217876 User submitted reviews online!!
Mount Shasta City KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 49 user reviews. Phone: (530) 926-4029
CGID400

Mount Shasta City KOA

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   2   3   5   7   7   6   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
Pretty good KOA with a bit too much dust. Could use some more gravel and less dirt. But good utilities and friendly people. Nice little store and good pool. Close to town. In and out room for only one in one direction at a time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
Maybe the 8 is because we came from camping in Lava Beds NM where it was over a 100 and we had no AC and had lots of flies in our site...but this place is just what we needed for us and our 10 and 11 year old kids. We stayed in site #3 and were very happy - hookups all worked fine. Our spot had full shade as we requested. Restrooms and showers were reasonably clean. The pool was refreshing and clean! Kids loved the arcade and nice to have a little camp store on site (as most KOA's do). Our only complaint was Wifi didn't work in our site - but it's nice excuse to disconnect. In general since we camp with our kids and don't have a generator, so we really enjoy KOA's and this place was no exception. They are not true camping like say a NF campground, but they are nice especially in between other rustic CG stays. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
Park was dusty, trash including old refrigerator in pile of demolition waste near site. Wires for cable TV lying above ground, and some sites had extension cords between power boxes, with no RV parked near them. The sewer was positioned above our site, making hookup impossible. Good area to visit, bad RV park to stay at. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35q
Cable TV was snow. I have not had that problem in other parks. WiFi basically did not exist. Trains, Trains and more trains. Don't go here if you want a good nights rest. Park needed repair from what I could see. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2013
$32
This KOA offers the appearance of neglect in many ways and an owner who is reluctant to provide the funding to fix various issues. Large tree on entering the campground should be removed as it requires one to very carefully maneuver around it. In addition there were a great number of bushes needing serious trimming along the lane we needed to travel to get to our site. Power voltage was on the low side, but water and sewer were okay. Cable TV was good. While the campground offers wi-fi, it is non-existent. Office staff who were friendly as can be, suggested at check-in that there were problems with the service. When we attempted to connect, we were instructed to reconfigure our computer notwithstanding we have had the same configuration at every other campground for the past 5-years. Other secured wi-f connections were available only we did not have the code; but, they dod not require reconfiguration. Office staff were unable to offer any help on this one, although they apologized. Owner will have to invest some funds to fix a number of issues for us to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
This campground is located in the forest on the outskirts of Mount Shasta City. It is a very busy camp with lots of people coming and going, and could use some upgrades to the landscaping and facilities. Many of the RV sites lack trees or grass, the wooden picnic tables are in bad shape, and fire rings are non-existent (unless you rent one or bring your own). The men's bathroom was pretty dirty during our stay. The WiFi didn't provide great reception at our campsite, but worked well enough near the store. On the other hand, this KOA has a pool, playground, and rec room for kids. Fortunately, we were able to secure a tree-shaded RV site and stayed for two nights while traveling home from Oregon. The weather was excellent as we escaped summer heat that plagues Redding and Medford. It can get chilly overnight here. Nearby trains can be heard passing through at night, but we actually enjoyed it because the train sounds echo in the woods. The staff was very friendly and amenable to our needs, and rates were quite reasonable. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Bathrooms had dirty floors, but it was rainy. There is not much to walk to; no quaint shops or restaurants in walking distance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
For RVs with multiple slides this park can be challenging, as the slots are narrow. We had a pull-through that was long enough so we could avoid the picnic table of the spot next to us, otherwise we would have blocked part of the table. Also, slots are sloped front to back (park is on a hill) so we had to unhitch, even though we were only staying the night. Otherwise typical KOA. The tent area appears to be very nice and in the trees, the RV area not so much. The night we stayed it was an unusual 98 degrees, so the park's old infrastructure strained, voltage dropped to 115 as more rigs showed up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
We stayed overnight, very friendly owners. Great view of Mount Shasta (after a short walk). No Wi-Fi in our site, but she told us that before we pulled in to it - we wanted shade. Entrance to park is very narrow, one lane. Need to turn right when you come to fence after leaving street. There is a train track close by - didn't bother us, but was noticeable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$39
A little difficult to access in large rig as you have to maneuver around some large trees. Park is small, gravel, dirt roads, with some pretty sorry looking trees that need lots of pruning and trimming. Staff is very friendly but they haven't cleaned up the park nor filled the pool yet. Wife's iPad had difficulty accessing the Wi-Fi (my laptop did not). Trains running through the night was a little disturbing and woke us up a couple of times. We had an excellent Italian dinner at Mike & Toni's. I seriously doubt if we will ever stay at this KOA again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
Sites are gravel/dirt. Due to trees location,I was not able to receive satellite reception and used the park cable reception. WIFI connects readily. Bathrooms are clean however, the toilet stalls are larger than the shower stalls, which are quite small. Trains run through the city area but we were not bothered with the noise. Hosts were able to assist with mobile RV repair contacts.Very nice park in the woods. Scenic sites are nearby both above and below ground. We stayed 3 nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Stopped here for an overnight on the way down to Yosemite. Office staff was very friendly and provided us with a site where we did not have to unhook our tow vehicle as requested. Did not get a chance to use the facilities. Unable to get Wi-Fi due to our site location which was disappointing. Trains are loud but it didn't bother us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$39
Attendant was not available for check-in but left a list of available sites. I tried to find one that was fairly level but to no avail. I had to put 2 2x12x12 under each rear set of duals to level the coach. Branches scratched the coach on top and on the sides on the way to the site. The pool was open but it was a murky green color. The playground was nice for those with children if you overlook the pea gravel base. We stayed here two nights and love the Shasta area. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
This park is certainly nothing fancy. Gravel roads and pads and the pads were not real level. The young lady who checked us in was very pleasant, however. We have stayed here before and for a one night stop over we will probably stay here again. If we were planning on exploring the area I think we would look for another park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
The office staff was very friendly and helpful and the bathrooms were nice and clean. However, our site was one of the least level sites we have encountered in our two years of full-time RVing. It took 4" of wood on the curb side to make it level side to side and our back steps were 18" off the ground due to the slope of the site. Overall though, the campground was nice for an overnight stop and the Wi-Fi was awesome! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$39
Friendly people; however, expensive for what you received. Good TV and Wi-Fi service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
Arrived after the office closed as a late check-in. The entrance road is a little small and dark but findable (the entrance shares the road with a residential development and at night we wondered if we where taking the correct road). Note that late arrivals are not given the rest room codes, you pay the same $ amount but don't get the chance to use them. Luckily another camper fixed that problem. (If we would have been extended restroom privileges my overall rating would have been a 9 or 10.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
Nice looking park: wide sites, trees. Friendly staff. Our kids loved the playground. The "heated" pool was too cold to bath in. Some of us found it hard to sleep due to train noise - the camp is right next to the railroad and the train honks really loud when it passes through the city. And also, we camped during Labor day weekend which was very busy, and the toilets and showers were always too crowded, occasionally disgustingly dirty and poorly maintained. The folks at KOA clearly did not build enough toilets and showers and more importantly, did not adjust the frequency of cleaning to the level of use during a very crowded holiday weekend We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
The entrance is a bit narrow, only one vehicle can enter or exit at a time. Sites wide, some in the sun and others well shaded. Staff extremely friendly. Convenient for visiting Mount Shasta. The park is close enough to the railroad tracks, although you can't see them, that train whistles are very audible. We'd stay there again, however. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
A beautiful wooded setting. The hostess was friendly and the restrooms were warm and clean. The Wi-Fi was slow and kept shutting down but otherwise it was a nice stay. We stopped here to break the mountain driving in half. The directions are a little strange, forget Chestnut street and just turn left on Mount Shasta Parkway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
The weekend staff was as friendly and helpful as can be. The lady in the office went out of her way to help us with a medical problem that we had, finding a dentist that would help. She saved our vacation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
It was a nice park, with lot's of kids having fun. Check in was easy/fun. The WiFi worked well, but cable did not. They did put us in a shady site- It had a 30 amp service but low voltage, 2 of us has trouble with the power/AC. We hardly heard the trains, Not bad at all. Good place to R.O.N and move on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
A nice enough place, lots of trees, grass between sites. But sites are not completely level (not bad, just expected flat) and camp roads are gravel so a bit of dust. Showers clean but private dressing areas are small and have no bench to change on. Staff very pleasant. Could use some updating, lots of potential if they spruce it up a bit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Not a bad location a couple of minute drive off the 5. The town is pretty with great views of the mountain but no mountain view is possible at the campground (because of the woods). Some areas of the park are extremely dusty (as it is near baby powder consistency). The WiFi here is a joke. If we physically stood in front of the office we got 1, maybe 2 bars. They should not be able to advertise this feature plain and simple. Even though we pre-coordinated our need for a very easy-in/easy-out site (due to our long truck-trailer configuration) we were put in the tightest spot I could see they had. Getting to our site required me backing up to make the corner and the site itself was unlevel in both directions. I had to use levelers and could not realistically unhook the truck from the trailer because of the incline. They had vacant sites all around us so I wasn't particularly happy about it. The manager seemed arrogant from watching her deal with other customers, however the other lady I dealt with was nice (she basically apologized for the manager's attitude even though I hadn't dealt with her). One note about fuel in the area. The stations in Shasta are extremely RV unfriendly in terms of physical layout. We had to get fuel up the road in Weed. Might stay here again for an overnight but that's mainly because the staff at Siskiyou are rude and they don't allow 1 night stays. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Manager was replacing cable TV in our area. Wi-Fi signal was very weak so we used our Verizon air card. Laundry was clean but $2 for a wash load. Sites were level and shaded. Interior roads are very dusty. Views of Mt Shasta from park. Convenient to Mt Shasta City. Train goes by several times during the night and the whistle is sometimes loud. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
Very friendly people and this park is very clean and well kept. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This park is in a very nice setting. Lots of tall shade trees to the point that we had to have the lights on in the motorhome during the day. The park is right in front of snow capped Mount Shasta which is quite beautiful. We had a pull through site which was long enough to hold our 31 foot motorhome with toad attached. Site was level and all hookups worked, except for the WiFi. We had a Verizon aircard which worked just fine so the weak WiFi was not a problem for us. We stayed for one night on the way to Nevada from Oregon, and it is a good stopover. Park is in need of some updating, but all in all it was fine for our needs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
We have wanted to stay in this KOA for years but never got passed driving through. We just spent the last 10 days here and found the new managers and other staff to be wonderful! They truly go above and beyond to make every camper welcome and comfortable. They are working hard to get this park in tip top shape for the coming summer and we are can't wait to see the improvements when we come back in July. Thanks to the staff for everything you did to help make our stay the best in all the 20 years we have been RVing. May 2010 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$40
We camped here on our way to Seattle with our two children. It's off-season, but the campground hosts were NEVER here. We stayed overnight and never saw or heard from them. Our registration was tacked to the front door and no one was here for us to check out. The playground was all right, but there was really nothing else for the kids to do. They had put us in a site right next to the bathrooms, which meant people tromping through our site at all hours. On the plus side, it had a beautiful view. I can see why people stay here in summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$34
I was disappointed in this KOA Park because of the high fee during off season, the cable TV did not work, the site was very unlevel, and the showers lack a stool or chair. Then there is the experience with off season staff and hours. We arrived at 4PM and the office closed at 5PM. When the office is closed you can not access the laundry or game room. The young check in clerk did his best to get me near the Wi-Fi tower in the office. However, he directed me to a site that had the utilities on the passenger side, not the proper place, the driver’s side. This is weird setup only seen in older parks. There were only 3 other campers in this park so it was virtually empty. We relocated but he did the same thing again for a camper that came in just before 5PM. I asked the clerk about the cable, but he had no clue. There is no off the air TV here. After the office closed there were several transients that came in and used the showers. Yup, the ladies restroom had a lock but the code was advertised on a bulletin board for late arrivals along with the Wi-FI code. We camped here in a motor home and paid $33.66 for a w/e site. It was worth $15. The Wi-Fi was very good, but since we were very near the antenna and only had 3 bars I suspect some areas would not have good Wi-FI. This is probably a very good place to take the kids during the summer, but I would not pay their high fee again. If I want a “true camping” experience I will take a tent to the woods. I stay at private campgrounds such as KOA because I want a level place to park, hot clean showers, TV, and Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
Nice shady park, but mostly dirt and gravel. Good spot for an over-night stop, but wouldn't care to stay any longer. The trains didn't bother us at all. Very friendly staff. WiFi worked great in my spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We found this campground to pretty & wooded, especially for a KOA. The staff was friendly & helpful. The pool is small but nice and the city of Mt Shasta was within walking distance. The only negative was the frequent train noise but even it was tolerable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
PROS: Beautiful Surroundings, nice staff, easy access from I-5. CONS: No Grass, lots of dirt, early morning train noise nearby. If your looking for "True" camping experience, this is the park for you. Very nice staff, spaces were acceptable for double slides. your right in the middle of the mountains, with lots of BIG trees and trails and such. Not for folks that want the "RV Resort" feel, like I said, more of a true campground thing. I would stay here again for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
Very nice campground. We stayed 2 nights and would have stayed another if I knew the campground was this nice. It was shaded with pine trees, the only bad thing was the pines blocked the view of a snow capped Mt. Shasta. We also had Wi-Fi. It is close to town (a 2 min. bike ride). Did not hear any traffic noise from I-5, and only heard 1 train way off in distance, it actually added to the feel of the area. This is a good layover campground or to stay a few days and enjoy the area. Mt. Shasta (both the town and the mountain) are beautiful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
This is a very comfortable park in a nice location. It is great for an overnight or two. It features friendly staff, level sites, nice location and is within walking distance of town. What would make it a 10? Dependable wifi. Also, the pool was closed the day on the warm day we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$39
This is a pretty campground located in almost downtown Mt. Shasta. I have several complaints, however: The website states that Mt. Shasta "presides" over the campground. In fact, Mt. Shasta can only be glimpsed from one tiny corner of the campground. The WiFi is painfully slow. My site was directly across from the gameroom and the signal strenth was 3 bars. I clocked the connection at 13 Kb, slightly faster than the original 1200 baud dial-up modem connection. Late at night, I clocked 400 Kb (the cheapest DSL connection available). If you want to use the internet, plan on a late night. The mens' restroom had only two of the three showers operational. The dressing areas did not have a bench of any sort to set your toilet kit or eyeglasses on. Rather than put my stuff on the floor, I chose to use the motorhome shower. The website did not mention the nearby railroad switch yard that remains busy all night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$34
Stayed one night as we were heading north on I-5. Well run typical KOA campground. Lots of room for Big Rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
This is an older park but well maintained. Trees are mature, grass areas are spotty with patches of green and some areas left to go brown but we were here in July. Gravel RV pads are reasonably but not uniformly level. We had to use wheel blocks and leveling jacks. WiFi is free but the office admitted that coverage can be weak in many areas farther away from the game room. Not all RV sites have sewer lines. Nice play area for the kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
A wonderful and welcome campsite. Friendly staff and tons of big trees. Lots of stuff for the kids too. Best site of our trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
The cable was out ("Someone will be in today to fix it. Gophers ate the lines." Not happening.) The pool was closed indefinitely. The roads were rutted. Sweet but clueless high schoolers manning the desk. Shade available only to those staying a week or more, apparently. Access road hazardous with overgrown trees and narrow entry. No warnings of such. The list is longer. Avoid. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
This is a correction of the review I left in June. I rated the park poor but gave it a "9" in error. Staff was barely civil, but it is a poorly maintained campground that needs lots of fixing. I doubt we would ever return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Very poorly maintained park. Staff was friendly enough but not overly so. Entire park is a dusty dirty place. Where there is grass it's dead. We will never return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$31
What a delightful park. Staff was friendly and welcoming. Clean park with mostly gravel roads. Many trees so satellite reception might be difficult. But who cares - each site comes with free cable TV and free wireless Internet (which worked fast and without problem in our trailer). We would definitely stay there again should we find ourselves in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Used as an overnight stop, seemed OK. Was able to navigate a large fiver through the park and pull through was adequately long and wide for slides both sides. Down side, all roads are gravel, which is now mostly very fine dust. You get large accumulation of dust all over everything. Site was level side to side, but not front to back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
One of the best KOA's we've stayed at! The staff bent over backwards to help us and was always happy. The bathhouse was spotless but dated. The store was well stocked and very clean. The gameroom and pool were great for the kids. We did notice the trains running at night. They weren't too bad. We just turned on the a/c to drown them out. Slept like a baby! Mt. Shasta is a great town. Everyone should visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2005
$28
HORRIBLE - DO NOY STAY HERE !! Although the camp owners have no control over it: there are 4 railroad lines that all come together about 1000 yards from the camp. The trains arrive ALL DAY and NIGHT and they blow their horns at least 4 times as they pass through the town. The noise literally makes your tent shake. It is ear-piercing. The entire back 1/3 of their camp is empty and I can see why. The trains pass as close as 100 feet from the rear of the camp. They charge on a pay as you go basis. I can see why. I'm sure plenty of people stay one night, pack up and go. That's what we did, but we lasted 2 nights. The camp itself is not very well maintained. The shower/bath area was only fair in cleanliness. They only had one place to take your garbage (no cans scattered throughout the campground). When going to Mount Shasta, find someplace else to stay. The entire town of Mount Shasta City (it's a small place), rocks from the train noise. Too bad as Shasta is such a great hiking destination. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
We stopped here on our way to Oregon 8 years in a row. We will not go again. The last time we stayed, there was a problem with the electrical hook-up. The maintenance man (a teenager) took a look, shocked himself and then declared that the problem was in our rig. Turned out he was wrong. While no lasting damage was done to our rig, we will never stop at this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2005
$28
This campground had the rudest customer service I have ever seen, not only was the place filthy, but the quote they gave us on the phone was entirely different then what they tried to charge us. After nearly a half hour of arguement late at night we gave in, but promised to never return. We try to warn everyone heading over the pass about the place. We had never in all our years of RVing seen such lack of manners and such horrid treatment of customers. I will never again stay at any KOA because of the people running it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$20
This is right IN Mount Shasta City. The staff was friendly and helpful. BUT, the bathrooms were dirty/moldy. They weren't checked regularly for the number of people using it. Not absolutely unacceptable, but I expected better from a KOA. The cabin we stayed in had not been completely cleaned with spiderwebs,etc. around. The park has a mobile home park on one side, single family homes near the entrance and a street on the other side. There are TRAIN TRACKS right across this street and the trains are LOUD. The Kabins and tents are in a nice woody area, but that is the part of the park closest to the train tracks. We won't be staying here again. We camped here in a Campground Cabins.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com