217881 User submitted reviews online!!
Crater Lake Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (541) 381-2349
CGID3915

Crater Lake Resort

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   7   7   10   7   8   7   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
This was the most difficulty we've ever had trying to level the rig. We had to use six 2 X 6 boards. The sites are short and narrow, the rig sticks out into the driveway and there is scant room to park the tow, but they back right up to a pretty creek, Fort Creek. The bathrooms are OK, nothing special. Concrete floors, wooden stalls. The Wi-Fi is spotty and mostly non-functional. No cable but there are movies (DVDs) to borrow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
The park is very well kept, the grounds are very nice. Our RV was up next to Fort Creek which was also very nice. I do have a couple of complaints. If you stay here, plan to bring bottled water. The smell of sulfur is really strong and I am not sure I would want to drink it. If you have a need for Wi-Fi, come with an open mind. Use of Wi-Fi is to say the least sporadic, weak and you need to sign on time and time again. We did not download movies, documents or music, but found the connection available to be very, very slow and frustrating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
Gravel roads and sites. High rating for location and setting. Big trees, no cable TV and only 2 sites get satellite signal. ONLY 8 SITES FOR BIG RIGS. All sites back up to a stream. Small store with basics and 15 miles to large grocery store or a town. Best and closest RV park to Crater Lake Nat'l park. Not a resort: no pool or recreation room, etc., but beautiful setting and good for a short stay. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would stay again if in the area. No discounts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
A nice smaller campground with exceptional amenities. Some sites are right next to the little stream. You can use the canoes to go in the stream. Free supply of videos since there is no cable connection. But beware of the smelly sulphur water, mosquitos, and horrible Wi-Fi. Otherwise it is a great place to stay. It is close to Crater Lake National Park which is fabulous. I would try the campground in the park next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
This is a great campground. We have stayed here four or five times over the past 10 years and find that it is better each time. Most sites back up to Fort Creek, a small, meandering stream perfect for canoes; you can't go far due to blockage, which is a plus. The couple who own the campground have been there 13 years, are very friendly and very knowledgeable. The town is quite small with few amenities, but that only adds to the joy. We will always make this a stop when we are in central Oregon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
The good: Beautiful with lots of amenities. The bad: Mosquitoes and very smelly water The spots are all right along a beautiful stream with crystal clear water. There is a great play area for the kids, a tennis court, lots of games, DVDs and canoes to use in the stream all included in the price of the stay. My children had a great time riding in the canoes and playing the lawn games that are set up. At night we roasted marshmallows in the firepit set up right next to the playground. The HUGE problem was the mosquitoes. More than I have ever seen in my life. We had used liberal amounts of bug spray (after reading the previous reviews) and still came away with bodies covered in bites. The smaller problem was the water. Not the water in the stream, which smelled fine, but the water coming out of the spigot. Maybe a well? Not sure but it smelled like rotten eggs and none of us could use it even for teeth brushing. Nasty stuff. I would love to say I would stay there again because the good parts really were very very good however the mosquitoes were awful enough to make me say no. Not at this time of year in any case. Maybe after a few good frosts. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
We requested a site that backed onto the creek, and we did not regret it. So nice to have a campfire by the creek after a day exploring Crater Lake. As others have noted though, the mosquitoes like the creek too, so bring your bug spray. The free use of canoes was a nice touch. The little store on site has the basics, and the host was helpful with park information. This RV site says big rig friendly, but the creek sites can be challenging to get into. Fortunately, the host was very accommodating, allowing us to pull forward onto the grass in order to hook up / unhook. A couple of other notes: it is wise to get your diesel prior to getting here and (2) if you are afraid of heights, drive the Rim Drive counter clockwise. You will thank me for it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
We stayed at the park due to it proximity to Crater Lake. The park is right on the highway but we didn't notice much road noise at all. As stated in other reviews it is mostly set up to cater to tents or rental cabins but has a few RV sites. It has plenty of family activities. Unlike a KOA, they do not nickel and dime you for use of their toys. They had a few canoes to paddle in the stream (no cost), a small but varied selection of DVD's (no cost) plenty of lawn games (no cost). The one thing you have to watch out for is the mosquitoes, they come out in force once the sun starts setting. If you happen to stay be sure to stop by the old Ft. Klamath site a mile or so up the road. The docent is very knowledgeable and friendly. If in the area we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
This campground is catering to families and has more cabins then RV sites. There is a recreation hall, but really designed for children and not for adults. There is also a large playground for the children. They have about 10 FHU and another 10 W/E RV sites. All are very close to each other. The interior road and sites are gravel. Some sites are more level then others. We came here after Labor Day so it was not crowded. My guess is that this campground would be very, very crowded during the summer months especially considering it is the closest campground coming from the South entrance of Crater Lake. The bathroom and shower were clean but very, very dated. Judging how well this campground is kept, the bathroom was a disappointment. Verizon air card only picked up National not Broadband (even after hooking it up to an antenna). The campground had Wi-Fi but it too was very weak. Verizon cell phone had one or two bars (we were able to make and receive calls). I’m not sure that I would return again, especially if it was during the summer time. Perhaps I would explore a different part of the Crater Lake area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
Nice sites overlooking a creek, but quite close together. Has a good general store on site. Campground ideally situated for Crater Lake. Clean restrooms and shower. WiFi was good. Would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
The previous posts are right on the money. This is a jewel that we found by default. We tried to camp in the NP but that didn't work out. The Lord blessed us with this park instead. It is quiet, very clean, and family friendly. All sites are on a pretty stream. Lots of trees and a down home feeling. Staff is very friendly and helpful. On every trip we seem to find a surprise campground, and this is the one for this trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
This is a pretty park and convenient to Crater Lake and many Oregon Scenic Tours. The staff is friendly. They have only one shower for each sex but they are kept clean. The showers run out of hot water if there are tent campers. The sites are close. They advertise canoes but the creek has many downed trees in it and difficult to maneuver around sometimes. Some of the canoes seem to be a bit "tipsy". The park is very well kept up, and as I said, very pretty. You can tell the owners take pride in the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Totally agree with previous ratings. They now have WiFi: only $1 for password! This is a great place for a great price! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
Immaculately maintained park with all kinds of amenities to make the stay enjoyable: swings, bicycles, a large community fire pit on lawned area, canoes for cruising the stream, and extremely nice owners. The place shows great pride in ownership!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
Nice campground with sites right on the creek. Staff were very helpful and nice. No TV reception but were able to use satellite. Verizon air card got a very weak signal as did our phones. Bring what you need and fill up with fuel before you get here as the services in the area are very limited and expensive. Great place to use as a base to explore Crater Lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
This is a great little park, family owned and well-maintained. They also have about 8 cabins for folks without RVs. Restrooms spotlessly clean. Lovely landscaping. Each of the RV sites backs up to a beautiful meandering creek and is shaded by tall pine trees. Friendly, helpful owners. Free use of canoes and DVD/movies. Only drawback was lack of Wi-Fi, but we found we enjoyed a few days without it just fine. Highly recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
The is a small park with very limited amenities. The property is very well maintained. Sites vary in size and a couple will accommodate larger rigs but they only have 50 amp service on a couple sites. The free canoes are still available for use on the little creek. There is not much around except Crater Lake, which made it a nice place to kick back and relax. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$20
What a great little park, just a few miles from the South entrance to Crater Lake. The owners are friendly and helpful, and you get the sense that they do this because they love it, not for just the money. Playgrounds are nice and well-maintained, bathrooms and showers are spotless, beautiful setting, game room is nice, kids absolutely loved the *FREE* canoeing on Fort Creek. While it might be cold at Crater Lake, this is in the valley below and the temps are warm. We would definitely stay here again, and highly recommend it to fellow travelers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com