221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Augie's Quail Trail RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 69 user reviews. Phone: (928) 683-2850
CGID4675

Augie's Quail Trail RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
132
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   8   6   8   8   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$27
This was just an overnight stop for us on our way to the Tucson area. Nice park for the money and nice spot for an overnight stay. The folks who operate the park are friendly, and we were guided to our space by a guy who also came back with a large crescent wrench to remove the cap on the sewer inlet. It was stuck shut and ours was just not large enough. We did use the showers, which we rarely do, because our shower connection had broken inside on the road that day. They were clean and had good pressure. We could see the interstate from our space, but there was little to no noise to interrupt a great nights' sleep. Nice clubhouse and easy, quick access to the interstate. Will definitely stay here again when we pass thru next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$29
Nice clubhouse. Restrooms were clean, but no hand towels, and a slow hand drier. Only 1 shower in each restroom. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Nice large campground. We stayed for approximately 8 months. My husband was working in Gila Bend during that time. There were less expensive places to stay, and the electric seemed like we were being charged double. Other than those two complaints, it was a clean place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
We stayed here a couple times two years ago on our way to and from other winter destinations when they seemed to be primarily a park for snowbirds. We planned on stopping here on our way to Texas last fall, but they were full with a rally. Previously, I would have rated the park a 9. But there was something about it this time which wasn’t quite as attractive, perhaps because the landscaping didn’t seem as sharp as our past stays. Has it changed ownership? The younger staff were friendly enough, but not as welcoming as the older couple who used to man the check in desk. Sites have nice spacing, the laundry still looked okay, and the internet worked well for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$27
Our rate reflects a Good Sam discount. The roads are paved, and the sites are gravel. The biggest negative that I see with the park is that they have 113 sites, with many of them containing 2 RV's and only 2 showers a men's and women's. The showers were clean, but when I got there, there was little hot water, but it was about 99 outside so lukewarm water felt pretty good. Their internet was maxed out because of a bike tour, and all the workers were coming back from work. Verizion and MiFi worked fine. We got the the last open spot in the place. For supporting a bunch of workers the park was very neat and clean. This place is good for a night or two, but I'd have to have some reason to stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$28
We were very appreciative of the owners to fit us in. They were very full. They seem to cater to rally's. They are planning to charge for their one shower. They expect only Independent units and people to use their own units toilets and showers. There was no hot water in the one shower. We are used to using the facilities shower so that was surprising to us. Nice big TV in the club house and a hard wired Internet in the clubhouse which was used to pay bills. It was frustrating that there was no WiFi in our unit. They block big downloads like Netflix. Very very nice owners ...just run differently than what we expect. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
We stayed at Augie's for four months. The campground is very nice and extremely well kept. Staff was excellent. Restrooms and facilities were kept neat and clean. We would camp here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$27
We have stopped here several times as our "last night out" when coming home. Mainly to do laundry - they have a very clean, large laundry. And it is just a great place. They are very busy, not with construction workers in the area taking up most of the spots, so be sure to call ahead. They tell you the Wi-Fi might be slow. If so, just go to the Clubhouse where they have cables for 4 computers all set up and you get right on. And their server blocks long downloads / uploads and that is really a good thing. Nothing fancy - just a good place and clean and great staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$30
This is the best park in the area, and a very nice park to be at. The management went out of their way to give us ideas on historic places to visit. They are very friendly and helpful. Be sure and call ahead and get a reservation, because many full time construction workers and now snow birds fill the park up. Nice sites with plenty of room between. Very clean and well kept up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
A really great park for one night this time of year despite the heat, or any time of year. It's away from town with very large sites and lots of privacy, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Great places to walk the dogs, too. The free Internet service was good but slow at times. Our only complaint was the lack of cable TV. We'd easily stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
A good park. We had awning problems and the owner sent us to just the right place in Goodyear. Friendly staff. Gravel sites with picnic tables, sculpted by the desert sun. Nice open desert for hiking through a gate in the park fence. Laundry is a bit on the pricy side, but large and clean. Gila Bend, itself, was a disappointment in that it is very depressed with lots of closed businesses. Several geocaches within thirty miles and great scenery. The Sonoran Desert National Monument is closed, however, due to a lawsuit. A huge disappointment for us, since that's what drew us here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$27
Very slow wifi no matter what time you try. Use the wire connection in the clubhouse instead. Never found the shower. No cable and no channels on our antenna. But, good level and large sites. Quiet area. Friendly management. Clubhouse is large and comfortable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$36
Occasional train noise, though not too bad} Pros: The park is adjacent to a 1000-acre desert state land trust, which is great to hike and let dogs run. There is a self-serve RV wash ($5) and car wash ($3). The shower is hot and clean. There is a nice clubhouse with big-screen TV. The staff is friendly. Cons: There is lots of dirt and dust and no shade, though not a problem in cool February. There is only one shower, but we never had to wait. There is occasional train noise, but it's not too bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$10
Extra wide and long sites. Very friendly staff. We stayed for one month and really enjoyed this park. Would have given a 10 but no TV available. Trees and landscaping still fairly young but this will be a beautiful park in the future. They are continually improving and adding features. Rates are very reasonable. Water is excellent. Several pull through sites for over night stays which will accommodate the biggest rigs. Rate based on monthly stay. Modem connection at clubhouse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
This is a nice park, well landscaped, clean, friendly, close to the expressway but quiet. large easy sites. Don't know about the TV as we don't watch but they have an activity going on most nights. Really a welcome oasis in the desert. We would definitely recommend to friends & would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
This desert style RV Park has experienced some major improvements since our last visit this past January. For us it's the most appealing RV Park east of the California border along the I-8 corridor and before Tucson. The most obvious improvement is the paved access lanes. Hopefully, it will abate the dust problem here. The Wi-Fi has been upgraded and offers remarkable fast speed. The landscape has been upgraded with more drought resistant plants and the trees are getting water. There is a good desert view and an excellent desert atmosphere here. We will likely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
Clean park, friendly reception, easy big rig access. Paved internal roads but spots are on dirt. Basic but functional, inexpensive, and easy access. A good overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
An oasis in the midst of a desolate area, this park features nice landscaping, long level pull throughs, and good hookups. Friendly office staff and an escort to our site. No cable TV but there's no problem seeing the TV satellites. Verizon Cell and 3G Aircard worked well, and the park's free Wi-Fi was adequate. A previous poster's complaint of no broadcast TV was an unfair criticism, Gila Bend is a long way from any city of size. Reasonably priced, professionally staffed, and nicely laid out, this is a quality park and we'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
Perfect over night stop for us, easy in easy out. The spaces were plenty wide, very long and level for our 40' with toad. Can't comment on the restrooms or showers (if they even have them) that's part of the reason we have a RV. It comes with these amenities! The only negative I can comment on is the fact there was no distant road or train noise unless I was outside the coach at night and then just a little road noise (nothing like a little highway noise to put me right to sleep at night. Love it). So if your looking for a very quite spacious site for an over night stop or longer this is the place you will want to be. One more thing: the Internet worked great! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
When we arrived at 2pm, the office was closed with a note to pick our spot and see them in the morning, OK, not a problem. We got set up, pretty level spot, needed a bit of adjustment side-to-side, front to back was perfect after we unhooked from our truck. We knew that there was no cable TV, but imagine our surprise when we were unable to even get a single over the air TV channel. I know Gila Bend is out in the sticks, but zero channels? Anyway, we didn't want to hassle with re-hooking up and moving down the road in the heat of the day. If you have satellite TV then this is a good overnight stop, if not, bring a good book or dvd's. We'll avoid Gila Bend if we're out this way again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
We have stayed in this very well-kept park before. We were able to use our Escapees discount, and they also honor Good Sam. They have made a lot of improvements over the years. The trees are growing and will eventually offer good shade. They recently paved the roads. The clean laundry room has plentiful washers and dryers. The people in the office are very nice and helpful. We got to meet the owners, and they were very nice and told us that they can plan tours of the Barry Goldwater Bombing Range. Unfortunately, we didn't have time this trip, but we will plan to do this next time we come back. They do some recycling of cardboard, glass and plastic bottles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
What a delight to find such a lovely park in the middle of the desert. Wide, long, level sites, trees, plants. Terrific people. Wonderful location/highway access. Perfect spot for overnight or longer in better time of year. We will definitely come again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$24
This is a gem in the desert. The park is very neat and tidy with HUGE sites. The staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. The people here are also very friendly. We enjoyed out stay very much. I only marked it down slightly since there is no shade. Has small trees, and the park is dusty. We had our quads and the park is very quad friendly: you can ride right out of the park. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$24
We were pleasantly surprised at this nice park. The site are pretty level and very long (80 Ft). The park is well laid out with the sites being angled and with the length you are not very close to anyone. Even the backin sites are such that the rear of your RV is not facing the rear of the RV behind you. No cable, and the wi-fi was weak but the Verizon air card was excellent. Gila Bend is a small town, but the park is nice. It is all gravel, but that is typical for this part of Arizona. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$24
Very friendly and helpful staff. We arrived late and they came out to greet us and sign us in. Guide took us to our site. We had stayed here in February on our way to CA and were pleased with the facilities and people, so we decided to make it one of our stops on our way home. Did not ask about activities. Sites were wide, deep and level. Restrooms and showers were clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$23
This is a gem of a desert campground. We just spent our first night but it will definitely not be the last. We were greeted by a very pleasant couple that signed us in and then escorted us to the site. The escort service was not a bid for a tip - the man left without even a hint of that. The sites are enormous - the largest I have ever seen anywhere - about 115 feet deep and 40 feet wide. The park was not full so they were leaving a vacant space between rigs, making it seem even more spacious. The sites are smooth and level, and each has a nice table. The ground cover is gravel. There are very few trees but this is the desert. The park has no street lights and that is a plus for us. We can sleep without light coming in and when we go out we can see the stars. It is also quiet. We heard no highway or train noise at night. We enjoyed our stay and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$35
I liked this park. It is huge, with lots of room to wander. Very friendly, helpful people. Clean, well-lit laundry room. Five minutes to town. It was pretty busy when we were there, but it was the height of the winter season, so that's to be expected. Wi-Fi was not reliable - this was our experience almost everywhere we stayed, unfortunately. This park is far enough from the highway, so you don't hear the traffic. I'd like to check it out again sometime in a less crowded season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$23
This was our 4th time back to this RV Park. It is excellent for an overnight stop. The pull-through sites along the south side are saved for overnight guests. They are level, spacious in width, and long in length. The hookups are well maintained and operate free of problems. As with each prior visit, the staff is friendly and they provided us with excellent service. This time of year the large clubhouse is open. They have a rather large library with hardback and paperback books. The restrooms are large and spotless. We were able to hear a train in far distance and there was little or no traffic noise from I-8. We stayed here for one night. We will stay here again when we pass by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This place is a joke. I saw so many good review; that's why I came here. The park is dark in the night; seems like the owner is too cheap to turn on the lights. You have to walk with a flash light. There was no one out when the sun set. This park seemed more like a prison; you can't do this, you can't do that. I will NOT come here anymore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
This is a very nice park which for once is exactly as described. It is a super clean Desert RV Park. All gravel, lots of pull-throughs which are huge! On the advise of the manager we had dinner at the local Italian Restaurant which was great. While here, we ran into the owner of the park. Very pleasant experience. Great, fast Wi-Fi and my Verizon Air Card and my wife's AT&T cell phone worked perfectly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
Excellent overnight stop on our trip to Tucson, AZ. Very friendly and helpful owners. Was shown to our site which is rare during off season. Very large and long sites. All sights are staggered so you are not parked right next to your neighbor. Large open area between sites, clean and well kept, a typical gravel and stone for the desert. We will stop again when we come through Gila Bend again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
Rather than battle the wind and heat on I-8 we made an early stop. The RV Park was a refreshing and quiet experience for us. The owners have been laying down more gravel to curb potential dust problems and adding more drought tolerate vegetation around the sites. The sites are spacious and can easily accommodate any size rig. Our site was level enough so we avoided using the hydraulic jacks. The WiFi is great here without any problems. Our only disappointment was the clubhouse being closed. Not sure why? Will we likely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$23
This is a great stop point in the middle of southern AZ. Nothing to the west till Yuma (except date shakes at Dateland), and nothing to the east till Casa Grande. and Augies has wide big spaces that are easy to pull into day or night. Wi-Fi works well here now. The check in is friendly and easy, plus you get an escort to your space. Last night we had a very clear sky with a million stars to see. Not a luxury park, but certainly a good stopping place. Gila Bend has fuel for the motor home or truck and a couple of fairly good places to eat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$22
We live south of Tucson and have decided that this is the ideal place to stay on our way home - so we can arrive early the following day - and on our way out -it we don't, or can't, get an early start. The park is very neat and tidy, the spaces are very large, and we thought it was very quiet. The sunset we saw was gorgeous. We got the military discount - cash only - paid only $22 per night. We think this is a very nice park and highly recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$24
This park makes a good place to spend a night or two. We slayed over here for one night on our way to Tucson. The park was a little confusing to find but once there we liked it quite a bit. The office staff was friendly and the sites are level and spacious. There is nice desert landscaping which is still quite young, but will get better as time goes by. As someone else mentioned, the clubhouse looks very utilitarian from the outside but is fixed up very nice inside. Some faint highway noise, but nothing to complain about. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$23
Big sites, good utilities and Wi-Fi. This is typical desert camping with easy access to the highway. There's some truck noise from SR85, but hopefully that will die down at night. Worth a stop on the way to or from. Nearby Holt's Truckstop RV Park, which was full. This place is nicer, although it's twice the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$28
This is a nice park with wide roads and very large spaces. It is not a place to spend a month, but it is great for a couple of layover days. There is no cable TV, but it well-maintained, clean, and all spots are level. The laundry is good. The local town offers very little. It is far enough off I-8 that you get very little highway noise. Great sunsets. Good free Wi-Fi system. Nice staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2010
$32
Campground was OK for an overnight stop. Was clean and quiet. Surrounding area offered absolutely nothing. Management was very accommodating. Should have had cable TV available, as its' location was too far from local stations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$23
Rate is the 50 amp, FHU daily rate with a SKP discount. You are escorted to your site. It was a long gravel pull-through with an easy to enter angle from the gravel road. Did not use any of the park amenities as we were just overnighting and had stopped because the nearby park we usually stay at, was full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$22
Easy access and large pull through sites. Very little vegetation but it is the desert. BLM land adjacent for dog walking. Good Wi-Fi and cell phone connections. Some highway noise but not much and a military discount for ID card holders. Very good stop over location. We only stayed one night but the neighbors and staff were friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$18
Sites are extra long and wide with 50 amp, full hookups, and a table. Park is dirt and gravel. We had good Wi-Fi and our Verizon cell phone worked great. Not much in town nor close around. If you are an ATVer, it's a great place to be. We would stay here again but only for a night or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$25
This is a newer park and very nice. The sites are well laid out and very large. It was very windy the day we were here, and lots of dust was blowing around. The only thing this park is missing is a swimming pool. The clubhouse is lovely. It could also use a fenced in pet area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$25
Perfect for an overnight stay. Not a resort, quiet enough to get some rest, gravel/desert terrain, as expected. Yes: the desert does have dust! And NO, there is no TV reception w/o satellite. Not much in town. Would stay here again for an overnight stay. Looked at the others, if in Gila Bend, this is probably your best bet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2009
$24
Overall, the RV Park is excellent for an overnight stay. There are both spacious back-ins and pull-through sites. The sites are dirty gravel with a table and most have a one or more developing trees. The Wi-Fi here for us was excellent, strong and extremely fast. The late arrivals are directed to pull through sites 19 - 33. I recommend avoiding those sites if the stay is longer than a night. The clubhouse doesn't look like much from the outside. Inside its attractive and accommodating with outstanding restroom facilities. It was open well past 9:00 PM. The downfall for this place is dust. The access roads and sites are a mixture of gravel and loose dirt. Any vehicle motion results in dust clouds. Extended stayers have ATVS and apparently there are no rules pertaining to them being driven in the park. There is considerable rail and highway traffic, which may bother some overnighters. We stayed for one night in a motorhome when returning home. We will likely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2009
$24
It is adequate for an overnight stay. Staff was friendly and showed us to a large gravel/dirt pull through. Absolutely no TV, so it satellite or nothing here. WIFI OK. Very dusty, but quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
We paid our night rate and were then told that the only restroom available was in the laundry room and the activity room with the showers were closed for the summer season. Then we discovered that the laundry room closed at 9 PM and opened again at 7 AM. There was nobody else on the campground as it was summer and very hot. Yes the laundry got closed at 9 PM on the dot, goodness knows why, we were in a Pop-up so we needed the bathroom. We were most disappointed for a so called service industry to treat guests this way. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$23
Very large pull through sites. Desert type vegetation landscaping. No shade on any sites. Approximately 1 mile off the interstate which makes for very peaceful and quiet nights. Could not get a Wi-Fi connection from my site. There is no cable TV or TV signal via antenna. The clubhouse (which included the restrooms and showers) was locked up fairly early at night and was not yet opened the morning we left at 9:30 AM. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$26
Over size sites. Owner very friendly. This a gravel camp ground from the street in. Dust was not as bad as we feared it would be. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$26
The sites are huge. The park is clean and quiet, well kept. The owners are very nice. We stay at this park every time we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$9
(Rate is monthly rate ($283/month plus electric. with Escapees discount.) Very friendly owner, staff and guests. New and spotless club house, laundry room and showers, excellent hookups. Very large and easy back-in sites. Site is all gravel and clean but somewhat featureless, as noted by other reviewers. Lots of activities going on, and staff and guests were very inviting and open to new arrivals, and I felt included and accepted. I stayed for a month (had trips from Phoenix to take), and found it very convenient, although the town of Gila Bend wasn't much of a draw for me. Park was easy to find using GPS and convenient to I-8. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2008
$23
Bathrooms are spotless, as is laundry. Owners and staff as well as visitors are very friendly. There is no cable, only a common TV room. The TV room, bathrooms, and laundry are locked at night (this was not announced or posted anywhere that I could find) from about 10pm till 7 am, and I had to call to get the bathroom opened at 7 am. They only had a cellphone in the office, no landline, so that may be why they are not shown in my Garmin GPS. The directions are a little tricky, and we missed it the first time. The wi-fi requires a password, and I and many others were unable to log on for some reason; I never got an internet connection until I went into the commom room with my computer. The land has been scoured, leaving not even the sagebrush, by the owners, and made into loose sand everywhere. Because of the locked up bathrooms, sand or gravel everywhere, no TV, no reception of NPR on the radio from Gila Bend, and uncertain internet, I gave it a middling rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$22
No longer takes Passport America. Free WiFi with a good signal. The shower doors did not lock (big thing with my wife), but no problems. Very big sites. Located between I-8 and the town. Several good places to eat. Like most western camp grounds, no trees. Quiet. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$22
Nice wide open park concept. Hefty discount for Escapee members. Lots of rules, but they ensure campgrounds stay clean and tidy. We were hit pretty hard about cleaning up after our two dogs (which we always do), and were told about eviction process, even though we only stayed overnight. A couple of things we would like to see that would make this park a "10'" in our book: campfire rings and a fenced off leash area for the pups. They have the room, and it would attract more folks to this park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$20
Good place to stop for a night or two on the way to Rocky Point or Tucson. Very large spots, can hold the largest rig and trailer without a problem. Great view of the night sky. Clean level gravel spots. Not much else. It was our second choice going South, but it turned out to be a good choice for getting our group together. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$22
The folks at the front desk were very friendly and eager to make us feel welcome. Gravel sites are very long and have ample separation. The utility connections were conveniently grouped for our motorhome. Verizon phone signal was five bars. Bring your satellite dish or DVDs, as there was no PHX batwing reception or cable at the park. Wi-fi at the park was spotty and not very reliable, but that is supposed to be fixed soon. Gila Bend is a somewhat isolated desert town. We had a good dinner at Little Italy and breakfast at Sophia's. We will stay here again whenever we go through this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$22
Great, nice campground with huge pull throughs. We were just passing through for one night, and the sites were so long, we did not have to unhook our tow. The sites were also large enough for plenty of room for slides and getting out of the campground. Nice place. We'd stay there again. Also nice people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2007
$21
Large gravel campground in small town. Friendly and helpful staff. Stayed here overnight on way to California. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$22
Nice park, just a stop over park for us. Level gravel sites, nice clubhouse and the owners were very friendly. We were escorted to our site. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$22
This is the 4th time we have stayed here; we use it as our last stop on the way home. Do laundry, etc. Maybe the cleanest RV laundry room we have ever seen. WiFi was great. No much in Gila Bend but would highly recommend this park as a stopover. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
This is a great overnight spot. Location is extremely convenient, right where you change from I-8 to the Buckeye Bypass which goes up to I-10 just west of Phoenix. It's a big park, surrounded by open desert, and I've never had a problem getting a site with empty sites on either side. It's pretty new, very clean, and the hosts are very friendly. I have stopped here multiple times and will continue to do so whenever I reach Gila Bend at stopping time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2007
$12
This is by far the worst camping experience for the winter travel from Florida to California. First off, the WIFI only works in the clubroom. The only TV available is on a TV in the clubroom. The lighting in the park is so poor you cannot safely find your way from the RV to the clubhouse. The restrooms/showers are accessed from the clubhouse that is locked from about 9:30PM to about 8:00AM which makes impossible to shower in the evening or in the morning!! We will NEVER consider this place - worse than dry camping in Wal-mart. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$11
Not a bad place for an overnighter. Friendly staff, nice big wide pull-throughs, great water pressure. We had cell service but never used their wifi so can't say if it's improved. Only drawback is the truck traffic on the 85, it's going day and night. We would stay here again but at the back of the park in a back-in next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$20
Gila Bend is in the middle of nowhere, but this is a GREAT overnight campground. The big rig pull throughs are HUGE. We have never seen such large sites. The water and electric power are excellent. There is an Italian restaurant in town that is outstanding. If you are traveling through the area, plan your schedule to stop here. You won't be sorry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$13
The $13 Passport America rate for full 50 amp hookups, coupled with the huge pull-through sites and free WiFi, make this a real bargain. All water in the park is reverse osmosis, so no water spots or salinity as we often find in desert locations. Large sparkling clean laundry. We were able to get WiFi reception in our rig, but only by using directional high power WiFi adapters. Once connected, it was fast. There are two other Passport America parks in town that are even cheaper ($7.50), but they don't have these amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$22
We stayed one night with Passport America. Very nice campground with the largest pull throughs I have seen. Owners and managers are very nice and helpful. Only drawback is that the Wi-Fi does not work unless you take your laptop to the rec hall. They say they are fixing that soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
Stopped overnight on the way to Tucson, owner escorted us to a large end site with a wonderful view. The owners are such nice people and the rv park is a reflection of them. The Wi-Fi was new and we had some problems getting a signal. The only draw back was the lack of shade because the trees in the park are young. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2006
$20
This is an overnighter with little ambience. However, the sites aren't as close as other over nighters so get in late and leave early. Friendly managers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$18
Large park with large spaces - easy to get around. All gravel. Well maintained. New clubhouse and laundry are excellent and spotless. Staff is great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2006
$20
This is a new park just outside of Gila Bend, AZ. They do accept Passport America for the first two night's stay. We found the campground to be very nicely planned. Sites were extra large with nice young landscaping started. We liked the fact that the sites were angled so that we didn't look into our neighbors windows! We also liked that the lights at night were spaced out and did not obliterate the beautiful night sky. One of our pet peeves is bright street lights shining into our RV at night. There's a new clubhouse with a big screen tv, comfortable seating, modem hookups and a public computer and printer. Although we could only stay for two nights this trip, we would consider a weekly stay (at $105/week). There are some planned activities like movie nights and pot luck suppers. Owners are very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com