223365 User submitted reviews online!!
MIssion Bay RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 76 user reviews. Phone: (858) 270-4300
CGID4759

MIssion Bay RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
259
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   1   6   10   10   8   7   8   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$65
Resort is located in the heart of the Mission Bay area of San Diego. Plenty to do in and around the park. In terms of aesthetics, it is nothing more than a RV parking lot that happens to be right on the bay. However, due to its location and local activities, one could almost overlook the fact that RVers are packed into the park like sardines, particularly during busy parts of the year. All hookups worked well and site was level. Staff were friendly and helpful. Even though I did not actually use the restrooms, they did not have a welcoming appearance from the outside. All in all, I would consider staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$70
Very friendly office staff! This is a parking lot with very very little room between spaces. To be more specific, if all RV Parks were like this, I would give up camping!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$65
The best thing about this park is that it is close to attractions (Zoo & Balboa Park). Just a concrete parking lot with hook ups and not much room between sites. The staff was friendly, but not very helpful with information. Asked where to fuel up with diesel that was easy in and out for a 36 footer and got a deer in the head light look. Doubt if I would stay here again. So, it gets a rating of 6 just for location to attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$70
The RV park is surrounded by Mission Bay Park so there are views of the bay everywhere. RV sites are spacious and there's easy access for large trailers, awnings, and slide outs. Guests have access to wonderful paths. Very friendly staff and immaculately clean. Snack Shack has great food and root beer floats. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$50
We got a great $310 weekly off-season rate (+$5 each dog fee, one time) and loved this park so much that we extended a second week. There are great walking paths all around the park and it's close to all of the museums and parks San Diego has to offer. The staff is friendly and the security is great. The sites are close together and there is no pool. The Wi-Fi is painful at peak hours, but most of the time it's okay and it's free (no TengoInternet here!). We can't wait to come back next winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$50
Have stayed here twice. Each time it has been very good. Maintenance workers seem to be constantly policing the area. Very nice access to extensive waterfront parks and walkways. It is an all blacktop park, but does have some greenways and palm trees. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$75
Located on Mission Bay in a trailer-park community, this RV Resort is basically just a big parking lot with painted lines to designate campsites and a tree here and there. The perimeter is fenced, with just a few openings. The entrance is guarded and requires a permit. The exit is a motion-sensor gate that automatically opens and closes. The gate to the laundromat requires a code to re-enter the resort.A gate on the back end of the resort leads to a nice, paved walking trail that follows the shoreline of the bay all the way around the bay. There is no sundries store on location and propane is only available two days per week. Check-in which is located about .5 mile before you enter the resort and shares it's building with the trailer-park administration. In the resort, there is a snack stand that serves breakfast, lunch, and ice cream. There is a laundromat, garden, and recreation facility that is shared with the trailer-park residents. There are also toilet and shower facilities placed around the resort. Mission Bay is very close to San Diego and the RV Resort is only a few miles from Sea World. It's location provides very easy access to the interstate, so everything is within easy reach. Worth mentioning is that immediately outside the resort is the parking lot for Mission Bay Beach, where we noticed several RVs were parked the entire time we were there. There were some parked in the parking lot, some on the side of the street, and some actually on the beach. We also noticed that at the entrance to Mission Bay Park, there was a public RV dump station. We didn't check to see if a fee was charged, but found it interesting how acceptable it is to boondock in these areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$59
We stayed here one night, the park is located close to Interstate 5 and 8 for visiting attractions around the city. The sites are all asphalt with a small greenbelt and a tree between each site. The restrooms were nice, but could stand some updating; laundromat was clean. There is 24 hour security. There is a "snack shack" for breakfast/lunch items, a baywalk for walking/biking. Parking at your site for one vehicle, additional guest overnight parking outside the park for $5. I didn't try the Wi-Fi. The staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$65
Came here to spend a week with my daughter's family knowing the demographics would be outside of this full-timers comfort zone. Lots of unsupervised young children everywhere, especially in the roads that become very narrow because of all the big trucks protruding into the street. This does not stop their parents from driving too fast. Our back-in site was not sufficiently level for the auto-levelers to keep all wheels touching. That's disappointing considering the park is basically all asphalt with grass strips behind the rigs and a single tree between sites where a square has been cut out of the asphalt. The location of the restrooms results in a constant traffic flow through the adjacent sites, including sub-teens on bikes. My neighbor's water & power cords were just ridden over as I write this. Security seems to be doing a good job of suppressing unwanted noise. Following the viewing of Sea World's nightly fireworks, things quiet down until around 8am. All sites are back-ins at a right angle to the interior roads. Couple this with the trucks parked half way into the road and the constant flow of people of all sizes makes very tight and dangerous maneuvering. The physical attractiveness of the park rates at best a 6. Security gets a 10. The majority of my fellow campers fail miserably. But, then again, it is summer vacation at the beach, and the park is what I had been told it would be. For older teens, college kids, and crazies, 'woodstock' is across the bay. For those with younger kids looking for a place to turn 'em loose and then doing a little letting loose themselves, it gets an '8'. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$60
We took our granddaughter to Sea World and the SD Zoo Safari Park. The location is very convenient to Interstates 5 and 8 for visiting attractions in and around San Diego. As others have mentioned, it is an asphalt parking lot with strips of grass at the rear of each site. Back-ins only, no pull-thrus. I don't see this place as being an overnight stop, so for us this wasn't an issue. While I wouldn't call this a resort (no amenities), the sites are spacious for the location. There is a beach area on Mission Bay for the kids and adults. Yes, this is part of a "Harbor Community" that includes mobile homes, but to us they seemed well-kept, just old. They are separated from the RVers, although they do share the same entrance. A great location for biking or walking, no real traffic to be concerned with. The bathrooms were clean and functional, but did need some updating. The 'snack shack' had some great breakfast burritos. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$95
As others have said, this is a glorified parking lot, i.e., asphalt everywhere and basically no grass anywhere. The only reason to stay here is the location's proximity to San Diego. The Wi-Fi is intermittent at best, the Cable TV signal is awful, there are no amenities (pool, exercise room, etc.), and the park is surrounded by a mobile home park that is well past its prime. When you add the exorbitant rate, this park is a definite PASS unless you need to stay in the San Diego area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$50
This is a parking lot but a nice one. Spaces are just big enough, some have bay views. Security is top notch. Location is excellent, biking and walking along Mission Bay is fantastic. Lots to do on weekends. I would recommend this park strongly if you want to explore San Diego. There is a big dip in the road as you pull in but take it slow and you will be fine. Stayed a week . Would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$9o
Several of the shower faucets were broken and the tile in the showers was cracked and in my opinion kind of dangerous. Right on the bay and a long walk to anywhere so if you do not have a car plan on a cab. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$60
We chose to pay extra for a water view and even though there is a fence, the view was still very nice. We had site 41 which is very spacious. This park does not have a beach but our view looked out on the beach of the other campground in the area, which caters to kids. If you have kids, go there. If you like peace and quiet, stay at Mission Bay. The park is secure, easy to get in and out of and close to all attractions. Cable and WiFi were both OK. It is an OK park and we would stay here again if ever in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$38
This is our second ever RV trip. It was great. We really enjoyed the San Diego area. The park is very secure. We liked the park. It is central to everything. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$51
Special discount for a full week (20% or 10% GS). Nice place right on the bay with a direct path to the bay walk & bike. Security entrance at all times. No “activities” during off peak season (we were here in Jan & Mar). It's expensive, but it's San Diego and (almost) every place is. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$27
Rate is based on monthly stay. Sites are fairly tight, all back-in, between two trees. Don't know why it is called a resort as there are no amenities. This RV park is all about the location, right next to the Bay and a couple of miles from the ocean. Close to many of San Diego's attractions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$75
Needed a quick get-away (from Phoenix) so picked this park for a 5 day stay. Had a bay side site which backed us up to a chain link fenced walk way on the edge of the bay. Enjoyed the view - our little class C has a rear kitchen with a full window. Great dog walk areas - rate as a 10. They also have a small nice fenced dog area. Security in the park is excellent. Well located, within a few miles of the popular San Diego attractions. Downside is very little non-paved areas, basically a large parking lot with a few trees and some narrow grass areas. If you have kids, we were informed (rather vocal youngster) that Campland across the bay was the place to stay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$35
I stayed at this campground for a month and it is just a blacktop parking lot with hook-ups and several small trees. The staff is very friendly. They do have a fenced dog run, but it is small and just dirt. The Wi-Fi does not work very well. This campground is surrounded by some not so nice mobile homes that should have been torn down years ago. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$28
Rate reflects monthly cost that is all inclusive. Excellent location. Very attentive & friendly staff. We stayed here a month in November & loved the place. Although it is lacking amenities like a pool, shuffleboard or pickleball, what it does offer is convenience to everything San Diego has to offer! Ride your bike to the boardwalk, Sea World, farmers markets, etc. There is a wonderful park right outside the gate with volleyball, bike paths, picnic areas with firepits & more. Parking is good but sites are all asphalt. No problem there as they are kept very clean. It was a 2 minute walk to the Bay! We will probably make this our winter home while we are on the west coast. Getting mail was easy. The management even delivered it to us on a couple of occasions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$50
Clean, wide sites, good walking, biking paths. This park was good for us as seniors who prefer something quieter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$110
This is an OK campground for little children with bikes, because it is asphalt only. The bay side we had, looked OK in the picture. In reality there was a high fence between the bay and the campground. We regretted we did not book the other RV park at the bay, with a real beach, real shade and grass. Check in is at 2pm strictly, even when your spot is free. Office closes at 5 pm. Arriving later, the guard will let you in, but you have to wait till next morning for the internet code. Depressive Campground. We were lucky to have very nice neighbors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$83
Park was in a great location! We loved seeing the fireworks from Sea World across the bay, starting at 9:52pm. The only downsides...we had to leave after 2 days and we prepaid for a week due to a family issue and there is a no refund policy...so we left them with $410, of our money. There is no parking for guests inside the park...which is a long walk in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
Nice park close to San Diego. Paved sites that are level with good utilities. The park was not full when we stayed for two weeks. Rate reflects Passport America and Good Sam. 24 hour security. 30 day limit ensured that there are no long-termers. So the park had a travel/tourist feel with mixture of class A/C and 5th wheelers. Park has a RV ten year rule. Nice bike trails and good walk around bay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
Great location and great Passport America rate. This park was clean and efficient. Like others have mentioned, the park is mainly a paved parking lot with trees in between each site and a few strips of grass between the rows, but still it was very pleasant and clean. The sites would be rather snug if all sites were occupied, but during our mid-week stay, there were plenty of open sites between motorhomes. Will absolutely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$27
Our rate reflects monthly winter rate. I would sum this up as a so-so RV park in an AWESOME location. Yes, it's pretty much a parking lot and yes there's not a lot of amenities, but the location is perfect. You've got space to walk around De Anza Cove, access to the beach, direct walking access to Mission Bay Park and Mission Bay Golf Course and you're close to all of San Diego. If you've got a doggie there are some Bay restrictions (you can walk in Mission Bay and the beach after 4PM (in winter) or before 9AM), but you're only 5 mins drive from all-day off-leash pooch heaven Fiesta Island plus maybe 10 mins from off-leash Ocean Beach. There's no other RV park in San Diego that I know where you can get that close to a dog-friendly beach. Sites are asphalt but big enough for any size rig. I'm not clear I'd be happy paying the full $$ rate and I definitely wouldn't bother paying the premium for a bay or beach view, but if you come mid-week, stay in the regular sites and use Passport America or take the monthly rate this place is a great all-round deal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
Rate shown Passport America discount. Site paved back-in and level. No privacy between sites since entire campground is a paved parking lot with trees spaced between sites. Cable TV has around 20 channels. The Wi-Fi is strong, but slow due to limited bandwidth. Clean laundry with four washers and four dryers. There is another laundry in the park which appears to be the same size. Access to the walking and bike path that goes around Mission Bay, but you need a gate card (supplied by office)to get back in through the bay view gate. Fairly close to the Interstate, but noise wasn't a problem. Bus service available near the golf course on Grand Avenue. I would not hesitate to come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2011
$60
On our first stay we selected a "water Front lot" overlooking Mission Bay. Sounds great until you get there and find that they only allow back-in and your coach faces the road, with the back of the coach to the water (some good that does for a premium site)! They enforce the 2 pages of rules to the Nth. . On this current occasion, when we couldn't get level( air bag coach ), they told us that they have not had leveling issues. I moved around a bit on the lot , and still couldn't level. I went to the office and asked them to come and see, and tell me they didn't have a leveling issue. Only then did they move me to another site. After I moved, a fellow camper came over and said he was at the next site, and couldn't get level, so they moved him and gave him the same line. Then on our last evening, we had some friends over to visit and we went to another site about 12 lots away, taking our car with lawn chairs, wine, chips etc, in the car and parked on an empty lot next to the coach. The young security guy came and said that we were not allowed to park there. There were at least 5 empty spots top the next coach. I said we were a registered guest and to look at our sticker. We would reload the car when done and go back to our space. That wasn't good enough!! He wanted us to move it back, then and there, as parking on another site is not allowed (even though the place was 75 to 80% empty). After some discussion, my wife moved the car back. A supervisor came around, didn't say anything but parked about 5 spots away watching us. How threatening is that! I dared challenge their authority! The night before 4 bikes were stolen, in this very well patrolled park. Funny how some things are important and others not! In any case, there are several more minor items, but I feel that this should be the absolute last place to stay in the San Diego area. It is premium priced and fundamentally a paved parking lot. I will file a formal protest with, the name I was given. I doubt it will do any good! Mission Bay RV Resort, is a county owned facility and as s result a typical government run organization. We have stayed twice and both have been less than favorable. There is only a concrete block building with showers and laundry facilities. The park is fun fundamentally a paved parking lot with 1 tree on 3/4 of the sites. One small grass area for pets. They have more security than required during the day and little at night as 4 bikes were stolen one night. The sites are all back in, even on the water front sites, and many are hard to get into with a larger coach. There is also a leveling issue on a portion of the sites, as we could not get level with our air bag coach and after some discussion moved to another site. There are 2 pages of rules which they enforce. Other than being close to San Diego downtown and Sea World, this park has no redeeming quality. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$60
These folks now call themselves Mission Bay RV "Resort," but that's hype. There are NO amenities other than two concrete block toilet/showers, a laundry, a dog run, and a 9-5 roach coach with snack foods only. The park is an asphalt expanse of cheek-by-jowl slots with parking only directly in front of your own rig, making the lanes narrow (backing in was a challenge). On weekends, you couldn't walk from point A to point B without colliding with a tween-aged skateboarder or cyclist. The hookups were first rate, though everybody's water, power, and TV were located directly behind their neighbor's rig. The beach was unusable (70° and damp in mid-August, go figure). Management aren't very effective at enforcing quiet hours. The Wi-Fi was pervasive but balky, and routinely disconnected VPNs. If you arrive after 5:00, the guards tell you you have to get the Wi-Fi password from another camper, because the management won't tell the guards the password! That's rinky-dink. When you pull in, they make you sign a sheet of park rules, among which is a prohibition on the possession of any firearms. At that point, what do they expect you to do with any you have? Since the park is run by the county, this is a direct violation of both Heller v. DC and McDonald v. Chicago (an RV is an abode), so I signed with a clear conscience. All in all, this is a park that may be worth paying $25/night to stay in. At $60/night (even with the Good San discount), I feel cheated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$70
This park is in a great location right on the bay. It has a nice dog walk on grass that fronts the bay. When we first arrived the place was just about full and seemed very cramped, like being in a large asphalt parking lot. But after the weekend it cleared out to about 1/2 full and then was very nice for the rest of the week. This is a back in only park, so those wanting pull through will have to go elsewhere. Very quiet at night and a great spot to enjoy the water and get around San Diego quickly. Would stay there again, maybe later in the summer when it wouldn't be too crowded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$60
This is one of my favorite places to camp. Great family atmosphere… there is a great walking path on one side of the park and a beach in the bay with warm water on the other side. This is our ideal base camp for visiting Sea World. The snack shack has treats for the kids and ice to fill our ice chest before leaving in the mornings to the park. You can view the fire works from here. It’s my second time staying here and its awesome I hope to come again soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
Our $25 rate reflects 50% Camp Club USA rate and on other days we received 10% off Good Sam rate. Helpful, courteous and knowledgeable staff. The campground is all asphalt with small to medium height trees and small tracts of grass. Access to bay walkway. 24 hour security. Lots of covered trash cans are emptied frequently. Not enough laundry machines and no place to fold or hang laundry. They have a 30-day limit on stays and that keeps long-term folks from getting too much stuff on the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$27
The park is conveniently located on the north side of Mission Bay, off of I-5, but far enough away to not have excessive traffic noise. Freight trains can be heard vibrating in the distance, but it’s nothing like another local RV park. It’s a huge parking lot broken up by planted trees at each site. The trees didn’t impact our fixed satellite but could in other sites. There are no amenities such as pool or spa, just two shower/restroom buildings and a snack shack. Friendly security guards at the front gate will open it for you, otherwise it requires a key card if they are not in the booth, perhaps later at night. It doesn’t seem like a dangerous area, although there are a lot of homeless people wandering around Mission Bay. Across the access road (outside of the security gate) is a swimming beach and boat ramp, but around the bend is a new sewage pump station (not sure of treatment level). Many reviewers have mentioned the strict rules, which we don’t mind, it keeps a park nice. However, our fresh water connection chose the wrong park to spring a small drip leak. Security came over (after a puddle had accumulated on the second day) and turned off our water. They followed up with a phone call and told us: “Water is not allowed to hit the ground here.” We improved it and put a bucket under the area. We kept our black water closed off while we were here. If you spill any there is a $50 charge to clean it up since the sewer outlets are raised, so it would be difficult to adequately clean it up yourself. We found the striped-off sites to be adequately sized. The water and electric is behind the adjacent site, but sewer is more in the center of the site. They told us they try to stagger rigs if not crowded, which is a good practice. When we were here though, tree trimming on half the grounds forced us all in one section, which was OK. You can pay $75 to $90 to have a great view of Mission Bay and sunsets (if you have a rear view that is, sites are strictly back-in so motorhomes are out of luck). Or $65-$75 to view the Bay on the other side facing east (same problem with motorhomes). We used Passport America, (Valid Mon-Thurs in winter, no reservations) and paid around $27 with tax. PA sites are only available in the vast interior, although upon checking in, you can hike in (not drive!) and look around for a site that may have a peek view of something. We were here for the easy scenic cycling, though. We love cycling around Mission Bay, and the campground is right next to the East Mission Bay segments of the trail. The west side trails are much better, but you can ride to there too, or all around the bay in 16 miles. If the Rose Creek bike bridge is ever completed to the west of Mission Bay RV, the location of this campground will rival the other Bay park, which for now is a 15-minute ride closer to the fabulous western sections of the bay bike trails. There is even a wide bike trail that winds around the peninsula where this campground is located, good for families. We stayed for three days and rode every day, returning to our rig that had all the necessary hookups working great, even the free WiFi. We will definitely be back if they maintain the Passport America deal. By our standards (we like scenery and large sites) the camp gets a 6, but because of the great location and the Passport America opportunity, it goes up to an 8. If you can afford the view sites, you may just give it a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2011
$50
This is an well-maintained asphalt parking lot with very tight sites, lots of security guards and a chain link fence. Only a few of the sites are big enough to handle a full-sized RV and a tow car/truck. The rest of us are parked in front on the road. But it's a great location, close to many tourist sites in the area. It also has an asphalt walking/biking trail along Mission Bay. But it also has lots of rules and when you check in, you sign a form that lets them charge a fine to your credit card if you break any of the rules. For example, if you accidentally spill anything while dumping, you'll be fined $50 to $200. You're not allowed to walk your dog along the waterfront after 9 a.m. and before 4 p.m., etc., etc. The waterfront site are all back-ins, which means motorhomes can't enjoy the view. Even with most of the sites empty, you're not allowed to face the ocean. We stayed here for three days and when we decided to extend our stay through the weekend, we were told our rate would almost double, despite the fact that the park was mostly empty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$49
Great location accessible to Mission Bay Park areas and bike paths/trails. We chose a site in the middle of the park with no water views, but at $50 per night it seemed a fair price. 15 minutes to Coronado, 10 minutes to Old Town and downtown. Site had plenty of room. Back-ins only. Restrooms and showers were old and a bit cramped but adequate. We were not told this was a Passport America park when we checked-in so be sure to let them know. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$75
Very nice park and quiet park. Park Personnel were very friendly and helpful. Lots of security. Need a key card to get in at night. Short walking distance to Mission Bay Park. Some sites right on the Water with a great view (though a chain link fence) of Mission Bay and Sea World (fireworks). Internet was a bit hit and miss where we were at. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$75
We stayed here in a motor coach and also rented a trailer for relatives. The site was next to the beach. There was a reasonable amount of space between units and the security was good: guards or key card access. Quiet setting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$50
Nice park. Mostly pavement, which I don't mind. Near water. Secure and quiet. Easy on and off the freeway. Lots to do in San Diego. Make sure you visit the USS Midway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$48
Check in was easy and fast, has a great staff. Nice level site: everything work great. I was impressed with their security and patrols. Workers were very people oriented and could not do enough for you. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
This campground is within minutes of most of San Diego's finest attractions. Although the campground is all asphalt and has only a few trees, it has the world's finest weather. Additionally, it has a friendly and knowledgable staff, an active security team and is clean and well maintained. There is NO beach access, only a limited access to the bay. We stayed using PassPort America and paid only $25.00. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$39
All site had 20/30/50 amps (good power), water, sewer, useless cable TV with a couple channels of snow, deep and wide sites, plus level. Over the air TV will pick up lots of channels. All sites are back in with hookups in the right place. Roads and sites are good asphalt. The Wi-Fi worked very well but speed was slow. Staff was nice at check in and did everything that I ask. A little road noise from I-5 but inside you cannot hear it. The train tracks run north and south next to I-5 and you may hear a little noise from that. Verizon cell and air card work well here. Park was very clean, neat, full of small trees and plants but no shade to park under. Staff works hard to keep the grounds clean and it looking nice. The park is under guard day and night plus an eight foot high chain link fence around it. You will receive a gate card to get in if guard is missing. Coming out of park is no problem. Park was close to empty at our stay. Rates were a mix of PPA and Good Sam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$65
Most of the previous comments are correct. This is a family resort with tons of kids on skateboards, bikes, and scooters. So, if quiet is what you are looking for, then try another place. Bathrooms are clean, but very small stalls and showers that are extremely dated. Needs an update badly. Close to all the attractions, and convenient to the Interstate. Probably will try another spot next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$75
It is all asphalt but very well kept. The all-back in spots are perpendicular to the drives which made the effort a little harder but do-able if you take your time. The trees are nice and the proximity to the bay is very nice. The primary draw for the park is location to Sea World and other attractions. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
My wife and I stayed here for the 4th. The previous statements about all asphalt is true. Staff was very nice and professional. The park was clean and neat. The Wi-Fi was spotty and slow. Bring your satellite because the cable is limited. Overall it was still a nice spot compared to nearby campground. This was close to a lot of things to do. The view of the fireworks from Sea world and other venues was great. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$80
This RV park was actually nicer than what I expected. Previous reviews made it sound like it was just a parking lot with RV's. While there is not much grass, there is a lot of trees that at least add greenery and shade, and it is well maintained. We had a nice view of the harbor, and the beach was nice for the kids to play on, although it's not directly in the park. We would probably stay here again if we were to go to San Diego to see SeaWorld. We had a fantastic view of the fireworks from SeaWorld as it was across the bay. Wish there would have been a pool that the kids could swim in. The beach close by was ok, but not the best. There was a gate that provided a nice walkway along the water which we took advantage of after dinner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$60
If an asphalt parking lot with a fence around it with no amenities by Mission Bay is your cup of tea then this is your place. The RV next to us was dumping their water by the picnic table. It is not one of my favorite RV parks. I would much rather go elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
The campground is enclosed by a chain link fence, and there is security patrol and entrance. It has access to a small beach area and a very nice park. The ocean view is nice but it is not accessible from your campsite. You have to walk a distance. The view is nice. The staff is very friendly and they had an Easter Egg hunt for the children. We had a nice visit and it was quiet and comfortable. We enjoyed our visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
This large park is well cared for. All sites are back-in on asphalt; the whole park is a huge asphalt parking lot with trees marking the site edge. They are extremely strict on sewer spills and can fine you up to $400 for a spill. Be sure the person who takes you there has noted any issues on the site before he/she leaves. We had to move due to a tree that blocked our satellite. Sites have picnic tables. This is a gated park with security. Part of the park backs the water. There is little traffic noise in the park. They have limits on your stay and the type of rig you bring. They do not want your mail sent to the park. Note: This park is both Good Sam and Passport America. They worked with me on the total cost utilizing the elements of both plans, which I appreciated. The local amusement park has fireworks on weekends you can watch from the beach if you carry your gate card to open the walk gate both ways. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$38
This park is all about location. It's a great place to get to everything from. The campground itself has no more charm than a department store parking lot. All asphalt, sites are fairly small. Still, it is clean, well maintained, and secure. Staff were friendly, and went out of their way to be helpful. The showers were clearly constructed for pigmys. (Assuming privacy was even a consideration.) At 6'3", I have to duck significantly to get below the shower rail bar. Once standing up straight again, I am looking down into the stalls on either side of me. Who builds these things?? Our main complaint was with the wireless internet. The wireless coverage itself (i.e. signal) was decent, but the internet connection via wireless was very hit and miss. Often there were long delays trying to log into sites like Hotmail, and Skype was a total write off. Access was changed from open to security enabled during our stay, but with no noticeable improvement in service. All in all, not a bad park for exploring San Diego, but with minimal facilities. If internet is important, consider somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$34
The $34.00 rate is based on pay for 6 nights get the 7th free at $40 per night for a premium space. This park could not be located in a better spot for someone who wishes to see the sights of San Diego. Not more than 15 minutes to any of the major sites. You don't even have to get on the freeway to get to Sea World which is visible from the park. The park is spotless and well maintained. Entry and exit are gate controlled with complete perimeter fencing. Security patrols the park and the adjoining two mobile home parks continuously. There are 6 price levels of sites available depending on your location preference. If you spend a lot of time in your rig, I would highly recommend the bay view sights as they are located on the west side of the park with an unobstructed view of Mission Bay. #36 is an end unit with only one neighbor and outstanding views. There is a card controlled pedestrian gate right there which will allow you access to all of the pedestrian walkways along Mission Bay. There is a also a private beach and launch ramp on the eastern perimeter of the park great for the kids to burn off some energy and to launch your toys. There are limited laundry facilities. There is no pool, spa or clubhouse if you are looking for those. The office staff and security are very friendly and very helpful in all matters. The cable TV is basic and I would rate it below average only because of the somewhat poor reception. I would most definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$53
The only cons I can think of here are smaller spots & all concrete. No landscaping. Lots of rules but that seems to be the norm here in the city. We stayed here just at a month and I don't' remember the rates we payed but it was reasonable with San Diego averages. Pros--LOVE LOVE LOVE the Mission Bay area! Beautiful park, playgrounds, walking/sidewalks, very close to a HUGE dog park (fiesta island dog park--it's amazing!). Super convenient location, right there at Sea World, my husband and son rode their bicycles to the Sea World parking lot. The RV park itself doesn't offer much, but due to the location and being close to a fabulous park makes up for that. In the summers a pool would probably be great, but since we were here in "winter" it didn't' bother us to not have one. We liked this location and would definitely stay here again. Great Wi-Fi, nice and fast.Bathrooms were decent but we use our 5th wheels facilities anyway so that's not a biggie for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$45
We stayed over the New Year's weekend with our two small children ages 4 and 8 and saw plenty of other children while here. Located outside of this gated RV park is a playground with plenty of activities. It's just minutes from Sea World and located off the I-5. Sites are well lighted: we asked to move because our original site (#103) was under a bright light. The area is level with some grass behind some units and a walking area. Parking is on asphalt. Would recommend the preferred sites as they appeared more private, if this is what your looking for. The fireworks put Sea World's to shame. Would like to visit again in the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$69
One of the most populated campgrounds we've stayed in. It's basically a huge parking lot with some grass strips here and there. The one thing you can't beat with this area is LOCATION. It's right in the middle of it all in Mission Bay. It's full of kids but that's good for us because we have a few too. We would probably stay here again if some of our favorite campgrounds further out are full. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$75
This was an excellent park. The park was clean and well staffed. The sites were large and very well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$60
I stayed at 3 parks this week and this was my favorite I was very happy with it. Originally we were going to stay at campland however they would not allow a Saturday check in so we defaulted to this park and we are glad we did. Excellent security; I welcome the patrols and the gates. The park is literally right on the bay as soon as you walk out of the gate there is a warm water beach. They had a family movie night and free hot dogs one day we were there. We had excellent neighbors and the staff was extremely friendly. This was our base camp for our visit to the San Diego Zoo and Sea World. I should note that Sea World does offer RV parking for $17 if you want to extend your stay here and plan on visiting this theme park. Last comment I have regarding this park is utility location the utility pole was at the rear of the camp site our coax cable did not reach the pole so we did not get to use the free cable TV for this trip but it was not missed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$50
We found this to be very deceiving advertising on behalf of Mission Bay RV. The spots of grass which they refer to for dogs are patches of dirt placed here and there, and the dog park is a dog patch, very small and run down. The stalls are awkward, particularly if you have an extension or push-out on your RV. The picnic tables are near the sewage exits from your neighbor's RV. The parking they refer to is directly in front of your RV, not additional areas. Yes, the location is nice, but that's about it. The stipulations for the park seem very pretentious, no RVs pre 1995, no rust, and the list goes on. To us it seemed like a glorified parking lot, not to mention it is surrounded by a trailer park that doesn't quite meet the standards they push on their customers. Even with the nice location, we'd definitely choose another park next time we are in San Diego. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$65
We've stayed here before and will most likely stay again. The number one thing this park has going for itself is it's location it is prime! We visited all of the other parks in the vicinity none other compared to the convenience of this locale. The park was clean and secure (security guard at gate at all times). It is very "no frills" however. They say they have WiFi (internet), but we were never able to get it to work and when we inquired they repeatedly told us they were "fixing the connection." That went on for 4 days or so. We did have limited cable, which was nice. The office staff was knowledgeable. Overall we appreciated the stay and will mostly likely come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$40
We recently stayed here for 2 nights. We actually were pleasantly surprised by how clean it was and how close it was to the ocean. You could not beat the location as it's central to almost all attractions in San Diego. Sites offer plenty of space and the staff was nice. No complaints and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$40
I see nothing wrong with this park as some of the other reviewers have. People that complain about security must be planning to do something wrong. I welcome it, it make me feel safe. There is lots of pavement, which in my opinion keeps things clean. Each site has a tree and there is grass between you and your neighbors behind you. I found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. The trailer park that you drive past to get to the RV Park is old and rundown looking but that is the last you see or hear from it. You won’t even know it’s there once in the RV Park. The only down side is the sewer hookup is in the middle of your neighbors patio area and your neighbors is in yours however there was no smell or mess. It was a trip hazard though. Why they couldn’t put your sewer hookup in your site I don’t know. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$50
This place is basically a large asphalt parking lot at the sea with RV hook-ups sticking out of the ground. Not much to look at, but the location is good, very close to the ocean. I had to laugh when pulling into the campground and seeing a permanently parked roach coach that serves as a place to eat (not that I would eat there). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$65
Have just arrived from Phoenix, so happy to be near the ocean again and cooler temps. Not sure what the last reviewers issue was to stay 10 minutes and leave. Brenda at the office was very nice when checking in. So far its quiet, nice breeze. Large, back in spot with picnic table, some shade for the dogs. It's all good. I could only get week days because I did not plan ahead but I am just so happy to be back in Mission Beach. As far as the fence goes, hey it keeps the riff raff out and the mobile homes well they aren't so bad and probably worth a hell of a lot this close to the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2008
$65
KEEP ON DRIVING! I had 9 days of spring break planned here but came home the same day!! As soon as we drove in right past the ghetto trailer park that this is located next to "RV RESORT" it should of been my first sign of trouble. Then we entered the PRISON YARD. (Yes, it is fully fenced in chain link to prevent the trailer rif raf from coming in.) The whole park is cement. I paid extra for the wonderful premium site of a bay view. You are backed righted in next to the fence. You are looking thu the fence for your view. After a 10 minute rest we pulled out and headed home. I SHOULD OF READ THE REVIEWS FIRST. I got no refund and it was such a bad park I didn't care! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$55
Nice quite spot near Ocean. Close for visiting all the key San Diego Tourist Sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$59
This is an ideal location from which to visit all of San Diego. Right on Mission Bay, water toys are the perfect accompaniment to RVing here. We paid extra for a "Preferred" site. It was definitely not worth it. We were backed-up to a solid chain-linked fence which was not an improvement on their other sites. The sites are narrow gravel spaces with lots of trees around the park. There was room for our awning and slide. Negotiating the streets of the park with our long rig was difficult. We pull 33.5" of trailer behind our Extended Cab Pickup and it didn't really fit all that well at registration and when exiting the park. There are numerous interesting places to walk around outside the park. There are no places for children to play within the park but since it is right on Mission Bay, just walking out of the RV park to the bayside provided great places for kids. Unfortunately, most of the parents allowed their children to bike, skateboard, and roller skate along the streets of the park which made it noisy and very difficult to drive in and out. Don't pay the extra money for bayside or beachside sites unless you are certain you have a view. Many of their preferred sites back up to a mobile home park and fences. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$64
Quite simply, this place stinks. Stalag 13. It's just like a prison with all the guards and security fences.They even charge for visitors. The worst part is they towed my truck which was clearly in a marked Disabled parking space. I retrieved my truck from the tow yard free of charge and informed the San Diego Police and two local TV stations of the incident. While I was in the office explaining about the Disabled space, another camper came in and complained about the $50 ticket one of the security guard had just given him for rinsing off his dog with his outside shower hose. I have already told all of my friends and hope this note gets to every camper wanting to have a good camp out. Don't camp at Mission Bay RV Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
This is a parking lot that charges more than what you get. The bathrooms where worst than at state parks. The security is everywhere in the park sometimes more than four at a time which makes you feel like a jail compound. The staff is rude and make you feel unwanted. The only reason I give it a high 3 rating is because it is in San Diego. I will never return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2007
$45
I didn't care for "Security" driving by every hour or so and frequently stopping to take notes. I felt like I was on parole. The designated dog walk was dirt, little or no grass. The cable TV was very poor and the wifi was intermittent. This is a parking lot with power pedestals. However, it was close to Mission Bay and nice shopping areas. We'll find someplace else on our next trip to San Diego. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2007
$45
We had never camped at this park but assumed from the strict rules that it must be nice. You could not have a coach older than 1990 however when we arrived the "mobile homes" outside the park were extremely questionable. I think they have a lot of nerve to be concerned with the way our trailer looks. To me this was a glorified Wal-mart Parking lot with full hookups. Also, all the hookups were in the back of the spots. The sewer for the trailer next to you was right near your picnic table, makes for a yummy dinner! Also they turned on the sprinklers which wet the entire back of our trailer, so they could water the weeds. I think if you were planning to park your RV for a day or two to go to Sea World etc, ok place, but don't bring your kids there was nothing to do. Campland across the street looks like a lot more fun for families with kids. To me this wasn't camping but just a place for us to park the trailer. There was no grass or dirt for the kids! I will not ever return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$55
We were here for 2 nights. It is a giant asphalt parking lot with larger trees only in the less desirable sites. There is no privacy between sites and there are bright lights all night overhead. Someone had 'turned off the water heater in the bathrooms', so there was only very cold water for showers. The bathrooms have been poorly updated (old tile removed and walls painted over) and there was no electricity in the bathrooms. The front desk seems completely uninterested in these problems. Location is good and it was quiet and a good place to bike ride. We will probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$36
Very clean, friendly staff. Nice location, near the north end of Mission Bay. Bathrooms close at dusk, due to some recent vandalism and a fire. Hopefully they will change back and leave the showers open. Easy access to freeway. We'll stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$60
I paid for a waterfront space but it was a back-in. So I got a good view of the RV Park. And if you think you will walk to the beach be prepared to climb a 4 foot chain link fence. The park is all asphalt. There are lots of small trees though. I will NOT stay at this park again - too pricey for what you get. And they bill your credit card for the full amount when you make the reservation. Then will charge a hefty fee if you have to cancel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$45
This is our 2nd time here. Is a nice, quiet campground, separated from the mobile home park. Staff was friendly & most live on-site. This CG is not as busy as Campland & that's why we choose this park. Wifi worked fine. Great view of ocean & the bay. Yes, there is chain link fencing but it didn't bother us. The only downside that I don't understand is there change in the reservation policy. When making a reservation, you are not allowed to request a specific spot. This CG has been near empty both times we've stayed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2006
$44
A week before we needed to stay here, we called to confirm that they were still Passport America. They told us no. Okay. We agreed that $30 starting on October 1 was a good rate. Two days before we came, we called again and were once again told there were plenty of spaces available and the basic site was $30. Both times we were told NOT to make a reservation "because there were plenty of sites." Oddly, the website, where the $30 price was posted, went down the day before we arrived. When we got there, the man who "greeted" us said "I don't know who YOU talked to, but there aren't any $30 sites HERE!" The papers he handed us still included the old price along with a sheet of new prices, calling it a small increase (between the price increase and the additional tax which had been included, the basic site now costs nearly 50% more than was posted on the website two days ago and confirmed on the phone to us). Clearly, the whole interaction was meant to deceive. We are now at a much nicer place in Chula Vista, paying about what the people at Mission Bay tried to charge us. It's their business if they want to leave Passport America, of course, as it is their business to raise their prices. Deception, however is very bad business, and we'll never stay there. Would you want to give people like this your credit card information? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2006
$70
When I spoke to the sales person on the phone to book the sites they clearly embellished the truth. We booked a Ocean view site, which was barely viewable. We asked about grass and they confirmed our site did indeed have grass but literally 2 feet of it. We confirmed there was beach but it was across the street and looked disgusting. The place is nothing more than a parking lot surrounded by chain link fence, smaller trees provide little shade. Clearly not worth the money spent - the only saving grace for our trip was the close proximity to the theme parks and the RV park was very empty (no surprise). We will not stay there again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2006
$28
This park is all asphalt. If you are looking for any grass or even shade it won't be here. We paid for an ocean view site. We had the view with a very high chain link fence as well. The security features ( the security gate) are good and close to the Zoo and Sea World. If you check in late hopefully you get someone that knows what they are doing. We didn't. Showers are clean but very small and not to private. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2005
$60
The rv park has been undergoing changes to become more traveler friendly. In the past the rv park was home to many locals who had taken over. When we stayed there it was pleasant and we were comfortable. There was security at the entrance and they made sure we had proper access. They were having trouble with the sewer lines during our stay but had it resolved before we left. The wi-fi was not very good. No tables or fire pits. They are supposed to be providing those in the future. We would stay there again. We walked through the neighboring RV park (Campland at the Bay) we felt we made the right choice to stay at Mission Bay. Less cluttered, cleaner and quieter. Easy access to surrounding activities. Brings your bikes as you can take a nice bike ride around the bay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com