223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Fiddler's Cove RV Park (Military Camping Only) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (619) 522-8680
CGID462

Fiddler's Cove RV Park (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   5   7   5   5   8   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
Waterfront sites, close to the Hotel Del Coronado, bike and boat rentals on site, new level concrete pads, clean restrooms & showers, but spotty internet access though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
Great park that's well worth the price. It is new so how it is in a couple of year's we'll have to see. Weekends getting very busy, but weekdays no problem. We will be back whenever in SD! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$37
Nice location. Nice views. Pricey for a military campground. Pictures imply coaches can pull nose in to bay views. Better have power, water and sewer extensions. Bay views were designed for fifth wheels and trailers with that picture window in back. Gravel, concrete, and sand to seawall. Not made for swimming. Most rules restrictive park we've used. Yet, it seemed they were selective on which rules (allowed tents and non-commercially built trailers to use camp sites). I don't have a problem with that, but it was against the rules. Now the bad. The staff was "abrupt". When I commented to manager about it, the response was, "...well. you have to understand that she..." Next, do not show up before 1300 and expect to go to your site if it is open. Check in is at 1400, which they'll be very happy to tell you. You'll have to argue successfully to wash the bugs off the front of your coach but no hose rinse. Don't waste your money on fire pits. They are 30-40 ft away from a place that might be usable near your coach and are located on a 25 degree slope down to the sea wall. Dog park is nice, but is located 1/2 mi away. You cannot access the beach across the road. It is closed for military maneuvers all the time. Gates from housing area left open and bikes were stolen while we were there. There were non-military people using the park. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$18
We stayed with friends here because he is retired military reserve. They are allowed one guest. Our rate was $18 as a visitor and the military rate was $12. Your location with the bay, Coronado bridge, naval ships and the Pacific Ocean just across the Strand is excellent. The bike path into Coronado and to Imperial Beach is very good and convenient. As this campground is under construction every site is dry camping with easy access. It will be interesting to see what it looks like when they finish building full hook-ups. Obviously you will listen to generators quite often but you have to expect that under the circumstances. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
This Park is still not funded. Now all sites are dry camping. There is a dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$22
We stayed here 7 nights the week of 18 Feb 2007. This is a Navy run MWR park that is only available to military and DoD civilians and Coast Guard. Qualified persons CAN sponsor a non-military guest rig. The greatest thing this park has going for it is its location. Coronado, San Diego, Tijuana Mexico, Sea World, the ocean and the San Diego Zoo are all easily accessible. So, the park gets a top rating for location. From there, the campground itself struggles. Campground Pro’s: Location; nice marina and boat rentals available; small store; gated entrance, kid friendly. Campground Con’s: Very narrow sites; no sewer hook-ups; bathrooms are not clean – this is also a Marina and everybody uses the same bath and latrine facilities and it shows; limited recreational facilities beyond boats on site; no organized activities such as cards or crafts; first come/first served policy selectively adhered to regarding sites; NO WIFI access without paying $4/hr ( and then it’s very slow). As a retiree with 30 years service, I look at MWR as our club membership, yet, I’m not seeing the value. When we come to San Diego in the future, we will opt to use our regular campground membership and stay elsewhere in the near-by area at a park with the amenities we like, surprisingly at a fraction of the cost of Fiddler’s Cove. I guess we’re spoiled and we’ll vote with our boots. The Navy has not gotten it right. I’d suggest they send a staff person to Davis-Monthan AFB in Tucson to learn from those who do have it right. As stated, the Park has a perfect location and if you’re only using it for a base of operations for a short period, you’ll be satisfied. The Park at San Onefre would be a better choice, park wise. This Park is scheduled to close September 2007 for 4 months (or more) for a total reconstruction. This should solve some of the physical site deficiencies. It’s a GREAT opportunity to get it right! An earlier reviewer noted that they would stay in the dry sites on future visits. If you have a generator and sufficient water, there’s wisdom in this thinking. After 2 nights in the partial hookup area, we moved to the dry area and were somewhat happier. This time next year the facilities issues should be a mute point. Finally, to avoid a potentially thrilling trip over the bay bridge into Coronado, I’d suggest coming up highway 75 from the south (exit 5A off of I-5) through Imperial Beach. You’ll avoid the high winds on the bridge and snaking through the narrow highway and traffic in Coronado to get to the Park. I hope this review helps. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$12
Beautiful view of San Diego Bay! RV and camp sites are located right along the water. Lots of family water events to enjoy, including sailing, canoeing and kayaking. Bring your bikes and enjoy the nice biking trails up and down the strand. There are a lot of nice shops and restaurants within easy biking distance. Facilities have always been clean and neat (shower, bathrooms, laundry room, etc.) every time we have visited. This RV park is located off-base and is open to active duty, retirees, DoD civilians and civilian guests without ID's when accompanied by an eligible sponsor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$19
This park is run by Navy MWR. Fire rings are only located on sites next to water. Sites in second row are out of luck. Camp hosts were not very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$19
You must be active or retired military to stay. The campground is on the Strand (Coronado). It has a little store and snack bar available. Very quiet and each site has a fire ring for those chilly beach nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com