206874 User submitted reviews online!!
Usery Mountain Regional Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 57 user reviews. Phone: (480) 984-0032
CGID4840

Usery Mountain Regional Park

Camp Information
Sites
73
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   3   10   10   8   10   8   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
We loved this park. It was beautiful and quiet and clean. We didn't have any problems with getting a great spot, probably because of the time of year. We did not want to leave. In order to conserve tank space, I used the park shower every evening. It was very clean and had lots of hot water. There are a lot of hiking trails that go out from the campground. I did not avail myself of them as it was in the high 90's during my stay. There was plenty of space for our 42 foot RV. What a gem. We will definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2014
$17
This was one of our most favorite parks and we have rated it a 9 and a 10 in the last years, but not this time. We dry camped for 17$/night in the overflow area, the rate for a developed site is 25$ and all rates are subject to an increase of about 20% in the near future. Without a long planned reservation (8$ fee) it is almost impossible to get one of the developed sites in the park. However, we were happy to drycamp in the group campsite which is used as an overflow. But they really make you feel uncomfortable there. You can only check in for one night at a time and then report to the office each morning at 10 a.m. We had to move our rig three times within the dry camp area(!) while staying for four nights! After the first night we were threatened with a triple fee, because we occupied too much space. Of course we had asked staff for permission to set up our rig this way before. The kicker was the fourth time we had been asked to move. When we decided to pack it in and were already hitched up as half a dozen of fellow campers were also, it turned out to be a false alarm. Everybody could stay where he was this time. Well the damage was already done. We will not come back to Usery. The park is still nice, but noise from the shooting range and traffic along and in the park has picked up significantly. And being kicked around like this time is an experience we don't need to repeat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
This is another beautiful Maricopa County Regional Park. The sites are large and almost level. The long pull-throughs are perfect for a 45 ft motorhome. The angle of the dump station makes it a little tight for big rigs. Gorgeous scenery and lots of wildlife, hiking, quiet. Everything here is very clean. Sunsets are spectacular. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$25
This is a beautiful desert park just minutes away from the conveniences of town. The sites are large and flat -- very easy to back into. The desert scenery is spectacular and there is a variety of hiking and ranger-led activities (photography, dog walks, birding, etc.). We wouldn't knock a point off for no sewer, because that is clearly stated before reserving -- it's a regional park. We met people who stay quite long in the winter because their policy just requires moving to a new site every two weeks (kinda dumb, I know). I could see staying here for a long stretch because we don't care about a pool or shuffleboard or such. Verizon 4g and cell was strong and every kind of store was just 3 miles away. The only minor negative was the nearby shooting range, which we could only hear while hiking, not in camp, and this might be a positive amenity for some. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
Nice location, close enough to Mesa to shop / run errands but far enough away to not feel like you were in town. Verizon connectivity was a bit slow, but reasonable. Huge sites, nice hiking, biking trails in the park. Friendly camp hosts, and a relatively good experience. Only downside was the Firing range close by, noise was bothersome at times, seemed never ending on the weekends. Some noise from Hwy 202 but wasn't too bad most of the time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
This is one of the best campgrounds we ever stayed in. We had been here in December 2012 and now in March the stay was as enjoyable as last year. Although the campground was fully booked you don't recognize it because the sites are so far away from each other. Lots of greenery between the sites. This is as beautiful as desert can get. The sites are fairly level, easy to get in and provide electric and water. Dump station on the way in/out. No Wi-Fi but very good Verizon coverage. Nice views days and night (mountains or twinkling city lights). Super friendly staff at the ranger station and visitor center. A nice park is adjacent with picnic areas and walking trails. We will be back and even take a detour to stay here if we are remotely in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
We spent a week at this park. Sites are clean gravel and very nicely equipped with grills. Lots of space between the campers. Restrooms were very clean and well maintained. The biggest problem with the park is that the sites are generally level side to side but many of the sites are not level back to front so if you are in a motorhome you might be sleeping in an incline. The park is very popular during winter and spring. Reservations well in advance is advised. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
I agree with the other posters who love this campground. It is a great spot with plenty of good riding trails for your mountain bike. I would say that McDowell Mountain Park would have an edge on the mountain biking aspect; however, the sites at Usery Park have much more plant life and greenery. Great shopping nearby, very friendly volunteers. The only somewhat negative thing we can say would be to keep your bicycles locked up while you are here, as there have been a few problems this winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$25
The only things we missed here was the Wi-Fi (may be at the nature center) and a more elaborate recycling. Everything else was just perfect. The friendly and helpful staff, the beautiful site tucked away in the desert vegetation, lots of privacy, nice pick nick bench, BBQ, fire pit, quiet, gorgeous views, sunsets and the wildlife (coyotes and rabbits) occasionally on the site. Nice hiking trails. Perfect location for any kind of biking. We will for sure come again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
This is a beautiful regional park. Lots of lush desert vegetation. We happened to camp here on a Friday/Saturday and found the trails to be very busy on Saturday. The perimeter sites are the best, offering the most privacy. We did not like hearing the shooting range that is just down the street all day long on Saturday; that was the biggest negative about this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
We camped in June and of course it was very hot and there we were almost the only motorhome there. The best and longest site loops were closed, with only one loop open. The water in the shower we tried was way too hot and there was no adjustment for that. Power was great. The hike up to wind cave early in the morning was very enjoyable. The pull-through sites are more like a pull off the road site. Sites are large with lots of room between sites. You get a nice table and lots of room. Sites are gravel and the road are paved. Our Verizon card worked well. The view of the city at night was spectacular. Town is really closer than we had imagined and easy to get to stores and restaurants in Mesa. We would camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
Picturesque, quiet and well maintained park. Lots of room between sites, filled with cacti. Large sites, clean restrooms and showers. Several hiking trails within the Park, and dog friendly. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$33
Our rate of $33 included the $8 reservation fee for booking online. This is a popular campground so I highly recommend making reservations. We have camped here before and love the location and the city views as well as the gorgeous mountain and desert views. We were in spot 63 which was nice but my folks were in spot 62 and I thought it was was too close to spot 8 (very little privacy). I think the best spots are along the south end of the property, as they have the best views and the most privacy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
We love this park. Very popular. It's important to make reservations well ahead of time, although there is overflow (dry) camping near the entrance station. Beautiful desert surroundings with easy access to the Phoenix metro area. Only complaint is that the unheated bathrooms can be chilly during the winter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
I rate this park a 10 despite the lack of full hookups. The beauty and serenity of this place is unparalleled. Had planned to stay just 1 week, but upon arrival we quickly decided to extend it to two. We were lucky to get the extension. Site 58 is the best in the place! But all sites are wonderful, well spaced and very private. The desert scenery is absolutely gorgeous, and we lived in AZ for 10 years! For those of you who insist on packing yourselves in like sardines at all the so-called RV resorts in Mesa and Apache Junction, you do not know what you are missing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
This is an absolute gem! The fact that there is no sewer is a good thing; it encourages folks to move on rather than stay beyond the two week limit. The scenery here is fabulous and there are awesome hikes around the park. Do the Wind Cave and Pass Mountain Loop; they are very nice. Sites are huge and very nice firepits, etc., but beware, some sites are not level, and you will need to block up your wheels in some cases. Take some good, solid lumber with you when you go here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
I found this campground from reviews here, and I was not disappointed. I have camped in many deserts in AZ and CA, and this had to be the prettiest and lushest desert I have ever seen. You are also 10 minutes from shops and amenities (and a good library in Mesa) The sites are spacious and well spaced. Bathrooms are good. It was very quiet - except for the coyotes. If you are reasonably fit, try hiking to Wind Caves. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
This is our 4th visit over the years and it remains one of our all time favorites. If it only had sewer, this would be a 10+. The layout, spaciousness, desert scenery, night view of the city, friendly helpful staff and multitude of birds make this park always someplace we anticipate returning to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Beautiful scenery! Sonora Desert at its finest. Large campsites placed far apart. Miles of hiking trails (watch out for cactus!). Very clean. Large archery and gun range near-by. Very quiet but close enough to Mesa for convenience to stores, if REALLY necessary. Second time there while traveling through. Last time we took an extra day or two so we could go hike to Wind Cave. Rangers were available for questions or help on hiking trail. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
Usery Mountain is absolutely gorgeous. The sites are huge. Picnic tables and barbecues are at each site. You feel like you're away from everything but yet the town of Apache Junction is about 5 minutes away. It's a super park, hosts are nice and I can't think of anything negative other than there is no dump at your site. However, there is one on the property. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
A beautiful spacious park with great camping facilities. The camping spots have lots of room around them so you aren't stacked in like so much cord wood. Friendly camp hosts. No sewer hookup but they do have a dump station. If spots aren't available you dry camp in overflow and await your turn. Max stay in the park is 14 days so spots turn over every day. It is up on a hill with a view of the lights of Phoenix. TV reception is excellent. We will definitely come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
We really like this park. It is extremely busy in Feb and March but it is worth the hassle to get into. Current system has an overflow lot that you can stay in until a spot opens up for you but I understand that an on-line reservation system is about to be in place. Great hiking, clean facilities, great hosts, sites are well spaced with nice views, close to stores of all types. Electric and water at each site and a good dump station. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
In six months on the road, one of out favorite places. Wide open spaces, your own personal saguaro cactus. Great hiking and biking. Active and competent camp hosts, clean and well built restrooms and showers. For a regional park, quite amazing. Only real drawback is the lack of a sewer hookup. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This is a beautiful park in the foothills above Mesa. The sites are spacious and widely separated. The natural vegetation is abundant and provides good privacy. Some sites have views of the city that are exceptional at night. Sites are level, well maintained and clean. Although it looks and feels remote it is only a few miles to urban shopping area. We have absolutely no complaints and are looking forward to camping here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This was our first time in this park and we enjoyed it very much. You are only a few minutes from Mesa, but for the most part you feel removed from the city. There was occasional traffic sounds from the road and you are in the flight path to the airport. I kind of didn't like seeing planes when I wanted to look at the night sky, but the stars are beautiful here. We have a big rig and there are plenty of sites large enough. Didn't see the campground hosts much and they don't seem to be completely on top of their game, cigarette butts in the campsite, and some debris in the fire ring. Lots of coyote sounds and quite a lot of birds including owls at night, so that was nice. The park was quite empty, so we had lots of privacy. The park is about 25 miles from the Mayo Clinic, an easy drive from here. One thing to be careful of, we saw something moving behind our campsite this afternoon and it was a 3' long rattlesnake! Yikes! Yes I know, it's Arizona, it's hot, and we are in the desert. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
One of our favorite parks. We look to visit here any time we are in the area. Natural feeling only a few miles from urban convenience. Large private sites and wide roads. Excellent area for birding. Helpful and knowledgeable birding docent. Rating would be 10 if there was sewer hookups. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
This is a very nice Phoenix area regional park. It is large and scenic with many hiking trails. They prefer to assign sites rather than letting you choose one. With our 40' motorhome, not all sites are suitable and many are not level. We came on off-season, the end of April, so we were allowed to choose our own. The sites have a lot of space around them with lush desert vegetation. There is a dump station. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
We enjoyed this campground a lot. Had nice wide spots and was easy to pull into. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring. Nights were beautiful and we loved all the stars. Close to grocery stores and shopping but yet far enough out, to feel alone in the wilderness. Camp fires were permitted which was great. Lots of rain so foliage was plentiful which was good and bad, the dog was covered in burrs. You pull in through the gate, park, walk back to register and they assign a spot, which is okay. I guess if you know of a spot and it is open you can request it and get it. Nice place and we will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
This Maricopa County park is very similar to McDowell Mountain Regional Park. Both are county parks about 35 miles from each other. Usery is closer to the Phoenix metro area. At the main gate, we had to pull off to the side, fill out a registration form, and walk back. The attendant collected our fee, assigned a site, and we drove to the site. It was quiet with an occasional distant noise from the road that did not bother us. At night, we could see the lights of Apache Junction and Mesa. This park has ample space between sites, separated by native Sonoran Desert vegetation. We stayed at back-in site #23, which was level. They also have pull-through sites. All sites have a picnic table, fire ring, and pedestal grill. The restroom/shower buildings were clean and very modern. Each shower (two for men; two for women) had their own private entrance from the outside. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
Most sites are well spaced. The hiking and mountain biking in the park are both very good. Restrooms are newer and very clean. Private showers where you can actually adjust the temperature. We hiked the Pass Mountain Loop, Windcave Trail, and Merkle Nature Trail: all great. I did an 11-mile bike ride on fun trails. We had fires every night. I highly recommend this park for a family. Well worth the $25 per night. No reservations and it's very popular in prime season, so plan on getting stuck in the overflow camping for one night during high season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
Located near Mesa and Apache Junction, this is a good park. While not as well run as its sister park, Cave Creek, it never the less is more than adequate. The hosts are very rigid in terms of site selection and seemingly have little interest in helping RVers get into a preferred site. The manager must wield a heavy hand since we heard that "manager won't allow" it many times including when we asked hosts for recommendations on where to go for laundromats and propane and they couldn't tell us. About one-third of the sites need lots of leveling. The sites on the outside perimeter of the park have the best views and privacy. Virtually all types of shopping is available within a few miles. This is a favorite of snow birds based on the number of license plates from Canada, Minnesota and Michigan. One other note. Sandy, the resident birder, is very helpful and knowledgeable for those interested in the bird-life of this region. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
This has been one of our favorite parks since we began staying here back in 2001. Since then they have added new 50 amp hookups and improved the dump so you can dump coming in as well as going out. There is also a new nature center by the entrance to the park. The thing we don't like is the quantum leap the rates took to $25 the first of the year. They charged us $17 to park in the overflow area in the group camping area. We only had to spend one night there. Usually the overflow is located at the park entrance and charge only $10 there. They must have been directed to maximize revenue anyway they could. We come here at least once a year to visit family down below and we love it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$20
This park has an absolutely gorgeous desert setting, and each campsite is very private. The bathhouse is Spartan but clean. In general, this place is a great value, although there is only one dump station in the park and it was broken when we were there. We really enjoyed the park programs, small gift shop, and shaded playgrounds. The pull-through slots are easy—you just pull to the side of the road. The sites are not real level but big with a concrete a picnic table and lovely path to the bathhouse. We really wish we could have stayed here longer. The rates increased to $25/day just as we were leaving. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
I really liked this park and campground BUT they have recently raised their rates to $25 a day. That is getting pricey with no sewer or cable and is high compared to the local private RV camps. But is has spacious sites, great views, very quiet and private and you are not jammed in against your neighbor. A lot of the pull through sites have the power and water on the wrong side (unless you want your door facing the road!) and the hookups are at the end of the sites so it can be difficult to get fully in the site. The sites are all big. Great hiking and biking in the park with lots of trails We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
It seems everyone has already said it. A great place to stay. Went to the Apple computer stores in Phoenix, then back to the desert for our campsite. Life is good. Dump station near entrance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
What a great campground: $20 a night for water, electricity and awesome views. Has very clean restrooms. The campground is well worth the extra drive. This is a campground and not a cramped RV park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
Beautiful views of the mountains and valley, friendly staff, and low price contributed to a great stay. The park allows tents, and may be a little noisy on weekends. But there's good security, and I think excessive noise could be controlled. Only negative: I got chigger (insect) bites! That was irony, while true, I can't blame the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
Another beautiful setting, surrounded by desert life but within minutes of Phoenix. A great trail system surrounds the park. The volunteer hosts were gracious and helpful. We flew into Phoenix picked up a rental RV and went out of way to stay again a week later upon our return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
This is camping in a desert setting. Plenty of hiking and biking trails. The campsites are well maintained, bathrooms and showers were cleaned and serviced daily. The park is occasionally patrolled by the Maricopa County Sheriffs Office. If you are looking for a place to hike, ride a mountain bike, or just looking for some solitude then this is the park for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
The park was clean with good space between campsites. The park is very picturesque. The restrooms and showers were not heated, so it was cold in February but the water was hot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
One more good campground in the Maricopa County system. The sites are very spacious but many need a little work to level the rigs even with hydraulic jacks. The check in kiosk has info on where to go for laundry and food shopping but you have to ask. They don't hand out any info sheets. They didn't even know where to go to find free wifi. Re wifi, Mesa libraries don't let you get your email when using their system so there is no wifi option there. Good hiking trails as well as an archery and rifle range close by. Beautiful sunset views. I would staye there again but only if I couldn't get into Cave Creek. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
We have stayed here for two weeks each year since 2001 since we have so many family and friends in the area. We have watched things improve here over the years. The new 50 amp service now is super. We have never had a bad spot in the park. Now, they are building a new visitor center which should be finished next time we come through the area. It is close to Mesa with everything you will ever need. The thing they could improve in all of the Regional Parks in the county is recycling; the only thing they take is aluminum cans. This overall is one of the best parks we stay in each year. It is so popular, you may have have to stay in the overflow area a while before you can get a spot in the campground. The hosts are real helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$20
We're actually still in this campground as I write this--we keep paying for "just a few more days" but we're about to hit the 14-day limit (if they have room and you move sites, word is they will overlook the limit). The park has many ranger-led activities--my son has been on more hikes the past couple weeks than ever before. And the "Brown Bag" lectures at lunchtime are fun and very educational. We've seen many coyotes right in the park--the last one a couple days ago about 25 feet from the trailer. And the views, especially at night, are very cool. Lots of cactus, lots of wildlife, lots of events to participate in. It's now become one of our very favorite campgrounds. Like someone else has mentioned, only the lack of sewer hookup kept this from getting a 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$20
This is a very nice short stay Public RV Park. The sites have electric and water and a dump station is located as you enter/leave the campground. The views of the city at night are great. No night time security is provided, but it didn't seem to be a problem as there are host campers at the entrance to the campground. This is a 14 day maximum stay park. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
Absolutely beautiful desert location, enormous gravel sites with cement tables and fire rings. Great spring vegetation and fabulous mountain views. The best campground we've been in in 2 years of full timing. Only lack of sewer kept this from a 10. Our second time here in 4 months. We can't keep the bird feeders full. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$20
The only thing keeping this campground from being a 10 is the lack of sewer hookups. This is a Maricopa County Park and limited to a 14 day stay. The campground has some ranger led activities and great hiking trails. If you prefer the great outdoors you will love this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$28
We planned on staying here 2 nights and ended up staying 5. We had just begun a month-long caravan with friends in another rig and this made for an excellent start. A highlight was our evening campfire at our site beneath a giant Saguaro cactus with my cowboy music playing into the night. Sites are very large set within beautiful Sonoran desert flora. Bird life was amazing, and coyotes howled nightly. A true wild west experience just outside of Phoenix. A fabulous, easy mountain bike ride through the desert is close by in the park, and the hike to Wind Cave is one of the most popular in the Phoenix area. Staff was friendly, and the showers were fine, which was appreciated since with no sewer hookup we had to conserve water to avoid a mid-stay dump (there is a dump station here). A brand new freeway (Loop 202)into Mesa and Phoenix is only a few minutes away. Next time we have to stay in the Phoenix area we will bipass those yucky RV parks in town and stay here, sewer hookup or not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
Very nice CG in a desert setting. Beautiful views at night, great hiking trails! Spaces are spread out and each has electric/ water along with concrete table, bbq, fire ring. Showers/ restrooms very clean. Hosts do a great job keeping place clean. Will probably be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$20
Absolutely beautiful desert location, enormous gravel site with table and fire ring. Great vegetation and mountain views. The best campground we've been in in 20 months of fulltiming and over 120 campgrounds! Only lack of sewer kept this from a 10. Saw more birds than we have ever seen at our feeders. Showers very nice. Really far from everythything though. Did a lot of driving in 9 days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
This place is amazing! Wonderful sunsets and sunrise is beautiful! Great desert camping far from city lights so star gazing is perfect! For $20.00 a night with elec/water it's a deal. My own WiFi worked great! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$24
Even though this park is close to Phoenix, it is up in the hills to the northeast and feels very isolated. The view of the city lights at night is spectacular. The sites are large and well maintained with lots of space between sites. You are never very close to anyone. It is a beautiful, desert environment, great in the winter but probably unbearable during the summer heat. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$18
This is our favorite Arizona campground. It's in a beautiful desert setting. All sites are large and private with wonderful views and abundant wildlife (birds and coyote). It's a very clean and secure park. The only drawback is the nearby shooting range which can be heard from the campground. There are numerous scenic and well maintained hiking trails nearby. This park is close to all services in Mesa as well as other county, state, and federal recreational sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$18
Very pretty county park. Good hiking. Outstanding desert views. Sites are spaced out. Electric and water. Dump on site. Close to shopping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2006
$18
This is our favorite campground in the US. Very large gravel sites in the desert, surrounded by cactus of all sizes, with a cement picnic table, water, and 50 amp power. The hosts even rake the gravel clean between visitors. There are back-in and pull-through sites that will accommodate any size rig. The dump station is well maintained and easy to access. If the campground is full, you can dry camp in the parking lot for $10/day. On one of our many visits I saw it take two days for someone to get in, but usually there are open sites. The sunsets, sunrises, and howling coyotes are wonderful. There are many well marked hiking trails in the park. I saw a review that said it's a tough drive, but that must be a route we never take. Off Highway 60, drive about five miles up Ellsworth Rd., and you're there. No grades, no sharp turns. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$18
This is a county campground and park that overlooks the city of Mesa and Phoenix Valley from the East Side of Mesa at the start of the Superstition Mountains. Sites are spaced very nicely from each other. You are in a desert setting but in 5 minutes you can be at a supermarket or fast food joint. Don't get me wrong, this is not a senior or snowbird park, but a very nice local campground where the city ends and the desert starts. You can only stay here for 14 days at a time. There are no seasonal guests. I live in Mesa, but took my Trailmanor here for it's maiden voyage. However, I will probably go back because to live some peace and quite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
This area is a long, long haul up a mountain and around some big bends. Upon arriving, one is impressed by the beautiful dessert. After driving the loops, one is overwhelmed by the remote, desolate, and isolated nature camping can be. This is not a place for social beings. This is for back-woods, back-to-nature, earth loving self-sustaining types. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$18
This is our favorite park. It is a county park, and its only shortcoming is the lack of sewer hookups. There is a dump station available at the park. Sites are huge, with most sites widely separated from neighbors. The park features stunning Sonoran desert flora, hiking, biking and horse trails, great views of the Valley of the Sun and wonderful winter weather. There is a two week limit, but you can stay longer at management's discretion. You must change sites if you do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com