218071 User submitted reviews online!!
Santee Lakes Recreation Preserve was rated 9 out of 10 based on 121 user reviews. Phone: (619) 596-3141
CGID4437

Santee Lakes Recreation Preserve

Camp Information
Sites
310
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   9   10   9   10   9   7   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
The rate shown is based on a monthly rental. This park is almost perfect as far as sites & facilities. Wi-fi can be iffy, but the sites are large and the park is very well maintained. It would be a 10 except for the inability/unwillingness to enforce its own rules about quiet hours (9 PM) and late-night fires. After-hours calls have gone unanswered, despite the paging message. If you are planning to put your kids (or yourself) to bed at 9 or 10 PM on a weekend, understand that you may be on your own to deal with loud (possibly drunken) parties. If you prefer quiet, consider a weekday stay if you can. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$59
Pricey, but nice. Great WiFi. Cable was adequate. Grounds were immaculate. Desk staff and grounds crews were pleasant and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
Very quiet, restful, nice area. We felt very safe. Good location east of city of San Diego, about 20 minutes to ocean front areas. Easy access to freeways and shopping. We stayed here to visit friends. Rates are much more reasonable than beach and bay areas. Friendly staff, nice residents. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$27
The rate I've entered is based on a month's stay with a pet premium of $20 and a $30 electric deposit. We love this place! We spent 3 months here this year. The office staff is friendly, helpful, and honest! (I found a $20 bill on the steps outside the office, turned it in and never expected to hear back. The next day I got a call that no one had come looking for it and I should claim it!) Sites are mixed dirt and asphalt. We had one on dirt which was messy when it rained but we had a large end site that made up for it. No sites are small. Roads are wide. Spaces are easy to get in and out of. The lakes have lots of birds/ducks, there's places to walk the dog, and fishing. Close to the town of Santee, where there is everything you need - restaurants, stores, and shopping. Santee is the last stop on the San Diego trolley line and convenient for a day in the city. We have reservations for next year! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$27
Rate is based on one month stay. We consider this the nicest RV park in San Diego. Sites are large with plenty of room for tow vehicle or towed vehicle. Tengo internet service has improved since last year, but they still have some issues to work out. Overall it worked pretty well during the month, with only a couple of slow days. Verizon reception is still very poor. We had to take/make phone calls outside or put the cell phone in our booster. We stayed in excellent site #267 which only has one neighbor and is surrounded by park space. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$24
Monthly rate is reflected in the nightly. This is a pretty impressive place. Many full time residents. Yet, we met several who were doing their 6-month move, wherein they must leave the park and then return to a different site. What a genius way to keep the place looking fresh. Beautiful landscaping. Lots to do without ever leaving "home". Coyotes singing every evening. Overall, an excellent stay at a very well-run and huge park. We'd absolutely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
This is a great park if you are in the San Diego area!! It is clean, well run, the people are very nice, and my site was even raked for me when I got there!! It is about 20 minutes outside of San Diego, but the price is the best for what you get. I have heard of an ant issue there, but I didn't have one myself. The bathrooms are spotless, and the store is very well packed! The ONLY reason I did not give this place a 10 is the fact that there are no fire rings or pits. You have to bring your own if you want a campfire. My family and I spent 4 nights there and while it was a nice time, a campfire would have just been great! We will camp there again though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Park is clean with sites that are fairly close to each other. Utilities were placed correctly and worked fine. Park is about 25 minutes from downtown San Diego. Most big box stores are located within about 5 to 10 minutes from the park. My biggest problem is 14 days at $45.00 is pretty expense for a park like this. The other problem is ants are everywhere. Every camper near us had put some kind of ant control around their unit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
The rate is the 30 day rate as we stayed for a month from late June to late July. Excellent experience. Campground is very quiet with exception of the weekends but even then everything quiets down by 9 PM. Sites are sand but didn't present any problems as it doesn't rain here in the summer. Nice pool, laundry, and bathhouse. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
We had a great time here over three days and we were very pleased with the campground overall. The bathrooms were unbelievably clean! There were a lot of parks and places within walking distance, which was perfect for our 2 year old and our toddler. The only reason we give it a '8' is because the sites were a little too close together and we would have appreciated a little more privacy. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$23
Still does not enforce “pets on leash” rule consistently; lots of large dogs off leash, even dogs that charge other dogs walking in the roadways. Sites are on the whole very large in the newer sections (Sycamore, Willow, and Oak). There are lots of trees but you are able to get satellite access if you’re careful about rig placement. There are very few “street” lights throughout the park area so it can get very dark at night. During winter, heavy rains can create large puddles on sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$27
Rate based on monthly rate, minus electric. This is a great RV park! Plenty for the young ones to do with the pool, playground, teen center, fishing or just paddling around the lakes. We had a pull through site toward the rear of the park with plenty of room between us and our neighbors. There are seasonal campers here, but since it's a city owned park there are no trashy sites or rowdy campers. There are coyotes in the area so keep an eye on your pets. We have family in La Jolla, and this was our best value for visiting them and the San Diego area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$38
We really enjoyed our stay here. I love that you can pick your spot on the map. I chose a back-in on the man-made "creek," because it looked like a nice, large site, and I thought the creek might be nice. I was right. We had a very large space, no one near us, with trees and the sound of the water. Beautiful spot. Nice people, too. My only complaint is that the internet didn't really work most of the time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2013
$26
We wanted to stay here for three months. When we first read the RV reviews on this park, there were a few reviews that mentioned how some of the RV spaces tuned into a muddy mess. We e-mailed the RV office about the mud, and didn't receive an answer. So, we called and were informed that there were only a couple of RV spaces affected by mud, only when it rained. And, since it only rained about four times a year, this really wasn't a problem to worry about. I guess we showed up in a bad year for the rain, because it managed to rain way more than four times. After the first week we changed our minds, see below, cancelled our reservations, and moved on to another park in Arizona. We should not have reserved for a three months stay as they charged us a cancellation fee. There are a lot of +55 seniors staying here, in the winter, who think of this park like it is a resort, but really it is just a campground. This park was opened in the early 1960's, and is run by the local Santee municipal water works. After you get to know the park it becomes obvious that a bunch of bureaucrats are running the show. Without a doubt this place is a 'Cash Cow'. However, the bureaucrats are probably using the cash as a piggy bank for other purposes. The lakes and trails are great, the roads are in really bad shape, and many of the RV lots are covered with a sand/mud like material that will track into your RV if there is any rain to make it stick to your shoes. Also, some of these RV spaces have been allowed to deteriorate to the point where clay/mud has moved to the top and will turn into a 'muddy mess' in the rainy season. Read some previous reviews to see that other writers have mentioned about this fact. The pool is not heated in the winter months. No highways noise. Plenty of places for pets. No cement slab for your patio. Lots of dust gets into your RV, from the sand/mud mixture when it gets dry. No one can wash their RV or vehicle, so, they are all dirty. As this is an RV park, open to all age groups, there is a tendency for full-timers, who have jobs in the local area, to stay here. As usual they tend to collect many things, around and under their RV's. One of the park's rules is that the maximum stay in the park is six months. So, they move to another park for two weeks, then come back for another six month stay. Wi-Fi internet is available throughout the park, but most of the day, especially the weekends, the signal is too weak to to keep you online (it stinks). Organized activities are just about zero, unless you want to go around and organize your favourite activity by yourself. This park should seriously consider using some of its cash to hire an activities co-coordinator. You can fish at the lakes, which seems to be a pleasant pass-time for many of the local public to use. Shopping is about 4+ miles, and there are all of the usual stores that we normally want to use. San Diego and area are about 20 miles away. Be prepared for typical big city driving conditions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$40
Lovely park, and right in the middle of town, too. Nearby trolley stop takes you to downtown San Diego and beyond. Nice walking trails, children's playground, lots of open space. Put this one on your A list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$23
Rate reflects monthly rate plus .16 cents per KW for electricity. Very nice park. Has several lakes with lots of wildlife in the area. Great area to walk, run or ride a bike. Good sites with plenty of room between you and your neighbor. Close to Costco, Lowe's, Home Depot, and lots of places to eat and shop. Approximately 16 miles to the beach, 14 to San Diego Zoo or Sea World. Very good campground internet. Poor Verizon coverage in most of the park. Has a pool, club house, picnic areas, laundry room, and kids play areas. Several Lakes to fish in with permit purchase. This is a very beautiful campground to stay at. Vary clean and lots to do here. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$23
Rate monthly price. Great Park Wi-Fi Strong in BIG Rig area. Verizon 1 bar. Large sites, easy in and out of sites. Cable TV, fishing available, no license, and local permit needed. Plenty of areas to walk dogs. Picnic tables, easy connectors. Office staff extremely helpful. Large mall, Costco, Walmart Lowe's, etc less than 2 miles. Trolley to San Diego at Mall. Make reservation in ADVANCE. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$23
Rate is based on one month stay. We LOVE this park. Absolutely beautiful setting. The only dings are the dirt sites (too easy to track it in the rig) and poor internet and cell reception, which is worst at the sites farthest into the park. Truly the best full hook up RV park in San Diego area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$36
$36 reflects weekly rate with no cable TV. Santee Lakes is a day-use county park with RV slots. The entrance is at an administration building with no sign for the RV park. Then, a mile drive to a gate where the lane for registered RV users is too small for a 40' so we lost some tire sidewall. The park is infested with ants. Yesterday, a coyote walked right up to our RV. The man-made lakes are small, dirty, smelly and overrun by ducks and duck excrement. This park appears to be a favorite a local, large weekend groups with small travel trailers; families who ignore their many kids who play everywhere except their own site, rather than being designed for large motorhomes. We awoke each day to the sound of a noisy motorcycle being warmed up by an apparent full-timer. Signage within the park is not good contributing to people driving the wrong way on one-way streets, and there are no site escorts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$27
Rate reflects month long stay with metered electricity. Parking lot style camping in the long-term "big rig" area. We were unable to reserve a better (or Lake Side) spot on-line since they only allow long-term in certain sites. After speaking to some long-term residents they pay "extra" to hold their prime spots when they have to leave for the required 2 week period as set by CA or local law. So, most likely those prime water front spots will never be open for anyone else. Wi-fi was frustratingly poor and our spot did not have cable, but we paid the same rate. Nice lakes and walking loop and great location. The sites further back were very, very nice,but not long term, or at least not available to us. Although we loved the ducks and other water fowl we would not stay here again...not worth it for parking lot spaces. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
Large, very nice, well kept park. We stayed 5 days. Everyone was very friendly. Our space was very easy to get into. A completely gated park with regular patrols; we felt very secure. Almost anything you could possibly need is within 10 minutes of the park. We are looking forward to returning. This is a jewel of an RV park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
This is a jewel outside the big city. This park is geared towards family, yet large enough sites for quiet relaxing. We stayed one night as a stop over and wished we could have stayed longer. The Wi-Fi is very good and our site on a corner was level, graveled sites and good size. Hot tub is warm for the cool evenings. The grounds are well-kept and paved roads are great for bike riding. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
This is one of our favorite places to stay. Our only complaint is the quality of the Wi-Fi. Once the weekend crowd arrived we could hardly get a signal at all. Sites are well kept and level. Hook ups worked well and the views are great. The park hosts are very nice and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Santee Lakes Recreation Preserve is a family oriented park with lots of amenities for the kids. It's very busy on the weekends, but the RV sites are mostly to the end of the park so it's not as busy with people and cars as the front half. There is an extra gate with number combo for RV'ers to use for in and out access. The RV sites are not wide but have great angle and are long. There is a lot of areas to walk the dogs but be aware of ticks. Also, be aware of ANTS! We stayed several weeks and enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
This is a very nice park for both short and long term stays. Lots of amenities, comfortable-size spaces and friendly camp hosts/office staff. It is owned and run by a water district, so there are seven smallish man-made lakes stocked with fish. Lots of nearby shopping and restaurants. It's about 8-9 miles from the ocean, but behind a small mountain range so no "ocean breezes" here. No serious complaints about the park itself. The only caveat is that Santee is pretty "toasty" (high 80's to mid 90's) in July, August and September. If you're looking for cool summertime temps, this isn't a good pick during those three months. There are some long-term residents living in the back "Willow" loop, but no junky or cluttered spaces were evident. This campground is a good deal for the San Diego metro area. The $26 rate reflects the monthly rate divided by 30. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$45
We stay at this park twice a year when visting our grandson. It is the nicest park we have ever been to. There are a variety of sites depending on your needs. There are lake view sites, shaded sites, and huge big rig sites in the West Loop. Park staff is extremely friendly and work very hard to keep the park and facilities clean and tidy. There are lakes for fishing, a swimming pool, walking and cycling trails and nice play areas for the kids. This jewel has a rural feel, but is located right in the middle town, so there is easy access to shopping, such as Costco, Lowes, Vons, Kohls, Target, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$41
This is the crown jewel of campgrounds near San Diego. It is about 15 minutes to downtown and is near everything you need (including Costco and Wal-Mart). Finding cheap diesel will require a 10 minute drive. The sites are large and very well kept. There are numerous camp hosts if you need one. The showers and bathrooms are excellent (except the mirrors are too low). There are seven lakes to fish in (No CA License, however $9 per day) or rent canoes and paddle boats. There have trout and catfish derbies during the year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$42
Excellent park. Only stayed 3 nights wished we had planned for more. About 12-15 miles from San Diego Zoo and from beaches. If you stay here bring your fishing pole. I was in site #274. It is hard packed sand, level site. I had to unhook truck from 5th wheel but had room to park in front of unit. Rated this park a 10 only because I couldn't go higher. Stayed in a 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$46
We loved our stay at Santee Lakes! We had a lakefront site for 7 nights. This park is beautiful, has a variety of sites and amenities available. The lakefront sites are the older part of the park and even though their website warns that longer RVs may have a problem getting into these sites, I think they must have resolved those issues because we had no problem parking our 31 ft 5th wheel and some sites had large motorhomes in them. We had full hookups but no TV cable (which some of the newer sites farther up in the park have) however we were able to receive all major local stations on our rooftop antenna. We received excellent 4G Verizon service here. The park is clean and well maintained. Sites are immediately cleaned and raked once a guest leaves (I envisioned the volunteers peeking through the bushes to see when a guest left and then they would zip in on their carts, rake the ground and then disappeared back into the bushes again – LOL). We did not use the bathroom/shower buildings but their laundry room was clean and well maintained and their prices reasonable. The dog walk area runs along the west side of the two upper lakes and they provide pick up bags. Dogs are not allowed in the day use area. It’s a nice park to ride your bike as roadways and sidewalks were not crowded and plentiful enough you can ride a couple of miles without riding around in circles. First day we arrived we watched a young man catch 3 huge Carp, but we never saw anyone else catching anything even though over the weekend the lakes were lined with fishermen. We thoroughly enjoyed bird watching here, with many different species of ducks, egrets, herons, cormorants, osprey, etc. We will definitely add Santee Lakes as a must stay location next time we visit San Diego. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$35
We stayed at this park to be close to San Diego at a reasonable cost. We stayed in the Willow loop and didn't have cable hookup in that loop, but we did get some air channels. Wi-fi was good early in the day and slower when everyone was home in the evening. The sites in our loop were a good size. The park is close to many shops and close to the trolley to get to San Diego. The park was also very quiet, especially with its proximity to freeways and the city. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
Great place to stay to see San Diego. Freeways lead to the beach and downtown approximately one mile from the entrance. Huge Shopping area two miles away with Walmart and Costco. Trolley to San Diego locations in shopping center. Great office staff. There is fishing in 7 lakes. Dog friendly sites. Many sites are great for Big Rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$40
The is an excellent campground for birders, fisherman, and families. The campground is large, and we were located in the Lakeside loop on Lake 7. Lake 6 and 7 are reserved for campground tenants. Sites 44 to 55 are great. They are gravel sites, large, mostly level, with a picnic table, trees, bushes, and back onto the lake. If possible, stay in the Lakeside loop. It is the best loop in the campground. The laundry facilities were clean or reasonable. The pool looked nice, but we did not swim. There are lots of activities at the campground - birding, fishing, kayak/canoe/paddle boats (available for rent), walking, running, and mountain biking in the hills across from the campground. There is a den like area for teenagers and playgrounds for the younger ones. Staff were friendly. Showers were lukewarm and clean. Try to pick a shower under the heater. The site is accessed by a pin pad a requires a code. If you arrive during the day, you can enter through the main entrance without a code. The office closes at 5 pm so you will need to arrive before then. There are campground hosts, but the staff leaves at 5 pm. The campground felt safe and secure. Wi-fi was slow at times, but we did stay during a long weekend, and it did improve when the weekend was over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$28
This is one of the best full service campgrounds we have ever reviewed. The staff is very helpful. The place is absolutely spotless. There is co-mingled recycling available. The spaces are huge. All utilities including cable hookups are spot on. Call first to determine your cost of your space; we had the monthly rate in the new section. There are an abundance of activities available. There is something for everyone. We will come back here year after year for at least a month. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$33
We stayed here for one month and found it an excellent facility in every way. Its location is great for seeing everything around San Diego. Driving around is easy. The campground is clean and very well maintained. The staff and volunteers are friendly and helpful. The wi-fi can be spotty or slow at times, and the clubhouse is not open very often, at least not during the winter. Great bird watching, biking, dog walking. Sites of all different sizes. Sandy but packed solid. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$20
Rate shown was for a month. We were in the Willow Loop and had a pretty large corner site. Cable TV was good; we also had a good line of sight for our satellite. Like previous posts we wished we had a concrete patio since the ground was kind of sandy. The bathrooms and showers were well taken care of. The only problem I had was with the water temp for the showers. Not very hot, but hot enough. Good roadways for walking or bike riding around the lakes. Everyone I ran into that was a volunteer or employee was very helpful and pleasant. They really keep the grounds looking good. When someone pulls out, they come in and start raking and make sure the space is in tip top shape for the next person. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$40
This is a very nice city owned park. It is a water reclamation facility that they have built a RV park around. It is a string of fishing lakes and the top 3 three loops are for RV's. We were in the East Oak loop which is a premium loop with paved sites. The paved site worked out well since it rained while we were there. It would have been better if the sites had paved patio's as well. There is some noise occasionally from Miramar military base nearby, mostly planes flying by. There is lots of stuff for the family to do, and the park has lots of flat paved roads for bike riding. There is lots of storage facility at the location as well which always provides additional income for the city. This is a well thought out, well designed use of city land, and a nice place to spend some time. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$38
Rate shown is based on a weekly rate. Park is part of a public park setup, but the campground is at the back. Beautifully maintained with large wide spaces. The park has a series of small lakes for fishing and paddle boats. Not far from all the San Diego attractions. Excellent facility. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$43
This is our 4th time staying at Santee Lakes and we always enjoy it. An "out in the country" feel right in the middle of town! It's a great family park with lots to do - paddle boats on the lake, fishing, 2 nice pools and a hot tub, grassy areas for boche balls, nice quiet streets to ride bikes on without worrying about traffic. You can have campfires if you bring your own fire pit. Our only complaint this time was the Wi-Fi - it was really slow and actually made some kind of change to the computer's Windows Live that I still haven't figured out how to fix. Having said that, the staff is very friendly and helpful and the bathrooms with showers are always nice and clean. We highly recommend it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
This is my 3rd year here for a month, or longer. The park is still very nice and probably the best thing going in the San Diego area. However, this year the wireless is lousy. They have gone to Tengo and the speeds are capped at 300k, which is slow. It is throttled down from there, if you use "too" much bandwidth. I spoke with the new Park manager. He is aware of the problem, but it didn't seem to be a priority. Also, most all the spaces are covered in a sand/clay mix. When it rains, it can become a muddy mess. For $740 a month, plus electric, some improvements could be made. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
This park is just great! Our site (#219) is level and large. The hookups work fine and are conveniently placed. The Wi-Fi is strong and free. The park is an environmentally friendly collection of 7 small lakes made from recycled waste water. It is a municipal water district park and is a real find both for amenities and price in this area. It is quiet at night and lively with the sounds of families enjoying this beautiful spot during the day. I highly recommend this park and we will be back here as often as we can make it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
This is one of the nicest parks we stay at. Motorhome sites in the West Loop are huge. There are six or seven small lakes where the kids can fish. Staff is very friendly and helpful. You can choose, and if available, reserve a specific site. Only thing to be aware of is there is an ant problem during the summer months, so come prepared. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
Large level sites with room for several vehicles plus the RV, we had a pull through, but the back ins are such that there would be no problem for big rigs to fit or maneuver. The Wi-Fi is very spotty and slow and TV channels via their cable TV is very limited (hence the rating of 8 versus 9 or 10). Location is convenient to shopping and attractions in the San Diego area. Nice areas for walking the dog and walking for exercise. Probably the best value for the San Diego area. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$46
We spent most of last winter here. It was excellent in almost every aspect. The staff are wonderful and helpful. The weather is amazing in the winter. The sites are sand/gravel, very generously sized, and largely level. There can be some problems with standing or running water during rain. That said, last winter was record wet there, we were told. The wifi is spotty and can be slow due to so many users. We were told it has been upgraded this year. We loved that it is nonprofit-all monies collected get put back into the park. It is beautiful! The weekends can get very busy with families, ie: lots of children. Many people have dogs. The location is very convenient to San Diego and the entire area. We loved our stay and cannot wait to visit again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$39
The weekly rate worked out to $39. The daily rate $44. We stayed in the newest area with cable TV. The Wi-Fi was only so-so. Site was wide and private; not shady, but in 5-10 years will be. Fishing costs $9/day!! Costs were pricey because this is the Padre Dam water district and water district users get to use the park for free; Cable TV was limited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
24 states and this is one of my favorite parks. We work as we travel, so like being able to walk and bike within the park itself. Huge sites, well maintained, secure, good location for San Diego with good nightly rates. Lakes, pool and hot tub. We liked the RV resort feel of the upper end, but there are also great camping areas. The only issue we had was the WiFi that was unreliable at times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$21
Nice paved roads with a number of distinctly different areas: water spray section, lake fishing, pool/hot tub, playgrounds, biking paths, etc. While there is a dog walk area, there is no fenced section for the multitude of dog visitors. Some sites are flooded if there are heavy rains. The East side of “Willow” is mostly noisy week-end campers. We thought it was a little pricey if you aren’t using all of the facilities. There are outstanding friendly and customer focused office staff, rangers and camp hosts throughout the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$32
Great location! Easy to get to the park and quick to get out to the area attractions from the park. Situated at the end of up a shallow canyon, so it is quiet, apart from occasional military jets (Miramar). The sites are absolutely enormous, some with lake-side setting. The one downside, the internet was up and down more than a yo-yo! If you need internet (I work on the road), bring your own cellular Wi-Fi. My wife has her own laptop, and could not get a decent enough connection to download simple text emails. It is frustrating, even if just to check email. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35
This is our very favorite park. The grounds are lovely and the location is perfect for us. It's a couple of miles from the Santee town center which has all kinds of shopping and restaurants. You can also pick up the trolley system there to go anywhere in San Diego for $5 per day ($2.50 seniors). Great place! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$45
Lovely park with a "in the country" feel, yet in the middle of the city. Easily accessible to all the San Diego attractions. We had a site facing the lake which was lovely, though our site was rather narrow. Other's were quite spacious. Many winter residents who return every year. We would definitely return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$32
Monthly rate noted. Friendly, accommodating staff and the park is well maintained. Santee Lakes is a public, walk-in park and has multi use buildings, so there's more to it than just the camping area. Gated area. Most pull through (sites #200+) wide enough to open the slides and park the car next to the camper or long enough to keep the tow attached. Easy getting around on paved roads with gravel and level sites, but muddy after a rain. Wi-Fi service was OK, good voltage and almost too high water pressure. All amenities and areas were clean including the pool and hot tub. This was a delightful find so close to San Diego, although Santee has all the big box stores, food and other necessities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$46
We loved almost everything about this park. The staff is friendly and the facility is very well maintained. There are a variety of camping areas to choose from, all with full hookups. There are lakeside sites where you can fish from your campsite, a wooded area with a rustic feel, and an area, where we stayed, that looks more like a new RV park with small trees and shrubs but large spaces on level crushed granite. As we were leaving, vacated sites were being raked by staff. The only "negative" is that the park is in the town of Santee with adjacent homes. From our site though, all we could see were rolling hills. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$33
We really enjoyed this clean, well-run park. The sites are level and spacious with plenty of room between them. It's clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again. Only about 20 minutes from downtown San Diego. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$40
Great option for the greater San Diego area. Easy access to freeways and within 30 minutes to major attractions. Park has many different sections with different sized sites and options. We stayed in a deluxe pull through site that was crushed rock. Messy during the rain! Some sites are paved in this park, but many are not. Deluxe sites are VERY wide giving you a nice amount of elbow room. Wi-Fi is free but comes and goes. East Willow loop has a state park feel. Deluxe back-ins look easy to get into also. Lots of amenities! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$23
This huge facility offers a choice of camping environments from which one may choose. The newer area to the north evokes some of the feel of a motorcoach resort, and is mostly occupied by high-end rigs of long term visitors at a monthly rate of $700 plus utilities. There is a swimming pool and jaccuzi, and a spotless laundry facility. The majority of the spots are long pull-throughs; each with cable TV. The middle area is more like a state or county park and appeals to those who enjoy campfires and traditional camping. There is no cable TV but the spaces are large and trees abound. The roads are paved but the spaces are raked dirt. The southern-most area, abutting a couple man-made lakes of recycled water, is the least expensive, noisiest, most crowded and "partyingest" section of the property. Throughout the property, security is outstanding. There are great areas for walking, bike riding or relaxing with a book. Nicely laid out and well run. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$45
Very big, well maintained, well landscaped, modern facility near all. Wouldn't know you camped in the middle of a seven million people metro area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$40
We've camped at a few different Southern CA campgrounds and this one is very nice. The price for three nights was $139.00 very, very reasonable for the amenities here. Wi-Fi worked great, good cable TV, fairly level sites, 6 small lakes to fish. The only down-side to this park is dirt campsites that made for a HUGE, MUDDY, MESS as it rained all weekend. Would rate the park higher if they had some sort of paved sites. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$42
This park is a find. Friendly staff, very, very clean, generous sized camp spots, and I mean generous sized. Quiet, lots of things to do without leaving the park, but if you must everything is within minutes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
This was a find. Very close to town, but far enough form town to make you feel you were not in it. Minutes from the beach, malls and Sea World. The lake is beautiful and very peaceful if you get a water front site. The sites are well maintained and I saw someone come and rake every site as soon as someone pulled out. Biking is great both around the windy streets of the park and the small neighborhoods close by. The office is very nice, much like the atrium of a large hotel, with friendly employees waiting to help you. All in all the stay was very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Santee Lakes is awesome, as long as you are looking for a resort style, groomed kind of campground. Great for kids, one-way roads are smooth and quite flat, so good for little kids to ride bikes and scooters on. Sites are long, wide and neatly groomed and raked. Newer sites are not very shady but there is plenty of room for your awning. There are some long term residents but the price prevents it from becoming trailer parkish. It is an easy park to maneuver, the staff is friendly, the location makes a good home base for seeing all the San Diego sites and (bonus) it is only a few minutes from Costco and Henry's. We will definitely return to this campground that has something for everyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
We stayed here 2 weeks. Our space did not have cable TV but our rooftop dome worked great here. The only downside to this park is the WiFi connection was very limited, it will slow you down to a crawl and cut you off if you use it very much. This park is great! Has a good location, and was clean and friendly. Lots of kids on the weekends. The Lakes are beautiful. The fishing is slow and there's no trout this time of year, only small catfish etc. The park clubhouse has weekly things going on like pot lucks, entertainment, etc. Laundry is large and clean. For the price and location, this is the best place to stay in San Diego area. We will come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
We enjoyed a 4 day visit here. It was an excellent base for exploring the San Diego area: close enough to all attractions yet it felt like a country setting. All amenities worked well, were clean and were attended by friendly staff. Ample green areas were voted A+ by the dog. We stayed in the newer section which offered large spaces oriented to the north (mostly) so that the seating areas were in the afternoon shade of the trailer/awning. Lots of birds and lots of loudmouth coyotes too, so watch small pets carefully. Staff, especially reservations and check in, were efficient and cordial, and it sure did not feel like a 300 campsite kind of place. Highly recommended and we'll certainly be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
This is the nicest campground in the Santee area. It is in great shape, the staff is attentive, and it has every amenity possible. About a half hour from downtown San Diego, it is much more affordable than other San Diego area campgrounds. The fee reflects the discounted monthly rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
Hate to have everyone find this outstanding park with good access to San Diego. Stayed here for a week while seeing the sights in the area. Public run park. We stayed in the newer section (by Lake 7) which has super easy pull through sites, clean rest rooms, free WiFi, cable TV. Only slight (and it is very slight negative) is that cell phone reception can sometimes be spotty, but we didn't have any problem at our location. Has a good store, friendly hosts and check-in people. Lots of people are here longer term (they let you stay 6 months) but everything is well maintained. Will definitely stay here again when visiting San Diego. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
This is a great RV park in the metropolitan San Diego area. There is easy access to downtown and tourist attractions. The grounds and sites are well groomed by the campground hosts. The staff is very helpful. The campground is expensive but is worth it. We have been coming here for 11 years. We feel safe here. We have only stayed here at the monthly or weekly rate so I am unsure of the daily rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
Awesome park in beauty and it's very nice in every way except one: PRICE! This place is priced out to death. Our month stay was $740 and in addition, $35 for our dog! Like I said, very pretty but waaaay overpriced. Extra costs for almost everything. If you're coming here, make sure you get the "full price" before checking in. We would LOVE to return but only when the prices come down to earth. I don't like to use the term "gouging" as they are very up front when you are here. Make sure when you call and book that you get the "full price". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$41
Great family park. We had a great lakeside site for a week. Super close to San Diego and all the attractions. We left the downtown and were in our site in under 20 minutes. The only reason why I gave it a 9 and not a 10 were due to a few things. First of all, I didn't realize that not all "full hook-up" sites include cable TV. The upper campground (above lake 7) includes cable hook-ups, but I didn't realize that until I arrived since it is not easy to find that information on their website. Secondly, there are quite a bit of rules (34 pages!) that are unique to this campground. For example, no drinking alcohol mid-week (it is allowed on Saturday and Sunday). I'm no lush, but I like to have a beer or a glass of wine with dinner. According to their rules, there is NO drinking mid-week. There are too many rules to list, but if you want to have a campfire, be sure to bring your own fire pit. None are provided a the campground. Third, the pool was freezing, literally. I know it was early Spring, but I expected the pool to be heated. I realized immediately when I arrived at the pool that it couldn't be too pleasant since the only people in the pool were kids under 10. Also, there was a clear sign that stated: "NO ONE under 18 allowed in Spa" but there were about 10 kids in there when I arrived. A campground employee actually came around to ask everyone if they were camping at the lakes, but he didn't say anything about the kids in the spa. Finally, you cannot fish the lakes with just a California Fishing License. You MUST purchase either a day use license or an annual license from Santee Lakes itself. In order to fish with my sons for a two days it was close to $40. It would be nice if they offered a weekly fishing license at a discounted rate. To make matters worse, we didn't catch a thing and the fishing was slow all around. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
WOW!!! Loved it!! Could not wish for a more perfect place to spend a few days with the kids and my husband. We spent 3 nights and were not ready to leave. Gorgeous place to walk. Seven lakes for fishing. One lake has paddle boats and the kids loved that. There are ducks and birds everywhere, which are fun to watch and feed. The walking trails are paved and picnic tables and benches are around different areas of the lakes and campground. We stayed in site #14 which I picked on the internet. We loved it because it was right on the water of lake #6 and we only had neighbors on one side. Our campsite was large and under a couple of big trees for shade. They do have a pool, it was a bit chilly for us to swim. We did use the laundry and it was very clean and updated equipment. Nice helpful staff. You pay each day to fish, but the rates were not bad, six dollars for the kids and nine dollars for adults. We visited Sea World one day and it was a 20 minute drive and easy to get to and back to the campground. Will definitely try to get back to this campground and stay more than 3 days next time. We didn't have bikes, but would be a great place for bike riding. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
A very nice, well-run campground. There are 7 lakes for fishing and they even stock bass (for catch and release), trout and catfish. There are small paddle boats and canoes available for rental. Each site comes with a picnic table. Depending upon your fee, the site may be asphalt or sand, lakeside or not, large or small. Ours was right on the lake for a monthly fee of $620 + electricity. Many of the campsites are long term but you may stay for only 6 months before you need to leave for 14 days. Then, of course, you can come back. We had no trouble fitting into our site and there are many large rigs here. On the other hand, it is a nice mixture of big and small, fancy and plain rigs. We enjoyed the campground and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$33
This park was beautiful. I could have stayed here the whole winter. I would recommend this park highly. It's very friendly and clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$40
We stayed here for a month. Our site backed on Lake 7 and was wonderful. Great location for exploring San Diego area. Very quiet at night. Campfires are allowed if you have your own pit/ring. Nice people work and volunteer here. Tons of waterbirds. Lakes are stocked for fishing and boat rentals are available. Better than your average paved parking lot for sure! We had a bit of an ant problem, but used Spray 'n Wash around the unit and they moved out. (By the way, we discovered this little trick in Hawaii and it works way better than pesticides or Comet. No staining and smells okay too.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
This was our second time here and we moved to a less expensive and more treed space in the Willow area. The spaces are wide and long with small covered lanai and picnic tables. The $35 per month for the dog didn't provide any amenities for use - such as a fenced dog run space. Otherwise we really liked the winter weather/temperatures, and you are close to everything including the city via the Trolley. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$45
We just finished our first weekend getaway here, and it won't be our last. We had a great time in a neat, clean park with lots to do. The park is run by the local water authority around the shores of 7 lakes. The lakes are stocked with fish: there is a small fishing fee, but no license required. It is within a short drive of all San Diego attractions and it is immediately adjacent to a large regional park with miles of hiking and mountain bike trails. We stayed in the northernmost (newest) end of the campground where most of the sites were big-rig-sized pull-throughs. The sites are level and are decomposed granite (DG) base. They are plenty long and wide: lots of room for all of your slides and camp stuff. Since this was the newest area, the trees and shrubs have some growing to do, but they're getting there. The place was immaculate and every site is cleaned after every visit. A very friendly group of workampers keep the place looking great. There is a small store on site with basic snacks, drinks, ice, firewood, and fishing supplies. Weak coverage on Verizon for us: both the cell phone and the air card. It worked, but barely. Excellent Wi-Fi (free) with a number of repeaters throughout the campground. Cable had about 20 channels. Utilities new, clean, and worked perfectly. Why a 9 and not a 10? Trash cans were hard to find: at least in the end of the park where we were staying. It was quite a hike to find a place to dispose of trash. It would be a big improvement to spread some cans around throughout the campsite area. Again, we enjoyed Santee Lakes and highly recommend it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
Groomed sites, level, had a campsite on lake#7. Lots of water fowl around to watch. Friendly staff, grounds very well kept. Will stay there again. Wifi had excellant signal at the site. Site#48. No shade, but the temp was cool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$34
We spent 4 days here while visiting our daughter in San Diego. It is 15 to 20 minutes from Old Town, Balboa Park and the beaches. Well worth the drive. This is an excellent facility overall and is much more reasonably priced than parks in San Diego. The TV and WI-FI worked very well. The restrooms and showers were very clean. We stayed in the "Willow Loop" which was more shaded than the other areas of the campground. It uses a unique online reservation system that will show you a close-up satellite view of the sites available to help in selection. The sites are well spaced and most have a covered picnic bench. I will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2009
$38
This park was nice. But the constant issue with the fish dieing was disgusting! The rodents are a huge problem, getting into everything! To top it off: were the rangers! Some of them are nice, but there is one in particular who likes to harass people. She has gotten into trouble with her supervisors due to that. She falsely accuses people of things. She isn't accurate on her information of things before accusing them. I think that she should be reprimanded for her actions. But corporate will not do anything about it! I would never stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$21
The lake, the water fowl, shady areas, and amenities around made our stay perfect. Their security gates are wonderful, and we were so safe. We will definitely return for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$40
This is a beautiful place to be. Although its location is in the town of Santee, it feels as if it's miles away from civilization. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$34
This is a pretty park in the San Diego greater metro area. Lots of the sites are paved with a number of semi-permanent campers who keep it fairly tidy. Many of the sites are fairly wide. The price reflects a weekly rate including a dog fee. The dog run area is dirt and they provide bags but you will need a good flashlight as parts of the park can be very dark at night. And beware the sprinklers come on strong with little warning. We found an off-leash park divided for dogs over and under 30 lbs. in nearby LaMesa, which is also mostly dirt. Lots for kids to do. We had great difficulty with Verizon and our cell card, even after moving to a second location which provided a somewhat better signal but service was still up and down. Other campers complained of this also. The Verizon problem was something of a shock considering we were so close to a major metro area. At the second site we got tiny ants, and even after they sprayed the "really potent" stuff they could only spray when there was no breeze, the ants returned within a day or two. It's possible we would stay again since the rate is competitive, if we could not find a better option as we really need reliable cell service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
We could not ask for a better place to camp for the winter. The only con, was the lack of activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$32
Loved this park. I am a birdwatcher and really enjoyed it. The lakes are 'reclaimed' water which is processed 'black' water but there was no aroma from it. The water is also used for watering the landscaping. Would have given a 10 except that the pool is not heated in the winter. Sites are a good size and their reservation system allows you to see a photo of the site when you are booking. There was a picnic table on a cement pad with a roof at most sites. The staff were very friendly - we were there over President's Day weekend and there was a large group in three sites opposite us who were somewhat rowdy. The ranger made regular patrols to check their activities. There were a couple of rainy days, but the gravel site had no problems and the large puddles around the park disappeared quite fast. As soon as a site is vacated a member of staff is there to check that it is free of garbage and then they rake and sweep as necessary. Wi-fi reception was good. We did not have cable. There is a newer section - about half the sites and they have cable for an increased rate. Easy access to the trolley service at Santee Town Centre which takes you downtown. All day ticket costs $5 - a very good deal. Will definitely return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$40
We picked this spot as a layover on the way to another place. We knew nothing about it and just loved it. It's on several small lakes used to supply San Diego water. Our site was very roomy, and the trailer was within 10 feet of the water. If it were not so expensive would like to come make for a month or more. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
Park is rated "best campground in San Diego county" in local newspaper reader poll. I believe it. Great park. Easy reservation system. Late arrival system worked fine. Weather was horrible, but ground handled all the rain just fine (much better than our tent-trailer). Great access to San Diego attractions. Try "Fandangos" in Old Town for breakfast (especially Sunday), lunch or dinner. Very quiet (maybe because of the weather) despite proximity to freeways. Will definitely stay here again, but not in February. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2008
$42
Every morning we were camped here, when we went to use the showers, they were being cleaned. One volunteer told us they were cleaned from 7:00a.m. to 9:00a.m. When we mentioned that was the time most people wanted to use showers, were told "most RVs are self-contained". THis park has at least 3 different shower buildings, and on one morning we went from one to the next; all three were being cleaned. When talking to some other people camped here, they said they found some of the 'volunteers' to be rude quite often. When we talked to some campers in large motorhomes, they said that the comment about being self-contained was ridiculous; they preferred using the camp showers even though they had showers in their motorhomes. Every time we used the showers, we ran out of hot water. Also, even with cable hookups there was no ESPN (we wanted to watch football games). We also had big mixup on our reservations for 3 separate campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
There is wonderful birdwatching, great access to town for shopping. Friendly, helpful staff. There is good access to biking trails at Mission Trails Regional Park. It is one of our favorite RV parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
We had a fabulous week here - the staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. The park is clean and the sites are a good size. The kids loved the playgrounds and the pool. There are lots of activities and the location is within 10 to 30 minutes of all San Diego attractions! The only reason that I can't give it a 10 is the ant problem - bring your Ajax and you should be good to go! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$37
We had a great site, #165 shaded in the Willow Loop. Walk to playground and pool. Checkin personnel were very nice. Very clean very good access to all that is San Diego. Only complaint was that the office closed at 5PM and we needed to get some supplies the two nights we were at the campground, and they did not inform us very well what activites where going on. Other than that, very nice campground. On top of everything, we dropped our camera as we left, picked camera up but did not know that memory card had been ejected. Had photos of Disney, San Diego, etc. Had not downloaded yet. Well, the office found it and called us and are shipping to our house. What a relief!! Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$37
Nice campground. Not a lot of trees yet in the part we were in. Good Wi-Fi. Good spacing between sites. Lots of activities around the lake. We camped here, then drove into San Diego for attractions - pretty convenient. Good pool, laundry fine, restrooms nice, well kept campground. Would gladly camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
We stayed for over 2 months, very clean, well operated. The office staff were the friendliest we've ever met. Sites are wide, gravel, easy in and out. Paved roads throughout. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$24
This is the way a county park should be run. Extremely clean. The new sites in the back do not have any shade but are pull through and quite large. This is a wonderful park for fishing, biking and jogging. Close to Town Center and shopping. The pool is small but very clean. A vendor cooks hotdogs, hamburgers, etc on Friday, Saturday and Sunday by Lake #5. We stayed here for a month and would definitely stay again. Great place to bring the kids for a weekend!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$37
This park is very well run. The volunteers keep this place as neat as a pin. It's a very popular park for locals to camp at during holidays, so you will need to reserve far in advance if you wish to stay during those times. Wi-Fi was excellent and "free." (The overnight rates seem high, but since Wi-Fi is included then maybe they're not so bad.) The park is very close to shopping, San Diego attractions (1/2 hour away), and the coast. It's easy to spend a month or more here. There is some noise during the day from the nearby USMC air base, and occasionally the air traffic continues into the evening hours (night qualifications, probably), but this never was a problem for us. We really liked this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$42
Can't say enough about this place. Near San Diego yet far less expensive than most of the camp sites, in this area. Name an activity or amenity and you'll find it hear. I can't imagine how they could improve it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$24
This is a lovely park with great opportunities for walking and biking within the park and nearby. The sites are ample if not generous. The only negative was the occasional aroma from either the landfill over the hill or the reclaimed water irrigation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$29
This was our first time to camp here, and we had chosen it because of the reviews here. We were not disappointed (well, except for the fact that we didn't catch any fish!). They stock the lower lakes, but not the ones near the campground, but even when we fished there, everyone else was catching but us! The sites on lake 6 and 7 are wonderful - our back end was right up to the water. The sites are spacious and you're not right up against your neighbor. There are several dozen different kinds of birds and waterfowl - including blue herons and white cranes. There's a couple guys who have a contract to sell barbecue on the weekends - ribs, burgers, hot links, chicken, & corn on the cob. Make sure you set aside one night to try it - it was truly wonderful. The staff here are very friendly; the only problem we encountered was that they refused to give us change for the laundry and there are no change machines in the laundry room. I had to go outside the park a few blocks to a convenience store to get change. The park is close to good shopping and restaurants; also there's a huge county park (Mission Trails) adjacent to this one for great hiking and mountain biking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
This is the second time I've stayed here. This park is very clean. It has a country feel to it, yet downtown San Diego is only about 15-20 minutes away. Check the park's website for all the things to do here. When touring the area today, I stopped in and checked out other parks that are closer to downtown,but in my opinion, none rate as high as Santee Lakes, especially when factoring in the fees. Also has free wifi. I'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$33
Beautiful campgrounds, well maintained and serviced. Lots of amenities and pleasant surroundings. Biggest advantage is being so close to San Diego and not having to pay the price for a closer location. Highly recommend! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
This is one of the nicest parks we have stayed in 15 years of RV'ing. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The lady who works the front desk is a treasure. Santee Lakes is a model for municipal resorts. Cell phone coverage is sporadic but that's not the fault of the campground. Free wifi in the new section is excellent. Pets are welcome and the weather in July is perfect. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$37
This was our second trip here - we stayed for a week. It is so clean, so friendly and so much fun! Our kids didn't want to leave. It is no more than 25 minutes to any local destination - and we went in many directions! I cannot recommend this place enough. Cell phone reception can be hard in certain sites. Ants are a problem. Bring Ajax and it does the trick no problem! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
This has got to be one of my favorite places! I strongly suggest that you book a water-front space, otherwise you will be in a parking lot-type setting. My friends were in 44 and we were in 46. We had fabulous views and fishing right in front of us. Miles of bike trails and tons of activities. It is a wonderful family park. We were here over Memorial Day weekend and the lady in the front office was great about helping us get our 2 spaces close together. Nice staff, great store, lake activities and close to shopping. Loved it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$24
Excellent park with plenty of shaded sites. Only some of the sites had cable TV which is what kept this park from getting a perfect 10. Camp sites were kept very clean and the entire camp was peaceful and tranquil. Bathrooms and showers were very nice and cleaned daily. I would recommend this camp without concern. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$41
Stayed in new section, very nice large site by creek. Very quiet, everyone very pleasant, park kept extra clean. Only rated 8 as there is no cell phone coverage, so if you need it you are in trouble as we were. Wifi worked excellent, only way we could conduct our business while here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$30
So much to do! Park was well organized and it seemed like they really take care in what they present. Hosts were nice, safe environment and TONS to do with the kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$37
This is an excellent place to stay while you sightsee in the San Diego area. It is 20 minutes to San Diego(depending on traffic). Huge extremely clean campsights. Only deficiency was that they WIFI would intermittently disconnect. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$37
I have to say this is one of the best campgrounds we stayed in. We stayed in one of the new spaces they have added away from the lake area. The places are clean and roomy. There is a lot to do there and the staff is extra friendly, they always made a point to acknowledge us and say hello when we passed them by. The only thing I would of liked was for the pool to be heated, although temperature was warm the water was too cold for swimming, but shouldn't be a problem in the summer. We will definitely camp here again as soon as the weather is warmer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$25
Site #283 was a level, paved pull-through, big enough but not large, no shade, full hook-ups with metered electric, Wi-Fi and cable TV. We have a 30 ft class A. Our nightly rate includes the cost of electric averaged over the time we spent here. Very nice park, good places to walk around the lakes with lots of bird activity. The Wi-Fi was very hit and miss the first half of our stay, then they changed or upgraded to a new/different system and then the Wi-Fi was excellent. We did not get good Verizon signal for our phone at our site, but we did near the office about 1.5 miles away. Laundry was clean and organized, staff and volunteers friendly and helpful. It was great to be able to get our mail at the park. This is quite a busy park but extremely clean, well maintained and well run. We had a very good stay here and would love to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$35
This is how a municipal RV park should be run! Well trained, very courteous staff. Very clean, neat and tidy. We stayed in the older section by the lake for 4 days and there's no Wi-Fi but there is a good setup at the store to use. There is wifi in the newer section and we walked up to use it there a couple of times and it also worked well. No cell phone service (not the park's fault!) but plenty of pay phones for those that must work. We will definitely return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$37
This a wonderful park. Large sites, some right on the lake. We stayed in the new section. The vegetation needs to grow a little more in this area, but the sites were very large, nice and level, and included a table. Friendly staff. The wifi was free, but was a little inconsistent, fast at times and then disappears. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$33
Very nice Park like setting only minutes from San Diego. Excellent interior roads and campsites. Very neat and clean, friendly staff. Numerous lakes for fishnig and bird watching. Loads of birds. Couldn't be much nicer! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$32
By far one of our favorite local campgrounds. Well kept up & clean showers. The newer area has wide pull throughs, cable TV and WiFi. We spent a weekend 2 weeks before the New Year and ended up booking New Year's weekend. We camped in a motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$34
It was a nice campground. You must purchase a fishing permit at the campground store to fish. You need a separate fishing permit for daytime or nighttime fishing. You must purchase a fishing permit for each day you want to fish. A California fishing license is not required. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$35
We have searched high and low for good campgrounds with plenty to do in SoCal. This park is GREAT! It's clean, the people are super friendly and helpful, and our kids had a ball with all of the activities, playgrounds, etc. We are going back for an extended stay this summer. The online reservations let you pick exactly which site you'd like - we LOVED the Willow Loop close to the clubhouse! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$35
Loved this campground. It is actually very similar to Outdoor Resorts in Aguanga however, there is more to do with the lakes. It can be a very relaxing place or you can make it quite active. Its your choice. Staff is very friendly and helpful along with the camp hosts. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$34
This was our third stay here and each time the park gets nicer and nicer. Large, manicured sites with mature trees, good spacing between sites and availability for small and large rigs alike. Bathroom was spotless, even a night. If you don't check in by 5pm there is no one at the gate and you need to call for a code -- luckily another camper was behind us to let us in. Pool and playground plus paddleboats and food for the ducks - something for everyone to do. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
This is a nice clean RV park. We stayed in the older area on the lake. The sites were huge. There are quite a few critters and bugs so be careful with your trash. The pool was nice and clean and the hot tub was HOT. WiFi was not available at our site; we didn't have to go far to get it though. They say fishing, but I didn't see anybody catch any edible fish. We enjoyed our stay there and my return. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$40
I was very impressed with this campground. I truly believe this place has something for everyone. Santee lakes has swimming pools, toddler parks, and nice fishing spots. My wife loved it and so did my two year old. Staff was very kind, and all the facilities are very clean. We will be staying here time and time again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$37
We camped on the lake site 12. We really enjoyed the 3 days we were there. Fishing seemed to be good. We did not fish, but people next to us did and were catching some fairly large catfish. Will definitely be returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$40
Beautiful park right next to govt. preseve. Tons of activities: hiking, biking, fishing, boating (rentals available). Very quiet and peaceful park. Staff in the office was very friendly, but a volunteer I ran into was not so. She was part of setting up for a party of a group that had rented the clubhouse. I was next door doing laundry and tried to use the clubhouse bathroom. She physically blocked the door and "ordered" me to go elsewhere because "her" group had rented this clubhouse. Other people approached me later and apologized for her behavior. I would stay here again, despite the grumpy old volunteer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$29
The newer section of this park is very nice. Older portion is nice IF you're along one of the lakes. Good convenience to San Diego. We stayed in a 45' Motorhome for about 3 weeks. Lots of activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$35
Visiting for a week at a time, as we've done many years in the past, we encountered peaceful surroundings. The park is secure and patrolled in a very well managed park. Natural shrubbery kept our privacy at a premium. Sites are huge. Many waterfowl landed and visited campers begging for tidbits. Very enjoyable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$33
Excellent kid friendly park! Our kids rated this one of the best they have stayed at. Great playgrounds, a sprayground as well, paddle boats on one of the 7 lakes, fishing, biking trails. Camping spots are level and fairly large. Friendly staff. This park is very well maintained by the local water board. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$30
This is a nice campground. There are 2 sections, an older area with lots of trees and a new section. The new section accommodates larger rigs & might be nice when the foliage matures. Right now it feels like being parked at a drive in movie. The newer section is "supposed" to have the latest features: cable (23 channels) and wi-fi (not working in all sites). The sites are pretty wide. There are plenty of rules and the unfriendly volunteer staff are eager to enforce them. The paid staff in the office are very friendly and helpful. The park is patrolled overnight by rangers. Weekends are pretty busy with little ones running all over the roads. Week days are best for those that prefer quiet. However, the park is near Miramar Marine Air Base and helicopters would fly back and forth over the park well into the night. The lakes are pretty and are full of fish. All in all, we enjoyed this park and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$30
Our first stay at this park and felt it was very nice, especially for our purpose. We used it as a base for visiting relatives in the area. We also stayed here in Sept. 2005 and Oct. 2005. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com