206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Chester State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (803) 385-2680
CGID4480

Chester State Park

Camp Information
Sites
27
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   9   7   3   8   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$15
We stayed 2 nights in this small 25 site campground. The campground is kept up very well by the camp host and park staff. The grass is cut and everything is very well kept (as is the rest of the park). Even though I didn't use the showers or restrooms, I checked them out and found them clean and well kept even though the facilities are a bit old. It is a quiet campground, but if you came to just relax, this is the place. The large 100 acre lake is just down the hill for fishing off the dock. There are paths for hiking around the lake and also boats that can be rented by the half day for $10. The SC parks service has a great reservation system that makes reserving a space easy and quick. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$22
Very nice small state park. You get here by weaseling through some housing areas. I was here Christmas Eve. There was no staff available when I arrived. The entrance gave the day use rates, but didn't show the camping rates. Adequate spacing between sites, good trees. The sites are a bit small. If you have a toad, might be tight on big rigs. Wouldn't bring an RV over 32 feet here. Rest rooms were surprisingly clean. Verizon Air Card and Wireless Land line worked well here. Good TV reception via antenna, good selection of channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Clean, small park State park. Few spots on the lake. We did rent a small row boat from the State park for $10/4 hours and the kids caught a small crappie. Nice quiet older campground but well maintained. Restrooms appeared to be cleaned twice daily. Nice family atmosphere if you want something peaceful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$16
Great weekender campground. Great staff and a small but cozy campground. Will be taking the kids here again. Bathhouses are very clean and the fishing is good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$12
This park is a hidden gem. We were reluctant to try this park before we went, but once we arrived it was a lot better than we expected. The sites were all nice and sandy. Most were very level. The site we were in was such that all we had to do was unhook. This park is for those who do not need a lot of amenities to have a good time. It has good hiking trails, a lake for fishing, and if you walk the trail or drive to the other side of the park they have a nice playground for the children. It is a nice place to just sit back relax and enjoy nature. The only negatives about this park that we had were trains that ran in the near distance from about 7am until midnight. Not bad or too close but still noticable We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$15
Quiet campground. Sites are too close together for you to have any privacy. Bathrooms were the nastiest I have ever seen in a campground. Streaks of mold in toilets, bugs piled up in the corners of the floors and ceilings. Obviously no one has done a cleaning in a very long time. Very few sites for 30-35 foot campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$13
A very nice quiet campground. Road and sites are gravel and reasonably level. A good number of trees for shade, but no undergrowth for privacy. Sites are of adequate size and spacing. Campground is next to a very pretty lake with a nice nature trail around it. Park has few amenities, but if you just want a good place to go and camp for a few days, this is a good place. Very relaxing. We'll be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$13
Nice quiet park, nice stocked lake and large spacious lots. Not a lot to do at park and in the town but State park is good for some real camping. I'm originally from Chester-hate the place but parents decided to return so we camp at the State park two to three times a year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$17
Chester is a great state park for a quiet weekend getaway. We go to Chester because it's fairly close to where we live, but far enough away from home that we feel like we've gone somewhere. My partner does college coursework via the internet and we can get a good signal at this campground with our Verizon phones. He gets lots of school work done and I get to build campfires, cook steaks and nap alot. It's a great place to go in the winter months because it's so very quiet. In fact, we've gone the past two New Years in a row. In the summer, there are lots of families with small kids. The washrooms are generally clean. The sites vary in sizes and ease of getting parked. The park is a bit short on amenities. There is a stocked lake provided you fish from the bank or from a non-powered boat. No swimming. Archery Range. Big softball field. Plenty of large picnic shelters. Reservations are even easier now that they use Reserve America. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$18
Not many campsites, but nicely spread out. Lots of tall pine trees. Unpaved, but level. There wasn't a lot to the park, but they did have 2 large fields which would be nice for group activities, and picnic shelters and an archery course. It's located on a large pond, but the campsites aren't really on the water. Overall, a nice little campground. We spent one day at Carowinds, which was about 30-45 minutes away. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com