 years old driving the cart and I had to swerve to avoid hitting him, since he was driving head on into me. As I mentioned: we stay here from time to time, just for the fact that they sort of have a monopoly on RV parks in Mammoth Lakes with hookups. Spoke to some of the other folks around us and they expressed the same concerns. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$55
Nice campground if you are in the natural section of the trees. They have a lot of sites that are all pavement. It is like being in a parking lot. Not for me. The hookups were ok, but it appeared to me not super well maintained. The bathrooms, and showers were clean. The only negative thing about the showers was that the faucets were spring loaded, and you had to continually press them. I think they wanted us to take a shower like if you were dry camping in your motorhome. Get wet, turn off water, suds up, turn water back on, and rinse yourself off. It was ok, but a little annoying. The good thing is the water is set at a predetermined temperature. We have a dog and it is always nice when the campground provides doggie bags, which this one did. Our children enjoyed the indoor pool also. Location is good. Not too far from town, and right across the road from the Visitor Center. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
We've stayed here many times over the years and we love this park. We stayed here for a month that's why the rate is lower. All of the employees are wonderful to us. We hope to be back here next year. We stayed in the back area and it's peaceful and beautiful and our satellite worked. Life is good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2011
$51
I called ahead to make sure the wifi and the cable were working. I was assured that they were. You guessed it, no cable. The students who run the office said they would get maintenance to fix it. As I moved on there was still no cable, Kids at office said maintenance was still working on it. Good luck, I will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$47
We arrived at Thanksgiving Thursday. The park was open, but no staff available. The info at the office gave us 3 sites to choose from and a price quote and a code for the restrooms. Well, we hooked up to the power and wanted to try the restroom but guess what, the code given was wrong. We toured the park and asked another happy camper for the code and finally were able to take our shower. As there was no staff, it definitely showed in the shower and the restrooms. It would be nice if the shower would offer a bigger space to put on your clothes and more than 1 hook would be nice too and maybe a bench, even a small one! A real pain in the neck is the button you have to press every 4 to 5 seconds to keep the water running and if the shower curtain would reach the base, the whole floor wouldn't be flooded after a shower. The next morning, the girl in the office wouldn't even listen to our suggestions nor discuss a discount or anything else and just said "oh yea, we had to change the code due to security reasons". But why wasn't it changed in the info given to self registering guests? The park itself is nicely setup but certain sites are pretty close to the main road into Mammoth Lake, be prepared for some road nose. I assume, if staff would have been present and the restrooms would have been clean, my rating would be higher. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$47
We stayed in the over flow area which is a parking lot with electrical/water. Tree area behind the spots with fire pits. Facility was clean. Nice bike path that leads into town, close and easy ride. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Great, friendly staff. Stayed here only one night in a spot close to the highway. We toured around the campground and were pleasantly surprised at the spaciousness, the privacy and the beautiful surroundings. Will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
We have stayed here for many years now and this park is wonderful. it is centrally located to all things going on in Mammoth, the check in is fast, the staff is courteous and well trained. The sites vary in size and are ample. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Next door to the campground, they are building a court house. There was constant earth moving construction noise from 7:30 a.m. until 6 p.m. every day, including Saturday. This was right behind our motorhome. The second day, which was Saturday, we complained and asked for our money back for Saturday night and that we were leaving. There really was no place in the park that you couldn't hear the construction noise from the earth moving equipment. They refused to give us a refund, only a credit. That was patently unfair. They should have warned us in advance about the construction next door and we would not have stopped at Mammoth Lakes. We won't return to this campground. Once they build the court house next door, it will be too noisy to enjoy the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$53
We stay here often in the winter. Staff was friendlier than in the past. Restrooms are nice and warm, and clean. Their indoor pool and spa are a winter treat. Plowing is efficient and excellent. Could use some updating in restrooms: missing soap dishes. Wi-Fi is included, but not fully reliable. Verizon card worked well. Great location: close to buses and right across the street from a new free cross-country center. An amazing area! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$56
We have stayed here before and the park has gone downhill. For starters, they are way overpriced. Our site was a back-in, full hookup but nothing but dust and a lot of rocks which we had to move. There is absolutely no maintenance whatsoever. The staff at check-in was abrupt and barely friendly: kind of a 'take it or leave it' attitude. Our picnic table should have been used for firewood several years ago and the firepit looked like it had never been cleaned. Keep in mind that this rate was for off season. Given some TLC this place could be fantastic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$53
We were so pleased to find that this park was nestled in the pines. It was clean, roomy and beautiful. Our site had full hook-ups and a fire pit. The bathrooms had individual private shower/sink/toilet. You could not get in without an access code, which we liked for added security. Our site (U2) was in the last row so we saw nothing but pines in front. The staff was not very warm, but this is probably because they were so busy. After checkout time, they did let us park in the overflow section without a charge, so we could leave the trailer and enjoy a drive in the tow vehicle just a little bit longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$48
We stayed in the "partial hookup" area where the spaces are very close together. If you can get in, I would recommend the full hook-up sites which are more spacious and shady. We were in town for the Jazz Jubilee and the RV Park was completely full. Even still, the only area that seemed crowded was the pool. The roads are laid out nicely with plenty of room for turns, back-ins, etc. Nice dump station. Our only complaint was our permanent resident neighbor who started up his diesel and went to work at 5:30AM. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$57
Mammoth Mountain is a beautiful area and the Mammoth Mountain RV park is a good place to stay to enjoy it. We stayed in a travel trailer in a full hook up. Full hook-ups are on dirt, but are of good size, easy to back into, and fairly level. Staff was friendly, so I don't know what others complained about. The store is sparsely stocked, but has basic equipment necessities, but short on food products. Some cookies would have been nice. Nearby grocery store is only 1/2 mile away, so not a big deal. It was quiet at night. Wireless internet worked well about 2/3rds of the time. Was slow for 1/3. We would definitely come again. Negatives. Be prepared for a lot of dust, pollen and dryness. That's just the nature of the area. We didn't use the restrooms, except on leaving. Patrons of the restrooms should do a better job of cleaning up after themselves and their kids. Partial hook-up sites are on pavement, but are closer together than the full hook-ups. Pets cost $3 each per night. That was pretty steep by comparison of other areas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$46
This RV park was okay overall. It IS the only one in the area with hookups and wifi. The staff was nice, though not the most helpful. If you are longer term, you can stay in the larger wooded sites which are nice and have full hookups. Shorter term people park in essentially a large parking lot with landscaped islands. You get electric, water, and cable. They have 4 very nice dump stations convenient to pull-through with the any-size rig. They charged $3 a pet (we have 2 dogs) and by the time tax etc. is added (yes, room tax) it came out to $56. The wifi basically only works near the office. I was in the front row and couldn't work in my rig. I had to go sit on the patio outside the office where the electric was, during light snow flurries, to use the computer which is essential as I work from home and must attend to my business somewhat during travel. Overall, though, it was an okay place to be, was close to the town of Mammoth Lakes, and served our purposes in everything but good wifi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$42
The park is in a great location for skiing at Mammoth Mountain. You can walk to the free mountain bus and some local restaurants. The maintenance in the restrooms could use some attention i.e: broken/missing soap dishes, however they are immaculately clean, and nice and warm during the cold winter months. The staff is somewhat surly. Seems like they might be understaffed as they don't answer phone calls immediately, but return your reservation call later in the evening. The pool/spa are excellent for winter use. The free wi-fi worked well. No winter water or sewer at site, but they were available elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$45
I thought the price was high: rate shown is for 30 AMP service with no sewer, but on the asphalt. There were full hookup sites available, but they were in an area that was dirt. Sites were large enough for awnings or whatever you needed. The park was very basic/no frills, but there was a club house, pool and hot tub (both with water in them) and free Wi-Fi. This park is nothing fancy, but I doubt that anything in the area is. Regarding the poster of August, '08. Ratings have to be considered by the person doing the posting. A rating of 1 for a campground with amenities and a 9 for dry camping without even showers available, makes no sense. Unless, you rate by price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$50
Rather pricey for dust bowl RV sites but in the tall pines. Large group of bicylists staying there so real tough getting into use the showers. This RV park is conveniently located for sightseeing in the area, which is beautiful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
Two families stayed at Shady Rest for three nights, then we all had reservations to go to Mammoth Lakes RV, just across the street. We walked over to have a look at the place before we checked in. The lady in the office was very grumpy. When I asked her if the pool, which was empty, would be refilled by our check in day, she said she wasn't sure if she would refill it because people are too dirty using the pool. Which, I guess makes the pool dirty.. We then walked over to see our spots which were on top of each other, no room to put our our awnings and no trees or shade and no where for the kids to play. (We could not get in the full hook - up area which did have shade). We were so bummed about the attitude and the lame spots we went back to tell our husbands at New Shady and we decided to dry camp 3 more nights there. Best decision ever. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$65
The staff was very friendly and helpful. I have stayed here before, about three times prior. I love the Mammoth area and this is a great base camp for exploring all that the Eastern Sierras have to offer. The pool is indoor and heated as well as the spa, which was about 101 degrees. There is a rec room which was being used for the jazz jubilee when we were there. There is also a playground for the kids and a tent area in the middle of the property. There is a Von's supermarket nearby, as well as a great pizza place, Giovanni's. It is about two hours from Yosemite Valley and 1.5 hours from Bodie Ghost Town, and 15 minutes from the resort, where you can take the gondola's to the top of the mountain and mountain bike down, or take a bus down into the Devil's Postpile National Monument. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$50
One word: DUSTY, best describes this campground's ambience. Large pine tree sites are nice and large; however, if powdery dirt gets on your nerves, as it does ours, you'd best stay somewhere else. There are no speed bumps as well, so most people who ignore the posted 5 mph sign create even more dust. So be forewarned if you like your rig to stay clean or if you wash it prior to arriving. A lot of fun for the kids. They have a recreation room, an indoor swimming pool and bike trail. They loved this place of course! One note: there are no signs posted as to when the restrooms are going to be closed for cleaning, and they were being cleaned anywhere between 8:45 and 9:30am, our personal showering time! If we'd known at what time the showers were going to be cleaned, it'd be easier to plan around. But then again, why clean at that time? This is the only campground where we experienced this. Had to wait for about 10 minutes for them to finish. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2008
$45
If you're going to Mammoth to ski, Mammoth Mountain RV Park has a captive audience. Since there's no competition, they can charge whatever they want and provide the worst possible customer service. We stay here at least 25-30 nights per winter; yet they never treat us like anything other than perfect strangers. The young woman who runs the front desk is cold, unfriendly and oftentimes downright rude. They claim Wi-Fi, but unless you're in the first row of parking, it's no good. The bathrooms are disgusting. They don't enforce the quiet hours (this time our rude neighbor started up his deisel engine and let it idle for at least 15 minutes at 6:45am each day before he took his rig up to the lifts). Typically in the winter, especially mid week when we're here, there are only 4-5 other RVers, yet they give no accommodation if you want to stay a few extra hours. Terrible. Just about the worst place we stay. We've never come during the summer, but it's packed. And expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$65
We enjoyed our stay very much. Sites are large enough to accommodate most size rigs. This is a very beautiful area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$55
This park has 2 sides- a partial hookup side which is basically a parking lot with very little room between sites and a full hookup side which is partially shaded and on dirt. We stayed on both sides this trip and would only consider staying on the full hookup side. The nights we were on the full hookup side the people behind us left their little dog out all night and it proceeded to bark from 3-5am, keeping us all awake. I did complain to the management there and while they seemed indifferent to it in person they apparently did do something about it because it didn't happen again the next night. The bathrooms/showers were reasonable clean. The park is ok but over priced but since they are the only full hookup park in the area they can get away with it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
Make sure when you book this you get in the full hookup tree area. The one side of the park is a virtual parking lot with barely enough room to pull out an awning, and set on asphalt. The other side of the park has some very spacious sites with large pine trees. Bathrooms were very clean. Did not look at the pool. Great location, walking distance into town. Extra charge for over 2 people and extra charge for pets. We had some people next to us arrive at midnight and then stay up til 2:30 a.m. both nights. No ranger on duty. Make sure you watch where you park your rig. Ours was a little close to our site line, and our neighbors fire was very close to our rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$55
Very crowded sites, some under trees, but some are "parking lot" type. The young staff seem very indifferent, stating that the reason the rates are so high is that "they're the only game in town." In fact, there is a beautiful forestry campground just across the highway called New Shady Rest, which has much larger, better treed sites for $18 ($9 if you have a pass), with flush toilets but no showers. Non-Mountain View RV customers can still get a shower there for $5. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2007
$49
We stayed here overnight in our way to another destination. We were charged full price even though we only were given access to electricity. All water was shutoff and there were no sewer at the sites. The office staff were rude, not allowing us to switch sites even though the park was less than 50% full. We love the Mammoth area, and would recommend trying somewhere else like Shady Rest CG, once it opens for the season. This CG has a monopoly, therefore charges a lot of $$ for not much in return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$45
We enjoyed our stay at this park. We were a little nervous about the roads leading up to Mammoth Lakes in February, but the weather worked with us. I can imagine it would be pretty difficult on the hill that leads up to the park in the ice and snow. We arrived very late and the roads within the park were somewhat icy and snow packed. Our check-in information was posted on the door outside the registration desk, and it included a notice to "make sure not to use electric heaters" at the hook-ups, because they were having problems with circuits breaking. Not a big deal. We just used the heck out of the gas heater since it was February. Very convenient location for skiing. There is a shuttle stop right outside the park that runs up to Mammoth. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$42
We were a bit leery about staying here based on previous reviews, but this served us well as a stop on the way home from Tahoe. We didn't get a spot under the trees, but that didn't matter too much as the weather was not oppressively hot. Our daughter loved the indoor pool, the bathrooms were clean, and the showers had hot water. This is a great base camp for exploring the Sierra, and it's a short walk from Grumpy's, a great local burger/beer joint. Staff was pretty good, a few too many piercings/tattoos for my taste, but the whole town is made up of younger folks who ski and/or mountain bike. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2006
$45
Loved the area. Quite campground in a beautiful location. Both blacktop and dirt campsites. Within walking distance to town. We would recommend this park to everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$36
Very nice camp ground. Be aware that there are different parts to this camp ground. Numbered areas are black top camping with electricity and water, and tent camping in the trees. Lettered camp spaces are full hook up in the trees. Also, if looking for full hook up make sure you ask for a space away from the main high way. This camp ground is nice for a base camp to see and visit the surrounding area. Over all a very nice and clean camp ground, we will indeed come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$36
We enjoyed our stay here while we explored the area. The staff was friendly and helpful. Sitting in the trees as it does, makes a nice setting. As said before there are a variety of sites here. Within the tree sites there are some locations that are better than others. Most sites on the hookup loop that are farthest from the office are going to have more sun. The inside of this area faces the afternoon sun and the outside faces storage, equipment and piles of dirt. The outside is more dusty since that part of the road has minimal gravel. The optimal sites are closest to the office on the south side. The park is right on the edge of town (nice for walking) and across the street from the Forest Service Visitors Center. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$34
It was very nice (except for the Motorcross people but that was a minor distraction). The staff was very helpful, friendly, diligent and seemed to want to make the stay as nice as possible. They also listened to suggestions about improvements (having pallets at the shower stalls so you can change in the outside of the stall while not standing in a puddle). But this was a relativly minor problem. The only other problem I would say about the bathrooms (they are being remodled: materials are set to be installed) was all the privacy latches had been kicked out (motorcross idiots). The pet walk is nice. The only improvement I would make is an inclosed dog run). The park is leased from the U.S. Forestry Dept. so I know they are limited on improvements (federal forms and burocratic oversite limit fast reaction to suggestions). It was a very nice stay and YES, I WOULD BE HAPPY TO RETURN! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2004
$36
"Standard" paved sites are very narrow, and there is little or no shade. Standard sites include water and power, but no sewer hookups. This section is just a parking lot with water and power. "Premium" sites with alphabetic designations are nice, large, and well-shaded. These are worth it. "Premium" sites with numeric designation are unshaded and smaller. My sewer drop was 35' away from my sewer outlet, and positioned at the highest elevation of the site. Customer service is *terrible*! They just don't care at all. They are "the only game in town", they know it, and they act like it. This place has great location, and with a change of management/ownership could be a jewel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Our family spent 4 nights at this park in August. I had already made the reservations prior to reading the gloomy reviews (figures!) so it was with some trepidation that we arrived at the park. What a surprise, place was very well maintained, restrooms clean, pool and spa very clean, the staff in the office altho very young were helpful and pleasant. We were placed up on the asphalt and the spaces are narrow but they had not rented the space next to us so there was plenty of room for the awning and slide. Also, the spaces on the asphalt do not have sewer hook-up but they have a dump station. The park is very close to town, Yosemite is less than a hour away and Devils Postpile is just up the road. We were happy with our experience and plan on a return visit. We will however make sure our space is in the trees next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$34
We were looking forward to a 4 day stay. My husband became ill and we had to cancel our reservation. I was informed that my $25 reservation fee was not refundable. I have never encountered that before, especially with a 3 day notice. Very disappointing. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$36
This spot has so much potential, but unfortunately it is being wasted. The pool was dirty and/or green. You can hardly tell where the spots are. No pride of ownership. Lady in office very unfriendly. Too bad because it is a great location. Not for me. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$36
A solid "1" just for their ingenuity in getting three rigs in a space large enough for one. Wal-mart parking lot would have been so much more comfortable. A wonderful example of greed at its very best. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$29
My husband and I just stayed here in July, 2003. Everything was VERY clean, and the people were very nice. They have a heated indoor pool and spa that we used. They were well kept and clean. Even the kids there were well behaved. We got lucky with our site. If you can't get a Full-hook up site or site 95, I wouldn't stay. They had most room and privacy. We could have used a better stocked store and fire pits aren't in every spot. We had no neighbors on one side and nothing but trees and forest to look at so it was great. Very easy walking to town (especially if cut through the pet walk area and passed the schools.) Will be staying there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2001
$35
Unfortunately, this is the only game in town. The section we were assigned to was nothing more than a parking lot with hook-ups; no grass, just asphalt. The bathrooms do not have any soap or paper towels for those using the toilet facilities. I don't know about you, but I don't always carry soap and towel with me while I am out and about in the campground. The showers were very basic with "Little Mermaid" shower curtains. The cleaning staff decided to clean the shower floors while guests were still taking showers. They did this by dumping water on the floor of the dressing areas and then swept it out with a broom -- getting water and "soap" all over my shoes. The cable TV was not working properly. The person at the front desk didn't have a clue as to what she was doing. This park does not appear to have owners or managers who are committed to providing a good camping experience. Friends of mine who were just there May, 2002 said that all of the things I saw in 2001 remained the same: rusted out trash recepticles in the ladies toilets, sheetrock piled high in the foyer of the restrooms. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2001
$33
Looks a little run down, dirt and pine needles, may be a couple of pull throughs but didn't see them, most sites have a table. Good area but they seem to be the only game in town, lots of room for improvement in upgrading and cleaning up sites. Probably will be back, but will look for better parks within a half hour drive of the area. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com