218598 User submitted reviews online!!
Lighthouse RV Resort was rated 5 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (972) 838-4600
CGID4562

Lighthouse RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   1   3   2   7   7   9   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
I've been to Resorts and this place does not qualify. The roads are in terrible shape and very little landscaping to speak of. Supposed to have Wi-Fi internet access but it is very unpredictable. It is convenient to north Dallas and has a pretty good pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$41
Wow!!! The new ownership has really cleaned this place up! The old management is gone and the new management is helpful, flexible, a delight! The place is clean, attractive, very family friendly (don't know what the last reviewer was talking about). Mini-golf, clean pool, more than adequate washers/dryers, nice lounge, Wi-Fi is wonderful. This will be our regular stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2013
$44
Lighthouse RV let us down. It's a shame to have a reservation and there not be the pull-through needed when we arrived. I have a large motorcoach and I reserved months before. I accepted the back-in offered and then find no pool open and the laundry had a broken machine. We still were able to park and we were worried because of what looked like long term people staying who were not what we would desire. We were told by the next rig over to lock all possessions because of theft. We were able to move after 2 nights to another RV park close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2012
$39
We have been here about 1 1/2 months. Moderately nice, reasonable park. Generally would give a higher rating. The manager is very helpful, polite and caring. However, his wife has managed to turn us so far off as to be unbelievable. We had considered staying for another couple of months, but her extreme rudeness to us recently (all the result of being 10 minutes late to pick up a dryer load in the laundry?) has changed our plans so that when this months rent is over, so are we! If you can manage to only deal with the manager, you'll enjoy it. Stay away from the wife...as she is out to ruin the business of the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2012
$39
This place is filthy. Most sites are full-timers and people park all over the place. There was dog dropping all over my site (I had to clean it myself). The management was overly assertive and not at all helpful. The only positive was the easy access to Frisco and Plano. Hopefully we will never, never stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$13
This park worked for us as a convenient location to spend time with family. Interior roads and sites are packed gravel/dirt with patchy grass and pine trees in between, it had rained a lot so there was some mud. Our site was fairly level, with enough room to get around OK. What struck me most about this park is that it just needed a little TLC. Our picnic table was wobbly. Restroom and showers were Ok but not spotless. Laundry room had 6 each washers and dryers, 2 dryers did not work. The swimming pool and small kid play area looked OK. Lots of full time residents. Some yapping dogs, some freeway noise, but not too bad. Wi-fi worked good. I would return again to be near family. It is located along a frontage road parallel to Hwy 75, with poor signage. The price is based on a monthly rate of $399, which I thought was reasonable for what they offer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Nice park with shade trees and easy pull-through sites. The log lodge is quite nice and it has a lovely pool area. Not too much else to do there and the Wi-Fi (free) internet was really slow. Overall we liked it and the people were friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
We had originally made plans to stay at another RV park which is just right down the road. We have never been to this area so we didn't know what to expect. We arrived at the other park and turned right around to get out of there. Very creepy place. We rolled into Lighthouse RV Resort and actually got there 30 minutes after the office closed. The door was still open, and the manager was about to lock up and leave. I explained our situation, and she told me, "take one of these two spots here and just pay up in the morning." The lady was very kind and I don't know of too many other people who would have done that for anyone. Most others would have said, "Sorry, you're late, and we are closed." So, thumbs up to the management here for taking care of people when they didn't have to. Besides this park and the other one down the road that we left from, there are no other parks around. Had she not done that for us, we would have been up a creek. The park seems to have a lot of permanent residents which for me is completely fine. I would rather have people in the park that see what's going on at all times. Keeps the riffraff out. The park seemed to be very nice and clean with LOTS of trees and shade. We were assigned to a pull-through site which was really easy to get into. The pad was half gravel but surprisingly level. I didn't have to put any levelers under the tires. We didn't get to use the swimming pool or restrooms, but overall, great place to spend the night if you're traveling through. It's a little ways from the city, but close enough to make the short drive. The only reason I gave this place a 9 and not a 10 was for the ease of finding the place. We passed it up once because there were no signs and the grass on the medians next to the highway was so tall it was hard to see what road to take. We finally figured it out, and after that, it was easy to return to from going out to eat. Not a huge issue at all but maybe a sign or two off of Hwy 121 would be helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
A clean resort with level sites. There is some highway sounds at night but not excessive. Location is ideal for the US 75 corridor in north Texas. We will stay here again because of location and Staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
We found the park to be clean, friendly and well-maintained. It is a bit awkward to get to. Going on Hwy. 75N taking exit 45 you must immediately get into the left hand lane because you must make a left turn almost immediately out of fast traffic. The turn is almost impossible to spot on a dark night. We stayed here 5 nights for a nephew's wedding festivities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Have stayed at the Lighthouse for a few years. Sorry to say, it has gone down hill. Trash around the park and smells coming from the sewer site that are unoccupied. It took a week to get the management to remove a broken down redwood table that, according to neighbors, had been there for quite a while. It wasn't until after we moved it to another site that management removed it. There is a lot of trash around the trash bins and in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
An old and tired park but serviceable. Our site was to short and just barely wide enough with our slides extended. The site was level enough for our leveling system but caused problems for others who arrived and had to manually level the rig with blocks. The nearest street light was working but many on the grounds were out. Grass was mowed only twice during our 6 week stay. Managers offered a cool reception. On a scale of 1 to 5 when they first meet you they rate a 2 and once they get to know you it is about a 3. The streets are in poor repair, made of black top with holes repaired with loose rock. Bathrooms were old and tired but were as clean as they could be considering the age. Water was acceptable, electrical did not cause us any problems. We received local channels in Digital from the Dallas TX. service area. Laundry is a mix of older and newer machines. In general they leave towels, shorts and socks damp. $1.00 to $1.25 per machine depending on the age of the machine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2009
$31
To call this an "RV Resort" is stretching the truth to the limit. Most of the RV's here seemed to be long term residents. The internal roads and sites are in a poor state of repair with big potholes everywhere. Our assigned site was muddy and not level. They advertise Wi-Fi but don't tell you that there is an additional charge for it. The manager took our money didn't explain how to get to our site or tell us about the other amenities. The noise from I-75 was disturbing. Would not stay here again except as a last resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$31
Sites are a little too close together for our tastes, and a little muddy. Interior roads are a little rough. Thought WiFi was free but actually, there is a charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Well, if you don't break an axle in the pot holes or your leg in the cracks in the sidewalks, you're probably lucky. If you don't mind not going out after dark (because most of the night lights are out) then you might be alright. If you don't mind not having a working spa or green watered swimming pool and as long as you don't mind losing things out of the back of your truck you might stay. My wife was always afraid of being mugged at night, coming back from the laundry. We only used it once, kind of an emergency. Too dirty to go back. Don't bother complaining to management. They are bad tempered and will kick you out of the park and won't give you your money back. I heard many horror stories while I was here. Manager gambles, wife throws him out, etc, etc. I won't go back. We won't even talk about him pumping out the septic tanks into the bar ditch. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
We liked this park. The owners were very friendly and nice. The sites are a little close together but each site has lots of great shade trees and nice grass. Half of the park consists of long term campers but all of them were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again and for more than 3 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
The owners seemed nice enough over the phone, however seemed to be irritated with us when we tried to park in our assigned space and could not get in. Almost all long term residents here and the spaces are so close together that they have to park their cars in the road. Real tight spaces to maneuver. Pool was nice, but spa was not working. OK for one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
Sites OK, rough gravel, some nice trees, not a lot of space between rigs but typical of most older RV parks. Some road noise from TX 75. A lot of long-term "campers." This would be a decent park if the advertised facilities were actually available. Pool & spa, nope, "broken" and locked up. Sauna--not on and locked up. Clubhouse very nice but locked up tight after 5PM. Considering the previous review found pretty much the same situation, this park is guilty of false advertising. I was told that it has recently sold. We'll see if the new owners are any better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2005
$31
We visited park in 40' motorhome. We arrived at 6pm & found the office closed. Signage stated pay envelopes & park maps were in box--none were in box. There was no staff available to assist getting to a site. The roads & sites were once blacktopped, but have had gravel added to fill potholes. The roads were dusty. The sites had pine trees that were not friendly to big rigs--I could not exit the site without rubbing the side of my coach and my neighbor could not extend his slide due to a tree. The utilities were modern & well placed. There was a beautiful pool & spa, but it was locked. There was a nice recreation room, but it was locked. The laundry room was locked. The restrooms were locked. We felt that a park that locked all facilities at 5:30 pm was overpriced at $31. We will find an alternative next time! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$21
I loved this park!! It has the kindest hosts we have met yet. They kept the park very neat and tidy and the restrooms and showers were sparkling. We stayed at the park for four months and enjoyed every endeavor this park had to offer. The pool, sauna and weight room were always clean as was the laundry room. I really like the atmosphere of the clubhouse, very warm and cabin-like. Exactly what you would expect to find in Texas. I would happily recommend this park to my family and friends. I can't wait to come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2005
$29
This is a fairly nice property which needs to be spiffed up some. Has potential, but access to some of the amenities are inconsistent. Internal roads need better maintenance. Highway noise can be annoying. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com