214552 User submitted reviews online!!
Gold Country Campground Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (209) 296-4650
CGID431

Gold Country Campground Resort

Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$54



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   10   9   9   3   9   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$54
This was a fun park for kids. They had putt putt golf, albeit a bit tired, but still fun for the little ones. The water park was fabulous with lots of equipment spouting, pouring, and spraying water. The campgrounds were good, with lots of trees. We reserved a 50 amp site, but when we arrived they didn't have any left. Easy access to and from the main road made it easy to navigate our trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
Very friendly and courteous check-in staff. This was our second visit this year. The campground is well maintained. In addition the the RV sites, cabins are also available to rent. They have a great recreational area for families with children. Most of the sites are nice in length and width. The "deluxe sites" have the fire rings. What makes this campground beautiful are all the pine trees. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
We travel the California Gold Country almost every spring. Our first time at Gold Country RV park. Park was mostly empty due to the time of year. The deluxe spaces are deep and allow tents. Some spaces require thinking to back into, but doable. Plenty of activities during the season, mini-golf, pool, water park, game room and more. Plenty to see in the area including Daffodil Hill just 5 fives away. Stayed here in a 5th wheel and will do it again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$31
This is a beautiful park set amongst pine trees. Spaces are wide with plenty of room between rigs. We stayed in spots 69-71 and they were very nice. They have a miniature golf course (that is quite old and well used) that was loads of fun for our family to go and play a round. All in all we'd definitely recommend this park to friends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$37
For a family friendly campground this place is at the top of the list. It's older but well maintained and more than enough to keep the kids (something for all ages, right up through the teens)busy. If anything, they have too many options. It's in the woods and has some terraced sites for RVs and some level and more open sites on top of the hill. They also have cabins for rent as well as a cottages for those that want to join you but don't do camping well. This place is close to so much of California's gold rush history. Jackson Rancheria Casino is just down the road ten miles for adult entertainment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$59
Great family destination RV Park. Plenty of activities for the kids. We had a deluxe site, school was back in session so not crowded. Everything worked fine for us, but a bit pricey. Miniature golf, swimming pool, and water park were included and fun. Fire ring and picnic table, our site was level and shady, our site also had room for my son to pitch his tent. Restrooms and showers were clean. Quiet at night. The sewer hookups were to high, I had to keep going out and lifting the drain hose to empty it. Cable TV and Wi-Fi were good. Friendly staff. Local things to see, Grinding Rock State Park, Caverns, and Daffodil Hill (seasonal only). We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$39
Everything here was broken. The water park was broken. We lost water to our RV 4 times. The game room too hot: no AC at all. The pool was great. The pull through sites are not pull through. Had to back out, up a hill. Lucky my truck is a 4x4! Lights in golf don't work. The dog park is a joke. Don't drive here as can't turn around. Again, glad I had a 4x4. Park has a million bees. It looks nice online, but I would never return. It is very pretty, but a lot run down! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$59
We stayed here for a week on a long stopover. The site we had was plenty long enough for our 40' 5th wheel and the tow vehicle. The access road to the sites is a bit narrow for big rig access so getting to the site was a challenge. You've got to think ahead. Access was the only detractor to the park. The staff was very helpful in getting campers in and out successfully, and the office staff was friendly and easy to deal with. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
Undoubtedly, the nicest park we've stayed in. Don't like RV parks per se. Rigs are usually packed in so close you have no air and can barely open your door. NOT at this resort. Lovely BIG sites, impeccably clean restrooms, exceptional and accommodating staff - could not have asked for more. Only planned to stay one night but extended our visit just because the campground was so lovely. Plenty of shade, tables, and lots of amenities. Looking forward to a return visit. Gianinni's Resturant in Pine Grove was recommended when we asked for a local and good eatery. What a great experience that restaurant offered. Hope you enjoy as much as we did, this delightful area and campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$39
We stayed here for a short weekend during the end of July so it was quite hot. The campground itself is great with a really cool water park, kids play structure, clean bathrooms, pool and arcade. Our site itself was not as ideal as it was an RV row with little shade. I would return again, but would make sure to choose a different site on one of the side areas of the facility for a little more privacy. Thing to note- most sites did not have a fire pit, which was not mentioned online. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Nice campground with sites spread out. Great off-season rate. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
We stayed here because it was recommended by friends. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Our site was a pull through and we were the only ones in our area. When we first got there neither the Wi-Fi or cable would work. When we told the staff, there was a work truck there within an hour to fix the problem. This appears to be a kid friendly park with pool, splash area, miniature golf and arcade room. We will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
This is a nice location and is set under the pine trees. Some of the sites appear to have a fair amount of room, while others seem a bit limited on useful space for sitting outside. This looks like it would be a very kid-friendly park during the summer, with lot of things to do. The winter rate was a good value. Our space was fairly muddy and could have used some more gravel over the dirt. Good cable and Wi-Fi. The hook-ups were mediocre, both in design and condition. I make a habit of running the water a bit before I hook it to the trailer, and it was a good thing. It ran muddy, and I mean muddy, for a concerning amount of time before it turned clear. We never drink the water anyway, but I'm going to sanitize my system early after this trip. Overall, very promising though, and we plan to try it again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
During the busy summer season, this campground would be a bit more than we wanted to pay, but the winter rates were very reasonable. During the summer the park would probably seem somewhat crowded, but in the fall we practically had the place to ourselves. With a lodge, rental cabins, huge meeting rooms, pool, BBQ area, mini-golf, hiking trails and more, this would be an excellent place for group rallies or a family reunion where some might not be in RVs. The office and grounds staff were friendly and helpful. This is a great central location for exploring California's Gold Country. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
This was our second time here and it has been awesome! The new owners are taking great strides in making this park super nice. The water park and pee wee golf are great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$59
We just got back from the Campground today. We spent the weekend here and had a blast. This is definitely a great RVing family destination. Pool was clean, water park was great, new playground that the 4-year-old loved. The campgrounds were super clean. Staff was really friendly. They had arts and crafts for the kids in their rec/arcade room. They even had a toddler area, sectioned off for the real little ones. Full hookups including cable TV. Campsites were gravel/dirt but all the roads are newly paved. We will definitely be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$57
After seeing a post over at the RV.NET forums I decided to try this campground for the 4th of July weekend. I'll preface this review by saying that it's extremely hard to get a 10 out of me which is why I gave this place a 9 but it definitely deserves an almost perfect rating. My kids (7 and 4) loved the place, especially the water spray park and couldn't wait to play. There's also a very well kept mini-golf course that the kids played at least 6 times over the weekend stay. This place is great for kids and offers accommodations for tent RV'ers, "cabin" dwellers and "motel" style outings. It was very very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The grass area between the spray park and swimming pool is a nice place for the parents to lounge with views of the playground, mini-golf course, pool and spray park from one spot. There's also a centrally located "group" picnic area which is nice if you have multiple families meeting together. I was very surprised to find that this campground wasn't even close to being full but I was told they were under new management which had only recently taken over. Guess that explained why the playground and spray park were practically brand new. I'm sure this place will take off as soon as word gets out, especially if one has kids. I should mention as well that many of the sites up on the backside of the park are up on a hill with a fabulous view of the Sierra Nevada mountains. It was cool to sit at the picnic table at the site and see the snow covered mountains so late in the season. There are too many good things to say about this campground all in one review. My family is definitely planning to go back again next year and even hope to make it back before the nice summer weather ends this year. As with any review though not everything can be "roses" as the saying go. The only "problem" per say that I experienced was that after spending a hot afternoon by the pool I came back to my trailer to find that the power had gone out at my site. I later discovered that my Surge Guard had gone into protection mode as the voltage at the site had gone below 100v (as monitored by my Kill-A-Watt meter) for an extended period of time and wasn't sufficient enough to safely power the A/C. I turned off my A/C for a couple hours until the voltage stabilized and was fine the rest of the day. This only happened once out of 4 days of camping so it could have been something outside the campground that caused the problem. As stated though, we're definitely going back and I recommend this place to anyone with kids that like to have fun in the water and for parents that just want to relax while the kids have fun. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
Friendly and helpful folks. They gave us a ride up the hill to preview just how I may want to approach the camping spot (31). This spot is classed as a pull through, but the downhill grade and turn at the bottom told me to just back out, which we did. My fifth wheel is 38 feet long. The rain came our first afternoon and with it the pine needles. The down hill roadway was very slippery as a result. The next morning all the roads were clean by the park operators and much appreciated by us. Naturally the place was wide open this late in the season but they still had ice for our Margaritas. Hurray! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
This was our first time here. The spaces were gravel and level, we were given a space that was large enough for the motorhome, car, and still had 10' to spare. The sites had fire pits and full hook ups. Since it was the off season, we did not have cable TV or pool but there was Wi-Fi. The park is being remodeled and the owners were on site. The restrooms were freshly done and very clean. We had forgotten our coffeemaker and the staff pulled one from a rental cabin for us to use. The staff was very helpful. This campground would have received a 10 but the Wi-Fi was a little weak in our space and the mini-golf needs to be fixed. We will be staying again soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$53
The park was awesome! The pool and waterpark were very clean and the kids and I loved it. They are very pet friendly and there was no charge! The people running the park were the friendliest and the most helpful of any place we visited. We stayed at the deluxe site and there was room for a tent if desired. It is a great place even if you have a large group. We will definitely make it regular stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$53
Very nice family campground and RV park. We were there on the Friday before the 4th of July and had the area we were in to ourselves. The Pool was nice but not heated. My children loved the water park it was the best I have seen and very clean. The mini golf needs some work but my kids had a great time with it. The playground is new. Very quiet. The bathrooms were completely redone. My kids are already talking about going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$58
We have been to this park a few times and gladly return any chance we get. They have recently redone the bathrooms, store, game room, roads, and graveled the RV landings. Also just added was a children's splash park. Our kids, ages 7-16, totally loved it; as well as the old favorites of the extra large pool, mini-golf, volleyball, full basketball courts, and swings. Larger fire pits were among the recent upgrades which was good news for my pyro husband. The staff is beyond courteous, always ready and willing to help. They even have activities planned for the kids every weekend whether in season or not. The park is super quiet, very well shaded, and has paved roads. Stay here and you won't be disappointed. We love it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$58
This RV campground was very clean, very quiet, and a total pleasure to visit. The staff is helpful, and the amenities are clean. The restrooms are clean and some are completely remodeled with huge showers. Lots of trees for shade. We would recommend this to anyone who wants to "camp in the woods" and still be within driving distance of Jackson Rancheria and the gold country. We even took one afternoon and drove over to Lake Tahoe. Not a bad drive at all. Definitely a 10. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$58
Over the Memorial Weekend we stayed in Gold Country Campground, in Pine Grove, CA. This is a beautiful, older campground that is going through many renovations. The roads are newly repaved, all of the buildings, including showers/restrooms, are redone, and the pool area has been refurbished. They just built a great splash park, and are replacing their mini-golf course. A new playground structure will be there in a couple of weeks. The Rec-Room was redone, and was busy all weekend with crafts and games for the kids. The staff was very nice and helpful, and they made sure that our whole family had a great time. It was great to see so much effort put into this campground, and we will definitely return this summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$46
It all kind of depends on what you are looking for when it comes to campground reviews. Our family likes a nature sort of setting as opposed to the concrete slabs of some RV resorts. That being said, we have enjoyed many of those too, but this Jelly stone park is a real gem! :-) We were here about 4 years ago and at that point there were over 20 single wide mobile homes in the RV spots and the place was a real dump. We swore we would never come back here. Some friends told us that Jellystone had bought the park and were working on cleaning it up. Well, they have done a wonderful job. The park is spotless. Though the sites are not as wide as some of the Concrete slab parks, this one has character (in a good way) that many parks do not. We had no problem getting our fiver (with two slides) in to its spot. Though things were a little tight on the sides, there was a spacious area to the rear of our rig with a Picnic table and fire ring that allowed us that secluded feeling that we can't find in most other parks that we go to. Yes, the sights are dirt, but we don't mind this. They have installed all of the latest features in this park. The WIFI is wonderful, very reliable and fast. The pool area has been completely redone the Pool looks great compared to the algea filled mess from 4 years ago. Yes, there is still work to be done, but what a face lift in just a year since the ownership changed. The price was a little steep for our liking, but I guess it was in line with some of the KOA's in the central California Region. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2007
$33
We had a back in site. If there are pull-throughs, I didn't see them. We have a small trailer and site was fine for us, size wise. Sites are dirt and not level. Hook-ups are on wrong side. This was curious to us, because obviously recent work has been done on hook-ups. Maybe just too much effort to switch to correct side. Didn't appear particularly friendly to big rigs with slide-outs. Pleasant setting. Staff fine. Kind of rustic, which is fine with us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
We have wintered in this park for the last four years. It has always been kept up and the price was right for what you got. Well now they have changed it to a Jellystone park and have raised the monthly rent close to $950.00 which does not include your electric or cable, it will work out to close to $1000.00. The nightly rate is going up also, they are not sure but it will be close to $50.+. They don't have the amenities for these prices. I know the showers and bathrooms are locked due to vandals. There isn't a playground for the kids, the mini golf course is tore up, there isn't a laundry room, and the rec hall is locked too. The grounds are overgrown and everything is dead, even the grassy area by the pool. They have construction going on where the cabins are, which isn't too bad right now. They are turning off the electric to all but 30 of the sites on September 1st so they can upgrade. They have been going to upgrade for the last two years. I'm very disappointed in this park now, it has a very unfriendly feeling and even though they got out most of the rif raf, none of the rules are enforced. You let the managers know about a problem and they say they will take care of it, but don't. Before this place was sold it was very busy all the time. Tenters and RV's every weekend and all summer long. Now it's lucky if you get a couple a month, very sad. So overall if your running late and want to pay a lot for an overnight spot, stay here, or travel down the road and find a nicer place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Park is not big rig friendly. Sites are not level, very narrow, and no pull-throughs or WiFi. (They advertise they have pull-throughs and WiFi but they do not.) This park is more for small RVs or tents. Beautiful area, staff nice. We will not camp here in the future, and can't recommend it for large rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
This campground has new owners and they have really cleaned out alot of the old riff raff. We have spent the last four winters here and the last year we didn't travel at all. The campground is an older one and does need some work but the new managers are doing the best they can as fast as they can. The sites are fairly large they have plenty of room for slides, even a screen house if you want one.The overall area is beautiful if you like trees and wildlife, no noise, and no unruly kids running around. Every one who RV's or tent camps has a great time here. The pool is seasonal and its clean and large, big patio area. Large rec room, but who wants to be inside playing pool. The only draw back is no laundry room, but they may put one in. Overall this is a really nice hidden jewel We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$30
This park is nice. The employee's are friendly. Very clean park. RV area at top of hill has pull through's, but no privacy. More like a parking lot type of set up. A lot of permanant old trailers, but it is clean. No laundry which they could use, but there is one in town. Lower area has back in spots. I have seen better parks and worse parks for the money. It is quiet, lots of wild life. We stayed here in the off season winter 2003-2004, in a Class A 36'. They also have tent sites away from the RV area. Lots of trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com