224369 User submitted reviews online!!
Rufus RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (541) 739-2272
CGID5301

Rufus RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
59
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   7   6   8   5   6   7   6   1   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
We didn't even stay here. We drove through and saw how run down it was and decided it wasn't worth $30 a night. We just went and parked in the empty lot at the bottom of the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
It may lack something in ambiance but it meets a need in a stretch of highway with few alternatives (boondocking, COE usually full). Level sites long enough to leave the toad hooked up, 50 amp power, sewer (at rear of site), good water far as I could tell. Friendly staff although it doesn't seem there is usually anyone in the office. I think they try and catch up with you on entry. Bathroom somewhat industrial but clean. Very slow Verizon extended network data connection, but it was good enough for what I needed, so I didn't pop for the WiFi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
While I only intended to stay overnight, it was so quiet that I opted to stay a second day. The restrooms and showers were clean, with plenty of hot water for my shower. The sunsets were magnificent and more than made up for the lack of some other amenities. I had 50 amp service, and a large lawn at my site. The manager was friendly, but appeared overworked. Laundry was clean and had extended hours. I would definitely stay here again when traveling I-84. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
We stayed here overnight. The manager was very friendly. The campground does not accept credit cards or debit cards, cash only. The facilities were clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
This park was not difficult to find or approach. It is not the one next to I-84, but just up the hill two blocks and further from road noise. The manager was working on the grounds when we arrived and he promptly met us on his golf cart. He led us to our site which was level, w/FHU and without difficulty we were connected in little time. As it was a warm afternoon in the Columbia Gorge, we ran the air for a few hours. Power was unremarkable at our site. The park occupants were a mix of travelers and monthly folks. The place was clean with no clutter. There are few shady sites. The interior roads are gravel, but in good condition. The sites are roomy with mowed lawn between sites. We did not use the park Wi-Fi, restrooms or showers. This park fully met our need for a good overnight stop and we would use it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Hard park to rate, older, a little neglected, but owner is very friendly. His business is primarily fisherman, hunters and folks who work in the area for the energy companies. This is a great park to use as a base camp for fishing, hunting or working, but don't think I would bring a family here. Electrical, water and sewer are in good working order, restrooms are kept clean and well stocked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We were looking for a site for the night and pulled into this park. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The sites are narrow. We were barely able to put out our slide. The neighbors were only 3 feet away from the slide, if that. Even though there was 6 sites for overnight, only 3 of them are usable by rigs longer than 30 feet. And that is questionable. The site we were in was really too short for us. Our rig is a 30 foot Class A motor home and Jeep toad. The sites are gravel and fairly level though. WI-Fi is an extra charge. I did not get it. Although the manager was out mowing, he was mowing mainly weeds, very little grass in the park. We may or may not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
We blew in here with a 30 knot tail wind in July. We had called ahead to make sure of our reservation. The host met us at the office. There is a local sign that says church on the street corner. The sign looks like a road name sign right in front of the real street sign for the street you are looking for. Drove by the first time. The sites are tight for our 36' fifth wheel. All gravel roads with some grass around the sites. The site was level, no blocks required. The wind howled the whole time we were here. The stabilizers made it so we were rocked to sleep that night. This is a plain Jane park with mostly semi-permanent RV's. Mostly workers in the area. Did I mention the wind? It was a convenient stop after a days drive. We would use it as an overnight rest again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Of 5 "overnight" pull throughs (30A only) only one had a functioning water spigot, and the plug was broken on that site. Do yourself a favor and keep rolling. Nice managers, it is a shame they don't do repairs or can't find a decent park to manage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Gravel park with little bits of lawn at most or all sites. Clean park with no amenities. Wi-Fi didn't work; laptop air card worked intermittently. Laundry room was spotless but was very busy, apparently because non-RVers from town also use it. Extremely windy town: too windy to enjoy being outdoors. It is OK for a one-nighter. There are other RV parks in Biggs nearby. Easy after-hours check-in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
We stayed for several months. The hosts were friendly and kept the laundry, restrooms, and grounds neat and tidy. The park is quiet and the sunset views were magnificent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2010
$25
We travel for work frequently and needed to stay at The Rufus RV Park for four months during October, 2009 to January, 2010, so we really got a chance to learn all about this RV Park. First off the spaces are very small and yes you can park a big rig here but you will be very cramped. If you have a slide and your neighbor does also, then there may be three feet between your RV's in most spots. None of the spaces are paved and none have cable television but all do have sewer, electric and water. The laundry room is very small with five washers and five dryers and serves as the public laundry room for all of Rufus and the other surrounding communities. We had laundry stolen once. The shower/bathroom facility is public and is not safe. Each side (men and women) has only one door that opens onto three toilet stalls and three shower stalls. The shower stalls do not lock, do not contain a dressing area in the stall and some do not even close. Also not all of them work and in the female side only the middle shower has hot water and that stall door will not close all of the way. The shower room is not secure and anyone can and will walk in on you! The main door (on the female side only) locks but the manager will unlock it anytime anyone wishes to enter. There will be no knock, no warning, no nothing and you will be walked in on. Also many truck drivers stop here to use the showers and laundry room. This RV Park is kept very clean and the winter management (the only ones we knew) are very friendly. But if you are looking for something safe, secure, paved, with a laundry facility or showers, look elsewhere. The problem is that this RV Park is the only one in the entire Dalles area unless you choose to stay at a State Campground and they are only open seasonally. So if you need to plan an extended stay this is your only choice. For that I give it four stars but no more because it is not safe and there are no real amenities like you will find at most other RV Parks. Also, Wi-Fi is offered here at the cost of $20.00 per month per computer and they do track your computers unique identification, so you really can only register one per $20.00. You may also purchase Wi-Fi at the rate of $10.00 per week or $5.00 per day. I should also add that the Wi-Fi does not always work. The electricity is included in the price of the rent and for monthly it is $330.00. So the electricity is a good deal but they don't offer 50 amp so you are limited if you need that. We have dogs and this park is pet friendly, we had no problems with our dogs during our stay. I should also add that our RV is a travel trailer with a slide and is 33' long. Any longer and we really would not have fit in our spot. Oh, one more word to the wise and that is that there are very strong winds in this area, often at 35 mph or higher! Be warned to not lower your awning. :) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
Laundry available at reasonable rates. Weekly rate is 75.00. Washing of vehicles allowed. Would stay here again. Gravel sites with grass area and picnic tables. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com