218135 User submitted reviews online!!
Mariner Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (907) 235-6090
CGID4505

Mariner Park

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   6   7   8   8   9   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$15
This is a city campground (parking area) right on the Bay out on the Homer Spit. It is the first campground that you come to (on the right) as you enter the Spit. At first glimpse, it is not very appealing as it is a gravel lot on the Bay with somewhat disorganized camping. The spaces are not marked, so you stake out your own space. Often it is tight between spaces, sometimes with wide spacing, depending on how folks park and what space you can stake out. Even though we were not attracted at first, we came to really like this campground. It has views right on the bay with your own beach with lots of activity, such as wind surfing. We think that is the best of the city campgrounds on the spit. There are no hookups of any kind. There are no dumps or fresh water fill, but there are two city dumps within a couple of miles. For $70 per night you can get the same type of view with full hookups at a commercial campground a little further out on the spit. We elected to spend $15 and use our generator. There is some noise from the road, which is close by, but the main sound is of the ocean. Yes, it is pretty much unregulated and you do hear generators at non-generator hours, but that is not really much of an issue. The main feature is the Bay. Our Verizon phone worked well, but the Verizon data plan (MiFi) did not work. It is on the open so our satellite worked well here. Visiting Homer again, we would stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
No hookups, no one on site. Payment done at vault box. Area checked for payment during mornings and evening by city park staff. Best camping deal in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
This is what you expect for a city campground, no hookups but an inexpensive place to stay. If you get parked facing the ocean it is a great view. Negatives are the road is noisy till after the shops close on the spit and of course the usual inconsiderate campers that you have every where you go. Quiet time is 11pm -7am and some fired up generators at 5am. If noise is not a problem it's a cheap place to stay and you can stay at least 7 days. If you pull out though you will certainly lose your spot, it's like vultures on a kill site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$15
There are no really great campgrounds on Homer Spit. All are close quartered gravel parking lots, so we boondocked in the City campground looking out right on the bay. There are no assigned sites so you don't have to be congested and confined. Plenty of room and a great view if you like dry camping with no services. We would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$15
We felt this was the best place to stay in Homer. It is right on the water and we awoke to an eagle on the beach in front of us and a sea otter playing in the water. It is a little loud in the morning, when people are driving onto the Spit. We drove past many other places to camp and they all appeared very crowded (and noisy). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
This park has spectacular marine views. Harbor seals floating out front; bald eagles hunting over beach. Close to charter boats/restaurants. It's also close to town/restaurants/stores. See "Welcome to Homer" Overlook just north of town: remarkable view! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$15
Great site to boondock with others. Right on the beach and between the spit and town, walking distance from everything. The only services here are porta-johns, but who cares. The price was right, the ocean was gorgeous, the views were unbelievable, and the other campers were nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
If you don't mind boon docking, this is a great place. It's a large, open gravel area with fairly level sites right on the beach, if you're there early enough. Camping is on a first come/first serve basis. There is plenty of room to maneuver big rigs and there are no lined sites-just pull in, set up and enjoy the beautiful views of the ocean and mountains. This campground is at the base of the Spit so it is a short drive to either the eclectic collection of shops and businesses on the Spit or to the town of Homer. We sat at our campfire and watched eagles and sea otters. I talked to 2 different people who had moved to Mariner from one with electricity but who were crammed together and one who moved here from the nearly empty $80 full hook-up campground-both campgrounds are further down the Spit. There is some road noise but you'll get that at any campground on the Spit. My only complaint is the area in the middle of the gravel lot is full of rough potholes. We would love to return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
Dry camping on the beach with great views. I gave a rating of 6 because there is no one there to enforce any rules. The group camping next to us played loud music until after 1:00 in the morning. There is no campground host. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
This is strictly boon-docking, but the view is amazing. See saw eagles on the beach and otters in the water. This is the nicest city park on the spit. I am writing this review while being connected to the city-wide free WiFi at my site.There are two dump and fresh water stations available nearby. A city employee stops by several times a day to check on things. The fee is $15 a night or $95 a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$15
Great spot, cheap, view to die for, one the beach, walk every morning, sit in front seats of coach and watch eagles, shore birds, and otters play and feed. Two water and dump station in Homer. This is a city camp ground, there are 3 on the spit, there are other campgrounds but cost so much, and for what? A must stay if you are in Homer! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$15
This is a big gravel/dirt parking lot that the city allows for camping. You can camp on the beach in a tent or you can park your RV so you can face the ocean. Not a lot of space between RV's but everyone respects each others space. There are no real assigned spaces. There is a ranger that comes around to check to make sure everyone is ok and doing whats supposed to be done. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com