206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Askew's Landing Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (601) 852-2331
CGID4521

Askew's Landing Campground

Camp Information
Sites
58
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   9   9   7   7   9   9   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2013
$22
This campground is located on a private lake. The sites are grass with a little gravel. There is a pool that is not used. The bathrooms badly need to be rebuilt. Besides being very dirty, the un-level bath floors are very spongy, like you'd fall through if you gained 5 lbs. There are mostly permanent residents here. Birds (in outdoor cages), and horses & goats (in a corral) are kept here. The office porch is fully decorated for Halloween, but that doesn't make up for terrible bathrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
Very nice CG with open spaces, woodsy and lake views. Lots of ducks and geese in the lake. The land driving into the CG and surrounding the CG, is gorgeous. The CG owner is very helpful and hospitable. There are permanent campers on the outer edges, but they are out of the way and not a problem at all. Our site had no shade, but there are shady sites available. The WiFi worked very well, and we were able to use our satellite for TV as our site had no trees. Pull-through site is a mix of gravel and grass and is very solid and level. No credit cards taken, but will take a check. Easy 15-20 minute drive to Vicksburg. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
This is a very nice park with large spaces, lots of pull-throughs and great views of the pond and lake. The owners were very nice and helpful, lending us a CD tour of the Vicksburg battlefield and making restaurant recommendations. We only stayed two nights and were out sightseeing most of the time, but we would come back if we wanted some peace and quiet. Pretty convenient to Vicksburg (20-minute drive) and to the Natchez Trace. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
We stayed here for a night while following the Natchez Trace because it was reasonably close for visiting Vicksburg. This is a rural campground, very quiet and picturesque with a wide open feel. The sites are decently spaced, all grass, no patio or tables and you will need to level the RV side to side. At 113V, their 50 amp service registered the lowest we've seen in a while. Our electrical use was nominal, so it did not pose a problem. It had rained prior to our arrival and there was standing water in sections of the roadway. The ground around the site was firm although our shoes picked up a bit of mud. They have Wi-Fi, but we didn't get the pass code and forgot to ask. Over the air TV reception was decent. They also have a small pool which was closed for the winter. The gravel entrance road is narrow and only one lane as it winds around the fishing lake, but it presents a beautiful introduction to the park. There are a number of permanent campers primarily tucked into the perimeter woods. Some are typical of long-term stays. The main building and pavilion are rustic and, as others have mentioned, the campground has an old-time feel. We would stay here again. One word of warning - follow the park's directions for getting to the campground. If you decide to follow your infallible GPS and it directs you to Goat Hill road - you are going the wrong direction! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
We stayed here for a night while following the Natchez Trace because it was reasonably close for visiting Vicksburg. This is a rural campground, very quiet and picturesque with a wide open feel. The sites are decently spaced, all grass, no patio or tables and you will need to level the RV side to side. At 113V, their 50 amp service registered the lowest voltage we've seen in a while. Our electrical use was nominal so it did not pose a problem. It had rained prior to our arrival and there was standing water in sections of the roadway. The ground around the site was firm although our shoes picked up a bit of mud. They have WiFi but we didn't get the pass code and forgot to ask. Over the air TV reception was decent. They also have a small pool which was closed for the winter. The gravel entrance road is narrow and only one lane as it winds around the fishing lake but it presents a beautiful introduction to the park. There are a number of permanent campers primarily tucked into the perimeter woods. Some are typical of long-term stays. The main building and pavilion are rustic and, as others have mentioned, the campground has an old-time feel. We would stay here again. One word of warning - follow the park's directions for getting to the campground. If you decide to follow your infallible GPS and it directs you to Goat Hill road - you are going the wrong direction! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
The location and grounds of this campground was just what we wanted. Set back away from any noise, and located on their own private pond, this is one of the most quiet campgrounds we have ever stayed. The staff was very accommodating and checked in with us a few times to make sure everything was alright. The sites were large, flat, and easy to access. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$21
Unexpected. This CG is on the site of an old plantation, near the Civil War 1863 battlefield at Black River. The road is well maintained gravel and the CG is mowed grass around a lake and pond home of perch, brim, bass and catfish and countless ducks and geese. The manager is great and maintains the grounds and amenities with pride. Thirty & fifty AMP available. Not all of the sites have sewer, but there is a handy dump station. The building are more dated, but kept clean and neat. All the RV sites are in a huge grassy area-some trees. Wi-fi is strong and HDTV on the air was just fine. A must see while here is the Vicksburg Civil War National Military Park, where you can spend a full day and still not see all there is to see, including the U.S. Military Cemetery and the U.S.S. Cairo museum. This CG is a well kept secret and worth the effort. We enjoyed our stay here and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$21
Friendly and helpful staff. This is a very well maintained campground (street, ways, lawn) but we were very disappointed when we saw the restrooms: old and not really clean. We think they should pay the same attention to the restrooms as they do the lawns. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$17
Extreme southern hospitality. Wonderful staff. Historic location (marker on site). Can't say enough good things about the owners and their crew. Staff constantly making sure roads are good and that customers are taken care of. Small store in office made it very convenient. Great WiFi throughout the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$22
Askew's Landing is like stepping back in time. It is like one of those parks I remember from my childhood. A place where kids can roam and explore in a safe environment, ride bikes, hike, swim, feed the ducks, etc. It is surrounded by woods with no traffic noise. Like the old days you have to dump on the way out, but even with that small inconvenience it is still worth a stay there. The staff is very friendly and the campground is beautiful. The bathrooms are older but very clean, and really only adds to the charm. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
This is a very family orientated and country c/g, set in beautiful grounds, with a lovely lake and plenty of wildlife to enjoy, swimming pool and petting zoo for the kids. A small camp store stocks the basics. Some permanent residents and while we were there a few people trying to escape the floods. Easy access to and from the freeway, but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. The laundry is good, but the bathrooms are just about adequate, clean, but basic and very old. A few of the sites are overlooking the water, very pretty, but they have no sewer hook up. We would not go out of our way to stay here again. Because of the poor bathrooms, we could only give this c/g a 6/10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
Just needed a place to spend the night, this site had all I needed. As a plus the friend I was stopping to visit liked how it sounded and wanted to come by and view the place. Nice lake, with waterfowl and other animals she enjoyed seeing and playing with. The lots were nice and roomy. Staff came off of lunch when she saw me pull in. Checked me in right away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$24
Even though it seemed we were in a "time warp", this CG was one of the best we've ever stayed at. Simply a terrific place and extremely friendly. Has a narrow and long entrance, but once you turn the corner at the office, you'll be pleasantly surprised. We'll go back in a flash. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2005
$15
Very pretty setting with trees, a private pond and lake (stocked they say and no license needed). Many ducks and geese wander about the place, very charming. The bathrooms and showers on the other hand are very small, the buildings flimsy and not very clean. We opted not to use them. The laundry room was locked when we tried the door and there were many, many shabby permanents. There are 2.5 miles of narrow, lumpy county road leading to the campground and about 1/2 mile of dirt road to the sites themselves. This was a bargain at about $15 and a good half way campground for us to see both Vicksburg and Jackson but we would probably try another campground before returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$25
Very nice family campground. Setting in the woods and on a 15 acre lake. They have fishing. We only stayed one night, but would recommend for a few nights. Sites have grass and are well maintained We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$19
A quiet county setting. For the family with wildlife in the campground. I have stayed there a number of times over the years and would recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com