215077 User submitted reviews online!!
Wild West Ranch and RV Resort (formerly John Wayne RV Ranch) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (520) 858-5035
CGID5223

Wild West Ranch and RV Resort (formerly John Wayne RV Ranch)

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   5   5   7   7   9   8   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2014
$14
We've been coming to this park for several years. We have relatives in Maricopa and this is the closest park. Unfortunately, the facilities have been going downhill and the rates are going up so it just isn't worth it anymore. I do like the isolation sometimes, but the smell of the feedlots and the sticky flies, plus the raised prices ($400/mo, $200/wk,$30/night with no discounts) went over the break point for the area. They double up the electric rate for monthly residents to make a little more money (cost ~8 cents/kwh, they charge you .16 cents and add tax-worked out around $100/mo for 2 people). The people in the park are friendly enough but most I talked to are abandoning the place due to the owner's indifference and "iffy" business practices. There were only about 20 rigs left in January out of the 100 or so sites. Too bad, it was a good place for a stop over, but I can't recommend it anymore. I'm sure it will be out of business pretty soon and possibly picked up by someone willing to make it a nice place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
Internal roads are gravel, sites are gravel and fairly level and are reasonably spacious, facilities worked well, site was satellite friendly. Staff were friendly, park WiFi is weak, had to use a repeater and then it worked well. T-Mobile cell service was poor. The park was quiet. We have stayed here a few times over the last 3 years and now there is no discount on the rate. The park used to be a Passport America campground and was priced reasonably. $30/night is too much. We will not be staying here again. The name has changed to Wild West Ranch & RV Resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$20
Decent sized spots with nice laundry facilities. But, we were charged a $100 electrical deposit upon check-in (we were there a month). When we checked out on February 25, we were due a refund that as of today's date, April 16, we are still waiting for the deposit. Two follow-up calls have resulted in nothing. We will not be staying there again and urge anyone considering a stay there to be aware of this problem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$16
This is a nice park. We stayed here for just a couple of days. Great laundry room and showers and restrooms were clean. Lots of desert to let your dog run. A lot semi-permanent RV's here that are working in the area and they leave for work early in the morning. No frills but relaxing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$16
Sites are fairly level, easy entry/exit, PA rate, facilities worked well, Wifi is weak/slow, Virgin mifi weak/slow, friendly check in. We stayed here last year and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$16
A nice park with gravel roads and extra-wide sites in a desert setting with some trees. Wi-Fi and Verizon were excellent and there is a nice laundry. We received all of the TV antenna stations from Phoenix. The camp hosts were very friendly. It is less than 20 miles to Maricopa or Casa Grande. We stayed two weeks and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$16
I called about two months ahead of time to make a reservation. The office lady asked me if I needed wireless internet connection. I said yes and she said she would put me in a site that would be able to get it. When we finally arrived, she remembered our phone conversation and had saved a space right by the office. Good connection. The next day we went to visit "Rawhide," and it was about 90 degrees outside, and we had to leave our two small dogs in our RV. I was concerned leaving them in case the electricity got turned off for any reason. I asked the office manager to keep an eye on our RV and check a few times to make sure the air conditioner was still on. When we got back all was well. She came over and told me she checked our RV a number of times. I couldn't ask for any better service than that. Location is good; lots of room for RV and car in tow. I would come back here again if I am in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$16
If you want to avoid the mega sites of Casa Grande where you're just a number and there to make profit for them - you should consider this campground. It's within easy reach of Casa and Maricopa, close to local small grocery stores and restaurants, but right in the desert with amazing sunsets, peace and quiet. The staff here are really friendly and once again, staff attitude proved to be a winner and helped make this dusty basic campground into a special destination. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$16
Staff are very friendly, sites are level, unpaved and reasonably wide. Park is quiet. Services worked fine. Wi-Fi is free, fast when it works, but very sporadic. Virgin mobile MiFi worked well, good cell service. Price reflects Passport America rate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$16
Passport America rate. Nice campground with nice wide, long spots out in the desert, about 19 miles from Casa Grande. Yes, the feed lots are about 2 miles up the road, but we had no problem with any smells from them. I guess if the wind is blowing the wrong way, one might smell them, but since most winds go west to east, that shouldn't happen often. We don't need a pool or a playground so this campground fit us just fine. Didn't use the laundry but checked it out and it's immaculate. People (campers and workers) were very friendly. Casa Grande is a nice sized city with everything you could want. I wish we had gone to Maricopa but we weren't in the area long enough. We do intend on coming back on our trip east. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$27
Good Sam rate. Very nice and clean park with friendly people. The sites were very large and unpaved, but groomed and even. Wi-Fi was excellent. No permanent people. Clean laundry. We ended up staying for a week, it was so pleasant. We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2011
$15
Passport America rate. Large park, all gravel although some sites have cement patio pads. Spaces are pretty large. No picnic tables or fire pits. Very much out in the middle of the desert. Ten miles from Maricopa. Close to a road, could be dusty if the wind blows (which I am told it does often). Clean laundry facilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$15
We stayed here for a week while home hunting in Maricopa. Basic park but lacks a pool. Has very good Wi-Fi. $15 per night with Passport America. And yes, at times the aroma from the cow farm will make your eyes water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
This is a good park, can get a feedlot smell sometimes. Stayed 5 days, would go back. Laundry, Wi-Fi, phone service, in the country, dirt streets and yards. Passport rate even in winter. Not the fanciest park, but good value for the $. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$16
Loved this place! We stayed here a week on PA for just over $100. It was extremely pleasant with very large, even pull through lots. Nice and quiet, yet close enough drive to Phoenix, Maricopa, Casa Grande. We attended a pot luck dinner which had fantastic entertainment and music. We will be back next year, and for longer! The Wi-Fi was fast and efficient. There is a cattle lot about 10 miles away, but that didn't affect us or the air at all. The previous reviewer must have been a devout vegetarian, or the competition, shame. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$16
Price reflects PA discount. Stayed here only two nights, thank goodness. The management was very friendly and helpful. However, there are cattle feedlots on the road to Casa Grande. Not only was it a disturbing site; the stench of cow manure and urine was overpowering at the park. Perhaps the other reviewers had more favorable winds during their stay. The Wi-Fi was very unreliable, as was the cell phone signal. This is an older park that they are attempting to spruce up. The water pressure was good. Our site had some branches rubbing against our rig. Some nice man came right over and trimmed them without being asked. The sites are large and level. While they seem to be trying hard to improve the place, I don't know what can be done about the smell. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$19
This campground is a bit out of the way and is under new ownership who is working hard to improve the park. The owners and other campground personnel were very friendly. The campground was quiet, clean, and spacious. We stayed for 2 weeks using our Passport America discount the entire stay. Wi-Fi was excellent. It is about 10 miles from a major casino and there are cow farms in the area (some mornings, there was a slight cow odor but not unbearable). It is about 18 miles west of Casa Grande but an easy drive. We'd recommend this campground if you are traveling on I10 or I8 near Casa Grande. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
Loved this park! The manager was super nice and fun to talk to. The park is very quiet at night, and we did not notice any smell from the cows a few miles down the road. It was nice to be out in the quiet desert, seeing all the stars in the sky! The lots are very large and even. Free Wi-Fi and very clean bathrooms and the new laundry machines were great! We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
Park is flat, dusty; sites are fairly level and there are a few skimpy trees around but it is in the Sonoran Desert. Huge feedlot down the road emits a smell that permeates the RV, even with windows closed. Also, the highway is fairly busy with big trucks going by at all hours of the night. Wi-Fi signal is weak and sometimes completely drops off. Due to the odor and noise, we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$16
While driving past the feedlots and smelling that 'smell' on our way to this park, we thought, 'oh oh..this doesn't look or smell good..' but, no worries. A nice little park. Wonderful park host who directed us to our site. We would definitely stay here again. We were tired and it was a welcome refuge. Rate reflects Passport America and we stayed one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$29
I liked this campground. It didn't smell like cows to me at all. Yes, there is a cattle feeding area a mile away, but I didn't smell the cattle at the campground. Yes, there are permanents on the back row, but I didn't see anything wrong there. I would have given it a better overall rating but the roads were dirt. It is a desert campground like tons of others with rocks and dust. The space I had was large and long. It had a concrete pad for the table but not for the motorhome. I didn't have Passport America (which I do now) but if I had it would have been a true bargain. The manager is a nice guy too. I would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$16
Rate is Passport America rate for one night with 50 amp FHU. Park has gravel/dirt roads and pads. Sites are suitable for slide outs, but with little extra room. Park has many permanents/ long term stays. It is close to the road but highway noise was not noticeable; neither was any odor from the nearby large scale cattle/dairy operations. Experience was typical of many older Passport America parks, but for the money it was acceptable. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2009
$29
I grew up watching the Duke westerns, and imagined that any park bearing his name would be rich in classy, old west ambiance. (Along the lines of Rose Valley RV Ranch in Silver City, but more so.) The only thing it was rich in was the smell of cattle manure from the several HUGE stockyards a mile down the road. The extent of visible improvements to make it a park, was the placement of small rocks to delineate the boundaries of each site. We've stayed in other desert sites, but this place is desolate and depressing.The Showers and washrooms were clean, but unheated. The shower stalls have no change section, so you step out into the open to dry and dress. (And, presumably, to display yourself to anyone around when someone opens the outside access door.) We planned to stay a week over the holidays, but one look (and one smell) convinced us otherwise. The woman in the office was polite and very understanding, and made no issue over our change in plans. I wonder that this might not have been the first such occurrence. I could only recommend this as a park and fly site, and then only if the wind is right. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$15
Really loved this park. It's in the country, very affordable, very clean, very delightful. We will definitely be back many more times to stay--it's the perfect place to stop for a few days whether we're coming or going. A real mom and pop gem. We look forward to our next stop here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$16
Wow I am very surprised at this previous review. I am at this campground right now and it is very nice! The passport rate is $15.99 a night, the restrooms were very clean and new. All the rigs here are nice and so are the people. To say this place is scary- you must have stayed at a different park! Or are you a competitor? Shame on you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2009
$16
Too much dust and way too close to a cattle feed lot. We did an over night and left early. Those who liked this park because it is cheap would not sway my decision to never stay here again. In addition they charged a dollar more that advertised in the book. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$10
It was a big dust bowl. The area smelled like cattle. We didn't feel safe. Someone came to our coach and begged for money or food. I can't believe Passport America would even have them in their club. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$15
I give this park a 9, we really liked it. Not run down at all! There are new owners who work there everyday. They seem to really care and have done a great job at turning the place around. Everything was clean, everyone was friendly- and cheap rates! We only stayed for 6 days, but will be back in Jan to stay for 3 months. Safe, clean, quiet, friendly, cheap- bravo. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2008
$15
Passport America park. Dust bowl. Looked very run down. Didn't feel safe there even in the daylight. We prepaid our reservation but gave it up cause we didn't get a good feeling about this place. No one at the office. Notes everywhere leaving instructions. This park is just down the road from a huge feedlot. Very smelly! Went into Casa Grande to a wonderful park with all amenities!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
I agree with one of the reviews in that the place is run down a bit, but we didn’t feel unsafe about staying there. We came to the Tucson area to visit with friends and see the sites. The campground offered easy access, a great price, full hook-up and a concrete pad. With the Passport America discount it cost us $ 52.00 for our three day stay. If you’re a snow bird looking for an extended stay site, you’ll probably want to look else ware, but the campground suited our needs perfectly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
What a find! We loved this place! The office manager was so friendly, the park was clean and quiet, we met some really great people here. Close to Casa Grande Ruins, excellent hiking, the Casino, and more. We will definitely be back this winter! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
Really quiet, nice place, cheap. We stayed here 2 years ago (when it was Table Top RV Park) and it has new owners now. They have really made a lot of positive changes. Planted a lot of trees, flowers, new lighting, better activity center at the ramada. We will be back next year! Close to the casino, nice people there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com