220021 User submitted reviews online!!
Betabel RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 89 user reviews. Phone: (831) 623-2202
CGID466

Betabel RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   9   9   9   8   7   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$44
This is a very attractive park, well-maintained with plantings. We were sent first to a site that not only could we not possibly maneuver into but we would have been hanging out on both sides. Luckily, even though they were quite full, they were able to find us another nice spot for our stay. Cable was adequate, but Wi-Fi was bad at our site. I was able to get good reception in the rec room, though, which is open 24 hours. Good selection of items in store. Clean laundry and good pool. Big area for dog walking. There are a few pull-throughs that big-rigs can fit into but most back-ins are for smaller rigs. There is a train track behind the park, but noise is not bad. Very quiet at night. Highway traffic is minimal. Lots of seasonals. Park is convenient to shopping and San Juan Bautista and good for sightseeing in Santa Cruz and Monterey. Park fills up fast, so I recommend reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
This was a nice park with only a couple hiccups. First, the showers in the female showers were clean minus the hair and gum in the drain that my wife had to clean but it was not that big of deal. Then our pull-through site had an uphill battle with the sewage hose. Yes, the drain is uphill from the rig. Other than those two things, this place is nice, the people are friendly, and I would stay here again if I'm in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$41
This is a nice park. We stayed in a pull thru and with our motorhome being 40ft. we just barely had enough room for our car. But this was ok. The spaces are a little tight but still very nice. Everyone who worked here was very nice and helpful. There's even a place to wash your car. There is a very nice large grassy area to let your dogs run, not fenced though. This is centrally located to so many places, i.e.,Santa Cruz, Monterey, etc. We would not hesitate to come back if in this area. Don't know about the restrooms as we didn't use them but, if they are like the rest of the park, they must be nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$41
Right off Hwy-101 for easy access, and quiet at night. Sites are a bit close together, but manageable. Wifi and cable TV worked great, but some internet sites are blocked if they use excessive bandwidth (games, movies, etc). Restroom/shower in campground very small but clean, best to use the one next to the pool area. large pet area. We had their free breakfast on Sat. morning. Campground was full, best to make reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$41
We stayed here for 5 nights while visiting friends in the area. Great park. Clean. Level pads. Shrubs between most sites. Great office staff. Easy access right off Hwy 101, but no traffic noise. There is a train that goes through about 9pm but you just hear the engine noise, no horn blowing. We did not use the restrooms. The laundromat was adequate with a sink for rinsing things if needed. We used our DirecTV and got a good signal. Same with our Millenicom Mi-Fi. The pool is seasonal and was not open, but I assume they will drain and clean the pool before long. There are many long term folk there, but all sites are well maintained. You are just 6 miles from Gilroy with any store you could possibly need. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$43
Very nice. Clean. Long term sites are well kept. Appreciate cement level pads. Park is quite full for February. Close to Monterey but away from ocean wind/cold. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$45
Sites are very close to each other and not a lot of space to set up or park another car. Good access for large vehicles/trailers. Nice area, friendly people. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$42
A beautiful park. Good utilities, level, gravel sites. Just off Hwy 101 but no road noise. Lots of tourist attractions on day trips. We highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$41
t's been about 4 years since our last visit to this park, a park which we've always ranked among our favorites. At that time, the facility was adding new sites. Some of the new sites are asphalt parking devoid of landscaping. Others have a tree. We were fortunate to be assigned one of the older pull-thru's with hedge landscaping tall enough to provide good privacy. The site has nice trees. We had no rooftop satellite TV interference. The disclaimer regarding the provided Wi-Fi proved accurate, so we successfully used our 4G. Level required driving onto blocks before deploying the jacks. Many others had their front wheels completely off the ground, especially in the newer section. There is a cool breeze that usually kept things very comfortable. I also liked that it is permissible to wash the RV as long as reasonable guidelines are adhered to. The park is in the middle of nowhere, but reasonably close to a wide variety of great places, ranging from Monterey to Santa Cruz to Cupertino to Hollister. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$43
Nicely laid out park. We had a great pull-through site. Great shade trees, but did not interfere with satellite dish. Lots of permanents, but nicely kept sites. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
We stayed here for two weeks and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It was a great location for us to explore both the Monterey and Santa Cruz area. The staff were very friendly. Nice, large check in area. Spots in the middle have privacy hedges on both sides, but are a bit tight for big rigs with slides. Plenty of extra parking. One the the best RV parks for pets, with two huge grassy areas. A large percentage of extended stay residents. They were very friendly and their spots mostly well maintained. The restrooms were always clean, but could use some updating. The main restrooms and showers were in the office complex, which was at one end of the park. There was just one men's and one women's single stall restroom/shower in the most congested area of the park. The pool was nice. The general store was well stocked and included vegetables from a community garden in the park. Easy access off the highway with a frontage road that provided some noise buffer. Train track near by, but only heard it once or twice a day. Large community fire pit. Dump station included area to give a quick wash to your toad. Had satellite, so can't speak to the cable system. Garbage pick up was once a week and by the fifth day the dumpsters were overflowing. The Wi-Fi was simply terrible....we rarely were able to get on. Would stay again, but they really need to get better WiFi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Advertised as a resort but it's not. It's a trailer park. Once you get over 70% permanent residents it starts to get the flower pots, lawn art, storage sheds, and accumulated junk. Power was extremely low considering you don't need to run your A/C. In the 112V range most of the time. Showers were relatively clean but very out dated. Best feature was the fresh vegetables in the office from there local garden. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
We stayed here one night and the after hours check in was easy. The pull through was fairly level and the hook ups were well laid out. Plenty of room between sites. There appears to be a lot of full timers. The area we stayed in was devoid of landscaping, but the other end of the park was well landscaped. The Wi-Fi totally sucked. Most common sites were blocked and the message stated the wi-Fi was for email and banking. Clean RV park with friendly staff. The TV shows were limited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$41
1. Site #96 may be one of the longest, most beautifully landscaped, pull through sites we've ever stayed in. 2. Park is immaculately groomed with beautiful shade trees, grass, and great amenities. 3. Powerful wi-fi, but is tightly locked down so don't expect to use YouTube, Google groups etc. Can use Facebook, and most emails, etc. Just be sure you have something like Verizon Jetpack, or AT&T hotspots if you have to do any business work. But Betabel's wi-fi will help save your 'minutes'. We had good Verizon and AT&T data while here as well as good AT&T cell service. 4. Is located in a 'country' sitting so you need a toad to get to San Juan Bautista and other locales. San Juan Bautista is a must visit--kind of a hippy artistic community but do not miss taking the Tour of the Mission that dates back to 1777. Fantastic restoration. Also the short drive to Hollister is worth the time as is a visit to the Pinnacles State Park (about 40 minutes away from RV Park)--Pinnacles has awesome rock formations and neat hiking trails. You have to hike if you want to see the park as driving won't cut it. 5. Staff is friendly, and the pool looked nice, but we didn't use it. 6. Just minutes from Gilroy another must visit for stores, food, and activities---it is the garlic capital of the world. Ever have Garlic wine? 7. Would stay at this RV park again. Rate for California is very reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
We have stayed here at different times for about 10 years. It was one of our favorite quick getaways; not so much anymore. The park is becoming more rundown and a bit dirtier with each visit. Restrooms are not well cleaned. In fact, I no longer use them, though my husband does. He does NOT remove his shower shoes! Managers sit directly outside the restrooms and laundry doors to smoke, rather than going a few yards away. And finally, the multitude of 'maintenance men' whiz around the park but do NOTHING to clean up sites between rentals. The abundant bird droppings are noxious and left to pile up on the site patios. These issues used to attended to but the last three visits here left us very disappointed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
This was a really nice park. It has everything. Level concrete pads large enough for the 30-foot RV, truck, and a sitting area. The sites have ample room between them. Staff is friendly. There are pet areas, a pool, a quiet setting, and wide asphalt roads to maneuver. Great place to explorer Monterey Bay and surrounding areas. The towns of Gilroy and San Juan Bautista have great shopping and restaurants. Check out the mission. There are some full time residents, but their sites are kept up and the folks are friendly. Did I mention you can wash your rig? A big plus. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
This is probably our favorite site and we come here often. Our dog loves the big field and we enjoy side trips to San Juan Bautista. The managers are always friendly and we love the little store. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$39
+ 8 Paved pull through; quiet, which is surprising considering how close the park is to Hwy 101. Toured the mission which was well worth the time. -2 Downside: electricity low; needed leveling blocks in front. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$38
Overall this is a nice park. Two glaring problems keep it from a much better rating. First, the water pressure is low. It was marginally acceptable at best. Secondly, and more importantly, the internet was not acceptable. We saw previous reviews with that as a concern and mentioned the concern when we checked in. The staff person indicated that they had made a major upgrade to it within the last week. We did find that the signal was very strong. So if that is what was upgraded, it worked. However even with a strong signal, either the router or the connection from the park to the provider was poor. Many web requests were slow to respond - 5 or more seconds and in the evenings, about half of the requests timed out. The same web sites responded quickly when using mifi on our 4g Verizon phones. Hopefully, the park can fix this problem. We would really consider staying here again if we see reviews indicating that the internet issue has been resolved. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$38
We stayed for two days based on the reviews here. Nice and clean. Some areas are tight for a 45' motorhome but the pull-through sites work. Internet is slow at times. This is one of the few parks in CA that allow washing of motorhome and cars by owners. Very much appreciated. Our coach needed it after a run down I-5 in bad weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$38
Easy fun check in. Nice long pull through for the night. Clean park, nice sites. Wi-Fi is slow, but great 4G service. Nice dog runs. We're coming back in Aug. with our club & look forward to 3 days. Would stay here again when doing the 101 anytime. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
This is an ideal park in an ideal setting. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Extra activities are planned periodically such as the free BBQ and potluck dinner the night we arrived. The spaces are large and tree lined with lush grass and well maintained shrubs. We will definitely stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
Easy to get in and out of from route 101 and move inside the park. Clean, well organized and well landscaped park. Lots of green open space for games or walking around. One area has sites with level concrete pads, the other area is asphalt with a bit of slope. The laundry facility is clean and well maintained. The camp store has a fairly broad range of camping necessities. The park is conveniently located between San Juan Bautista and Gilroy for shopping and other services. The park hosts were very helpful and friendly. My only negative comment, the Wi-Fi system is not up to the demand. We had to log on either before 8:00 am or after 11:30 pm to get workable Internet access. We stayed for 12 days and would stay in this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
Clean place and friendly staff. I will stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
We've driven by this campground for many years and always admired it from the road, when we had the opportunity to be in the area at stopping time we were delighted to stay here . . . it is a VERY pleasant park & WE WILL BE BACK! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$39
Quiet setting amidst a forest of shade trees, which blocks any highway noise. Long cement pads. Friendly staff. Plenty of showers at the main facility. Don't count on the satellite facility, which has only one private toilet/shower per gender. Only negatives: Voltage too low (115), showers a little cramped, and a bit too much clutter showing in the long-term spaces. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$33
The rate is based upon a weekly stay. Overall it is a nicely layer out RV park. Train noise is loud during the day, but I never heard it late at night. The lower restroom is only one self contained room per gender. The upper restroom has more facilities. My biggest complaint is the park's electric. We have a digital display inside of our unit. Be warned that the park's voltage is low. I turned off the electric to the refrigerator, so with just the hot water heater running on electric plus only the trailer with the lights I frequently see 107/108VAC. THIS IS RIDICULOUS. There will be times it will jump up to 111VAC, but I have never seen it higher than that. I am plugged into the 50amp service. So, for this reason alone I will not return to this park. Low voltage is dangerous to RV's and I can not understand why RV Parks do not have enough power to keep this from happening. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$40
Very nice park with many full timers but well kept. Very big rig friendly, very nice management and very clean. Nice dog walk area, but we found an area where could run our big dogs off leash. (Not sure they would approve). Wi-Fi is good only for email, but good cell coverage so 3g data worked well. They had space for short term storage so we were able to leave our RV for a few weeks so we could return home in our toad (very reasonable rate). We will return when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$36
The freeway exit and entrance are lengthy and not steep making access easy. Interior roads are paved, and turns are easy. Pull through concrete pad was good for our 38 footer. Cable channels were adequate. The reception was good. Wi-Fi did not work so we were unable to monitor home security, get travel information, make reservations, etc. We were in row 100. We were able to make an internet reservation from home. Website was informative. Train tracks are on far side of the river. Train is infrequent. We only heard the train about 8 p.m. We could not hear freeway traffic. It appears at least half of the park is dedicated to extended stay campers. This is a good location to visit San Jose, Santa Cruz, Monterey, Salinas, San Juan Bautista, etc. Pool looked nice, but it was kept covered. Our small dog enjoyed its stay. Office was very helpful and friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$38
This is a nice clean park and we have stayed here before in 2009. We came here with friends because we had found it very satisfactory in the past. However, the Wi-Fi does not work and the office gave us an excuse that they have to use satellite technology because of the surrounding farms. I am sure a service provider like Tengonet would be able solve their problems. I would gladly pay a fee for the service. During our stay the power went out, and was out all night affecting our heat, water heater and refrigeration. The office has no backup for the power outage and reported in the morning that a circuit breaker had tripped. This was a major inconvenience. The owners should do more to ensure that they offer services that campers expect for this price. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$36
We love this lovely park. The hosts are helpful and friendly, the park is super clean and pet friendly. The Wi-Fi is strong and so is the cable. We've stayed here several times, both in the "countryside" paved section (closer to the hills & trees) and in the area where the permanent rigs are located (with trees/grass). The park's residents/guests are quiet. Just a little Hwy 101 noise but not nearly enough to keep us awake at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$35
Wonderful park with easy access from Hwy 101. Very clean, all paved and landscaped. Office very friendly. Nice rec room and a little store. Lots of snowbirds here, but no problem accommodating us. Park was very quiet even though it was close to interstate. Pool looked nice but was covered for winter. Good location for seeing the Monterey and San Jose area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
Park is in a very central location with easy commute to San Juan Bautista (cute little town), Hollister, Gilroy (good shopping & Costco), Watsonville, Monterey, and Santa Cruz. Quiet older park, well maintained, and although it's off of Hwy 101, we only heard the train occasionally: nice and quiet at night. Planned on staying 3 nights, but extended our stay for two more nights. Upon checkin we were told by the hosts (very nice folks), that we might stay longer so they moved us to a different pull-through site. Park is completely paved. Our spot had 1 tree and no green shrubs on either side to mark the spot, which other spots did have. We had long-term campers on either side of us. One had their "stuff" spread outside of their trailer, which looked a bit messy, but we had ample room for our two slideouts, and our un-hitched tow vehicle. A picnic table was at our site. Was looking forward to using the pool, but advised that the heater wasn't working and water was cold. Dog "run" was down a long, isolated dirt path that led to a clearing, but it was unlighted, and too scary to go to at night. No other designated dog area, but plenty of clean-up bags and trash containers available. Putting greens and shuffle board on site. Basketball hoop. Two large grass areas but not fenced. Poor or non-existent Wi-Fi, but good cable TV service. Little store with basics/wine/ice, and good variety of brochures on the dining and sightseeing in the area. Need a large, grassy, fenced, dog area. Pool table in "dated" club house, along with a Wi-Fi hotspot that worked better than at the RV site. $38.61 per night with Good Sam or AARP discount. No extra charge for our two dogs. Would stay here again, but would ask for a spot away from long-term campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Not a bad park, however, we were located in a narrow site on all asphalt area. Very close to other trailers, while there were other sites available with wide, concrete with hedge in between. A good park for using as a point to do day trips to Monterary, Carmel and Gilroy. Again a big beef, not much of a dog run for us folks with larger dogs. We need off leash areas for them to run. Wi-Fi was very slow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
We came to the Betabel RV resort for 4 days for our 12th wedding anniversary. We wanted a nice central location to explore the Monterey, Gilroy area, and we found it. This is a wonderful park that has everything you could need. It's nice and quiet, yet easy access to the highway. Lots of green belts which stay lush because dogs are not allowed on them, but also a couple of nice wide open areas where you can take your well trained dog and throw the ball for them. There is a pool, horse shoe pits, putting green and Boce ball courts. For those familiar with RVing in California, I'd equate it to 49er in Plymouth, and JGW or Durango RV resorts in the Redbluff/Redding areas. When we are back in this area, we will return to this RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
This is a very nice park and we highly recommend it. The pull-through sites are long and wide with privacy bushes between each site. The people are friendly and helpful. We loved this park and will return as soon as we can. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
Great place to camp! We stayed one night only as we were just passing through and the wife wanted to visit family in the area. Staff was friendly, check-in was simple, easy to navigate the roadways, site was level and easy in/out. The highway is there, but relatively quiet. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
I stayed here for 4 days. A real gem and great value for the price. Well-maintained and quiet, with nice shaded and private sites. It is a great location for visiting Monterey (30 minutes drive) on the coast or hiking the Pinnacles National Monument (50 minutes drive). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
This is a nice campground for an overnight. Adjacent to the 101 Hwy and it is very quiet in evening. Good spot to explore the adjacent area of Carmel and Monterey. If you stay here check out the Mission at San Juan Bautista. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
We spent a week here and found the park to be, overall very satisfactory. The spaces are twenty feet wide and at least fifty feet long and all concrete. They are very level and have privacy hedges between each space. The grounds are very clean and well landscaped and the toilets, showers and laundry are immaculate. The park is very pet friendly and they even have a grassy area where dogs can be let off leash. The location is great for visiting Monterey for a day trip. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. The only negative is that the park seems to be at least fifty percent long term and a few of the long term rigs are starting to become iffy. Overall that is not a problem however as the short term spaces tend to be away from the long term spots. We would return here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
We just enjoyed two lovely nights at the Betabel Rv Resort. This campground is maticulously maintained and the grounds are beautifully landscaped. The sites are concrete with patios and picnic tables as well as privicy hedges between the rather close sites. An excellent base from which to explore the Monterey Pennsula and the California Central Coast. Anytime we're in this area we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
This is a very attractive park and centrally located for exploring this area. Has friendly staff, and nice shade trees between sites. The pool needs cleaning and the restrooms need updating as fixtures are very old yet clean. Really enjoyed the assistant managers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
Large laundry room but dryers were very inefficient in term of number of times (90 minutes on hot) needed to dry towels and jeans. While San Juan Bautista is a quaint little town, Gilroy (8 miles north of the campground on 101) is a larger city for more grocery, dining, movie options, and the lovely smell of garlic being processed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$34
Very nice park with very friendly staff. Good free Wi-Fi. AT&T and Verizon had good cell coverage. All concrete with good sized pull through sites. Nice overnight park. Located about 5 miles south of Gilroy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$34
Overall, there is a lot to like about this park, however I have a big complaint that really overshadows everything else. The free WiFi is an absolute joke. Frankly, I'm fed up with RV parks that advertise WiFi, and either don't deliver or deliver a service that is far, far below what anyone would expect. When I connected, it took over five minutes to open my home page (google.com). The process of coming to this website and writing a review took almost 10 minutes just to login and get to this page. When I tried to visit www.tvguide to see what's on TV, I find that it's blocked because of "bandwidth limitations." Absolutely absurd, and a blatant ripoff. If a park advertises WiFi, it should deliver a usable product. I don't need a pool. I don't need a pool table. What I do need, and I'm sure I'm not alone in this: is usable internet access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$34
This is a very nice, immaculate park with great facilities, friendly staff. There is some road noise, but it was slight. The sites were well maintained with hedges and plantings. The management even allows you to wash your RV at your site and provides a place for you to wash your vehicle in the park. We very much enjoyed our one-night stay and would definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$34
This is a really nice park. The lanes are wide and the spaces are plenty wide for slide-outs on both sides. There are no tight turns. The staff is friendly and helpful. The small convenience store is not huge, but it has all the things you forgot. Most importantly, it has beer, ice and ice cream, in addition to milk, eggs, chips. You get the idea. Wi-Fi service was fine. We were at the far northern end of the park, the furthest spot from the office and we still had 4 to 5 bars. Freeway noise is simply not an issue, even though the park is just off the freeway. As a previous review mentioned, the park is set below grade, so any noise is blocked. The train noise is hardly noticeable and, also, is not an issue. The location is perfect, midway between Gilroy (garlic) and San Juan Bautista (Alfred Hitchcock’s “Vertigo”). Monterey is a relatively short drive and the price here is much more economical than the parks in that area. There are only two, very small issues that prevent me from giving the park a “10”. First, the slope of the park was a little too much for my air levelers making me perfectly level. Not a terribly significant issue, but worth mentioning. Most all of the long term guests have their tires blocked to achieve level. Second, many of the trees in the park are positioned so they block a clear view of the south if your satellite antenna is located near the front of your motor home, as many are. It took a little maneuvering, but there was enough room to reposition our rig to get service. We will most certainly be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$32
Betabel RV Resort is a nice, clean, friendly place to stay. The spaces are little small for the trailer,38' fifth wheel, and parking your truck in. The spaces are level and easy to set up in. The pet area is nice but would better if they were enclosed so dogs could run and get rid of some energy. Close to Monterey and Santa Cruz. Will definitely stay there again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$27
Mixture of long term, transient, and RV club guests. They have a special RV club area and extra club room, a real nice idea. We found no power or water issues. No freeway noise (and our hearing is intact). Clean. A train runs through the valley occasionally, but not unpleasant. Rate reflects weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
Price reflects Good Sam discount. Grounds extremely well cared for. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Poor WiFi bandwidth. Good 3G signal. Pull through was tight with our 42 footer and tow vehicle. Some traffic noise at night, so request a site away from the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
Over the past few years we’ve enjoyed our stays at this park. Prior to retirement we would stay for a week at a time either visiting family or attending training conferences in the area. It was a nice park, but is losing it. The last two visits (Labor Day week, 2009 and the months of August and September, 2010) have been plagued with problems and it seems to be getting worse. While the office staff is generally friendly, most of the clerks can best be described as loopy or dizzy. They refer even the simplest decisions to the manager. It seems that only she can make these. There have been multiple problems with the water supply and the electrical power. Overall the power grid is weak. The voltage is low and there are frequent outages. We had three during out last visit. Water pressure is also low and we had four episodes of no water or very low pressure. There weren’t any adjustments or compensation for these problems! The dog run and many of the common areas are over run with burrs and puncture vines. Not a pleasant experience for pets, children or bike tires. The were several guys riding around on golf carts, but other than picking up a few bits of trash and sorting out the recycles, no one could figure out what they did. During our early visits they had a great, but additional cost Wi-Fi service. In later visits this had degraded to a pathetic hot spot near the office. At the end of our last visit, the service was expanded to park wide, but was still weak and inconsistent. When we went to check out, they had a tremendous amount of trouble calculating our final bill. Apparently the electric meter was not read at the end of the month and since we stayed five days into the next month, this confused the office staff. When I tried to suggest as simple solution, the manager got defensive. With all of the infrastructure problems this park has they need to be more attuned to customer service. We may return if staying there fits our plans and needs, but won’t be staying long term. Daily rate is based on monthly charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$55
Very nice park for a quick stay. Right off the highway with easy access. The grounds are neatly maintained, and clean facilities. Our boys even commented on how clean the showers and bathrooms were - now that's a glowing recommendation when it comes from teenagers! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
This is a nice little park. Lots of full time residents, but well kept up. Visitor area is not as pretty, but still nice. Paved, level, decent space, with picnic table. Once the young trees get going, the visitor area will be even nicer. Staff were really friendly. Very welcoming place. Close to the highway, but because it is below grade, road noise was not an issue. Likewise for the railway behind the park. Infrequent train traffic, rolling noise, no horns. Beautiful hills view, cottonwood seed blizzards, etc. Would visit again, and send friends here. Handy to San Jose. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
Lots of pull throughs. We were in one of the biggest sites in the park. Site 96. 90 ft long. Some of the other sites you can get a 40 ft rig on but your truck or car will have to sit sideways on the site or be parked someplace else. Close to Highway 101. The closer to the highway the more traffic noise you will hear. Train tracks run on the other side of the park. Can hear them go by and once in a while the horns. Satellite dishes: Depends on where you are parked. There are areas where trees will be a problem, but other areas that are satellite friendly. The park has way too many speed bumps. 16 channels of cable TV. No Wi-Fi at the trailer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$34
We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Monterey and San Jose which were not far at all. The park is very clean and quiet, and the pull through sites have plenty of room to move around with hedges between the sites for privacy. Lots of nice grassy areas for kids and dogs to run around. This is a no frills RV park. Only wi-fi hot spots and no playground for the kids, but for the price, you cannot beat it. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$34
A lovely little oasis just off Hwy 101, nestled into the hillside. A great location to park your RV and drive down Hwy 1 to Monterey, Carmel, Pebble Beach and Big Sur. The park itself was very well maintained although the pull through sites were very narrow, right close to your neighbor. This was the only reason they didn't get a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$35
We stayed here just one night. The staff was great. The dog walk area(s) were very clean. We have a small trailer but was given a pull through, which they have an abundance of. Very quiet, nice park that we'll absolutely use again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$34
This campground is in a nice quite location and easy to find. Access to Gilroy, Hollister, and San Jose is very good. Sites are very clean, and all the amenities. They also let us change sites when trees on our first site blocked my satellite reception. Access to Highway 101 is very simple and easy to get to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
We spent the Thanksgiving holiday at this RV park. The Park was very clean; nice pull-through spots. We have three children and did not realize that the park does not allow scooters and such, which was understandable but a bit disappointing. It definitely felt like a adult-only park- we didn't see any other children. It has good proximity to Monterey and Santa Cruz for day trips. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$34
We've stayed here twice as a stopover. It's very functional, and the people are friendly. The noise from highway 101 isn't too bad, but it seems to be a naturally windy place. We'll stay here again as a stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
Slightly tight spaces, in our 45' motorhome, but an immaculate park. Somewhat out in the middle of nowhere: but the little towns of San Juan Bautista and Hollister are interesting places to visit. Monterey, Big Sur and Carmel are less than an hour away. Currently there's only Wi-Fi in the office area, but we think its soon to be park-wide. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
Betabel is still one of the best on Hwy 101 in Northern California. Friendly, helpful staff managing a clean well organized park with great prices. The others in the area are either dumps or way over-priced and usually have management that is less than friendly. We stay here a couple of times per year when going to the central coast and at least one week each summer to get a break from the Sacramento Valley heat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
This was a very clean comfortable park with much attention to detail. Dog friendly and centrally located to Monterey and Santa Cruz. Came for one night and stayed for 3 weeks at $207 per week. Very easy to navigate roads. Don't miss San Juan Bautista it is very quaint. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
In our spot (#168), was very quiet (far enough away from 101) and had great TV reception. Concrete pad was unlevel, though (4 degrees off). This park is very full (neighbors quite close) because all the others in the area are terrible. We were just over nighting and found the park to be nice, with especially great night registration. Dog walk was disappointing, though: just a rough, weedy field. Can't feature this as a resort destination, though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$44
One of the best in the State. Weather can be a little cool. Staff is friendly and park is first rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Great stop over park. Incredibly clean and well maintained. Perfect base camp for nearby outings. I will continue to visit this campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We hated to leave this campground. The facilities are well-planned and clean, the hosts are genial and informed, there are adequate trash and recycling resources, there are very large dog play areas, it is fairly near shopping at Gilroy, CA. It is one of our all-time best camping experiences. Thank you, Betabel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
Easy access off Hwy 101 for big rigs with lots of pull-throughs. Friendly staff. Concrete or black-top parking pads & patios. Some sites have shade trees and are separated by hedges which give you good privacy. Shopping is six miles away in Gilroy and Big Sur is 60 miles south off US-1 ( take the car, not the RV!). We would stay here again anytime. Recommend that you take the "17 Mile Drive" through Pebble Beach. It cost $9.25 to the state of CA, but the views and homes ($35 million+) are incredible. Rate reflects Escapee discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$34
A great park and a goo value! It's in a countryside area, but close to south Santa Clara county attractions and the Monterey Bay. It is clean, secure and well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$40
Betabel is a very clean RV resort. I spent months in the resort. The staff is fantastic. They will do everything to accommodate your stay. Very clean facility, an awesome spot right off the freeway with great views and great proximity to the Gilroy Outlets, Garlic Festival, Hollister and the mission city of San Juan Bautista. The resort offers great rally facilities, great mountain views and also very close to Silicon Valley if you desire to stay a little ways from the rats race of Silly Valley. Sites are well kept, all concrete and great hook ups with internet access 24 hours a day. Easy access, great for big rigs as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$34
This is a park we utilize several times each year, either as a convenient and nearby escape from the Central Valley's winter fog or summer heat, or as a spot over on our journey further south to Morro Bay. The park is clean, quiet, and very well maintained. Good restaurants are available in San Juan Bautista, Gilroy, and a bit farther away, in Monterey/Carmel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$35
A well maintained, clean friendly campground. And very reasonably priced by California standards for how nice it is. It is an easy drive to Monterey, Carmel and Pebble Beach, plus very convenient to the SJB Mission and downtown. The sites here are spacious and have all the amenities. I highly recommend it. (800) 278-7275 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$34
Nice, quiet park. Well kept. Good location to explore this area. Try Tres Pinos Inn in Tres Pinos, south of Hollister. Great food and service. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Sites weren't as level as I would expect for concrete site. They had plenty of room but did require planning when parking with slideouts. Management was very friendly and helpful an the park was clean. Longterm rigs were not easily noticed because of the general upkeep. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$33
We have stayed at this park many times, and we have always found it in a well maintained condition and the staff is customer friendly. It is easily accessed from the highway and easily accommodates large rigs. Each site has a picnic table and most have shrubs and trees. TV is limited. The small mission town of San Juan Bautista offers a few good restaurants, the Cutting Horse is one. The negative about about the park location is that the ocean winds are almost always blowing through the hills and most times we have stayed here, we were not able to sit or eat outside because of the windy conditions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$35
Very nice park. Not what you would call a destination resort, but a very nice, reasonably priced place to stay and explore the area. All of the utilities worked well. The cable TV choices were a bit limited. Got a Wi-Fi signal, but I had a connectivity issue (my fault, I believe, not theirs). Spaces were very well maintained with nicely manicured, mature landscaping. Office and park staff couldn't have been nicer. Someone escorted us to our site, even though we arrived after office hours. Pretty scenery surrounding the park. Conveniently located off of US101. Freeway noise was audible but not disruptive. I'm surprised that no one has mentioned the railroad tracks. Towards the back of the park is a railroad line. Fortunately, I don't think that it's a main line. We didn't hang out in the park all day, but we noticed one train a night come by. No horns blowing or anything and it wasn't particularly late. It was kind of like the freeway noise. It's audible, but not disruptive. If you have time, check out the little town of San Juan Bautista. Most buildings are kept to look like they did in the 1800's and the centerpiece is the Mission and State Historic park. Great food at the Mariposa Restaurant and Tea Room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
This park is beautifully maintained but it appears as though the majority of the sites are for permanent guests as they have bushes and landscaping at their sites. Out site #129 is paved and no landscaping. However, there are large grassy areas near our site for pets as long as you clean up after them. The pet walk area again is nothing but a dirt path. The WiFi is excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$37
Great Location. Friendly Staff. Great Amenities and Service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$32
Nice sized pull through level sites with some shrubs for privacy. WIFI did not work and computer in recreation room adjacent to office only available when office open during the day. Close to highway 101, but still fairly quiet. Many seasonal campers in park. Propane available during the day when office open. I would stay here again for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$34
One of the cleanest parks I've ever been in. Lots of long term tenants, but mostly higher end rigs and the management makes sure they keep things clean and tidy. Most of the premium sites are taken by long term users. The other area is just a paved area divided into sites. There is a large lush lawn for kids to play. Not much of a destination type park, but a good place to stop overnight or use as a base camp for exploring the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$32
This is a lovely campground, finely manicured. It is located right off Hwy. 101, but is very quiet. The staff is lovely and helpful. This campground is manicured like a golf course. We only stayed one night, but wouldn't hesitate to stay longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$46
Very nice park and well maintained. We used it as a base camp to explore the Monterey/Moss Landing area and it worked out well. They had decorations up for the holidays. Staff was friendly. Had some long term residents and you hardly noticed because the park was very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$35
Very clean and well landscaped park. Many sites are back-in, but worth it because of the grass strip behind the sites and the extensive landscaping. There are some landscaped pull-through sites and some that are just paved. Sites are wide and well equipped with water, dump, phone, WiFi, satellite TV hookup and 50 amp. Pretty close to Monterey and the coast which keeps the temperature more moderate. Also close to Gilroy Outlet Stores (6 miles) for those who want to shop. Great staff and beautiful park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$32
Stayed two weeks and the rats eat the wiring in my motorhome ask the people that live there. There are people who will tell you that they have had problems in the past and on going this park should let people know this. The public should be informed of this. The river has a lot of rats in it the the park can't stop it. Ask camping world they will also tell you. This should be posted to protect RVers. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$32
This was a very nice park that is very well maintained. The office staff was very helpful and we would go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$30
Curently under new managers many inprovments have been made and more to come. We feel this is the best park in the area. Rec room has been installed with many activties. Quiet area in the country setting and well maintained park. Friendly campers and helpful employees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$31
Very nice park. Clean and well groomed, with large sites. Club area with clubhouses.Staff of park very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$32
Very nice park the staff is really helpful. Nice store at park. Deer and rabbits A nice park. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2000
$30
The park has 2 sections-old and new. The old section is nicely landscaped but the spaces are very small. These spaces are mostly taken by term residents. The new section is 100% asphalt with painted stripes marking the spaces. It is the most unlevel park I have been in. Also, the voltage is extremely low. Too low to run hardly anything. I was told that they used aluminum wiring when they built the new section to save money. There were numerous complaints to management while I was there about the low voltage. The on site manager was aware of it but could do nothing about it. Definitely a park to pass. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com