224371 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Siskiyou Camp-Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (530) 926-2618
CGID399

Lake Siskiyou Camp-Resort

Camp Information
Sites
360
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   3   9   8   8   10   5   7   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$29
Campground has reduced hours in winter, so when we called at noon from the freeway, they reminded me they close at 3pm, but they would have our site info and map at the check-in area. They did, and as we drove around the sites, we chose another open site they showed available on the map. Very friendly staff. Only glitch in their site descriptions to me is, they state "lakeside" sites, but they are at least 100-200 yards from the lake, and there are many trees between your site and the lake, so I would call these sites something other than lakeside. That said, the sites are nice, since they are in the woods. Most we saw had fire rings. We stay here and play golf at the very nice course about 2 miles away. Also in winter, nothing is open, no grocery store, no fire wood, no services of any kind, which they told me up front. If you don't like to hook-up, then un-hook to buy groceries, fire wood, etc., then stop at stores in Mt. Shasta town before driving here. We've stayed here many times and we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
Upon check-in was a long line of folks. Lots of new people at the front desk. Got me my assigned site and I drove here with tow and the sites were so close and trees so low that i would have torn my 45' rig up even without the tow. Went back and was assigned another spot at the lake which was very tight between two trailers and their tow vehicles. It was about 3 feet too long. I asked for one of the other sites and got it; it fits but not level. Hookups are satisfactory. Lots of dust - kids enjoying themselves. Nobody enforces the quiet time with the kids - so we just put our a/c on and let the white noise drown it out. We didn't use restrooms nor laundry. Already planned exit and used a tree trimmer to trim down a low branch about 10' off the ground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$31
If you drive a big rig and get here the first time you'll wonder if you made a mistake coming here. But then, there is enough room, you check in, and head to your site. Again, you wonder if you made a mistake. But then you notice that you actually have plenty of room and park your rig. Then you notice it has 50 amp. Then you notice it also has cable (you won't get satellite), and water, and sewer. Then take a walk around and see the beautiful lake, Mt Shasta looming overhead, and you'll appreciate being here. We will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$27
This campground is located on Lake Siskiyou and is a forested area. Getting a satellite connection is an "adventure" but is doable in many if not all sites. Access roads are asphalt and a bit bumpy but as long as you are going slowly you will be fine. Sites are not always level and are simply dirt and gravel. Staff has always been very friendly and helpful. We stay here almost every Memorial Day. We will be returning in 2015. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
We were told this was a former state park that was transformed into a privately run campground. The site spacing certainly feels more like a state park instead of a typical commercial campground. We stopped here over Memorial Day weekend so the park was pretty full, lots of noise from kids having fun, but with all the space it wasn't a big deal. Our cell phone / Verizon data worked well here. Beautiful park with lots of trees. Our only concern was the need to be very careful when maneuvering our 38 ft 5th wheel, just due to the trees, extra care was needed in just driving through the campground loop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$24
Very spacious campgrounds nestled in the pine trees. We have a 40' fifth wheel which took extra time to back in to our site because of the dense trees, but well worth the effort. Very quiet, very clean, and with full hookups while feeling like boondocking. We were there at the end of season so the park was not even close to full. This park is more like a state park than a private RV park. Would love to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
We arrived the week after Labor Day, so the grounds were in need of a good cleaning. Also the bathrooms were pretty horrendous, and I refused to enter the showers at all. If you have your own shower, I'd say that this place would have been great. The cabins were really pretty too. This place looks like it probably is a mad-house during the summer with all the water slides and stuff in the lake, but we were able to use them just before they pulled it all out of the water, with no crowds. It was nice and peaceful here the week after Labor Day, so I think off-season it's really nice and pleasant. Just keep in mind that you probably won't get to use the slides and stuff if you go after Labor Day, as they immediately pulled it out afterwards. Also, the restaurant is closed after Labor Day. Very nice views of Mount Shasta, and the town is cute too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
We loved it! It's very rustic and like true camping, but with nicer amenities. Tall trees give it a woodsy feel, you can cook over a campfire. They have an outdoor theater to watch movies on Saturday night, an on site restaurant, fishing, clean bathrooms, and are very dog friendly. The best part was the beach, though! They have an inflatable rock wall, see saw, and other climbing things out in the water. You swim out, climb on them, then fall off into the water. And the surrounding scenery is gorgeous! Great price too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
We camped in the sites closer to the lake. I though the road was large enough, but some of the sites are angled the wrong way for the direction of the road. Not too bad though. I went to the wrong loop (non-lakeside) initially and that one was very, very tight to fit through. Did I mention that it was super tight? That might be what the previous reviewer was referring to. I'm not sure why it says they don't have 50 AMP. Ours did. In fact, the 30 AMP was cracked with exposed copper. Not wanting to die, I used an adapter to use the 50 AMP which was in a little better shape. This place is pretty neat because its under large pine trees and feels a little rustic, but many sites have full hookups and cable. Wi-Fi is available for a fee, so I just used our Verizon 3G which had good reception. The beach is nearby for swimming and a great view of Mt. Shasta. There is a small general store and a basic grill/restaurant, with a limited bar. Its a good price for the location and amenities. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
This is a beautiful setting, but it is difficult to get a big rig in because the sites have a lot of big trees and the road is very narrow. We did manage to get our 36' overall length Fifth Wheel in with a lot of juggling and tries. The sites are not level. We had to use several blocks on one side. Then the person who registered us put us in the wrong site. We were completely set up on the blocks, power on, sewer hooked up and slides out and they told us they made a mistake and we would have to move to a different site. We argued since we were already set up, but they still made us move. Thus, we spent the entire afternoon setting up because we had to juggle to get in the second site too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
This is a great park. It is really a campground that has facilities for RV's (full connections & cable). It has dirt sites that are fairly level. It certainly is not a fancy "RV resort" but I like this style of camping for a change. Lots of families with kids, who so far have been well behaved. There is a good restaurant (great hamburgers!) inside the gates as well as a small grocery store. The beach is nice and refreshing in the hot weather. There are lots of trees that provide shade and the temp is cooler here than town which is a few miles away. Lake Shasta is spectacular and the town of Mt. Shasta City is very picturesque. We will definitely come back. I would have rated it a 10 if there was free Wi-Fi (you have to pay for a service, which is slow) and if it was easier to reach someone in the office. Making reservations by phone can be difficult (but worth the persistence). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
Great park. Lots of stuff to do without ever leaving. We stopped here on our way back from Oregon before heading to Mendocino for 10 days. Big spaces and quiet at night. Lake is awesome but not fishing from shore really. You need down riggers to get to where the fish are. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
We stayed only two nights and didn't have reservations. For some reason, we weren't in the computer so they tried to re-assign our site about 5 times to someone else. But the security guy straightened it out. Kind of a hassle, but it all worked out. We had a very nice site but the park needs some trimming as it really seems to be a fire hazard. The fire pits are nothing but a ring of rocks. Otherwise, it was fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
My wife and I visited this park four years ago and fell in love with the surroundings. We stayed here for a week this last September. We saw a number of deer in and around the campsites and even had a visit from a bobcat. The roads are in pretty bad shape and the individual RV sites are not level, so you'd be smart to bring something to help level you rig. We saw security and maintenance cars driving around everyday but a number of sites are in need of repair. Faucets leaking, cable connectors broken/cracked, and drains that easily overflow. Going late in September all of the amenities were closed, store, bait shop, arcade, no boats. Lake water level was also extremely low, but there were fish to be caught. We like this RV resort and will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Great location, beautiful scenery. Lots to do at the campground, renting boats, kayaks, fishing, swimming. Some sites are a little small, others are great. Only downside is customer service - it's terrible. It's very hard to book a site, let alone a group of sites. They should put site availability online (as should any other campground). The people working the phones are not pleasant to deal with. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$39
The staff are rude and unfriendly on the phone when attempting to make reservations. If you call one minute after 5:00pm, you can not make a reservation, and they are snotty about it too. The campground is nice and has plenty of shade. S security car drives by every site several time per day and night. I also see the local sheriff drive by each time I stay at this campground. The electrical boxes and cable TV boxes suffer from deferred maintenance. The posts that hold the campsite tags are way too low and have been run over by cars and trucks do most of them are bent. The beach is excellent and the general store is the best I have ever seen in any campground ever. The store is actually nicer than most regular convenience stores I have been in. Boat rentals, nightly movies for the kids, boat ramp and dock. This place is really nice. It seems like after you get past the rude and inconvenient reservation process and actually get to the campground, it is a very nice place. I would give it a higher score than 6, but I don't like being treated like I am lucky if they make my reservation for me. I stay at this campground at least six times per year and it is always the same. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$26
One of our favorite parks! Book reservations early and get the RV Circle. Some sites are nicely wooded and offer privacy, others on the 'interior circle' are wide open. The beach area is terrific with peddle boat rental at reasonable rates. The lake is beautiful as there are no speed boats, only small-motor fishing boats. Nice little park for the kids. We camp here regularly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
This is a beautiful campground. The sites are roomy and shaded in the pines. We had no problems with any bears or deer as someone else mentioned. The staff was helpful. We had some RV mechanical problems and they sent someone down to help us quickly. The lake is gorgeous with a breath-taking view of Mt Shasta. The swimming/beach area is large and very nice. They have nice cabins with a view of the lake. The beach was a short walk from our campsite but it is a big campground so depending on where your site is be prepared to do some walking to the different amenities if you don't have a car. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
We have stayed here before, but this time our site was one of the tightest in the park. We were so close to the site next to us that we could not use our awning, or sit on that side of the motorhome. There were open sites around us, but since our stay was short we decided to stick it out where we were. Overall the rest of the park and our visit was quite nice. We stayed at the lakeside section of the campground on this visit, and it was a very short walk to the lake. We would stay here again but will check over our site before settling in this time. Most of the sites seem nice, but their are some very tight ones crammed in there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2005
$27
We stayed in the pines, very wooded area. The big drawback was the bears! They were there every night digging through the trash. One even stood up next to our bedroom slide out on my side of the bed. The slide is at least 5-6' off the ground. It woke me up making noises right next to my head. I thought it was my cat until I turned the light on and the noise stopped, and the cat's were in their beds asleep. They dragged food under the rig, and chewed through our sewer hose. My husband opened the door one night and saw a bear cub in the trash. We needed to stay one more night, because it was cooler and we were waiting for a new air conditioner to arrive for installation in Redding. My husband paid the fee and we went in town. When we got back a note on our door said we would have to move because someone else was coming in the next day, and they wanted our site! There were sites all around us with no one near us. The 2-3 times my husband talked to these people he would come back to the motorhome and tell me how rude they were. He said he had never encountered people at a park that rude and not interested in helping anyone. I don't know if it was because they had overcharged us by two days when we first arrived, and they didn't like it when he brought it to their attention. They charged us for seven days when we were only staying five! We didn't move to another site, we left and went back to Redding. We wouldn't go back there again. The bears were enough to keep us away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$35
This review will be quite a bit different than when we stayed here in 2003. This trip we planned on doing lots of kayaking on the lake. We figured since school was not out yet there would be lots of peace and quiet, which there was. My gripe however, is that due to the low volume of people staying at the resort during this time, their kayak rental area was closed on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. This meant that during the main part of our trip we could not enjoy what we came to do. When we went up to the store to ask for them to help out they just said sorry, and that with the low volume of people here they can't accommodate us. Bad business. They need to tell you in their conformation letter that rentals won't be available if thats the case. We will look for a more helpful park next year. Its to bad, but we understand the camp is under new ownership, and they are sign crazy. Do this, don't do that! A little public relations practice would help as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$25
A nice enough campground, but very expensive -- with tax a single night was $28.08, which included a surcharge for a small dog. Dirt sites situated among tall trees, very close together. Beautiful view of Mt. Shasta, and the small lake is lovely. Deer are so used to people that they walk right up to you -- they also swipe food off your picnic table if you're not careful. Everyone seemed to have a campfire going, and the smoke in the campground was very dense and kept us choking. Would probably be great for a family vacation at the height of summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Nice family resort. Most of the sites are spaced away from each other and all are in the pines. The ones by the lake are closet together. Family park. Movies shown every night. Beach area with canoes, paddle boat rental. Lake primarly for fishing with speed limit. Beautiful Mt. Shasta rises from behind the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$25
We stayed here in one of our first trips with our new travel trailer. They are a resort with lots of day use visitors as well as overnight camping. Large areas for both tent and RV camping, some rentals available. All of the facilities that we saw were fairly clean but we did not visit the showers or bathrooms. There was a large swimming beach and a boat launch but the speed limit is 5 mph so it is a fishing lake, not a water ski lake. Once we got checked in we didn't have any real contact with staff but saw them coming around to empty trash, etc. There were several deer in the park at night and lots of squirrels and birds to entertain our cat. Spaces varied in size and some spaces did allow both RV and tent in the same space - great for families and they were plenty large enough. We will visit this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com