220520 User submitted reviews online!!
Playa Del Rio was rated 8 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (850) 492-0904
CGID4127

Playa Del Rio

Camp Information
Sites
28
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   9   8   9   9   8   8   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2014
$65
Awful experience. Arrived a day late due to family member being in the hospital and upon entering the park, we were shown our 'slot' - to describe it nicely. It was on the 'unfinished/not renovated side' and even though we paid the same price per night as the nice ones, ours was the smallest. We had a small concrete pad with an old picnic table that was encroached by the neighboring RV's slideout. Not a big deal, but this person walked across our pad to empty his black and gray tanks; use his exterior shower, etc. Was very obtrusive. On the other side was a dog poop park - FYI - we do not have any dogs. Also, the 'pad' we were shown to back up onto was gravel - about 18" above the concrete pad and was composed of 1-1/2" to 2" aggregate. I slid down and fell twice while I was there injuring my shoulder. The staff that you would expect to help, did nothing. The guy that 'helped' me back into our site created more havoc and trouble than help. It took over 30 minutes to do so because he was either completely behind the trailer and I couldn't see, or barely speaking loud enough for me to hear him say 'right' or 'left'. Regardless, he was saying the wrong direction. That was quite frustrating - and add a 3 year old and our 8 month old children crying the entire time. It was also quite frustrating to have everyone walk their dog beside out camper every thirty minutes to take a crap. We left after the first night because it was so bad. We brought up the issues to whoever was working the front desk and all we were given was a wood pallet so the drop off from the last step of the camper didn't exceed 2 feet. It was quite a step for a 3 year old to take. We were also told the owner was going to contact us about the issues, but he never did. This after paying for 5 nights in advance and only staying 1 night. I advise everyone to avoid this park - unless you're an LSU fan. The site was covered with them - which is fine, but they all got the nice sites despite us being told that the sites were not 'reserved' - which was a flat out lie. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$98
The people were friendly and the park was clean. Sites close together but workable. Had a nice place for the car, table, etc on side of coach. Very nice boardwalk to the beach. Their website says dog park and this is incorrect, there are places to walk the dogs, but no park for running, etc. Had a very nice area close to the waterway (not gulf) that had hammocks and sitting area. Overall it was a good experience. I plan to go again. I think the prices was too high, but there are not many choices in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
We really enjoyed the location, so close to the beach. Very friendly people, many spending the whole winter season there! Nice stop over for our trip further west. Good food in the area and shopping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$55
This park has been going through major renovations and upgrades which is turning it into an exquisite little gem on the Gulf of Mexico. Phase I of the upgrade has provided half of the sites with brand new concrete pads and brick pavers with plenty of room for big rigs and a tow vehicle. Beautiful tropical landscaping has been added. We stayed here a year ago and the contrast with all the improvements is remarkable. The park lies between the Bay on the North and the Gulf of Mexico on the South with easy, direct access to both. There is a lovely patio area on the Bay side with great waterfront and sunset views. A kitchen and grills are available. A new walkover right across the road has you quickly on the beach. There is a pier on the river for fishing, crabbing and boat slips. Located on Perdido Key between Pensacola, Fl and Orange Beach, Al, all the great attractions and restaurants of both are easily accessible. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$44
Very small park with great spirit! Good location, close to beach.Very helpful staff. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$37
The park is a very comfortable place. The sites are tight and the place is not as appealing visually as the website, but we enjoyed our stay. I was in a 40 foot RV and could barely fit, but once parked I was fine. There are grills and a covered patio for campers use and the host was exceptionally helpful. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
We stayed here for a month. The sites were very tight, but close to the beach. The people were very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$40
Good location on bay, right across the street is the gulf beach. Walking distance to two small stores for supplies. A few miles to all activities, restaurants, etc. This was our 4th stay here. Stayed 4 nights this time. Enjoyed the friendly snowbirds and the nightly get together. There are plans to upgrade the park. Hope the price doesn't become prohibitive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$49
I usually look for a site with pull throughs. However, this RV park is located on the Perdido Key with the inner bay water on one side and the beach just across the street. The site was a back in but nice size and plenty of room for your toad and still room to eat and relax. The staff were very friendly and helpful. This park just has regulars, but they were all very kind, and they all had nice rigs. Clean rest rooms and very close to restaurants and other sites. Sites are very RV friendly with plenty of room for slideouts and easy hookups. Everything worked great. A short walk in the sand across the street and you're in the Gulf waters. I will return here again when we're in Pensacola. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Very clean and well kept. It is a great location if you want to be at the beach. One of few that I know of. Close to all fun, food, etc. Access to beach and Old River. Very pet friendly! Our dog loved camping here! Low key, laid back, quiet. The downside? No pool, but the beach is right across the street. Maneuvering a big rig is a little tight. Could use paving. Great for what it is. Clean, friendly and on the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$69
This is one of the most difficult reviews I've ever written. This is a cramped, minimal amenity campground in a terrific location. If you want to be right across the street from the gulf beach, want a boating slip, or just want to be close to the nearby condos, this is your place and my rating (based upon only those criteria) would be an eight (8). On the other hand, if you just want a nice campground, you'll find the following issues: sites are very close together, and the bathrooms are clean but there's only one shower and one toilet on both sides. During their busy season, I'm concerned this will be a very crowded, noisy place. On a positive note: the managers are friendly and helpful, the small on-site inter-coastal shoreline is beautiful, and the Wi-Fi is excellent. For the very high cost, I must rate this campground a four (4). I addressed my dilemma by averaging these two ratings for an overall six (6). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$40
A no frills campground, with narrow sites. Sites are about 16 feet wide and 36 feet long. We were here for the month of February. The campground was only half full the entire time. This campground is overpriced for the facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$50
A nice, friendly campground with docks directly on the Intracoastal Waterway. The people working there were the most helpful group we have ever experienced in 20 years of motorhome camping. We loved using the dockside grill/kitchen and the water in the ocean was crystal clear with a white sand beach directly across the two lane road from the beach. The local watering hole - The Florabama is not to be missed by those who might enjoy a cold beer and two or three bands on a weekend night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$70
We loved camping here. It is a very small, but well-maintained campground. The office staff was very nice and helpful. They back up to the inter coastal waterway, so we could keep our jet ski's tied up in the water. The beach is just across the street. This is a wonderful place but my kids would have enjoyed a pool. If a pool is not important to you, then this is your place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$75
We camped here over the 4th of July, and it is a nice location. The park sits on the bay, and it's nice to go down there and watch the activities. You have to cross a busy street and walk through a lot of sand to get to the beach. Everybody had extremely low water pressure, and they tried to blame it on the water coming on the Island, but my sister-in-law's condo was fine. Also electricity bounced around, and it was small and crowded. However, staff was very nice and helpful. For the money I would probably recommend other resorts that we saw. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$39
Campground is right across the street from the Gulf. The wifi was weak at out site which was near the entrance. There are no provisions at the small office. Some of the sites are small and the turnaround is limited. Would stay there again but would ask for a different site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$60
Nice smaller RV park with a great location. Smallish sites, but made up by very friendly staff and neighbors. Nicely social group of people. Handy to Orange Beach, Flor-Bama etc. Will go back in the future. Would be rated higher if some of the pads were repaved and more stable, but not a big deal. Close to the beach on the Gulf side (~300"). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
Wonderful location, across the highway from the beach, and backs up to a river across from Ono Island. Other wonderful beaches nearby, as well as shopping and restaurants. We dropped our tow car before driving in, and had to turn around in the circle with our tow dolly trailer, and it was very tight. A full timer with a beautiful rig nearby helped me to make the turn, and back into my slip. The bathrooms were very clean, and to quote my son, who said that he had never smelled bathrooms that smelled so nice. Everyone was very courteous and we plan to return many more times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$50
This is one of our favorite parks in the panhandle. This is our 7+ stay here. We will certainly be back. The wi-fi is available everywhere and worked flawlessly. The park is right across the road from the beach, but the walk seems to get harder every time. If you pack heavy to the beach (like we do), then it is a hike, due to all deep sand walking. We tried a wagon this year, the sand is too soft, so plan to carry everything to the beach. Park managers and staff are great, could not ask for nicer hosts. Some spots are not deep enough for big rigs, so be sure to let them know your rig size. Pull in and disconnect toad, then find site. Some require pulling to the circle and turning around. This cannot be done with toad attched. Overall a great place, you will enjoy it here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$40
We would return here on our next trip to Perdido. The campground is nicely landscapted with lovely water views. We stayed off-season, but enjoyed it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$37
Small but very friendly park with family like atmosphere. Close to beach, restaurants, and shopping. Nice activities room overlooking the bay. Staff hosts pot lucks and entertainment during winter months. We camped in our 5th wheel for a month and wish we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$35
Loved this place! Located on the bay, across from the ocean. Extremely pet-friendly. Management was great. No pool. Happy Hour, atmosphere, and location is what stands out. Sites are small, park is small - but plans are to improve the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$35
What a great little place. Back end of park is along a river, with a boat dock and picnic area. Front faces Gulf, across a 2 lane road. This time of year is slow off-season and we were able to get the lowest rate, but this place can be $72 other times- a beach front evil. Bathroom is small with one large shower, but super clean. "Free" wifi and cable are excellent. Managers are wonderfully nice . Only problem was the back-in ,angled & narrow sites. Still, everyone is happy here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$38
We stayed here during the Blue Angels homecoming weekend. A great little park. The park hosts were very friendly, they helped me get the beast into the site, the one right across from the showers. That was tricky site to back into, but had I gone all the way into the park and turned around and tried to back in from the other direction it would have been easier. The walk to the beach isnt far but crossing the gulf beach hwy can be dangerous. The park is right down the road from the florabama , a landmark party place, we will go back there again .We stayed here in a motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$36
We camped here over a four day weekend during fall break for our boys. Since it was off season, the rates were very reasonable and the weather was awesome! I believe our site was the only one without a concrete pad, we had a site right as you enter the CG, but could see the ocean and we were right across from the bath house which was a double plus for us. The CG is thin where you enter, view from the beach, but opens up to a wider park on the inter-coastal waterway with views of Ono Island. We spent most of our time at the beach. But if we do get to return, I would like to use the grills, listen to the music they provide on the weekend, and maybe do some fishing. The bath houses were immaculate!!! There was a bouquet of yellow roses in the women’s during our stay. And I can testify that it was cleaned every morning as we were right across from it. This CG does have designated areas to carry your pet to potty and has pet tools to help with your waste disposal. I would love to camp here again!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$70
Very tight spaces ! No shade. High prices. But, we liked it and would go back. Good management. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$66
This is a great park. The managers are very nice and accommodating. They also were good about enforcing the park rules. It is in a good location, right across the road from the beach. No campground store, but they do have ice. However, they are very close to anything one might need. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$49
A bit small but well worth it. We stayed an extra night we were so pleased. Beach access across street and bay access on camp site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$66
Excellent site! The hosts were among the friendliest we have encountered. We enjoyed the park so much that we extended our stay an extra week! The only reason we could not give the site a 10 was how difficult it is to park the rig. The site has a very narrow street that runs thru the middle, with a tiny cove on the end for turning around. We were able to do it, but it was tight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$59
Staff very friendly. Boat spaces available. Access to lagoon and Gulf of Mexico. Great community grills on the water under a patio with a ceiling fan and great big swing. We had a great time. This was our second time to camp here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$60
Great People. Clean place. A bit tight, some construction going on nearby, but after a couple hurricanes, expected. Cleanest restrooms/showers I've seen. Expensive, but you get what you pay for. Nice "community room" for residents to use. Would go back in an instant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2007
$76
$$$$ Big bucks for a small site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$60
Very expensive! But a great little park between the inter-coastal waterway and the Gulf Of Mexico. The most friendly owners that I've ever seen at a park. We would definitely return and really hated to leave. Practically sitting on the Florida/Alabama line within an easy walk of the infamous FloraBama lounge ( even hurricane Ivan couldn't bring her down completely). The only drawback was the construction noise that started around 6AM on the high rise condo across the street. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$49
Playa Del Rio is a small RV park with only 30 spaces. It has a pier that you can park your boat at (.50 per foot per day). Across the road is the Gulf Of Mexico. This is located 6/10 of a mile from the Alabama Florida border (FloraBama). The campground in in real nice shape. All damage from Ivan has been repaired. There is free WiFi internet access. It did go down for some reason on our last day. They also had issues with their credit card machine, so their is importance of getting it back up. They have some gas grills available as well as a nice sitting area by the pier. The owner, was not in as he was on vacation. Most of the people there had stayed there previously. The picture of the park layout is not quite correct on the web site though. It has a single paved road down the middle with RV sites off to each side. All spaces cannot accept longer motorhomes and trailers. The web site has the lengths by space. We will most certainly return. Nice people, nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$55
We have stayed in this park twice before. It's an extremely nice RV park. It's small, but then that makes it more personal. It's on the inland waterway, and across the street they have beach access. To get to restaurants and shopping you do have to drive. We would have stayed here the last two years, but we have friends who live about 18 miles from here. We learned of another RV park closer to our friends, so we haven't been back here, but would like to return someday. It's very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com