218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Double D RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (580) 526-3967
CGID4388

Double D RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
16
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   7   5   6   7   8   5   7   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
This is a bear bones park. It did work for an overnight stay with full hookups. Little road noise. There was nothing for families. The only problem is that there are no better parks in the area. The park at Shamrock is even worse. No cable and little TV. AT&T was edge signal. We will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$12
Our rate reflect a Passport America rate for 30amp. You get what you pay for and at $12 you can't beat the rate or the park for an over night stay; it beats a Walmart parking lot. There is nothing around the campground, except a good local restaurant you can walk to. Easy on, easy off the interstate. Grass and gravel sites. We have stayed here twice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$12
This was the most hard to find park in our nine years of traveling but once there it was OK. It is all grass and check in is at the store. Utilities all worked fine. Other travelers found it, also. Don't get off at the first Texola sign if heading east. The second exit works well. The entry roads are deeply rutted and do twist the coach especially on departure. But the price is right for what it is. We called twice for directions. There is a heard of cows nearby. One of the three permanent residents had a pit bull running loose on our arrival but did put him up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$14
$14 rate is Passport for a 50 amp site. Nothing fancy, just a good place to overnight. Access and interior roads were fair to good, site was very level. Grass needed mowing and the sewer hookup was way to the rear of our site so I had to drag out my hose extension. The noise level of the nearby I-40 will depend on the wind direction. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$12
This campground is behind an old truck stop and restaurant between I40 and old Route 66 in Texola. The restroom and shower facilities are in the restaurant building. The toilet area was clean, but the showers were old and could use a good scrubbing and bleach, but they were usable. No other facilities. You check in at the truck stop convenience store, and the staff there was very nice. Hookups were good, we had a nice shade tree, and could hardly hear the highway noise. This is a nice, safe place to stop for a night. We walked to Rt 66 just before sunset and took some photos of the old buildings and the highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$12
We used it for a overnight stop. The check-in was pleasant and courteous. Excellent value, very clean and easy walk to town. We'd stop their again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$12
You get what you pay for. Double D is right off I40 at the OK/TX border on the site of a very old truck stop that doesn't get used anymore. Helpful pleasant staff. Told me to pick my site with a gray (30 am) box, and I chose a level one with a tree. Water, electric, sewer, although the sewer was a little far back in the site, but manageable. Level. Absolutely no amenities. There were 3 longtermers, another Class A and me. Two 18 wheelers parked in the lot overnight, engines running, shaking the ground. Certainly not a destination, but good for a tired soul who just wants a quick, cheap stay. Price reflects Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$12
This is my second visit to this RV park. It is located between I-40 and 66. Easy to get to either route. The spots are level and easy to get in and out of. My only complaint is the sewer hook-up was too far back to use. So I saved it for my next stop. You check in at the convenience store which is in front of the park. There is also a restaurant next door. I went to the restaurant at my last visit but did not this time. The restaurant is fine but I am a vegetarian so my options were limited-- I passed this visit. Even though the park is near I-40 there is barely any noise coming from it. I could stand outside and watch the trucks go by and barely hear them--and no sound when inside. Texola is very nearly a ghost town--but not quite. If you are fascinated by decaying structures and taking photos of them, this is the place. I drove up the road closer to the town proper and just walked around with my dog and my camera. Hours of fascinating images. A fifteen minute drive down 66 back into Erick OK will take you to a fascinating building in the middle of town that is covered with historic signs. It turned out on both trips I went there on a Sunday so if one can get inside the building to see if it is also as delightful, I do not know. It used to be a butcher shop. There is a bank. And a cafe--also closed on Sunday. I think the grocery is open on Sunday though--it is right by the aforementioned building. About twenty minutes or so the other way, going into Texas is Shamrock. There is lots there for eating and shopping and the art deco building that is now the chamber of commerce is a delight to see. I think this is a great place to stop if you are traveling between Oklahoma City and Amarillo. I am a woman traveling alone and I like to keep my drives short and my RV parks quiet and clean. I will come back here again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$14
Definitely an overnight stop only. No Wi-Fi. AT&T and T-mobile were poor. Dirt pull through sites. Texola is not a town. It is just a spot on the road. OK for a night at the price. There was a restaurant but we did not try it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$14
An OK bare bones park. Hookups are OK but some have sewer in back and a long reach for fifth wheel. Some are in the middle with the water and electric.It gets a little muddy when it rains. We would stay here again at this price. 30 amp is $12 and 50 amp is $14. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$12
We've stayed here a few times now, and for an overnight stop it's pretty nice. Especially using the Passport America rate. Wife looked in the restrooms and said they were OK. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$24
As others have said, this campground is basically just for overnight stops. When we checked in at the gas station/convenience store, we were given a list of open 30 amp (our choice, 50 amp is available) sites, and told to take our pick when we pulled into the park. The sites are minimal, but a few do have a shade tree or two. TV reception is good using local repeaters, and Verizon cell and data reception is excellent. There were several long term residents that are apparently working nearby on an oil rig, but they were not a problem. We will stay here again as an overnight only stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$12
Rate is PA with 30 amp. We have stayed here a few times before. Basic bare bones park with water, electric, and sewer. The water and electric hook ups are mid site the sewer is all the way in the back so I didn't use it. Not great looking, but at $12 it is OK. There are a number of permanent sites and one in particular in the back has two horse trailers, an old car and a dog tied up outside left alone for at least a day while we were there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$14
Our rate is for passport America. The park is a very easy on/off I 40. You actually pull into a gas station and the park sits behind it. They have a small number of sites and the turns are tight, but doable. The rest rooms are older, but reasonably clean for their age. We went into town and ask about a local place to eat and several said the restaurant next to the park is great. We ate there and had to agree with the locals, it was very good. All sites are grass and the roads are gravel. We would stay again if just passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
This place has a name? No name was shown on my receipt and there is no sign other than "RV Park." Texola, Oklahoma is nothing more than a gas station stop, with an RV park behind it, so I'm guessing this is where I stayed. When I checked in (at the gas station) I was immediately asked if I had Passport America (PA). Sorry I didn't. Would have been half the cost. The good news is: this place honors PA regardless of the day. I am taking a wild guess that they charge different rates for 50 amp versus 30 amp. The 50 amp boxes were bright yellow versus dull gray for 30 amp. The person who checked me in instructed me to look for the dull gray boxes since I was 30 amp. More good news, all sites are pull through! This park is good for an overnight, and it's cheap. Spacing between sites is adequate. No showers or laundry. There is a restaurant within a short walk. The restaurant is open Tuesday - Sunday or something like that. I didn't try the restaurant. Great digital TV reception via antenna, good number of channels. No shade here this time of year and it was pretty warm, although temps dropped to 40 degrees during the night. Even if the few trees do bloom, don't think you will get much shade. This place is out in the open on the prairie. As a solo, I felt safe here. Good for an inexpensive overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$11
PPA Rate. This CG is 400 Ft off I-40 at OK Exit #1 and 1/2 mile from Historic Route 66 & Texola, OK. Check in is at the store/gas station. The restaurant is open 5 days a week. The CG roads are old gravel and clay, very soft after much needed rain. Sites are all drive-through with 20/30/50AMP, W/E, no picnic tables or fire rings. Extra fee for 50AMP. There are several long term tenants. There are shade trees but overhanging branches partially block access to some sites. We found the staff/owner friendly and helpful. Restrooms & showers in the restaurant are not kept clean. We did not use the laundry. This is a basic stage stop between Oklahoma City and Amarillo, TX. Reservations are a good idea if you plan to stop. The CG fills up each night with stop overs. This is a good place to rest and relax. Traffic noise from I-40 isn't an issue. I would stop again if passing through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
The campsites rate 7. The showers rate 3. The campground is located in a rural area on the open prairie. Gravel pull-throughs can accommodate big rigs with mostly easy-in, easy-out. In some cases, trees can be a minor issue. In case of rain, you will walk in mud in part of the area near your RV. Plenty of space between sites. Bathrooms are located in a restaurant in front of the campground. They are not clean and appear not to be cleaned on a regular basis. The shower stalls are nothing more than three walls and a door with one hook. Not enough to hang clothes and towels. No receptacle to hold soap and shampoo. No shower curtain to keep water off of clothes. The bathroom sinks are cracking faux marble with soap and minerals encrusted on the marble, the faucets, and the surface on and around the faucets. There is no cover plate on the electrical outlet at the sinks. This is a very basic park, as expected by the price. However, a low price does not justify the failure to clean properly. If you do not plan to use the showers, this park is acceptable for an overnight stop. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
An OK overnight spot off I-40. Good size pull-through sites. Bar-B-Que restaurant on site with decent food. Bathroom and shower is in the restaurant building a short walk from the RV sites. Bathroom and showers need updating but were clean. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$12
Nice little campground just off the highway. Has all the basic hookups, and are good. Will stop again on our west bound trips. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$11
Shame on me for not reading the reviews herein before visiting this campground. I would have spent more time in the area. Excellent power and water with a sewer dump at every site. Grass needed mowing, but I was told it had been nearly a year since their last substantial rain, so maybe they didn't want to lose what the green they had. We were here on a Monday and the restaurant was closed. Note that all 16 sites were in use by dark! Suggest you call ahead. Not a destination, or resort by any means, but with Passport America, one of the best values around. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$11
Good park off I-40. Passport campground. Nice, quiet, no Wi-Fi, no cable but antenna picked up some channels. Nice restaurant, good food. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$12
Great campground for the $12.00 we paid with Passport America. Clean and tidy sites, reasonably spaced with trees for shade. Easy access from I-40. A little breeze was blowing from the south so the freeway noise was never a bother. We would stop here again for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$11
The park has easy access from either Interstate 40 or Route 66. The spaces are spacious and shaded, and was sparsely occupied while I was here. While it is close to the Interstate there could be nothing heard from where I was parked. In fact there was hardly a sound. The park is next to pasture land on one side and a section of abandoned Texola on the other. The point being, it is peaceful and the views are wide, open and often stunning. There is a store at the park: really liked their carbonated ice tea. There is also a restaurant next door that has the usual meat based fare but they made me a vegetable plate that was pretty good. It has restrooms of course, and I would assume you could use them when the place is open. It has limited hours and is closed Sunday and Monday. They do not serve breakfast, but was told they will prepare a breakfast if you ask and they have time. The decor and the atmosphere in the restaurant is pleasant, like sitting in someone's dining room, only with lots of tables. The best part for me was exploring the ghost town of Texola that has about 32 residents I was told. It is a short (about seven miles if I recall correctly) drive down Route 66 to Erik to the east. The store front with the old sign collection is a delight to see. You can also pick up groceries (closed on Sunday), do your banking. There is also a cafe on the main street around the corner from 66. (Its claim to fame: it is the home of Roger Miller and Sheb Wooley which they announce on street signs). In the other direction on Route 66, and about twenty miles, is Shamrock Texas. There you can see the old art deco U Drop Inn as you come into town. There are stores, banks, service stations, fast food, etc. I was curious about much of Texola and the lady who works in the store answered a lot of my questions. She also does kitchy steer skull art you can purchase if that is your thing. While in Texola, be sure to see the old jail. It is just off the road that runs along the RV park. If you like photographing old, abandoned and crumbling structures like some of us do, this is the place to visit. And it is a great place to take walks: eerie quiet, but it has street lights! I stayed at the Passport America rate and while the limit is two days, they allowed me an extra day. I would have stayed longer if I could have. It is nothing fancy, but it was a pleasant place to stay. I do hope to return next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2011
$11
Passport America rate. Very basic park, hook-ups and that is about it. Easy access of I-40. Good for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$11
This is a small park with 16 FHU RV sites, 4 are 50 amp and the rest are 30 amp. All sites are pull-through and can accommodate large rigs. There is a gas station (including diesel), a small grocery and a restaurant on the premise. The sites are on gravel and are level. The electricity is good. The bathroom/showers are in the restaurant. The dark tiles in the bathroom reminded me of some of the older state park facilities. We chose not to use them. This campground is perfect for an overnight stop. We would definitely come here again. The rate reflects the Passport America discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$12
It is a great place for a one night stop along I-40. The people are very accommodating and seem genuinely happy to have you stay. There are not many amenities but full hook-ups with about four of them providing 50 amp. It is close to the highway but there is actually very little noise from it. I would certainly stay again. Rate reflects the Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$12
A great, easy access mini park off I-40. Very basic but a great overnight. Passport park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$12
No frills, overnight stop campground with FHU's. Next to I-40 but not a of of noise. Sites are gravel and level. This is a well kept park. We stayed 2 nights in a 40' 5er. Will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$12
We have stayed here before. A great little park off the freeway but far enough that road noise isn't too bad. The rate is Passport America rate for 50 amp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$11
This is not fancy, but serves the purpose as an overnight park on I-40. I would stay here again. There was only one other camper when we were here, so the park seemed spacious. It's just off the freeway, but far enough away that it didn't seem noisy. Campers can use the rest rooms in the store, or restaurant. Spaces are pull-through and either 30 amp or 50 amp, designated by the color of the electric box. Although just there overnight, we set up the dish, as there was no over the air television reception. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$11
Good overnight stop with full hookups, only needed electric and have own shower and bath so didn't look for theirs. Priced right and located right. Will use this on all my trips going east and west. Nothing fancy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$11
Nice no frills campground in a rural setting. Price quoted is Passport America. The park is next to a cotton field and everyone had to go check it out. We picked a bowl. Long pull through sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$15
As others have said, this is a convenient off/on the Interstate, overnight stop when you're not looking for local sights. Friendly hosts made us welcome, registration was a snap. The convenience store had the usual necessities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$12
This park is really no frills and at Exit 1 on I-40. The restrooms are located at the restaurant in front of the park but no showers. There is also a little store and gas at the entrance. It has 16 sites, 5 of which are 50 amp. Our rate reflects Passport America with 50 amp. Sites are plenty big and we used site 12 so we could open all 4 slides. No cable or wifi but for $12 a night it is just what we were looking for a one night stay on the road. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$12
This is nothing more than an overnight stop. It is very convenient to I-40. The roads were dirt and had many very deep ruts. We had a pull though site and hooked up only to electric. When it started to rain and storm in the middle of the night, we un-hooked power and left at 3am because we were afraid of getting stuck in the mud. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$10
At the $10 Passport America rate for 50 amp full hookup sites, this is an excellent overnight spot. It's only 400 yards from I-40, but had very little traffic noise. We were the only folks there last night. Plenty of room for a 40' MH towing a car to park without unhooking. For some reason, there were no adjacent railroad tracks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2006
$10
Passport America price. Wondered where the restrooms/showers were. Never did find them, but have a self contained RV. Just wanted to check them out for this report. Have to go to the gas station to pay for the site. There still have some nasty pot holes. Some sites aren't 50 amp, but all do have 30 amp. These are big rig sites of 65 ft. There is no TV reception. Good cell phone reception with Verizon. Was surprised, not to much interstate noise being so close to the interstate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$9
Overnighted here not expecting anything more than a place to park with hookups. That's exactly what we got for our $9 Passport America price. All hookups worked fine. If we had needed to use facilities outside of our coach (i.e. restrooms or showers) we wouldn't have stayed here -- but for the price and what we needed, it was OK. Right off of I-40 (though quiet), we had excellent cell phone and broadband wireless coverage from Sprint. We would stay here again overnight with no expectations of doing anything but rolling out the next morning bright and early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2005
$18
We were dead tired when we HAD to find a place to stop. We should have just gone and found a Wal-Mart parking lot. Showers were in back of the restaurant that was on the premises. No shower doors and nasty. Toilets had not been cleaned since 9/11/2001. Restaurant was not the cleanest I have been in either. Electric, water, and sewer all functioned well enough. Grass was mowed. The dirt road had water filled potholes that could have had a VW Beetle hidden in them. We camped in a Lance truck camper that did not have a shower. When we got back home, the wife made me immediately upgrade to a Lance camper WITH a shower! We will wave when we go by Texola - never to stop again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com