220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Campland On The Bay was rated 7 out of 10 based on 78 user reviews. Phone: (858) 581-4200
CGID461

Campland On The Bay

Camp Information
Sites
582
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$140



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   1   6   8   2   9   9   10   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$140
We are from Spain and we are making a trip through the USA. We started in March in Miami, Fl, and we finished in Los Angeles, CA. This has been the worst camping we've found, besides expensive. The best thing is really on the same coast with beach at the edge of the campsite. Worst: the amount of people there. It was in July, and camping plots, which seemed more like a parking lot than a campground. The first plot we had completely lacked privacy. We got another that we had seen that was free and it was better. Still and all the price was extremely high. There was loud music everywhere, and not referring to the activities every evening organized by the camp, but many people put loud music. After five days of the same filed a complaint because the cost of it with what is offered is not appropriate. We have to recognize that they contacted us and we have returned the money we had paid. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$100
This our third stay here. I've never had an issue with their Pet Friendly reputation. They've never given us a hassle over our lab mix. It has one good-sized decent dog park and two so-so dog runs. That's "pet friendly" in my book. Kids loved the pool and we didn't have much need for the beach. They had the floating platform at the beach. I'd advise against staying at the beach end of the park. Spots are cramped, noisy, and unattractive. The other end is *much* nicer in all respects…though we left right as the summer crowds were ramping up and I could see the level of activity increasing. We'll save some money next time and just find a place with pools only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2014
$43
Very disappointed in small size of campsites and impolite security guards. Park is not pet friendly and actively discourages dogs. Location is good - lots to do in San Diego, but this park is exceptionally crowded and unruly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$90
I know I am in the minority with this review, but I will not stay here again. This place holds good childhood memories, but I feel differently as an adult. I've stayed in many campgrounds that are giant paved parking lots, but this one takes the cake. Your neighbor is so close that stepping out the door places you in his site. Our neighbors blasted music at all hours and it appears that many children run around unattended-many very young in age. The speed limit is not obeyed and I felt unsafe walking my kids through the grounds for fear they'd get hit. We came to enjoy time with our children but what we observed were foul mouthed drinking adults that appeared to be reliving high school and college. And it wasn't only in our row. I know that works for some-I'm not judging. I just wanted others to know that everyone has their own definition of "family friendly." This one is not ours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$45
Beautiful setting, well maintained, clean, but expensive park next to Mission Bay. Wide, paved roads, but narrow sites. Nice off leash dog park. Most sites paved and level, except no-sewer dirt sites. Wireless internet is difficult to connect and slow when park is full. Friendly staff. Rate is Good Sam weekday. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$100
Oh My Gosh. If you want piece an quiet, don't stay here. Thursday was disk jockey night. Loud amplified hard rock from 7PM TO 10PM. Friday night was a rock band from 8pm to 10pm very loud. Kids everywhere, Bikes everywhere, Skateboards everywhere, drunks everywhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$120
Fun place to "camp" for the weekend. I paid 120 a night after tax for a preferred spot with a local discount. Worth the money in my opinion. They had a live cover band each night that was great. The park is very secure with lots of helpful employees around. The only ding I'm giving them is the free for all running of children through the park. Be careful getting in your spot and out and there's nothing to worry about after that. They have a nice private beach and plenty of water toys to rent. They also rent bikes and such if you like. They have a BBQ restaurant, ice cream shop and fully stocked, reasonably priced (for a campground) store. They also have an ATM available. There was also scheduled activities like dodgeball, which was a huge hit for all ages. If you're looking for peace and quiet this isn't the place. If your looking for a big party type atmosphere for the whole family look no further! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$98
Rate is for 6 people in a select site. Campland is a zoo, but it grows on you! I generally like my peace & quiet and this isn't the place for that. During the day, there are kids everywhere. They generally have the run of the place and do not expect them to look for vehicles before using the streets as they wish. There is so much to do at this park, kids will never be bored. We've stayed here twice for my son's football tournaments and both years invited the team over for a get-together. Kids run around freely, you're never worried about them, and adults get to relax and spend time together. As crazy as this place is during the day time, quiet hours are strictly enforced and nights are very peaceful. During our recent stay, there was a good band or DJ every night at Central Park. End each day by walking down to the beach and watching Sea World fireworks across Mission Bay. Love this place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$151
The review only allows 2 digits, we happily paid $151 per night plus taxes for 4 adults and two children. This is a Family beach resort. We have been returning for many years, and we chose our site for its view of Sea World's fireworks and view of the bay. The grandchildren enjoyed the daily and nightly activities. Lots of places to safely bike ride. A very well maintained dog park. Helpful staff. I really do not have a single complaint. But again this is a FAMILY park. I would not pick this campground for a quiet stay at the beach. Children everywhere. The 11pm quiet time is strictly enforced. The kids love this place we, as grandparents, enjoyed every moment with the kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$76
This is definitely a kid-friendly park, but that is about all that they pay attention to. For some reason, they placed us in the middle of other RVs that were longterm stays. As a result, there was lots of "stuff" in the various RV sites that these longterm visitors had installed. The rules state that sites are to be neat yet the feel is clutter. Not only is there junk sitting around, but there is trash such as empty boxes that could be cleaned up. In addition, we were charged $6 per day for our dogs, yet they use no resources, so we feel that our stay here was way overpriced for what we received. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$32
This is a wonderful park with the location and the beauty of the park. It is very well taken care of. Yes, the sites are close together, but you can understand why due to the proximity to the beach. They have the best dog park. It is a huge fenced in grass area on the bay in San Diego. A large dog can actually play fetch. They also have a large playground for children, a skate park, a gym, pool, hot tub, beach, large grass areas for picnics, horseshoes, and it is close to Pacific Beach, Mission Beach and La Jolla. Expensive, yes, and my price reflects a monthly rate, but worth it. Kids will love this park!! Wi-Fi is slow, but it does work most of the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$30
Excellent campground in a wonderful location. The grounds are very well kept and staff are all extremely friendly. Within walking distance to restaurants, shops and public transportation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
We really liked this place. We got an awesome spot right next to the roomy dog park which our dog loved. All staff members were very friendly as were the campers. It has all the amenities we’d ever need and a great location. We’ll come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$124
This is a large campground that is crowded on weekends. However, staff are friendly and facilities are good. Great place for families where kids can feel free. We stayed in a 32' rig, got one of the last free sites on short notice, in August. Even if it is full, it is worth trying! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$57
We stayed here for 6 nights and had a great time. Over the weekend the park filled up and almost every single spot was taken so our personal preference was our stay here during the week. But it is a beautiful campground and very family friendly. It has its own little Market Place and restaurant. We enjoyed our stay very much and will definitely come back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$70
We returned to Campland since we really enjoyed it over Christmas vacation. The place was pretty quiet and empty during the week, but filled up quite a bit for the weekend. It was still pretty quiet with very few people playing outdoor music. The Supersite had their music turned up late one night but turned it off at 10pm on the dot. We love the dog park and my three-year old had a great time and even made a friend. We’ll definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$23
We have enjoyed this campground for 2 years and will definitely come back. The facilities were cleaned daily and the maintenance workers were always out working. The sites, a mixture of asphalt and gravel, are level and have a fire pit and a table. Wi-fi is provided, and there is a new exercise/equipment room. We especially liked the registration personnel who were extremely accommodating. For example: we wanted to leave early in the morning and had a back-in site. We asked if we could move to a pull-through for the night and were given one at no extra charge. Our price reflects the monthly rate for seniors during the winter. This campground is extremely conveniently located for touring San Diego and neighboring areas. Shopping is also close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2011
$90
This is our fourth time at Christmas, visiting Campland. Loved it the other three years; this year, I had to give it a 5 out of 10. As I checked in, a flyer was posted on the registration door saying the fireworks were canceled, which is the least of my worries, but when you pay in advance of 100 per night, you would hope they would send an email. The registration clerk (female) has checked me in the last three out of four years, and needs work on her professionalism, politeness, and just being nice. Used the Jacuzzi that night, and the temperature needed to be elevated, in addition to the hot water in the locker room. Complained, but it was the same, and then reduced to 90F on the 1st and the 2nd. I guess they figured the high rollers left, but we were still paying 100 per night for our bay front site. No tent for New Year's Eve Party, no explanation. Something was mentioned about a city ordinance(?) Also, our neighbors in H18 were a bit loud with their wonderful speaker system of their toy hauler, and had a good time with games, laughter, and of course music until 11pm. I think the park should reevaluate their Quiet Time of 10pm. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$54
We really liked this place. We got an awesome spot (F29) right next to the roomy dog park which our dog loved. All staff members were very friendly as were the campers. It has all the amenities we’d ever need and a great location. We stayed in the days between Christmas and New Years and it was pleasantly peaceful. We’ll come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$81
Nice park with lots of amenities, more geared to the Summer visitor in that regard. Too pricey overall for our style of RVing but it suited our needs for location this trip. Clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$97
We stayed here for a week. This is a great location with plenty to do, both in the park and around San Diego. There is a pool, a good store, a cafe, and activities for the kids all day long. A beach on the bay, boat rentals, etc. The park is big, and was definitely very crowded, with few empty sites. The crowding wasn't a problem, and the atmosphere was great until the weekend, when it became a giant party. I think people invite a lot of guests from the area so the park seemed way overfull and it was a little rowdy. The pool was too crowded, as was the beach. Overall a great spot though I would plan to stay during the week for the best time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$85
I can't say this is the best place I've stayed, but in all fairness to the park they do a good job keeping the place clean and providing a lot of activities. The beach and pool is nice and our site was fine, if a little tight. The downside of this place is that it is very crowded and kind of a rough crowd. We kept a close eye on our grandson, but most of the people there paid no attention to what their kids were doing creating a dangerous situation. The park seems to take it as whatever will be will be and really don't enforce any rules. We will not go back in the summer but may try it again in fall or spring. The location is great and the fireworks at night from sea world are fun, just a shaky crowd. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$172
Staying here right now! Beautiful view of the bay! Nice, clean campground! Wish I could stay here all year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$24
I really liked this campground - but then I am partial to water and especially the ocean. This campground is right on Mission Bay and the views are marvelous. There are some cons: the sites were close together and, because of the hook-ups, our front window looked out onto the rear window of the camper in front of us. We could almost shake hands with the person on our right when our slides were out. There are different grades of sites and ours, the cheapest, had gravel for half of it. Now the pros: the staff was very friendly, the restrooms, the beach, the common areas were always clean. We saw them clean up and rake each campsite prior to a new camper's arrival. The jetty area was delightful. The pools and spa were always clean and neat. There is a store with camping, RV, food and souvenirs. There is a small restaurant and they even have hard ice cream. Would we return? We've already made our reservation for next year. We liked it that much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$99
After just returning from a three week RV trip we took our granddaughter here for a weekend get away. We paid $250.00 a night and it was the worse campground we had stayed at all summer. Over 15 people were allowed to stay on the site next to us and they turned their music up loud until 2am. Security did nothing. The place is over crowded and the sites are too small. Don't go if you are looking for a relaxing time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
Campland on the Bay is definitely a family friendly park. The staff here is really helpful and courteous and it's right on the bay. Be prepared for a lot of kids though and our campsite was so tight that I couldn't extend my awning all the way out. Despite being in such close quarters (we could hear our neighbors problem with Mexican food) we enjoyed our stay there and the very friendly atmosphere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$90
This place is still great! I've been coming here for over 20 years. I took a 10 year break, and since I've been back I don't know why I did. Oh wait, now I remember, the price. This would have gotten a 10 had it not been so expensive. They have great sites, most of which you can see the nightly Sea World fireworks from across the bay. They have a boat load of functions for the kids and adults. That might be why they are so expensive. You have a chance to not only be with your friends and family but meet new campers. Even though they "can" break the bank I will continue to recommend this place for great family fun. Or for couples looking for alone time, it's a great place to spend it. For those "campers" who need a hotel room, this place will suit you fine. It's great for boaters, and water sports. They also have a beach section for some sand play. The facility is ALWAYS clean, and the staff always has great ideas for more fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$70
Always a pleasure here. Pricey, but a great location, with great staff, and clean facilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$27
This is one of the best campgrounds we have stayed in this year. The site we had (Select) was large enough for us, had a tree, and a view of the beach. The 2 pools, 2 hot tubs and grounds are clean and well maintained. Our first night we found out they were giving free shuttle rides to look at Christmas lights, so we went. Turns out they have shuttles that go several places. There are a lot of activities, including dances with live bands. Most activities are for kids (we have none with us) but some are adult oriented. Once school let out, it did get overrun with kids who aren't always polite and careful not to run into pedestrians. The amenities are all great- but I did feel like the boat/bike/jet ski rental prices were high. Overall, we would love to come back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$34
My nightly rate is for a monthly stay. I had a bay view site which I highly recommend. They are larger and offer great views of the bay. Drive around the park when you first arrive be sure to check out the E and F bay view site sections. The staff at the desk is hit and miss, I had both one girl that getting help was like pulling teeth and another guy that could not be nicer. Beware, for monthly people there is a mandatory orientation which starts at 10am on the dot, if you miss this you will be paying the full weekly or nightly rates. As I said the bay view sites offered plenty of space and this is by far the nicest campground location I found in San Diego. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$75
This is a great park if you have kids, they are catered for with lots of stuff for them to do. The beach was very nice although no life guard and considering this is such a family catered for park I would have thought they would have one. No life guard in the pool either alto I do not think that was so important as there was usually plenty of people there and children were not allowed to swim alone. You have no choice but to like your neighbor, very crowded. My big beef is the speed that people drive around the park even tho it is posted 5 MPH, i wish the management would police the speeders. Will go back again when I have children, would not go with adults only. Well run apart from the above comment We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$99
We will not return to Campland after staying here 3 years in a row! The place has gone WAY downhill. The place is so overfilled, that you can not even begin to get ANY privacy until you close your eyes to sleep. And that is after having to call the Park Rangers every night to chase off the dozens and dozens of kids grinding their skateboards until midnight, yelling words that would make your skin curl and making life miserable. People everywhere! Running through your site 24/7, smoldering wood fires ruining the interior of coaches, rude staff, would not even think of sending a fax for us, as we looked at the fax machine 5 feet away, they told us "Go to Kinkos". So many people, bike and scooter crashes are very common. Grass cutting and blowers a 7:30am, like it or not, blowing grass all over your coach and personal belongings, once again, they can care less. Hundreds of people come in everyday from outside to completely "stuff" the so called "private beach". Wireless is not a choice during peak hours (4pm-11pm)7 days a week, no IP addresses available when your competing with 3000 other people for the same addresses. Laundry room is full to capacity all day, I could go on and on, what a shame, this place used to be fun for the family, now, I want my 7 year old as far as possible from the unbelievable things that go on here, as my neighbor the spot next to me described it, it is like a drunk college town. I was here 15 miserable nights, this stuff went on and on and on, even after numerous folks complained! With no other parks having any space we were stuck. Have fun at Campland, you will never forget it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$99
This is definitely a family park, with parents and grandparents traveling with children of all ages, and their friends. It was common to walk by a group of 4 RV units with 4 or 5 tents forming a community campsite. The RV next to me had 10 bicycles to accommodate the group. Daytime sponsored activities included and castle building, field games, and evening karrioki. If you are looking for a quiet spot by the ocean, this is not a place for you. The park was a clean as a beach side park could be, with security and plenty of staff. I listed the rate at $99 but with all fees it was $103 a night. We went with our 7 year old granddaughter and had a great time. I would not go here with just my wife. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$80
This is a very large park with much to offer. Beach, pool, parks, laundry, store, shuttle bus, marina & boat rentals, skateboard park, market, cafe and more. This is a great location for children. We camped in G36. The space is so tight that we were unable to fully extend our awning. Our rig was literally on top of two (2) fire rings and we were unable to enjoy an evening fire. We need 50 amps and this was confirmed on our reservation (internet reservations must be paid at the time reservations are made) When we arrived, the site only had 30 amp. Quite hours do not begin until 11:00 p.m.. Privacy is an issue. At all hours of day and night, children running through space. Rentals, such as jet skis are very expensive. The location is tremendous. 15 minutes to Sea World. You can see the Sea World fireworks at night. Right on the bay. There is no better weather than on the Southern California ocean front (bay front) than the summer. I would give a higher review except for the lack of privacy, reservation snafu and tight space. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$65
Lost our registration, failed to charge us for one night (had to open a second transaction,) Office staff very condescending (verging on rude,) grounds crew starts at 0730 with blowers and hedgetrimmers, sites are TINY. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
Our nightly rate was based on an off-season, monthly stay. We wintered here and score it highly for amenities and a location that can't be beat. Enjoyed the heated pools and hot tubs throughout the winter. It's also a great spot for urban family camping. They've just installed a small skateboard park that younger teens will enjoy. Yes, it's tight, and yes it can get noisy especially as warm weather sets in, but where else can you get a bayfront stay in hyper-expensive San Diego for a shade over 30 dollars a night? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
This place is in the middle of the Mission Bay district of San Diego, but it felt like a park way out of town. Though it is huge (500 and some sites) it has a smaller camp ground feel. It filled up over the weekend, but never felt overly cramped. The bathrooms were spotlessly clean and plentiful in number. The whole place was nicely kept. They had lots of "extras" like a private beach, pool, spa, cable tv, good sized store, internet. It is kid friendly. We would stay again. I would recommend reservations on weekends and in the summer as it seems to be a popular place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2009
$99
This is a humongous RV & camping park. It was super tight & rigs were on top of one another. The location is fantastic - in the heart of Mission Bay. The amenities were great with Market, ice cream, BBQ, beach & more. We left a day early because it was very crowded and the sites were too close to each other. The place was clean. Pictures on website look way better than in person. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$42
We've been to Campland on the Bay three times in about five years. Each time is in March and we try to get in section G or B (with full hookups and cable) because the Amphitheater Park is a nice big green area to look at and enjoy even though you are sardined in with your neighbors. There are both pull ins and back ins, so you can choose your view. This is San Diego. Some great things to do and see, but property is at a premium. Our rate reflects Passport America which is half price (only during the winter season). The location is great, right on Mission Bay: bay front, not oceanfront, but there's no option for bay front. It's only 5 minutes from Mission Beach, Pacific Beach and Sea World, only 15 minutes from downtown San Diego, Balboa Park, Zoo and San Diego Harbor where the cruise ships come in, the aircraft carrier USS Midway is open for tours and the most awesome Maritime Museum offers sailing trips and excellent tours of ships (this was my favorite thing this time). Campland has two pools and two hot tubs. One pool is heated, the other not. My 9 year old son was swimming in the non-heated pool for an hour or two, but this was after we had just come back from playing in the ocean on Mission Beach. One thing I really appreciate about Campland is the free wireless. They also have lots to do all year round, several activities every day (check schedule on their website), ping pong, horseshoes, beach volleyball, bike, boat and golf cart rentals, game room, small restaurant/ice cream/snack bar on premises. It's a very nice place, although I can't see paying full price. We come during the winter for a few days each year during half price options. It's busy on weekends, but weekdays are pretty laid back. Was still not vacant, but not packed. Overall, a nice place for families. Sites are a little close and there are no pull through ones. The bay has sometimes been contaminated and the bay beach closed, but this year it was not. Just something you might want to call ahead about if that is important to you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$21
I can see how the reviews of this park can vary so much. I stayed in the D section, water, electric, TV hookups, no sewer. This section was almost empty so it was very private and quiet with a view of the bay and many shade trees. The same with sections A, B, and C, no sewer. The sections with full hook ups were very crowed with narrow spaces: not my style, and music coming from some rigs. In the summer, I understand that the place is very full with many families and many kids, so forget trying to swim in the pool. I would stay again in the winter season. I would not like any section during the summer and would not come here. I don't like crowded, noisy RV parks with small sites. Price reflects PA discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$53
Excellent location. Slightly cramped. Restaurant food sub par. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$62
Very nice, clean, close to SD Interstate. 24 hour guards (called rangers) Stayed 7 days We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$22
I can see why this park has mixed reviews. We are in the A section, which has water and electric only with shorter sites, but it is less crowded, more secluded, and very close to the pools. (The pools are warm enough to swim in 50 degree weather.) This park is in an ideal location in downtown San Diego, but well off the interstate, and with a passport America rate, the price is unbelievable. They also allow use of the rate up to 10 days if space is available. We stayed 9 days (the rate was $26 for weekend nights). The pools and spas are beautiful and spotlessly clean; the bay beach is nice. Our section of the park has large trees and is nicely landscaped. It has a very nice playground, and the bathrooms are nicely heated and clean. The downside is that the spots are very close, and while we have had a wonderful time, I imagine it would be unpleasant and noisy if the park was crowded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$90
Pretty pricey but well worth it. This is a great campground with direct bayfront access and their own private beach. The spaces were narrow but pretty easy to access. Friendly staff and very clean park. Take your kids, they will love it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2009
$65
Park was mostly empty but we were parked in a full very tight area. Spaces are very small and are not big rig friendly. We stayed for a week and did not get for what we were charged. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$29
Campland in the winter is a wonderful place. We are staying in the playground side of the park and it is worth the extra money. Our site is backed up to a green belt with the bay in the background. Grounds are very clean, staff is pleasant and security is great. Our rate is based on a monthly charge. It is a child friendly place which I appreciate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2009
$59
Most of the park is just a paved parking lot. The site we reserved was beach front, but were assigned an interior site instead. VERY SMALL SITES and VERY CLOSE !! This place is way over priced, the electric and sewer hookups were backwards: unable to gain access to the sewer. Because of the small size we were unable to park our tow car at our site. This was our second and last visit. Disappointing experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$23
We stayed here Monday through Thursday off-season. It was much less crowded than others have reported and very few kids until the last day. If you do go to this park, request to be on the west end of the park where there are more trees and a bit more room. Closer to the beach is where the spaces are like a parking lot. The rest rooms and showers were sparkling clean every time we used them. As for full-timer's rigs being substandard, I didn't see that at all. Our own rig is an '89 Bounder, so unless you look like you're heading to the Rainbow Gathering, we probably wouldn't notice age and condition of your rig. The staff were so-so friendly. Once I called up to the office with a question about the WiFi and left a message. I never received a call back and didn't push it since I'd already figured out the problem. Cleaning staff and store staff were very friendly. We stayed here on Passport America and the rate we quote here is the half-price rate for a Standard site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$10
This campground was an experience. We stayed in the J area along the grassy side by the entertainment tent. If you are going to stay at Campland, this is the place to stay. The sites are pretty small, but if you camped along the grassy area, you had a large area behind your site that you could use. We sat out and watched the people every night. They had live bands on the weekends and activities for the kids. Generally, we enjoy more room and a rustic environment, but this place was fun also. I know that some people have reported theft, however, we did not have any problems and were lucky to camp next to some great people. I would not recommend staying in the tent areas or anywhere else, just for size and room, and the entertainment factor. They had a private bay/beach area also that was nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$11
While our site, F09, was excellent for it's location, water front, size, spacious, and cleanliness, the rest of the park was so densely populated that RVs were shoehorned in at an alarming rate. I have never seen more people in one spot in my life. Realizing that summer season is filled with kids on bikes, the campground management has figured out how to slot some type of trailer, tent, 5th wheel, Class A, or Class C into every square foot. Unless you have a waterfront location, do not go there for peace and quiet. The beach, market, or rental facilities can't make up for the congestion. On a plus note, there were security people everywhere for crowd control and check in was efficient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$70
First time camping here and find it very expensive and extremely busy and congested with people and vehicles. It's open to the public to use for recreation and all manner of camping is allowed. It reminds me of a busy city. Our site at $70 is nothing but an asphalt space jammed up closely to our neighbors on either side. Even worse, we are nose-to-nose with another rig since our site is backed up to another. Talk about cramming everybody in for the most money. We had to leave Chula Vista RV Park since they were booked and it was so much nicer and quieter for less money. On the plus side, our Satellite TV works and the Wi-Fi is free and speedy. We camped here for 4 days. We have no plans to ever stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$70
After reading several reviews, mostly here and on RV.net, we were a bit worried to say the least. However, I have to admit, it was a nice stay. I do not think this would be the place to take the wife on a romantic getaway, but for taking the kids, it was nice. Our four little ones (ages 13 down to 4) had a blast! We rented a pedal boat for a couple hours and they enjoyed roaming the bay. Sea Doo's, ski boats, sail boats, catamarans, and other water toys all available for $$$. Sea World fireworks over the bay at night. Bathrooms and showers clean and, oddly enough, the entire park was really quiet after 10pm. A tab bit crowded; had neighbors to both sides and to the rear even though there were other spots that were empty. It would have been nice if the park staggered the occupants a bit more. Also pricey, but where else can you take the family to the beach and spend the night for that? Staff and other campers friendly. Fire pits and bench at every site. The cable TV was outstanding and kids had all the channels they watch at home. Didn't need to set up the DISH and that was an advantage. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$99
We enjoyed our trip very much. This place was nice and clean and has its own boat rentals, beach and kid programs. It is great for families. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$32
We reserved this spot with much trepidation following recent reviews (using Passport America,) but extended our stay to a total of 6 days. If you want to "go camping," then go to the woods. If you want to visit San Diego, being minutes from everywhere, then stay here. We felt very safe in spite of being in downtown San Diego! The staff was friendly, and overall the grounds well maintained. Yes, there were lots of kids around, but we love hearing the sounds of laughing children. The site are small, and there were lots of dogs barking, but all was quiet from 10:00 PM til 7:00 AM. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$48
Location, location, location. Great for sites in the San Diego area. We stayed here over Easter vacation. This campground is crowded and noisy. Noise from the all the children playing, is good noise. The campground has a lot of activities for school age children. The bad noise comes from the adults and their toys: golf carts, trucks, music, etc. We stayed in the dry camp site, I-39, that looks out onto the marina. We had a good view of the bay. Other areas of the park are mostly too crowded (for us) with little room between campsites. Some sites we saw had as little as 5 feet of space. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$45
Incredible location! The park was very nice. Pools and jacuzzi were excellent - in fact, this was the only campground where I've ever used the pool as we have one at home. Site were fairly level but tight to get in/out of. Price was not bad as we used Passport America for half off and we went during the off season. The prices can be astronomical during the summer months. On weekdays in the off season, they also have free rentals on kayaks, bicycles, etc. Not everyday but most of them. Lots of fun and plenty of places to visit in San Diego. I do wish the sites were a little larger for the Diesel Pushers and the summer prices were cheaper. The staff was the best I've ever seen. Very helpful and friendly. Wi-Fi was stable and ran at a good speed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$25
I stayed in a basic spot on winter weekdays that rent for $49, but they accepted my Passport America (PA) card for half price, which surprised me because of all the restrictions on PA use. Although I was down row L in a crowded parking-lot type site, we had a glimpse of the bay down the row since the adjacent site was vacant. The front-row bayfront sites have awesome views of Mission Bay and San Diego, but they are expensive. I stayed in them once when I was in town on business (not having to pay, and staying in those particular sites I would give the place a '9'). Even though the basic sites are crowded and sometimes claustrophobic, you can easily get out and within a short walk or bike are the Mission Bay beach and pleasant resort grounds and facilities. Prepare for lots of kids on days when school is out, and for limited availability in summer and winter weekends and holidays at this popular park. I am an avid biker and love to ride from the park mostly on bayfront bike trails to the ocean boardwalk in Mission Beach in less than 30 minutes, or do the 14-mile easy circuit around the Bay in 2 hours. For dining out and groceries, nearby Garnet Street is the key (turn left), with every kind of restaurant you could want, plus the excellent food markets Trader Joe's and Henry's. The staff was friendly, and let me check out my satellite in a few sites prior to finalizing my check in. There are varying amounts of trees throughout the resort which may cause a problem for your satellite. So, all in all, it's a huge RV park but with a friendly resort atmosphere rather than a trailer park atmosphere. It is very expensive for a campground, but you are paying for the prime location right on Mission Bay and the facilities. And, you get what you pay for with the type of sites you book. I have enjoyed my stays here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2008
$60
The roads could use a little help, and this really is just a glorified parking lot. It was a good place to go out from to see San Diego, but I would not choose to stay here long term. Some of the long term units were very old and run down looking, and there was also a large amount of duck poo all around the sites. There are many ducks that will sleep under your rig. The playground was also run down. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$75
Very nice park for a family. The campground was very kid oriented with many planned activities. Sites were very close together, but with good neighbors it posed no problem. High prices for the site space, but many things to do in the campground, and you cant beat the location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$75
It is truly a family campground, kids everyplace, but really neat. Plenty of things to do, was crowded, several family functions, but it was fun and clean. Highly recommend, if you are into family type outings. We had a nice spot with the view of Sea World and they had fireworks on Friday and Saturdays nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$70
Because many of the sights are crammed in together, we have had some good camping experiences as well as some not so good. In other words, neighbors have had a great influence on our quality of vacation at this resort. If you have a motorhome and your next door neighbor has a trailer, you can find yourself literally camping with each other as the tables are close together and there are no effective barriers. Also, some neighbors do not seem to obey the rules regarding noise at night, which is very frustrating. On the plus side, this park has a great location on Mission Bay. In addition, it has some great entertainment, including a hypnotist and several live bands. Overall, we enjoy Campland, but we have to be in the mood for it as it is not a place to relax in the true sense of the word. I see it as more of a non-stop party atmosphere with children and adults running around having a wopper of a good time. I will say that the winter season can be quiet and relaxing at this park, which is a nice change once in a while. It all depends what kind of camping experience one is looking for. Camp on! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$62
This is by far the best campground we have ever stayed at. We have been camping in our Motorhomes for over 6 years now. We have stayed at Campland On The Bay many times. And Campland On The Bay in San Diego, California has some of the best maintained sites around. Not to give away any secrets, but the Supersite is to die for with it's own jacuzzi and privacy fence right on the bay. From Vero Beach Florida to Diamond Lake, Oregon. We have had some pretty bad experiences (during summer when it's usually packed with kids) no duh! It's summer time. Summer, kids, they kind of go together. Stop whining, if you don't like kids, don't camp at Campland On The Bay because it is a family campground. I don't have and never have had any children. One thing I do realize though, is kids and fun go together. And skateboards are fun. Although noisy, none the less, fun. By the way, the speed limit in the park is 5MPH. One of the best parts about Campland On The Bay, is it's centrally located to Sea World, the World Famous San Diego Zoo and the Wild Animal Park. One more tip. The next time you find yourself parked next to a 1976 bus/motorhome, try talking to your neighbor, you just might find out you like them and end up having a little fun. Kudo's to everyone at Campland On The Bay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2007
$75
I have stayed at Campland on the Bay twice before and had a great time. This time it was unbearable; the campground was wall to wall kids, they were riding their bikes and skateboards EVERYWHERE, the pools and jacuzzi's were overrun with unsupervised children. The first night was so noisy we complained and they moved us to a "Bay View" site. While the first night was quiet the next night we had to listen to the "Best of the Bee Gee's" from 6pm - 9pm. The beach was filthy and littered with papers. The staff not does enforce the skateboarding rules and the quiet hours. We almost hit several children on bicycles and skateboards. We did enjoy the fireworks and the live band. We paid $75 per night to camp and had they charged us for the "Bay View" site we moved to it would have been $125 per night - But as earlier reviews have said "It's the only game in town"! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$75
As many have stated, the sites are packed in, and it is basically like a parking lot for much of the park. However, you are camping right next to a nice beach, in a location that is great to get to all the San Diego locations. If you plan on just sitting outside your RV for your trip, this is not the place for you. If you want to spend some time at the beach (this is a bay, no waves) and spend time going to the activities that they have and spend time exploring the San Diego area, this is a great spot. I have been here three times, and the kids love it. They have a security checkpoint you must pass through in order to enter. We have never felt unsafe in this park. Wish the cost were lower, but hey, it's San Diego and you can walk a few steps to the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$40
Close to family and friends, so worked out well for us. They put us in a too tight back-in space and couldn't get our slides out at first, but then moved us to a pull-through at no extra charge. Even then, the space was in a huge parking lot and were too close to others to put out our awning very far. The utility pole was too far away from where our electric connects, resulting in a bent plug. Watch out for other steel posts because they are short and easy to miss when putting out slides. Lots of kids on small vehicles can be a hazard when driving, so must drive very slowly. Excellent central location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
This park has the potential of being one of the best. To achieve that it will require a new management team or a commitment from the existing team to provide a park that will treat weekenders with more respect. Two issues need immediate attention. The first is the "permanent residents." They allow people to stay for up to nine months at a time during the winter months, without regard to type of rig. Mixed in the park are very old buses, motorhomes and trailers, that are occupied by large amounts of people, that look to be homeless. Some also have multiple vehicles, which crowd the small sites, making it much like an RV storage yard. This, in my opinion could be easily remedied by placing full timers with in a single location in the park which could be done very easily. The second issue is that if you are Passport America, you are automatically a second class citizen, and even if there are other available sites, you are placed next to one of the permanent rigs. This has happened to us each time, and this time, we traveled with another rig, and they made sure that between us was a 1976 San Diego city bus with two other vehicles of the same generation. The bus was occupied by at least five people, two dogs and couple of cats. The people were okay, but in and out all day and night. Unfortunately this will probably go on deaf ears since Campland by the Bay is pretty much the only game in town. Lastly, they say to lock things up because of people illegally entering the park and stealing things like bicycles. I wonder. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$58
Family park, Chula Vista is a better park for adults. Over-rated and crowded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$40
A wide variety of sites are available, situated around a toilet/shower house. There are a number of free organized activities; secure entrance & grounds; market, food & laundry room with good hours; pools & hot tubs clean & not crowded. Most sites are quite close together. The office staff could be more friendly, but they are appropriately business-like. Central location is good for bike rides or even walks around the bay area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2006
$30
What a dump! The only reason we came here was that it was recommended to us by camper we met in Estes Park, Colorado. He said: "Don't miss Campland on the Bay. It's beautiful." I don't know what he was looking at, but he sure wasn't looking at this place! It's a parking lot with hookups - and not a very good parking lot. Sites are tight and not maintained at all. We couldn't open our awning. There was just not enough room between us and our neighbor. The other side of our motorhome was even tighter. The big sites are just 40 feet which means you are parking your tow vehicle in the narrow streets. They have a few sites that they claim are 43-43 feet. But when I looked at them, they didn't look any bigger. We should have been suspicious from the beginning. When you make a reservation, they ask for the full amount up front and there are no refunds if you decide not to stay. We had to stay a week since we had paid for a week. We would have left the second day if we could have gotten our money back. The upside to our visit was that we were able to use Passport America to get a 50% savings. If we come back to the area, we'll not return to this dumpy campground. Trailer Life ratings were way off on this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
Stayed monthly and while the rates go up for the summer and it isn't possible to stay monthly. The sites are very tight with little room for 1 or sometimes 2 vehicles. the campground is clean, the pool / jacuzzi's are nice. Great laundry room. Despite the tight sites, the rangers are very helpful and friendly. Always willing to help getting into / out of sites and with any general questions / concerns. Recommend this park!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$95
We have stayed here numerous times in the past few years. The kids really enjoy it. I do not recommend staying over the 4th of July. It was a struggle to decide how to rate the CG this time. I decided to rate it based upon my previous visits. We ended our trip early because of the following situations: On Sunday got about 3 hours of sleep and so did all my neighbors. They had gang fighting at the beach and police showed up to break it up, teenagers were smoking pot and having sex at the cafe after hours, teenagers were drinking and the security staff could not control the occupants. Also, my teenagers did not want to leave the MH after dark. They had been skateboarding and people came up behind them and tried to trip them while they were skating. Also, they had some kids just walk up to them and try to start a fight. Another parent also had a similar enoounter. The next day we spoke to the staff and they agreed that they themselves would not take their kids to this park on the 4th. They also added that this time of the year, is referred to as hell days. On Monday, we had to move spots and thank the Lord. We moved between two older couples who were mellow and I thought great, I can get some sleep and we can stay here for a couple days. The beach area was a little tense in the afternoon with many occupants getting drunk. Nightfall set in and the park was still sort of acceptable. However, that quickly changed. The yelling and screaming started and continued through the early morning hours. A couple sites down from me, people were getting drunk and other. Then a crowd of adults began forming and the "french" conversations began. I thought that I had seen it all until that happened. That was the nail in the coffin. I got a little more sleep that night. I managed to sleep for a few hours and we left this morning. The staff at Campland were nice and friendly as well as sympathetic. My toad almost got hit twice. The first time was by a bicyclist who was drunk and the second time was by a golf cart with drunk drivers as they tried to race down the street cutting each other off and running into one another. When I told them to watch the car, they kept speeding along flipping me off. The San Diego PD's presence was reassuring however, it was not frequent enough. Also, it seemed that there were not enough secuirty staff present to control the crowds. We would not stay here for the 4th again. However, I am planning in returning back later this summer for a weekend and I expect that the problem that I had enountered will happen once and not repeat itself. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$99
Campland was ok, it had many amenities for a family to enjoy and the restroom/showers were clean. However, for the price I have been at better places. The site was very small, you were literally bumping into your neighbor. The place is very noisy so do not expect peace and quiet. The crows will be sure and wake you up every morning bright and early. I do not believe I will be staying here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2006
$65
Yuk! We requested (and paid) for a waterfront site. We were put in an area overlooking the "Ecological Study Area". It was filled with every kind of trash you can think of. Our site was so small that when I sat down on the picnic table, I banged my head on our neighbor's slide out. Never again. I hear that there is an RV park in Chula Vista that is much, much nicer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$55
We stay here every year during Spring Break. Our favorite sites are near the estuary and little park (not playground). The restrooms are always clean, with plenty of hot water. The 2 pools and 2 spas are always clean, as is the whole pool area. The numerous activities for the kids make it fun for a whole week. The private dock makes it a great place to stay with the boat. The beach at the campground is nice for the little kids, and its close to LaJolla Shores for the bigger kids to enjoy the beach. Water skiiing, fishing and tubing are all easy to access. The game room, cafe, store, and laundry room are all clean and well maintained. Lighted basketball and horseshoe pits are also used by the kids. Great place in big city to camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$52
We spent 4 days at Campland On The Bay, we puchased a bayview site. The park is old and well maintained, they have a lot of large trees with over hanging limbs, that came into play with the larger rigs. Our site was quite small and part blacktop and dirt. Roads are narrow and vehicles parked on the side of the road make it tight backing in and pulling out. The staff was very pleasant making the reservations and checking in. Great location for San Diego attractions, but all sites are not set up for large rigs. There are a lot of activities for kids and the park has a private beach on Mission Bay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$68
The spaces in the affordable area were similar to parking at Walmart, only closer. The park was dirty and the people were not very friendly. The positive side of this park were the activities for the kids and the private beach area. I will not be returning to this campground, nor will I recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2005
$50
We spent 7 days at Campland On The Bay, we puchased a bayview site. The park is old and well maintained, they have a lot of large trees with over hanging limbs, that came into play with the larger rigs. Our site was quite small and part blacktop and dirt, it rained a lot that week which created a muddy site. Roads are narrow and vehicles parked on the side of the road make it tight backing in and pulling out. The staff was very pleasant making the reservations but not the same checking in. Great location for San Diego attractions, but all sites are not set up for large rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$65
A huge, great resort style park on Mission Bay in San Diego. Staff was very distant however, mostly teens and twenty somethings who acted like they didn't care if you were there or not. Lot's to see and do very close (Sea World, Wild Animal Park, Zoo, et.al.) I would come close to giving it a 10 if the staff were better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com