206676 User submitted reviews online!!
Cattail Cove State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (928) 855-1223
CGID3966

Cattail Cove State Park

Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   10   8   9   7   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$26
Not really knowing much about this place other than other reviews and tourist pamphlets, we hesitantly booked in advance 4 nights at this State Park. We were not at all sorry. What a beautiful location. Great services and good showers. The hiking along the lake is very nice and the sunsets over the lake are a great way to end the day. The staff was very friendly, which surprised us considering all the Arizona motorists we encountered on the road were all huge jerks. Would give this park 10 out of 10 were it not for the trees. They are awesome for blocking the sun, but terrible for blowing debris all over everything. Be sure to set aside at least 20 minutes for shaking out your patio mat when you leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$25
Nice park. Some hiking trails. No biking. Can get Wi-Fi at the bar in the next trailer park. Good hiking 6 miles away at SARA park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$26
We have been to the campground before and enjoy staying here. The sites are level and the park is kept very clean. You are 15 mins from Lake Havasu, nestled down in a cove. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
This campground was very clean (campsites, restrooms, beaches etc). We were at campsite 4 which was less than 75 yards from the beach. Perfect swim area as well as boat launch. Good area for pets. Cowboy RV mart in Havasu were awesome fixing our stove and working with the warranty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
What a lovely spot. Our second time overnighting (we make the trek down off I-40 specifically to stay here,) and we still love it. Very well-maintained, good reservation system, nice sites (many with shade, which is amazing in the desert), and a dog beach. We love that feature and stay here because of it--our dog hates when we have to traverse the desert, so the least we can do is provide a swimming opportunity. We'll be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$26
We liked this park, as we do most Arizona parks. We stayed in the upper loop, with a limited view of the lake, but also VERY quiet and peaceful. The lower loop was full and not really noisy, just a lot of activity. There are two nice hiking trails along and above the lake. The swimming beach is beautiful white sand (something like you'd see in the south of France). Each site has 1-2 shade trees, that allow you to eat lunch outside at your picnic table. Our restroom and showers were very clean, but we didn't use the lower ones where the boaters are. A nice camp host with info about the park and the area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$26
The restrooms/showers were very nice with tile. One-half of the sites were in sun. The beach area was nice and there's a boat ramp. Although our 40' motorhome fit into our site, the majority of sites were much smaller. The sites are also very close to each other unlike most state parks. This is also a park that attracts boaters and fishermen. We were here mid-May and the temperature was 117 degrees! There is only 30 amp available so we could only run one air conditioner which wouldn't catch up with the heat. Because of the 30A and close sites we would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
Great, peaceful location on Lake Havasu. The park is about 15 miles south of Lake Havasu City, but remote enough to be away from all the ambient light and city noise. Although the RV sites are not waterfront, there's a boat launch and a nice swimming beach immediately adjacent to the campground. There's also a dump station in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$26
Very clean and well maintained park. Friendly park hosts. Only 30 amp electric available with voltage running low due to heavy A/C usage on hot weekend. We had to use our Voltage Regulator to keep volts up to a safe level. Sites are spacious and paved. We stayed in the end pull-thru, Site #23. It was huge. VERY dog friendly with a private dog beach. Hiking trails were listed as easy, but I found them challenging in the heat. Looking forward to a return visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$27
We stayed here two nights on our way home from winter snowbirding. The park was very nice, with good access to the water. Everything was very clean. The sites were fairly level and all the hookups were convenient. We used the park as a base to kayak in Lake Havasu City and in the state preserve to the south of the park. We'd stay again next time we pass through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$26
This park is right at the boat launch, with a small beach, making it very convenient to cool off. There is also a beautiful hiking trail, right along the water. We walked an hour each way and the trail continued, don't know how far. We rented a 'sea doo' from a vendor in Lake Havasu City and they delivered it to us at the park: very convenient for an extra $10. The park was clean and the sites were roomy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$26
We spent two nights at this park, which was quiet, clean, well-maintained, and very pleasant. We opted for a pull-through site which was paved with a gravel space that included a picnic table and fire pit. The site had water and 30 amp electric only. A central dump station is located near the park exit. We had plenty of room for our 34' RV and truck without feeling cramped. The restrooms and showers were clean. But with only five stalls and four showers for 61 campsites, it felt a little over-used. The beach is nice and has a roped off swimming area. We did the lakeside hiking trail which was wonderful, and our two dogs enjoyed it, too. Very pet friendly park with a huge pet area (not off leash). We will definitely stay here again in the spring and fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$26
Great park with friendly staff and service. The sites are very spacious, and the way they are laid out gives you plenty of room to park your TOAD, as well as sit outside and enjoy the beautiful view. There were walking trails all around, as well as the boat launch and swimming area (too cold to swim though!). You can reserve your site for only a $5.00 fee on line, and they save it for you. We stayed here 4 days. It is a great spot to visit Lake Havasu, only 15 miles up the road. The only downside was that there was absolutely no TV reception. We would definitely come back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
We stayed 2 nights in March of 2012. We found the park to be quiet, clean, spacious with very friendly staff. The spaces are large enough to accommodate large rigs. The dog beach was great. The reservation system is excellent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$28
We stay here every winter, and it is our favorite campground in the Lake Havasu area. The sites are very wide, and I never feel like we are camping on top of our neighbors. They did go to a reservation system this year so I strongly suggest that you make reservations since this is such a popular state park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$28
Very quiet park. Some nice hikes in the area. My husband tried fishing, however, is convinced there are no fish in the River! The sites are level and the campground staff/hosts are very friendly. Nice shade in the sites. We would definitely camp here again. Reservations are recommended as this is a popular campground. You are about 10 minutes from Lake Havasu, and about the same from Parker. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$29
For a state park, we were disappointed in how close together the sites were as we felt like we were in a commercial park. Not sure why others thought they were roomy. There is a nice, though small, dog beach area. Ranger apparently likes to sing and presented an evening program at the amphitheater which is fine if you like that kind of music, but since everything is really close, we had to listen to two hours of "entertainment" whether we wanted to or not. We would not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$26
Facilities are good, quiet, sites are fairly level. 30A E & W available. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Their reservation system is kind of screwy, I checked on-line to see if sites were available for the 3 days we were going to be there. There were a number showing as available that morning, but when we arrived 3 hours later they said they were gone. Best to make reservations, as we had to move after one night, apparently this is happening a lot. No Virgin mobile service, AT&T was fine. We would stay here again, but will make a reservation ahead of time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$26
Wow: super dog friendly and clean! They even have a small dog beach! We loved the peacefulness. We had a beautiful view of Lake Havasu. The hosts are great! We stayed 2 nights and will return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$29
Very quiet, peaceful, and attractive park. Not large but clean and well-kept with spotless restrooms. Fairly good big rig access for a state park with about eight long pull throughs (the rest are back-ins and suitable for smaller rigs). Friendly staff. Right on the lake and there is day-user boater activity but it caused no problems (although it was late in the year and not very busy). No Wi-Fi but I did receive good AT&T 3G access (surprising due to the remote location in a canyon). Overall just very restful, and we stayed an extra day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
If you want a secluded park with easily accessible water sports (bring your own) and lake swimming, this is the place for you. Friendly staff, neighbors were quiet when we were there, but don't expect clean washrooms as they are used by the day visiting public. Overall, it was an OK overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$26
It is a wonderful park, with very clean restrooms and showers. There is nice lake access for swimming and boating. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$26
We loved this park. The sites near the lake were closer but not too bad. #4 and #5 have views of the beach area. We took site #53 which was a bit more secluded and had an enormous flowering tree that the hummingbirds loved. Gambel quails, golden eagle and many bird varieties. As we are kayakers, we went to Bill Williams Wildlife refuge. It was outstanding. The rangers could not be more helpful and really seem to like their jobs. Checked out Lake Havasu City area and the London Bridge. Would visit here again in a heartbeat! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$26
It is a very clean, very convenient park with beautiful walking trails. So very quiet. It is a photographer's heaven. The sites are wide. Our only complaint is not their fault, no internet service on aircard and cell phone only on the beach. We will definitely make it a regular stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$26
Very nice state park. Not far off the highway, yet very quiet. Staff was super nice on check in. Large sites, some with trees. Very clean, pretty level. Wanted to have a campfire, but had big winds! We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$26
We wish we could have stayed here longer. The setting and surrounding hiking is beautiful, the staff very helpful, the park is immaculate. Not sure how peaceful it would be in the warmer months when the boaters are using the launch ramp and the lakeside beach is hopping, etc. but in winter it was quiet and wonderful. Olive and lemon trees near our site were full and we were invited to harvest all we wanted from them, a nice bonus. An absolutely great park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$26
We just came back from five nights, and were very impressed with this park - though it is what I have come to expect from Arizona State Parks. This is a clean, well run park. Great showers/bathrooms. Everyone was very friendly. We were there in some very rainy weather, and we needed to know what the weather would be like on the drive home. They looked up the information on the internet for us, and convinced us to stay another night. Lake Havasu City is an easy 10 miles drive. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$26
This is a pleasant state park on the Colorado River. We picked our site, hooked up, then walked back to pay for it. We initially paid for two nights but later added an additional night because we liked it so much. Everyone was friendly. During our stay in early December, the park was only one quarter full. This is a water and electric hookup park. They have a dump station. Our site #48 was level and had medium size cottonwood trees on either side. Some sites were at a slight incline. Loops and sites are all paved with gravel everywhere else. There’s a combination of full sun to partial shade sites provided by small, medium and large trees. The park is long and narrow with the Colorado River at one end. There’s a 1.5 mile trail along the shore. It has a shorter loop off the main trail. You can also walk up to an overlook and over to the neighboring Sandpoint Marina RV Park. We enjoy this part of the Colorado River. On our next trip, we’ll probably explore the California side. We’ll definitely plan on returning to Cattail Cove the next time we’re on the Arizona side. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$23
This was an amazing state park! It was very clean and charming with great river access and hiking trails. The sites are huge, with picnic tables and fire rings/grills. The park rangers and camp hosts were very nice and helpful. We are staying here again on our way home - if they have space, as they don't take reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$23
This place is a real find. For those looking for tons of amenities and structure, pass it by. For RVers looking for scenic beauty, a relaxed and friendly environment with very adequate basic necessities, this will be your kind of park. The park has docks on Lake Havasu, a swimming beach, lots of hiking trails, fire pits, huge parking spaces, shade trees. Wildlife visits the park. We had a great time here. We will definitely come back when we pass that way again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$23
A beautiful campground: this was our third time staying here and I would stay here again. Beautiful hiking trails, very quiet. The bathrooms and showers were great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$24
Beautiful state park. Arizona has some bragging rights regarding their state parks, if this is a typical park. Has a wonderful host, clean camps and clean bathrooms. Would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
This review & very poor rating is based on the complete lack of information from the caretakers of this state park. Our group separately phoned twice to verify location and availability. Directions were very poor, second, the park caretaker advised that there were "plenty of spots." When we arrived, it was packed full. Not a single spot to be had anywhere, so we ultimately had to trek next door to the Sandpoint (privately owned park.) I was very disappointed, and wrote a letter of complaint to the Arizona parks as well. There is no excuse for that kind of incompetence. Would never stay here or even try, since they are a first come first serve place, and their own employees haven't a clue whether you'll even have the chance at a spot. Sandpoint next door was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$24
Nice park with the start of trees. Large flat sites on the river. Nice place to camp and relax. There is a swimming area on the river and another State park about 2 miles west of this one. Bring your boat as they have a boat launch here. We will stop here again if we come through this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$21
Very nice location, good hikes in the area. The sites are gravel and not real level but other, natural amenities, make it a good stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$21
We are having a very nice stay here at the park. We are due to leave on the 22nd. The rest rooms and showers are very clean as is the rest of the park. It is kept very neat. Park rangers are very friendly and helpful and the park host is very nice. We went to Twentynine Palms CA for three days and left our travel trailer parked on our site while we were gone. No problem it was just as we had left it. The only thing I have against the park is it is down in a hole along the Colorado river and it seems to take a long time for the rising sun to get to us down here in the hole. We would stay here again. It's a very nice place and just a quick drive to Lake Havasu City. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$22
Big sites. Not level but easily doable. We were in the 'hole' below the long term area. Launching & retrieving antics of boaters provide great free entertainment especially on the weekends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$19
For the last few years this is one of the few Arizona State Parks that allow long term camping beginning in November. Park usually full after the holidays. When the weather warms up in early Springs the motor boat and jet ski crowd increases, but in winter it is mostly a fishing boating group. Excellent campground for kayaking on Lake Havasu. This State park includes optional boat-in campsites for a separate fee. Nearest city is Lake Havasu City, 15 miles north on highway 95. All amenities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2006
$15
Down in a hole. No cell phone service. Stayed 1 week. Quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$15
Only reason for not giving it a 10 is the lack of sewer hookups. We camped for a week over Christmas. Not the quietest place because it is very popular with the boating crowd. Staff was very friendly, attentive and very diligent about keeping showers and restrooms, and grounds, clean. Wonderful walk along the lake to the south, fantastic views. Nice large sites, not totally level but within tolerances for most. Warning--we're told it gets hard to get in there after about the first week in January, call first before you go! We had no problem with a December 23rd arrival. We loved it and plan on going back. Rate quoted is a winter special where you get 7 days camping for the price of 5 at $21 per day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2004
$19
Small park, close to the water and boat launch ramp with nice views. Easy in and out of the campground and sites were level and plenty big for our 30 ft class A. Nice hikes from the campground, easy drive to Lake Havasu City and the London Bridge. We liked it and would like to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com