218598 User submitted reviews online!!
Fishermen's State Park and Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (401) 789-8374
CGID4381

Fishermen's State Park and Campground

Camp Information
Sites
182
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   5   8   10   8   9   6   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$18
Cheapest camping around. No amenities though. Bathrooms have never been updated. They are the same as they were 30+ years ago. Rarely cleaned, spiders and cobwebs everywhere. Sites not trimmed back so you may have branches to deal with. For $18 you give up a lot of what regular campgrounds offer. If they did the bathrooms over it would be so much better. There was work done over the winter but it is not evident. No change from last year, when they said all electrical would be upgraded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
We had a reservation for area 4, but the site had too much grade and we could not level. We were able to move into area 2 where there was 1 site that worked for us. Sites really vary as far as being level. The site descriptions are not the best. You really need to know the sites here. As reviewed, this is a somewhat dated park, but the location is great. Verizon broadband and TV via bat wing were both good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
We were disappointed with our annual trip to Fishermen's Memorial State Park this year. The park is doing some major construction to upgrade and add more full hookup sites for 2015. We were aware of this when we reserved our site. However, when we checked in we were informed that they were having problems with the electric service in Area 1, but the ranger was able to correct it and all should be well. We pulled in and plugged in that is when our problems began. Our surge protector caught on fire. Fortunately, we were able to put it out. By then the entire row had lost power. The staff was very helpful and did find us another site for the night in Area 2 with power. We stayed for a week and row 70-75 did not have the power situation corrected in Area 1 during that time. Since there were other power problems in Area 1, the office was handing out printed information on how to obtain refunds from the state. In addition, we were inundated with ticks. Every night I removed several from our dogs and found some crawling around the RV. When I mentioned this to the office staff, they said the ticks were very bad this year and the staffer had even had a few on her. Normally, we love this campground and the surrounding area but did feel that do to the electrical problems and ticks they deserved a lower score for this year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
The wide variety of sites at this park can accommodate campers from tents to big rigs. Paved interior roads are a bit narrow, many sites are curved or not level but others are generously sized with privacy provided by ample landscaping. The reservation system offers a lot of information but the high occupancy rate allows little flexibility once you’ve arrived. Electric and water were good, discharge of grey water without a sewer hookup is allowed, no wi-fi, no cable, good AT&T phone and data service, some TV reception via antenna, mostly satellite friendly, limited road noise during the day that quiets down at night, playgrounds tennis and basketball facilities are available. Use of air conditioners is not allowed. Alcohol is not allowed. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
We enjoyed our stay at this campground. Our fellow campers were very friendly. Our site was a water/electric site. It had a curve in the middle of the site and sloped, but I was able to level our 32' motor home with just a few blocks. The site was paved and grass with nice privacy hedges and trees. Field stone fire pit. Grounds are nice for dog walking and bike riding. The bathrooms were dated, but clean. We were told new bath houses were scheduled to be built for next season. You needed quarters to take a shower and there was a change machine at the front office. I noticed a sign in the front office prohibiting the use of AC. This was not a problem for us because the nights were cool, we had to run our furnace, and there was a nice cool breeze during the day. We will return to this campground in the future, but only in the spring or fall because during the summer we need AC for medical reasons. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
This was a nice state park with excellent access to the ferry which travels to Block Island which is one of the places we wanted to visit and not to be missed. Roads into and through the park were paved and sites were dirt and fairly level. Although, jacks were required for many. The pull-through sites were long and wide with lots of room for parking, and spacing between sites was large with tall shrubbery between each - lots of privacy here. Each site had a good table and fire pit. There was some road noise from nearby highway 108, but we did not find it overly bothersome because it is car traffic and not for large trucks. The 30-amp power was adequate and water pressure was strong. There was no laundry, Wi-Fi or sewer available, but a dump station was located near the entrance to our section. Unfortunately, the bathrooms and showers were a disappointment. In area 4 where we stayed, they were old and not very clean. The pay showers were not ones that I would want to use unless I had to. Grocery stores and other shopping were about 3.5 miles away, and lots of good restaurants could be found at nearby Galilee Harbor. I am rating this park high based on the fact that we did not use the bathrooms or showers, and we do not care about Wi-Fi, laundry or sewer at the site. Other folks who want these things may be disappointed, but we really liked this place and hope to come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$29
First time we have stayed here in many years. Nice park with long (50') pull through sites. Roads are plenty wide enough for most vehicles. The turn into our site was a little tight for the truck and 5er, but once in it was fine. We were just getting away for the weekend but had a great time and met nice people. One note - make sure you leave enough room for rig and tow vehicle in your site - no tires (not even a little) on the grass. Full hook up site would have been nice. Careful as some of the pull through sites have a curve in the middle of them. This could be a problem for larger rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
We were looking forward to this campground because it looked like it was right on the water. We're on a 6-month trip and don't plan too far ahead so we weren't surprised when we didn't get a waterfront spot (we booked that morning), but waterfront wasn't really waterfront anyway. There were a lot of reeds and bushes blocking the water view. The only thing that the proximity to the water really did was guarantee that there were a lot of mosquitoes around. We ended up with site #9 in Area 2, which is the loop that has water and electric but no sewer. Our spot was on an end and fairly level. However, a lot of the spots in this loop were not level. Our neighbors were fairly loud and stayed up late talking outside around the campfire (not the park's fault, but still impacted our experience). There were also a lot of rules that seemed unnecessary. We would probably stay here again if we were in the area and needed an overnight, but otherwise wouldn't seek it out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
I loved our site, it was very private and big. They have bushes that give you a secluded feeling on some of the sites. The bathrooms were very clean. Showers are .75 cents for the first 3 minutes and .25 cents for every minute after that. Make sure you bring lots of quarters. This campground is near the middle of everything. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about everything. I hope that they put in a small camp-store soon so you don't have to leave the park for ice and wood. The park offers a great playground, tennis courts, volleyball and a big area for anything else you would like to do. We would definitely go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
We spent 7 nights at this park the second week of June and it was very enjoyable. We did not have full hook up - just water and electric. There are three dump stations. Full hook ups have beautiful salt pond views and are usually reserved a year in advance. Our site was a pull through on asphalt, level, large enough to offer privacy, grassy with fire ring, and picnic table. We saw lots of wildlife including deer and turkey. The park's asset is its close proximity to numerous beaches, restaurants, ferries, fishing party boats and lighthouses. Those are ,all within 2 miles. Also very easy to bike to. We took the ferry to Block Island. We did not use the showers but found them to be in need of updating. The restrooms were OK. This is a family park and would probably get very crowded in summer months. Reservations are suggested. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
We stayed at Fishermen's for four nights attending my high school reunion. It is a very nice campground with four main sections. A full hookup area with some sites overlooking the clamming flats. Another section with water and electric, a tenting area that an RV can stay without services, and a wooded section with water and electric. Bathrooms need to be updated especially the showers. This campground is near the fishing village of Galilee with its seafood markets, restaurants, and beaches. The Block Island ferry can be picked up from here also. One can drive through Narragansett along ocean road which is beautiful and also visit the Lighthouse and Cronin's fishing area with a beautiful view, beach, and fishing area which is free. There are at least three RI state beaches within 2 miles of the campground, but for out of staters, the cost to get in is high thanks to our Governor. Newport is just a drive across the bridge away and can be spotted from the sea wall along ocean road. There is no problem with visitors and they do not charge. On Sunday mornings there is a farmers market right at the campground. It is nice to bike around the campground as well as along the escape road to Galilee and to some other great restaurants on Route 108. There are basketball courts, tennis courts, and fields. Great place to stay if you can get in. Reservations are taken, but they go fast; yet there were about ten sites open the four nights we were there June 14-18th. We enjoyed the seafood and especially buying steamers and lobsters at the fish market to bring back to our site to enjoy! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$37
This State Park was a great find. All roads are paved and sites are fairly level and wide. We were here early in the spring and power was ok, but you cannot use AC during the summer months. There is a sea breeze so I don't think you would really need the AC. Some of the drive through sites on the water are rather small for big rigs. If they had a camp store I would have given a 10. We will stay here again. Lots to see in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
Great RV park, large sites. The water front sites can be a bit tricky to get in if you have a long rig. I would have given the RV park a 10 if they had a store with supplies and firewood. The RV sites are paved and fairly level. The power was OK, but it was April and no one was running air conditioners. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$38
Overall a lovely state campground with full lookups. We were in Area 1 overlooking a marshy area and a wildlife preserve. In the distance, we could see the Atlantic Ocean with the surf breaking. It was only about 20 to 30 minutes from Newport by car. Since we visited off season, we were able to easily bike ride to local beaches, the Galilee fishing village and the Point Judith Light house. I'm guessing in season biking would be more difficult due to vehicle traffic. We were able to buy lobsters right off the boat from the docks at Galilee. The Campground was nicely maintained, but some of the infrastructure(ie roads) was crumbling, and the bathrooms were pretty basic, and they do charge for showers. Please note that the office does have a sign up saying that the electrical grid will not support RV air conditioners. We will definitely be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
We paid an extra $10 for full hookup but really didn't need to.    This campground was quiet and each site was large.  There are wide range of choices for sites from tenting to full hookups. Lately we've enjoyed having some extras like Wi-Fi and a camp store, neither of which are here.  Our site abutted a road with a dry swamp in between so traffic noise interrupted the peaceful nature of the place.  Not far from beaches and clam digging. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Great location and it was fun to walk around the park; pretty views and relatively quiet CG (some noise from nearby streets). Don't expect the front office to know anything about RV campgrounds: they are just kids taking reservations. When we checked in they told us all of the sites were level but the reality was most of the sites were on a slope and we were lucky to get a level one (#79). We were in the full hook-up area. Also noticed that many of the sites were crescent shaped which would be okay for a small RV but might be awkward for a longer motorhome. Hook-ups were good. My Verizon mobile broadband had a good connection. We would have stayed longer but they were all booked up for the weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Easy to get to campground using their directions, no toll bridges heading from the North. Check-in was quick since we did preregistration. All sites are pull-through onto paved sites except for the tent area. We stayed in Section 2 in a travel trailer with slide outs on both sides. The restrooms were clean. Women's showers have curtains while men's showers do not. It is paid Showers ($.75 for the first 3 minutes than $.25 after that.) Shower floors could use a good cleaning or replacement. There is no heat in the bathroom area. There is a playground (okay for a child under 6, older kids will get a bit bored), large swing set with only 2 swings on it, tennis courts and basketball courts. The sites are spacious and several have shrubs between to give you some privacy. The sites are well maintained. The campground was quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
This campground is located about 20 miles from downtown Newport ($4.00 bridge toll each way) as well as being close to ocean swimming beaches with hefty parking fees. We stayed in Section 2 and felt the space between campers very adequate. The sites in our section were all paved. The trees and bushes between sites gave us a feeling of space and privacy. Since it is September, the electric was not a problem. The bathhouse is the main downfall of this campground. It is old with an unfinished cement floor which if painted could greatly improve the appearance and help in keeping it clean. The pay showers were small with a non-adjustable shower head, and there was little space for dressing. They charge 75 cents for 3 minutes and 25 cents for each additional minute. I have no problem paying for a shower provided the facilities are clean and maintained. The campground is very quiet at night, and we enjoyed the sound of the fog horns off in the distance. We would stay here again but only for 1 night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
I gave it a rating of 5 because they advertise 30 amp power but the voltage was consistently low and eventually I just unplugged to avoid damage to my electrical equipment. I consistently saw 100 volts at the pedestal. I had to run my generator for a couple of hours to cool down the RV at night. The park was well groomed and even though the spaces are close together we never had a problem with rowdy neighbors. After checking in and walking around we saw some blue signs taped at the bath house noting that there were periodic brownouts and to limit electrical usage. Also on the note was a "boil water" notice. We immediately went to the office to inquire about the water, fortunately the boil water notice had ended the week before. While in a convenient location for beach going, we went to Roger Wheeler Beach (very nice but additional $14.00/day to park), I would not stay at this park again in the summer due to the low voltage issue and they are not up front about it in the park description. According to the repeat campers that we talked to there the low voltage problem has been around for several years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
The park itself is very well kept. Garbage area was pretty bad with full containers and lots of trash on the ground, but will take into consideration that it was a holiday. Sites are tight but manageable. The problem is, most of the people working here are very young, more like a summer camp. They seem unsure of what they are doing. Our fridge quit while here and we told them we had to take our rig out of park Wednesday for a repair. They would not let us leave our car even though we had paid for site till Friday. So we had to hook up and tow it along. There were also several brown outs with no power for long periods, which probably added to our fridge breakdown. No one could run air due to electrical problems and it was wicked hot at this time. When we pulled out to get our repair done, we stopped to tell them we were leaving and they said you are not getting any refund. We had not asked for one and said we were coming back. Long story short we decided not to come back. It was just not a favorible place to stay as it had too many issues. We would not come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
Campsite itself was all right. It is located in a good location near beaches and short drive to Newport and other nice towns. Some sites can be a trip to the bathrooms. Bathrooms needed help: the person responsible for them should be on the unemploment line. Don't mind paying for shower but at least use the money for upkeep on them. This campground was very quiet. We stayed in area 4 site 170 which had a great tree for shade and a hammock. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This is our second time staying here. We were in site 56, which was spacious and well shaded. Family pitched a tent, plenty of room. We felt our site was attractive, grass cut, shrubs trimmed. Quiet hours are observed, people are friendly. Close to restaurants, we visited Newport and Wickford, and antique shops are nearby.State beach fees are pricey, but the beaches are beautiful and have nice amenities.Granddaughter and friend loved it.We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
We would not stay here again. Majority of park does not have sewers, only 40 of 182 sites have sewers. Our site was directly in front of Mens Rest Room; workers and patrons would not close the door - not a pretty site. Guess it was done to try and let some of the bugs out of the bath house as it was loaded! Pay showers and cold water to boot. Beware, Reserve America adds a $19 fee each time you reserve. I had to make a date change in reservation by phone as internet would not change since I was already shown on the site. I immediately checked WiFi after making change and Reserve America had put in incorrect dates. Called them right away and it was another $19 even though it was their mistake. Reserve America says they can do nothing as the fee is a RI policy; RI State Parks says it is Reserve America policy. Somebody has bad policy but no one cares to fix it; just generate a little more income for either or both I suppose. Not much going for this park to make me want to return. Oh yeah, enjoy a nearby beach? Right, when you pay their $7 per day rate and thats only because we were Seniors and would get it for half price. Campground pass only gets you into the Campground, no place else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Reserve America sent me an e-mail asking for a review, but they only want to know about beauty, spaciousness, quiet, etc. Actually, we liked this state park very much. My problem with this state park, as well is others, is that the summer employees do not understand that a motor home needs a level site. Reserve America only wants to know the type vehicle and # of feet. They also don't seem to have a clue about whether the sites are level. Trailers and 5th wheels can deal with unlevel sites because their tires are closer together. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
We love this campground. We come every year. Very cheap. No activities but very convenient to beaches and ferry to Block Island. This year we took the ferry, which is about 2 miles down the street, to Block Island for the day. Awesome. Campground has a huge site out back. All pull through. Plenty of room for extra cars. Nice paved roads for kids on bikes. Can walk dogs, really love this place. Awesome location: you can hear the light house and tug boat horns at night. Try this: you won't be disappointed. Full hookups in rear of campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
This was a nice campground but I didn't give a higher score because of voltage problems. The neutral and hot wires were reversed which caused problems with running our furnace properly. I would highly recommend that you use a polarity tester before hooking into the electrical at this campground. Aside from that, our site was nice, site #29. The campground was pretty quiet though people did tend to drive very fast through it. In a pinch we'd go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Review is for Area 2, 30 amp and water only. Non-resident rate of $25, resident is $18. Sites are somewhat short for a motorhome and toad. Some of the sites have a hedge that can impact slides. We spent some time here and a couple of times had low voltage problems (under 80 volts). Our surge protector cut power to our rig so we had no damage, problem was fixed the next day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Very quiet and clean park. No activities but there is a playground(plenty to keep our 4 & 6 year old happy), basketball court and tennis court. Park is within minutes of state beaches and ferry to block island. Restaurants and shopping nearby. I personally did not use the restrooms, but my wife and children did and I didn't hear any complaints. We will definitely be going back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
We were very happy with this campground. It was clean and well kept. Full hook up sites were huge; well groomed and grassy sites. Very nice. If you're looking for activities forget it. There are none. No pool or access to water. However, there is a beach 2 miles down the road. Also, the Block Island ferry is 2 miles away. Great park for the price. We enjoyed the quietness. We'll definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Great campground. Lots of sites in three loops, shade trees and picnic area between sites. We paid non-resident rate for a w/e site, bath house was old but clean and adequate. Good for families, with a playground, basketball, tennis, and lots of road for bike rides. Market, shopping and restaurants are within minutes. Go to Iggy's for chowder! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
Great CG! Lovely pull-thru sites, even for many of the w/e ones. Lots of privacy for most. Full hookup area has nice views of saltwater pond/inlet. Restrooms were barely ok, need to be updated soon, and I hate pay showers. Close (really close!) to ocean beaches and ferry to Block Island. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Paid state rate, $35 for non residents. We had a great pull through right on the pond. Most sites are very roomy. The park is close to just about everything, Block Island ferry, beaches, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
Great Park! No activities for children but one of the best places if you like to bike. Very quiet . We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
It was a great place to be right near the water it was a beautiful campground at very cheap rates especially when you are right near the water. You are literally 2 minutes away from a beach. The owners were pretty friendly. The only down side were the restrooms they were dirty. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
My wife camped there with our 2 daughters and it was a very good place to stay as a base then go to other daytime activities and locations if you want to sight see (which they did). The facilities are quiet and clean. Bathrooms are clean and people were very nice. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$35
I agree with the previous positive review. This is an excellent campground with an ocean breeze. Clamming is near by and one can ride a bike down to the small fishing village Galilee to buy clams and lobsters, go to the beach or take the ferry over to Block Island. It is almost impossible to get a reservation for this park in June, July and August. Many beaches near by. There are some sites not taken but call first. In May, the early part of June, September, and October you can find a site with no reservations during the week and some weekends. I would still call first to see how many sites are available. There is a big RV area with sewers that has an open look that looks out over an inlet (very pretty) but the other camping loop is private with trees and with electricity and water. There are tennis courts available and playing fields. Out of state residents pay $35 dollars for e,w and s and $25 for just w and e. If you can get in,it is a beautiful state campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$35
This is one of the best state parks I have been in that cater to RV's. Most every site for RV's are pull through. Very spacious sites with landscape that adds to the privacy between units. Within a mile of State Park Beaches and Block Island Ferry. Of the 182 sites 35 are for tents only, electric and water on 107 sites and 40 sites with electric water and sewer. The $35 per night rate was for me being an non-resident, residents of RI have a bargin at $20 per night. Although not directly a water-front park, some sites have a view of the bay. Please check out website for reservations as it must be a very popular place in the summer. I will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com