215026 User submitted reviews online!!
Jellystone Park on Barton Lake was rated 7 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (260) 833-1114
CGID3890

Jellystone Park on Barton Lake

Camp Information
Sites
576
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$70



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   9   10   7   1   8   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$70
I am torn on this review. As an adult responsible for all the logistics of camping, I wasn't a fan. There are kids flying everywhere paying no attention to other vehicles and equally bad adults racing all around in golf carts. I felt extremely rushed backing into my tiny, un-level site, while holding up all the impatient golf cart traffic. Water hookup at my site was at ground level...almost in the dirt and my sewer pipe (PVC) was broken off so I didn't even bother hooking up. All that said, from a fun factor, this park is great and the kids had a wonderful time. People at the pools were friendly, polite, and managed their children well. There are many activities that were free so I didn't feel nickle and dimed every time the kids wanted to do something. Ice cream at the camp store was surprisingly reasonably priced ($1.75 for a huge bowl) and firewood was dry. Golf carts, which it seemed everyone had, were an absurd price of $50/day, 2 day minimum. No thanks, I'll ride my bike. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and we will probably return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$62
This is a great campground for kids. We had our grandkids and they had a blast. They had things on the agenda every hour for the kids to do. We stay over a weekend and I bet there was over 1,000 kids in this campground. But the pools and all the equipment seem not overcrowded. Every one rode their bikes (take your bikes). They rent golf carts if you want. Everyone seem to watch out for the kids. They clean the restroom I believe every hour; they are always cleaning. This is a great place for kids. We would camp here again. We wore our grandkids out. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$66
My kids' favorite campground. Tons to do here, very busy and lots of kids. There isn't much in the surrounding area, but you don't need to leave. The main road in front of the general store can get quite busy. It would have received 10 stars if it wasn't directly on the expressway. They even have some premium sites that back up to the expressway. It was a bit of a bummer to have such a great vacation, but hear the road noise whenever we sat outside. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$50
We stay here a few times each summer. This is my children's absolute favorite campground. This campground is all about making your kids happy. They have just about every recreational activity available. They have planned activities every day - all day with small fees for some. The staff is very friendly and seem to make improvements to the park every year. They have lots with shade and sun depending on your taste. Some of them are a bit closer to the expressway than I would prefer and you definitely have to call early to get a site. The park is very busy on weekends with kids all over, but that is part of what Jellystone is all about. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
Many of the sites in the area we stayed in (near the activities/meeting building) are not level and need to be paved or at least have some gravel put down. The weekend we were there was pretty wet and several trailers got stuck getting into and out of the sites. That said, it's a nice campground overall. They have a lot of activities and things to do. The pancake breakfast on Saturday was nice (with morning cartoons even). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$59
TERRIBLE CAMPGROUND, that would sum up our experience there. During my stay I personaly observed several issues that need to told to future campers so they are fairly warned prior to staying there. Be prepared for exposure to very rude camp staff, everyone was not friendly or understanding, seemed like we were bothering them, especially in the camp store area. I observed a camp staff member putting dirty mop heads in a washer that was designated for camp users, but the fact that she threw nasty mops in there wasn't so bad for the fact there are 4 washers and 1 was busted and marked "out of order". Speaking of which 8 games in the arcade are marked "out of order"; everywhere we went there was a "out of order" sign. Midway through the stay the camp cancelled several events that our kids had wanted to do. The campground advertises Wi-Fi, where??? We were camped next to a transponder and got no signal, I walked around the camp trying to get a signal and found none. I do have much, much more to report however, I dont want to let emotions get involved, in my opinion I wouldnt recommend staying there until they get a grip on maintenance issues and train staff on customers relations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$57
If we didn't have kids there would be no reason to camp here. But the kids had a blast with 8-10 activities every day. A few activities every day were not free, like the tie dye shirts $8, and the suncatchers $3. There are 3 outdoor pools, 1 indoor, and 1 splash pool. There are many seasonals that had well cared for lots. Golf cart rental available, and kids on bikes literally everywhere. The lake has a beach area and there are 5 playgrounds. The activities are put on by teenagers that sometimes seem a little bored with the games: kickball, flag football, etc. But, there were a couple of them we got to know well that were very friendly. The absent adult workers or security was a downfall. I witnessed a grown woman vomit on the beach and walk away. But, there are no visible workers inside the camping area. I was completely disappointing by the shower house situation. Seems the park has grown but forgot to have enough bath/shower houses. There was a constant muddy floor in the showers as well. The campstore is nice and pricey, and the cafe was nice for the kids to get snacks. We were here 11 days and were discovering new things every day about the park. Oh, and our neighbors decided to park with their camper/ RV touching, completely sideways taking up the whole 2 sites and blocking our view of anything. I don't know if that's fair when we paid as much as anyone else here to stay. We were told, however they can get them in, is okay with the staff. If you are looking for rest, relaxation and rejuvenation, this is not the place. This is kid oriented only. We will return 3-4 days a year until the kids don't camp with us anymore. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$54
Nice pull throughs in the 600 site area; other areas get tight. Lots to do for the kids; lots of people so bathrooms and showers are pretty much dirty all the time. Could use another bathhouse in the southeast corner. WI-FI worked very well. Overall pretty quiet at night considering the number of people in the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$56
There is so much to do at this park you won't have to leave. It's a large park that has entertainment throughout and not just at the front of the park like other resort campgrounds. This allows for easy walking and riding bikes throughout the park with less traffic. Everything is a little more expensive but that probably pays for all the entertainment. They have announcements in the evening to return all bikes, skateboards, etc. to your site so the evenings are nice and quiet. Sites were big and escorts take you to them. We loved this park but stayed on Independence weekend and were only disappointed by the lack of scheduled activities. No fireworks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$53
Our family's favorite park. A place where you can let our 9 year old and his friend go out all day and have fun and not worry about them. Plenty of activities for them to do. Park is very clean, golf cart use and speed limit is enforced so no one is driving crazy and carelessly. Curfews are also enforced with kids and as long as you're not loud, you can sit around campfire late with no one to tell you you have to go in. Prices are very reasonable in park. Whether it be the craft tent, bingo, water slides or bumper boats, prices are not bad. Could always be better, but not bad. The sites themselves are generally pretty roomy compared to others I've been to. We have been very happy camping here for several years and can't think of a bad moment we've had. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$53
Large park on a lake, 4 pools including indoor, and a small water park for the kids. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$55
It is a overall nice park. However there is very little communication between staff so assistance is a bit of a struggle. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
Stayed here in 2008 and was very impressed with the amount of stuff to do. Four pools (one indoor for those rainy days) along with planned activities. Very clean park. We camped in a w/e site on the water right near the activities building. Sites were nice with a concrete pad for the table under the awning. Bathrooms/showers were close and clean with plenty of room. Well stocked store and a nice array of food in the cafe. Very friendly staff. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
Again this year I rate it pretty high, they put money back into the park since we were here last year. New basketball, volleyball courts, covered pavilions, new pool. Everything else as described in previous posts. Down side is we were in 522 row, sites are not level and sewage hook up is at back of site, if you have a sewage outlet at mid trailer (like mine) then it is very difficult to drain. Also, even with the new pool (makes 3 pools, two activity pools) on weekends it is so crowded in the pools the best you can do is stand there and splash water, cannot swim without hitting another person quickly. Other than those two disappointments, still a nice place to bring kids/grandkids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$55
This is one of our favorite parks. We try to visit at least annually; sometimes we go an extra weekend in the fall. The park has grown substantially, and it seems as though there are more amenities each year. I will say if you are looking for a nice quiet park to sit by the lake and enjoy nature this isn’t your park. If you have children and are looking for fun things to do for little or no additional expense then this is where you want to go. I have been here on busy weekends in the new area to the east of the old park and actually prefer this as it is out of the bottleneck at the Ranger Station. Plus I like to walk over and look at the new units at their dealership. Additionally, there are a lot of seasonal units in the old section that are very well maintained, and everyone is always very nice. My family very much enjoys this park and would suggest it to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$56
This is almost the best campground I’ve ever been in. I say almost for 1 big reason: the highway. There is constant highway noise. I found it troubling to get to sleep at night. If this campground was just ½ mile north, it would be without a doubt the best. Lots for the kids to do. Facilities were great. Whoever owns this park obviously spent some serious money on it. The pools and splashpad area is better than most hotels. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$56
We stayed at a site in the 600 area. This was really close to the freeway and was noisy at night. Some of the sites closer to the lake may not have this problem. Lots of activities: water slides, paddle boats, pedal cars, 3 pools, splash pool, and many playgrounds. The nightly rate seemed kind of high for having extra fees on some activities. Everything was in good condition, but pretty busy. The staff was 50-50 on how friendly and helpful they were. The registration staff said wood couldn't be delivered from the Ranger Station, but when we drove our motorhome over there, there was at least 3-4 staff members in golf cars offering to deliver wood. This was on a Thursday, but they were not delivering any of the other nights we were there. We would only stay here again if it was convenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
This is our second time back to this park. Again we had a super great time. We did have to move once as there was not a site where we wanted to stay for our entire stay. This was a bit of a pain, but you don't really want to be in the 600's: there is no shade, only a few baby trees. We first stayed on site 429: very shady and convenient as it was directly across from the athletic field and a large playground. We took advantage of this a lot! The site was a bit small but with the field, it did not bother us. We then moved to site 448: lots more sun here, but the site itself was quite large and lots of grass in our area for the kids to play. Both sites had concrete pads and fire rings. The pools were busy but nice and refreshing. Kids loved that as did the parents! We took advantage of the waterslides this year which are also on the property. There is a fee, but it is a quite resonable $10 for a day pass. Hubby and I shared an 8-time pass for $6 and that was enough for us. The staff was friendly: had a bit of a mess-up with a credit we were to receive, but it all worked out before we left. Clean with lots of activities. The teenagers were a bit bored after the 3rd - 4th day but the little ones (4-10) had a blast and were sad to leave! We stayed for 6 days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$60
There is something for everyone at this campground. The sites: There are over 600 sites many with different attributes. Some are wooded, some are in the open, some cement patios, lakefront, playground front, etc. there is likely a configuration that suits you best. We stayed in the 600s area which we liked and there was an awesome restroom facility in that area with private FULL bathrooms (in the comfort station) complete with shower, toilet and sink with a lockable door to the outside. I thought the sites in general weren’t as well maintained as other places we stay, they were uneven, gravel and dirt in many places, some grass, smaller for the price, however, the amenities of this resort outweigh it. I think a little maintenance in this area could make a world of difference. I would love to see the 600s area converted to a fully paved RV section with paved sites/patios and full hookup. Pools: Even with a full weekend the resort didn’t feel crowded. My kids loved the outdoor water/splash park, this was great for all ages (I even enjoyed running under the waterfalls). The pools were well heated and clean. While we didn’t ride the large water slides, many did and it was a great addition to the campground. Other Amenities: This campground has the largest best camp store/diner I have seen anywhere. Complete with just about anything you could possibly need, the prices were reasonable and there was much to choose from. The grill/ice cream parlor was a nice touch with a balcony overlooking the lake. The putt putt golf, while basic, was a nice feature, it was affordable and we enjoyed it. We were disappointed in the arcade as about 70% of the games were not working. My kids liked the variety of having 5 different playgrounds here, kept them interested throughout the trip. The bike rentals were quite expensive at $10 per half hour but were fun even if for a short time. And in Jellystone fashion, the Yogi Activities, train rides, crafts, bingo, etc. were a hit with the family. If Wi-Fi is an important need for you, know that you will likely only get a signal at the Ranger Station, not at your site (by the staff's report and my experience). Cleanliness/Maintenance/Customer Service: I think this campground is just inches from greatness. I think with a bit of attention to detail this place could be great. I was taken aback at the number of unkempt seasonal sites, this did create a less than stellar perception for me, some were an eyesore. I thought they could also step up the customer service, while I did not encounter any rudeness the staff was mostly indifferent, even when I asked a simple “how are you doing today…?” I was confronted with no response at all. Bottom Line: Overall this is a great destination and I highly recommend it especially for families with children - this is a kids paradise. Pick your site carefully as some are better than others. Bring extra money for the amenities, most things are extra. If you are looking for a meticulously maintained luxury resort this may not be the place for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$48
Very nice park to bring families, I brought the grand kids and they had a great time. Lot's to do, daily planned activities. Park Staff are friendly and helpful. Being next to a major interstate did not bother us, noise was not that bad. Our campsite was very nice, level, with concrete patio (not all sites had patio). Will return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$52
Great park for kids, so much for them to do, but a lot of things are extra fees. Splash pools are free though. Very crowded in the summer. Do not enforce pet rules. Very friendly staff. Would not stay here as a retiree, but would bring the grand kids. Lot of seasonals that think they own the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
This was our third visit to this park. We decided to wait a week to skip the crowds after Labor Day. The park was only about 2/3 full which made for a bit nicer experience. As always, the kids had a blast enjoying all this park has to offer. We were in site 90 near the lake. This was equidistant between two bathrooms and near a couple of playgrounds. This weekend was their bingo marathon. My youngest son and a family friend each won big jackpots ($70). The park staff made sure they got back to the site with their money. We'll be back again (maybe even this fall). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$58
Has gotten really big, and some of the attractions no longer attract our kids... We have been going here for 5 years, but not planning to go back next year. I would still highly recommend this park though.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$50
This is an extreemly busy campground on the weekend. Just pulling in I had to wait twice while other travel trailers backed into their sights...it took me over a half an hour to get to my sight. Lots of things for the kids to do though. This campground is likely my 4-year-olds favorite. Waterslide costs $10 per day extra. They rent golf carts (you cannot bring your own) and they are zooming everywhere loaded down with teens. People constantly walk through your site! Did I mention people constantly walk through your sight? The interstate runs right by here so in some sights there was constant noise. Price is very high for what you get. On the positive side the pool and play area is great if you don't mind lots of people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$49
This is our kids' favorite campground! Great park for kids (we have a 5 and 7 year old). Wristbands for slide is a great deal (options available). Lots of activities. Very clean facilities and helpful staff. Clean with paved roads throughout. We also love the amenities at the Ranger's Station. Can get very crowded, on weekends especially. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$46
We recently enjoyed a 4 day stay at this campgrounds. It is very large with many activities. The only downside was that we were put on a site next to the Indiana Turnpike and the traffic noise was bad. I would return but would stay in a site farther away from the freeway! All in all it is a very nice park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$54
Very busy campground. Plenty of activities for kids to do. People constantly walk through your site. Traffic is an issue here, constant traffic flow. Price is very high for what you get. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$65
Great campground for kids, they have planned activities all day long. They do a poor job of policing the dog problem, dog crap all over campground and many people did not even have dogs on leash, which was overlooked by the staff. Way over priced if you do not have kids. They should lower rates and then charge on a use basis for activities, that way RVer's would not have to pay for things they do not use. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$85
There was no shade in the site were were located at, and the site was not level. The pools were very cold; even the indoor pool was cold. The camp store was nicely stocked, however the common area for eating snacks or watching the occasional Yogi Bear video was very dirty. The restrooms by our area were still under construction; however there was no sign up advising of this. The restrooms that were in operation were not clean and most stalls were missing toilet paper. At one point the Yogi Characters were out riding in a wagon, and when some of our children in our group approached them; the children were ignored. The price was very steep for the condition of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2007
$55
While the kids enjoyed the pool areas the rest of the resort was nothing special. If your site is in the 600 range you are basically in a field with cement slabs, sparse grass and sites that are about as wide as 2 cars. Some of the sites in the old area of the park looked decent however the park is very crowded. Also, right next to the highway and on Friday night apparently it's Harley Davidson drag race night. Overall not enjoyable and won't return even for the pools. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$39
Slightly expensive, but you get what you pay for. Kids had a blast. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
This was our second year at this park. While it is pretty crowded, the kids just love the activities. They played bingo, swam, used the water slides, played mini golf, and rode their bikes to the store. We had two sites on the lake (next to the beach) for our two families. We did not encounter any problems (other than the rain). Very close to Amish country (nice day trip). We will visit again! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$49
Our site was very muddy with no gravel or grass around the concrete patio. We had to buy a "Y" in order to get water even though our site was a water/electrical site. There was no cable or WIFI available. Getting to your site is a nightmare due to adults and kids walking, riding bikes, etc down the middle of the streets. The showerhouse near our loop only had one shower for men and one for women. The water was luke warm at best both times we used them. There are lots of seasonals and some are beginning to look run down. Overall, we were very disappointed with this park and the prices charged. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2006
$47
I feel as though my family has been cheated out of a good camping trip. We would have gone somewhere else had we known how much change the campground had gone through. We were there 2 years ago and had a fantastic time, thus the return visit. Our children were tall enough now to use the water slides and with the addition of the splash pool we thought we were going to be in camping nirvana. Well we could not have been more wrong. From the moment when we arrived and noticed that our site (51) was directly across the road from the bathroom. This was puzzling to us because when we made the reservation we specifically asked the booking agent about the location of the site. And we were informed that the map was not to scale and that our site was 3 or 4 sites away from the bathrooms. We then observed a constant string of people, adults and kids alike, strolling through our site to get to the bathrooms. At first we were politely asking people to not walk through our camp site. But this was met with dirty looks and complete ignorance of our request. One such person was from site 86 directly behind us from the bathrooms. She started to walk through our site and again politely asked this person to go around. This was met with the reply, “this is how we get to the bathroom.” To which we replied “No, it isn’t. There is another bathroom down the road or you can go around on the road.” Her response was “well I am a seasonal camper and this is how we always go to the bathroom.” Well if this is the “standard” attitude of your seasonal campers then there is no wonder why your campground is going down the toilet. Saturday morning about 8:30 or so we decides to have a little chat with the “management.” We went to the registration building to voice our complaint. This was met with a response that left me with a little hope that our stay would get better. The person at the counter said, “The manager is on the campgrounds and I will radio him to stop and talk to you.” So then we returned to our site awaiting the visit to rectify this issue. They NEVER showed up. We waited at our site until 1:00 PM. We decided to make the best of a bad situation and continue our endeavor to have fun despite the rudeness and uncaring “neighbors” in the campground. This was not easy either. Just trying to move from point A to point B anywhere in the campground was journey of danger at every corner. There were so many uncontrollable children running, riding, and moving about the roads that would literally take us longer to drive than to walk. After a day of activities with our kids we return to our site to be inundated by yet another barrage of campers who have no respect for anyone else walking through our site non-stop. This continued to happen right through our dinner. We had finally had enough. We went to the office again to talk to someone in charge. Which apparently there is no one willing or not to deal with us or our problem. We told the person behind the counter our ordeal of the past day and half, and how the manager never showed up and how we wanted to speak to someone NOW. This was met with a half hearted attempt at trying to contact the owner, the manager, or who ever they were trying to get in touch with to no avail. We were told that so-in-so is at a dance and probably can’t hear the radio and the owner isn’t answering the phone, and so on. This was at 8:30 PM, we pulled out of your sorry excuse for a campground at 9:10 PM. If you have rules, then are they supposed to be enforced? If they are then where were the people who enforce them? I certainly did not see anyone. And if the rules are just a token “guideline” then why post them at all? I guess this is the place for the family that wants to perpetuate the parenting pattern of the new generation. Their motto is “if someone else will watch out for my kids then why should I?” Unfortunately this attitude is spreading and I can think of no other place on earth it is more prevalent than at your place of business. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$65
Activities for children at this campground are great. Now the road noise! This campground does not mention that it is right on a freeway. We could not sleep at night and left 3 nights early from our cabin. When we told them that we were checking out they just said ok. Really busy. Pools were great but you would have to stay there all day to relax. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$45
This is one of the best parks we have stayed at (have stayed here over 20 times) and probably the best Jellystone anywhere! They have concrete pads at most of the full hook-up sites (most of them are pull-thru) and PAVED ROADS throughout the park. Plus waterslides, a indoor pool, a outdoor pool (now they have added an expanded water-play area), putt-putt, nice playgrounds and BINGO all weekend long! They consistantly have a great staff of people and seem to always be around the park aware of what is going on. They put family-first in everything they do. Some have complained in previous reviews that they seem to have gotten too big, but I feel they have adapted well to their success and should be applauded for it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$49
The most family park we have ever been too. So much to do for everyone! Have not been there since 2002 due to are move but we sure miss it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2005
$45
Park is well-maintained. If you are a single mother with 6 uncontrollable kids, this is the place for you!!!! It's like camping in a daycare center! We observed a lot seasonals walking through transient campsites. We didn't have that problem because we were in the "new" area - grass sites that back up to the interstate!!! Oy vey - talk about highway noise. There must be some type of sign or something out on the highway that advertises the campground, because every 5 minutes or so a truck would go by laying on the horn for 10 - 15 seconds as they went by! Even though it was like camping in a rest stop (a rest stop with a daycare, that is), these sites were HUGE!!! Probably 100 feet distance between the cg road and the campsite - we had tons of room to set up badminton AND croquet, and played bocce ball without venturing into neighbors' sites. The saving grace here is that there is a LOT to do for kids, including well-planned activities that even us parents participated in ("ceramics", other arts/crafts). Once was enough for us, though. We now stay at other cg's in the area when we travel up there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2005
$47
After hearing a lot of good things about this park, we decided to give it a try. While it was a nice park, it was not our style. It was just too big. We had a hard time backing into our site because there were so many people and they would not stay clear of our truck. Maybe if we were in the back of the park, we would have had a different experience. The showers were another thing, you had to stand there and push the button to keep the water running and it was mostly cold. It looks like they added sites without adding bathrooms and shower capacity. This is an example of bigger is not always better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2005
$54
This campground has gone from a very nice place to stay and visit to a very poor example of a jellystone park. The prices are going up so much that you can almost afford to stay in a good motel, plus some of the service that were there before have been discontinued even as the prices went up such as cable TV and wireless internet service. There is a lot to do for the children but the sites are very small and on a weekend you cannot move around in the park; it is so crowded and dangerous with many of the services such as game room, golf, store being located right at the main entrance to the camping areas. We will not go back; have gone for years and went twice this year but it has gotten too big to be fun. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2005
$54
This campground has grown too fast and they have lost sight of the customer. They did have wireless service and have removed it, they did have cable tv and removed it, our experience in past years were pretty good, but since they have grown so much the people are not as friendly or helpful, they have a take it or leave it approuch now, yet the rates keep going up. We will not go back and that is after having gone there for many years. Growth has hurt them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$52
They do a great job and have a bunch of activities fo the kids. We usually stay there a week so the $22 bracelet that allows unlimited water slide, paddle boat use and mini golf is well worth it. I do think that for the cost per night, they could make the train rides and hayrides free. Only a quarter or so, but still kind of anoying. They have added about 75 new sites since last summer and are building 6-8 very nice/large rental cabins. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$40
This is a very nice park. They have three waterslides, minigolf, two pools of which one is indoor, pedal carts, paddle boats and lots of daily activities. I would guess about half of the spots are seasonal. My only real complaint this trip was our site only had one 30 amp hookup that it shared with another site. I was told this was the only site that shared and they are to be rented together. Unfortunately, we had to run our refrig on propane all weekend as the 20 amp we got did not operate it. Also, this is a very busy park with lots of kids as you would expect at at Jellystone so just be aware of it ahead of time. Overall, a great park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com