220497 User submitted reviews online!!
Mammoth Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (307) 344-7381
CGID4006

Mammoth Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   8   8   7   9   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$20
This is our overall favorite CG in the park since it has some almost-level sites, unlike the CGs elsewhere, and there is a cell phone tower nearby. Plus it's at 6200' so not as cold overnight as the others. Elk herds are always around, here or by the Lodge. Bathrooms in good shape and water nearby. Too bad there's not a dump station but it's a small CG. A shower house would be great too, but for the $10 half-rate (if you qualify), this is a deal. Hosts very nice and helpful. Try not to camp by the lower highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$10
Nice semi-primitive campground. The usual no electrical, no sewer, no water, though there are water faucets located throughout so you aren't far from a faucet. There are good flush toilets also located throughout the campground but there are no showers. Registration said we could pay for a shower at the Mammoth Hot Springs for $3.64 each. There was some noise from the road which wraps around the campground. The noise was mostly from trucks grinding up the hill below the campground then again grinding up the hill above the campground, though the noise wasn't too bad for me. There is no dump station here so if you camp in an RV it's a real bummer to have to haul out over mountain roads with full tanks. I was told by registration that I could go to campgrounds in Gardiner (about 6 miles north) and PAY to dump or I could drive many miles south (over mountain roads, with full tanks) to one of two free dump stations. And a lot of that decision depends on which exit you want to take. You must dry camp obviously so a generator would be nice (which we did not have). But there are definite pluses. This is a nice campground, nice nightly ranger-led programs in the amphitheater, clean and relatively quiet. And we had a small herd of elk cows and calves come right by our camper one morning, nice! I would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$10
Rate reflects senior NP pass. We arrived on a Thursday about 11:00. Campground filled by noon! No TV or phone anywhere in the park for us. Enjoyed the Fort area and the terraces. Good sites, level and plenty of room. Down the hill might be more un-level, we stayed on top. No dump station. Plan your visit and stay in different campgrounds for each area you want to see in the park as travel through this vast park is a long drive. Load up with fuel and groceries before you come as both are expensive! We stayed here 3 nights and the area is much different than the interior of the park. Take the drive out to Lamar Valley for wildlife - priceless! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
Very nice park, especially for wildlife viewing, as it is the closest to Lamar Valley. We had planned to stay two nights, then move to another campground but instead stayed for all four nights. We had elk walk right by our site, saw bears on the way to Tower Falls. We had site 31, which has a motorcycle site next to it, so it was empty the entire time we were there. Not sure where the showers are located, we used our own, but should have asked. Our site was close to the main road, so some noise, but the best view down the valley. Had cell service intermittently. Ran on battery the whole time, no generator. The campers running generators were quiet. We looked at several of the other campgrounds and liked this one the best. Great camp hosts. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
One of the better places in the park, due to location, price, and that you can get Verizon cell and Internet service- though it's dry camping, of course. No elk visitors, maybe too hot for them - little shade here. Office staff let us choose a site since it wasn't busy. Regular charge is $20; half price with Pass. Generators ok 8am-8pm. Please don't run them all day and pollute the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$7
Close and convenient to Mammoth/Hot Springs. Can't beat the price, elk in the campground on a regular basis. Our site was very large (40' unit) with easy access. Staff very helpful and friendly. Would stay here again. Just a short ride into Gardiner, MT and there are some services nearby in the park. Price reflects Golden Age pass discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$14
This a very good place to stay to see the North part of the park. It was quiet and the staff was very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$14
I loved this campground. In fact, during our two week stay in the area we came back to Mammoth and had no problems getting a site (the same one we had during our first stay). The sites a roomy and far enough apart so that you're not right on top of your neighbors. An elk herd came through the campground each morning and evening. One day we had two elk herds! I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$14
Nice campground, all sites are pull-thru along the road, good for big rigs. Sites are spacious with some privacy, are not level, and some have shade. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring. Our Verizon cell signal was strong. Generators OK between 8am-8pm. Short trail to the Mammoth Village, with lots of services. There is road noise. Restrooms have flush toilets, no dish washing area. We came the last Friday in September, and it was full, had filled by 10am. Both RV parks 5 miles away in Gardiner were full, so we drove back north 40 miles to Emigrant to another RV park for Fri/Sat nights. (Yellowstone's Edge Rv Park - very nice, but pricey.) Came back Sunday morning and got a site, it was full again by noon. Monday was full. First come first serve, so good luck getting a site. The weather was unusually good, rangers said it had been busier than usual. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$12
This is a campground in a dry area with sage brush vegetation and a highway looped about it on three sides. We had an easy access pull through site with plenty of room. Great views of surrounding hills.The highway was just about 30' away from our site. As we stayed here in September we could keep the windows closed so road noise not a big issue however headlights at night disturbed wife's sleep a lot. Would be a bigger issue in warmer months. Also, expected there to be plenty of spaces available by early September but they were down to 4 by the time we registered at 4 PM. Rate was with Golden Access discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$14
This is a nice campground in the part of the park we enjoy the most. The campground hosts were outstanding. To save water we go to canyon to take our showers and do the laundry, and very nice facility. There are showers available in Mammoth, we have not used them. We stayed here for two weeks and loved it. We will definitely return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$7
Senior rate. CG is sandwiched into a switchback, so the North entrance road runs both below and above it. As noted before, there is lots of road noise here. But the CG is a good bet for larger rigs and is in a great location to explore the north end of Yellowstone NP. We spent 6 nights here, but most sites are taken only for a night so there were plenty of sites early in the day. This area of the park is loaded with elk. We took a day trip up to Beartooth Pass, elevation 10,947. On the Northeast park road we saw two grizzlies, a wolf, two coyotes and tons of bison. The CG's out that way are too small for larger rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$14
Campground is OK for the early months and the fall months but could be very hot in the summer months and dusty. We had a pretty good spot but one thing i noticed is when they don't assign you a spot people tend to drive like heck through the park in fear of losing there spot before they get back to the ranger station, that's the only sense i can make of it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$14
Neat campground, but noisy. The area seems quite dry, but there is good wildlife to be seen, especially if you have a pair of binoculars and can scan the opposing hills. There are elk up the ridge above the campground that hang out in the "town" square. Nice campground, but I like others better in Yellowstone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$14
As someone else mentioned, Verizon cell reception and broadband access is excellent. The environment here is sage and juniper, so don't expect camping in a forest. What a stupid place to site a campground, don't know what National Park Service was thinking, on the inside of the switchback of the main road, a good amount of road noise as many of the sites are in proximity to the road. The road is on an incline so you get racing engines one way and Jake brakes from trucks the other. Now the good stuff: The campground is in a very good location to explore the north part of the park. We are here the end of September beginning of October and there are a ton of elk around with the bulls bugling like crazy. You can take a short hike from the campground amphitheater and be at the village in about 10 minutes (a good climb). A great hike nearby is Bunsen Peak, fantastic 360 degree views. No dump station, good spacing of water spigots with threaded connections. If you need to dump, there are two parks in nearby Gardiner (about 6 miles away). Grocery store, propane, gas and diesel are available in Gardiner. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$14
Very good cg for YNP- much smaller, quieter (if not next to the road) and more pleasant than the big zoo cgs. Sites are not very wide and are dirt, but there's usually a lot of choices and they rarely fill up . Helpful office staff knows which ones are more level or shaded, and lets you go try them out. Nice surprise to get Verizon cell service and aircard reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
Perfect dry camping... Non better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$14
No reservation campground in the Yellowstone NP. No hook-ups, no showers but clean suitable bathrooms. All sites are pull-thrus and this is one of the two park run campgrounds where generators are allowed. Vegetation in the area is sagebrush and lodgepole pines. Sites seemed big enough for our 30 ft class A but they wouldn't for a big rig. They were not overly level but some are much better than others, we liked site #61 with a nice view of surrounding hills and pine trees on three sides for some shade. This campground worked very well for us while we saw the sites in the north end of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com