214562 User submitted reviews online!!
Oak Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (805) 654-3951
CGID4181

Oak Park

Camp Information
Sites
41
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   3   7   7   9   6   7   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$31
Not a bad park overall. We were going to the Reagan Library, which is 3 miles away, and to Oxnard, which didn't really have any decent places to stay (40 min away). Little tight going around a few trees driving in. We parked in Spot 10 in the lower area. Lots of trees for shade. We chose the spot for the shade and to be further from the other two campers there. It was close to the dumpster, and we had tons of flies around to fight off. I'm assuming it was because of the dumpster. Costco is a mile away and groceries and fuel are close, too. The trains start about 5:30 AM, though the second night there was a freight train about 2 also. Not too loud going by, but the horn was another matter. Some blew far away, and others right behind us, which was REALLY loud. Gone in seconds, though. Worth the inconvenience to us. Spots 1-9 are more in the sun for those cooler days. There is a septic dump near the entrance, for a $15 additional fee. We didn't have a reservation but were able to pay online following the directions on the envelope. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
We stayed here 2 nights. It is a beautiful park, very convenient for our visit to Ronald Reagan's library (which is highly recommended!). It was also convenient for our visit to Lompoc. The only 2 negatives were the trains (which weren't much of a problem since they don't run at night) and the poor cellular connection. We drove past LA at night to avoid the traffic and found this campground a good place to stop. A phone call to the county informed us that it was OK to arrive at 5:30 am, just push the gate open. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
I am a little baffled by the high ratings for this park. The upsides, to me, are far out weighed by the downsides. The upsides are the sites are paved, the lower campground has some shade trees, and you are close to the Regan Library. The down sides are that the lower campground is right next to the train tracks that run constantly starting at 5 AM. Since there is a road crossing the tracks that enters the campground, nearly every train blasts it's horn as it passes the camping area. The sites are mostly dirt with sparse old vegetation scattered around the area. The electric power is poor. The pedestal tripped several times with only us and 1 other rig in the campground. The water pressure is extremely high so bring a regulator if you decide to stay here. And to top it off, we were chastised our first night here and told we were not allowed to walk around or leave our campsite after dark! We spoke to the ranger the next morning who admitted that the camp hosts were "over zealous", but he would rather have them that way than not do anything. He clarified that you were not to walk in the "day use" area after dark because they used to have "problems" here. Although this was not in the rules, we were supposed to "know" this. And to make matters worse, they want another $25 to use the dump station on top of the $30 a day fee for the camp site. This place is not worth the money, and the goofy UN-posted rules are ridiculous. I will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
Nice park run by the County of Ventura. They will not take reservations if your arrival date is 14 days or less in advance. They post which sites have a reservation so you just pick one that is available on first come basis. Trains do pass by, but not a real problem. Lower park is MUCH nicer, upper park is saved for large groups and is just a big parking lot. Very short drive to the Reagan Library. Dump fee is $25. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
Nice park to stay for a couple of days. We are the only RV here so there is plenty of sites available. It is quite dark as there is no outside lights. We stayed in the lower campground by the train tracks. Trains run from about 7:30 AM to 10:00 PM. Most of the trains were passenger type, but some were real trains. The lower campground is rustic with trees. Sites 8 through 15 could take a big rig. Our 5th wheel is 34' and I had at least 10 feet more available. As you enter the lower campground make sure you check the bulletin board on the right. They list the sites and dates that someone has reserved them. The upper campground says that it is for reservations only. I don't know how strict they are about it. The upper campground is mainly a parking lot with some trees that have sites marked off, some of the sites are pull-throughs but not very wide. There is some traffic noise from highway. The lower campground is much better even with the train noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
What a great little park and so close to LA. It's hard to imagine that such a great resource would exist right in Simi Valley. Had water and power, but no sewer. There is an RV dump on-site. We were in the lower park which is close to the train tracks. The trains didn't seem to run at night though. The upper park is much nicer. It was affordable, well kept ,and the staff was great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$25
Oak Park and Tapo Canyon are both operated by the County of Ventura. Some people have reported that one or the other are/were closed so here's the scoop! (It is worthwhile to do it comparison style since there are no private parks or other alternatives nearby.) You should note that BOTH parks have a closing time, which at this time of year I believe is about 5PM. The camp host does "lock" the front gate at this time, which has given people the impression that the park has been permanently closed. However, the gate is merely chained up (not locked), so if you arrive after hours you can open it yourself, drive through, and close it back up after you're in. This will happen every night of your stay, so don't panic if they have "locked" your tow vehicle out while you were in town doing errands! As someone else mentioned, local laws really do prevent you from camping at the local Wal-Mart, so don't plan on getting here late, staying there overnight and checking in here in the morning either. For temporary closures, call the county and make sure they aren't repaving or doing other maintenance during the period you want to stay. You can make reservations as the number of sites are limited, but we didn't need to at this time of year. Their cancellation policies are a little strict, with all reservations being charged a $10 fee plus you have to be 30 days out or more, so buyer beware of that. OAK PARK Located right next to train tracks. And yes, they do use them!!! Your pets may not like this but we have been sleeping through the night, most of the time. This was by far the biggest drawback. Yes, you can hear freeway noise from the 118 but it is not so loud that it has bothered us. There is no sewer hookups, but they do have a dump station on property. ($25 if you are not staying here though!) The location is very convenient to west Simi and Moorpark! The sites are paved, large enough and clean. (Someone previously commented that this place needed to be cleaned up, but that seems to have been done as I was also told that there were a lot of illegal permanent residents here in prior years and there is none of that now.) Beautiful old oak trees give lots of shade to some spots! Big rigs are not a problem in the LOWER campground. We looked at the upper side, too, but there were too many trees/branches there for our tastes. 40 feet was easy on the lower side. Rate is very good during the winter! It would be higher during the busy season but as I said, there aren't a whole lot of other options here. Had good Verizon coverage for cell phones and Mi-Fi's. TAPO CANYON PARK. This park is VERY quiet! Overall a much nicer location than Oak Park. Sewer hookups have been installed for all sites. Big rigs are no problem at any of the sites. Sites are really nice: paved, large enough and clean. Minimal landscaping and no shade. Might be a problem in summer months but not during the winter. A little far from town. NO Verizon coverage which meant no phone or internet for us! By far our biggest drawback. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
This campground is located at the west end of Simi Valley, very close to Moorpark. The location is perfect if you have things to do in town. It appears to be a forgotten, old campground. Very few campers were here and the weather was perfect, (or maybe the economic slowdown played a part). The upper campground can handle bigger rigs but you have the distant sound of traffic on the 118 fwy. The lower campground is more rustic and shaded by giant oak trees, but you have the noise of an occasional train going by. Fortunately, Union Pacific RR doesn't use those tracks much anymore, and the commuter train only runs during the week. The county park management was disorganized. We reserved online and they let someone else camp in our spot. But we got a better spot anyway, so that was not a big deal. We camped in the lower campground. During the day most of the other campers were gone to other places. At night it was very quiet. There is a basketball court, horse shoe pit, hiking trails, and a meeting room you can rent for large groups. There is also a day-use area of the park, with a large parking lot. There's nothing fancy about this place, but if you have a reason be close to town then we'd recommend it. I only live 40 miles away and I think I would still camp here again for a quick weekend getaway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2005
$25
This park is expensive for what you get. In addition to the nightly rate they have a $5 charge to use the dump. There are two rv sites. One is next to the railroad and the other is a converted parking lot for a picnic area. This park needs a lot of upkeep and cleaning. The local laws do not allow parking in the nearby Wal-Mart. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com