223219 User submitted reviews online!!
James M. Robb - Colorado River State Park / Island Acres Section was rated 7 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (970) 434-3388
CGID5272

James M. Robb - Colorado River State Park / Island Acres Section

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   10   5   10   9   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$47
Rate includes state park fee. Right near I-70 so some traffic noise especially in loop C where we were. Pull thru sites 42-54 even numbers are long and level. Others looked short. Lovely Camping right on the Colo River. Dog friendly but no runs although the paved roads give you a 2 mile round trip walk and there are other trails. This campground is east of Palisade not the first one which looked sparse by comparison. Recommend reservations as it looked to fill up for weekends. CG host is friendly chap who does some wood and stone carvings. No Verizon cell coverage.ATT worked okay. Definitely would stay again and for a few days! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$31
Nice little park just outside Grand Junction. Plenty of room between sites and good utilities. Camp hosts did a great job. Sprinkler came on at our site every night at 9:30pm, which added a little cooling mist to our campfire session. Gravel pads with blacktop roads and sites all have a wind/sun shade over the picnic table. There are a couple ponds in addition to the river. I caught more rainbow trout than I could count in those ponds during a 4 day stay. No TV or cell/data reception in this canyon. Glenwood Canyon is spectacular and the nearby town of Palisade has a great wine trail. We'd stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
First of all, the online reservation service is inaccurate. I only found 4 open sites for the 2 nites we wanted to stay, but when we got there the park was 80% empty for both days...and they charge you $10 for using their ineffective reservation system. This park is located approx 15 miles East of Grand Junction and right on I 70 with considerable truck noise if you are close to the highway. Once at the park, we found that there was no cell service (Verizon), no TV stations, and of course no WiFi. Park was clean and well maintained with a large staff. Lots of rules typical for a State park. The rate was $24/nite + $7/day for a vehicle pass + $10 to make the reservation for a total of $72 for 2 nites plus tax. That seems expensive for a park with minimal services. I think that on our next trip to GJ we will stay in a private campground with full services for about the same rate and closer to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$31
Very nice, clean park, nice size sites with canopy over picnic tables. Great views of mountains all around; its along the river. We would stay here again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$23
Another beautiful Colorado State Park with a very friendly staff and clean camper amenities that always include showers, bathrooms and laundry. The RV and tent sites are green and many have large shade trees. The sites were well spaced, clean and very level. We planed to stay 14 nights, but only stayed for one as the park is very isolated from town and is quite a drive to the famous Fruita bike trails. The ponds are regularly stocked with fish and there is a tiny bike/hike path around both ponds. The campground is nestled right off the I-70 freeway so there is a little bit of noise. A good stop for a night or two when in the Palisade Peach area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
$20 rate +$7 park sticker. Clean facilities, plenty of space, beautiful surroundings. Park rangers very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$31
This park is so beautiful and peaceful. It is located right on the Colorado River between two huge rock bluffs. We were surprised to find a State Park with full hook-ups plus a laundry also. The sites were quite far apart and nicely landscaped. They even have grassy areas and a riverside walking/biking trail. The location is great for visiting the Grand Mesa area and also close to Grand Junction and the Colorado Monument. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
This park was a very convenient stopover on our way to Utah. It's a beautiful linear park in a canyon. Unfortunately the road noise from I-70 is pretty loud, but it didn't keep me awake. We had full hookups. The sites were relatively level and beautifully landscaped. I'd stay again when traveling through Colorado. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
Pretty state park surrounded by mountain ridges and bordered by the Colorado River. Surprisingly well shaded with lots of trees throughout the park. Also has a couple of ponds. Level park for walking and biking. Fairly level sites. Ours was a pull-through long enough for truck and 40' 5th wheel. Park is generally easy to navigate, but roads and pull throughs not as wide and easy as most Colorado state parks we've visited. Shade did not help us enough when temps got to 103. It was hot. Canyon walls on all sides blocked over the air TV and cell phone signals (Verizon or Sprint). Rooftop antenna and signal booster barely brought in internet service from Verizon. We left early because of smoke from the wildfire just over the ridge and the extreme heat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
We stayed here for 2 weeks. Very spacious sites with lots of shade. The park is between very high canyon walls while beautiful they block most cell and over the air TV services. It is very close to the highway and railroad so expect noise. The rate also includes a daily entrance fee. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
We found this to be a decent State Park other than the noise from the railroad and Interstate traffic. The reservation system costs you $10 if you reserve sooner than 3 days out. For less than 3 days its first come. Its located about 12-15 miles East of Grand Junction and there are no grocery stores within 7-10 miles. LOTS of mosquitos even in the daytime. The river was flooding and all the river hiking trails were closed. No wifi or TV. AT&T and Verizon were marginal. We used it as a overnight stopover and it was fine for that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
Beautiful small park just off Interstate 70 through Colorado. There are four loops. Some spots have full hookups, some have w/e only, some are electric only, and some with no hookups. I stayed in Loop D with full hookups. Loop D was close to the freeway. There was some road noise, but it wasn't bothersome. Some of the picnic tables at some of the sites have shelters on them. There is adequate spacing between sites. Restrooms/Showers were very clean. There is a laundry facility, $1 to wash, $1 to dry, small loads. The building with the restrooms and laundry also has a functional working pay phone in case your cell phone doesn't work. There is a very nice flowing river at one end of the park. There are some children's play grounds in a few locations. I was unable to get TV reception over the air in Loop D. However, it appeared that someone in Loop C was able to get TV reception over the air. Verizon cell phone had difficulty getting a signal. Verizon 4G Air Card did not work at all. Verizon Wireless Landline service worked, but barely got a signal. The rate I am showing, $31, is the rate for full hookups (w/e/s), to include the $7 vehicle fee that Colorado charges. However, I only paid $24. If you contribute 45 hours of volunteer service to Colorado parks (which I did at another park), you get a one year waiver of the $7 vehicle fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
This campground is a 9 without the hiway and train noise. You do get used to it, but it is noisy. A few sites got TV by antenna, many did not. Verizon cell service was very spotty. Verizon Broadband was available although not great. Being in a canyon all of the "through the air" services were very limited. Prefer the Fruita location better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
Yes, there is highway noise but this is a non issue IMO. The canyon is too narrow for the park to be anywhere else. The quiet loop is the power only loop which is next to the river. We had site #1 which is extremely private. The only problem is a poorly located grill which makes getting a large rig in difficult. Yes, there are trains but there is no horn blowing near the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
We loved this state park. The park rangers were very nice and helpful. Though there's not a pool, there is a "swimmin" hole which is actually more like a pond. There's also a trout area for fishing and license can be bought as you enter the park. We hiked beside the Colorado River which was a definite plus. Along the hiking area, (which I believe is also the pet walk area) there were also "walk-downs" where you could walk a few feet from the path to get to the river and pick up stones or feel it's coldness and strength. The main bathhouses were nice, but the vault bathrooms reeked terribly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
I rated this park so low for one reason only and that is the ROAD NOISE. This was literally (no embellishment)the loudest place we ever camped at. All other aspects of this park I would rate a very excellent 9-10. First and foremost is it is located right along side of Interstate 70. Sites 64-74 are no more that 5-15 YARDS from the Interstate itself. The site we stayed in(#78)was about 40 yards from the interstate. The vehicle traffic, in particular the heavy semi-truck traffic, was so loud (24-7)you literally could not carry on a conversation while outside. Having a hard sided trailer brought no relief. It was impossible for us to sleep. We tried fans, and music to no avail. We even checked out the road noise from the farthest campsites 55-60 (located along the Colorado River) and it was still very loud. The sites along the river had to also deal with train traffic as the tracks run on the opposite side of the river. The campground is located in a canyon and the road noise reverberates off of the walls. What is an absolute shame is the fact that this campground is very well maintained, the campsites are laid out and maintained in excellent fashion. The sites along the river are some of the best around. The scenic beauty was incredible(again except for the incredible proximity of I-70.) I spoke with the park personnel about why the campground was located so close to I-70 since they are well aware of the terrible road noise. All they could say is that it has been there a long time and it didn't use to be this way. It is apparent a lot of the truck traffic is associated with all the natural gas drilling now taking place all the way to Parachute, CO and of course the always present interstate trucking. Anyway, we tried to switch to the Fruita section (17 miles away) with no luck. Too bad, since it is another very nice campground and located sufficiently away from I-70. Bottom line, our three day visit was an incredible disappointment and next time we visit in this beautiful area we will stay in the Fruita section. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
First, this campground is actually one of five sections for the James M. Robb – Colorado River State Park. Those sections are: 1. Island Acres Section 2. Corn Lake Section 3. Colorado River Wildlife Area Section 4. Connected Lakes Section 5. Fruita Section. I rated this park so low for one reason only and that is road noise. All other aspects of this park I would rate a very favorable 9-10. First and foremost is it is located right next to Interstate 70. Sites 64-74 are no more that 5-15 YARDS from the Interstate. The site we stated in #78 was about 40 yards from the interstate. The vehicle traffic, in particular the heavy semi-truck traffic, was so loud (24-7) you literally could not carry on a conversation while outside. Having a hard sided trailer brought no relief. We even checked out the road noise from the farthest campsites 55-60 (located along the Colorado River) and it was still very loud. The sites along the river had to deal with train traffic as the tracks run on the opposite side of the river. The campground is located in a canyon and the road noise reverberates on the walls. What is an absolute shame is the fact that this campground is very well maintained, the campsites and laid out are excellent. The sites along the river are some of the best around. The scenic beauty was incredible (again except for the incredible proximity of I-70.) I spoke with the park personnel about why the campground was located so close to I-70 since they are well aware of the terrible road noise. All they could say is that it has been there a long time and it didn't use to be this way. It is apparent a lot of the truck traffic is associated with the natural gas drilling taking place all the way to Parachute, CO and, of course, the always present interstate trucking. Anyway, we tried to switch to the Fruita section (17 miles away) with no luck. Too bad, since it is anther very nice campground and located sufficiently away from I-70. Bottom line, our three day visit was an incredible disappointment and next time we visit in this beautiful area we will stay in the Fruita section. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
This is a really nice park, with huge RV sites. We camped in Section C and could see the river from our site. Only reason this is not a 9 or 10 is the noise. Park is right next to I-70 and across river from train tracks. RR was not too bad, but freeway was very noisy. Also, no cell phone reception because of hills. BUT, a really nice park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
This is a State Park on the Colorado River East of Grand Junction, off of I-70. No showers, but real pretty, and a good place to stay. Close to fishing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
Best parts of this campground: Large level sites with decent privacy, shade, and mountain views. Worst points: highway noise, and no view of Colorado river from any of the campsites. We would, however, stay here again. We camped here with one other family and stayed across a large groomed yard from each other, making it feel like we had private space to ourselves. Be aware that the full hook-up sights in general have less shade (or none). The electric only sights were better established with trees, grass, etc. The main bathroom and showers were much cleaner than most campgrounds I have stayed in. We thought at first the highway noise would be bad, but it became background "white" noise after only a few minutes. The kids caught 12 fish during their one evening of fishing from the ponds at the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2007
$19
Bottom Line Up Front – We would stay here again and recommend the Park to others. We spent one night here while traveling across Colorado. The Park is situated right off Interstate 70 at exit 47. The Park is open all year, but, plan for bare bone facilities during winter months. We had only electric hook-ups and no water or sewer. Shower and bathrooms were closed. Water was available to fill your water tank and a dump station was also available. After 1 April all facilities are available to include full-hookups. Cell phone reception is an iffy 1 to 2 bars. Fishing is available in stocked ponds or the infamous Colorado River right along side the Park. Bang for the buck is questionable in winter. We paid $14 plus $5 vehicle pass for the one night. Sights are level and there are a few big rig pull throughs large enough to where you don’t have to unhitch. This Park is convenient for the in-transit traveler. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$21
This is a very nice state park. It does have train noise and interstate noise but the river and beauty cancels that out. We spent time here basking in the sun watching wild horses watering and birds of all kinds watering in Colorado River. We will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$16
Large level sites wirh firepit, grill and table. Very roomy and lots of privacy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com