219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Grand Sierra Resort & Casino RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 75 user reviews. Phone: (775) 789-2147
CGID5034

Grand Sierra Resort & Casino RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
178
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   7   9   9   7   8   9   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
We stay here during Hot August Nights,which is very busy and some what expensive but you take what you can get. We had a 30 amp back-in, which was fine but as the week went on and the park became full we started to have electrical problems. So long story short, we were comped almost $90.00 to bring our weekly rate down. I feel like there is no upkeep here just enough to keep it going and when it breaks, Bandaid it. But for now it works and very convenient and you do have access to all the hotel pool etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
Close to downtown, $10 cab ride. Good power. Big wide sites to handle any rig/trailer. Lots of traffic into the airport--fun to watch. Long walk to the pool/casino. 100 PSI water, lousy Wi-Fi. Need shortcut to casino. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$29
Rate paid is based upon one week stay. Good basic RV park. Roads and sites are paved. You get access to the very nice pool facility and other amenities at the resort. Park is right next to the Truckee River with a short paved path good for walking dogs. Verizon signal is pretty slow. Did not try the parks wifi. Good laundry facilities. Just a little road noise because the park is in the middle of the city. Sometimes the planes fly right over the resort, but not often. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$30
I always return here. It's a nice place to park and visit the amenities of Reno. I used to always visit the spa in the hotel however due to the recent rehab of the facility their prices for use have tripled. You can do better in town. There's a river path next to the place that goes up and down the river. In the summer there are lots of homeless men hanging out, not so much in the winter. My dog enjoyed it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$37
Nice RV park, $30 for 30amp and $37 for 50amps. The water pressure is 100 psi so be sure to bring a water regulator. The office staff was very nice. When we called for a reservation we were told there were no 50 amps available but when we got here I asked again and they gave us the one right across from the office so it pays to check when you arrive. All sites are concrete and very wide. You have enough room for your slides, awnings and a small car/jeep. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$50
Easy check in and spacious. No frills, but the people working here are very nice. This park is associated with the Grand Sierra Casino Resort so everything is right there (gambling, beautiful pool, shopping, bowling, theaters, many restaurants, hair salon, music venue, shows...) as well as the airport. It was fun to watch the planes land, and I don't recall being bothered by aircraft noise. Very pet friendly. Would stay here again, and planing to return next summer with the grand kids. They have high pressure water, so make sure you come with a water regulator or they can sell you one. You must have one or you can end up with costly damage to your rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
We stay here quite often as we travel from California east. The bathrooms are very clean and employees helpful. We are not gamblers and stop here to do some shopping before going across Nevada. It can be noisy with the airport nearby until 10 o'clock at night, but after that fairly quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Very nice campground. The spaces were very wide, so there was a lot of room for slides, awnings and privacy. The restrooms were clean but the floors of the showers were peeling and needed to be re-done. We had full use of the hotel amenities like the very large pool and casino. The pool was in the full sun and the only way to get shade was to rent a cabana, which wasn't cheap. They needed some tables with umbrellas, for no charge. They need to put in cable TV - everything else was so nice, it was strange not to have it. We stayed for 11 days and it was very enjoyable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
Nice clean park next to the casino. Good showers and rest rooms, free access to their swimming pool. Good Wi-Fi and lots of restaurants and shopping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
Not overly excited about this RV park. Although it was well lit, level and clean, it was totally paved (hot), no shade, tight parking, and the swimming pool was inside the lower level of the casino.which was not easily accessible to the campers. It is really for casino gamblers only. No cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
This park was convenient to our needs and the price included tax and a Good Sam discount. The park overall is clean and tidy but very hot. No shade other than the motor home beside you. You do get to use the pool at casino and there is a Super Walmart for grocery needs nearby. But I believe their price is about ten dollars to high for casino camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$52
First off, kind of expensive for a Casino RV park, but after that all is good. Rate shown includes the "Resort fee" that is added. Wide, paved spaces, nice laundry, easy walk to one of the nicer casinos around. Good entertainment and food, close to many Reno attractions. Great swimming pool, golf driving range, and much more. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
Good location on north side of Reno, with casino access across the parking lot. All spaces are wide enough for rig and towing vehicle to park. Front spaces have better landscaping but rear spots have closer access to fenced dog runs. Only complaint is stay limitations. During season (May through October) you can’t stay longer than 2 weeks even if you pay the weekly rate. During off-season, you can stay continuously at the monthly rate. While understanding the rate differences, we disagree with the stay limits. If we had reservations and paid the higher fee, why couldn’t we stay longer than 2 weeks? Yes, they can charge the highest (the daily) rate on week-ends when they are almost full, but more than 50% of sites sit empty during the week. Day rate calculated from weekly fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
As always, this park does the job - whether for an overnight or a longer term. Good WiFi service, level sites, easy check-in/out. Office staff is nice and the price is right. Easy to access from both Hwy 395 and I-80. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
Military folks get a 25% discount!! We stayed four nights and were upgraded for free from a back-in site to a pull-through upon arrival. Huge, double wide pull-through spaces. RVers get free use of the hotel's very fancy fitness center, which also features saunas and hot tubs. What a super place to stay for an incredible bargain price. Very pet friendly, dogs are even allowed on leash inside the hotel! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
The park is conveniently located right next to the casino. However, it's a bit confusing to navigate when coming from the highway. Nice and clean facility with wide sites. Dog friendly. It's not the quietest setting as the park is close to major highway, but that is quite normal for parks located within city boundaries. We had no problem with it. Nice laundry facility. Great base for couple days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
Clean, big RV park with large sites. Lots of pet stations with big grass areas and bags. Really a big parking lot with sites in between the roadways. Okay for a few nights. Convenient to the casino. Signage is very poor. Ended up driving the wrong way upon entering the casino parking lot. No signs directing to the RV park and an RV show up front got me the wrong way. The park is in the back of the casino. Office staff very friendly and efficient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$60
Stayed here 2x, once in mid August and on the 3rd. Lots are clean and flat. There is a small dog park and you can walk along the river for a few hundred yards. Store is basic, but personnel pleasant. Best part of staying here: 2 Charlie Trotter restaurants in the hotel. The Italian one is superb, the other OK - spotty service. There is also a driving range for golf enthusiasts. The casino is fine, strange to be there when the Burning Man people descend! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
The facilities in this park are great. They even have a television in the laundry room. The sites are level and wide. Having said that, there are a few drawbacks, e.g. the park's proximity to the airport and railroad. The shade trees are closer to being bushes so far as casting shade on a hot motor home. When you get off the Interstate, please pay close attention to the entry as it is very close to a busy intersection. You will have very little time for last minute decisions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
We stayed here to attend the annual Reno Kennel Club dog show and found the sites quite comfortable with very nice staff. There isn't a lot of shade and it can get windy. Our TV antenna worked fine. The casino was very close and all the sites were clean. Although we were on gravel (by choice), we liked our site along the river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
We really enjoyed this park. Location was away from busy downtown yet a 10 minute drive to reach downtown area. VERY clean park. Pretty much just a parking lot style park but amenities were awesome. Pool was open late. Casino has bowling & movie theater, lots of shopping. Much nicer than other RV parks in Reno. Strongly recommend!!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Pretty bare camping on a parking lot, but the Truckee River flows right behind the lot. The staff never failed to be professional and cheerful. Some kids next to us didn't observe the 10pm quiet time. They were in/out/in/out slamming doors until 11:30pm. They were otherwise polite, however. We were at the casino for an event and chose this park for convenience only. Would not stay again, need some green around me. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Cracked Asphalt, no shade, scary neighbors. Yup, it's a casino RV park in Reno. However, as those go it's one of the better ones. Well laid-out sites and park, all services, and a great casino. Nice restaurants in the casino, good pool, good gambling. OK Wi-Fi. Bright lights in the campground but better to be secure. This isn't the forest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
There are 2 distinctly different sections in this park. The front section has some minor landscaping and paved spaces for the rig, truck and lounging around your site. The back section is mostly gravel with little to no amenities on the sites. In the back section, the site for the rig is paved and there is little space to sit outside your rig. The real plus to this RV Park is the proximity to the hotel/casino complex for visiting family or losing money hand over fist. Office staff are very helpful and professional. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
Noisy, stayed with another rig...both of us were awake all night from jets, traffic, etc. Very weak on amenities and landscaping. Not good, will look elsewhere in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
This is an old campground, about 40 years old, but well maintained. Paved level sites. Good Wi-Fi but no cable. On the approach to the airport so there is some noise. Prices in the restaurant are high!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$24
This is a great campground, looks sort of like a parking lot but is just not bad and would return. Clean, friendly front office. Only thing wrong is no cable TV. Wi-Fi was very good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$31
This campground is a large asphalt parking lot. That said, it really wasn’t that bad, which is why I gave it 7 stars. We were parked in a large pull through site behind the office. The site was pretty level and easy to get into. We were close to a grassy area for the dogs. The bathrooms were spotless. The employees were all friendly and helpful. There is a shuttle service to the casino and shopping mall. The free Wi-Fi was great, hooked right up to it without any problems. No cable, but the antenna worked just fine for TV. I did not think it was overly noisy for city camping, as some people complained. The casino was nice and had many restaurants to choose from. We did not care for the food at the diner. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This place is just OK for a stop over. It's just a big parking lot behind a large casino, with hook ups. There was a lot of noise from the trains, nearby airport and employees/pedestrians roaming out of the casino. The sites are real close to each other--"a parking lot". The staff was friendly and they do have shuttle service to and from the casino. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
This is on the site of an old KOA - but now adjacent to the large hotel and casino. The roads are cracked and weeds are popping up everywhere in between. The spaces closest to the office seemed to be occupied mostly by resort employees. The closer-in sites are paved and the places toward the back are gravel. There is no cable TV, but we were able to get several digital channels over the air. The dog walk is sandy and has no shade - however they are just fine with walking dogs on the grassy areas and there is access to the river-walk path as well. There was some noise from the airport, distant trains, and road traffic - but overall not bad. It took a bit of doing to get level. They allowed a very late check-out (3 PM) - just ask at the desk and, if they are not too busy, it is no problem. The office staff was very friendly and accommodating. Good central location for the Reno/Sparks area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
This is a great place to stay when in Reno. The front sites and some of the back sites have cement pads. The roads are dirt and sometimes are a little dusty. The back is near a busy street and can sometimes be noisy. The restroom were well maintained. There is a shuttle service to the Hotel and Casino as well as service to downtown Reno. The utility connections are inconsistent and sometimes have issues. They had a flood some years ago and still have not gotten everything right. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Very nice RV park. Staff was very helpful. We stayed 13 days. The park is behind the beautiful Grand Sierra Casino and Resort (was the Hilton). We could use the Hotel and Casino pool, sauna etc. There is a river walk, a driving range into a lake, the wash room and rest rooms were excellent. They had a shuttle that would pick you up at your site and take you to the Casino. Very pet friendly with a pet walk and you can walk them along the River walk. Only negative is it is near the airport, so has aircraft noise during the day. Wi-Fi was excellent. Would use this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
No grass..all asphalt. No tables. No cable but good satellite if you have it. Very friendly staff. Grand Sierra casino and mall very nice. Restaurants are nice. Long walk to get to them. Not pet friendly. We stayed here two nights. Would stay again. Nice river walk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
We like the location of this park. It is close to the medical facilities we need, shopping, dining, movie theatre, other casinos, etc. The staff is very helpful and friendly. While the front section has landscaped concrete pads, we usually stay in the back because it provides guaranteed satellite access and is closer to the fenced off-leash dog run. The back section has some concrete 50-amp pull-through pads but is mostly gravel 30-amp pull-through or back-in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$27
The price reflects AAA discount. This is a plain jane RV park - OK for a pass through Reno. It is close to the airport, but as long as the planes are coming in over you, it isn't too noisy. The only problem we found was that they didn't tell us that there were no 50 amp hookups at our site. So we tried to plug into 50 amps and nothing so hooked up to 30 and we were OK. When I asked on checking out about the 50 amps, the desk clerk said that he has asked for the 50 amps plugs to be removed for over 2 years. Oh well, 30 amps worked for us. It is quite a walk the casino and eateries, but you can call security for a ride, but allow up to 30 min. for that ride. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
Office staff were very friendly. Level, roomy site. We were in the paved area in the front. The back sites are in gravel. Good water pressure. Picnic table and two lounge chairs provided. Site had cigarette butts thrown about, which is the fault of the inconsiderate prior RV'ers that did not dispose of them properly. No noise problem from airport. Pretty creek flows on edge of park. Laundry room was clean and large. Walk to casino, restaurants, movie theater, bowling and free entertainment in casino. Have stayed here before and will come again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
This park is very centrally located for both Reno and Sparks activities. While the front park has more landscaping, the back section is usually less crowded and closer to the fenced off-leash dog run. Most sites are pull-through with rough rock patio area. The sites provide ample space between the rigs and are level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Back in sites were not level, so changed to a pull-through site. Stayed 4 days over Labor Day weekend. Free WiFi worked 3 days, used the air card for the middle day. Happy with assigned site but on the 3rd night discovered the site next to us was a check-in, check-out location for a rental RV agency. Had people in and out at all hours. The last night was quiet. One rental RV used an empty space across from us to dump and made a mess!! Called office but by the time they came to check the RV was gone and the mess had started to dry up. (After watching them dump, an observation I would make to anyone considering renting an RV: buy your own NEW drinking water hose. You don't know how the one furnished with the RV has been used.) Park location was very convenient, it was dog friendly and overall we enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$23
This is a huge park at the edge of Reno and Sparks. There is lots of variety between 30 and 50 amps, pull-throughs and back-ins. The hotel security patrols often and all day/night long. A shuttle can be called from the Casino to take you from your site to the gaming tables/slots. The office staff is very helpful and responsive. In the laundry, if you are using the washers that face the dryers be sure to check the water temperature as the cold and hot pipes were reversed when we were here. The office was told and was going to correct the problem, but verify. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Very nice campground if you can stay close to the casino and the office area. The further back area is strictly gravel and not close to very much. We stayed for a week and the grand total was $135 plus tax. Nice people on staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
Concrete! The Grand Sierra is a casino with an RV park. Getting there was interesting, yet not bad. The Casino and hotel is very nice. We did use the fitness center (which I would not recommend). The fitness center is very small and two of the machines I tried were broken. The pool is very nice. We did take a day trip to Virginia City. That is a great drive. Overall, very nice! I would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This RV park was clean, but nothing more than a concrete lot with a few small trees. My main beef with the park is the swimming pool, which was OPEN TO THE PUBLIC. When we arrived there was a wild party with a cover cost to get into the pool. That continued every night after 8pm and all day Sat and Sun, basically when I wanted to swim. The GS casino was so full of cigarette smoke that we could not stand to use the facility for eating or anything else. We did see a movie here however. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
This park has no tv hookup. If you are ok with that then you have the first battle won. Next, there are very few NICE spots for 30 amp hookup. This place caters to the 50 amp family. When I spoke to the girl at the register she was VERY nice about everything, but she did say that the only 30 amp spaces were out in the "Desert Area." No trees, no grass, a few paved but the rest are gravel. The dog walk area is OK, but there is no grass there either. It is fenced in dirt. It has 2 sections though, so if you want your dog alone that is possible. The park is located near the casino and the "AquaRange" which is kind of cool. Otherwise, we are out by highway 395 and a ways from town. Oh, one more thing: the link on this page to the "View Map" for the location of this place, is wrong. I printed it to bring with us and after looking at it I decided to call the office. No where near what the map says. Do your own search for directions here. We would stay here again, IF we could get one of the VERY FEW nice 30 amp spots. (Note from Admin: Yes the map pin was wrong as no one had every set it to correct place. I fixed the problem.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Nothing more than an asphalt parking lot with hookups. I don't consider it full hookups when no cable is available. Sites were certainly wide enough to accommodate our small rig. We used a back-in site. There are no tables and a few lawn chairs thrown around the park. I tried to haul a few of the park lawn chairs to our site but they were too bulky and heavy for me to do so. I asked the park attendant to bring us a couple chairs but that never happened. Since the RV "Resort" is so sparse on amenities, don't come thinking you'll have nice outdoor bar-b-ques unless you like the "tail-gate" type of outdoor eating. Like I said, no tables so you'd have to sit on the dirty asphalt pavement. There is a wonderful pool at the adjoining hotel/casino, which was easy to walk to if you're in good shape. There is a sign posted on the pay phones saying you can call security for a ride to the casino. Since the weather was nice, we just walked each time, so I don't know how well this worked. I imagine you would get prompt pick up to take you to the casino, but may find yourself out of luck to get a courtesy shuttle away from the casino. the pool was very crowded with kids, as expected, since there isn't much else for kids to do in Reno. At 5:00pm each day the pool area started blasting loud music from the on-site bar attracting the bikini-clad singles group and scaring away the kids with the loud racket. The Cafe Sierra at the Grand Sierra Resort has excellent food, prices are affordable for families, and excellent waiters. The $6 kids meal was the best deal in Reno! The Fun Quest arcade area for kids is the usual rip off with token-driven machines. You save up a billion tickets and can trade them in for a cheap toy Made in China. There is a massive gated play area with tunnels and stuff for kids to crawl on but the $8 admission fee for a couple hours seemed a little steep to me so we didn't use it. The Hotel/Casino had some decent shops to walk around in and had a handy pizza place near the Fun Quest Arcade that the kids liked. This RV park served the purpose of having a place with hook ups, near a full casino, where the kids could be entertained and the spouses could trade off gambling while the other watches the kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Sites are wide and long, but park is right under the flight path to the Reno airport and close to train yards. Pool area was crowded and noisy. Will stay in Sparks next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
Good things about this park are the sites are wide and level, showers and bathrooms are clean and you do get to use the hotel amenities. Negative things are how you get to the RV park. We exited at Glendale which was where we were told to exit. The entrance to the hotel was very narrow so we had to go down to Greg, turn right, then right on Telegraph and right to the RV park: but you can't turn into the park from that direction. We went to the front of the hotel and were able to turn around and go back to the park. Had to go over numerous speed bumps. The park is not much to look at: all concrete and not much landscaping. WiFi didn't work well for me. Probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$19
Love this place. Love the fact that I can use the hotel amenities (spa, pool, restaurants) as well as gamble on and off at my leisure. Sites are big, people are friendly, location convenient. My dog gives the riverbank path behind the facility two paws up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$19
Bathrooms were large, clean and heated. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Pull through sites are very large, back in sites are kind of small. Security will come pick you up and take you to the casino as it is a little bit of a walk. Pets are permitted anywhere in the casino with exceptions of the obvious (restaurants, gambling, spa). Would have given it a 10 but didn't just because it has a "parking lot" type feel and has no trees for shade or grassy areas. We will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
This is an upscale place with level concrete pads and good satellite reception. However, the pads are not exceptionally far apart from each other. The location is in downtown Reno right next to the Grand Sierra Casino. I will stay here if I return to Reno. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
We really liked the campground at the Grand Sierra. The sites were huge--double a normal campground. It was very clean and security was regularly in there driving around giving you a safe feeling. We had access to the pool and work out room included which were really nice and clean. Also if you wanted to go to any of the clubs at night that was also included. The casino was very nice and they have a lot to do for children. We will be back to the Grand Sierra campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
The park charge a $5 per day fee for use of casino amenities and if you do not read the fine print you do not know about this. I complained and they removed it. Cost per day then became $27.00. We had a 30 amp back in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
We camped in a pull through site with a 50amp service. Facility was clean. No frills in the park itself, but when you are next to a casino, who cares? The young lady at the registration desk was very friendly and helpful. We will surely camp again there if the opportunity presents itself. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$1
We received a complimentary rate from the casino players club which was very much appreciated, the rate was $0. Our spot was very large and long with plants and small trees on either side. The park is close to the back of the hotel with easy access to the facility. One note: Beware of the high water pressure, it is 100+ psi. Even with our water reducing value or regulator attached we still came home to a flooded motorhome. We blew two regulators the first day so we ended up just using our own water. Same thing happened to another motorhome while we were there, so beware of the water pressure problem. We will probably stay here again since the price is right. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
Stayed two nights. The sites are little more than a parking stall. No tables. The bathrooms are nice, big showers, very clean. There is a store, but when we walked down at 6pm to get ice, it was closed. We called the hotel, and they sent a security van to take us to get ice! Now that is service! Just a little walk to the casino, shops and movies in their theatre. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$29
We camped here in a 40' 4 slide motor home using a military discount. We were in space 463 which is concrete with enough room for our tow vehicle. A lounge is furnished with the site. Small tree and shrubs divide the sites. Internet is extremely pricey so we didn't use their WI-FI. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$47
Your opinion of this park will depend on the space you are assigned. Many are narrow and are asphalt with gravel (rather large lave rock gravel) or out and out dirt. No trees, shrubs or green. The remainder of the spots are asphalt and have ample room for both large rigs, toads and slides. We camped at space #464. It's an "end" and is adjacent to a nicely landscaped area, with shrubs, small trees and decorative rocks bordering the site. Small store with supplies and limited food. Major shopping within 2.5 miles. Of course, this is Nevada and the adjoining hotel has a large casino ready to let you spend your money with them. Must declare your pet and pay $5.00 per pet per day. Dog run is dirt. If you are charged a pet surplus, that money should be used to enhance pet areas. No cable! That was a surprise! It's not out of order, they just don't have cable. The park's internet is very expensive, about $5.00/hour or $16/day. Bring your own cell phone wi-fi card. Excellent connections for both your cell phone and wi-fi card. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$42
We have stayed here before when it was a KOA. I was a little disappointed with the site we were given this time (201). Although it is just a large parking lot with full hook-ups, the portion up front by the office is large enough to park you vehicle next to your 40 foot motorhome. They supply lounge chairs, trees although small and some grassy areas. At the site we were given you hardly had room for a 40 footer, barely any room for your towed, no chairs, no trees, no grass just gravel. It's a awful lot of money to pay for these few amenities. We won't be back at this particular RV park due to the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This is an excellent campground for a few nights. Big pull throughs and easy on and off access to the highway. Situated in the back of one of the nicest casinos in Reno. No shade and only small trees. Since the campground was only 1/4 full there was plenty of space for everyone. Full use of all hotel facilities - pool, spa, etc. Just 50 minutes to North Lake Tahoe. Would camp here again in our motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$26
The Park is located right off of the parking lot for the Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, so it is very similar to a parking lot itself except for the addition of some small grassy areas/trees in between some of the sites and two lawn chairs next to each site. Quick access to restaurants, entertainment, shopping, etc. due to proximity to Resort. There is not much space for young children to run around in, but our kids just ran through the large halls in the Resort. The restrooms were very clean and well-kept, and the showers were roomy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Our poor rating is largely due to the extremely bad attitude we got from the check in clerk. Even though we had reservations but were given a site way back in the back lot in the dirt, the site was so narrow our door literally hit the next RV's sewer connection. When we complained we were told the 100+ open sites up front were all booked. I asked if we could have reserved a certain site number and were told no, first come first served which made no sense to me, I was standing there, had reservations, couldn't have reserved a certain site but the open sites were all reserved ?? We had to stay 3 nights because of other commitments, when we left many of the open up front sites remained unused. We will never stay here again, period! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$34
Rating is not for amenities we stayed here as a stop over. We pulled in after hours in our 42' motorhome. Two more 42 footers pulled in as we were setting up. All 3 of us just spent the night. Casino a few hundred yards away. Fairly level concrete sites, we had a 70' plus pull thru. Campground was sparsely populated all hook-ups were dated but satisfactory. Good for a night maybe 2. Would spend the night again if ever back this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$33
This park was a great find. The sites were very large (big enough to park a truck next to an RV) and it was a short walk to the Grand Sierra Resort Hotel and Casino. Amenities include a driving range into a small lake, 3 different go-kart tracks, miniature golf, movie theater, a mini-mall and numerous nice restaurants. The park also runs along side the Truckee river with a paved walkway along the river. This campground also has a fenced in dog run that is split into two sides allowing more than one family to enter the run at once. We will DEFINITELY be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
We almost didn’t stop here—but I’m certainly glad we did. Many of the on-lines reviews we had read were negative, but we took a chance because the park was close to where we wanted to be. What a delightful surprise it was! Located beside a resort and casino, the park is very clean. The sites are wide, and the pull-throughs are angled, which provides a sense of privacy. There are rock beds, native plants, and small trees separating the sites. There are full hookups at every site. We chose a back-in for our travel trailer, with an excellent view next to the Truckee River, and a long, paved walking/bike path that extends for miles along the river. The rest rooms and showers are spotless and cleaned several times a day. The personnel, especially Sheryl, were friendly and helpful. There is 24-hour mobile roving security throughout the park. The rates are low (the military rate is lower than the AAA rate). The park is surprisingly quiet, given the proximity of the airport. There are two fenced doggy areas, and plenty of places to walk. There is even a free shuttle service to and from the casino and restaurants. For golfers, there’s an “aqua golf” driving range next to the park. Unfortunately Wi-Fi is not available throughout the park, and when you can access it, it’s expensive. This used to be a KOA park, but when they pulled out, they took almost everything that wasn’t tied down, including the propane facilities and the picnic tables. Considering everything, the bottom line is, if you want a great place to stay in Reno, this is it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
Completely overpriced for what amounts to a Wa-lMart with hookups! I agree with the other reviewers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$42
Just a spacious place to park. Restrooms clean but no park that charges this much should be lacking wifi and cable tv. The Nugget in Sparks has banned boondocking and we were left wanting for a spot. This is not our first choice, they charge too much for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
We had stayed here a couple of times before when it was a KOA. As poor as it was then, it is actually worse now! Keep on driving and just stay in the Sparks Nugget RV lot for free. The place was run down, very uniformed and non-caring staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$42
As other comments state, it's getting more and more run down since KOA left. This was our first time staying there and will only stop again if I need a place with hookups at last minute. Pet owners need to pick up after their pets. Sites are not appealing. The billboards around Reno about an elegant RV park are very misleading. Hopefully the new owners will put some money into the RV park soon. The rates were way too high. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$42
We are leaving the park a day early and driving to another where there might be more to see and people to talk to. Since KOA moved away, this park has closed its terrific little store, reduced security and personnel, removed cable TV etc, but raised rates. Still clean but with nothing but the hotel/casino to draw, people are not here. Staff was a big plus here when we visited before. KOA took the staff with them and there is nobody here except a desk clerk who is not familiar with RVs. This could be a great park with active owners and activities. Still OK for a place to visit Reno area from. But just OK! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$38
Great staff, the park has already improved from our last visit, new managers, things are getting repaired that needed, Christmas lights are up, bathrooms are warm and clean. Great park close to everything! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$38
What made this park most attractive was the staff. They did everything possible to make our stay pleasant. Well stocked store and great proximity to the Reno Hilton. I brought a group up to the Hotel and we stayed in the RV park. We will return often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$52
Park is getting a little run down since KOA took over management, not near as green and clean as it was when operated by the Hilton or Balley's and over twice the price. Still nicely located with wide and easily accessed spaces. Walking distance to the casino and restaurants. We have been staying at this park for 30 years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$53
The park was well maintained and there were plenty of staff on hand to help with any issues or concerns. I felt the $53 per night rate very high for weekday rates and the $51 rate per night for weekend very high. We stayed there for seven nights for a convention. The rates were not high due to supply & demand as many campsites were empty, especially during mid week - they were at probably 40% capacity. I would not stay there again due to the high rates. It was over 1/2 of what the hotel rate was for the convention - not a very good savings when you tie in the cost of fuel! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$38
This park is better described as a Parking Lot! Lots of spaces but less than half are paved. The remainder are gravel. The "riverside" spaces are either sloped badly requiring some creative leveling or the front of the RV sits in the service road. This KOA is clearly there to serve the Casino. No Cable TV and over the air TV is fuzzy at best. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$46
What a rip off! We stayed at this park because my sister was in the hotel. When I checked the rates on line, I was quoted $37 after a KOA card discount. I did not book ahead as there were sites available at all rates. At check in, the site cost was $47 with the KOA card for a FHU pull-thru. The clerk told me it was because it was "season". Before leaving the office, I confirmed that there was free wi-fi, and the clerk said no problem, just use your browser. Our site #225 was nearly the farthest from the office, and there was no wi-fi! The next day, when I went in to the office to turn in our keycards (for the bath house and pool), I mentioned that I could not get on line. The person at the desk said, "I know, there is no wi-fi sender out there." Seems like 'someone' who checked me in was too lazy to figure that one out. The casino is pretty far away, and you get no coupons or special deals for staying on the property. The campground itself is clean and airport noise isn't too bad. I rate this low because of the poor customer service. I will not stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$32
This is a large campground located next to the Hilton Hotel and Casino. It shares the Hilton pool and other facilities. It is a clean, and very well maintained campground. The only downside is its location near the Reno airport. There is a good amount of airport traffic noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com