217661 User submitted reviews online!!
5 Star RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (903) 593-6815
CGID5262

5 Star RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   4   8   8   9   10   4   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$24
The owner was very helpful in giving us directions to get to the park. It didn't have very many signs to find it, but we did with his help. Roads were paved and park was clean. We had a problem with our motorhome and the owner offered to let us stay until we could get it fixed at no charge. He went out of his way to help us in any way he could. We have a 36 foot RV, towing a car. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$17
We intended to stay here 3 nights but ended up stayed 11 nights after our tow vehicle developed problems during our visit to the area. The onsite manager was super friendly and very accommodating to our situation. He told us we could stay as long as we wanted and to just settle up with him when we were ready to leave. The park was almost completely full each night the entire time we stayed there. Overall the park grounds are well kept, but are getting a bit rough around the edges and in need of some repair. For example, the park's sign on top of the office is falling apart and there are broken pieces of conduit alongside the interior road with wires sticking out, just to name a couple. The sites themselves are either grass or concrete pads and the interior road is asphalt. At our site, the 30 amp socket was burned out and didn't work, but the 50 amp outlet was OK. Water pressure was 45psi at our site's faucet. Voltage was stable and good. We didn't use the WiFi but AT&T cell and data service was good. The price paid was for a 30amp full hookup service using a Passport America rate, which we feel is a good value for this park. We'll most definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$19
Good for an overnighter. North of Tyler about 5 miles. Electric power was strong as was the water pressure. Not a lot to do around here. Rate reflects Passport America. Would stay here again if in the area and needed a place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$19
What a nice find. This campground is small but very well taken care of and is 2-1/2 miles south of the expressway so there is no road noise. The person who checked us in was very nice and very sociable. We would definitely return if ever in this area again. Rated it 8 as I did not know about laundry or washrooms/showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$17
Rate reflects Passport America discount. We stayed 3 nights. The manager was very friendly and likes dogs. The sites are not shaded, but we have an awning so this was not a problem. Free cable and Wi-Fi at each site. Both worked well. There is a walking path and a pond stocked with catfish and sunfish. Fishing is not allowed, but we were encouraged to feed the fish with pellets the manager supplied, and had a good time doing this. We enjoyed sitting at the pond's edge in one of 2 swings provided. While here we visited the Caldwell Zoo and the Rose Garden in nearby Tyler as well as the largest flea market in the US called Trade Days or "First Monday" in Canton, TX about 40 miles west. We would definitely camp here again if in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
We enjoyed our stay here; 3 nights. The park is small and quiet - which is what we prefer. This was the first camping experience in our new fifth wheel; we picked it up at Tyler RV Center and 5 Star RV was less than 5 minutes away, so great location for us. You're far enough away from the hustle & bustle of a town, but not so far that it's a chore to have to go grab some groceries. The pull thru site was easy to get in and out of. Hookups were in a great spot and we had no problems with them. Enough room between sites that you don't feel cramped. We didn't use the Wifi but it was available. The Park Host was so helpful and friendly. Immediately came out to help us setup without us asking, and was out and about throughout the day. The owner is around in the mornings. Both guys are great to talk to and they have some good stories. Feeding the fish in the pond was fun. Gets pretty hot there in mid-afternoon sun so if you can get a site with the big RV sun-shade, that will help out your A/Cs. Would camp here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$17
This park is clean and the manager was very friendly. Our pull-thru site was large enough that we did not need to disconnect. Very quiet. Not shaded, but clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
This campground is adequate for an over-night stay. Located well off the Interstate along a narrow county road with low overhanging trees. Owner/manager doesn't seem to stay in the office. Have to call him and he doesn't like to come to the office. Doesn't like taking credit cards either: wanted cash. Will likely not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
This is a good place for a night or two, but hard to find. It is about 2.5 miles off the main road and no signs pointing the way. As in about all RV parks the Wi-Fi was very weak, about 3 bars, but my Verizon air card worked great. The lady that checked us in was very friendly. The parking spaces are white rock and grass, fairly level though. I would stay here again if coming this way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$26
This was the second time we have stayed in this park. If you want a "fancy-dancy" park with all the extras, then pass this one by, but if you are looking for a nice, safe, quiet, little park, this is a gem. We love the park, and it will be a regular stop for us on our migration south in the fall and north in the spring. There seems to be a few permanent residents in the park, but they are friendly, and their sites are nice. The Wifi worked well, and the laundry rooms are clean. There is a nice trail for walking dogs, and the park managers are very friendly & helpful. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
We really liked this place!! Very friendly people, from the other guests to the owners of the park. Highly recommended!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$21
This park is not very big so it would be wise to make a reservation. The park is very quiet and the people are friendly and helpful. There is a nice walking trail for dogs and the Wi-Fi worked well. Our site was nice, level, and we enjoyed our stay here and would come back again. We would recommend the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$16
OK park for the cost. Very little shade. Restroom and showers are coed. Staff was friendly. OK if you are just looking for a place to stay overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$14
This park is a good base for visiting the area. Nothing fancy but all the essentials are here. Wi-Fi is good but might have to log in frequently. We stayed a week while awaiting work on our motorhome and used the camp as a base for the many geocaches in and around Tyler. Manager is friendly and helpful. They have a trail around the back part of the park. It is not woodsy all the way but it is good for exercise and dog walking. We paid a weekly rate which is the same as the parks PA discount rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$14
Free WI-FI was great. Only the center spots are paved, the side ones are lacking ... pads were level gravel, but then we had a rain and to get out of our camper we had to step through/in large puddles. VERY close to town! You'll love how close it is but still relatively quiet. A few full timers that work super early - 4:30am we got a wake up call from our neighbors truck. Asked him to move so not to wake our kids and was kind about it. It certainly is nothing fancy, but it seems that they are working on improvements and enlarging. Wish they would improve what's there before they enlarged. Affordable laundry. PA rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
With use of our Camp Club USA 50% discount, $14 is a good rate. VERY good Wi-Fi, near big stores and Tyler. Pull throughs are big but unfortunately many long stay workers who kept there engines running early morning (5:30 am). The setting is lay-back but still the road near the campground is busy at night. For visiting Tyler good enough, not for longer stay, We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$14
Park has continued to improve since our last visit in December. Almost all sites are now concrete pads or level crushed stone and the recently installed new wi-fi system is fast and reliable. The previous reviewer mentioned the area approaching the park but do not let that put you off. We have always found the park conducive to a pleasant stay, and this time was no exception. The owner is very accommodating and helpful and the park is great value for money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$1
Don't let the name fool you. This park is a couple of miles down a country road lined with older, often dilapidated homes and businesses. When we pulled in we saw a sign saying, "I'm working somewhere in the park. Call xxx-xxx-xxxx". We drove through the small park to take a look around. What we saw was not even close to the photos or description on their website. The few concrete pads were occupied by long-term campers. One had a permanent metal carport-type awning erected over the camper. The remaining few sites were gravel and dirt with no shade, open to the blazing sun. There was a large area of East Texas red dirt churned up across from the vacant sites, which was generating a lot of dust from someone driving around in a golf cart. It was apparent that some type of work was going on, but the park and the area overall didn't look conducive to a pleasant stay, so we left. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$14
This campground was OK for an overnight stay. Since we didn't unhook, there was no place within walking distance. We used Passport America, thus the lower rate. My husband used the bathroom and shower and said it was OK. It wouldn't have been worth full price of $28. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$21
Very nice, hospitable owner. Level, limestone pads at most sites. Serene scenery on webpage depicts area adjoining RV park - depicted area not really visible from the RV park. Many full time residents. Park was clean and quiet during our 3 day stay. Certainly not a resort, but good enough for a short stay. For the money, tough to beat this little park if you have business in the Tyler area. No problem at all with access roads. Price reflects Good Sam discount. We would stay at this park again, if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$14
A great little park - have stayed here several times - which is easily the best value for money park in Tyler. (Our rate of $14 is Passport America). We did not have any problems with our 40' motorhome on the access roads. Free cable and Wi-Fi were excellent and restrooms and showers were clean. The owner is making many improvements including more sites, concrete pads, shade shelters over some sites and a rec. room. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
The staff were helpful on the phone but the park is not the greatest. There is only one toilet which was far from clean and there was no toilet paper anywhere to be found. The showers weren't much better. The area was quiet but 5 star it was not. Wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$14
Park has level gravel spots. Be careful of low tree branches on access road, that might tear a rubber roof. Rate is Passport America. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$15
This small park was adequate for our needs, which was to stay a couple of nights. We stayed here three nights. The manager was extremely friendly and helpful. Helped us get into our site. The exterior roads are good and the interior roads are paved. Our site was grass but they are upgrading and are putting in concrete sites. The majority of the sites house full timers, who work during the day. We were lucky to get the last space. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$15
This is a small park that is right across the street from a Rodeo complex. The roads approaching this park are not in the best condition but they were passable. The park is basically all grass and the RV sites are wide and long. We were parked near the front of the park and traffic noise was not a problem. Don't know what it would be like if there was a rodeo going on. We would stay there again when in the area. The Wi-Fi and cable worked fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$14
We spent two nights here during Christmas. Very friendly worker and nice clean showers. Will stop again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
Great park with friendly people. Wish they had a swimming pool. We'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$14
This is a really nice little park. The owner/manager is friendly and helpful. We decided to stay 2 nights instead of the one we had planned. There's a lovely walk through woods and beside a pond. Level sites, good power and water, quiet and grassy. Has well kept, hard gravel pads, free Wi-Fi and cable TV. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$14
Very nice campground. Pull thru-sites were level with 50 amps, and we enjoyed excellent, free Wi-Fi. Manager was very friendly and accommodating. Only real downside was Lavender Road access street to the campground was paved but narrow and bumpy. We would definitely stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$14
This is a nice park. It is quiet except for local car traffic. The park is 2.5 miles south of I-20. Local road and scenery to the park make you wonder about the RV park, but it is very clean and manager is very friendly and easy going. The park takes all discounts. We stayed 4 nights. There are 11 or 12 pull-through sites. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$14
Nice, quiet place. Passport America gives the cheap rate. Very pleasant staff. Great for an overnight. No shade, plenty of grass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$14
5 Star RV Park has a warm, family atmosphere that begins with the managment. The grounds and bathhouse are well kept, there is a new wi-fi system and cable that work great. There is a lovely walking trail and a pond on the grounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$14
Excellent place to park while doing things in Tyler, nothing fancy, decent size level sites with good hook-ups. We were there a week, no road noise that we notice, no firing range noise, the wi-fi was out for four days as they were redoing the entire system nut it was up and running our last day. Very friendly staff, will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$14
We enjoyed our stay, A shooting range is in the neighborhood but was never a distraction. Neighbors were quiet and respectful. The grounds were very clean and well kept. We had a two night stay and were very pleased. WI-FI was on line the entire time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$14
This park was great due to it's proximity to Tyler and the sites we went to see. The people were friendly and they were very cooperative as we arrived early and stayed late. The nightly rate could not be beat! The grounds were clean and freshly mowed. We were very pleased. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2007
$14
Before we arrived, we called to make sure they had wireless internet and they (the manager) said they had "good internet service." We arrived on a Friday and we didn't have service on Saturday, Sunday or the Monday when we left. We kept asking about the service and then we were told that it is a "complimentary service" and they do not have to provide it. We would have never moved there if they were just up front with us and told us from the beginning that the internet works sometimes and sometimes it doesn't. We always stay at a park that provides the internet and have never had this much trouble. Also there is a firing range nearby and it is very loud. The neighbors in the mobile home park are noisy and also the road in front of the rv park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2007
$14
I was in town visiting relatives. This RV park has loud traffic, and the high-speed didn't work the whole time I was here. If you like a Mexican fiesta, then make sure you stay here. There is lots of drinking and partying going on! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$14
This is a neat park. Located out in the country in a beautiful, quiet farm area. Owners are very friendly and helpful. It is definitely big rig friendly. We are 70 ft long and had plenty of room. Lucky we found this park as they are not yet listed in the campground books. You won't be disappointed in this park if your looking for an easy quick location for a good price. They are Passport America! Great experience! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
Nice new park, very friendly people. Close to I-20. Is a Passport America Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com